DETAILED ACTION
The RCE and amendment submitted on 03/09/2026 has been received and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1-2, 8, 11, 13, 16, 18-19, 25, 28, 30, 33, 35, and 38-40 were amended, and claims 1-2, 8, 11, 13, 15-16, 18-19, 25, 28, 30, 32-33, and 35-40 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant argues on pages 16-17 of their remarks that it would not be obvious to combine Park with Rico Alvarino, writing, “
K
o
f
f
s
e
t
and TA in Rico are configured for the same UE, while the transmission interval K is configured for multiple data transmissions; on the other hands, the technical effects of the technical solution provided in Rico are completely different from that of the present application, and the technical solution of Rico is completely silent about multi-panels/TRPs [emphasis in the original]” (Applicant Remarks, p. 17).
First, this argument is moot because this office action no longer relies on Park. However, it is worth addressing because a similar argument could apply to the combination of Tsai and Rico Alvarino used here and the Examiner respectfully disagrees with this interpretation of Rico Alvarino. The relevant technical effect Rico Alvarino was cited to teach – namely, the use of a transmission offset and timing advance to counteract transmission delay – remains relevant regardless of how many TRPs the transmission involves. Although the Examiner agrees that Rico Alvarino “is completely silent about multi-panels/TRPs”, Rico Alvarino was not cited on this point. The primary reference (Park in the previous office action, Tsai in this one) addresses the claim limitations that relate to configuring an offset during transmissions because of changing TRPs and TCI states, and Rico Alvarino complements this disclosure by describing how a slot offset can mitigate the negative effects of transmission delay. Therefore, the obviousness rejection based in part on Rico Alvarino is properly maintained.
Later, on page 15, the Applicant argues that the slot offset in Park is compared with a threshold after transmission (Remarks, p. 15). However, this argument is moot because Park is not relied upon to reject any claims in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 15, 18-19, 32, and 35-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 2023/0371039 A1, hereinafter “Tsai”) in view of Rico Alvarino et al. (US 2021/0314892 A1, hereinafter “Rico Alvarino”).
As to Claims 1, 35, and 36:
Tsai describes a method for scheduling multiple PDSCH transmissions at high frequencies using a single DCI.
Specifically, Tsai teaches:
Configuring a transmission interval K between at least two continuous downlink data transmissions
Tsai teaches that “there may be a gap symbol required when a UE performs beam switching for PDSCH 1 and 2 reception from TRP” (Tsai, 0020).
Here, the “gap symbol” corresponds to “a transmission interval K”, and
“PDSCH 1 and 2” corresponds to “at least two continuous downlink data transmissions”.
Performing the at least two continuous downlink data transmissions based on the configured transmission interval K
Tsai describes “the use of gap symbol(s), for the switching of TCI states for multiple PDSCH(s)” (Tsai, 0049).
Configuring the transmission interval K between the at least two continuous downlink data transmissions
Tsai describes “the use of gap symbol(s), for the switching of TCI states for multiple PDSCH(s)” (Tsai, 0049).
The target TRP ... among a plurality of TRPs
Tsai describes “a single DCI” that can “schedule multiple (e.g., two) PDSCHs from multiple (e.g., two) TRPs” (Tsai, 0019).
And, from the list of:
In a single-downlink control information scenario, determining whether switching of a transmission and reception point (TRP) or a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state occurs between a downlink data transmission sent by a target TRP and a downlink data transmission after the downlink data transmission sent by the target TRP, and in response to the switching of the TRP or the TCI state occurring, configuring the transmission interval K after the downlink data transmission sent by the target TRP ... or
In a single-downlink control information scenario, determining whether switching of a TRP or a TCI state occurs between a downlink data transmission sent by a target TRP and a downlink data transmission before the downlink data transmission sent by the target TRP, and in response to the switching of the TRP or the TCI state occurring, configuring the transmission interval K before the downlink data transmission sent by the target TRP
Tsai at least teaches:
In a single-downlink control information scenario, determining whether switching of a transmission and reception point (TRP) or a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state occurs between a downlink data transmission sent by a target TRP and a downlink data transmission after the downlink data transmission sent by the target TRP, and in response to the switching of the TRP or the TCI state occurring, configuring the transmission interval K after the downlink data transmission sent by the target TRP
Tsai describes “the use of gap symbol(s), for the switching of TCI states for multiple PDSCH(s)” when “a single DCI schedule [sic] multiple PDSCH(s) ... (Tsai, 0049).
