DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims filed 04/14/2023 has been entered. Claims 1, 6, 16, 20, 23, 35, 40-53 are pending and under consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: figure 3, 203 and 204, figure 5, 320, figure 7, 409, 430, 442, figure 8, 509. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 16, 35 and 40-53 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 9 “a user’s skin” which should read “the user’s skin”
Claim 6 line 2 “a user’s skin” which should read “the user’s skin”
Claim 6 line 3 recites “when the presence of skin is detected” which should read “when the presence of the user’s skin is detected”
Claim 16 lines 3-4 “a user” which should read “the user”
Claim 35 line 8” a user’s skin” which should read “the user’s skin”
Claim 40 line 10 “a user’s skin” which should read “the user’s skin”
Claim 41 line 3 recites “a skin treatment dressing” which should read “the skin treatment dressing”
Claim 42 line 9 recites “a user’s skin” which should read “the user’s skin”
Claims 43-53 line 1 recite “the apparatus” which should read “the dermatologic treatment apparatus”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “switching apparatus configured to detect the presence of a user’s skin and to switch the light emitting part on when the presence of skin is detected” in claims 2 47, 50 and 53.
For the examination purpose, The limitation is interpreted as an apparatus comprising two electrodes, mechanical switches, timed switches and wireless switches, or a combination thereof as disclosed in [0184]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 16, 20, 23,35, 40 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson (US 20190240502 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Anderson teaches a dermatologic treatment apparatus (figure 3 and [0120] a device comprising LEDS 309 and dressing 307 ) comprising:
a light emitting part (figure 3 and [0120] LEDs 309), for emitting light for dermatological treatment;
wherein the apparatus further comprises a skin treatment dressing (figure 3, dressing 307);
the skin treatment dressing is a bioactive dressing ([0121] [0123] the dressing could be hydrocolloid. Hydrocolloid is a bioactive material as disclosed in the applicant’s specification [0023])
the skin treatment dressing is arranged to adhere to a user's skin, during use (figure 3 and [0120] dressing 307 adhered to skin during treatment);
the skin treatment dressing is arranged with the light emitting part such that, in use, light from the light emitting part passes to the skin treatment dressing (figure 3 [0123] the UV light from LEDs passes through self-contained portions 303 of the dressing); and,
wherein the skin treatment dressing is configured such that the light from the light emitting part passes through the skin treatment dressing to a user's skin (figure 3 [0123] the UV light from LEDs passes through self-contained portions 303 of the dressing to a user’s skin).
Regarding claim 16, Anderson teaches the dermatologic treatment apparatus according to claim 1.
Anderson further teaches wherein the skin treatment dressing comprises at least one light transmitting region (figure 3 and [0120], self-contained portions 303 are arranged to offer pathways for UV light from LEDs 309 that provides greater transmission of UV light than medicament portion 301) that is configured to provide for greater transmission of light, from the light emitting part to the skin of the user, than another region of the skin treatment dressing.
Regarding claim 20, Anderson teaches the dermatologic treatment apparatus according to claim 16.
Anderson further teaches wherein the at least one light transmitting region is a light transmitting channel (figure 3 and [0120] the self-contained portions can be channel formed in hollow tube).
Regarding claim 23, Anderson teaches the dermatologic treatment apparatus according to claim 20.
Anderson further teaches wherein the at least one light transmitting region is a region of reduced thickness of the skin treatment dressing (figure 3 and [0120] “In another embodiment, the self-contained portions only go partially through the thickness of the dressing”)
Regarding claim 35, Anderson teaches a method of dermatological treatment (abstract, figure 3 and [0120] treatment providing apparatus comprising LEDs 309 and dressing 307) comprising providing a dermatologic treatment apparatus comprising:
a light emitting part (figure 3 and [0120] LEDs 309), for emitting light for dermatological treatment;
wherein the apparatus further comprises a skin treatment dressing (figure 3, dressing 307), the skin treatment dressing is a bioactive dressing ([0121] [0123] the dressing could be hydrocolloid. Hydrocolloid is a bioactive material as disclosed in the applicant’s specification [0023]);
the skin treatment dressing is arranged to adhere to a user's skin, during use (figure 3 and [0045] [0120] dressing 307 adhered to skin during treatment); and,
wherein the skin treatment dressing is configured such that the light from the light emitting part passes through the skin treatment dressing to a user's skin ([0120] and figure 3, dressing 307 comprises non-medicament portion 303 which allows UV light to travel through the dressing to a user’s skin);
wherein the method comprises:
applying the skin treatment dressing to a skin surface to be treated and transmitting light from the light emitting part through the skin treatment dressing to the skin surface (figure 3, [0045] and [0120] applying dressing to skin surface).
