DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Responsive to the amendment filed 31 December 2025, claim 1 is amended and claims 2-3 are cancelled. Claims 1 and 4-6 are currently under examination. Claims 7-12 are withdrawn.
Status of Previous Rejections
Responsive to the amendment filed 31 December 2025, new grounds of rejection are presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230017833 A1 (hereinafter “Jian”).
Regarding claim 1, Jian teaches a coated soft magnetic alloy particle (See title). Jian teaches that the particle has a composition of an amorphous phase with a first film coating thereon (See SUMMARY or Fig 1 or claim 1). Jian teaches that a non-spherical particle shape causes problems in the prior art (see SUMMARY). Jian teaches that the particle has a composition of FeaSibBcCdPeCufSngM1hM2i (see [0044]-[0056] or claims 1-4). Jian teaches a spherical shape (see [0071]).
Jian teaches Example 1 in which an iron alloy with composition of Fe84.2Si1B9C1P3Cu0.8Sn1 is melted and quenched (See Example 1). Jian teaches that the powder is amorphous (see [0109]). Jian teaches that the powder is subjected to a spheroidization treatment (see [0104]-[0105]). Thus the particles meet the limitation of being spherical.
Regarding claim 4, Jian teaches Sn (Example 1). Jian teaches also that M2 may include V, Mn, or Sn (see claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, Jian teaches that the particle has a composition of FeaSibBcCdPeCufSngM1hM2i (see [0044]-[0056] or claims 1-4). Jian teaches that M1 includes NI or Co, while M2 includes Ti, Zr, Hf, Nb, Ta, Mo, W, Cr, Al, Mn, Ag, V, Zn, As, Sb, Bi, Y, and a rare earth element.
All of the numerical limitations are considered to be optional. Thus the composition meets the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian.
Regarding claim 6, Jian teaches that the particles are sieved to generate the size as needed (see Example 1). Jian teaches that an average size of the powder would desirably be 10-50 microns (See [0064]-[0067]). Jian taches that the small particle size causes problems in the prior art (see SUMMARY).
The optimization of the particle size of the powder of Jian would have been an obvious matter to the skilled artisan based on these teachings to optimize particle size. The selection of a suitable desired particle would have required no more thana routine investigation of the broad teachings of Jian.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed 31 December 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER S. KESSLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/CHRISTOPHER S KESSLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1759