DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawal of Rejections
The response and amendments filed on 06/17/2026 are acknowledged. Any previously applied minor objections and/or minor rejections (i.e., formal matters), not explicitly restated here for brevity, have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s formality correction and/or amendments. For the purposes of clarity of the record, the reasons for the Examiner’s withdrawal, and/or maintaining, if applicable, of the substantive or essential claim rejections are detailed directly below and/or in the Examiner’s Response to Arguments section.
Briefly, the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/17/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Maintained and/or New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103, Obviousness
Claims 36-37, 39, and 42-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lozinsky (US 2019/0142910; Date of Publication: May 16, 2019 – cited in the IDS filed on 07/10/2023 – previously cited), as evidenced by Smith+Nephew (A Patient’s Guide Collagenase Santyl Ointment; 2016 – previously cited), in view of Fein (US 2003/0026794; Date of Publication: February 6, 2003 – cited in the IDS filed on 07/10/2023 – previously cited).
Lozinsky’s general disclosure relates to methods of wound debridement, wherein wounds are topically administered a debriding formulation comprising a proteolytic enzyme mixture from bromelain and a water-soluble gelling agent (see, e.g., Lozinsky, abstract). Additionally, Lozinsky discloses that the formulation contains an anti-aggregation agent and a pH adjusting agent (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0025]). Moreover, Lozinsky discloses applying the formulation is a hydrogel and should be administered to the wound site up to ten times over a four week period in order to achieve debridement of the wound (see, e.g., Lozinsky, abstract).
Regarding claims 36 and 55 pertaining to the pharmaceutical formulation, Lozinsky teaches a method of debriding a wound, wherein the pharmaceutical formulation is a dried or lyophilized composition comprising: (i) bromelain EC 3.4.22.32, (ii) a water-soluble gelling agent, (iii) an anti-aggregation agent, (iv) a pH adjusting agent, and (v) water (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0031]). Moreover, Lozinsky teaches admixing the water with the composition comprising: (i) bromelain EC 3.4.22.32, (ii) a water-soluble gelling agent, (iii) an anti-aggregation agent, (iv) a pH adjusting agent to form a debriding formulation characterized by being a homogenous hydrogel having a pH in the range of about 6.0 to about 8.0 (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0031]). Lozinsky teaches “applying the debriding formulation is performed in a regimen of up to 10 applications, wherein the debriding formulation is maintained in contact with the wound site for about 4-24 hours, such as for about 6 hours, for about 8 hours, for about 10 hours, for about 12 hours, for about 16 hours, for about 24 hours, or for any integer in between per application per day” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0038]). Additionally, Lozinsky teaches that the amount of proteins in the debriding formulation ranges from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 7% (w/w) of the total weight of the debriding formulation (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0031]) (see, e.g., MPEP 2131.03). Lozinsky teaches “the debriding formulation is maintained in contact with the wound site for at least four hours, thereby achieving debridement of eschar/slough and various forms of devitalized necrotic tissues” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0020]). Furthermore, Lozinsky teaches that the composition can be applied to treat chronic wounds, such as a diabetic ulcer, a venous stasis ulcer, an arterial insufficiency ulcer, a pressure ulcer, a post-operative and a post trauma wound” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0037]). Additionally, Lozinsky provides an example comprising a gel formulation, wherein the formulation comprises a proteolytic enzyme mixture obtained from bromelain, guar gum (i.e., gelling agent), lactose (i.e., anti-agglomeration agent), potassium phosphate dibasic and monobasic (i.e., pH adjusting agent), and water (see, e.g., Lozinsky, Example 1, pg. 10). Moreover, within Example 1, Lozinsky teaches that the amount of bromelain can be 0.1%, 0.5%, 1%, and 2% (see, e.g., Lozinsky, Example 1, pg. 10).
Regarding claims 42 and 56 pertaining to applying the pharmaceutical formulation, Lozinsky teaches “applying the debriding formulation is performed in a regimen of up to 10 applications, wherein the debriding formulation is maintained in contact with the wound site for about 4-24 hours, such as for about 6 hours, for about 8 hours, for about 10 hours, for about 12 hours, for about 16 hours, for about 24 hours, or for any integer in between per application per day” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0038]).
