DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
The response to a restriction requirement filed on 11/03/2025 was noted as an election without traverse. Applicants appear to be traversing the restriction requirement and argue that the ligands identified in claim 1 do not incur unreasonable search burden.
This is not found persuasive because per PCT rule 13.1 and 13.2 search burden is not a criterion for lack of unity of invention. With regards to the species claimed, the species lack the same or corresponding special technical feature because the species represent distinct characteristics for each of the recited ligands. For example, mercapto ethanol is structurally distinct than the elected L-NIBC. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Examiner note: It is noted that the font for the amendment to claim 1 is light and difficult to read. It is suggested that Applicants may wish to consider an alternative font.
Claims 1 and 3 are under current examination directed to the election of Group I method of treating ischemic strokes and the species of N-isobutyryl-L-cysteine (L-NIBC) as elected in the response to the restriction filed on 11/03/2025.
Applicants' arguments and amendments filed on 06/03/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (WO 2018024111) in view of Yang et al. (United States Patent Publication 20160015742) and Hopkins medicine (Types of Strokes).
Sun teaches the pharmaceutical use of a gold cluster and a substance containing the gold cluster for treating Alzheimer's disease and/or Parkinson's disease (See abstract). Sun teaches a gold cluster-containing material characterized by comprising a gold cluster and an externally coated ligand Y, wherein the gold cluster has a gold core diameter of less than 3 nm, preferably 0.5 to 2.6 nm, see claims 1-2. The said ligand Y is selected from the group consisting of L(D)-cysteine and its derivatives, oligopeptides containing cysteine and their derivatives, and other compounds containing thiol. Specifically, L(D)-cysteine and its derivatives include L-NIBC, see claims 3-9 and page 4 and pages 12-13, 16-17 and 21. Sun teaches a composition comprising the gold core nanoparticles and a ligand for treating CNS related conditions such as Alzheimer's disease and/or Parkinson's disease, see pages 12, 17 and 20.
Sun does not teach administering their gold nanoparticle cluster modified with L-NIBC ligand to treat cerebral ischemic stroke in a subject.
However, Yang et al. teach that gold nanoparticles can treat neurological disorders, see claims 12 and 15. Examples of neurological disorders include stroke, Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s, see claim 20 and paragraphs [0029] and [0055]. The gold metal nanoparticles improve neurite outgrowth and treats neurological disorders including stroke, see abstract and paragraph [0029].
Yang teaches the treatment of strokes with metal nanoparticles. According to Hopkins Medicine, ischemic strokes make up 87% of all strokes but there are only two categories, ischemic or hemorrhagic.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the gold nanoparticles having L-NIBC ligand of Sun to treat ischemic stroke in the alternative to the Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s disease that Sun teaches.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat ischemic stroke with the compositions of Sun because Sun teaches that the compositions comprising a gold core and a L-NIBC ligand bound to the gold core for effective treatment of CNS related conditions such as Alzheimer's disease and/or Parkinson's disease and Yang teaches that metal gold nanoparticles are effective in treatment of neurological disorders which include stroke in the alternative to Parkinson’s or Alzheimer’s. Furthermore, Sun discloses that gold nanoparticles have unique optical and electrical properties, good biocompatibility, easy surface modification and the ability to penetrate the blood-brain barrier at low concentrations. Although Yang et al. teach the genus of strokes, it would have been obvious to treat ischemic stroke because Hopkins Medicine teaches that ischemic stroke makes up about 87% of all stroke cases and thus is the most common type of stroke. Furthermore, Yang’s teaching of stroke is inclusive of the genus for both types of strokes to ischemic or hemorrhagic.
Accordingly, the teachings of Sun in view of Yang and Hopkins Medicine render instant claims 1 and 3 obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,000,543 in view of Yang et al. (United States Patent Publication 20160015742) and Hopkins medicine (Types of Strokes).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because examined claims are obvious over the Patent ‘543 claims in view of Yang. Specifically, both the instant invention and Patent ‘543 are directed to a method of treatment by administration of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a ligand bound gold cluster comprising a gold core and ligand bound to the gold core. The ligand is inclusive of L-NIBC, see claim 1 of Patent ‘543. The core can have a diameter of less than 3nm, see claim 1.
