DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7-8, 10-16, 18, 20, 22-23, 27-28 and 32-36 is/are rejected under 35
U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] in view of Kneckt [US 2020/0045634 which claims priority of provisional application 62/714416].
As claims 4, 20, 22 and 32-34, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses a method for wireless communications comprising, at a station [Fig 1, Ref 114] receiving, from the access point (AP) [Fig 1, Ref 104], a management frame announcing TWT schedule information of the broadcast TWT by containing a broadcast TWT element in the management frame [Fig 8, Ref 805 discloses Ref 114 receives announcing a Target Wake Time (TWT) schedule information of the broadcast TWT by containing a broadcast TWT element in the management frame, Fig 2, Par. 0054-0055, 0075]; receiving, from the AP, a trigger frame allocating a resource unit (RU) within the during a TWT service period indicated by the broadcast TWT element contained in the management frame [Fig 8, Ref 815 discloses Ref 114 receives a trigger frame during TWT SP indicated in the broadcast TWT element contained in the management frame]; and transmitting the a frame during a the TWT service period in response to the trigger frame [Fig 8, Ref 820, 825 discloses Ref 114 transmits a frame during a the TWT service period in response to the triggered frame], wherein the broadcast TWT element includes a broadcast TWT Recommendation field configured to set a value to 4, the value 4 indicating that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic during the TWT service period in priority defined a type of traffic specified during the setup of the TWT service period [Fig 2, Ref TWT flow identifier “a broadcast TWT Recommendation field” set to a value 4 which indicates that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic such as video as defined by the one or more traffic identifiers during the TWT service period, Par. 0068]. However, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] fails to disclose requesting to an access point (AP) to become a member of broadcast Target Wake Time (TWT) the broadcast TWT element includes a broadcast TWT Recommendation field configured to set a value to 4 that is not a traffic identifier, the value 4 indicating that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic as defined by the one or more traffic identifiers, during the TWT service period. In the same field of endeavor, Kneckt [US 2020/0045634] discloses requesting to an access point (AP) to become a member of broadcast Target Wake Time (TWT) [Par. 0037, 0042, 0055 discloses Sink joins the broadcast scheduler TWT of source], the broadcast TWT element includes a broadcast TWT Recommendation field configured to set a value to 4 that is not a traffic identifier, the value 4 indicating that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic as defined by the one or more traffic identifiers, during the TWT service period. [Par. 0028, 0052 discloses the broadcast TWT element includes a broadcast TWT Recommendation field configured to set a value to 4 that is not a traffic identifier the value 4 indicating that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic as defined by the one or more traffic identifiers, during the TWT service period].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system as disclosed by Kneckt [US 2020/0045634] into the teaching of Asterjadhi. The motivation would have been to control behavior of TWT period by implementing the value 4 to control behavior of station based on TID of broadcast TWT.
As claim 7, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the trigger frame reserves a transmission opportunity, TXOP, overlapping or encompassing the TWT service period [Par. 0051, 0120 discloses trigger frame reserved “TXOP” overlapping or encompassing TWT service period “wake up duration” for uplink data].
As claim 8, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the latency sensitive traffic is low latency, LL, traffic [Par. 0068 discloses video traffic].
As claim 10, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses wherein a frame comprising the latency sensitive traffic is transmitted in priority during the TWT service period [Par. 0068, video frame], and wherein a frame comprising at least one of the following types of traffic: low-latency traffic not specified during a setup of the TWT service period, a traffic of which traffic type corresponding to a preferred access category, AC, indicated in the trigger frame [Par. 0068, only for video frame]; or a traffic of which traffic type corresponding to any AC, is further transmitted during the TWT service period.
As claim 11, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses contending for access to a communication channel in the TWT service period in order to transmit the frame [Par. 0184 discloses when AP allows for the frame to transmit then STA contends for the right to transmit].
As claim 12, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the contending uses an enhanced distributed channel access, EDCA, mechanism based on EDCA parameters [Par. 0134 discloses contend using EDCA].