Regarding claim 43 pertaining to the amount of application of the pharmaceutical formulation, Lozinsky teaches “According to additional embodiments, applying the debriding formulation is performed in a regimen of up to 10 applications, wherein the debriding formulation is maintained in contact with the wound site for about 4-24 hours, such as for about 6 hours, for about 8 hours, for about 10 hours, for about 12 hours, for about 16 hours, for about 24 hours, or for any integer in between per application per day. Each possibility represents a separate embodiment of the invention. According to a certain embodiment, the debriding formulation is maintained in contact with the wound site for about 24 hours per application for up to 10 applications, alternatively for up to 8 applications. According to an exemplary embodiment, the debriding formulation is applied daily for about 24 hours per application for 10 consecutive days” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0038]).
Regarding claims 44 and 57 pertaining to the application of the pharmaceutical composition, Lozinsky teaches “According to additional embodiments, applying the debriding formulation is performed in a regimen of up to 10 applications, wherein the debriding formulation is maintained in contact with the wound site for about 4-24 hours, such as for about 6 hours, for about 8 hours, for about 10 hours, for about 12 hours, for about 16 hours, for about 24 hours, or for any integer in between per application per day” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0038]). Additionally, Lozinsky teaches “the debriding formulation can be applied in a regimen of up to 10 times to a wound site, wherein the debriding formulation is maintained in contact with the wound site for about 48 hours per application. Thus, the debriding formulation can be applied every other day for up to 20 consecutive days or can be applied 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, or 9 times every other day with a halt of application in between of one day or more as required” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0174]).
Regarding claim 45 pertaining to the healing composition, Lozinsky teaches administration of Santyl ® ointment to treat chronic wounds (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0022]). One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that Santyl ® is a fatty ointment because it contains petroleum (see, e.g., Smith+Nephew – A Patient’s Guide Collagenase Santyl Ointment).
Regarding claim 46 pertaining to the amount of the proteolytic enzyme mixture, Lozinsky teaches from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 7% (w/w) of the total weight of the debriding formulation (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0031]). Moreover, within Example 1, Lozinsky teaches that the amount of bromelain can be 0.1%, 0.5%, 1%, and 2% (see, e.g., Lozinsky, Example 1, pg. 10). Additionally, Lozinsky teaches “The proteolytic enzyme mixture is denoted throughout the specification and claims as the active principal ingredient (API). According to the invention, the amount of proteins, or alternatively the amount of API, in the debriding formulation ranges from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 7% (w/w) of the total weight of the debriding formulation. According to additional embodiments, the amount of proteins or API ranges from about 1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w) , such as of about 1% (w/w), 2%, 3%, 4%, 5%, 6%, 7% of the total weight of the debriding formulation, or alternatively of about 2% (w/w) of the total weight of the debriding formulation” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0116]).
Regarding claim 47 pertaining to the water-soluble gelling agent, Lozinsky teaches “naturally occurring gelling agents, semi-synthetic gelling agents and synthetic gelling agents” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0053]).
Regarding claim 48 pertaining to water-soluble naturally occurring gelling agent, Lozinsky teaches “the naturally occurring gelling agent is a naturally occurring polysaccharide such as, for example, galactomannans, glucomannans, natural gums, starches, agar, and pectin” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0053]).
Regarding claim 49 pertaining to the galactomannan and guar gum, Lozinsky teaches “the water-soluble naturally occurring gelling agent is guar gum present in an amount ranging from about 0.25 % (w/w) to about 5 % (w/w) of the total weight of the debriding formulation” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0053] & Example 1, pg. 10).
Regarding claims 50-51 pertaining to the anti-aggregation agent, Lozinsky teaches “the anti-aggregation agent of the debriding formulation is an oligosaccharide selected from the group consisting of lactose, sucrose, mannitol, and glucose. Each possibility represents a separate embodiment of the invention. According to a certain embodiment, the anti-aggregation agent is lactose present in an amount ranging from about 10 % (w/w) to about 25 % (w/w) of the total weight of the debriding formulation” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0054] & Example 1, pg. 10).
