DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shchepochkin et al. (RSC Adv. 2016, 6, 77834-77840).
Considering Claims 1, 6, and 19: Shchepochkin et al. teaches a compound of the formula
, where R is CN (Scheme 3) and the counter ion is BF4- (Scheme 4).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shchepochkin et al. (RSC Adv. 2016, 6, 77834-77840).
Considering Claim 4: Shchepochkin et al. teaches a compound of the formula
, where R is CN (Scheme 3) and the counter ion is BF4- (Scheme 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rumble et al. (The Journal of Chemical Physics, 148, 193801, 2018).
Considering Claims 3: Rumble et al. teaches a compound of the formula
where the anion is hexafluorophosphate (pg. 193801-1-2).
Rumble et al. does not teach the phenyl group as being substituted at the position of R1 in formula II. However, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2144.09. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a compound with the phenyl substituent at the R3 position based on the compound of Rumble et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to function similarly based on the close structural similarity.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chupakhin et al. (Chemistry of Heterocyclic Compounds, 2019, 55(1), 956-963).
Considering Claim 3: Chupakhin et al. teaches a compound of the formula
, where X is
and R is F (Figure 1, Abstract).
Chupakhin et al. does not teach the phenyl group as being substituted at the position of R1 in formula II. However, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2144.09. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a compound with the fluorine substituent at the R3 position based on the compound of Chupakhin et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to function similarly based on the close structural similarity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record does not teach or suggest the claimed structure where the compound is substituted with the specific substituents at the two claimed positions on the phenyl group. The closest prior art is Rumble et al. and Chupakhin et al., discussed above. Neither reference teaches the phenyl group as being disubstituted and there is no suggestion or teaching in the art to modify the reference to add a second subsituent. As such, the instant claimed structure is non-obvious over the closest prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
A) The applicant’s argument that there is no motivation to modify Rumble et al. or Chupakhin et al. to arrive at the structure of claim 3 is not persuasive. The claimed structure is a position isomer of the structures disclosed in the prior art. a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2144.09.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767