Here, “switching of TCI states” corresponds to “switching of ... a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state” from the list of “switching of a transmission and reception point (TRP) or a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state occurs”, and
“gap symbol(s), for the switching of TCI states” corresponds to “in response to the switching of ... the TCI state occurring, configuring the transmission interval K after the downlink data transmission sent by the target TRP”.
Tsai does not explicitly disclose:
The target TRP is a TRP having a maximum transmission delay ... and a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a TCI state of the target TRP or a target timing advance
The target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a maximum timing advance value
The target TRP is a TRP having a minimum transmission delay ... and a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a TCI state of the target TRP or a target timing advance
The target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a minimum timing advance value
However, Rico Alvarino does describe a method to update a timing advance value based on delay between a terminal and a base station.
Specifically, Rico Alvarino teaches:
The target TRP is a TRP having a maximum transmission delay ... and a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a TCI state of the target TRP or a target timing advance
Rico Alvarino describes “NTNs [non-terrestrial networks]” that “may implement
K
o
f
f
s
e
t
such that if a baseline TA (e.g., N) via implementation of the
K
o
f
f
s
e
t
=N, where N corresponds to the worst-case RTT [round-trip time]” (Rico Alvarino, 0125).
Here, “worst-case RTT” corresponds to “a TRP having a maximum transmission delay”,
“
K
o
f
f
s
e
t
” corresponds to “a value of the transmission interval K”, and
“a baseline TA” corresponds to “a target timing advance”.
The target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a maximum timing advance value
Rico Alvarino teaches that “
K
o
f
f
s
e
t
and TA may thus offset each other to some extent” and that “
K
o
f
f
s
e
t
” is used by “a UE with max delay in cell” (Rico Alvarino, 0126).
Here, the “UE with max delay” that “applies max TA” corresponds to “the target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a maximum timing advance value”.
The target TRP is a TRP having a minimum transmission delay ... and a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a TCI state of the target TRP or a target timing advance
Rico Alvarino teaches that “UEs with delays other than the worst case RTT (N) may adjust their radio frame timing structure or uplink timing such that their TA accounts for their
N
X
(e.g., via TA=N-
N
X
, or TA=N-D for the UE with the minimum delay in the cell)” (Rico Alvarino, 0125).
Here, “minimum delay” corresponds to “a minimum transmission delay”, and
“TA ... for the UE with the minimum delay in the cell” corresponds to “a value of the transmission interval K is associated with ... a target timing advance” from the list of “a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a TCI state of the target TRP or a target timing advance”.
The target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a minimum timing advance value
Rico Alvarino teaches that “UEs with delays other than the worst case RTT (N) may adjust their radio frame timing structure or uplink timing such that their TA accounts for their
N
X
(e.g., via TA=N-
N
X
, or TA=N-D for the UE with the minimum delay in the cell)” (Rico Alvarino, 0125).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the interval separating downlink PDSCH transmissions described in Tsai to compensate for the worst-case and best-case transmission delay to a base station, as described in Rico Alvarino. As noted, in Rico Alvarino, “[e]fficient techniques for managing ... long round trip or propagation delays may thus be desirable” (Rico Alvarino, 0004).
Claim 35 recites the same limitations as Claim 1 in addition to requiring:
At least one processor configured
Tsai states that its method “may be stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor” (Tsai, 0136).
Claim 36 requires the same method as Claim 1 in addition to:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform
Tsai teaches that the “logical entities” in its method may be “implemented in the form of computer-executable instructions (software) stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, an apparatus” (Tsai, 0177).
As to Claims 2 and 38:
Tsai teaches:
In a single-downlink control information scenario, configuring the transmission interval K between every two of the at least two continuous downlink data transmissions
Tsai describes “a gap symbol required for when a UE performs beam switching for PDSCH 1 and 2 reception from TRP” (Tsai, 0020).