Regarding claim 52 pertaining to the pH adjusting agent, Lozinsky teaches “the pH adjusting agent of the debriding formulation is selected from the group consisting of potassium phosphate, potassium carbonate, sodium phosphate, and sodium carbonate. Each possibility is a separate embodiment of the invention. According to a certain embodiment, the pH adjusting agent is a combination of potassium phosphate dibasic and potassium phosphate monobasic present in an amount ranging from about 2% (w/w) to about 10% (w/w) of the total weight of the debriding formulation” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0055]).
Regarding claim 53 pertaining to the amount of the proteolytic enzyme mixture, the water-soluble gelling agent, the anti-aggregation agent, and the pH adjusting agent, Lozinsky teaches from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 7% (w/w) of the total weight of the debriding formulation (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0031]). Additionally, Lozinsky teaches “the water-soluble naturally occurring gelling agent is guar gum present in an amount ranging from about 0.25 % (w/w) to about 5 % (w/w) of the total weight of the debriding formulation” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0053]). Moreover, the anti-aggregation agent is lactose present in an amount ranging from about 10 % (w/w) to about 25 % (w/w) of the total weight of the debriding formulation” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0054]). Furthermore, the pH adjusting agent is a combination of potassium phosphate dibasic and potassium phosphate monobasic present in an amount ranging from about 2% (w/w) to about 10% (w/w) of the total weight of the debriding formulation” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0055]).
Regarding claim 54 pertaining to the pharmaceutical formulation, Lozinsky teaches a debriding formulation comprising 2% (w/w) of a proteolytic enzyme mixture, 3.5% (w/w) of guar gum, 18.05% (w/w) of lactose, 2.5% (w/w) of potassium phosphate dibasic, 0.8% (w/w) of potassium phosphate monobasic, 2% (w/w) of PEG-3350, and 71.15% (w/w) of water for injection (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0101]), The percentage of the proteolytic enzyme mixture (i.e., bromelain), lactose, and PEG-3350 is approaching the claimed percentages of bromelain, lactose, and PEG-3350; therefore, these percentages are prima facie obvious in view of Lozinsky (see, e.g., MPEP 2144.05(I)).
However, Lozinsky does not teach: treating a skin lesion and delaying or preventing recurrence thereof comprising topically applying to a skin selected from the group consisting of a non-melanoma skin cancer, pre-cancerous skin lesions, and benign skin lesions (claims 36 and 55); of wherein the non-melanoma skin cancer is selected from the group consisting of basal cell carcinoma and squamous cell carcinoma (claim 37); or wherein the pre-cancerous skin lesion is actinic keratoses (claim 39); or wherein the benign skin lesion is seborrheic keratosis (claim 40); or wherein the skin lesion is basal cell carcinoma (claim 44).
Fein’s general disclosure relates to “A method of treating skin conditions by providing compositions containing enzymes to selectively remove specific layers of skin. The depth of skin removed (that is, vertical surface treated) is regulated by the type and concentration of enzyme or enzymes in the composition” (see, e.g., Fein, abstract). Moreover, Fein discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising bromelain to selectively effect an epidermal layer of skin (see, e.g., Fein, [0013]). Furthermore, Fein teaches the treatment of skin conditions with bromelain, wherein the skin conditions are “non-pathological, such as natural or artificial altered skin pigmentation” (see, e.g., Fein, [0029]), or “pathological and more invasive, such as neoplasms affecting the skin” (see, e.g., Fein, [0029]). Within this last group are neoplasms having various degrees of aggressiveness, ranging from the relatively non-aggressive basal cell carcinoma, to the aggressive malignant melanoma” (see, e.g., Fein, [0029]).