As claim 13, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the EDCA parameters are set to first values, different from second values that are used for contending for access outside the service period [Par. 0082 discloses for transmitting outside TWT service period a different ADCA parameters used for contending between the station outside TWT service period].
As claim 14, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the management frame announcing the TWT schedule information includes a field that specifies a type of traffic to be used with priority during the TWT service period [Par. 0068 discloses management frame includes flow type for indicating type of traffic will be exchanged during TWT service period for flow ID traffic].
As claim 15, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the management frame announcing the TWT schedule information includes timing information identifying the TWT service period [Fig. 2 and Par. 0051 discloses TWT duration].
As claim 16, 27 and 35, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the management frame announcing the TWT schedule information service period, such as a beacon frame or a probe response frame [Par. 0054].
As claim 18, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the TWT service period is a broadcast TWT advertised by the AP [Par. 0049].
As claims 23, 28 and 36, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the TWT schedule information includes information of the TWT service period [Par. 0049-0051].
Claim(s) 4, 7-8, 10-16, 18, 20, 22-23, 27-28 and 32-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] in view of Cherian [US 2022/0078844 which claims priority of provisional applications 63/076358, 63/081886].
As claims 4, 20, 22 and 32-34, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses a method for wireless communications comprising, at a station [Fig 1, Ref 114] receiving, from the access point (AP) [Fig 1, Ref 104], a management frame announcing TWT schedule information of the broadcast TWT by containing a broadcast TWT element in the management frame [Fig 8, Ref 805 discloses Ref 114 receives announcing a Target Wake Time (TWT) schedule information of the broadcast TWT by containing a broadcast TWT element in the management frame, Fig 2, Par. 0054-0055, 0075]; receiving, from the AP, a trigger frame allocating a resource unit (RU) within the during a TWT service period indicated by the broadcast TWT element contained in the management frame [Fig 8, Ref 815 discloses Ref 114 receives a trigger frame during TWT SP indicated in the broadcast TWT element contained in the management frame]; and transmitting the a frame during a the TWT service period in response to the trigger frame [Fig 8, Ref 820, 825 discloses Ref 114 transmits a frame during a the TWT service period in response to the triggered frame], wherein the broadcast TWT element includes a broadcast TWT Recommendation field configured to set a value to 4, the value 4 indicating that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic during the TWT service period in priority defined a type of traffic specified during the setup of the TWT service period [Fig 2, Ref TWT flow identifier “a broadcast TWT Recommendation field” set to a value 4 which indicates that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic such as video as defined by the one or more traffic identifiers during the TWT service period, Par. 0068]. However, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] fails to disclose requesting to an access point (AP) to become a member of broadcast Target Wake Time (TWT) the broadcast TWT element includes a broadcast TWT Recommendation field configured to set a value to 4 that is not a traffic identifier, the value 4 indicating that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic as defined by the one or more traffic identifiers, during the TWT service period. In the same field of endeavor, Cherian [US 2022/0078844] discloses requesting to an access point (AP) to become a member of broadcast Target Wake Time (TWT) [Par. 0081-0082 discloses station request for joining broadcast TWT by AP], the broadcast TWT element includes a broadcast TWT Recommendation field configured to set a value to 4 that is not a traffic identifier, the value 4 indicating that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic as defined by the one or more traffic identifiers, during the TWT service period. [Par. 0077-0078, 0129-0131 discloses the broadcast TWT element includes a broadcast TWT Recommendation field configured to set a value that is not a traffic identifier the value indicating that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic as defined by the one or more traffic identifiers, during the TWT service period].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system as disclosed by Cherian [US 2022/007884] into the teaching of Asterjadhi. The motivation would have been to control behavior of TWT period by implementing the value 4 to control behavior of station based on TID of broadcast TWT.
