DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to Claims filed 04/17/2023.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2023 and 12/04/2025 were filed before the mailing date of the first Action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Receipt of Drawings filed 04/17/2023 is acknowledged. These Drawings are acceptable.
Status of the Claims
Claims 8 and 12-16 were amended preliminarily. Claims 17-20 are new as of the filing of the instant Application. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an execution model generation unit” of Claim 1
“a software generation unit” of Claims 1-8 and 17
“a storage unit” of Claim 18
“a hardware generation unit” of Claim 19
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, 12-13, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (HetPipe: Enabling Large DNN Training on (Whimpy) Heterogeneous GPU Clusters through Integration of Pipelined Model Parallelism and Data Parallelism, published July, 2020), hereinafter Park.
In regards to claim 1: The present invention claims: “A neural network generation device that generates a neural network execution model for performing neural network operations, the neural network generation device comprising:” Park teaches “We present a DNN training system, HetPipe (Heterogeneous Pipeline), that integrates pipelined model parallelism (PMP) with data parallelism (DP).” (Abstract) and “The system that we propose focuses on training a large DNN model in a heterogeneous GPU cluster composed of various types of GPUs that have different computation capability and memory capacity. In such settings, for some types of GPUs in the cluster, the DNN model of interest may be too large to be loaded into the memory of a single GPU. The system that we propose in this paper leverages both pipelined model parallelism (PMP) and data parallelism (DP) to enable training of such large DNN models and, in the process, enhance performance as well as the utilization of the heterogeneous GPU resources of the cluster.” (Section 3, Page 310, mapping the training/distribution/partitioning of a DNN to the generic recitation of a neural network generation device generating a neural network execution model).
“an execution model generation unit that generates the neural network execution model based on hardware information regarding hardware in which the neural network execution model is running and network information regarding the neural network;” Park teaches “To train DNN models based on pipelined model parallelism in virtual workers, the resource allocator first assigns k GPUs to each virtual worker based on a resource allocation policy (which will be discussed in Section 8.1). Note that for allocating the heterogeneous GPUs to the virtual workers, the resource allocation policy must consider several factors such as the performance of individual GPUs as well as the communication overhead caused by sending activations and gradients within a virtual worker, and synchronizing the weights among the virtual workers and the parameter server.” (Page 310, mapping the allocation of GPU resources based on GPU performance and communication overhead to the generic recitation of “information regarding hardware” and “network information”).
“and a software generation unit that generates software for running neural network hardware obtained by installing the neural network model in the hardware.” Park teaches “In our experiments, we use four nodes with two Intel Xeon Octa-core E5-2620 v4 processors (2.10 GHz) connected via InfiniBand (56 Gbps). Each node has 64 GB memory and 4 homogeneous GPUs. Each node is configured with a different type of GPU as shown in Table 1. Thus, the total number of GPUs in our cluster is 16. Each GPU is equipped with PCIe-3_16 (15.75 GB/s). Ubuntu 16.04 LTS with Linux kernel version 4.4 is used. We implement HetPipe based on the WSP model by modifying TensorFlow 1.12 version3 with CUDA 10.0 and cuDNN 7.4.” (Page 315, mapping the implementation of HetPipe on hardware to the generic recitation of running and installing on neural network hardware).
In regards to claim 2: The present invention claims: “wherein: the software generation unit generates the software for making the neural network hardware perform the neural network operations in a partitioned manner.” Park teaches “Note that for allocating the heterogeneous GPUs to the virtual workers, the resource allocation policy must consider several factors such as the performance of individual GPUs as well as the communication overhead caused by sending activations and gradients within a virtual worker, and synchronizing the weights among the virtual workers and the parameter server. Then, for the given DNN model and allocated k GPUs, the model partitioner divides the model into k partitions for the virtual worker such that the performance of the pipeline executed in the virtual worker can be maximized.” (Page 310).
In regards to claim 8: The present invention claims: “wherein: the software generation unit allocates the partitioned neural network operations to the neural network hardware.” See above how Pages 315 and 310 of Park read on allocating and partitioning the neural network resources to the hardware resources.
In regards to claims 9 and 12: Claims 9 and 12 recite similar limitations pertaining to the generation, implementation, and partitioning limitations of Claims 1-2 and 8, with the exception of a recitation of “A neural network control method…” in Claim 9; therefore, both sets of Claims are similarly rejected.
In regards to claims 13 and 16: Claims 13 and 16 recite similar limitations to pertaining to the generation, implementation, and partitioning limitations of Claims 1-2 and 8, with the exception of a recitation of “A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing the program…” in Claim 13; therefore, both sets of Claims are similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 17: The present invention claims: “wherein: the software generation unit generates the software including learned parameters relating to the neural network execution model.” Park teaches “As any typical DP, multiple virtual workers must periodically synchronize the global parameters via parameter servers or AllReduce communication; in HetPipe, parameter servers are used to maintain the global weights. Each virtual worker has a local copy of the global weights and periodically synchronizes the weights with the parameter server.” (Page 310).