Regarding claims 36-37, 39, 44, and 55 pertaining to treating a skin lesion by topically applying the formulation to a skin lesion on a subject in need thereof, Fein teaches topically applying a composition that contains a least one protease, wherein the protease can be bromelain, in order to selectively remove at least one epidermal layer of skin containing a skin condition (see, e.g., Fein, [0013]-[0015]). Additionally, Fein teaches “In another embodiment, a method for treating a condition affecting skin is disclosed by applying a composition to the affected skin, where the composition contains at least one enzyme at a concentration selective for regulating the depth of skin treatment, and is applied to an area of skin selective for regulating a radial surface of skin treatment” (see, e.g., Fein, [0018]). Furthermore, Fein teaches that the skin condition to be treated or controlled can be pathological and more invasive, such as neoplasms, wherein the neoplasms can include actinic keratosis, basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, and seborrheic keratosis (see, e.g., Fein, [0029]-[0030]). Additionally, Fein teaches that the composition can be administered to prevent skin conditions in mammals by administering protease-containing formulations (see, e.g., Fein, [0027]-[0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Lozinsky’s pharmaceutical composition comprising (i) bromelain EC 3.4.22.32, (ii) a water-soluble gelling agent, (iii) an anti-aggregation agent, (iv) a pH adjusting agent, and (v) water, wherein the composition is administered to treat skin lesions, such as basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, actinic keratosis, and seborrheic keratosis, as taught by Fein. One would have been motivated to do so because Fein teaches that compositions comprising proteolytic enzymes, such as bromelain, can treat a patient having a condition involving the epidermal, and/or dermal, and/or subcutaneous layer of skin (see, e.g., Fein, [0008]). Additionally, Fein teaches that bromelain can be used to treat benign, pre-cancerous, and cancerous skin conditions, such as basal cell carcinoma, actinic keratoses, and seborrheic keratosis (see, e.g., Fein, [0030] & Example 2). Moreover, Lozinsky teaches a method of debridement of chronic wounds through administration of a composition comprising bromelain (see, e.g., Lozinsky, abstract). Additionally, Lozinsky teaches applying the composition containing bromelain to patients having wounds, such as “a diabetic ulcer, a venous stasis ulcer, an arterial insufficiency ulcer, a pressure ulcer, a post-operative and a post trauma wound” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0164]). Therefore, Lozinsky also teaches methods of treating skin conditions through application of compositions comprising bromelain. Therefore, based on the teachings of Lozinsky and Fein, it would have been obvious to apply a composition comprising bromelain to treat a skin lesion, wherein the skin lesions are the most common types of malignant, premalignant, or benign skin lesions that can present on the human body. One would have expected success because Lozinsky and Fein both teach skin conditions and treatment of skin conditions.
Regarding claims 36, 38, and 55 recitation of “treating a skin lesion and delaying recurrence thereof” and “thereby treating said skin lesion and delaying recurrence thereof for at least 18 to 24 months”, these would be considered inherent. The combined prior art of Lozinsky and Fein teaches administration of the claimed composition to patients with skin lesions (i.e., chronic wounds and cancerous lesions) which would inherently result in treating and delaying recurrence of the skin lesion for at least 18 to 24 months.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lozinsky (previously cited above) in view of Fein (previously cited above) and Dourmishev (Clinical variants, stages, and management of basal cell carcinoma; 2013 – previously cited).
The teachings of Lozinsky are discussed above.
Regarding claim 38 pertaining to the pharmaceutical formulation, Lozinsky teaches a method of debriding a wound, wherein a dried or lyophilized composition comprising: (i) bromelain EC 3.4.22.32, (ii) a water-soluble gelling agent, (iii) an anti-aggregation agent, (iv) a pH adjusting agent, and (v) water Moreover, Lozinsky teaches admixing the water with the composition comprising: (i) bromelain EC 3.4.22.32, (ii) a water-soluble gelling agent, (iii) an anti-aggregation agent, (iv) a pH adjusting agent to form a debriding formulation characterized by being a homogenous hydrogel having a pH in the range of about 6.0 to about 8.0 (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0031]). Additionally, Lozinsky teaches that the amount of proteins in the debriding formulation ranges from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 7% (w/w) of the total weight of the debriding formulation (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0031]) (see, e.g., MPEP 2131.03). Furthermore, Lozinsky teaches that the composition can be applied to treat chronic wounds, such as “a diabetic ulcer, a venous stasis ulcer, an arterial insufficiency ulcer, a pressure ulcer, a post-operative and a post trauma wound” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0037]). Lozinsky teaches “the debriding formulation is maintained in contact with the wound site for at least four hours, thereby achieving debridement of eschar/slough and various forms of devitalized necrotic tissues” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0020]). Additionally, Lozinsky provides an example comprising a gel formulation, wherein the formulation comprises a proteolytic enzyme mixture obtained from bromelain, guar gum (i.e., gelling agent), lactose (i.e., anti-agglomeration agent), potassium phosphate dibasic and monobasic (i.e., pH adjusting agent), and water (see, e.g., Lozinsky, Example 1, pg. 10). Moreover, within Example 1, Lozinsky teaches that the amount of bromelain can be 0.1%, 0.5%, 1%, and 2% (see, e.g., Lozinsky, Example 1, pg. 10).