The difference is that instant claims are drawn to a method of treating ischemic stroke, while reference claims are drawn to a method of treating Parkinson’s disease.
However, the prior art, including Yang et al. teach that conditions such as Parkinson’s or stroke can be treated with gold nanoparticles, see paragraphs [0056] and [0029].
According to Hopkins Medicine, ischemic strokes make up 87% of all strokes but there are only two categories, ischemic or hemorrhagic
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have administered the composition of Patent ‘543 which contains gold nanoparticles to treat conditions such as ischemic stroke or Parkinson’s. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yang expressly teaches that metal nanoparticles including gold are useful in treating stroke or Parkinson’s and per the teachings of Hopkins Medicine, ischemic stroke is the most common type of stroke.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,058,717 in view of in view of Yang et al. (United States Patent Publication 20160015742) and Hopkins medicine (Types of Strokes).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because examined claims are obvious over the Patent ‘717 claims in view of Yang et al. Specifically, both the instant invention and Patent ‘717 are directed to a method of treatment by administration of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a ligand bound gold cluster comprising a gold core and ligand bound to the gold core. The ligand is inclusive of L-NIBC, see claim 1 of Patent ‘717. The particle size is from 0.5-2.6nm, see claim 2.
The difference is that instant claims are drawn to a method of treating ischemic stroke, while reference claims are drawn to a method of treating Alzheimer's disease.
However, the prior art, including Yang et al. teach that conditions such as Alzheimer’s or stroke can be treated with gold nanoparticles, see paragraphs [0056] and [0029].
According to Hopkins Medicine, ischemic strokes make up 87% of all strokes but there are only two categories, ischemic or hemorrhagic
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have administered the composition of Patent ‘717 which contains gold nanoparticles to treat conditions such as ischemic stroke or Alzheimer’s. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yang expressly teaches that metal nanoparticles including gold are useful in treating stroke or Alzheimer’s and per the teachings of Hopkins Medicine, ischemic stroke is the most common type of stroke.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,310,985 in view of Yang et al. (United States Patent Publication 20160015742) and Hopkins medicine (Types of Strokes).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because examined claims are obvious over the Patent ‘985 claims in view of Yang. Specifically, both the instant invention and patent ‘985 are directed to a method of treatment by administration of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a ligand bound gold cluster comprising a gold core and ligand bound to the gold core. The ligand modifying the core includes L-NIBC. The size of the gold core can comprise 0.5-2.6nm, see claim 13.
The difference is that instant claims are drawn to a method of treating ischemic stroke, while reference claims are drawn to a method of treating diabetes.
However, the prior art, including Yang et al. teach that conditions such as stroke or diabetes can be treated with gold nanoparticles, see paragraphs [0056] and [0029] and claim 20.
According to Hopkins Medicine, ischemic strokes make up 87% of all strokes but there are only two categories, ischemic or hemorrhagic
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have administered the composition of Application ‘985 which contains gold nanoparticles to treat conditions such as ischemic stroke or diabetes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yang expressly teaches that metal nanoparticles including gold are useful in treating stroke or diabetes and per the teachings of Hopkins Medicine, ischemic stroke is the most common type of stroke.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,310,985 in view of Yang et al. (United States Patent Publication 20160015742) and Hopkins medicine (Types of Strokes).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because examined claims are obvious over the reference claims in view of Yang. Specifically, both the instant invention and reference Application are directed to a method of treatment by administration of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a ligand bound gold cluster comprising a gold core and ligand bound to the gold core. The ligand modifying the core includes L-NIBC and includes a size for the gold core of 0.5-2.6nm, see claims 11, and 13-15.
The difference is that instant claims are drawn to a method of treating ischemic stroke, while reference claims are drawn to a method of treating diabetes.
