Claims 1-5,9,14,20,31,33,38,44,54-58,62,67, and 73 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,33, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AlA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 recites " a system comprising a plurality of TRPs and a high layer”, however “high layer” is a logical concept. In the claim the system can’t be described to have a “high layer” because it is not a physical thing. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Independent claims 33 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for similar reasons as claim 1 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5,9,14,20,31,33,38,44,54-58,62,67, and 73 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,31, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang
US 20230198719 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a transmission method for a UE operatable in a multi-TRP/panel system comprising a plurality of TRPs and a high layer([0123] In an embodiment, in multi-DCI multi-TRP, one PUCCH resource is associated with only one spatial relation. The existing parameter, e.g. enableDefaultBeamPlForPUCCH, can be reused indicating whether a default spatial relation/beam for PUCCH transmission is enabled. The examiner interprets enableDefaultBeamPlForPUCCH as the higher layer parameter. ), comprising:
when the high layer indicates that (S401) a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH([0126] For a PUCCH with single spatial relations in multi-DCI multi-TRP, if enableDefaultBeamPlForPUCCH is enabled, and neither the spatial relation nor the pathloss reference signal is configured for PUCCH, the default spatial relation/pathloss reference signal for PUCCH is applied.),
performing a default spatial relation assumption (S201) to determine the default spatial relation([0126] the default spatial relation/pathloss reference signal for PUCCH is applied and is determined as below:);
and performing a PUCCH transmission (S403) from the UE towards the plurality of TRPs based on the default spatial relation([0131] FIG. 8 the default spatial relation determination for the PUCCH is for a multi-DCI multi-TRP.).
Regarding claim 31, Wang discloses a multi-TRP/panel system comprising a plurality of TRPs and a high layer, connectible to a UE comprising a processor, a memory, a storage medium, a transmitter, and a receiver, corporately performing a method for transmission([0066] within the main memory 204, within static memory 206, and/or within the hardware processor 202 during execution thereof by the communication device 200. ), wherein:
when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted from the UE is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH([0126] For a PUCCH with single spatial relations in multi-DCI multi-TRP, if enableDefaultBeamPlForPUCCH is enabled, and neither the spatial relation nor the pathloss reference signal is configured for PUCCH, the default spatial relation/pathloss reference signal for PUCCH is applied.),
the UE performs a default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation([0126] the default spatial relation/pathloss reference signal for PUCCH is applied and is determined as below:);
and the UE performing a PUCCH transmission towards the plurality of TRPs based on the default spatial relation([0131] FIG. 8 the default spatial relation determination for the PUCCH is for a multi-DCI multi-TRP.).
Regarding claim 54, Wang discloses a UE operatable in a multi-TRP/panel system comprising a plurality of TRPs and a high layer, comprising a processor, a memory, a storage medium, a transmitter, and a receiver([0066] within the main memory 204, within static memory 206, and/or within the hardware processor 202 during execution thereof by the communication device 200. );
wherein: when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH([0126] For a PUCCH with single spatial relations in multi-DCI multi-TRP, if enableDefaultBeamPlForPUCCH is enabled, and neither the spatial relation nor the pathloss reference signal is configured for PUCCH, the default spatial relation/pathloss reference signal for PUCCH is applied.),
the UE performs a default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation([0126] the default spatial relation/pathloss reference signal for PUCCH is applied and is determined as below:);
and the UE transmits a PUCCH towards the plurality of TRPs based on the default spatial relation([0131] FIG. 8 the default spatial relation determination for the PUCCH is for a multi-DCI multi-TRP.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,9,33, 55, and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wang et al, US 20230198719 A1, and in further view of Matsumura et al, US 20230262707 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the transmission method wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH, the transmission method further comprises([0126] For a PUCCH with single spatial relations in multi-DCI multi-TRP, if enableDefaultBeamPlForPUCCH is enabled, and neither the spatial relation nor the pathloss reference signal is configured for PUCCH, the default spatial relation/pathloss reference signal for PUCCH is applied.):
Wang does not disclose if the UE is configured with PUCCH repetition when the default spatial relation is configured to the PUCCH, the default spatial relation is analogically applied to each PUCCH transmission of the repetitions.
However, Matsumura does disclose if the UE is configured with PUCCH repetition when the default spatial relation is configured to the PUCCH, the default spatial relation is analogically applied to each PUCCH transmission of the repetitions ([0171] The mapping procedure between a plurality of default spatial relations and a plurality of PUCCH repetitions may be the same as a mapping procedure between a plurality of spatial relations and a plurality of PUCCH repetitions in the case where the plurality of spatial relations are configured/activated/indicated with respect to the PUCCH transmission. The UE may use a plurality of default spatial relations, in a plurality of repetitions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with if the UE is configured with PUCCH repetition when a spatial relation is configured to the PUCCH, the spatial relation is analogically applied to each PUCCH transmission of the repetitions as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability and robustness (Matsumura, [0063])
Regarding claim 9, Wang does not disclose the transmission method further comprising: when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, configuring one or more spatial relations for each PUCCH repetition; and transmitting the PUCCH repetitions towards corresponding TRPs based on the one or more spatial relations respectively.