However, Lozinsky does not teach: wherein the skin lesion is a basal cell carcinoma that is nodular basal cell carcinoma (claim 38).
The teachings of Fein are discussed above.
Regarding claim 38 pertaining to treating a skin lesion by topically applying the formulation to a skin lesion on a subject in need thereof, Fein teaches topically applying a composition that contains a least one protease, wherein the protease can be bromelain, in order to selectively remove at least one epidermal layer of skin containing a skin condition (see, e.g., Fein, [0013]-[0015]). Additionally, Fein teaches “In another embodiment, a method for treating a condition affecting skin is disclosed by applying a composition to the affected skin, where the composition contains at least one enzyme at a concentration selective for regulating the depth of skin treatment, and is applied to an area of skin selective for regulating a radial surface of skin treatment” (see, e.g., Fein, [0018]). Furthermore, Fein teaches that the skin condition to be treated or controlled can be pathological and more invasive, such as neoplasms, wherein the neoplasms can include actinic keratosis, basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, and seborrheic keratosis (see, e.g., Fein, [0029]-[0030]). Additionally, Fein teaches that the composition can be administered to prevent skin conditions in mammals by administering protease-containing formulations (see, e.g., Fein, [0027]-[0028]).
Dourmishev’s general disclosure relates to basal cell carcinoma and different variants of basal cell carcinoma, such as nodular, cystic, micronodular, superficial, and pigment (see, e.g., Dourmishev, abstract). Moreover, Dourmishev discloses that nodular basal cell carcinoma is the most common variant of basal cell carcinoma (see, e.g., Dourmishev, “Nodular basal cell carcinoma”, pg. 13).
Regarding claim 38 pertaining to nodular basal cell carcinoma, Dourmishev teaches that “Nodular basal cell carcinoma comprises about 60-80% of the cases and occurs most often on the skin of the head. Clinically it is presented by elevated, exophytic pearl-shaped nodules with telangiectasie on the surface and periphery [Figure 1]. Subsequently, nodular BCC can extend into ulcerative or cystic pattern” (see, e.g., Dourmishev, “Nodular basal cell carcinoma”, pg. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Lozinsky’s pharmaceutical composition comprising (i) bromelain EC 3.4.22.32, (ii) a water-soluble gelling agent, (iii) an anti-aggregation agent, (iv) a pH adjusting agent, and (v) water, wherein the composition is administered to treat skin lesions, wherein the skin lesion is a nodular basal cell carcinoma, which is a variant of basal cell carcinoma, as taught by Fein, and Dourmishev. One would have been motivated to do so because Fein teaches that compositions comprising proteolytic enzymes, such as bromelain, can treat a patient having a condition involving the epidermal, and/or dermal, and/or subcutaneous layer of skin (see, e.g., Fein, [0008]). Additionally, Fein teaches that bromelain can be used to treat benign, pre-cancerous, and cancerous skin conditions, such as basal cell carcinoma, actinic keratoses, and seborrheic keratosis (see, e.g., Fein, [0030] & Example 2). Furthermore, Dourmishev teaches that nodular basal cell carcinoma comprises about 60-80% of the basal cell cases (see, e.g., Dourmishev, “Nodular basal cell carcinoma”, pg. 13). Moreover, Lozinsky teaches a method of debridement of chronic wounds through administration of a composition comprising bromelain (see, e.g., Lozinsky, abstract). Additionally, Lozinsky teaches applying the composition containing bromelain to patients having wounds, such as “a diabetic ulcer, a venous stasis ulcer, an arterial insufficiency ulcer, a pressure ulcer, a post-operative and a post trauma wound” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0164]). Therefore, Lozinsky also teaches methods of treating skin conditions through application of compositions comprising bromelain. Therefore, based on the teachings of Lozinsky, Fein, and Dourmishev it would have been obvious to apply a composition comprising bromelain to treat a skin lesion, wherein the skin lesion is nodular basal cell carcinoma, which is the most common basal cell carcinoma variant. One would have expected success because Lozinsky, Fein, and Dourmishev all teach skin conditions and treatment of skin conditions.