DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 02/27/2026. Claims 1-6, 8-17, 19, and 21-23 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 02/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 13, 15, 19, 22, and 23 have been amended. Claims 7, 18, and 20 were previously cancelled. Claims 1-6, 8-17, 19, and 21-23 remain pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-6, 8-17, 19, and 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9-11, 13-17, 19, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2022/0360950, previously presented), Li hereinafter, in view of Zhou et al. (US 2023/0050307), Zhou hereinafter, and Li et al. (US 2023/0016851), Li851 hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches a method performed by a terminal device, comprising (Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0079]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0047-0057]; Fig. 2, Para. [0058-0066]; Fig. 4, Para. [0091-0094]; Fig. 5, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, Para. [0119-0129]):
receiving, from a network device, control information for scheduling a shared channel transmission common to a plurality of terminal devices including the terminal device (Fig. 3, Step 1; Para. [0067-0076] - [0068] Therefore, in an example, the gNB(s) may indicate the NR-G-RNTI(s) used for event triggered groupcast transmission(s) through broadcast/groupcast signaling… [0070] gNB may indicate the NR-G-RNTI(s) used for event triggered groupcast service to a UE through broadcast/groupcast signaling… [0071] For example, a paging like approach may be adopted. The UE may be configured by the gNB to periodically monitor a broadcast/groupcast transmission on the PDSCH. The UE may perform such monitoring by periodically monitoring the DCI scheduling the broadcast/groupcast transmission on the PDSCH; Para. [0107] - In one approach, whether the HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled may be indicated by the DCI field in the DCI scheduling the groupcast transmission; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0046-0049]; Fig. 2, Para. [0058-0063]; Para. [0045]);
The examiner interprets DCI as control information.
The limitation is taught by Para. [0067-0076] and Para. [0107], which disclose that the gNB (i.e., network device) transmits control information (e.g., DCI with NR-G-RNTI(s)) via broadcast/groupcast signaling to schedule shared channel transmissions (e.g., PDSCH) for multiple UEs (i.e., terminals). The UEs, including the terminal device, receive and monitor this control information to participate in groupcast transmissions.
determining, based on the control information, a feedback configuration indicating whether feedback for the shared channel transmission is enabled or disabled (Para. [0107-0108] - [0107] In one approach, whether the HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled may be indicated by the DCI field in the DCI scheduling the groupcast transmission. [0108] For example, a one-bit DCI field, e.g., HARQ Enable Indicator, may be carried by the scheduling DCI. When the HARQ enable-indicator field is set to be ‘0’, it may indicate HARQ feedback is disabled for the scheduled transmission. When the HARQ enable indicator field is set to be ‘1’, it may indicate HARQ feedback is enabled for the scheduled transmission. An example of the HARQ enable indicator field is shown in Table 3 of the Appendix; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0091-0094]; Fig. 5, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, Para. [0119-0129]; Para. [0089-0090]);
The examiner interprets HARQ Feedback as a feedback configuration.
and performing a communication with the network device based on the feedback configuration (Fig. 4, step 3a; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, Para. [0119-0129]).
and transmitting the feedback to the network device based at least in part on the feedback transmission scheme (Fig. 4, step 3a; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, Para. [0119-0129]).
Yet, Li does not explicitly teach wherein performing the communication based on the feedback configuration comprises: in accordance with a determination that the feedback configuration indicates that the feedback is enabled, determining a feedback transmission scheme indicated by the feedback configuration, wherein the feedback configuration indicates a selection between a first feedback transmission scheme and a second feedback transmission scheme that are both available for the shared channel transmission.
However, Zhou teaches
wherein performing the communication based on the feedback configuration comprises: in accordance with a determination that the feedback configuration indicates that the feedback is enabled, determining a feedback transmission scheme indicated by the feedback configuration (Fig. 34; Para. [0359] - In an example embodiment, the wireless device may receive a first DCI (1.sup.st DCI in FIG. 34) with CRC scrambled by an MBS-RNTI via an MBS PDCCH in the BWP. The first DCI may be received in a first SS associated with the MBS session. The first DCI may be received in a first control resource set associated with the MBS session. The first DCI may be received within the common frequency resources associated with the MBS session. The first DCI may indicate downlink assignment of MBS PDSCH resources for initial transmission of an MBS TB (1.sup.st TB in FIG. 34). The MBS TB, being scrambled by the MBS-RNTI, is transmitted to a group of wireless devices configured with the MBS-RNTI. The first DCI may comprise a HARQ process ID (PID=k in FIG. 34) indicating a HARQ process associated with the MBS TB. The first DCI may comprise a first new data indicator (NDI) value; See also Fig. 34, Para. [0358, 0360-0368]; Fig. 29, Para. [0288-0294]; Fig. 30, Para. [0295-0301]; Fig. 32, Para. [0326-0352]; Fig. 33, Para. [0353-0357]; Fig. 36, Para. [0376-0383]),
Zhou Para. [0359] teaches determining a feedback transmission scheme because the first DCI includes a HARQ process ID (PID = k), which selects the HARQ process associated with the MBS TB. In view of Fig. 29 and Para. [0288-0294], multiple HARQ processes are available and selection is based on assignment/configuration. Likewise, Fig. 33 and Para. [0353-0357] show different HARQ process groups for different transmission contexts, selected based on configuration. Thus, identifying PID =k constitutes selecting a feedback transmission scheme based on the feedback configuration.
wherein the feedback configuration indicates a selection between a first feedback transmission scheme and a second feedback transmission scheme that are both available for the shared channel transmission (Fig. 34; Para. [0359]; See also Fig. 34, Para. [0358, 0360-0368]; Fig. 29, Para. [0288-0294]; Fig. 30, Para. [0295-0301]; Fig. 32, Para. [0326-0352]; Fig. 33, Para. [0353-0357]; Fig. 36, Para. [0376-0383]).
