DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUED EXAMINATION UNDER 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments, filed on November 25, 2025, regarding rejection of claims 1-12 and 15-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. § 103 rejection of claim 1
Regarding claim 1, as amended, applicant argues claim 1 is in condition for allowance, because applied references Manolakos ‘106 (US 2023/0239106, “Manolakos ‘106”) and 3GPP ‘458 (ZTE, "Discussion on Multi-TRP HST enhancements," 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e, R1-2005458, 17 - 28 August 2020; pp. 1-6, “3GPP ‘458”) do not disclose “the configuration identifies an SRS resource set, which includes the SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting” and “transmit the SRS resource with a transmit frequency that is the same as a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource”(See Remarks, page 6, lines 21-25, page 7, para 4).
First, applicant argues that 3GPP ‘458 appears to discuss offset estimations at the UE or gNB, rather than disclosing “transmitting an SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting, with a transmit frequency that is the same as a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource” (See Remarks, page 7, para 3).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that 3GPP ‘458 does not disclose “transmitting an SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting, with a transmit frequency that is the same as a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource,” examiner notes that a response to the same argument was included in the Office Action mailed on September 25, 2025 (See Office Action mailed on September 25, 2025, page 3, para 2, page 4, para 1). To repeat, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., transmitting an SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting, with a transmit frequency that is the same as a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further, examiner notes that, with regard to the amended claim 1, Manolakos ‘106 discloses that UE receives from a network a group common (GC)-DCI to indicate a configuration of TRS resources, the TRS is associated with a SRS, and the UE estimates a Doppler shift based on the TRS (FIG. 5, para 7, 20, 60, and 79). Thus, the UE of Manolakos ‘106 receives TRS resource configuration, where TRS resources are associated with SRS resources and Doppler shift. Therefore, Manolakos ‘106 discloses “receive a configuration that indicates a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift.” Furthermore, examiner notes that 3GPP ‘458 discloses that TRP0 transmits TRS0 to a UE on center frequency fc; UE receives the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0, and uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0; ∆f0 is a frequency offset that is a result of Doppler shift; and TRP0 estimates the frequency offset ∆f0 based on the received SRS (FIG. 5, Section 2, Solution 2). Thus, TRS0 of 3GPP ‘458 is associated with the SRS for Doppler shift offset reporting. Therefore, 3GPP ‘458 discloses “a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift reporting”. Therefore, the combination of Manolakos ‘106 and 3GPP ‘458 discloses “receive a configuration that indicates a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift reporting.” Furthermore, examiner notes that Manolakos ‘106 discloses that a UE transceiver transmits the SRS on a radio frequency (para 45 and 81). Thus, Manolakos ‘106 discloses “transmit the SRS resource with a transmit frequency.” Moreover, examiner notes that 3GPP ‘458 discloses that the UE receives the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0, and uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0 (FIG. 5, Section 2, Solution 2). Thus, the UE of 3GPP ‘458 transmits the SRS with a transmit frequency that is the same as the frequency on which the UE receives TRS0, and TRS0 is associated with the SRS. Therefore, 3GPP ‘458 discloses “transmit the SRS resource with a transmit frequency that is the same as a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource”. Therefore, the combination of Manolakos ‘106 and 3GPP ‘458 discloses “transmit the SRS resource with a transmit frequency that is the same as a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource”.
Second, applicant argues that 3GPP ‘458 appears to discuss offset estimations at the UE or gNB, rather than disclosing “a configuration that associates an SRS resource to a TRS resource by identifying an SRS resource set for Doppler shift reporting” (See Remarks, page 7, para 3).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a configuration that associates an SRS resource to a TRS resource by identifying an SRS resource set for Doppler shift reporting) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further, examiner notes that, with regard to the amended claim 1, Manolakos ‘106 discloses “configuration identifies an SRS resource set, which includes the SRS resource” (para 60; DCI format indicates the SRS resource set). Further, 3GPP ‘458 discloses “SRS resource for Doppler shift reporting” (FIG. 5, Section 2; in Solution 2, TRP0 transmits TRS0 to a UE on center frequency fc; UE receives the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0, and uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0; ∆f0 is a frequency offset that is a result of Doppler shift; TRP0 estimates the frequency offset ∆f0 based on the received SRS; thus, TRS0 is associated with the SRS for Doppler shift offset reporting). Thus, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 discloses “configuration identifies an SRS resource set, which includes the SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting”.
