DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 6th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Page 7, line 11 – Page 8, line 18 of Remarks that Li does not anticipate or render obvious claims 1-2, 4, and 6 as amended.
Regarding whether Li anticipates the amended claims 1-2, 4, and 6, Applicant cites Paragraphs [0044]-[0046] to argue that Li allegedly teaches a biosurfactant concentration outside the claimed range of 0.02 to 5 % (v/v). Applicant contends on Page 8, lines 3-4, “In example 3 of Li, sophorolipid is present in an amount of 160g/2000g or 9% which outside the scope of the instant claims 1, 2, 4-8.” However, as Li states on Paragraph [0045], “the total mass percentage concentration of inorganic salt, biosurfactant and degradable chelating agent is 3.5%”. It would therefore not be possible for sophorolipid to be present at 9 mass %. The actual amount of sophorolipid in Li’s Example 3 is clarified by considering the following passage in Li’s Paragraph [0036]:
Thus, Li’s “160g of sophorolipid” is 160g of a 25% by weight solution of sophorolipid. When considering that only 40g of sophorolipid is present alongside 10g of iron trichloride, 10g of ethylenediamine disuccinic acid, and 10g of iminidisuccinic acid, the total mass percentage concentration of inorganic salt, biosurfactant and degradable chelating agent is 100 x ((40 + 10 + 10 + 10)/2000) % = 3.5%, consistent with Li’s reported percentage concentration. Li’s biosurfactant is therefore present at 100 x (40 / 2000) % = 2%, rather than the 9% asserted by Applicant on Page 8, lines 3-4, and Li’s Example 3 still anticipates the amended claims 1-2 and 6.
Additionally, while the amount of iron chloride in the embodiment of Li relied upon in the rejection of record (Li, Example 3, [0045], 0.5% iron trichloride) differs from the claimed range of 2 to 15% by weight, iron trichloride is not the only metal solubilizing agent in Li. Each of ethylenediamine disuccinic acid and iminidisuccinic acid are also metal solubilizing agents, being acids as well as degradable chelating agents. Still, each of the individual metal solubilizing agents that are acids or oxidants are present at 0.5 wt%, which is outside the claimed range of 2 to 15 % by weight recited in claim 4. The rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is therefore withdrawn. However, Li does not teach that the ratio of salt: biosurfactant cannot be altered, and Li provides ranges of total and relative amounts of inorganic salt, biosurfactant and degradable chelating agent in Paragraphs [0026]-[0027] that, when considering the amount of sophorolipid in Li’s Example 3, render the claimed range of 2 to 15 % by weight metal solubilizing agent in claim 4 obvious. A new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is therefore made over Li.
Applicant states on Page 8, lines 14-16, “Finally, Li is directed to soil amendment and does not teach or suggest that the instantly claimed bioleaching comparison are effective for removal of metal containing waste streams from an ore deposit as described in paragraph 96 of the published application.” In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., effectiveness for removal of metal containing waste streams from an ore deposit) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Moreover, the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention). See MPEP 2144.IV. Also, nothing in paragraph 96 of the published application indicates that specifically altering an amount of metal solubilizing agent provides an unexpected or superior effect.
Finally, Applicant argues on Page 9, lines 1-11 of Remarks that ‘076 (U.S. 2020/0340076 A1) does not teach or suggest that the metal solubilizing agent is an acid or oxidant. This is not convincing because ‘076 does teach that an acid is a suitable component of the composition for adjusting pH and thereby promote dissolution of metals (‘076, [0137]). This is discussed on Page 7, line 15 – Page 8, line 6 of the Office Action dated February 25th, 2026 and is not addressed in Applicant’s Remarks. ‘076 also teaches an overlapping concentration of biosurfactant with respect to the amended claim (‘076, [0092]), as discussed in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d)/4th par. as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 7 recites “the metal solubilizing agent comprises a biosurfactant producing microorganism” and depends from claim 1, which recites “at least one metal solubilizing agent that is an acid or oxidant” (emphasis added).
MPEP 608.01(n)III states that “The test as to whether a claim is a proper dependent claim is that it shall include every limitation of the claim from which it depends[, according to 35 U.S.C. 112(d)/4th par.,] or in other words that it shall not conceivably be infringed by anything which would not also infringe the basic claim..." See also Multilayer Stretch Cling Film Holdings, Inc. v. Berry Plastics Corp., 119 USPQ2d 1773, 1783 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (stating that “A dependent claim that contradicts, rather than narrows, the claim from which it depends is invalid” under 35 U.S.C. 112(d)/4th par.).
Here, claim 7 may be infringed without necessarily also infringing claim 1. The metal solubilizing agent in claim 1 is an acid or oxidant, and the metal solubilizing agent in claim 7 comprises a biosurfactant producing microorganism. Claim 7 can be infringed if the metal solubilizing agent is a biosurfactant producing microorganism, rather than an acid or oxidant, without infringing claim 1.