Zhou teaches selecting between multiple feedback transmission schemes because Fig. 33 and Para. [0353-0357] disclose separate HARQ process groups for different transmission contexts, and Fig. 29 and Para. [0288-0294] shows multiple HARQ processes available. Para. [0359] further teaches selecting a specific scheme via PID = k. Zhou also teaches shared channel transmission because TBs (transport blocks), including MBS TBs, are transmitted over shared PDSCH resources supporting both unicast and multicast transmissions ( Zhou Fig. 29, 33, 34, Para. [0288-0294, 0353-0362]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of “methods and apparatus for HARQ feedback in NR Uu groupcast or broadcast” (Li Para. [0014]) with Zhou’s invention of configuration-based handling of retransmissions of MBS TBs using multiple HARQ processes (Zhou Para. [0288-0294, 0353-0362]) because Zhou’s invention provides methods which enable improved “system throughput when HARQ is supported for an MBS session” (Zhou Para. [0367, 0375]) and improved “power consumption of a wireless device, and/or system throughput of a base station for MBS transmission” (Zhou Para. [0368, 0389]).
Yet, Li nor Zhou expressly teach wherein the first feedback transmission scheme is a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) reporting mode in which only negative feedback is to be reported and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode in which positive feedback and negative feedback are to be reported.
However, Li851 teaches
wherein the first feedback transmission scheme is a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) reporting mode in which only negative feedback is to be reported and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode in which positive feedback and negative feedback are to be reported (Fig. 1, Para. [0042-0086] - [0046] As an embodiment, the determining, according to DCI for scheduling a PDSCH, a HARQ-ACK feedback mode corresponding to the PDSCH includes at least one of the following: [0047] determining, according to a first indicator field carried by the DCI, the HARQ-ACK feedback mode of the PDSCH that is indicated by the first indicator field; that is, determining, through the indication of the first indicator field, the HARQ-ACK feedback mode corresponding to the PDSCH; [0048] determining, according to a control resource set of the DCI, the HARQ-ACK feedback mode corresponding to the PDSCH; that is, implicitly determining, through the COntrol REsource SET (CORESET) of the DCI, the HARQ-ACK feedback mode corresponding to the PDSCH; where, for example, PDSCHs scheduled by DCI of different control resource sets correspond to different HARQ-ACK feedback modes; [0049] determining, according to a search space of the DCI, the HARQ-ACK feedback mode corresponding to the PDSCH; that is, implicitly determining, through the search space of the DCI, the HARQ-ACK feedback mode corresponding to the PDSCH; where, for example, PDSCHs scheduled by DCI of different search spaces correspond to different HARQ-ACK feedback modes; [0050] determining, according to a format of the DCI, the HARQ-ACK feedback mode corresponding to the PDSCH; that is, implicitly determining, through the format of the DCI, the HARQ-ACK feedback mode corresponding to the PDSCH; where, for example, PDSCHs scheduled by DCI of different formats correspond to different HARQ-ACK feedback modes; and [0051] determining, according to a cyclic redundancy check CRC RNTI scrambling the DCI, the HARQ-ACK feedback mode corresponding to the PDSCH; that is, implicitly determining, through the RNTI, the HARQ-ACK feedback mode corresponding to the PDSCH; where, for example, PDSCHs scheduled by DCI scrambled by different RNTIs correspond to different HARQ-ACK feedback modes…[0053] As an embodiment of the present disclosure, the HARQ-ACK feedback mode includes at least one of the following: [0054] a first mode: no HARQ-ACK feedback; [0055] a second mode: HARQ-ACK feedback; where the HARQ-ACK feedback includes: Negative ACKnowledgment only feedback (NACK only feedback), or ACKnowledgment or Negative ACKnowledgment feedback (ACK/NACK feedback); [0056] a third mode: HARQ-ACK feedback triggered by a network side device; where the HARQ-ACK feedback includes: NACK only feedback, or ACK/NACK feedback; [0057] a fourth mode: periodic HARQ-ACK feedback; where the HARQ-ACK feedback includes: NACK only feedback, or ACK/NACK feedback; and [0058] a fifth mode: HARQ-ACK feedback based on link measurement; where the HARQ-ACK feedback includes: NACK only feedback, or ACK/NACK feedback; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0087-0093]; Fig. 3, Para. [0094-0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first feedback transmission scheme is a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) reporting mode in which only negative feedback is to be reported and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode in which positive feedback and negative feedback are to be reported as taught by Li851, in the combined system of Li/Zhou, so that it would provide methods “which improves system efficiency and can effectively reduce uplink feedback overheads” (Li851 Para. [0093]).
Regarding Claim 15, Li teaches a terminal device comprising (Fig. 8B, Para. [0251-0260]; See also Fig. 8F, Para. [0283-0290]):
at least one memory (Fig. 8B, elements 130 and 132, Para. [0251, 0256]; See also Fig. 8F, Para. [0283-0290])
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the terminal device to (Fig. 8B, element 118, Para. [0251-0252, 0256-0259]; See also Fig. 8F, Para. [0283-0290]);
receive, from a network device, control information for scheduling a shared channel transmission common to a plurality of terminal devices including the terminal device (Fig. 3, Step 1; Para. [0067-0076]; Para. [0107]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0046-0049]; Fig. 2, Para. [0058-0063]; Para. [0045]);
determine, based on the control information, a feedback configuration indicating whether feedback for the shared channel transmission is enabled or disabled (Para. [0107-0108]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0091-0094]; Fig. 5, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, Para. [0119-0129]; Para. [0089-0090]);
and perform a communication with the network device based on the feedback configuration (Fig. 4, step 3a; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, Para. [0119-0129]).
and transmitting the feedback to the network device based at least in part on the feedback transmission scheme (Fig. 4, step 3a; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, Para. [0119-0129]).