B. § 103 rejection of claims 9 and 15
Regarding claims 9 and 15, as amended, applicant argues the claims are allowable by virtue of reciting similar features as those discussed with respect to claim 1. Relevant limitations claimed in claim 1 are discussed above. Applicant does not present arguments regarding additional limitations claimed in claims 9 and 15.
C. § 103 rejection of claims 2-7, 10-12 and 16-22
Regarding claims 2-7, 10-12 and 16-22, applicant argues the claims are allowable by virtue of their dependencies from amended claims 1 and 10. Relevant limitations claimed in amended claims 1 and 10 are discussed above. Applicant does not present arguments regarding additional limitations claimed in dependent claims 2-7, 10-12 and 16-22.
D. § 103 rejection of claim 8
Regarding claim 8, as amended, applicant’s arguments regarding rejection of claims 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any combination of the references being used in the current rejection. Examiner has applied Wang ‘087 (US 2023/0254087) to clearly teach the amended limitations in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-11, 15, 18-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos ‘106 (US 2023/0239106, “Manolakos ‘106”), in view of 3GPP ‘458 (ZTE, "Discussion on Multi-TRP HST enhancements," 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e, R1-2005458, 17 - 28 August 2020; pp. 1-6, “3GPP ‘458”).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Manolakos ‘106 discloses a remote unit for wireless communication (FIG. 2, para 42; UE 104), comprising:
at least one memory (FIG. 2, para 42; memory 216); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (FIG. 2, para 42; processor 212) and configured to cause the remote unit to:
receive a configuration that indicates a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift (FIG. 5, para 7, 20, 60, and 79; UE receives from a network a group common (GC)-downlink control information (DCI) to indicate a configuration of TRS resources; the TRS is associated with a SRS; the UE estimates a Doppler shift based on the TRS; thus, UE receives TRS resource configuration, where TRS resources are associated with SRS resources and Doppler shift),
wherein the configuration identifies an SRS resource set, which includes the SRS resource (para 60; DCI format indicates the SRS resource set); and
transmit the SRS resource with a transmit frequency (para 45 and 81; UE transceiver transmits the SRS on radio frequency).
Although Manolakos ‘106 discloses receive a configuration that indicates a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift, Manolakos ‘106 does not specifically disclose a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift reporting. Further, although Manolakos ‘106 discloses wherein the configuration identifies an SRS resource set, which includes the SRS resource, Manolakos ‘106 does not specifically disclose the SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting. Furthermore, although Manolakos ‘106 discloses transmit the SRS resource with a transmit frequency, Manolakos ‘106 does not specifically disclose transmit the SRS resource with a transmit frequency that is the same as a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource.
3GPP ‘458 teaches a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift reporting (FIG. 5, Section 2; in Solution 2, TRP0 transmits TRS0 to a UE on center frequency fc; UE receives the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0, and uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0; ∆f0 is a frequency offset that is a result of Doppler shift; TRP0 estimates the frequency offset ∆f0 based on the received SRS; thus, TRS0 is associated with the SRS for Doppler shift offset reporting),
the SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting (FIG. 5, Section 2; in Solution 2, TRP0 transmits TRS0 to a UE on center frequency fc; UE receives the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0, and uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0; ∆f0 is a frequency offset that is a result of Doppler shift; TRP0 estimates the frequency offset ∆f0 based on the received SRS; thus, TRS0 is associated with the SRS for Doppler shift offset reporting); and
transmit the SRS resource with a transmit frequency that is the same as a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource (FIG. 5, Section 2; in Solution 2, the UE receives the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0, and uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0; thus, the UE transmits the SRS with a transmit frequency that is the same as the frequency on which the UE receives TRS0, and TRS0 is associated with the SRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Manolakos ‘106’s remote unit that receives indication of a TRS resource associated with a SRS resource, to include 3GPP ‘458’s UE that transmits the SRS with a transmit frequency that is the same as the frequency on which the UE receives TRS0. The motivation for doing so would have been to support enhancement for HST-SFN deployment (3GPP ‘458, Introduction).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 15, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Manolakos ‘106 teaches wherein the TRS resource is an aperiodic TRS resource associated with an aperiodic SRS resource (para 22, 58, 63, and 67; GC-DCI includes a configuration of both an aperiodic TRS (A-TRS) and aperiodic SRS (A-SRS), where resource blocks include an A-TRS and corresponding A-SRS; thus, A-TRS resources are associated with A-SRS resources).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 4 and 18, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Manolakos ‘106 teaches wherein the aperiodic SRS resource and the associated aperiodic TRS resource are concurrently triggered by a same downlink control information (DCI) containing an SRS request field with a non-zero value (para 60-61 and 69; a DCI includes both SRS and TRS triggering, where the DCI contains a SRS request with the SRS tagged with a value that is either 1, or 2, or 3).