In regards to claim 18: The present invention claims: “further having: a storage unit that stores the learned parameters.” See Park Figure 2 for a Parameter Server.
In regards to claim 19: The present invention claims: “further having: a hardware generation unit that generates a hardware model by which the neural network execution model can be installed in the hardware.” See above how Park teaches HetPipe allocating and assigning GPUs in its implementation, which the Examiner submits on the generic recitation of “generat[ing] a hardware model by which…the execution model can be installed.”
In regards to claim 20: The present invention claims: “wherein: the software is generated so as to include learned parameters relating to the neural network.” See above where Park teaches generating and storing learned parameters in a parameter server in the implementation of HetPipe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7, 10-11, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to Claims 1, 9, and 13 above, in further view of Song et al. (AccPar: Tensor Partitioning for Heterogeneous Deep Learning Accelerators, published February, 2020), hereinafter Song.
In regards to claim 3: While Park teaches processing minibatches for each virtual worker/GPU cluster (Section 4, particularly), Park fails to explicitly teach the limitations in “wherein: the software generation unit generates the software for making the neural network hardware perform the neural network operations with input data to the neural network partitioned into partial tensors.” Song, however, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches “We present ACCPAR, a principled and systematic method of determining the tensor partition among heterogeneous accelerator arrays.” (Abstract). Section 3 of Song goes into detail regarding the partitioning of input data tensors for efficient DNN learning.
Song teaches “To achieve high throughput and balanced execution, we need to efficiently distribute data and model tensors between accelerators with awareness of heterogeneous computing capabilities and network bandwidth.” (Section 2.3, Page 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s filing to combine known tensor partitioning techniques or methods as taught in Song in a system such as Park’s to achieve better throughput and data balance among the respective virtual workers or assigned GPUs.
In regards to claim 4: The present invention claims: “wherein: the software generation unit partitions the neural network based on a consecutive number of convolution operations to be consecutively implemented by the neural network hardware.” Song teaches “We can easily expand the communication cost and computation cost from fully-connected layers to convolutional layers. In convolutions, Fl , Fl+1, El and El+1 are 4-dimensional tensors, i.e., (batch, channel, height, width). We can view the four dimensional tensors as three dimensional tensors, but the third and fourth dimension is a meta dimension, i.e., (batch, channel, [height, width]).” (Page 8, Section 4.3, mapping the extension of an implementation of a method such as AccPar to include convolutions to the generic recitation of claim 4).
In regards to claim 5: The present invention claims: “wherein: the neural network hardware has a memory for storing the partial tensor; and the software generation unit generates software for performing memory transfer of data necessary for the consecutive convolution operations to the memory from an external memory before implementing the consecutive convolution operations.” Park teaches “Each GPU executes both the forward and backward passes for the layers of the assigned partition. Note that it is important to execute the forward and backward passes of a partition on the same GPU as the activation result computed for the minibatch during the forward pass needs to be kept in the GPU memory until the backward pass of the same minibatch for efficient convergence, as similarly discussed by Narayanan and others [38]. Otherwise, considerable extra overhead will incur for managing the activation through either recomputation or memory management.” (Page 309, mapping to the memory on each/multiple GPUs being used in the operations of the neural network (such as convolution) allocated to them).
In regards to claim 6: The present invention claims: “wherein: the software generation unit determines the consecutive number of the convolution operations to be consecutively implemented based on data amounts in unused areas of the memory.” Park teaches “To find the best partitions of a DNN model, we make use of CPLEX, which is an optimizer for solving linear programming problems [20]. The memory requirement for each partition on the pipeline to support Nm concurrent minibatches is provided as a constraint to the optimizer. The algorithm will return partitions for a model with a certain batch size only if it finds partitions that meet the memory requirement for the given GPUs. Also, the optimizer checks all the different orders of the given heterogeneous GPUs for a single virtual worker to partition and place layers of the DNN model on them.” (Page 315, mapping the use of a memory requirement of each GPU to the generic recitation of the use of “data amounts in unused areas of memory”).
In regards to claim 7: The present invention claims: “wherein: the neural network hardware has a memory for storing the partial tensors; and the software generation unit generates software for performing memory transfer of the partial tensors necessary for the operations to the memory from an external memory before implementing the operations if the partial tensors necessary for the operations are not stored in the memory.” See above where a combination of Park and Song reads on the storage of partial data/tensors in memory. It would follow that in a minibatch or different partition of a tensor was needed/were to be processed, that data would be retrieved before operations would be performed on it.
In regards to claims 10 and 11: Claims 10 and 11 recite similar limitations to Claims 3 and 4, with the exception of a recitation of “A neural network control method…” in Claim 9; therefore, both sets of Claims are similarly rejected.
In regards to claims 14 and 15: Claims 14 and 15 recite similar limitations to Claims 3 and 4, with the exception of a recitation of “A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing the program…” in Claim 13; therefore, both sets of Claims are similarly rejected.
Conclusion
/GRIFFIN TANNER BEAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2121
/Li B. Zhen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2121