Claim 38 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 2, except it depends on Claim 35 instead of Claim 1.
As to Claims 15 and 32:
Tsai teaches:
The transmission interval K is an interval time or a number of interval symbols
Tsai describes an interval analogous to “K” as “a gap symbol required for when a UE performs beam switching for PDSCH 1 and 2 reception from TRP” (Tsai, 0020).
Tsai does not explicitly disclose:
The transmission interval K is an interval time or a number of interval symbols determined according to a timing advance value
However, Rico Alvarino does teach:
The transmission interval K is an interval time or a number of interval symbols determined according to a timing advance value
Rico Alvarino describes “
K
o
f
f
s
e
t
” which adjusts “a baseline TA” for UEs with “the worst case RTT” and “delays other than the worst case RTT (N)” (Rico Alvarion, 0125).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the gap interval described in Tsai into situations involving a timing advance such as those described in Rico Alvarino. The gap symbols can implement or adjust the timing advance to meet a specific device’s requirements, as seen in Rico Alvarino (0125-0126).
Claim 32 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 15.
As to Claims 18 and 37:
Tsai teaches:
Configuring a transmission interval K between at least two continuous ... data transmissions
Tsai teaches that “there may be a gap symbol required when a UE performs beam switching for PDSCH 1 and 2 reception from TRP” (Tsai, 0020).
Here, the “gap symbol” corresponds to “a transmission interval K”, and
“PDSCH 1 and 2” corresponds to “at least two continuous ... data transmissions”.
Performing the at least two continuous ... data transmissions based on the configured transmission interval K
Tsai describes “the use of gap symbol(s), for the switching of TCI states for multiple PDSCH(s)” (Tsai, 0049).
Configuring the transmission interval K between the at least two continuous ... data transmissions
Tsai describes “the use of gap symbol(s), for the switching of TCI states for multiple PDSCH(s)” (Tsai, 0049).
The target TRP ... among a plurality of TRPs
Tsai describes “a single DCI” that can “schedule multiple (e.g., two) PDSCHs from multiple (e.g., two) TRPs” (Tsai, 0019).
And, from the list of:
In a single-downlink control information scenario, determining whether switching of a receiving transmission and reception point (TRP) or a sending beam occurs between a ... data transmission sent to a target TRP and a ... data transmission after the ... data transmission sent to the target TRP, and in response to the switching of the TRP or the sending beam occurring, configuring the transmission interval K after the uplink data transmission sent to the target TRP, wherein the target TRP is a TRP having a minimum timing advance among a plurality of TRPs, and a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a sending beam of the target TRP or a target timing advance, wherein the target timing advance corresponding to a minimum timing advance value among the plurality of TRPs; or
In a single-downlink control information scenario, determining whether switching of a receiving TRP or a sending beam occurs between a ... data transmission sent to a target TRP and a ... data transmission before the ... data transmission sent to the target TRP, and in response to the switching of the receiving TRP or the sending beam occurring, configuring the transmission interval K before the ... data transmission sent to the target TRP, wherein the target TRP is a TRP having a maximum timing advance among a plurality of TRPs, and a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a sending beam of the target TRP or a target timing advance, wherein the target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a maximum timing advance value among the plurality of TRPs
Tsai at least teaches:
In a single-downlink control information scenario, determining whether switching of a receiving TRP or a sending beam occurs between a ... data transmission sent to a target TRP and a ... data transmission before the ... data transmission sent to the target TRP, and in response to the switching of the receiving TRP or the sending beam occurring, configuring the transmission interval K before the ... data transmission sent to the target TRP
Tsai describes “the use of gap symbol(s), for the switching of TCI states for multiple PDSCH(s)” when “a single DCI schedule [sic] multiple PDSCH(s) ... (Tsai, 0049). Fig. 10B in Tsai also shows a beam switch between “TRP 1” and “TRP 2”.