However, the prior art, including Yang et al. teach that conditions such as stroke or diabetes can be treated with gold nanoparticles, see paragraphs [0056] and [0029] and claim 20.
According to Hopkins Medicine, ischemic strokes make up 87% of all strokes but there are only two categories, ischemic or hemorrhagic
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have administered the composition of Application ‘985 which contains gold nanoparticles to treat conditions such as ischemic stroke or diabetes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yang expressly teaches that metal nanoparticles including gold are useful in treating stroke or diabetes and per the teachings of Hopkins Medicine, ischemic stroke is the most common type of stroke.
Claims 1 and 3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 17/222,229 (reference application) in view of Sun (WO 2018024111), Yang et al. (United States Patent Publication 20160015742) and Hopkins medicine (Types of Strokes).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because examined claims are obvious over the reference claims in view of Sun and Yang et al. Specifically, both the instant invention and reference Application are directed to a method of treatment by administration of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a ligand bound gold cluster comprising a gold core and ligand bound to the gold core wherein the ligand includes L-cysteine thiol containing compound. The difference is that instant claims are drawn to a method of treating ischemic stroke, while reference claims are drawn to a method of treating Parkinson’s disease and wherein the ligand is L-NIBC.
Sun teaches a gold cluster-containing material characterized by comprising a gold cluster and an externally coated ligand Y, wherein the gold cluster has a gold core diameter of less than 3 nm, preferably 0.5 to 2.6 nm (See claims 1-2).
The said ligand Y is selected from the group consisting of L(D)-cysteine and its derivatives, oligopeptides containing cysteine and their derivatives, and other compounds containing thiol. Specifically, L(D)-cysteine and its derivatives are selected from the group consisting of L(D)-cysteine, N-isobutyryl-L(D)-cysteine (L(D)-NIBC) or N-acetyl-L(D)-cysteine (L(D)-NAC), (See claims 3-9). Sun teaches a composition comprising the gold core nanoparticles and a ligand for treating CNS related conditions such as Alzheimer's disease and/or Parkinson's disease.
Sun does not teach treating ischemic stroke.
Yang et al. teach that conditions such as Parkinson’s or stroke can be treated with gold nanoparticles, see paragraphs [0056] and [0029].
According to Hopkins Medicine, ischemic strokes make up 87% of all strokes but there are only two categories, ischemic or hemorrhagic
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have administered the composition of Application ‘229 which contains gold nanoparticles with L-NIBC ligand to treat conditions such as ischemic stroke or Parkinson’s. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yang expressly teaches that metal nanoparticles including gold are useful in treating stroke or Parkinson’s and per the teachings of Hopkins Medicine, ischemic stroke is the most common type of stroke. Furthermore, Sun teaches that L-NIBMC ligand with gold nanoparticles treats Parkinson’s disease.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 17/222,310 (reference application) in view of Sun (WO 2018024111), Yang et al. (United States Patent Publication 20160015742) and Hopkins medicine (Types of Strokes).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because examined claims are obvious over the reference claims in view of Yang et al and Sun. Specifically, both the instant invention and reference Application are directed to a method of treatment by administration of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a ligand bound gold cluster comprising a gold core and ligand bound to the gold core. The claims of Application ‘310 include L-cysteine as the ligand. The core can comprise 0.5-2.6nm, see claim 2.
The difference is that instant claims are drawn to a method of treating ischemic stroke, wherein the L-cysteine is L-NIBC and wherein the reference claims are drawn to a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease.
Sun teaches the pharmaceutical use of a gold cluster and a substance containing the gold cluster for preventing and treating Alzheimer's disease and/or Parkinson's disease (See abstract).
Sun teaches a gold cluster-containing material characterized by comprising a gold cluster and an externally coated ligand Y, wherein the gold cluster has a gold core diameter of less than 3 nm, preferably 0.5 to 2.6 nm (See claims 1-2).
