Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the telescopic counter bearing must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-21,23,25,27,29-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Gadke et al(U.S. Publication 2022/0228635).
Choi discloses :
Regarding claim 17,
a brake holder 11 which can be fixed on a motor vehicle (column 3 line 31) for conjoint rotation;
a counter bearing 14, with two brake shoes 12,13 which are mounted opposite one another for conjoint rotation and which are arranged so as to be displaceable radially outward in the direction of a brake rotor designed as a brake drum 10;
at least one transmission device 44 for actuating the brakes; and
two actuating devices, which are one of a hydraulic and electric service brake actuator 15 and an electric parking brake actuator 21, wherein the service brake actuator and the electric parking brake actuator are fixed next to one another on the brake holder.
Regarding claims 18,19, the actuators 15, 21 are mounted on the top of the brake holder 11 and counter bearing 14 is on the bottom of the brake holder 11
Choi all the limitations of claim 17 except for an integrated sensor in a telescopic counter bearing. Gadke et al teaches integrated sensor in a counter bearing for a drum brake to measure force (see 9,10,17,14). The sensors necessary to control the system would either be integrated with a system element such as an actuator or a counter bearing or separately provided on the brake. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an integrated sensor in telescopic counter bearing as taught by Gadke et al in the system of Choi as there are only two possible arrangements and integration allows for a simpler mounting design since a separate mounting structure is not needed.
Claim(s) 26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, as modified above for claim 17, in view of Asai (U.S. Patent 6,125,976).
Choi, as modified, discloses all the limitations of the claim except for the parking brake being a duo-servo brake and the associated structure required for Duo-Servo function. Asai et al teaches Duo-Servo parking brake (see abstract). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a duo-servo brake as taught by Asai et al in the system of Choi because the duo-servo brake system is more efficient which allows for a smaller system.
Claim(s) 22,24, 26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, as modified, in view of Yamamoto (U.S. Publication 2002/0026272).
Choi, as modified, discloses all the limitations of the claim except for an electric service actuator including a current sensor. Yamamoto teaches an electric service actuator 23 including a current sensor 55. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an electric service actuator as taught by Yamamoto in the system of Choi as electric actuator are a well-known alternative to hydraulic actuators and eliminates the need for a hydraulic and the required hardware and weight. This is advantageous for example as in an electric vehicle which typically does not have non electric control systems like hydraulic or vacuum.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Gadke teaches a hydraulic sensor. It is unclear what the basis of this argument is. Gadke discloses sensors 17 that measure the position of the magnets 16 to generate an electrical signal. Therefore, Gadke teaches an electrical sensor to measure the force. Regarding the drawing objection, applicant points to element 5 in the figures. While examiner agrees that element 5 is a counter bearing, there does not appear to be any telescopic elements. The drawing appear to show a fixed block whose shape does not change which is standard.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ROBERT A. SICONOLFI
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616