Regarding claims 7 and 21, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 5 and 19, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Manolakos ‘106 teaches wherein, a gap from a last symbol of the reception of the aperiodic TRS resource and a first symbol of the aperiodic SRS transmission is no less than a threshold (para 58 and 75; transmission resources in time domain are in symbols; a gap between a A-TRS transmission and the subsequent A-SRS transmission is configured; thus, a gap between the last symbol of the A-TRS reception and the first symbol of A-SRS transmission is no less than the configured gap).
Regarding claim 9, Manolakos ‘106 discloses a transmission and reception point (TRP) for wireless communication (FIG. 3, para 54; base station 102), comprising:
at least one memory (FIG. 3, para 54; memory 316); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (FIG. 3, para 54; processor 312) and configured to cause the TRP to:
transmit a configuration that indicates a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift (FIG. 5, para 7, 20, 60, and 79; network transmits to a UE a group common (GC)-downlink control information (DCI) to indicate a configuration of TRS resources; the TRS is associated with a SRS; the UE estimates a Doppler shift based on the TRS; thus, the network transmits the TRS resource configuration, where the TRS resources are associated with SRS resources and Doppler shift),
wherein the configuration identifies an SRS resource set, which includes the SRS resource (para 60; DCI format indicates the SRS resource set); and
receiving the SRS resource with a receive frequency (para 45 and 81; SRS is received from the UE on radio frequency).
Although Manolakos ‘106 discloses transmit a configuration that indicates a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift, Manolakos ‘106 does not specifically disclose a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift reporting. Further, although Manolakos ‘106 discloses wherein the configuration identifies an SRS resource set, which includes the SRS resource, Manolakos ‘106 does not specifically disclose the SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting. Furthermore, although Manolakos ‘106 discloses receiving the SRS resource with a receive frequency, Manolakos ‘106 does not specifically disclose receiving the SRS resource with a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource.
3GPP ‘458 teaches a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for Doppler shift reporting (FIG. 5, Section 2; in Solution 2, TRP0 transmits TRS0 to a UE on center frequency fc; UE receives the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0, and uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0; ∆f0 is a frequency offset that is a result of Doppler shift; TRP0 estimates the frequency offset ∆f0 based on the received SRS; thus, TRS0 is associated with the SRS for Doppler shift offset reporting),
the SRS resource, for Doppler shift reporting (FIG. 5, Section 2; in Solution 2, TRP0 transmits TRS0 to a UE on center frequency fc; UE receives the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0, and uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0; ∆f0 is a frequency offset that is a result of Doppler shift; TRP0 estimates the frequency offset ∆f0 based on the received SRS; thus, TRS0 is associated with the SRS for Doppler shift offset reporting); and
receiving the SRS resource with a receive frequency of the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource (FIG. 5, Section 2; in Solution 2, the UE receives the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0, and uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0; thus, the TRP0 receives the SRS with a receive frequency that is the same as the frequency on which the TRP transmits and UE receives TRS0, and TRS0 is associated with the SRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Manolakos ‘106’s TRP that transmits indication of a TRS resource associated with a SRS resource, to include 3GPP ‘458’s TRS0 that is associated with the SRS for Doppler shift offset reporting. The motivation for doing so would have been to support enhancement for HST-SFN deployment (3GPP ‘458, Introduction).