Here, a “single DCI” corresponds to “a single-downlink control information scenario”,
the “Beam switching” between “PDSCH 2 from TRP 1” and “PDSCH 1 from TRP 2” in Fig. 10B corresponds to “switching of a receiving TRP” and “switching of ... a sending beam”, and
“the use of gap symbols” corresponds to “configuring the transmission interval K”.
Furthermore, although Tsai does not explicitly disclose configuring a transmission gap between “uplink data transmissions” as claimed, it does separately describe:
Uplink data transmissions
Tsai teaches that a “single DCI” can “schedule[] multiple ... PUSCHs” (Tsai, 0134).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Tsai’s method for configuring a gap symbol between downlink transmissions to the uplink data transmissions that Tsai teaches can be similarly scheduled by a single DCI. The benefits of configuring gap symbols between downlink transmissions are just as relevant for uplink transmission.
Tsai does not explicitly disclose:
The target TRP is a TRP having a minimum timing advance ... and a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a sending beam of the target TRP or a target timing advance
The target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a minimum timing advance value
The target TRP is a TRP having a maximum timing advance ... and a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a sending beam of the target TRP or a target timing advance
The target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a maximum timing advance value
However, Rico Alvarino does teach:
The target TRP is a TRP having a minimum timing advance ... and a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a sending beam of the target TRP or a target timing advance
Rico Alvarino teaches that “UEs with delays other than the worst case RTT (N) may adjust their radio frame timing structure or uplink timing such that their TA accounts for their
N
X
(e.g., via TA=N-
N
X
, or TA=N-D for the UE with the minimum delay in the cell)” (Rico Alvarino, 0125).
Here, “minimum delay” corresponds to “a minimum timing advance”, and
“TA ... for the UE with the minimum delay in the cell” corresponds to “a value of the transmission interval K is associated with ... a target timing advance” from the list of “a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a TCI state of the target TRP or a target timing advance”.
The target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a minimum timing advance value
Rico Alvarino teaches that “UEs with delays other than the worst case RTT (N) may adjust their radio frame timing structure or uplink timing such that their TA accounts for their
N
X
(e.g., via TA=N-
N
X
, or TA=N-D for the UE with the minimum delay in the cell)” (Rico Alvarino, 0125).
The target TRP is a TRP having a maximum timing advance ... and a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a sending beam of the target TRP or a target timing advance
Rico Alvarino describes “NTNs [non-terrestrial networks]” that “may implement
K
o
f
f
s
e
t
such that if a baseline TA (e.g., N) via implementation of the
K
o
f
f
s
e
t
=N, where N corresponds to the worst-case RTT [round-trip time]” (Rico Alvarino, 0125).
Here, “worst-case RTT” corresponds to “a TRP having a maximum timing advance”,
“
K
o
f
f
s
e
t
” corresponds to “a value of the transmission interval K”, and
“a baseline TA” corresponds to “a target timing advance”.
The target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a maximum timing advance value
Rico Alvarino teaches that “
K
o
f
f
s
e
t
and TA may thus offset each other to some extent” and that “
K
o
f
f
s
e
t
” is used by “a UE with max delay in cell” (Rico Alvarino, 0126).
Here, the “UE with max delay” that “applies max TA” corresponds to “the target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a maximum timing advance value”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the interval separating downlink PDSCH transmissions described in Tsai to compensate for the worst-case and best-case transmission delay to a base station, as described in Rico Alvarino. As noted, in Rico Alvarino, “[e]fficient techniques for managing ... long round trip or propagation delays may thus be desirable” (Rico Alvarino, 0004).
Claim 37 requires the same method as Claim 18 in addition to:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform
Tsai teaches that the “logical entities” in its method may be “implemented in the form of computer-executable instructions (software) stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, an apparatus” (Tsai, 0177).
As to Claim 19:
Tsai teaches:
In a single-downlink control information scenario, configuring the transmission interval K between every two of the at least two continuous ... data transmissions
Tsai describes “a gap symbol required for when a UE performs beam switching for PDSCH 1 and 2 reception from TRP” (Tsai, 0020).