The said ligand Y is selected from the group consisting of L(D)-cysteine and its derivatives, oligopeptides containing cysteine and their derivatives, and other compounds containing thiol. Specifically, L(D)-cysteine and its derivatives are selected from the group consisting of L(D)-cysteine, N-isobutyryl-L(D)-cysteine (L(D)-NIBC) or N-acetyl-L(D)-cysteine (L(D)-NAC), (See claims 3-9). Sun teaches a composition comprising the gold core nanoparticles and a ligand for treating CNS related conditions such as Alzheimer's disease and/or Parkinson's disease.
Sun does not teach treating ischemic stroke.
Yang et al. teach that conditions such as Alzheimer’s or stroke can be treated with gold nanoparticles, see paragraphs [0056] and [0029].
According to Hopkins Medicine, ischemic strokes make up 87% of all strokes but there are only two categories, ischemic or hemorrhagic
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have administered the composition of Application ‘310 which contains gold nanoparticles to treat conditions such as ischemic stroke or Alzheimer’s. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yang expressly teaches that metal nanoparticles including gold are useful in treating stroke or Alzheimer’s and per the teachings of Hopkins Medicine, ischemic stroke is the most common type of stroke. Furthermore, Sun teaches that L-NIBMC ligand with gold nanoparticles treats Parkinson’s disease.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 3 of copending Application No. 17/755,672 (reference application) in view of in view of Yang et al. (United States Patent Publication 20160015742) and Hopkins medicine (Types of Strokes).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because examined claims are obvious over the reference claims in view of Yang et al. Specifically, both the instant invention and reference Application are directed to a method of treatment by administration of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a ligand bound gold cluster comprising a gold core and ligand bound to the gold core. The ligand is inclusive of L-NIBC and the gold nanoparticles have a size of from 0.5-2.6nm, see claim 1.
The difference is that instant claims are drawn to a method of treating ischemic stroke, while reference claims are drawn to a method of treating Multiple sclerosis.
However, the prior art, including Yang et al. teach that conditions such as stroke or multiple sclerosis can be treated with gold nanoparticles, see paragraphs [0027], [0056] and [0029] and claim 20.
According to Hopkins Medicine, ischemic strokes make up 87% of all strokes but there are only two categories, ischemic or hemorrhagic
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have administered the composition of Application ‘672 which contains gold nanoparticles to treat conditions such as ischemic stroke or multiple sclerosis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yang expressly teaches that metal nanoparticles including gold are useful in treating stroke or multiple sclerosis and per the teachings of Hopkins Medicine, ischemic stroke is the most common type of stroke.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 and 3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of copending Application No. 18/249,530.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the claims of the instant Application and reference Application are directed to a method of treating stroke and the pharmaceutical composition comprising a ligand bound gold cluster comprising a gold core and ligand bound to the gold core, wherein the gold core has a diameter in the range of 0.5 to 3 nm, or 0.5 to 2.6 nm wherein the ligand includes L-NIBC. The stroke of both the instant claims and that of Application ‘530 are inclusive of ischemic strokes.
Thus, the claims of Application ‘530 anticipate the instant claims as Application ‘530 claims gold nanoparticles having L-NIBC ligand for treating ischemic stroke.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-5 of copending Application No. 18/546,269 (reference application) in view of Yang et al. (United States Patent Publication 20160015742) and Hopkins medicine (Types of Strokes).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because examined claims are obvious over the reference claims in view of Yang et al. Specifically, both the instant invention and reference Application are directed to a method of treatment by administration of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a ligand bound gold cluster comprising a gold core and ligand bound to the gold core. The ligand is inclusive of L-NAC, see claim 5 of Application ‘269. The particle size is inclusive of smaller than 3nm.
The difference is that instant claims are drawn to a method of treating ischemic stroke, while reference claims are drawn to a method of treating depression.
However, the prior art, including Yang et al. teach that conditions such as depression or stroke can be treated with gold nanoparticles, see paragraphs [0056] and [0029].