Regarding claim 10, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 9, as outlined above.
Further, 3GPP ‘458 teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the TRP to:
transmit the TRS resource with a transmit frequency; and estimate a Doppler shift according to the transmit frequency of the TRS resource and the receive frequency of the SRS resource (FIG. 5, Section 2; in Solution 2, TRP0 transmits TRS0 to a UE on center frequency fc; UE receives the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0, and uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0; ∆f0 is a frequency offset that is a result of Doppler shift; TRP0 receives the SRS on frequency fc + 2∆f0 , and estimates the frequency offset ∆f0 ; thus, TRP0 transmits TRS0 on transmit frequency fc , and estimates the Doppler shift offset ∆f0 according to the transmit frequency fc and the receive frequency of the SRS fc + 2∆f0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined TRP of Manolakos ‘106 and 3GPP ‘458, to further include 3GPP ‘458’s TRP0 that estimates the Doppler shift offset according to SRS receive frequency. The motivation for doing so would have been to support enhancement for HST-SFN deployment (3GPP ‘458, Introduction).
Regarding claim 11, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 9, as outlined above.
Further, 3GPP ‘458 teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the TRP to:
estimate a Doppler shift according to a local center frequency, the receive frequency of the SRS resource, and an estimated Doppler shift of another TRP, wherein the estimated Doppler shift of the another TRP is received from the another TRP (FIG. 5, Section 2; in Solution 2, TRP0 transmits TRS0 to a UE on center frequency fc; UE receives the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0, and uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0; ∆f0 is a frequency offset that is a result of Doppler shift; TRP0 receives the SRS from the UE on frequency fc + 2∆f0 , and estimates the frequency offset ∆f0 ; TRP1 receives the SRS from the UE on frequency fc + ∆f0 + ∆f1 and obtains the value of ∆f0 from TRP0, to estimate the frequency offset between the UE and itself, ∆f1; thus, TRP1 estimates the Doppler shift offset ∆f1 according to the center frequency fc , the SRS receive frequency fc + ∆f0 + ∆f1 , and the estimated Doppler shift offset ∆f0 received from TRP0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined TRP of Manolakos ‘106 and 3GPP ‘458, to further include 3GPP ‘458’s TRP0 that estimates the Doppler shift offset according to SRS receive frequency. The motivation for doing so would have been to support enhancement for HST-SFN deployment (3GPP ‘458, Introduction).
6. Claims 2-3 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos ‘106, in view of 3GPP ‘458, and further in view of Ji ‘096 (US 12,309,096, “Ji ‘096”).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 15, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Manolakos ‘106 teaches wherein the TRS resource is associated with a SRS (FIG. 5, para 7, 20, 60, and 79; UE receives from a network a group common (GC)-downlink control information (DCI) to indicate a configuration of TRS resources; the TRS is associated with a SRS).
Although Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 discloses wherein the TRS resource is associated with a SRS, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 does not specifically disclose wherein the TRS resource is a periodic TRS resource associated with an aperiodic SRS, a semi-persistent SRS, or a periodic SRS resource.
Ji ‘096 teaches wherein the TRS resource is a periodic TRS resource associated with an aperiodic SRS, a semi-persistent SRS, or a periodic SRS resource (col. 60:15-24 and 70:60-61; TRS transmission type is a periodic TRS, while SRS transmission type is aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined remote unit of Manolakos ‘106 and 3GPP ‘458, to include Ji ‘096’s periodic TRS, and SRS transmission type that is aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method and a device for transmitting or receiving a reference signal for an efficient uplink or downlink signal transmission/reception operation for various services in a mobile communication system (Ji ‘096, col. 2:22-26).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 and Ji ‘096 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 2 and 16, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Manolakos ‘106 teaches periodic TRS resource (para 67; periodic TRS).