However, Matsumura does disclose the transmission method further comprising: when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, configuring one or more spatial relations for each PUCCH repetition ([0048] A UE determines the number of PUCCH repetitions on the basis of the number of configured/activated/specified spatial relations (for example, the number of pieces of SRI included in an SRI sequence).);
and transmitting the PUCCH repetitions towards corresponding TRPs based on the one or more spatial relations respectively([0046] PUCCH repetition of the present disclosure and each of MTRP-based repetition, repetition in Rel. 17, repetition with application of different spatial relations, and the like may be interchangeably interpreted..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the transmission method further comprising: when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, configuring one or more spatial relations for each PUCCH repetition as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability of the PUCCH. (Matsumura, [0006]).
Regarding claim 33, Wang does not disclose the multi-TRP/panel system wherein: the multi-TRP/panel system configures the UE with one or more PUCCH repetitions, and configures one or more spatial relations for each PUCCH repetition, so that the UE transmits the PUCCH repetitions towards corresponding TRPs based on the one or more spatial relations respectively.
However, Matsumura does disclose the multi-TRP/panel system wherein: the multi-TRP/panel system configures the UE with one or more PUCCH repetitions, and configures one or more spatial relations for each PUCCH repetition ([0048] A UE determines the number of PUCCH repetitions on the basis of the number of configured/activated/specified spatial relations (for example, the number of pieces of SRI included in an SRI sequence).),
so that the UE transmits the PUCCH repetitions towards corresponding TRPs based on the one or more spatial relations respectively ([0046] PUCCH repetition of the present disclosure and each of MTRP-based repetition, repetition in Rel. 17, repetition with application of different spatial relations, and the like may be interchangeably interpreted..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the multi-TRP/panel system wherein: the multi-TRP/panel system configures the UE with one or more PUCCH repetitions, and configures one or more spatial relations for each PUCCH repetition, so that the UE transmits the PUCCH repetitions towards corresponding TRPs based on the one or more spatial relations respectively as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability of the PUCCH. (Matsumura, [0006]).
Regarding claim 55, Wang discloses the UE according wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH ([0126] For a PUCCH with single spatial relations in multi-DCI multi-TRP, if enableDefaultBeamPlForPUCCH is enabled, and neither the spatial relation nor the pathloss reference signal is configured for PUCCH, the default spatial relation/pathloss reference signal for PUCCH is applied.),
Wang does disclose if the UE is configured with PUCCH repetition when the default spatial relation is configured to the PUCCH, the UE analogically applies the default spatial relation to each PUCCH transmission of the repetitions.
However, Matsumura does disclose if the UE is configured with PUCCH repetition when the default spatial relation is configured to the PUCCH, the UE analogically applies the default spatial relation to each PUCCH transmission of the repetitions ([0171] The mapping procedure between a plurality of default spatial relations and a plurality of PUCCH repetitions may be the same as a mapping procedure between a plurality of spatial relations and a plurality of PUCCH repetitions in the case where the plurality of spatial relations are configured/activated/indicated with respect to Application/Control Number: 18/249,235 Art Unit: 2419 the PUCCH transmission. The UE may use a plurality of default spatial relations, in a plurality of repetitions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with if the UE is configured with PUCCH repetition when a spatial relation is configured to the PUCCH, the spatial relation is analogically applied to each PUCCH transmission of the repetitions as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability and robustness (Matsumura, [0063])
Regarding claim 62, Liou and Wang do not disclose the UE according wherein: when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, one or more spatial relations are configured for each PUCCH repetition; and the UE transmits the PUCCH repetitions towards corresponding TRPs based on the one or more spatial relations respectively.
However, Matsumura does disclose the UE according wherein: when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, one or more spatial relations are configured for each PUCCH repetition ([0048] A UE determines the number of PUCCH repetitions on the basis of the number of configured/activated/specified spatial relations (for example, the number of pieces of SRI included in an SRI sequence).);
and the UE transmits the PUCCH repetitions towards corresponding TRPs based on the one or more spatial relations respectively ([0046] PUCCH repetition of the present disclosure and each of MTRP-based repetition, repetition in Rel. 17, repetition with application of different spatial relations, and the like may be interchangeably interpreted..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liou and Wang with the UE according wherein: when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, one or more spatial relations are configured for each PUCCH repetition; and the UE transmits the PUCCH repetitions towards corresponding TRPs based on the one or more spatial relations respectively as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability of the PUCCH. (Matsumura, [0006]).
Claims 3 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wang et al, US 20230198719 A1, in view of Liou et al, US 20200305168 A1, and in further view of Bagheri et al, US 20200314881 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Wang does not disclose the transmission method wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH, the transmission method further comprises: and performing the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on a spatial setting for PDCCH receptions by the UE in the CORESET of lowest ID.
