DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments, filed on May 12, 2026, regarding rejection of claims 1-12 and 15-22, as amended, under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any combination of the references being used in the current rejection. Examiner has applied Sun ‘760 (US 2023/0155760) to clearly teach the amended limitations in claims 1-12 and 15-22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 15, 18-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos ‘106 (US 2023/0239106, “Manolakos ‘106”), in view of Sun ‘760 (US 2023/0155760, “Sun ‘760”).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Manolakos ‘106 discloses a remote unit for wireless communication (FIG. 2, para 42; UE 104), comprising:
at least one memory (FIG. 2, para 42; memory 216); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (FIG. 2, para 42; processor 212) and configured to cause the remote unit to:
receive a configuration that indicates a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift (FIG. 5, para 7, 20, 60, and 79; UE receives from a network a group common (GC)-downlink control information (DCI) to indicate a configuration of TRS resources; the TRS is associated with a SRS; the UE estimates a Doppler shift based on the TRS; thus, UE receives TRS resource configuration, where TRS resources are associated with SRS resources and Doppler shift),
wherein the configuration identifies an SRS resource set, which includes the SRS resource (para 60; DCI format indicates the SRS resource set); and
transmit the SRS resource with a transmit frequency (para 45 and 81; UE transceiver transmits the SRS on radio frequency).
Although Manolakos ‘106 discloses receive a configuration that indicates a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift, Manolakos ‘106 does not specifically disclose a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift reporting. Further, although Manolakos ‘106 discloses wherein the configuration identifies an SRS resource set, which includes the SRS resource, Manolakos ‘106 does not specifically disclose the SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting. Furthermore, although Manolakos ‘106 discloses transmit the SRS resource with a transmit frequency, Manolakos ‘106 does not specifically disclose transmit the SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting, with a transmit frequency that is the same as a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource.
Sun ‘760 teaches a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift reporting (FIG. 8, para 49, 70-71, and 126; UE receives from a TRP a TRS, and determines the frequency of the TRS; UE transmits to the TRP a SRS on the same frequency, to enable the TRP to determine a Doppler shift associated with signals communicated between the TRP and the UE; thus, the frequency of the received TRS is associated with the frequency of the SRS, where the SRS is used by the TRP to determine the Doppler shift; therefore, the received TRS resource is associated with the SRS resource, to be used for determination of the Doppler shift),
the SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting (FIG. 8, para 49, 70-71, and 126; UE receives from a TRP a TRS, and determines the frequency of the TRS; UE transmits to the TRP a SRS on the same frequency, to enable the TRP to determine a Doppler shift associated with signals communicated between the TRP and the UE); and
transmit the SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting, with a transmit frequency that is the same as a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource (FIG. 8, para 49, 70-71, and 126; UE receives from a TRP a TRS, and determines the frequency of the TRS; UE transmits to the TRP a SRS on the same frequency, to enable the TRP to determine a Doppler shift associated with signals communicated between the TRP and the UE; thus, UE transmits the SRS on a transmit frequency that is the same as the receive frequency of the TRS associated with the SRS frequency, where the SRS is used by the TRP to determine the Doppler shift).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Manolakos ‘106’s remote unit that receives indication of a TRS resource associated with a SRS resource, to include Sun ‘760’s SRS that is used by the TRP to determine the Doppler shift. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a mechanism for the network to notify the UE of the advanced channel estimation configuration (Sun ‘760, para 2).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 15, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Manolakos ‘106 teaches wherein the TRS resource is an aperiodic TRS resource associated with an aperiodic SRS resource (para 22, 58, 63, and 67; GC-DCI includes a configuration of both an aperiodic TRS (A-TRS) and aperiodic SRS (A-SRS), where resource blocks include an A-TRS and corresponding A-SRS; thus, A-TRS resources are associated with A-SRS resources).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 4 and 18, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Manolakos ‘106 teaches wherein the aperiodic SRS resource and the associated aperiodic TRS resource are concurrently triggered by a same downlink control information (DCI) containing an SRS request field with a non-zero value (para 60-61 and 69; a DCI includes both SRS and TRS triggering, where the DCI contains a SRS request with the SRS tagged with a value that is either 1, or 2, or 3).
