DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-13 are pending all of which are amended. Pursuant to amendments made claim objection to claim 13 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on primary reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DUPOIRON et al. (US 20220190016 A1, hereinafter DUPOIRON).
Regarding claim 1, Dupoiron discloses an imaging apparatus (image sensor 1, fig. 1) comprising:
a plurality of photoelectric conversion units (38 and 26, fig. 1, ¶0049-0051) wherein,
each photoelectric conversion unit (either of 38 or 26) of the photoelectric conversion units includes a photoelectric conversion element (Image sensor 1
comprises an array of first photon sensors 2, also called photodetectors, capable of capturing an infrared image, and an array of second photodetectors 4, capable of capturing a color image. – ¶0049),
the photoelectric conversion element, of the photoelectric conversion unit of the plurality of photoelectric conversion units, is configured to perform photoelectric conversion with light in a different wavelength region (Image sensor 1 comprises an array of first photon sensors 2, also called photodetectors, capable of capturing an infrared image, and an array of second photodetectors 4, capable of capturing a color image. – ¶0049), and,
the plurality of photoelectric conversion units is stacked in a light incident direction (figs. 1-4, ¶0051); and
a charge holding unit (FD, fig. 5) configured to hold charges accumulated in a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements in the plurality of photoelectric conversion units (According to an embodiment, the readout circuit is configured to transfer first electric charges generated in the first photodiode to a first electrically-conductive track and configured to transfer second charges generated in the second photodiode to the same first electrically-conductive track or a second electrically-conductive track distinct from the first conductive track. – ¶0024. Also see FD in fig. 5, ¶0086-0089), wherein
the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements includes the photoelectric conversion element (plurality of photoelectric conversion elements 2, and 4 includes the photoelectric conversion element 2 and 4 individually, figs. 1-4, ¶0049-0051), and
the charge holding unit (FD, fig. 5, ¶0024, 0049-0051) is shared by each photoelectric conversion unit of the plurality of photoelectric conversion units (2, and 4 share same FD, fig. 5. Also see ¶0024).
Regarding claim 2, DUPOIRON discloses the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a charge reset unit (70, fig. 5) configured to reset the charges accumulated in the charge holding unit (FD, fig. 5), wherein the charge reset unit is shared by each photoelectric conversion unit of the plurality of photoelectric conversion units (fig. 5, ¶0078-0079. Also see ¶0085-0091).
Regarding claim 3, DUPOIRON discloses the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a first photoelectric conversion element of the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements faces a second photoelectric conversion element of the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements, in the light incident direction (evident from figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, DUPOIRON discloses the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
plurality of the photoelectric conversion units includes a first photoelectric conversion unit (38, figs. 1-4) and a second photoelectric conversion unit (26, figs. 1-4) that are stacked along the light incident direction (figs. 1-4, Abstract, ¶0051),
the first photoelectric conversion unit includes the photoelectric conversion element using an organic material (¶0028),
the photoelectric conversion element using the organic material is configured to:
receive the light (¶0054-0062); and
photoelectrically convert the received light in a specific wavelength region (¶0054-0062), and
the second photoelectric conversion unit includes the photoelectric conversion element using an inorganic material (ibid, ¶0054-0062, ¶0065-0066), and
the photoelectric conversion element using the inorganic material (Each active layer 26, 38 may comprise small molecules, oligomers, or polymers. These may be organic or inorganic materials, particularly quantum dots. – ¶0066) is configured to:
receive the light (ibid, ¶0054-0063); and
photoelectrically convert the light received by the photoelectric conversion element using the inorganic material (ibid, ¶0054-0063).
Regarding claim 5, DUPOIRON discloses the imaging apparatus according to claim 4, further comprising a charge discharging unit configured to discharge the charges accumulated in the photoelectric conversion element in the second photoelectric conversion unit (The charges accumulated in color photodiode 4 are then discharged towards the source of potential Vrst. – ¶0086. ).