Regarding claim 40, Anderson teaches a method of manufacture of a dermatologic treatment apparatus ([0088], [0137]), comprising:
providing a light emitting part (figure 3 and [0120] LEDs 309), for emitting light for dermatological treatment;
providing a skin treatment dressing (figure 3, dressing 307),
wherein the skin treatment dressing is a bioactive dressing ([0121] [0123] the dressing could be hydrocolloid, Hydrocolloid is a bioactive material as disclosed in the applicant’s specification [0023]); and
the skin treatment dressing is arranged to adhere to a user's skin (figure 3 , [0045] and [0120] applying dressing to skin surface), during use;
arranging the skin treatment dressing with the light emitting part such that, in use, light from the light emitting part passes to the skin treatment dressing (figure 3, [0045] and [0120] arranging UV light source, for example LEDs 309, with the dressing thereby the light from the LED passes through the dressing); and,
configuring the skin treatment dressing such that the light from the light emitting part passes through the skin treatment dressing to a user's skin ([0120] and figure 3, at least the dressing 307 comprises non-medicament portion 303 which allows UV light to travel through the dressing).
Regarding claim 42, Anderson teaches a kit of parts comprising:
a light emitting part (figure 3 and [0120] LEDs 309), for emitting light for dermatological treatment; and
a skin treatment dressing (figure 3, dressing 307), wherein the skin treatment dressing is a bioactive dressing ([0121] [0123] The dressing could be hydrocolloid, Hydrocolloid is a bioactive material as disclosed in the applicant’s specification [0023]);
the skin treatment dressing being arranged to adhere to a user's skin (figure 3 and [0045] and [0120] adhering the dressing to the skin during use), during use;
the skin treatment dressing is for being arranged with the light emitting part such that, in use, light from the light emitting part passes to the skin treatment dressing (figure 3 [0045] and [0120] arranging UV light source, for example LEDs 309, with the dressing thereby the light from the LED passes through the dressing); and,
wherein the skin treatment dressing is for being configured such that the light from the light emitting part passes through the skin treatment dressing to a user's skin ([0120] and figure 3, the dressing 307 comprises non-medicament portion 303 which allows UV light to travel through the dressing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 47, 50 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 20190240502 A1) in view of Asah (US 20150045843 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Anderson teaches the dermatologic treatment apparatus according to claim 1.
Anderson does not teach comprising a switching apparatus configured to detect the presence of a user’s skin and to switch the light emitting part on when the presence of skin is detected.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a hand-held device for combined light and electrotherapy of a skin surface, Asah teaches a hand-held device comprising a switching apparatus configured to detect the presence of a user’s skin and to switch the light emitting part on when the presence of skin is detected ([0125]-[0126] two mechanical switches 38, 40 for detection of contact between hand-held housing 12 and the skin surface, Therapy is started upon detecting proper contact).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson, to incorporate the teachings of Asah and provides the switching apparatus as claimed for the purpose of simultaneously activate the treatment as taught by Asah ([0067]). The modification ensures the light-emitting part is only active when correctly positioned against the skin, which prevents ineffective treatment or accidental exposure, while providing convenient and automated user experience.
Regarding claim 47, Anderson teaches the method according to claim 35.