Yet, Li does not explicitly teach wherein, to perform the communication, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the terminal device to in accordance with a determination that the feedback configuration indicates that the feedback is enabled, determine a feedback transmission scheme indicated by the feedback configuration, wherein the feedback configuration indicates a selection between a first feedback transmission scheme and a second feedback transmission scheme that are both available for the shared channel transmission.
However, Zhou teaches
wherein, to perform the communication, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the terminal device to in accordance with a determination that the feedback configuration indicates that the feedback is enabled, determine a feedback transmission scheme indicated by the feedback configuration (Fig. 34; Para. [0359]; See also Fig. 34, Para. [0358, 0360-0368]; Fig. 29, Para. [0288-0294]; Fig. 30, Para. [0295-0301]; Fig. 32, Para. [0326-0352]; Fig. 33, Para. [0353-0357]; Fig. 36, Para. [0376-0383]),
wherein the feedback configuration indicates a selection between a first feedback transmission scheme and a second feedback transmission scheme that are both available for the shared channel transmission (Fig. 34; Para. [0359]; See also Fig. 34, Para. [0358, 0360-0368]; Fig. 29, Para. [0288-0294]; Fig. 30, Para. [0295-0301]; Fig. 32, Para. [0326-0352]; Fig. 33, Para. [0353-0357]; Fig. 36, Para. [0376-0383]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of “methods and apparatus for HARQ feedback in NR Uu groupcast or broadcast” (Li Para. [0014]) with Zhou’s invention of configuration-based handling of retransmissions of MBS TBs using multiple HARQ processes (Zhou Para. [0288-0294, 0353-0362]) because Zhou’s invention provides methods which enable improved “system throughput when HARQ is supported for an MBS session” (Zhou Para. [0367, 0375]) and improved “power consumption of a wireless device, and/or system throughput of a base station for MBS transmission” (Zhou Para. [0368, 0389]).
Yet, Li nor Zhou expressly teach wherein the first feedback transmission scheme is a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) reporting mode in which only negative feedback is to be reported and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode in which positive and negative feedback are to be reported.
However, Li851 teaches
wherein the first feedback transmission scheme is a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) reporting mode in which only negative feedback is to be reported and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode in which positive and negative feedback are to be reported (Fig. 1, Para. [0042-0086]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0087-0093]; Fig. 3, Para. [0094-0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first feedback transmission scheme is a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) reporting mode in which only negative feedback is to be reported and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode in which positive and negative feedback are to be reported as taught by Li851, in the combined system of Li/Zhou, so that it would provide methods “which improves system efficiency and can effectively reduce uplink feedback overheads” (Li851 Para. [0093]).
Regarding Claim 19, Li teaches a network device, comprising (Fig. 8B, Para. [0251-0260]; See also Fig. 8F, Para. [0283-0290]):
at least one memory (Fig. 8B, elements 130 and 132, Para. [0251, 0256]; See also Fig. 8F, Para. [0283-0290])
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the network device to (Fig. 8B, element 118, Para. [0251-0252, 0256-0259]; See also Fig. 8F, Para. [0283-0290]):
transmit, to a terminal device of the plurality of terminal devices, control information for scheduling the shared channel transmission, wherein the control information includes a feedback configuration indicating whether feedback for the shared channel transmission is enabled or disabled (Fig. 3, Step 1; Para. [0067-0076]; Para. [0107-0108]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0046-0049]; Fig. 2, Para. [0058-0063]; Para. [0045]; Fig. 4, Para. [0091-0094]; Fig. 5, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, Para. [0119-0129]; Para. [0089-0090]);
and perform a communication with the terminal device based at least in part on the feedback configuration (Fig. 4, step 3a; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, Para. [0119-0129]).
Yet, Li does not expressly teach select between a first feedback transmission scheme and a second feedback transmission scheme available for a shared channel transmission common to a plurality of terminal devices and wherein if the feedback configuration indicates that the feedback is enabled, the feedback configuration further indicates the selection between the first feedback transmission scheme and the second feedback transmission scheme.
However, Zhou teaches
select between a first feedback transmission scheme and a second feedback transmission scheme available for a shared channel transmission common to a plurality of terminal devices (Fig. 34; Para. [0359]; See also Fig. 34, Para. [0358, 0360-0368]; Fig. 29, Para. [0288-0294]; Fig. 30, Para. [0295-0301]; Fig. 32, Para. [0326-0352]; Fig. 33, Para. [0353-0357]; Fig. 36, Para. [0376-0383]);
wherein if the feedback configuration indicates that the feedback is enabled, the feedback configuration further indicates the selection between the first feedback transmission scheme and the second feedback transmission scheme (Fig. 34; Para. [0359]; See also Fig. 34, Para. [0358, 0360-0368]; Fig. 29, Para. [0288-0294]; Fig. 30, Para. [0295-0301]; Fig. 32, Para. [0326-0352]; Fig. 33, Para. [0353-0357]; Fig. 36, Para. [0376-0383]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of “methods and apparatus for HARQ feedback in NR Uu groupcast or broadcast” (Li Para. [0014]) with Zhou’s invention of configuration-based handling of retransmissions of MBS TBs using multiple HARQ processes (Zhou Para. [0288-0294, 0353-0362]) because Zhou’s invention provides methods which enable improved “system throughput when HARQ is supported for an MBS session” (Zhou Para. [0367, 0375]) and improved “power consumption of a wireless device, and/or system throughput of a base station for MBS transmission” (Zhou Para. [0368, 0389]).
Yet, Li nor Zhou expressly teach wherein the first feedback transmission scheme is a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) reporting mode in which only negative feedback is to be reported and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode in which positive and negative feedback are to be reported.
