DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The instant Office Action is in response to Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/18/2025.
Claims 17, 19, 21-22, 45, 47 and 49-50 are pending. Claims 17 and 45 are the base independent claims.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Regarding claim 17, Applicant files arguments with respect to the amendment.
--In response, new grounds of rejection are made based on the combination of PARK, YE and YUM for the amended claim limitations. Upon further consideration, PARK or YE still applies to a portion of the independent claims because the amendment does not change the scope of this portion. The rest of the arguments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 19, 21-22, 45, 47 and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 2023/0319822) in view of Ye et al (US 2022/0052779, at least supported by provisional application 63/073115), further in view of YUM et al (US 2016/0218788).
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses a base station, comprising memory coupled to a processor (fig. 5; e.g. BS; par 371), the processor configured to:
transmit control information (par 15, par 130; e.g. downlink control information) that indicates HARQ information associated with communication of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission that includes at least one PDSCH/PUSCH retransmission (par 130-131; A slot timing between A and B is indicated by a field in DCI from a set of values. In addition, NR supports different minimum HARQ processing times between UEs. The HARQ processing time includes a delay between a DL data reception timing and a corresponding HARQ-ACK transmission timing and a delay between a UL grant reception timing and a corresponding UL data transmission timing; also par 247; A DCI format may be configured according to whether the UE has a soft buffer combining capability. For example, a field constituting DCI may be determined (e.g., which field is to be omitted may be determined) based on whether HARQ feedback is disabled/enabled and whether data retransmission is supported),
wherein the control information further indicates HARQ feedback is disabled (par 200; feedback is disabled; also par 217), the control information including a redundancy version sequency field orpar 238-240; e.g. redundancy version (RV) or new data indicator (NDI))
The reference does not disclose:
when HARQ feedback is disabled, encoding a repetition index in the redundancy versions sequence field or the new data indictor field, wherein the repetition index is mapped to a particular number of retransmission for the PDSCH/PUSCH.
However, Ye discloses:
when HARQ feedback is disabled, encode a repetition number defining a number of retransmissions for the PDSCH/PUSCH based on information in the redundancy version sequence field par 91, 95; In certain embodiments, the HARQ disabling is configured… one or more bits in redundancy version field are reused for the indication of the number of repetitions, when the repetition is configured and applied to PDSCH; also par 102); and transmit the PDSCH transmission or receive the PUSCH transmission based on the HARQ information and the particular number of retransmissions (par 92, 96; e.g. the UE 116 receives the PDSCH. The UE 116 receives the PDSCH based on both the configuration and the DCI indication including HARQ feedback timing and a supported number of repetition).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of communication protocol configured for the electronic system of Ye with the electronic system of Park. One is motivated as such to support more flexible time domain resource allocation (Ye, par 42).
The combination does not disclose:
encode a repetition index in the new data indictor field (emphasis added).
However, it is obvious in view of YUM, because YUM discloses:
In par 129, transmit an index corresponding to a repetition number; also par 139, e.g. since an MCS/NDI/RV container for a second codeword is not used, the container may be used to transmit the repetition number; hence a repetition index in the new data indicator field.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of communication protocol configured for the electronic system of YUM with the electronic system of Park and Ye. One is motivated as such to reuse an existing container instead of defining a new container (YUM, par 139).
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses:
wherein the repetition index mapped to the particular number of retransmissions by prior signaling (par 91, par 270; e.g. the UE may recognize the resource as HARQ-disabled. In this case, PDSCH retransmission (or multi-TT! PDSCH) information is indicated by K1).
Regarding claim 21, Park discloses:
encode a redundancy version sequence index in a control information field that carries information relating to HARQ feedback when HARQ feedback is enabled (par 239-240; e.g. redundancy version (RV)).
Regarding claim 22, Park discloses:
the redundancy version sequence index indicates, based on a separate configuration, a particular redundancy version sequence (par 247-248, par 320; HARQ feedback-related information (e.g., an NDI, an RV, HARQ process number…)).
Regarding claims 45, 47 and 49-50, Park in view of Ye and YUM also discloses a method related to the base station of claims 17, 19 and 21-22, thus similar rejection mappings are applicable as above.
Conclusion
/YAOTANG WANG/SCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409