Anderson does not teach comprising a switching apparatus configured to detect the presence of a user’s skin and to switch the light emitting part on when the presence of skin is detected.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a hand-held device for combined light and electrotherapy of a skin surface, Asah teaches a hand-held device comprising a switching apparatus configured to detect the presence of a user’s skin and to switch the light emitting part on when the presence of skin is detected ([0125]-[0126] two mechanical switches 38, 40 for detection of contact between hand-held housing 12 and the skin surface, Therapy is started upon detection proper contact).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson, to incorporate the teachings of Asah and provides the switching apparatus as claimed for the purpose of simultaneously activate the treatment as taught by Asah ([0067]). The modification ensures the light-emitting part is only active when correctly positioned against the skin, which prevents ineffective treatment or accidental exposure, while providing convenient and automated user experience.
Regarding claim 50, Anderson teaches the method according to claim 40.
Anderson does not teach comprising a switching apparatus configured to detect the presence of a user’s skin and to switch the light emitting part on when the presence of skin is detected.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a hand-held device for combined light and electrotherapy of a skin surface, Asah teaches a hand-held device comprising a switching apparatus configured to detect the presence of a user’s skin and to switch the light emitting part on when the presence of skin is detected ([0125]-[0126] two mechanical switches 38, 40 for detection of contact between hand-held housing 12 and the skin surface, Therapy is started upon detection proper contact).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson, to incorporate the teachings of Asah and provides the switching apparatus as claimed for the purpose of simultaneously activate the treatment as taught by Asah ([0067]). The modification ensures the light-emitting part is only active when correctly positioned against the skin, which prevents ineffective treatment or accidental exposure, while providing convenient and automated user experience.
Regarding claim 53, Anderson teaches the kit of parts according to claim 42.
Anderson does not teach comprising a switching apparatus configured to detect the presence of a user’s skin and to switch the light emitting part on when the presence of skin is detected.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a hand-held device for combined light and electrotherapy of a skin surface, Asah teaches a hand-held device comprising a switching apparatus configured to detect the presence of a user’s skin and to switch the light emitting part on when the presence of skin is detected ([0125]-[0126] two mechanical switches 38, 40 for detection of contact between hand-held housing 12 and the skin surface, Therapy is started upon detection proper contact).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson, to incorporate the teachings of Asah and provides the switching apparatus as claimed for the purpose of simultaneously activate the treatment as taught by Asah ([0067]). The modification ensures the light-emitting part is only active when correctly positioned against the skin, which prevents ineffective treatment or accidental exposure, while providing convenient and automated user experience.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 20190240502 A1) in view of Lin (US 20080035153 A1).
Regarding claim 41, Anderson teaches the dermatologic treatment apparatus according to claim 40.
Anderson does not teach wherein the method of manufacture is repeated, so as to manufacture a plurality of dermatologic treatment apparatus and wherein each skin treatment dressing is cut from the same length of a skin treatment dressing.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a facemask roll and method for manufacturing the same, Lin teaches wherein the method of manufacture is repeated, so as to manufacture a plurality of dermatologic treatment apparatus and wherein each skin treatment dressing is cut from the same length of the skin treatment dressing. (figures 1, 6 and [0034]-[0044] manufacturing process comprising steps s01-s06, and at step s04, the steps comprises punching process to cut the each mask 62 from a facemask roll 6 having same length, the step is repeated until the pre-determined quantity of facemask is achieved).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson, to incorporate the teachings of Lin and provide the claimed method of manufacture for the purpose of achieving pre-determined quantity of the dermatologic treatment apparatus as taught by Lin ([0012]).
Claims 43-46, 48, 49, 51 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 20190240502 A1) in view of Chen (US 6096066 A).
Regarding claim 43, Anderson teaches the dermatologic treatment apparatus according to claim 1.
Anderson does not teach wherein the dermatologic treatment apparatus is flexible.
In the same field of endeavor, namely conformal patch for administering light therapy, Chen teaches wherein the dermatologic treatment apparatus is flexible (figure 1 and col 3 lines 50-65, conformal flexible patch 10).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson, to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide the apparatus as claimed for the purpose of providing close fit over a non-planar portion of a patient body as taught by Chen (col 3 lines 50-65)
Regarding claim 44, Anderson teaches the dermatologic treatment apparatus according to claim 1.