However, Li851 teaches
wherein the first feedback transmission scheme is a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) reporting mode in which only negative feedback is to be reported and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode in which positive and negative feedback are to be reported (Fig. 1, Para. [0042-0086]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0087-0093]; Fig. 3, Para. [0094-0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first feedback transmission scheme is a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) reporting mode in which only negative feedback is to be reported and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode in which positive and negative feedback are to be reported as taught by Li851, in the combined system of Li/Zhou, so that it would provide methods “which improves system efficiency and can effectively reduce uplink feedback overheads” (Li851 Para. [0093]).
Regarding Claim 22, Li teaches a method performed by a terminal device, comprising (Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0079]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0047-0057]; Fig. 2, Para. [0058-0066]; Fig. 4, Para. [0091-0094]; Fig. 5, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, Para. [0119-0129]):
transmitting, to a terminal device of the plurality of terminal devices, control information for scheduling the shared channel transmission, wherein the control information includes a feedback configuration indicating whether feedback for the shared channel transmission is enabled or disabled (Fig. 3, Step 1; Para. [0067-0076]; Para. [0107-0108]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0046-0049]; Fig. 2, Para. [0058-0063]; Para. [0045]; Fig. 4, Para. [0091-0094]; Fig. 5, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, Para. [0119-0129]; Para. [0089-0090]);
and performing a communication with the terminal device based at least in part on the feedback configuration (Fig. 4, step 3a; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, Para. [0119-0129]),
Yet, Li does not expressly teach selecting between a first feedback transmission scheme and a second feedback transmission scheme available for a shared channel transmission common to a plurality of terminal devices and wherein if the feedback configuration indicates that the feedback is enabled, the feedback configuration further indicates the selection between the first feedback transmission scheme and the second feedback transmission scheme.
However, Zhou teaches
selecting between a first feedback transmission scheme and a second feedback transmission scheme available for a shared channel transmission common to a plurality of terminal devices (Fig. 34; Para. [0359]; See also Fig. 34, Para. [0358, 0360-0368]; Fig. 29, Para. [0288-0294]; Fig. 30, Para. [0295-0301]; Fig. 32, Para. [0326-0352]; Fig. 33, Para. [0353-0357]; Fig. 36, Para. [0376-0383]);
wherein if the feedback configuration indicates that the feedback is enabled, the feedback configuration further indicates the selection between the first feedback transmission scheme and the second feedback transmission scheme (Fig. 34; Para. [0359]; See also Fig. 34, Para. [0358, 0360-0368]; Fig. 29, Para. [0288-0294]; Fig. 30, Para. [0295-0301]; Fig. 32, Para. [0326-0352]; Fig. 33, Para. [0353-0357]; Fig. 36, Para. [0376-0383]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of “methods and apparatus for HARQ feedback in NR Uu groupcast or broadcast” (Li Para. [0014]) with Zhou’s invention of configuration-based handling of retransmissions of MBS TBs using multiple HARQ processes (Zhou Para. [0288-0294, 0353-0362]) because Zhou’s invention provides methods which enable improved “system throughput when HARQ is supported for an MBS session” (Zhou Para. [0367, 0375]) and improved “power consumption of a wireless device, and/or system throughput of a base station for MBS transmission” (Zhou Para. [0368, 0389]).
Yet, Li nor Zhou expressly teach wherein the first feedback transmission scheme is a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) reporting mode in which only negative feedback is to be reported and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode in which positive and negative feedback are to be reported.
However, Li851 teaches
wherein the first feedback transmission scheme is a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) reporting mode in which only negative feedback is to be reported and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode in which positive and negative feedback are to be reported (Fig. 1, Para. [0042-0086]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0087-0093]; Fig. 3, Para. [0094-0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first feedback transmission scheme is a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) reporting mode in which only negative feedback is to be reported and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode in which positive and negative feedback are to be reported as taught by Li851, in the combined system of Li/Zhou, so that it would provide methods “which improves system efficiency and can effectively reduce uplink feedback overheads” (Li851 Para. [0093]).
Regarding Claim 2, Li in view of Zhou and Li851 teaches Claim 1.
Li further teaches
determining the feedback configuration based on at least one of a feedback timing indicator, a feedback resource indicator, or a dedicated field in the control information (Para. [0182] - When the two resources for sending the ACK and NACK feedback are separately indicated, the two resources may be allocated in the same slot or in different slots. The time offset between the groupcast transmission and the allocated two HARQ feedback resources may be indicated through the same DCI field, e.g., PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, in the groupcast scheduling DCI. Or, to support more flexible feedback resource allocation, two dedicated DCI fields, e.g., PDSCH-to-HARQ_ACK_feedback timing indicator and PDSCH-to-HARQ_NACK_feedback timing indicator, may be carried by the groupcast scheduling DCI to indicate the time offsets for the two allocated feedback resources separately; See also Para. [0106-0108, 0114, 0136, 0148-0154, 0157-0158, 0165-0168, 0173, 0176, 0179, 0183, 0187, 0194, 0207, 0216-0217]).
The examiner interprets PDSCH-to-HARQ_ACK_feedback timing indicator and PDSCH-to-HARQ_NACK_feedback timing indicator as feedback timing indicator, feedback resource indicator, and dedicated fields in control information.
The examiner interprets Para. [0182] as the feedback configuration (i.e., timing and resource allocation for ACK and NACK feedback) is determined using control information fields, such as PDSCH-2-HARQ feedback timing indicator or dedicated DCI fields.
The examiner interprets RSRQ, RSSI, SINR, pathloss, and pathloss and fading disclosed in Para. [0136] as feedback resource indicators.
Regarding Claim 16, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 15.