According to Hopkins Medicine, ischemic strokes make up 87% of all strokes but there are only two categories, ischemic or hemorrhagic.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have administered the composition of Application ‘269 which contains gold nanoparticles to treat conditions such as ischemic stroke or depression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yang expressly teaches that metal nanoparticles including gold are useful in treating stroke or depression and per the teachings of Hopkins Medicine, ischemic stroke is the most common type of stroke.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-3 of Application 18/725,231 in view of Sun (WO 2018024111), Yang et al. (United States Patent Publication 20160015742) and Hopkins medicine (Types of Strokes).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because examined claims are obvious over the reference claims in view of Sun and Yang. Specifically, both the instant invention and reference Application are directed to a method of treatment by administration of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a ligand bound gold cluster comprising a gold core and ligand bound to the gold core. The ligand modifying the core includes L-NIBC.
The claims of Application ‘231 does not claim the size of the gold core or for treating ischemic stroke. Application ‘231 claims treating Parkinson’s or Alzheimer’s.
Sun teaches the pharmaceutical use of a gold cluster and a substance containing the gold cluster for preventing and treating Alzheimer's disease and/or Parkinson's disease (See abstract). Sun teaches a gold cluster-containing material characterized by comprising a gold cluster and an externally coated ligand Y, wherein the gold cluster has a gold core diameter of less than 3 nm, preferably 0.5 to 2.6 nm (See claims 1-2).The said ligand Y is selected from the group consisting of L(D)-cysteine and its derivatives, oligopeptides containing cysteine and their derivatives, and other compounds containing thiol. Specifically, L(D)-cysteine and its derivatives are selected from the group consisting of L(D)-cysteine, N-isobutyryl-L(D)-cysteine (L(D)-NIBC) or N-acetyl-L(D)-cysteine (L(D)-NAC), (See claims 3-9). Sun teaches a composition comprising the gold core nanoparticles and a ligand for treating CNS related conditions such as Alzheimer's disease and/or Parkinson's disease.
Yang et al. teach that conditions such as stroke or diabetes or Parkinson’s or multiple sclerosis can be treated with gold nanoparticles, see paragraphs [0056] and [0029] and claim 20 and entire document.
According to Hopkins Medicine, ischemic strokes make up 87% of all strokes but there are only two categories, ischemic or hemorrhagic
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have administered the composition of Application ‘231 which contains gold nanoparticles having sizes from 0.5-3nm to treat conditions such as ischemic stroke or diabetes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the ligand modified gold nanoparticles of Sun treat Parkinson’s or Alzheimer’s and Yang expressly teaches that metal nanoparticles including gold are useful in treating stroke or diabetes and per the teachings of Hopkins Medicine, ischemic stroke is the most common type of stroke.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Remarks
Applicants argue that Cerebral ischemic stroke is different to Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease with ischemic stroke needed treatment as quickly as possible. Applicants argue that Sun only discloses chronic treatment of conditions such as AD/PD with the gold clusters whereas ischemic stroke requires quick treatment.
Examiner respectfully submits that while it is recognized that ischemic stroke is not the same as Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s disease, the prior art to Yang et al. teach that gold nanoparticles treat neurological disorders, see claims 12 and 15. Examples of neurological disorders include stroke, Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s, see claim 20 and paragraphs [0029] and [0055]. The gold metal nanoparticles improve neurite outgrowth and treats neurological disorders including stroke, see abstract and paragraph [0029]. Therefore, gold is known in the art to treat neurological disorders not limited to Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s but also stroke. Per the teaching of Yang, Neurological disorders include acute brain or cord injury such as stroke and chronic aging and several neurodegenerative disorders such as Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease and Huntington's disease, see paragraph [0002].
Applicants argue that gold nanoparticles and gold clusters are different wherein gold clusters have a gold inner core. Applicants argue that 20nm Au-NPs increase cell viability alleviated neuronal apoptosis and oxidative stress and improved mitochondrial respiration. Zheng demonstrated that 5nm Au NPs showed opposite effects. In contrast Applicants argue that the present invention provides data showing that L-NIBC gold clusters, size distribution in the range of 0.5-3nm is effective in treating cerebral ischemic stroke but L-NIBC bound gold nanoparticles of 6.1nm is ineffective.