Regarding claim 6, DUPOIRON discloses the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the plurality of photoelectric conversion units includes a first photoelectric conversion unit and a second photoelectric conversion unit that are stacked along the light incident direction (figs. 1-4, Abstract, ¶0051),
the first photoelectric conversion unit includes the photoelectric conversion element (photodiode 2, fig. 5, ¶0058, ¶0078-0079) that is configured to:
receive visible light (¶0054-0062); and
photoelectrically convert the visible light (ibid, ¶0056-0059), and
the second photoelectric conversion unit (38, fig. 5) includes the photoelectric conversion element that is configured to:
receive infrared light (¶0075-0083, fig. 5); and
photoelectrically convert the infrared light (¶0075-0083, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, DUPOIRON discloses the imaging apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the photoelectric conversion element in the second photoelectric conversion unit has a light receiving area larger than a light receiving area of the photoelectric conversion element in the first photoelectric conversion unit (38 has Bayer structure, therefore every 4 photoelectric conversion unit of visible light receiving area is same as a single IR light receiving area of layer 26, fig. 1, ¶0057. Also see ¶0058-0062).
Regarding claim 9, DUPOIRON discloses the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a drive control unit configured to transfer, to the charge holding unit at different timings, the charges accumulated in the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (The arrays of photodetectors 2 and 4 are associated with an array of readout circuits 6 measuring the signals captured by photodetectors 2 and 4. Readout circuit means an assembly of transistors for reading out, addressing, and controlling the pixel or sub-pixel defined by the corresponding photodetectors 2 and 4 – ¶0049. Also see figs. 5-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DUPOIRON.
Regarding claim 10, DUPOIRON discloses
an imaging apparatus configured to capture an image (see claim 1 rejection above); and
a plurality of photoelectric conversion units (38 and 26, fig. 1, ¶0049-0051) wherein,
each photoelectric conversion unit (either of 38 or 26) of the photoelectric conversion units includes a photoelectric conversion element (Image sensor 1
comprises an array of first photon sensors 2, also called photodetectors, capable of capturing an infrared image, and an array of second photodetectors 4, capable of capturing a color image. – ¶0049),
the photoelectric conversion element, of the photoelectric conversion unit of the plurality of photoelectric conversion units, is configured to perform photoelectric conversion with light in a different wavelength region (Image sensor 1 comprises an array of first photon sensors 2, also called photodetectors, capable of capturing an infrared image, and an array of second photodetectors 4, capable of capturing a color image. – ¶0049), and,
the plurality of photoelectric conversion units is stacked in a light incident direction (figs. 1-4, ¶0051); and
a charge holding unit (FD, fig. 5) configured to hold charges accumulated in a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements in the plurality of photoelectric conversion units (According to an embodiment, the readout circuit is configured to transfer first electric charges generated in the first photodiode to a first electrically-conductive track and configured to transfer second charges generated in the second photodiode to the same first electrically-conductive track or a second electrically-conductive track distinct from the first conductive track. – ¶0024. Also see FD in fig. 5, ¶0086-0089), wherein
the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements includes the photoelectric conversion element (plurality of photoelectric conversion elements 2, and 4 includes the photoelectric conversion element 2 and 4 individually, figs. 1-4, ¶0049-0051), and
the charge holding unit (FD, fig. 5, ¶0024, 0049-0051) is shared by each photoelectric conversion unit of the plurality of photoelectric conversion units (2, and 4 share same FD, fig. 5. Also see ¶0024).
DUPOIRON is not found disclosing expressly an information processing apparatus comprising: an information processing unit configured to process the image.
However, in the background section DUPOIRON discloses that image captured by image sensors are used in electronic devices (¶0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the image sensor in an electronic device that processes the image captured by image sensor for use cases of interest, to obtain, an information processing apparatus comprising: an information processing unit configured to process the image, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious.
Regarding claim 11, DUPOIRON discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein
the plurality of photoelectric conversion units includes a first photoelectric conversion unit (38, figs. 1-4) and a second photoelectric conversion unit (26, figs. 1-4) that are stacked along the light incident direction (figs. 1-4, Abstract, ¶0051),
the first photoelectric conversion unit includes the photoelectric conversion element that is configured to:
receive visible light (¶0054-0062); and
photoelectrically convert the visible light (¶0054-0062), and
the second photoelectric conversion unit includes the photoelectric conversion element (ibid, ¶0054-0062, ¶0065-0066) that is configured to:
receive infrared light (ibid, ¶0054-0063); and
photoelectrically convert the infrared light (ibid, ¶0054-0063).