Furthermore, although Tsai does not explicitly disclose configuring a transmission gap between “uplink data transmissions” as claimed, it does separately describe:
Uplink data transmissions
Tsai teaches that a “single DCI” can “schedule[] multiple ... PUSCHs” (Tsai, 0134).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Tsai’s method for configuring a gap symbol between downlink transmissions to the uplink data transmissions that Tsai teaches can be similarly scheduled by a single DCI. The benefits of configuring gap symbols between downlink transmissions are just as relevant for uplink transmission.
Claim(s) 8, 11, 13, 25, 28, 30, and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 2023/0371039 A1) in view of Rico Alvarino (US 2021/0314892 A1) and further in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2021/0306125 A1, hereinafter “Khoshnevisan”).
As to Claims 8 and 39:
From the list of:
For two continuous downlink data transmissions of the at least two continuous downlink transmissions performed in a single downlink control information scenario, configuring one of the two continuous downlink data transmissions corresponding to a TRP with a smaller transmission delay to be sent before the other one of the two continuous downlink transmissions corresponding to a TRP with a larger transmission delay; or
In a multi-downlink control information scenario, determining whether switching of a TRP or a TCI state occurs between a downlink data transmission sent by the target TRP, and in response to the TRP or the TCI state occurring, configuring the transmission interval K before the downlink data transmission sent by the target TRP, wherein the target TRP is a TRP having a minimum transmission delay among a plurality of TRPs, and a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a TCI state of the target TRP, a target timing advance, or a target higher-layer parameter, a control resource set pool index (CORESTPoolIndex), wherein the target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a minimum timing advance value among the plurality of TRPs, and the target higher-layer parameter is a CORESTPoolIndex value corresponding to the TRP having the minimum transmission delay among the plurality of TRPs
Tsai at least teaches:
Determining whether switching of a TRP or a TCI state occurs between a downlink data transmission sent by the target TRP, and in response to the TRP or the TCI state occurring, configuring the transmission interval K before the downlink data transmission sent by the target TRP
Tsai describes “the use of gap symbol(s), for the switching of TCI states for multiple PDSCH(s)” when “a single DCI schedule [sic] multiple PDSCH(s) ... (Tsai, 0049).
Here, “switching of TCI states” corresponds to “determining whether switching of ... a TCI state occurs” from the list of “switching of a TRP or a TCI state occurs”,
“multiple PDSCH(s)” correspond to “a downlink data transmission sent by a target TRP and a downlink data transmission after the downlink data transmission sent by the target TRP”, and
“gap symbol(s), for the switching of TCI states” corresponds to “in response to the switching of ... the TCI state occurring, configuring the transmission interval K after the downlink data transmission sent by the target TRP”.
The target TRP ... among a plurality of TRPs
Tsai describes “a single DCI” that can “schedule multiple (e.g., two) PDSCHs from multiple (e.g., two) TRPs” (Tsai, 0019).
Tsai does not explicitly disclose:
The target TRP is a TRP having a minimum transmission delay ... and a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a TCI state of the target TRP, a target timing advance, or a target higher-layer parameter, a control resource set pool index (CORESTPoolIndex)
The target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a minimum timing advance value
The target higher-layer parameter is a CORESTPoolIndex value corresponding to the TRP having the minimum transmission delay
However, Rico Alvarino does teach:
The target TRP is a TRP having a minimum transmission delay ... and a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a TCI state of the target TRP, a target timing advance, or a target higher-layer parameter, a control resource set pool index (CORESTPoolIndex)
Rico Alvarino teaches that “UEs with delays other than the worst case RTT (N) may adjust their radio frame timing structure or uplink timing such that their TA accounts for their
N
X
(e.g., via TA=N-
N
X
, or TA=N-D for the UE with the minimum delay in the cell)” (Rico Alvarino, 0125).
Here, “minimum delay” corresponds to “a minimum transmission delay”, and
“TA ... for the UE with the minimum delay in the cell” corresponds to “a value of the transmission interval K is associated with ... a target timing advance” from the list of “a value of the transmission interval K is associated with at least one of the following information: a sending beam of the target TRP, a target timing advance, or a target higher-layer parameter, a control resource set pool index (CORESTPoolIndex).