However, Liou does disclose the transmission method wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH, the transmission method further comprises ([0320] [0327][0333] [0335]Another general concept of the present invention is that if a UE is scheduled a PUSCH indicated by a DCI format without indicating spatial relation or transmission beam to transmit the PUSCH(e.g. DCIformat0_0). The TRP identifier maybe an index or ID of a higher layer configuration or parameter. The TRP identifier may be index or ID of a configuration or parameter, e.g. at least one of the followings: index or ID of PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel) configuration. index or ID of PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel) configuration.):
and performing the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on a spatial setting for PDCCH receptions by the UE in the CORESET of lowest ID ([0155 0156] If the TCI-state for the CORESET#0 is not indicated by the MAC-CE, the UE shall follow the SSB selected in the most recent random access procedure with a PRACH transmission not initiated by a PDCCH order that triggers a non-contention based random access procedure to receive any PDCCH with any RNTI on the CORESET#0. For CONNECTED state, ifType0/0A/2-CSS is SS#0, the UE monitors the common search space on the PDCCH monitoring occasions determined based on the association between an SSB index and PDCCH monitoring occasions according to Section 13 ofT538.213 (which is called default association.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the transmission method wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH, the transmission method further comprises: and performing the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on a spatial setting for PDCCH receptions by the UE in the CORESET of lowest ID as taught by Liou. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of forward links for the different access terminals 116 and 122. (Liou, [0018]).
Wang and Liou do not disclose when multiple PDCCH repetitions of a PDCCH are transmitted by different TRPs, determining a CORESET of lowest CORESET ID in a most recent monitored search space; wherein: if the CORESET of lowest CORESET ID comprises two active TCI states, the spatial setting is corresponded to one of the two TCI states having a lower TCI state ID.
However, Bagheri does disclose when multiple PDCCH repetitions of a PDCCH are transmitted by different TRPs, determining a CORESET of lowest CORESET ID in a most recent monitored search space ([0167-0169] In a related embodiment, for multi-TRP operation, the UE assumes the TCI state or the QCL assumption for the PDSCH repetition associated with a first TRP, is identical to the TCI state or QCL assumption whichever is applied for the CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission; or the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of the first PDSCH repetition of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) in the TCI state with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest CORESET-ID in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE.);
wherein: if the CORESET of lowest CORESET ID comprises two active TCI states, the spatial setting is corresponded to one of the two TCI states having a lower TCI state ID D([0166] In one example, a CORESET may be associated with two TCI states (first TCI state and second TCI state, more generally R TCI states). In one example, the two TCI states may be indicated in the MAC-CE. The TCI state or the QCL assumption for the PDSCH from the first TRP is identical to the TCI state or QCL assumption (first TCI state) whichever is applied for the CORESET or the first TCI state of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest CORESET-ID in the latest slot depending on the conditions described above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Liou with when multiple PDCCH repetitions of a PDCCH are transmitted by different TRPs, determining a CORESET of lowest CORESET ID in a most recent monitored search space; wherein: if the CORESET of lowest CORESET ID comprises two active TCI states, the spatial setting is corresponded to one of the two TCI states having a lower TCI state ID as taught by Bagheri. The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability, efficiency, and specification impact. (Bagheri, [0064])
Regarding claim 56, Wang does not disclose the UE according wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCHH: and the UE performs the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on a spatial setting for PDCCH receptions by the UE in the CORESET of lowest ID.
However, Liou does discloses the UE according wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCHH([0320] [0327][0333] [0335]Another general concept of the present invention is that if a UE is scheduled a PUSCH indicated by a DCI format without indicating spatial relation or transmission beam to transmit the PUSCH (e.g. DCI format 0_0). The TRP identifier may be an index or ID of a higher layer configuration or parameter. The TRP identifier maybe index or ID of a configuration or parameter, e.g. at least one of the followings: index or ID of PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel) configuration. index or ID of PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel) configuration.):
and the UE performs the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on a spatial setting for PDCCH receptions by the UE in the CORESET of lowest ID([0155 0156] If the TCl-state for the CORESET#0 is not indicated by the MAC-CE, the UE shall follow the SSB selected in the most recent random access procedure with a PRACH transmission not initiated by a PDCCH order that triggers a non-contention based random access procedure to receive any PDCCH with any RNTI on the CORESET#0. For CONNECTED state, ifType0/0A/2-CSS is SS#0, the UE monitors the common search space on the PDCCH monitoring occasions determined based on the association between an SSB index and PDCCH monitoring occasions according to Section 13 ofT538.213 (which is called default association.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the UE according wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCHH: and the UE performs the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on a spatial setting for PDCCH receptions by the UE in the CORESET of lowest ID as taught by Liou. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of forward links for the different access terminals 116 and 122. (Liou, [0018]).