As claim 7, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the trigger frame reserves a transmission opportunity, TXOP, overlapping or encompassing the TWT service period [Par. 0051, 0120 discloses trigger frame reserved “TXOP” overlapping or encompassing TWT service period “wake up duration” for uplink data].
As claim 8, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the latency sensitive traffic is low latency, LL, traffic [Par. 0068 discloses video traffic].
As claim 10, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses wherein a frame comprising the latency sensitive traffic is transmitted in priority during the TWT service period [Par. 0068, video frame], and wherein a frame comprising at least one of the following types of traffic: low-latency traffic not specified during a setup of the TWT service period, a traffic of which traffic type corresponding to a preferred access category, AC, indicated in the trigger frame [Par. 0068, only for video frame]; or a traffic of which traffic type corresponding to any AC, is further transmitted during the TWT service period.
As claim 11, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses contending for access to a communication channel in the TWT service period in order to transmit the frame [Par. 0184 discloses when AP allows for the frame to transmit then STA contends for the right to transmit].
As claim 12, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the contending uses an enhanced distributed channel access, EDCA, mechanism based on EDCA parameters [Par. 0134 discloses contend using EDCA].
As claim 13, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the EDCA parameters are set to first values, different from second values that are used for contending for access outside the service period [Par. 0082 discloses for transmitting outside TWT service period a different ADCA parameters used for contending between the station outside TWT service period].
As claim 14, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the management frame announcing the TWT schedule information includes a field that specifies a type of traffic to be used with priority during the TWT service period [Par. 0068 discloses management frame includes flow type for indicating type of traffic will be exchanged during TWT service period for flow ID traffic].
As claim 15, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the management frame announcing the TWT schedule information includes timing information identifying the TWT service period [Fig. 2 and Par. 0051 discloses TWT duration].
As claim 16, 27 and 35, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the management frame announcing the TWT schedule information service period, such as a beacon frame or a probe response frame [Par. 0054].
As claim 18, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the TWT service period is a broadcast TWT advertised by the AP [Par. 0049].
As claims 23, 28 and 36, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the TWT schedule information includes information of the TWT service period [Par. 0049-0051].
Claim(s) 4, 7-8, 10-16, 18, 20, 22-23, 27-28 and 32-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian [US 2022/0078844] in view of Kneckt [US 2020/0045634].
As claims 4, 20, 22 and 32-34, Cherian [US 2022/0078844] discloses a method for wireless communications comprising, at a station [Fig 1, Ref 104] requesting to an access point (AP) to become a member of broadcast Target Wake Time (TWT) [Par. 0081-0082 discloses STA request for joining the broadcast TWT from AP], receiving, from the access point (AP) [Fig 1, Ref 102], a management frame announcing TWT schedule information of the broadcast TWT by containing a broadcast TWT element in the management frame [Fig 17, Par. 0079-0083 disclose receiving announcing a Target Wake Time (TWT) schedule information of the broadcast TWT by containing a broadcast TWT element in the management frame]; receiving, from the AP, a trigger frame allocating a resource unit (RU) within the during a TWT service period indicated by the broadcast TWT element contained in the management frame [Figs 7-8, 18-19 discloses Ref 104 receives a trigger frame during TWT SP indicated in the broadcast TWT element contained in the management frame]; and transmitting the frame during a the TWT service period in response to the trigger frame [Par. 0092 discloses Ref 104 transmits a frame during a the TWT service period in response to the triggered frame], wherein the broadcast TWT element includes a broadcast TWT Recommendation field configured to set a value to number that is not a traffic identifier, the value indicating that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic during the TWT service period in priority defined a type of traffic specified during the setup of the TWT service period [Fig 17-18 and Par. 0077-0078, 0129-0131, a broadcast TWT Recommendation field set to a value which indicates that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic such as video as defined by the one or more traffic identifiers during the TWT service period]. However, Cherian [US 2022/0078844] fails to disclose the broadcast TWT element includes a broadcast TWT Recommendation field configured to set a value to 4 that is not a traffic identifier, the value 4 indicating that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic as defined by the one or more traffic identifiers, during the TWT service period. In the same field of endeavor, Kneckt [US 2020/0045634] discloses requesting to an access point (AP) to become a member of broadcast Target Wake Time (TWT) [Par. 0037, 0042, 0055 discloses Sink joins the broadcast scheduler TWT of source], the broadcast TWT element includes a broadcast TWT Recommendation field configured to set a value to 4 that is not a traffic identifier, the value 4 indicating that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic as defined by the one or more traffic identifiers, during the TWT service period. [Par. 0028, 0052 discloses the broadcast TWT element includes a broadcast TWT Recommendation field configured to set a value to 4 that is not a traffic identifier the value 4 indicating that the station prioritizes a transmission of latency sensitive traffic as defined by the one or more traffic identifiers, during the TWT service period].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system as disclosed by Kneckt [US 2020/0045634] into the teaching of Cherian [US 2022/0078844]. The motivation would have been to control behavior of TWT period by implementing the value 4 to control behavior of station based on TID of broadcast TWT.