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument pertaining to Lozinsky not teaching treatment of non-melanoma skin cancers or pre-cancerous skin lesions, nor does Lozinsky teach treatment or delay of basal cell carcinoma or squamous cell carcinoma (remarks, page 2), this argument is not persuasive because Lozinsky was not relied upon in the above presented rejection to teach treatment of non-melanoma skin cancers or pre-cancerous skin lesions. Instead, Fein was cited above to teach topically applying a composition that contains a least one protease, wherein the protease can be bromelain, in order to selectively remove at least one epidermal layer of skin containing a skin condition (see, e.g., Fein, [0013]-[0015]). Furthermore, Fein teaches the treatment of skin conditions, such as neoplasms, wherein the neoplasms can include actinic keratosis, basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, and seborrheic keratosis (see, e.g., Fein, [0029]-[0030]). Moreover, Lozinsky teaches a method of debridement of chronic wounds through administration of a composition comprising bromelain (see, e.g., Lozinsky, abstract). Additionally, Lozinsky teaches applying the composition containing bromelain to patients having wounds, such as “a diabetic ulcer, a venous stasis ulcer, an arterial insufficiency ulcer, a pressure ulcer, a post-operative and a post trauma wound” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0164]). Therefore, Lozinsky and Fein both teach treatment of skin conditions through application of compositions comprising bromelain; therefore, this is motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Lozinsky for treatment of non-melanoma skin cancer and pre-cancerous skin lesions, as taught by Fein.
Regarding Applicant’s argument pertaining to the unexpected findings of the present application (remarks, pages 2-3), this argument is not persuasive because Lozinsky teaches the same composition comprising (i) bromelain EC 3.4.22.32, (ii) a water-soluble gelling agent, (iii) an anti-aggregation agent, (iv) a pH adjusting agent, and (v) water (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0031]). Moreover, Lozinsky teaches “applying the debriding formulation is performed in a regimen of up to 10 applications, wherein the debriding formulation is maintained in contact with the wound site for about 4-24 hours, such as for about 6 hours, for about 8 hours, for about 10 hours, for about 12 hours, for about 16 hours, for about 24 hours, or for any integer in between per application per day” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0038]). Therefore, Lozinsky teaches applying the same composition, for the same amount of time, which would inherently result in destroying “BCC tumor, typically within two weeks, with complete healing within about four weeks after treatment”, as found by Applicant. Moreover, Applicant references Examples 2-3 as showing these unexpected findings; however, these results are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. For Example 2, Applicant is relying on male and female subjects between 18-90 years of age, having a skin lesion with a surface area of 0.5-2 cm2, wherein the lesion edges were protected with a thick layer of either hyaluronic acid gel, petrolatum-based ointment, or zinc oxide, wherein treatment is followed by at least 4 weeks of a recovery period which included treatment of the lesion site with a mild steroid ointment (see, e.g., instant specification, Example 2, pgs. 33-34). For Example 3, Applicant is relying on two cancer cell lines – a basal cell carcinoma line, CRL-7762, and a squamous cell carcinoma cell line, CRL-2095. Additionally, Applicant is relying on growing cells in the presence of 100 µg/ml of bromelain and measuring cell viability. Applicant is also relying on specific growth media and growth conditions. Furthermore, Examples 2-3 set forth results which are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention because Applicant is relying on specific patient populations, skin lesion surface areas, treatment conditions, cell lines, concentrations of bromelain, and growth conditions, all of which are not part of the claimed invention.