Furthermore, 3GPP ‘458 teaches wherein the transmit frequency of the SRS resource is a receive frequency of a latest received TRS resource associated with the SRS resource before a slot for SRS transmission (FIG. 5, Section 2; in Solution 2, the UE receives from TRP0 the TRS0 on frequency fc + ∆f0; UE performs estimation of the TRS0; based on the estimation, the UE uses fc + ∆f0 as its center frequency to transmit a SRS to TRP0 on fUE = fc + ∆f0; thus, the UE transmits the SRS with a transmit frequency that is the same as the frequency on which the UE receives TRS0, before the first time unit of the SRS transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined remote unit of Manolakos ‘106, 3GPP ‘458, and Ji ‘096, to further include 3GPP ‘458’s UE that transmits the SRS with a transmit frequency that is the same as the frequency on which the receives TRS0, before the first time unit of the SRS transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to support enhancement for HST-SFN deployment (3GPP ‘458, Introduction).
7. Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos ‘106, in view of 3GPP ‘458, and further in view of Lee ‘117 (US 2019/0215117, “Lee ‘117”).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 5 and 19, respectively, as outlined above.
However, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 does not specifically disclose wherein the triggered aperiodic TRS resource is received in a slot that is the same as a slot receiving the DCI.
Lee ‘117 teaches wherein the triggered aperiodic TRS resource is received in a slot that is the same as a slot receiving the DCI (para 165; aperiodic TRS is triggered; DCI and TRS are received in the same slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined remote unit of Manolakos ‘106 and 3GPP ‘458, to include Lee ‘117’s aperiodic TRS is triggered, and DCI and TRS that are received in the same slot. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a certain degree of time alignment between a UE and a base station (Lee ‘117, para 5).
8. Claims 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos ‘106, in view of 3GPP ‘458, further in view of Wang ‘833 (US 2023/0224833, “Wang ‘833”), and further in view of Wang ‘087 (US 2023/0254087, “Wang ‘087”).
Regarding claims 8 and 22, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 15, respectively, as outlined above.
However, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the remote unit to: receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that updates the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource for the Doppler shift reporting.
Wang ‘833 teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the remote unit to: receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that updates the TRS resource associated with the SRS resource for the Doppler shift reporting (para 194; MAC CE includes a TRS resource set identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined remote unit of Manolakos ‘106 and 3GPP ‘458, to include Wang ‘833’s MAC CE that includes a TRS resource set identifier. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for TRS activation (Wang ‘833, para 3-4).
However, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 and Wang ‘833 does not specifically disclose wherein the MAC CE includes an SRS resource set ID that identifies the SRS resource set.
Wang ‘087 teaches wherein the MAC CE includes an SRS resource set ID that identifies the SRS resource set (para 81; MAC-CE includes an SRS resource set identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined remote unit of Manolakos ‘106, 3GPP ‘458, and Wang ‘833, to include Wang ‘087’s MAC CE that includes an SRS resource set identifier. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improvements in 5G NR technology (Wang ‘087, para 4).
9. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos ‘106, in view of 3GPP ‘458, and further in view of Lee ‘228 (US 2021/0211228, “Lee ‘228”).
Regarding claim 12, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 10, as outlined above.
Further, 3GPP ‘458 teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the TRP to: transmit with a frequency compensated by the estimated Doppler shift (FIG. 5, Section 2; in Solution 2, TRP0 estimates the Doppler shift offset ∆f0 between the UE and itself; TRP0 transmits signals to the UE on a pre-compensated frequency fc - ∆f0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined TRP of Manolakos ‘106 and 3GPP ‘458, to further include 3GPP ‘458’s TRP0 that transmits signals to the UE on a pre-compensated frequency. The motivation for doing so would have been to support enhancement for HST-SFN deployment (3GPP ‘458, Introduction).
Although Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the TRP to: transmit with a frequency compensated by the estimated Doppler shift, Manolakos ‘106 in combination with 3GPP ‘458 does not specifically disclose transmit physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and corresponding demodulation reference signals (DM-RSs).
Lee ‘228 teaches transmit physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and corresponding demodulation reference signals (DM-RSs) (para 105; UE receives scheduling of PDSCH via PDCCH; UE receives data via the PDSCH along with DMRS in a corresponding scheduled resource region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined TRP of Manolakos ‘106 and 3GPP ‘458, to include Lee ‘228’s UE that receives data via the scheduled PDSCH along with DMRS in a corresponding scheduled resource region. The motivation for doing so would have been to efficiently transmit and receive a multicast signal and a unicast signal through overlapping resources (Lee ‘228, para 6).
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.0.
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474