Since claim 7 may be infringed without necessarily also infringing claim 1, claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d)/4th par. for being an improper dependent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 112625689 A, 2021) (the machine translation of record is referenced below).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a bioleaching composition comprising an aqueous solution of a biosurfactant (Li, [0045], sophorolipid) and at least one metal solubilizing agent that is an acid or oxidant (Li, [0045], iron trichloride is ferric chloride; instant claim 6 indicates that ferric chloride is an oxidant; ethylenediamine disuccinic acid and iminodisuccinic acid (degradable chelating agents)), wherein the biosurfactant is present in a concentration of approximately 2 % (v/v) (Li, [0045], “160g of sophorolipid” diluted to 2000g, with total biosurfactant, inorganic salt, and degradable chelating agent summing to 3.5% by mass; [0036], The biosurfactants sophorolipid, surfactant, rhamnolipid and lichenin are commercially purchased from Xi’an Brilliant Chemical Co., Ltd., and the contents of sophorolipid, surfactant, rhamnolipid and lichenin are all 25% by weight.” Thus, “160g of sophorolipid” in paragraph [0045] is 160g of a 25% solution, giving 40g of sophorolipid, which is ultimately diluted to 2000g. This is consistent with the reported total mass percentage of 3.5%: 40g sophorolipid + 10g iron trichloride + 10g ethylenediamine disuccinic acid + 10g iminodisuccinic acid = 70 g, in 2000g solution.).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the bioleaching composition according to claim 1, wherein the biosurfactant is a sophorolipid biosurfactant (SLP) (Li, [0045]).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the bioleaching composition according to claim 4, as discussed above, comprising ferric chloride (Li, [0045], iron trichloride).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over '076 (U.S. 2020/0340076 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ‘076 teaches a bioleaching (‘076, [0045]) composition (‘076, [0073]) comprising a liquid solution (‘076, [0144]) of a biosurfactant (‘076, [0073], biological leaching reagent comprising one or more microorganisms and/or microbial growth by-products; [0075], “In one embodiment, the microbial growth by-products are biosurfactants.”) and at least one metal solubilizing agent that is an acid or oxidant (‘076, [0137], sulfuric acid).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected sulfuric acid as an additional component in the bioleaching composition of ‘076. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07. In the instant case, sulfuric acid was known to be suitable as a pH adjusting agent. Despite not explicitly stating that sulfuric acid is used as a “metal solubilizing agent”, sulfuric acid would necessarily be a metal solubilizing agent, as it would be used to adjust the pH to promote dissolution of metals, i.e., leaching.
’076 further teaches that the biosurfactant is present in a concentration of 0.001 to 5 % (v/v) (‘076, [0092]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.02 to 5 % (v/v).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the biosurfactant concentrations because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
‘076 does not explicitly teach that the solution is an aqueous solution. However, as ‘076 considers leaching to be a process which takes place in aqueous media (‘076, [0002]), it would have been obvious for the solution of the bioleaching composition in ‘076 to be an aqueous solution.
Regarding claim 2, ‘076 renders the bioleaching composition according to claim 1 obvious, as discussed above, wherein the biosurfactant is a sophorolipid biosurfactant (‘076, [0077], sophorolipids are particularly preferable).
Regarding claim 7, ‘076 renders the bioleaching composition according to claim 1 obvious, as discussed above, wherein the metal solubilizing agent comprises a biosurfactant-producing microorganism (076, [0082], enhancing components which can include additional microbial cultures (microorganisms); as leaching is solubilization of metals, enhancing leaching means promoting metal dissolution; [0083], “In some embodiments, the additional microbial
cultures comprise biosurfactant-producers”).
Regarding claim 8, ‘076 renders the bioleaching composition according to claim 7 obvious, as discussed above, wherein the microorganism is selected from a list including Bacillus subtilis (‘076, [0083]), a Bacillus sp.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further selected Bacillus subtilis as the microorganism in the bioleaching composition of ‘076, as ‘076 teaches that this is a suitable option for the microorganism (‘076, [0083]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 112625689 A, 2021) (the machine translation of record is referenced below).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the bioleaching composition according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the metal solubilizing agent is present in a concentration of 0.5 % by weight (Li, [0045], Each of iron trichloride, ethylenediamine disuccinic acid, and iminidisuccinic acid are present at 0.5 wt%), which differs from the claimed range of 2 to 15% by weight. The claim requires a metal solubilizing agent that is an acid or oxidant (claim 1), so the combined concentrations of each individual oxidizing agent does not read on a concentration of the metal solubilizing agent. Nonetheless, Li’s inorganic salt is present at 0.5 wt%, as discussed above, and Li teaches that the degradable chelating agent is present at a ratio of 100-1000 parts by weight relative to the inorganic salt (Li, [0026]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the amount of ethylenediamine disuccinic acid and iminodisuccinic acid (degradable chelating agents) in Li within a range of 0.5-5 wt% because the embodiment of Li discussed above (Li, Example 3, [0045]) uses a 0.5 wt% of inorganic salt and Li teaches that a ratio of 1-10:1 of degradable chelating agent: inorganic salt is suitable for the composition (Li, [0026], 100-1000 parts by weight degradable chelating agent vs. 100 parts by weight inorganic salt). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to vary the chelating agent concentration within this range to investigate optimal metal leaching conditions.
Without varying the weight ratio between ethylenediamine disuccinic acid to iminodisuccinic acid in the embodiment of Li discussed above from 1:1 (Li, Example 3, [0045]), it would have therefore been obvious for each of these acids to be present at a concentration of 0.25-2.5 wt%, or half of 0.5-5 wt%, which overlaps with the claimed range of 2-15% by weight.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the acid (metal solubilizing agent) concentrations because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 112625689 A, 2021) (the machine translation of record is referenced below), as applied to claim 4 above, and further evidenced by Lamb (“The slow hydrolysis of ferric chloride in dilute solution. I. The change in conductance, color, and chloride ion concentration”, 1938).
Regarding claim 5, Li renders the bioleaching composition according to claim 4 obvious, as discussed above. While Li does not explicitly teach that the bioleaching composition comprises at least one acid selected from sulfuric acid, hydrochloric acid, nitric acid, phosphoric acid, and hydrocyanic acid, Li’s composition is an aqueous solution containing iron trichloride (Li, [0045]). Lamb teaches that iron trichloride (ferric chloride) hydrolyses in aqueous solution to produce hydrochloric acid (Lamb, Page 981, Col. 1, Paragraph 2, Col. 2, Paragraph 1). Li’s composition therefore comprises hydrochloric acid, despite Li’s silence to this feature.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY JOHN BAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736