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that there is no motivation to apply Lozinsky’s composition, which involves treatment of chronic wounds, to treat cancerous or pre-cancerous skin lesions, as taught by Fein (remarks, page 3), this argument is not persuasive. Lozinsky teaches the same composition as claimed, which comprises (i) bromelain EC 3.4.22.32, (ii) a water-soluble gelling agent, (iii) an anti-aggregation agent, (iv) a pH adjusting agent, and (v) water (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0031]). Moreover, Fein teaches topically applying a composition that contains a least one protease, wherein the protease can be bromelain, in order to selectively remove at least one epidermal layer of skin containing a skin condition (see, e.g., Fein, [0013]-[0015]). Furthermore, Fein teaches that the skin condition to be treated or controlled can be pathological and more invasive, such as neoplasms, wherein the neoplasms can include actinic keratosis, basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, and seborrheic keratosis (see, e.g., Fein, [0029]-[0030]). Therefore, Lozinsky and Fein both teach treatment of skin conditions with bromelain and is motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply Lozinsky’s composition to treatment of cancerous and pre-cancerous skin conditions, as taught by Fein. Moreover, Fein teaches topically applying a composition that contains a least one protease, wherein the protease can be bromelain, in order to selectively remove at least one epidermal layer of skin containing a skin condition (see, e.g., Fein, [0013]-[0015]). The instant specification teaches that bromelain is “used for selective removal of dead and necrotic tissues from burns and wounds (debridement) with the preservation of the viable, intact skin” (see, e.g., instant specification, pg. 3, lines 14-16). Therefore, based on the teachings of Fein and the instant specification, bromelain removes layers of skin, which would be advantageous for the treatment of cancerous and pre-cancerous skin lesions since treatment of these conditions relies on removal of the affected skin. Therefore, since bromelain inherently has properties related to skin removal, this would be motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply Lozinsky’s composition for treatment of cancerous and pre-cancerous lesions, especially in regards to the teachings of Fein.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Lozinsky does not teach application of the composition to the skin lesion once or every other day for up to ten applications and left on the skin lesion for at least 4, 8, or 9 house (remarks, page 3), this argument is not persuasive because Lozinsky does indeed teach these limitations. As discussed above, Lozinsky teaches “According to additional embodiments, applying the debriding formulation is performed in a regimen of up to 10 applications, wherein the debriding formulation is maintained in contact with the wound site for about 4-24 hours, such as for about 6 hours, for about 8 hours, for about 10 hours, for about 12 hours, for about 16 hours, for about 24 hours, or for any integer in between per application per day. Each possibility represents a separate embodiment of the invention. According to a certain embodiment, the debriding formulation is maintained in contact with the wound site for about 24 hours per application for up to 10 applications, alternatively for up to 8 applications. According to an exemplary embodiment, the debriding formulation is applied daily for about 24 hours per application for 10 consecutive days” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0038]). Additionally, Lozinsky teaches “the debriding formulation can be applied in a regimen of up to 10 times to a wound site, wherein the debriding formulation is maintained in contact with the wound site for about 48 hours per application. Thus, the debriding formulation can be applied every other day for up to 20 consecutive days or can be applied 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, or 9 times every other day with a halt of application in between of one day or more as required” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0174]). In regards to Applicant’s assertion that the prior art does not teach delaying recurrence of a skin lesion for at least 18 to 24 months, as discussed above, this is considered inherent.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Fein does not remedy any of the deficiencies of Lozinsky and does not address specific therapeutic needs of non-melanoma skin cancers or pre-cancerous skin lesions (remarks, page 4), this argument is not persuasive because Fein was relied upon to teach that compositions comprising bromelain can be administered to treat cancerous and precancerous skin lesions, such as actinic keratosis, basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, and seborrheic keratosis (see, e.g., Fein, [0029]-[0030]). Lozinsky teaches administration of a composition comprising bromelain to wounds (see, e.g., Lozinsky, abstract). Therefore, Lozinsky and Fein are analogous art and it would be obvious to apply the teachings of Lozinsky to the teachings of Fein since they both teach treating skin