Claim(s) 7, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DUPOIRON in view of YAMAKAWA (JP-2018081946-A, reference is part of IDS. An English translation of the reference was previously provided with Office Action of 10/2/2025, and Examiner provides citations from the translation).
Regarding claim 7, DUPOIRON discloses the imaging apparatus according to claim 6, except, further comprising a distance signal processing unit configured to generate a range image based on a charge photoelectrically converted by the photoelectric conversion element in the second photoelectric conversion unit, wherein the range image indicates a distance to a target object.
However YAMAKAWA discloses a similar stacked photoelectric conversion unit based image sensor (figs. 7-9, 14, 20-23), wherein outside information detection unit 12030 may perform an object detection process or a distance detection process such as a person, a car, an obstacle, a sign, or a character on a road surface based on the received image (page 12, last ¶, The imaging unit 12031 can output an electrical signal as an image, or can output it as distance measurement information – page 13, ¶1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of DUPOIRON with the teaching of YAMAKAWA of using the image signal captured by the image sensor to determine the distance of an object, to obtain, the imaging apparatus further comprising a distance signal processing unit that generates, on a basis of a charge photoelectrically converted by the photoelectric conversion element in the second photoelectric conversion unit, a range image indicating a distance to a target object, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious. Furthermore, such combination would enhance the versatility of the overall system.
Regarding duplicate claims 12 and 13, DUPOIRON discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the imaging apparatus further includes: a visible signal processing unit configured to generate a visible image based on a first charge photoelectrically converted by the photoelectric conversion element in the first photoelectric conversion unit (Abstract).
DUPOIRON is not found disclosing expressly the limitation of, a distance signal processing unit configured to generate a range image based on a second change photoelectrically converted by the photoelectric conversion element in the second photoelectric conversion unit, wherein the range image indicates a distance to a target object, and wherein the information processing is further configured to determine, based on the visible image, whether or not the range image is captured.
However YAMAKAWA discloses a similar stacked photoelectric conversion unit based image sensor (figs. 7-9, 14, 20-23), wherein outside information detection unit 12030 may perform an object detection process or a distance detection process such as a person, a car, an obstacle, a sign, or a character on a road surface based on the received image (page 12, last ¶, The imaging unit 12031 can output an electrical signal as an image, or can output it as distance measurement information – page 13, ¶1).
YAMAKAWA further discloses at least one of the imaging units 12101 to 12104 may be an infrared camera that detects infrared rays. For example, the microcomputer 12051 can recognize a pedestrian by determining whether a pedestrian is present in the captured images of the imaging units 12101 to 12104. Such pedestrian recognition is, for example, whether or not the user is a pedestrian by performing a pattern matching process on a sequence of feature points indicating the outline of an object and a procedure for extracting feature points in the captured images of the imaging units 12101 to 12104 as infrared cameras It is carried out by the procedure for determining. When the microcomputer 12051 determines that there is a pedestrian in the captured images of the imaging units 12101 to 12104 and recognizes the pedestrian, the audio image output unit 12052 has a rectangular contour line for emphasizing the recognized pedestrian. The display unit 12062 is controlled so as to be superimposed and displayed. Moreover, the audio voice image output part 12052 may control the display part 12062 so that the icon etc. which show a pedestrian may be displayed on a desired position (page 14, 2nd to last ¶).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of DUPOIRON with the teaching of YAMAKAWA of using the image signal captured by the image sensor to determine the distance of an object, to obtain, a distance signal processing unit configured to generate a range image based on a second change photoelectrically converted by the photoelectric conversion element in the second photoelectric conversion unit, wherein the range image indicates a distance to a target object, and wherein the information processing is further configured to determine, based on the visible image, whether or not the range image is captured, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious. Furthermore, such combination would enhance the versatility of the overall system.
Regarding claim 13, DUPOIRON in view of YAMAKAWA discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the information processing unit is further configured to determine, based on the range image, whether the visible image is captured (ibid, page 14, 2nd to last ¶, figs. 7-9, 14, 20-23, page 12, last ¶, The imaging unit 12031 can output an electrical signal as an image, or can output it as distance measurement information – page 13, ¶1).
Conclusion
The prior and/or pertinent art(s) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, are – Leem et al. (US 11545515 B2), Lee et al. (US 20190245008 A1), who disclose stacked COLOR and IR image converters of interest.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHBAZ NAZRUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638