Li further teaches
wherein the feedback configuration is determined based on at least one of a feedback timing indicator, a feedback resource indicator, or a dedicated field in the control information (Para. [0182]; See also Para. [0106-0108, 0114, 0136, 0148-0154, 0156-0158, 0165-0168, 0173, 0176, 0179, 0183, 0187, 0194, 0207, 0216-0217]).
Regarding Claim 4, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 2.
Li further teaches
wherein determining the feedback configuration based on the feedback resource indicator comprises one of: [[(i)]] in accordance with a determination that the feedback resource indicator has a value indicating an inapplicable resource, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is disabled; in accordance with [[a]] the determination that the feedback resource indicator has [[a]] the value indicating an applicable resource, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is enabled; [[or]] [[(ii)]] in accordance with [[a]] the determination that the feedback resource indicator has a predetermined value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is disabled; or [[, and]] in accordance with [[a]] the determination that the feedback resource indicator has a different value than the predetermined value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is enabled (Para. [0149] - The gNB may pre-configure n UEs or n group of UEs to send the HARQ feedback, e.g., the UEs need to send HARQ feedback may be configured with HARQ feedback group ID, which may have one to one mapping with the PUCCH resource indicator field in the DCI. For example, the UE configured with the HARQ feedback group ID, e.g., HARQ feedback group ID=3, may send HARQ feedback on the resource scheduled by the corresponding DC field, e.g., the resource indicated by the PUCCH resource indicator field_3 in the scheduling DCI; See also Para. [0151]).
The examiner interprets Para. [0149] that only UEs with a configured HARQ feedback group ID matching the PUCCH resource indicator in the DCI will send HARQ feedback, effectively enabling or disenabling feedback for applicable/inapplicable values.
Regarding Claim 5, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 2.
Li further teaches
wherein determining the feedback configuration based on the dedicated field comprises one of: [[(i)]] in accordance with a determination that a first bit in the dedicated field has a first value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is disabled; in accordance with [[a]] the determination that the first bit has a second value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is enabled; [[or]] [[(ii)]] in accordance with [[a]]the determination that the dedicated field has a predetermined value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is disabled; or [[, and]] in accordance with [[a]]the determination that the dedicated field has a different value than the predetermined value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is enabled (Para. [0107-0108] - [0107] In one approach, whether the HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled may be indicated by the DCI field in the DCI scheduling the groupcast transmission. [0108] For example, a one-bit DCI field, e.g., HARQ Enable Indicator, may be carried by the scheduling DCI. When the HARQ enable-indicator field is set to be ‘0’, it may indicate HARQ feedback is disabled for the scheduled transmission. When the HARQ enable indicator field is set to be ‘1’, it may indicate HARQ feedback is enabled for the scheduled transmission. An example of the HARQ enable indicator field is shown in Table 3 of the Appendix).
Regarding Claim 6, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 1.
Li further teaches
in accordance with a determination that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is disabled, receiving the shared channel transmission without transmitting the feedback to the network device (Fig. 4, step 3b; Para. [0091-0093] - [0093] In this approach, when HARQ is enabled for a groupcast service, the UE should conduct HARQ feedback procedure for all the groupcast transmissions related to it; and when HARQ is disabled for a groupcast service, the UE should not conduct HARQ feedback procedure for any of the groupcast transmission related to it. A high-level overview of the flowchart of service based HARQ enabling and disabling determination for Uu groupcast is depicted in FIG. 4; See also Fig. 5, step 3B, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, step 3b, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, steps 2 and 6, Para. [0119-0129]).
Regarding Claim 17, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 15.
Li further teaches
wherein to perform the communication with the network device, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the terminal device to receive the shared channel transmission without the feedback being transmitted to the network device based at least in part on the feedback configuration indicating that the feedback is disabled (Fig. 4, step 3b; Para. [0091-0093]; See also Fig. 5, step 3B, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 6, step 3b, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 7, steps 2 and 6, Para. [0119-0129]).
Regarding Claim 9, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 1.
Li further teaches
wherein the feedback configuration is determined based on a feedback resource indicator in the control information, and wherein determining the feedback transmission scheme comprises (Para. [0148-0152] - [0148] Dedicated DCI fields in the Uu groupcast scheduling DCI, e.g., PUCCH resource indicator field_1, PUC CH resource indicator field_2, . . . , PUCCH resource indicator field_n, may be used to separately indicate the resources used by n UEs or n groups of UEs for sending the ACK and NACK feedback respectively; See also Para. [0153-0156, 0157-0160]):
determining, from the feedback resource indicator, an index of a resource for the feedback (Para. [0148-0152] - [0149] The gNB may pre-configure n UEs or n group of UEs to send the HARQ feedback, e.g., the UEs need to send HARQ feedback may be configured with HARQ feedback group ID, which may have one to one mapping with the PUCCH resource indicator field in the DCI. For example, the UE configured with the HARQ feedback group ID, e.g., HARQ feedback group ID=3, may send HARQ feedback on the resource scheduled by the corresponding DC field, e.g., the resource indicated by the PUCCH resource indicator field_3 in the scheduling DCI; See also Para. [0153-0156, 0157-0160]);
and determining the feedback transmission scheme based on a predetermined association between the index of the resource and the feedback transmission scheme (Para. [0148-0152] - [0149] The gNB may pre-configure n UEs or n group of UEs to send the HARQ feedback, e.g., the UEs need to send HARQ feedback may be configured with HARQ feedback group ID, which may have one to one mapping with the PUCCH resource indicator field in the DCI. For example, the UE configured with the HARQ feedback group ID, e.g., HARQ feedback group ID=3, may send HARQ feedback on the resource scheduled by the corresponding DC field, e.g., the resource indicated by the PUCCH resource indicator field_3 in the scheduling DCI; See also Para. [0153-0156, 0157-0160]).
Regarding Claim 10, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 1.