Regarding claims 7 and 21, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 5 and 19, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Manolakos ‘106 teaches wherein, a gap from a last symbol of the reception of the aperiodic TRS resource and a first symbol of the aperiodic SRS transmission is no less than a threshold (para 58 and 75; transmission resources in time domain are in symbols; a gap between a A-TRS transmission and the subsequent A-SRS transmission is configured; thus, a gap between the last symbol of the A-TRS reception and the first symbol of A-SRS transmission is no less than the configured gap).
Regarding claim 9, Manolakos ‘106 discloses a transmission and reception point (TRP) for wireless communication (FIG. 3, para 54; base station 102), comprising:
at least one memory (FIG. 3, para 54; memory 316); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (FIG. 3, para 54; processor 312) and configured to cause the TRP to:
transmit a configuration that indicates a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift (FIG. 5, para 7, 20, 60, and 79; network transmits to a UE a group common (GC)-downlink control information (DCI) to indicate a configuration of TRS resources; the TRS is associated with a SRS; the UE estimates a Doppler shift based on the TRS; thus, the network transmits the TRS resource configuration, where the TRS resources are associated with SRS resources and Doppler shift),
wherein the configuration identifies an SRS resource set, which includes the SRS resource (para 60; DCI format indicates the SRS resource set); and
receiving the SRS resource with a receive frequency (para 45 and 81; SRS is received from the UE on radio frequency).
Although Manolakos ‘106 discloses transmit a configuration that indicates a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift, Manolakos ‘106 does not specifically disclose a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift reporting. Further, although Manolakos ‘106 discloses wherein the configuration identifies an SRS resource set, which includes the SRS resource, Manolakos ‘106 does not specifically disclose the SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting. Furthermore, although Manolakos ‘106 discloses receiving the SRS resource with a receive frequency, Manolakos ‘106 does not specifically disclose receiving the SRS resource via Doppler shift reporting with a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource.
Sun ‘760 teaches a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift reporting (FIG. 8, para 49, 70-71, and 126; UE receives from a TRP a TRS, and determines the frequency of the TRS; UE transmits to the TRP a SRS on the same frequency, to enable the TRP to determine a Doppler shift associated with signals communicated between the TRP and the UE; thus, the frequency of the received TRS is associated with the frequency of the SRS, where the SRS is used by the TRP to determine the Doppler shift; therefore, the received TRS resource is associated with the SRS resource, to be used for determination of the Doppler shift); and
the SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting (FIG. 8, para 49, 70-71, and 126; UE receives from a TRP a TRS, and determines the frequency of the TRS; UE transmits to the TRP a SRS on the same frequency, to enable the TRP to determine a Doppler shift associated with signals communicated between the TRP and the UE); and
receiving the SRS resource via Doppler shift reporting with a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource (FIG. 8, para 49, 70-71, and 126; UE receives from a TRP a TRS, and determines the frequency of the TRS; UE transmits to the TRP a SRS on the same frequency, to enable the TRP to determine a Doppler shift associated with signals communicated between the TRP and the UE; thus, TRP receives the SRS on a transmit frequency that is the same as the receive frequency of the TRS associated with the SRS frequency, where the SRS is used by the TRP to determine the Doppler shift).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Manolakos ‘106’s TRP that transmits indication of a TRS resource associated with a SRS resource, to include Sun ‘760’s SRS that is used by the TRP to determine the Doppler shift. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a mechanism for the network to notify the UE of the advanced channel estimation configuration (Sun ‘760, para 2).
Regarding claim 10, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 9, as outlined above.
Further, Sun ‘760 teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the TRP to:
transmit the TRS resource with a transmit frequency; and estimate a Doppler shift according to the transmit frequency of the TRS resource and the receive frequency of the SRS resource (FIG. 8, para 49, 70-71, and 126; UE receives from a TRP a TRS, and determines the frequency of the TRS; UE transmits to the TRP a SRS on the same frequency, to enable the TRP to determine a Doppler shift associated with signals communicated between the TRP and the UE; thus, TRP transmits to the UE the TRS on a transmit frequency, and determines the Doppler shift according the transmit frequency for the TRS and the receive frequency of the SRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined TRP of Manolakos ‘106 and Sun ‘760, to further include Sun ‘760’s SRS that is used by the TRP to determine the Doppler shift. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a mechanism for the network to notify the UE of the advanced channel estimation configuration (Sun ‘760, para 2).
5. Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos ‘106, in view of Sun ‘760, and further in view of Ji ‘096 (US 12,309,096, “Ji ‘096”).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 15, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Manolakos ‘106 teaches wherein the TRS resource is associated with a SRS (FIG. 5, para 7, 20, 60, and 79; UE receives from a network a group common (GC)-downlink control information (DCI) to indicate a configuration of TRS resources; the TRS is associated with a SRS).
Although Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 discloses wherein the TRS resource is associated with a SRS, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 does not specifically disclose wherein the TRS resource is a periodic TRS resource associated with an aperiodic SRS, a semi-persistent SRS, or a periodic SRS resource.
Ji ‘096 teaches wherein the TRS resource is a periodic TRS resource associated with an aperiodic SRS, a semi-persistent SRS, or a periodic SRS resource (col. 60:15-24 and 70:60-61; TRS transmission type is a periodic TRS, while SRS transmission type is aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined remote unit of Manolakos ‘106 and Sun ‘760, to include Ji ‘096’s periodic TRS, and SRS transmission type that is aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method and a device for transmitting or receiving a reference signal for an efficient uplink or downlink signal transmission/reception operation for various services in a mobile communication system (Ji ‘096, col. 2:22-26).
6. Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos ‘106, in view of Sun ‘760, further in view of Ji ‘096, and further in view of 3GPP ‘458 (ZTE, "Discussion on Multi-TRP HST enhancements," 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e, R1-2005458, 17 - 28 August 2020; pp. 1-6, “3GPP ‘458”).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 and Ji ‘096 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 2 and 16, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Manolakos ‘106 teaches periodic TRS resource (para 67; periodic TRS).
Although Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 and Ji ‘096 discloses periodic TRS resource, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 and Ji ‘096 does not specifically disclose wherein the transmit frequency of the SRS resource is a receive frequency of a latest received TRS resource associated with the SRS resource before a slot for SRS transmission.
3GPP ‘458 teaches wherein the transmit frequency of the SRS resource is a receive frequency of a latest received TRS resource associated with the SRS resource before a slot for SRS transmission (FIG. 5, Section 2; in Solution 2, the UE receives from TRP0 the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0; UE performs estimation of the TRS0; based on the estimation, the UE uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0; thus, the UE transmits the SRS with a transmit frequency that is the same as the frequency on which the UE receives TRS0, before the first time unit of the SRS transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined remote unit of Manolakos ‘106, Sun ‘760, and Ji ‘096, to include 3GPP ‘458’s UE that transmits the SRS with a transmit frequency that is the same as the frequency on which the receives TRS0, before the first time unit of the SRS transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to support enhancement for HST-SFN deployment (3GPP ‘458, Introduction).
7. Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos ‘106, in view of Sun ‘760, and further in view of Lee ‘117 (US 2019/0215117, “Lee ‘117”).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 5 and 19, respectively, as outlined above.
However, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 does not specifically disclose wherein the triggered aperiodic TRS resource is received in a slot that is the same as a slot receiving the DCI.
Lee ‘117 teaches wherein the triggered aperiodic TRS resource is received in a slot that is the same as a slot receiving the DCI (para 165; aperiodic TRS is triggered; DCI and TRS are received in the same slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined remote unit of Manolakos ‘106 and Sun ‘760, to include Lee ‘117’s aperiodic TRS is triggered, and DCI and TRS that are received in the same slot. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a certain degree of time alignment between a UE and a base station (Lee ‘117, para 5).
8. Claims 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos ‘106, in view of Sun ‘760, further in view of Wang ‘833 (US 2023/0224833, “Wang ‘833”), and further in view of Wang ‘087 (US 2023/0254087, “Wang ‘087”).
Regarding claims 8 and 22, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 15, respectively, as outlined above.
However, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the remote unit to: receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that updates the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource for the Doppler shift reporting.