conditions through application of bromelain. Additionally, as discussed above, the instant specification teaches that bromelain is “used for selective removal of dead and necrotic tissues from burns and wounds (debridement) with the preservation of the viable, intact skin” (see, e.g., instant specification, pg. 3, lines 14-16). Therefore, based on the teachings of Fein and the instant specification, bromelain removes layers of skin, which would be advantageous for the treatment of cancerous and pre-cancerous skin lesions since treatment of these conditions relies on removal of the affected skin. Therefore, since bromelain inherently has properties related to skin removal, this would be motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply Lozinsky’s composition for treatment of cancerous and pre-cancerous lesions, especially in regards to the teachings of Fein. Moreover, Applicant’s argument that Fein does not teat treatment or delaying recurrence of skin lesions (remarks, page 4); however, as discussed above, treating and delaying skin lesions is considered inherent. The combined prior art of Lozinsky and Fein teach administration of the same composition as claimed to cancerous and pre-cancerous skin lesions, which would inherently result in treating or delaying the skin lesions.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Fein teaches away from using bromelain (remarks, page 5), this argument is not persuasive because Fein does not positively recite that bromelain should not be used within application for treatment of cancerous and precancerous skin lesions. Moreover, Fein actually states that bromelain can be used within compositions for treatment of skin conditions (see, e.g., Fein, [0044]). Moreover, Fein teaches in Example 2 that bromelain can be used in a composition with trypsin for treatment of actinic keratosis (see, e.g., Fein, Example 2). This is motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Fein to the teachings of Lozinsky in order to produce a composition comprising (i) bromelain EC 3.4.22.32, (ii) a water-soluble gelling agent, (iii) an anti-aggregation agent, (iv) a pH adjusting agent, and (v) water for the treatment of cancerous and precancerous skin lesions. Applicant even claims in instant claim 39 that the precancerous skin lesion can be selected from actinic keratoses, which Fein teaches treatment of in Example 2.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that Lozinsky teaches prolonged contact of the composition which is necessary for debridement of chronic open wounds (remarks, page 6), this argument is not persuasive because Lozinsky teaches prolonged contact of the composition, and also teaches “contact with the wound site for about 4-24 hours, such as for about 6 hours, for about 8 hours, for about 10 hours, for about 12 hours, for about 16 hours, for about 24 hours, or for any integer in between per application per day” (see, e.g., Lozinsky, [0038]), which encompasses the Applicant’s claimed contact range.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the teachings of Dourmishev (remarks, pages 7-8), this argument is not persuasive because Dourmishev was merely relied upon in the rejection for claim 38 above in order to teach the different types of basal cell carcinomas, such as nodular basal cell carcinoma, which is claimed in the instantly claimed invention. The combined prior art of Lozinsky and Fein were set forth for applying a composition comprising (i) bromelain EC 3.4.22.32, (ii) a water-soluble gelling agent, (iii) an anti-aggregation agent, (iv) a pH adjusting agent, and (v) water for the treatment of cancerous and precancerous skin lesions, and Dourmishev was relied upon for motivation to treat nodular basal cell carcinoma. Moreover, the motivation for treatment of nodular basal cell carcinoma relies upon Dourmishev’s teachings that “Nodular basal cell carcinoma comprises about 60-80% of the cases and occurs most often on the skin of the head. Clinically it is presented by elevated, exophytic pearl-shaped nodules with telangiectasie on the surface and periphery [Figure 1]. Subsequently, nodular BCC can extend into ulcerative or cystic pattern” (see, e.g., Dourmishev, “Nodular basal cell carcinoma”, pg. 13). Therefore, due to its prevalence, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply the teachings of Lozinsky and Fein in order to treat nodular basal cell carcinoma, based on the teachings of Dourmishev.
Conclusion
Claims 36-39 and 42-57 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence Information
/NATALIE IANNUZO/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653