Li further teaches
wherein the feedback configuration is determined based on a feedback resource indicator in the control information, and wherein determining the feedback transmission scheme comprises (Para. [0157-0160] - [0157] One DCI field in the Uu groupcast scheduling DCI, e.g., PUCCH resource indicator field, may be used to jointly indicate the resources used by n UEs or n groups of UEs for sending the ACK and NACK feedback; See also Para. [0148-0152, 0163-0156]):
determining whether the feedback resource indicator indicates a common resource for the plurality of terminal devices to transmit the feedback for the shared channel transmission (Para. [0157-0160] - [0157] One DCI field in the Uu groupcast scheduling DCI, e.g., PUCCH resource indicator field, may be used to jointly indicate the resources used by n UEs or n groups of UEs for sending the ACK and NACK feedback; See also Para. [0148-0152, 0163-0156]);
and determining the feedback transmission scheme based on a result of the determination of whether the feedback resource indicator indicates the common resource for the plurality of terminal devices (Para. [0157-0160] - [0158] For example, the PUCCH resource indicator field values may map to values of a set of PUCCH resource indexes provided by RRC signaling, e.g., GoupcastResourceList, for PUCCH resources from a set of PUCCH resources provided by RRC signaling, e.g., PUCCH-ResourceSet or GroupcastPUCCH-ResourceSet. In this approach, one allocated PUCCH resource may contain the resources used by n UEs or n groups of UEs for sending the ACK and NACK feedback. [0159] Instead of that the UE implicitly determining the resources by dividing the allocated PUCCH resource into n parts using pre-defined rules, the resources used by the n UEs or n groups of UEs may be explicitly configured by the RRC signaling. For example, each PUCCH resource configured in the RRC configuration, e.g., GoupcastResourceList, may contain n parts, where each part is used by a UE or a group of UEs for sending the ACK or NACK feedback respectively; See also Para. [0148-0152, 0163-0156]).
The examiner interprets the PUCCH resource for sending NACK/ACK feedback as the feedback transmission scheme.
Regarding Claim 11, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 1.
Li further teaches
determining the feedback transmission scheme based on a second bit in the dedicated field (Para. [0216-0230] - [0216] In another scenario, the PUCCH resource for GC HARQ feedback may collide with a unicast PUSCH transmission. The PUSCH may be a PUSCH carrying UL data, or a PUSCH carrying UC UCI. The PUSCH may be dynamically scheduled by the DCI or may be transmission using a configured grant resource. In this case, the UE may multiplex the GC HARQ feedback in the PUSCH and transmit them together… [0217] In NR, when a UE multiplexes the UC HARQ feedback in the PUSCH, the UE uses the β.sub.offset to determine the resources to be used for piggybacking. The value of the β.sub.offset can be semi-statically configured by the gNB using the RRC configuration betaOffsets or it can be dynamically signaled by the scheduling DCI using the beta_offset indicator field… [0224] Alternatively, a new DC field, e.g., beta_offset groupcast indicator field, may be introduced in the DCI scheduling the PUSCH, e.g., DCI format 0_1, DCI format 0_2, etc. An example is depicted in Table 4 of the Appendix. When the GC β.sub.offset value is semi-statically configured by the gNB, the beta_offset groupcast indicator field has 0 bit, e.g., this field is not carried by the DCI. When the GC β.sub.offset value is dynamically signaled by the gNB, the scheduling DCI carries the beta_offset groupcast indicator field using n bit where n=log.sub.2 k and k is the number of GC β.sub.offset candidate values configured by the gNB; See also Para. [0148-0152, 0163-0156, 0157-0160]).
The examiner interprets GC β.sub.offset as a second bit in a dedicated field.
Regarding Claim 13, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 1.
Li further teaches
in accordance with [[a]] the determination that the shared channel transmission is unsuccessfully received by the terminal device (Para. [0144] - [0144] Regarding the HARQ feedback, a typical approach is if a UE successfully decodes the received transmission, the UE will send HARQ-ACK on the allocated PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel); if a UE fails to decode the received transmission, the UE will send HARQ-NACK on the allocated resource; See also Para. [0146, 0148-0152, 0153-0156, 0157-0160, 0163-0156]),
transmitting the negative feedback to the network device using a resource common to the plurality of terminal devices (Para. [0145] - In NR Uu groupcast, this approach may be also applied. However, since multiple UEs may need to send HARQ feedback to the gNB for one groupcast transmission, when gNB schedules a groupcast transmission, the gNB need to allocate multiple resources to different UEs. For example, each UE may be allocated with a dedicated resource for sending ACK or NACK. Or gNB may allocate multiple resources for sending HARQ feedback for one groupcast transmission, where each resource may be allocated to multiple UEs; See also Para. [0146, 0148-0152, 0153-0156, 0157-0160, 0163-0156]).
Regarding Claim 14, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 1.
Li further teaches
in accordance with the determination that the shared channel transmission is successfully received by the terminal device, transmitting the positive feedback to the network device using a resource specific to the terminal device (Para. [0144-0145] - [0144] Regarding the HARQ feedback, a typical approach is if a UE successfully decodes the received transmission, the UE will send HARQ-ACK on the allocated PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel); if a UE fails to decode the received transmission, the UE will send HARQ-NACK on the allocated resource. [0145] In NR Uu groupcast, this approach may be also applied. However, since multiple UEs may need to send HARQ feedback to the gNB for one groupcast transmission, when gNB schedules a groupcast transmission, the gNB need to allocate multiple resources to different UEs. For example, each UE may be allocated with a dedicated resource for sending ACK or NACK. Or gNB may allocate multiple resources for sending HARQ feedback for one groupcast transmission, where each resource may be allocated to multiple UEs; See also Para. [0146, 0148-0152, 0153-0156, 0157-0160, 0163-0156]);
and in accordance with the determination that the shared channel transmission is unsuccessfully received by the terminal device, transmitting the negative feedback to the network device using the resource specific to the terminal device (Para. [0144-0145] - [0144] Regarding the HARQ feedback, a typical approach is if a UE successfully decodes the received transmission, the UE will send HARQ-ACK on the allocated PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel); if a UE fails to decode the received transmission, the UE will send HARQ-NACK on the allocated resource. [0145] In NR Uu groupcast, this approach may be also applied. However, since multiple UEs may need to send HARQ feedback to the gNB for one groupcast transmission, when gNB schedules a groupcast transmission, the gNB need to allocate multiple resources to different UEs. For example, each UE may be allocated with a dedicated resource for sending ACK or NACK. Or gNB may allocate multiple resources for sending HARQ feedback for one groupcast transmission, where each resource may be allocated to multiple UEs; See also Para. [0146, 0148-0152, 0153-0156, 0157-0160, 0163-0156]).