Wang ‘833 teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the remote unit to: receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that updates the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource for the Doppler shift reporting (para 194; MAC CE includes a TRS resource set identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined remote unit of Manolakos ‘106 and Sun ‘760, to include Wang ‘833’s MAC CE that includes a TRS resource set identifier. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for TRS activation (Wang ‘833, para 3-4).
However, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 and Wang ‘833 does not specifically disclose wherein the MAC CE includes an SRS resource set ID that identifies the SRS resource set.
Wang ‘087 teaches wherein the MAC CE includes an SRS resource set ID that identifies the SRS resource set (para 81; MAC-CE includes an SRS resource set identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined remote unit of Manolakos ‘106, Sun ‘760, and Wang ‘833, to include Wang ‘087’s MAC CE that includes an SRS resource set identifier. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improvements in 5G NR technology (Wang ‘087, para 4).
9. Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos ‘106, in view of Sun ‘760, and further in view of 3GPP ‘458.
Regarding claim 11, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 9, as outlined above.
However, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the TRP to: estimate a Doppler shift according to a local center frequency, the receive frequency of the SRS resource, and an estimated Doppler shift of another TRP, wherein the estimated Doppler shift of the another TRP is received from the another TRP.
3GPP ‘458 teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the TRP to:
estimate a Doppler shift according to a local center frequency, the receive frequency of the SRS resource, and an estimated Doppler shift of another TRP, wherein the estimated Doppler shift of the another TRP is received from the another TRP (FIG. 5, Section 2; in Solution 2, TRP0 transmits TRS0 to a UE on center frequency fc; UE receives the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0, and uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0; ∆f0 is a frequency offset that is a result of Doppler shift; TRP0 receives the SRS from the UE on frequency fc + 2∆f0 , and estimates the frequency offset ∆f0 ; TRP1 receives the SRS from the UE on frequency fc + ∆f0 + ∆f1 and obtains the value of ∆f0 from TRP0, to estimate the frequency offset between the UE and itself, ∆f1; thus, TRP1 estimates the Doppler shift offset ∆f1 according to the center frequency fc , the SRS receive frequency fc + ∆f0 + ∆f1 , and the estimated Doppler shift offset ∆f0 received from TRP0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined TRP of Manolakos ‘106 and Sun ‘760, to include 3GPP ‘458’s TRP0 that estimates the Doppler shift offset according to SRS receive frequency. The motivation for doing so would have been to support enhancement for HST-SFN deployment (3GPP ‘458, Introduction).
10. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos ‘106, in view of Sun ‘760, and further in view of Lee ‘228 (US 2021/0211228, “Lee ‘228”).
Regarding claim 12, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 10, as outlined above.
Further, Sun ‘760 teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the TRP to: transmit with a frequency compensated by the estimated Doppler shift (FIG. 8, para 49, 70-71, and 126; UE receives from a TRP a TRS, and determines the frequency of the TRS; UE transmits to the TRP a SRS on the same frequency, to enable the TRP to determine a Doppler shift associated with signals communicated between the TRP and the UE; TRP precompensates frequencies of signals to transmit by the determined Doppler shift; thus, TRP transmits signals on a frequency precompensated by the determined Doppler shift).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined TRP of Manolakos ‘106 and Sun ‘760, to further include Sun ‘760’s SRS that is used by the TRP to determine the Doppler shift. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a mechanism for the network to notify the UE of the advanced channel estimation configuration (Sun ‘760, para 2).
Although Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the TRP to: transmit with a frequency compensated by the estimated Doppler shift, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with Sun ‘760 does not specifically disclose transmit physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and corresponding demodulation reference signals (DM-RSs).
Lee ‘228 teaches transmit physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and corresponding demodulation reference signals (DM-RSs) (para 105; UE receives scheduling of PDSCH via PDCCH; UE receives data via the PDSCH along with DMRS in a corresponding scheduled resource region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined TRP of Manolakos ‘106 and Sun ‘760, to include Lee ‘228’s UE that receives data via the scheduled PDSCH along with DMRS in a corresponding scheduled resource region. The motivation for doing so would have been to efficiently transmit and receive a multicast signal and a unicast signal through overlapping resources (Lee ‘228, para 6).
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.0.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474