Anderson does not teach wherein the dermatologic treatment apparatus is less than 2 mm thick.
In the same field of endeavor, namely conformal patch for administering light therapy, Chen teaches wherein dermatologic treatment apparatus is less than 2 mm thick (col 5 lines 1-5 preferably the maximum thickness of the flexible patch is less than 1.0 millimeters)
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide the dermatologic treatment apparatus as claimed for the purpose of providing substantial flexibility of the device as taught by Chen (col 5 lines 1-5) which readily conform with irregularly shaped portions of the patient's body to provide a close fit.
Regarding claim 45, Anderson teaches the method according to claim 35.
Anderson does not teach wherein the dermatologic treatment apparatus is flexible.
In the same field of endeavor, namely conformal patch for administering light therapy, Chen teaches wherein the dermatologic treatment apparatus is flexible (figure 1 and col 3 lines 50-65, conformal flexible patch 10).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson, to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide the apparatus as claimed for the purpose of providing close fit over a non-planar portion of a patient body as taught by Chen (col 3 lines 50-65)
Regarding claim 46, Anderson teaches the method according to claim 35.
Anderson does not teach wherein the dermatologic treatment apparatus is less than 2 mm thick.
In the same field of endeavor, namely conformal patch for administering light therapy, Chen teaches wherein dermatologic treatment apparatus is less than 2 mm thick (col 5 lines 1-5 preferably the maximum thickness of the flexible patch is less than 1.0 millimeters)
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide the dermatologic treatment apparatus as claimed for the purpose of providing substantial flexibility of the device as taught by Chen (col 5 lines 1-5) which readily conform with irregularly shaped portions of the patient's body to provide a close fit.
Regarding claim 48, Anderson teaches the method according to claim 40.
Anderson does not teach wherein the dermatologic treatment apparatus is flexible.
In the same field of endeavor, namely conformal patch for administering light therapy, Chen teaches wherein the dermatologic treatment apparatus is flexible (figure 1 and col 3 lines 50-65, conformal flexible patch 10).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson, to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide the apparatus as claimed for the purpose of providing close fit over a non-planar portion of a patient body as taught by Chen (col 3 lines 50-65)
Regarding claim 49, Anderson teaches the method according to claim 40.
Anderson does not teach wherein the dermatologic treatment apparatus is less than 2 mm thick.
In the same field of endeavor, namely conformal patch for administering light therapy, Chen teaches wherein dermatologic treatment apparatus is less than 2 mm thick (col 5 lines 1-5 preferably the maximum thickness of the flexible patch is less than 1.0 millimeters)
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide the dermatologic treatment apparatus as claimed for the purpose of providing substantial flexibility of the device as taught by Chen (col 5 lines 1-5) which readily conform with irregularly shaped portions of the patient's body to provide a close fit.
Regarding claim 51, Anderson teaches the kit of parts according to claim 42.
Anderson does not teach wherein the dermatologic treatment apparatus is flexible.
In the same field of endeavor, namely conformal patch for administering light therapy, Chen teaches wherein the dermatologic treatment apparatus is flexible (figure 1 and col 3 lines 50-65, conformal flexible patch 10).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson, to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide the apparatus as claimed for the purpose of providing close fit over a non-planar portion of a patient body as taught by Chen (col 3 lines 50-65)
Regarding claim 52, Anderson teaches the kit of parts according to claim 42.
Anderson does not expressly teach wherein the dermatologic treatment apparatus is less than 2 mm thick.
In the same field of endeavor, namely conformal patch for administering light therapy, Chen teaches wherein dermatologic treatment apparatus is less than 2 mm thick (col 5 lines 1-5 preferably the maximum thickness of the flexible patch is less than 1.0 millimeters)
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide the dermatologic treatment apparatus as claimed for the purpose of providing substantial flexibility of the device as taught by Chen (col 5 lines 1-5) which readily conform with irregularly shaped portions of the patient's body to provide a close fit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tapper (US 20190111276 A1) is cited as disclosing light therapy bandage.
/SETH HAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3781