Regarding Claim 23, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Li does not expressly teach wherein the first feedback transmission scheme is a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) reporting mode for multicast and broadcast services (MBS) and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode for MBS.
However, Zhou teaches
wherein the first feedback transmission scheme and the second feedback transmission scheme are for multicast and broadcast services (MBS) and the second feedback transmission scheme is a second HARQ reporting mode for MBS (Fig. 33; Para. [0353] - FIG. 33 shows an example of HARQ process management for an MBS session, according to some embodiments (e.g., based on extension of example embodiments described above with respect to FIG. 32). A wireless device may receive from a base station one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of a cell. The configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of HARQ processes (HARQ process x, HARQ process y, HARQ process m, HARQ process n, etc.) associated with the cell. The configuration parameters may indicate the plurality of HARQ processes are grouped into HARQ process groups, each HARQ process group comprising one or more HARQ processes of the plurality of HARQ processes. A first HARQ process group (e.g., comprising HARQ process m, HARQ process n, etc.) may be associated with unicast PDSCH transmissions. One or more second HARQ process group (e.g., comprising HARQ process x, HARQ process y, etc.) may be associated with MBS transmissions; See also Fig. 29, Para. [0288-0294]; Fig. 30, Para. [0295-0301]; Fig. 32, Para. [0326-0352]; Fig. 33, Para. [0353-0357]; Fig. 34, Para. [0358-0368]; Fig. 36, Para. [0376-0383]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of “methods and apparatus for HARQ feedback in NR Uu groupcast or broadcast” (Li Para. [0014]) with Zhou’s invention of configuration-based handling of retransmissions of MBS TBs using multiple HARQ processes (Zhou Para. [0288-0294, 0353-0362]) because Zhou’s invention provides methods which enable improved “system throughput when HARQ is supported for an MBS session” (Zhou Para. [0367, 0375]) and improved “power consumption of a wireless device, and/or system throughput of a base station for MBS transmission” (Zhou Para. [0368, 0389]).
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Zhou and Li851, and in further view of Wu (US 2023/0099072, previously presented).
Regarding Claim 3, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 2.
Yet, Li, Zhou, nor Li851 expressly teach wherein determining the feedback configuration based on the feedback timing indicator comprises one of: [[(i)]] in accordance with a determination that the feedback timing indicator has a value indicating an inapplicable feedback timing value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is disabled; in accordance with [[a]] the determination that the feedback timing indicator has [[a]] the value indicating an applicable feedback timing value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is enabled; [[or]] [[(ii)]] in accordance with [[a]] the determination that the feedback timing indicator has a predetermined value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is disabled; or [[, and]] in accordance with [[a]] the determination that the feedback timing indicator has a different value than the predetermined value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is enabled.
However, Wu teaches
[[(i)]] in accordance with a determination that the feedback timing indicator has a value indicating an inapplicable feedback timing value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is disabled; in accordance with [[a]] the determination that the feedback timing indicator has [[a]] the value indicating an applicable feedback timing value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is enabled; [[or]] [[(ii)]] in accordance with [[a]] the determination that the feedback timing indicator has a predetermined value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is disabled; or [[, and]] in accordance with [[a] ]the determination that the feedback timing indicator has a different value than the predetermined value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is enabled (Para. [0152] - When the HARQ feedback timing indicator information in the first DCI indicates the invalid K1 value in the HARQ feedback timing set, the UE determines that the first HARQ process corresponds to the non-enabled state according to the first DCI. Or, when a HARQ feedback timing indicator information field in the first DCI indicates the valid K1 value in the HARQ feedback timing set, the UE determines that the first HARQ process corresponds to the enabled state according to the first DCI; See also Para. [0149, 0150, 0154, 0156, 0157, 0174]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide [[(i)]] in accordance with a determination that the feedback timing indicator has a value indicating an inapplicable feedback timing value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is disabled; in accordance with [[a]] the determination that the feedback timing indicator has [[a]] the value indicating an applicable feedback timing value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is enabled; [[or]] [[(ii)]] in accordance with [[a]] the determination that the feedback timing indicator has a predetermined value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is disabled; or [[, and]] in accordance with [[a] ]the determination that the feedback timing indicator has a different value than the predetermined value, determining that the feedback configuration indicates [[that]] the feedback is enabled as taught by Wu, in the combined system of Li/Zhou/Li851, so that it would provide optimizations for HARQ mechanisms in non-terrestrial networks (NTN) where “the Round Trip Time (RTT) of signal transmission is much longer than the RTT of a terrestrial communication system due to the long communication distance between a terminal device and a satellite or a network device” (Wu Para. [003]).
Regarding Claim 8, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Li, Zhou, nor Li851 expressly teach wherein the feedback configuration is determined based on a feedback timing indicator in the control information, and wherein determining the feedback transmission scheme comprises: determining, from the feedback timing indicator, an index of a feedback timing value; and determining the feedback transmission scheme based on a predetermined association between the index of the feedback timing value and the feedback transmission scheme.