Wang and Liou does not disclose when multiple PDCCH repetitions of a PDCCH are transmitted by different TRPs, a CORESET of lowest CORESET ID is determined in a most recent monitored search space; wherein: if the CORESET of lowest CORESET ID comprises two active TCI states, the spatial setting is corresponded to one of the two TCI states having a lower TCI state ID.
However, Bagheri does disclose when multiple PDCCH repetitions of a PDCCH are transmitted by different TRPs, a CORESET of lowest CORESET ID is determined in a most recent monitored search space ([0167-0169] In a related embodiment, for multi-TRP operation, the UE assumes the TCI state or the QCL assumption for the PDSCH repetition associated with a first TRP, is identical to the TCI state or QCL assumption whichever is applied for the CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission; or the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of the first PDSCH repetition of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) in the TCI state with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest CORESET-ID in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE.);
wherein: if the CORESET of lowest CORESET ID comprises two active TCI states, the spatial setting is corresponded to one of the two TCI states having a lower TCI state ID ([0166] In one example, a CORESET maybe associated with two TCI states (first TCI state and second TCI state, more generally R TCI states). In one example, the two TCI states may be indicated in the MAC-CE. The TCI state or the QCL assumption for the PDSCH from the first TRP is identical to the TCI state or QCL assumption (first TCI state) whichever is applied for the CORESET or the first TCI state of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest CORESET-ID in the latest slot depending on the conditions described above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Liou with when multiple PDCCH repetitions of a PDCCH are transmitted by different TRPs, a CORESET of lowest CORESET ID is determined in a most recent monitored search space; wherein: if the CORESET of lowest CORESET ID comprises two active TCI states, the spatial setting is corresponded to one of the two TCI states having a lower TCI state ID as taught by Bagheri The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability, efficiency, and specification impact. (Bagheri, [0064])
Claims 4 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Liou et al, US 20200305168 A1, in view of Wang et al, US 20230198719 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Nagata et al, US 20220295304 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Wang does not disclose the transmission method wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH, the transmission method further comprises: if a PDCCH candidate is defined in two different CORESETs each corresponding to an active TCI state: determining a CORESET of lowest CORESET ID in a most recent monitored duration of the two different CORESETs.
However, Liou does disclose the transmission method wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH, the transmission method further comprises ([0320] [0327][0333] [0335]Another general concept of the present invention is that if a UE is scheduled a PUSCH indicated by a DCI format without indicating spatial relation or transmission beam to transmit the PUSCH (e.g. DCIformat0_0). The TRP identifier may be an index or ID of a higher layer configuration or parameter. The TRP identifier may be index or ID of a configuration or parameter, e.g. at least one of the followings: index or ID of PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel) configuration. index or ID of PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel) configuration.):
if a PDCCH candidate is defined in two different CORESETs each corresponding to an active TCI state ([0150] [0161] [0228] [0229] MAC CE based TCI indication delay for CORESET0 is the same as MAC CE based TCI indication delay for other CORESETs. TCI states applicable to CORESET#0 are (1) up to the first 64 sorted by TCl-state IDs, and(2) which contains CSI-RS sourced by SSB.):
determining a CORESET of lowest CORESET ID in a most recent monitored duration of the two different CORESETs ([0150] MAC CE based TCI indication delay for CORESET0is the same as MAC CE based TCI indication delay for other CORESETs. To support multiple-PDCCH based multi-TRP/panel transmission with intra-cell (same cell ID) and inter-cell (different Cell IDs), following RRC configuration can be used to link multiple PDCCH/PDSCH pairs with multiple TRPs one CORESETin a "PDCCH-config"corresponds to one TRP. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the transmission method wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH, the transmission method further comprises: if a PDCCH candidate is defined in two different CORESETs each corresponding to an active TCI state: determining a CORESET of lowest CORESET ID in a most recent monitored duration of the two different CORESETs as taught by Liou. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of forward links for the different access terminals 116 and 122. (Liou, [0018]).
Wang and Liou do not disclose and performing the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on a spatial setting for PDCCH receptions by the UE in the CORESET of lowest CORESET ID on the active DL BWP.
However, Nagata does disclose and performing the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on a spatial setting for PDCCH receptions by the UE in the CORESET of lowest CORESET ID on the active DL BWP ([0170] The default spatial relation for the PUCCH (or PUSCH) to deliver HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH maybe an RS for a CORESET having the lowest CORESET ID in a specific slot (e.g., the latest slot) in which one or more CORESETs in an active BWP for the serving cell are monitored by the UE, the CORESET being associated with a search space to be monitored, and the RS being related to a QCL parameter used for QCL indication for the PDCCH (e.g., FIG. 2B).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Liou with and performing the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on a spatial setting for PDCCH receptions by the UE in the CORESET of lowest CORESET ID on the active DL BWP as taught by Nagata. The motivation for doing so would be to increase high speed data rates. (Nagata, [0002])
Regarding claim 57, Wang does not disclose the UE according wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH: if a PDCCH candidate is defined in two different CORESETs each corresponding to an active TCI state, a CORESET of lowest CORESET ID determined in a most recent monitored duration of the two different CORESETs.