Claim(s) 7-8, 10-16, 18, 23, 27-28 and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian [US 2022/0078844] and Kneckt [US 2020/0045634] as applied to claims 4, 32 and 34 above, and further in view of Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522].
As claim 7, Cherian [US 2022/0078844] and Kneckt [US 2020/0045634] fails to fully disclose what Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the trigger frame reserves a transmission opportunity, TXOP, overlapping or encompassing the TWT service period [Par. 0051, 0120 discloses trigger frame reserved “TXOP” overlapping or encompassing TWT service period “wake up duration” for uplink data].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system as disclosed by Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] into the teaching of Cherian [US 2022/0078844] and Kneckt [US 2020/0045634]. The motivation would have been to control behavior of station based on TID of broadcast TWT.
As claim 8, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the latency sensitive traffic is low latency, LL, traffic [Par. 0068 discloses video traffic].
As claim 10, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses wherein a frame comprising the latency sensitive traffic is transmitted in priority during the TWT service period [Par. 0068, video frame], and wherein a frame comprising at least one of the following types of traffic: low-latency traffic not specified during a setup of the TWT service period, a traffic of which traffic type corresponding to a preferred access category, AC, indicated in the trigger frame [Par. 0068, only for video frame]; or a traffic of which traffic type corresponding to any AC, is further transmitted during the TWT service period.
As claim 11, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses contending for access to a communication channel in the TWT service period in order to transmit the frame [Par. 0184 discloses when AP allows for the frame to transmit then STA contends for the right to transmit].
As claim 12, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the contending uses an enhanced distributed channel access, EDCA, mechanism based on EDCA parameters [Par. 0134 discloses contend using EDCA].
As claim 13, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the EDCA parameters are set to first values, different from second values that are used for contending for access outside the service period [Par. 0082 discloses for transmitting outside TWT service period a different ADCA parameters used for contending between the station outside TWT service period].
As claim 14, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the management frame announcing the TWT schedule information includes a field that specifies a type of traffic to be used with priority during the TWT service period [Par. 0068 discloses management frame includes flow type for indicating type of traffic will be exchanged during TWT service period for flow ID traffic].
As claim 15, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the management frame announcing the TWT schedule information includes timing information identifying the TWT service period [Fig. 2 and Par. 0051 discloses TWT duration].
As claim 16, 27 and 35, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the management frame announcing the TWT schedule information service period, such as a beacon frame or a probe response frame [Par. 0054].
As claim 18, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the TWT service period is a broadcast TWT advertised by the AP [Par. 0049].
As claims 23, 28 and 36, Asterjadhi [US 2016/0219522] discloses the TWT schedule information includes information of the TWT service period [Par. 0049-0051].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ho [US 2022/0070772] discloses a method and system for low latency enhancements.
Ko [US 2023/0262768] discloses method and system for transmitting/receiving a frame.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414