Examiner respectfully submits that the structure of a gold cluster treating neurological disorders of 0.5-3nm in size is disclosed in Sun for treatment of Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s as the neurological disorders. Per the teaching of Yang, it is known in the art that gold of nanoparticulate size range can also treat ischemic stroke in addition to Parkinson’s or Alzheimer’s. Examiner notes that the data demonstrates that gold nanoparticles of 6.1nm are ineffective, however this is compared to gold clusters of 0.5-3.0nm size range. The Sun reference already expressly teaches gold clusters of this size range. Furthermore, Yang teaches sizes inclusive of 1nm to 5nm.
Regarding Yang, Applicants argue that stroke is only buried in a list of innumerable number of diseases. Yang does not teach that the gold nanoparticles are coated with ligand or data supporting the treatment of stroke or neurological diseases. Stoke is buried amongst a numerous list of diseases.
Examiner respectfully submits that the reference is considered for all that it teaches and not limited to preferred embodiments or examples. this regard, the courts have held that “It is well-established that consideration of a reference is not limited to the preferred embodiments or working examples, but extends to the entire disclosure for what it fairly teaches, when viewed in light of the submitted knowledge in the art, to a person of ordinary skill in the art”. In re Boe, 355, F.2d 961, 148 USPQ 510, 510 (CCPA 1966). The reference is not required to show data, but a teaching. Yang clearly discloses that the gold can be administered to treat a variety of diseases including Alzheimer’s Parkinson’s and stroke. Thus, Yang fully meets the requirement of treating stroke with gold particles in the alternative to Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s disease. Regarding Applicants’ argument that Yang does not teach coatings with a ligand, this is already taught by the Sun reference. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicants argue that Hopkins Medicine does not provide any indication what materials are useful in treating stroke.
Examiner notes that Hopkins medicine was cited to render obvious the treatment of ischemic stroke as Yang teaches a genus of stroke. The courts have held that “the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
With regards to the Double Patenting, Applicants argue that Patent 11,000,543, Patent 11,058717, U.S. Application 17/222,229, Application 17/222,310 and Application 18/725,231 are the national phase stage applications of Sun and that for the same reasons discussed above the rejection should be withdrawn.
Examiner notes that that for the same reason as discussed above, the rejections are maintained.
With regards to U.S. Patent No. 12310985, Applicants argue that treatment of diabetes is different than cerebral ischemic stroke.
While ischemic stroke is a different condition to diabetes, it is noted that Yang teaches that conditions such as diabetes or stroke can be treated with gold particles, see paragraphs [0056] and [0029]. In view of Yang, one of ordinary skill in the art could have utilized the gold containing cluster composition to treat a variety of disorders not limited to diabetes or ischemic stroke.
With regards to Application 17/755,672, Applicants argue that treatment of multiple sclerosis is different than treatment of ischemic stroke.
While ischemic stroke is a different condition to multiple sclerosis, it is noted that Yang teaches that conditions such as multiple sclerosis or stroke can be treated with gold particles, see paragraphs [0056] and [0029]. In view of Yang, one of ordinary skill in the art could have utilized the gold containing cluster composition to treat a variety of disorders not limited to MS or ischemic stroke.
Applicants argue that with regards to Application 18/249,530 a terminal disclaimer has been filed in copending 18/249530 and that if necessary upon indication of allowance a terminal disclaimer will be filed.
Examiner respectfully submits that the Double Patenting rejection has been maintained as no terminal disclaimer has been filed on the record in the present Application.
With regards to Application 18/546,269, Applicants argue that treatment of depression is completely different to cerebral strokes.
While depression is a different condition to stoke, it is noted that Yang teaches that conditions such as depression or stroke can be treated with gold particles, see paragraphs [0056] and [0029]. In view of Yang, one of ordinary skill in the art could have utilized the gold containing cluster composition to treat a variety of disorders not limited to depression or ischemic stroke.
Conclusion
Applicant’s arguments/remarks are considered unpersuasive. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Currently, claims 1 and 3 are rejected and no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/SARAH ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619