The target timing advance is a timing advance corresponding to a minimum timing advance value
Rico Alvarino teaches that “UEs with delays other than the worst case RTT (N) may adjust their radio frame timing structure or uplink timing such that their TA accounts for their
N
X
(e.g., via TA=N-
N
X
, or TA=N-D for the UE with the minimum delay in the cell)” (Rico Alvarino, 0125).
Here, the “TA” that is “update[d]” according to the “minimum delay” corresponds to “a timing advance corresponding to a minimum timing advance value”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the interval separating downlink PDSCH transmissions described in Tsai to compensate for the worst-case and best-case transmission delay to a base station, as described in Rico Alvarino. As noted, in Rico Alvarino, “[e]fficient techniques for managing ... long round trip or propagation delays may thus be desirable” (Rico Alvarino, 0004).
Furthermore, the limitation requiring that “The target higher-layer parameter is a CORESTPoolIndex value corresponding to the TRP having the minimum transmission delay” is not strictly necessary because the “target higher-layer parameter” is only one option from a list of claimed possibilities.
The combination of Tsai and Rico Alvarino also does not explicitly disclose:
In a multi-downlink control information scenario
However, Khoshnevisan does describe a method for managing downlink communications with multiple TRPs.
Specifically, Khoshnevisan teaches:
In a multi-downlink control information scenario
Khoshnevisan describes a “second DCI” that “includes adjustment to the one or more TCI states of the first DCI” (Khoshnevisan, 0016).
Here, the “first DCI” and “second DCI” make this a “multi-downlink control information scenario”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Khoshnevisan’s practice of scheduling a second downlink transmission with adjusting TCI states in a multi-DCI scenario with Park’s description of scheduling two transmissions in a single-DCI scenario. The guard interval can account for timing delay relative to the downlink devices and provide time for processing the change in TCI states.
Claim 39 requires the same limitations as Claim 8 in the form of an apparatus claim.
Claim(s) 16 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 2023/0371039 A1) in view of Rico Alvarino (US 2021/0314892 A1) and further in view of Abotabl et al. (US 2023/0135832 A1, hereinafter “Abotabl”).
As to Claim 16:
The combination of Tsai and Rico Alvarino does not explicitly disclose:
For the at least two continuous downlink data transmissions without configuring the transmission interval K, in response to an overlap occurring when a second transmission node receives the at least two continuous downlink data transmissions, shortening an information length of a downlink data transmission which is of the first transmission node and where an overlapping part occurs
Wherein shortening the information length of the downlink data transmission which is of the first transmission node and where the overlapping part occurs comprises at least one of the following:
Shortening an information length of a latter downlink data transmission transmitted in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists;
Shortening an information length of a former downlink data transmission transmitted in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists;
Shortening an information length of a downlink data transmission with a lower priority in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists; and
Alternately shortening information lengths of downlink data transmissions that are of different TRPs and where the overlapping part exists
However, Abotabl does describe methods to map virtually allocated resources to physical resources.
Specifically, Abotabl teaches:
For the at least two continuous downlink data transmissions without configuring the transmission interval K, in response to an overlap occurring when a second transmission node receives the at least two continuous downlink data transmissions, shortening an information length of a downlink data transmission which is of the first transmission node and where an overlapping part occurs
In describing Fig. 12, which depicts two overlapping virtual resource blocks (VRBs), Abotabl describes “various ways in which the wireless node ... may handle such an overlap, including but not limited to: omitting DL data from the intervening BWP segment” (Abotabl, 0078-0079).
Here, consecutive downlink transmissions corresponding to the overlapping “VRBs” correspond to “the at least two downlink data transmissions without configuring the transmission interval K”, and
“omitting DL data” to “handle such an overlap” corresponds to “in response to an overlap occurring ... shortening an information length of a downlink data transmission”.
And from the list of:
At least one of the following:
Shortening an information length of a latter downlink data transmission transmitted in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists;
Shortening an information length of a former downlink data transmission transmitted in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists;
Shortening an information length of a downlink data transmission with a lower priority in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists; and
Alternately shortening information lengths of downlink data transmissions that are of different TRPs and where the overlapping part exists
Abotabl at least teaches:
Shortening an information length of a latter downlink data transmission transmitted in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists
Abotabl describes “omitting DL data from the intervening BWP segment” when virtual resource mappings overlap, as shown in Fig. 12 (Abotabl, 0079).