Liou discloses the UE according wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH([0320] [0327][0333][0335] Another general concept of the present invention is that if a UE is scheduled a PUSCH indicated by a DCI format without indicating spatial relation or transmission beam to transmit the PUSCH(e.g. DCIformat 0_0). The TRP identifier maybe an index or ID of a higher layer configuration or parameter. The TRP identifier maybe index or ID of a configuration or parameter, e.g. at least one of the followings: index or ID of PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel) configuration. index or ID of PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel) configuration.):
if a PDCCH candidate is defined in two different CORESETs each corresponding to an active TCI state ([0150] [0161] MAC CE based TCI indication delay for CORESET0is the same as MACCE based TCI indication delay for other CORESETs. TCI states applicable to CORESET#0 are (1) up to the first 64sortedbyTCl-state IDs, and (2) which contains CSI-RS sourced by SSB.),
a CORESET of lowest CORESET ID determined in a most recent monitored duration of the two different CORESETs ([0150] MAC CE based TCI indication delay for CORESET 0is the same as MAC CE based TCI indication delay for other CORESETs ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the UE according wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH: if a PDCCH candidate is defined in two different CORESETs each corresponding to an active TCI state, a CORESET of lowest CORESET ID determined in a most recent monitored duration of the two different CORESETs as taught by Liou. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of forward links for the different access terminals 116 and 122. (Liou, [0018]).
Liou and Wang do not disclose and the UE performs the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on a spatial setting for PDCCH receptions by the UE in the CORESET of lowest CORESET ID on the active DL BWP.
However, Nagata does disclose the UE performs the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on a spatial setting for PDCCH receptions by the UE in the CORESET of lowest CORESET ID on the active DL BWP ([0170] The default spatial relation for the PUCCH (or PUSCH) to deliver HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH may be an RS for a CORESET having the lowest CORESET ID in a specific slot (e.g., the latest slot) in which one or more CORESETs in an active BWP for the serving cell are monitored by the UE, the CORESET being associated with a search space to be monitored, and the RS being related to a QCL parameter used for QCL indication for the PDCCH(e.g., FIG. 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liou and Wang with and performing the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on a spatial setting for PDCCH receptions by the UE in the CORESET of lowest CORESET ID on the active DL BWP as taught by Nagata. The motivation for doing so would be to increase high speed data rates. (Nagata, [0002]).
Claims 5 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wang et al, US 20230198719 A1, and in further view of Zhou et al, US 20200314664 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the transmission method wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH, the transmission method further comprises([0126] For a PUCCH with single spatial relations in multi-DCI multi-TRP, if enableDefaultBeamPlForPUCCH is enabled, and neither the spatial relation nor the pathloss reference signal is configured for PUCCH, the default spatial relation/pathloss reference signal for PUCCH is applied.).
Wang do not disclose determining a PDCCH candidate of lowest ID from a most recent monitored search space; if the PDCCH candidate is associated with one TCI state, corresponding a spatial setting for the PDCCH reception to the TCI state; if the PDCCH candidate is associated with two TCI states, corresponding the spatial setting to one of the two TCI states having a lower TCI state ID; and performing the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on the spatial setting.
However, Zhou does disclose determining a PDCCH candidate of lowest ID from a most recent monitored search space ([0253] [0366] In an example, a gNB may dynamically allocate resources to a wireless device via a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) on one or more PDCCHs. The wireless device may monitor the one or more PDCCHs in order to find possible allocation when its downlink reception is enabled. The one or more PDCCH candidates that a UE monitors maybe defined in terms of PDCCH UE-specific search spaces.);
if the PDCCH candidate is associated with one TCI state, corresponding a spatial setting for the PDCCH reception to the TCI state ([0449] [0470] In an example, the wireless device may monitor PDCCH candidates in at least one of the one or more search space sets in at least one of the one or more control resource sets with at least one of the one or more TCI states. The wireless device may determine, based on the configuration parameters, a spatial filter parameter for monitoring a downlink control channel on the cell. );
if the PDCCH candidate is associated with two TCI states, corresponding the spatial setting to one of the two TCI states having a lower TCI state ID ([0449] [0470] FIG. 32, the target gNB may configure one or more TCIs (e.g., TCI 1 and TCI2)for PDCCH receptions of the wireless device. The wireless device may determine, based on the configuration parameters, a spatial filter parameter for monitoring a downlink control channel on the cell.);
and performing the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on the spatial setting ([0469] The wireless device may transmit, based on the downlink control information and the spatial relation information, an uplink transport block via the uplink radio resources. In an example, the spatial relation information may be configured for a physical uplink control channel of the cell. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liou and Wang with determining a PDCCH candidate of lowest ID from a most recent monitored search space; if the PDCCH candidate is associated with one TCI state, corresponding a spatial setting for the PDCCH reception to the TCI state; if the PDCCH candidate is associated with two TCI states, corresponding the spatial setting to one of the two TCI states having a lower TCI state ID; if the PDCCH candidate is associated with two TCI states, corresponding the spatial setting to one of the two TCI states having a lower TCI state ID; and performing the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on the spatial setting as taught by Zhou The motivation for doing so would be to reduce interference to and from one or more neighbor carriers. (Zhou, [0248])
Regarding claim 58, Liou discloses the UE according wherein when the high layer indicates that a default spatial relation for a PUCCH to be transmitted is enabled while the UE is not configured with any spatial relation for the PUCCH ([0126] For a PUCCH with single spatial relations in multi-DCI multi-TRP, if enableDefaultBeamPlForPUCCH is enabled, and neither the spatial relation nor the pathloss reference signal is configured for PUCCH, the default spatial relation/pathloss reference signal for PUCCH is applied.).
