DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 17, 2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 2 and 5, the term “PCB” is used, it is unclear as to what is being claimed as these letters do not spell a word and it is not clear if it is an acronym or a product name or trademark. Clarification is needed.
In claim 4, line 3 the term “No. 1 fixation member” is used it is unclear as to what is being referred to as there is no “No. 1 fixation member” referenced in the specification and the drawings. Clarification is needed. For the purposed of continued prosecution this part is interpreted as the part of the hinge attached to part 12b in Fig. 3.
In claim 5, line 4 the term “No. 2 fixation member” is used it is unclear as to what is being referred to as there is no “No. 2 fixation member” referenced in the specification and the drawings. Clarification is needed. For the purposes of continued prosecution this part is interpreted as the part of the hinge attached to part 21 in Fig. 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent No. JP2017/158944 to Hattori et al. (A machine translation of the document is enclosed with the action and referred to herein).
Regarding claim 1, the Hattori patent teaches a medication management device characterized by a holding unit (see Fig. 1) capable of holding the packaged medicine 30; and a detection unit (see Fig. 4, see page 4 of translation) capable of detecting the state of the holding unit and changes; and when the detection unit detects a change in the state of the holding unit, a judgment unit 54 that determines whether the medicine was placed or removed. See Figs. 4 and 7 and pages 4 and 7 of the translation.
Regarding claim 2, a PCB (this is interpreted as the object in Fig. 1 the flat part) on which the timing (clock 51) of use of the medicine is displayed on the surface (this is interpreted as the LED); and a holding unit (part 11 that holds the medicine) provided for each of the timing displayed on the surface; and a detection unit provided at a position corresponding to the holding unit on the surface. See Fig. 4 and page 7 of translation.
Regarding claim 3, a judgment unit that also determines the timing at which the medicine is placed or removed based on the position of each detection unit. See pages 7 and 8 of translation that state that the timing of the medication is programmed and there is notification system.
Regarding claim 6, a communication control means that is capable of transmitting information determined by the judgment unit to the outside through a network line. See page 3 of translation where wireless is stated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent No. JP2017/158944 to Hattori et al. in view of Chinese Patent No. CN209296566 to Xue et a. (A machine translation of the document is enclosed with the action and referred to herein).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the Hattori patent teaches a holding unit, equipped with No. 1 fixation member (this is interpreted as the hinge part in Fig. 4 attached to part 11) fixed to the surface provided on No. 1 fixation member, and No. 1 rotation member having a rotation body that is rotatable with respect to No. 1 fixation member; a No. 2 fixation member (this is interpreted as the base area of the hinge in Fig. 4 attached to part 113) the lower end is fixed to the rotation body and rotatable with respect to the No. 1 fixation member and a plate-shaped member pressed against the detection unit provided on the surface by the elastic force of the elastic body in its natural state. See Fig. 4.
However, the Hattori patent lacks a specific teaching of an elastic body.
The Xue patent teaches a clip having a pivot 16 with elastic body 11 and fixation member 4. See Fig. 1. The Xue patent was cited for the sole purpose of showing that this style of pivot is a well-known design that uses an elastic body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the subject invention to modify the Hattori patent to have the elastic body as taught by Xue, as it would have been combining known prior art elements using known methods to provide the predictable result of a pivot style clip that uses an elastic body to keep one end close and this is a well-known design.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent No. JP2017/158944 to Hattori et al. (A machine translation of the document is enclosed with the action and referred to herein).
Regarding claim 7, the Hattori patent teaches all of the elements in claim except for the explicit teaching of a server to receive the information.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the subject invention to modify the Hattori patent to have a server receive the information, since it is well known in the art that medical equipment can be backed up to servers as this is common type of computer structure to provide the predictable result of robust backups for saving information.
Regarding claim 8, the Hattori patent teaches all of the elements of the claim except for the explicit teaching of a terminal capable of receiving the information from the server and notifying the information received.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the subject invention to modify the Hattori patent to have a terminal capable of receiving the information from the server and notifying the information received, since it is well known in the art that medical equipment can be use servers to control equipment along with a terminal to allow a user to see the information relating to equipment and that these are well known types of structures that are used in the art as computers are commonly known to be used in the art which is a type of terminal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Japanese Patent No. JP2019058613 to Aoki et al. teaches a calendar for medicine.
/JUSTIN HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655