Here, “omitting DL data” corresponds to “shortening an information length of a latter downlink data” because this omission could apply to either the first or second segment.
And:
Shortening an information length of a former downlink data transmission transmitted in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists
Abotabl describes “omitting DL data from the intervening BWP segment” when virtual resource mappings overlap, as shown in Fig. 12 (Abotabl, 0079).
Here, “omitting DL data” corresponds to “shortening an information length of a former downlink data” because this omission could apply to either the first or second segment.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Abotabl’s method for discarding data in overlapping downlink transmissions to scenarios in Tsai where a guard interval K is not configured. Abotabl’s method helps resolve conflicting resource assignments that can arise when the guard interval is not present.
As to Claim 33:
The combination of Tsai and Rico Alvarino does not explicitly disclose:
For the at least two continuous uplink data transmissions without configuring the transmission interval K, in response to an overlap occurring in sending of the at least two continuous uplink data transmissions, shortening an information length of an uplink data transmission in a part where the overlap occurs
Wherein shortening the information length of the uplink data transmission in a part where the overlap occurs comprises at least one of the following:
Shortening an information length of a latter uplink data transmission transmitted in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists;
Shortening an information length of a former uplink data transmission transmitted in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists;
Shortening an information length of an uplink data transmission with a lower priority in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists; and
Alternately shortening information lengths of uplink data transmissions that are sent to different TRPs and where the overlapping part exists
However, Abotabl does describe methods to map virtually allocated resources to physical resources.
Specifically, Abotabl teaches:
For the at least two continuous uplink data transmissions without configuring the transmission interval K, in response to an overlap occurring in sending of the at least two continuous uplink data transmissions, shortening an information length of an uplink data transmission in a part where the overlap occurs
In describing Fig. 12, which depicts two overlapping virtual resource blocks (VRBs), Abotabl describes “various ways in which the wireless node ... may handle such an overlap, including but not limited to: omitting DL data from the intervening BWP segment” (Abotabl, 0078-0079).
Here, consecutive uplink transmissions corresponding to the overlapping “VRBs” correspond to “the at least two uplink data transmissions without configuring the transmission interval K”, and
“omitting ... data” to “handle such an overlap” corresponds to “in response to an overlap occurring ... shortening an information length of an uplink data transmission”.
And from the list of:
At least one of the following:
Shortening an information length of a latter uplink data transmission transmitted in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists;
Shortening an information length of a former uplink data transmission transmitted in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists;
Shortening an information length of an uplink data transmission with a lower priority in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists; and
Alternately shortening information lengths of uplink data transmissions that are sent to different TRPs and where the overlapping part exists
Abotabl at least teaches:
Shortening an information length of a latter uplink data transmission transmitted in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists;
Abotabl describes “omitting ... data from the intervening BWP segment” when virtual resource mappings overlap, as shown in Fig. 12 (Abotabl, 0079).
Here, “omitting ... data” corresponds to “shortening an information length of a latter downlink data”.
And:
Shortening an information length of a former uplink data transmission transmitted in two transmissions where the overlapping part exists
Abotabl describes “omitting DL data from the intervening BWP segment” when virtual resource mappings overlap, as shown in Fig. 12 (Abotabl, 0079).
Here, “omitting DL data” corresponds to “shortening an information length of a former uplink data” because this omission could apply to either the first or second segment.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Abotabl’s method for discarding data in overlapping downlink transmissions to scenarios in Tsai where a guard interval K is not configured. Abotabl’s method helps resolve conflicting resource assignments that can arise when the guard interval is not present.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Frenne et al. (US 12,446,027) describes a method for allocating gap symbols between different PUSCH transmissions after switching TRPs. Taherzadeh et al. (US 2021/0185670 A1) describes allocating a timing advance for multiple TRPs.
BENJAMIN PETER WELTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477