Wang does not disclose a PDCCH candidate of lowest ID is determined in a most recent monitored search space; if the PDCCH candidate is associated with one TCI state, a spatial setting for the PDCCH reception is corresponded to the TCI state; if the PDCCH candidate is associated with two TCI states, the spatial setting is corresponded to one of the two TCI states having a lower TCI state ID; and the UE performs the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on the spatial setting.
However, Zhou does disclose a PDCCH candidate of lowest ID is determined in a most recent monitored search space ([0253] [0366] In an example, a gNB may dynamically allocate resources to a wireless device via a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) on one or more PDCCHs. The wireless device may monitor the one or more PDCCHs in order to find possible allocation when its downlink reception is enabled. The one or more PDCCH candidates that a UE monitors maybe defined in terms of PDCCH UE-specific search spaces.);
if the PDCCH candidate is associated with one TCI state, a spatial setting for the PDCCH reception is corresponded to the TCI state ([0449] [0470] In an example, the wireless device may monitor PDCCH candidates in at least one of the one or more search space sets in at least one of the one or more control resource sets with at least one of the one or more TCI states. The wireless device may determine, based on the configuration parameters, a spatial filter parameter for monitoring a downlink control channel on the cell. );
if the PDCCH candidate is associated with two TCI states, the spatial setting is corresponded to one of the two TCI states having a lower TCI state ID ([0449] [0470] FIG. 32, the target gNB may configure one or more TCIs (e.g., TCI 1 and TCI2)for PDCCH receptions of the wireless device. The wireless device may determine, based on the configuration parameters, a spatial filter parameter for monitoring a downlink control channel on the cell.);
and the UE performs the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on the spatial setting ([0469] The wireless device may transmit, based on the downlink control information and the spatial relation information, an uplink transport block via the uplink radio resources. In an example, the spatial relation information may be configured for a physical uplink control channel of the cell. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with a PDCCH candidate of lowest ID is determined in a most recent monitored search space; if the PDCCH candidate is associated with one TCI state, a spatial setting for the PDCCH reception is corresponded to the TCI state; if the PDCCH candidate is associated with two TCI states, the spatial setting is corresponded to one of the two TCI states having a lower TCI state ID; and the UE performs the default spatial relation assumption to determine the default spatial relation based on the spatial setting as taught by Zhou The motivation for doing so would be to reduce interference to and from one or more neighbor carriers. (Zhou, [0248])
Claims 14,20,38,44,67, and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wang et al, US 20230198719 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sun et al, US 20230276447 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Liou and Wang do not disclose the transmission method further comprising: when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions (S 1601), configuring a number of repetitions (S1603) to perform an intra-slot PUCCH repetition for the PUCCH; wherein: the number of repetitions is indicated by the high layer.
However, Sun does disclose the transmission method further comprising: when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions (S 1601), configuring a number of repetitions (S1603) to perform an intra-slot PUCCH repetition for the PUCCH ([0124] [0125] Further, at least one of the foregoing embodiments maybe applied to a case where the UE is configured with specific information regarding the foregoing embodiments by higher layer signaling. For example, the specific information may be information indicating that different spatial relations for PUCCH transmission occasions are enabled, information indicating that different PUCCH resources for PUCCH repeated transmission are enabled, information indicating that PUCCH repetition across MTRPs is enabled, any RRC parameter for a specific release (for example, Rel. 17), etc. Note that PUCCH repetition in each of the foregoing embodiments may correspond to at least one of inter-slot repetition, intra-slot repetition, inter-subslot repetition, intra-subslot repetition, and the like.);
wherein: the number of repetitions is indicated by the high layer ([0124] Further, at least one of the foregoing embodiments maybe applied to a case where the UE is configured with specific information regarding the foregoing embodiments by higher layer signaling. For example, the specific information may be information indicating that different spatial relations for PUCCH transmission occasions are enabled, information indicating that different PUCCH resources for PUCCH repeated transmission are enabled, information indicating that PUCCH repetition across MTRPs is enabled, any RRC parameter for a specific release (for example, Rel. 17), etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liou and Wang with the transmission method further comprising: when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions (S1601), configuring a number of repetitions (S1603) to perform an intra-slot PUCCH repetition for the PUCCH; wherein: the number of repetitions is indicated by the high layer as taught by Sun The motivation for doing so would be to improve the reliability of PUCCH is studied. (Sun, [0006]).