However, Wu teaches
wherein the feedback configuration is determined based on a feedback timing indicator in the control information, and wherein determining the feedback transmission scheme comprises (Para. [0147-0154] - [0147] Case 3: The First DCI Includes HARQ Feedback Timing Indicator Information, and the First Configuration Set Includes at Least One First-Type Configuration Parameter (Valid Value) and at Least One Second-Type Configuration Parameter (Invalid Value). [0148] In the embodiment of the present disclosure, optionally, the first DCI includes HARQ feedback timing indicator information; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0078]; Fig. 4, Para. [0079-0082]; Para. [0149, 0150, 0154, 0156, 0157, 0174]):
determining, from the feedback timing indicator, an index of a feedback timing value (Para. [0147-0154] - [0148] In the embodiment of the present disclosure, optionally, the first DCI includes HARQ feedback timing indicator information. The first configuration set includes at least one first-type configuration parameter and at least one second-type configuration parameter. The first-type configuration parameter includes a valid K1 value which corresponds to the HARQ feedback timing information in the enabled state, and the second-type configuration parameter includes an invalid K1 value which corresponds to the HARQ feedback timing information in the non-enabled state; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0078]; Fig. 4, Para. [0079-0082]; Para. [0149, 0150, 0154, 0156, 0157, 0174]);
The examiner interprets K1 as an index of a feedback timing value.
and determining the feedback transmission scheme based on a predetermined association between the index of the feedback timing value and the feedback transmission scheme (Para. [147-0154] - [0152] When the HARQ feedback timing indicator information in the first DCI indicates the invalid K1 value in the HARQ feedback timing set, the UE determines that the first HARQ process corresponds to the non-enabled state according to the first DCI. Or, when a HARQ feedback timing indicator information field in the first DCI indicates the valid K1 value in the HARQ feedback timing set, the UE determines that the first HARQ process corresponds to the enabled state according to the first DCI; See also Para. [0149, 0150, 0154, 0156, 0157, 0174]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the feedback configuration is determined based on a feedback timing indicator in the control information, and wherein determining the feedback transmission scheme comprises: determining, from the feedback timing indicator, an index of a feedback timing value; and determining the feedback transmission scheme based on a predetermined association between the index of the feedback timing value and the feedback transmission scheme as taught by Wu, in the combined system of Li/Zhou/Li851, so that it would provide optimizations for HARQ mechanisms in non-terrestrial networks (NTN) where “the Round Trip Time (RTT) of signal transmission is much longer than the RTT of a terrestrial communication system due to the long communication distance between a terminal device and a satellite or a network device” (Wu Para. [003]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Zhou and Li851and in further view of Yi et al. (US 2021/0399840, previously presented), Xiong hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 12, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Li, Zhou, nor Li851 expressly teach determining the feedback transmission scheme based on a value of the dedicated field being different from the predetermined value.
However, Yi teaches
determining the feedback transmission scheme based on a value of the dedicated field being different from the predetermined value (Para. [0273] - In an example, a wireless device may receive configuration parameters for a cell. The configuration parameters may comprise a first bit size of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifier field of a DCI format; a second bit size of a redundancy version (RV) field of the DCI format; and a periodic resource configuration of the cell. The wireless device may receive a DCI. The wireless device may validate/determine the DCI indicates an activation of the periodic resource configuration based on the first bit size being zero; the second bit size being zero; a new data indicator of the DCI indicating a predetermined value; a first value of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field of the DCI being same as a third predetermined value, wherein the third predetermined value is different form a first predetermined value; and a second value of a frequency domain resource assignment field of the DCI being same as a fourth predetermined value, wherein the fourth predetermined value is different from a second predetermined value. For example, the predetermined value may be zero. In response to the determining, the wireless device may activate the periodic resource configuration; See also Para. [0274]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining the feedback transmission scheme based on a value of the dedicated field being different from the predetermined value as taught by Yi, in the combined system of Li/Zhou/Li851, so that it would provide multiple methods to activate periodic resource configuration via the use of predetermined values (i.e., HARQ ID field and redundancy version (RV) field of a first DCI format), size of the HARQ ID field of the DCI, the RV field of the DCI being zero, and the periodic resource configuration being an in inactive state (Yi §Abstract).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Zhou and Li851, and in further view of Nakano et al. (US 2024/0372646), Nakano hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 21, Li in view of Zhou and Li851teaches Claim 19.
Yet, Li, Zhou, nor Li851 expressly teach wherein the selection is based at least in part on a quantity of terminal devices in the plurality of terminal devices.
However, Nakano teaches
wherein the selection is based at least in part on a quantity of terminal devices in the plurality of terminal devices (Para. [0229] - Exemplary methods of determining the HARQ operation include a method based on the number of STAs connected to AP 300. For example, more STAs connected to AP 300 cause more multiplexes in the Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) or the Multi User-Multiple Input Multiple Output (MU-MIMO). Thus, more STAs connected to AP 300 cause an increase in the amount of signaling transmitted in a single packet when HARQ information for STAs to be multiplexed is indicated collectively. With this regard, AP 300 may determine that the HARQ operation is active when a small number (e.g., less than a threshold) of STAs are connected to AP 300, for example, and may determine that the HARQ operation is inactive when a large number (e.g., equal to or greater than a threshold) of STAs are connected to AP 300. This method prevents the increase in the amount of signaling by determining that the HARQ operation is inactive when a large number of STAs are connected to AP 300; See also Fig. 28; Para. [0226-0228, 0230-0237]; ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the selection is based at least in part on a quantity of terminal devices in the plurality of terminal devices as taught by Nakano, in the combined system of Li/Zhou/Li851, so that it would provide a method of “improving efficiency of HARQ control according to communication quality” (Nakano Para. [0050]).
Conclusion
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468