Regarding claim 20, Liou discloses wherein: a first symbol of the first PUCCH repetition is starting Symbol Index symbols from the beginning of the slot indicated by the timing indicator K1 ([0114] UL-SCH indicator-1 bit. A value of"1"indicates UL-SCH shall be transmitted on the PUSCH and a value of"0"indicates UL-SCH shall not be transmitted on the PUSCH. A UE is not expected to receive a DCIformat0_1 with UL-SCH indicator of"0"and CSI request of all zero(s). TABLE-US-00012 PUCCH Config information element-startingSymbolndex ).
Liou and Wang do not disclose the transmission method wherein when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, the transmission method further comprises: when an intra-slot PUCCH repetition is configured for a first PUCCH repetition, using a high layer parameter starting Symbol Index to indicate the first PUCCH repetition (S1607).
However, Sun does disclose the transmission method wherein when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, the transmission method further comprises: when an intra-slot PUCCH repetition is configured for a first PUCCH repetition, using a high layer parameter starting Symbol Index to indicate the first PUCCH repetition (S1607) ([0124] [0125] Further, at least one of the foregoing embodiments maybe applied to a case where the UE is configured with specific information regarding the foregoing embodiments by higher layer signaling. For example, the specific information may be information indicating that different spatial relations for PUCCH transmission occasions are enabled, information indicating that different PUCCH resources for PUCCH repeated transmission are enabled, information indicating that PUCCH repetition across MTRPs is enabled, any RRCparameterfor a specific release (for example, Rel. 17), etc. Note that PUCCH repetition in each of the foregoing embodiments may correspond to at least one of inter-slot repetition, intra-slot repetition, inter-subslot repetition, intra-subslot repetition, and the like.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liou and Wang with the transmission method, wherein when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, the transmission method further comprises: when an intra-slot PUCCH repetition is configured for a first PUCCH repetition, using a high layer parameter startingSymbollndex to indicate the first PUCCH repetition (S1607) as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the reliability of PUCCH is studied. (Sun, [0006])
Regarding claim 38, Liou discloses the multi-TRP/panel system wherein when the multi-TRP/panel system configures the UE with one or more PUCCH repetitions ([0115] [0119] [0202] [0205] [0206] If a UE has dedicated PUCCH resource configuration, the UE is provided by higher layers with one or more PUCCH resources. An indication for intra-slot frequency hopping by intraSlotFrequencyHopping#2: Configuration/indication mechanism of TB repetition. For PDCCH/PUCCH #1: the number of TRP/panel/beams#2: Repetition/Diversity of DCI/UCI.),
Liou and Wang do not disclose the high layer indicates the UE a number of repetitions so that the UE is triggered to perform an intra-slot PUCCH repetition for the PUCCH.
However, Sun does disclose the high layer indicates the UE a number of repetitions so that the UE is triggered to perform an intra-slot PUCCH repetition for the PUCCH ([0124] [0125] Further, at least one of the foregoing embodiments may be applied to a case where the UE is configured with specific information regarding the foregoing embodiments by higher layer signaling. For example, the specific information may be information indicating that different spatial relations for PUCCH transmission occasions are enabled, information indicating that different PUCCH resources for PUCCH repeated transmission are enabled, information indicating that PUCCH repetition across MTRPs is enabled, any RRC parameter for a specific release (for example, Rel. 17), etc. Note that PUCCH repetition in each of the foregoing embodiments may correspond to at least one of inter-slot repetition, intra slot repetition, inter-subslot repetition, intra-subslot repetition, and the like.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liou and Wang with the high layer indicates the UE a number of repetitions so that the UE is triggered to perform an intra-slot PUCCH repetition for the PUCCH as taught by Sun The motivation for doing so would be to improve the reliability of PUCCH is studied. (Sun, [0006]).
Regarding claim 44, Liou discloses wherein: a first symbol of the first PUCCH repetition is startingSymbolIndex symbols from the beginning of the slot indicated by the timing indicator Kl ([0114] UL-SCH indicator-1 bit. A value of"1"indicates UL-SCH shall be transmitted on the PUSCH and a value of"0" indicates UL-SCH shall not be transmitted on the PUSCH. A UE is not expected to receive a DCI format 0_1 with UL-SCH indicator of"0" and CSI request of all zero(s). TABLE-US-00012 PUCCH-Config information element-startingSymbolndex. ).
Liou and Wang do not disclose the multi-TRP/panel system wherein when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, the multi-TRP/panel system further uses a high layer parameter startingSymbolIndex to indicate the first PUCCH repetition when an intra-slot PUCCH repetition is configured for a first PUCCH repetition,
However, Sun does disclose the multi-TRP/panel system wherein when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, the multi-TRP/panel system further uses a high layer parameter startingSymbolIndex to indicate the first PUCCH repetition when an intra-slot PUCCH repetition is configured for a first PUCCH repetition ([0124] [0125] Further, at least one of the foregoing embodiments may be applied to a case where the UE is configured with specific information regarding the foregoing embodiments by higher layer signaling. For example, the specific information may be information indicating that different spatial relations for PUCCH transmission occasions are enabled, information indicating that different PUCCH resources for PUCCH repeated transmission are enabled, information indicating that PUCCH repetition across MTRPs is enabled, any RRCparameter for a specific release (for example, Rel. 17), etc. Note that PUCCH repetition in each of the foregoing embodiments may correspond to at least one of inter-slotrepetition, intra-slotrepetition, inter-subslot repetition, intra-subslot repetition, and the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liou and Wang with the high layer indicates the UE a number of repetitions so that the UE is triggered to perform an intra-slot PUCCH repetition for the PUCCH as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the reliability of PUCCH is studied. (Sun, [0006]).
Regarding claim 67, Liou and Wang do not disclose the UE according wherein when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, a number of repetitions is configured to perform an intra-slot PUCCH repetition for the PUCCH; wherein: the number of repetitions is indicated by the high layer.
However, Sun does disclose the UE according wherein when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, a number of repetitions is configured to perform an intra-slot PUCCH repetition for the PUCCH ([0124] [0125] Further, at least one of the foregoing embodiments maybe applied to a case where the UE is configured with specific information regarding the foregoing embodiments by higher layer signaling. For example, the specific information maybe information indicating that different spatial relations for PUCCH transmission occasions are enabled, information indicating that different PUCCH resources for PUCCH repeated transmission are enabled, information indicating that PUCCH repetition across MTRPs is enabled, any RRC parameter for a specific release (for example, Rel. 17), etc. Note that PUCCH repetition in each of the foregoing embodiments may correspond to at least one of inter-slot repetition, intra-slot repetition, inter-subslot repetition, intra-subslot repetition, and the like.);
wherein: the number of repetitions is indicated by the high layer ([0124] Further, at least one of thefore going embodiments maybe applied to a case where the UE is configured with specific information regarding thefore going embodiments by higher layer signaling. For example, the specific information may be information indicating that different spatial relations for PUCCH transmission occasions are enabled, information indicating that different PUCCH resources for PUCCH repeated transmission are enabled, information indicating that PUCCH repetition across MTRPs is enabled, any RRC parameter for a specific release (for example, Rel. 17), etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liou and Wang with the UE according wherein when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, a number of repetitions is configured to perform an intra-slot PUCCH repetition for the PUCCH; wherein: the number of repetitions is indicated by the high layer as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the reliability of PUCCH is studied. (Sun, [0006]).
Regarding claim 73, Liou discloses wherein: a first symbol of the first PUCCH repetition is starting Symbol Index symbols from the beginning of the slot indicated by the timing indicator K1 ([0114] UL-SCH indicator-1 bit. A value of"1"indicates UL-SCH shall be transmitted on the PUSCH and a value of"0"indicates UL-SCH shall not be transmitted on the PUSCH. A UE is not expected to receive a DCI format 0_1 with UL-SCHindicator of"0"and CSI request of all zero(s). TABLE-US-00012 PUCCH Config information element-startingSymbollndex ).
Liou and Wang do not disclose the UE according wherein when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, when an intra-slot PUCCH repetition is configured for a first PUCCH repetition, a high layer parameter starting Symbol Index is used to indicate the first PUCCH repetition.
However, Sun does disclose the UE according wherein when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, when an intra-slot PUCCH repetition is configured for a first PUCCH repetition, a high layer parameter starting Symbol Index is used to indicate the first PUCCH repetition ((0124] [0125] Further, at least one of the foregoing embodiments may be applied to a case where the UE is configured with specific information regarding the foregoing embodiments by higher layer signaling. For example, the specific information may be information indicating that different spatial relations for PUCCH transmission occasions are enabled, information indicating that different PUCCH resources for PUCCH repeated transmission are enabled, information indicating that PUCCH repetition across MTRPs is enabled, any RRC parameter for a specific release (for example, Rel. 17), etc. Note that PUCCH repetition in each of the foregoing embodiments may correspond to at least one of inter-slot repetition, intra slot repetition, inter-subslot repetition, intra-subslot repetition, and the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liou and Wang with the transmission method, wherein when the UE is configured with one or more PUCCH repetitions, the transmission method further comprises: when an intra-slot PUCCH repetition is configured for a first PUCCH repetition, using a high layer parameter startingSymbollndexto indicate the first PUCCH repetition (S1607) as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the reliability of PUCCH is studied. (Wang, [0006]).
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419