DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
A substitute specification excluding claims is required pursuant to 37 CFR 1.125(a) because the specification requires Section Headings as described above. The current Specification lacks Section Heading to distinguish the different sections of the Specification.
A substitute specification must not contain new matter. The substitute specification must be submitted with markings showing all the changes relative to the immediate prior version of the specification of record. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. An accompanying clean version (without markings) and a statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter must also be supplied. Numbering the paragraphs of the specification of record is not considered a change that must be shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 13, and 15 - 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoo (US 20130110296) in view of Failing (US 20110302078).
Regarding claim 1, Khoo teaches an authenticating and reporting system for authenticating a user at and reporting about use of a charging device (figure 1 item 100 defined in [0063] an electrical charging system with authenticating ([0101] authenticating users) and reporting use([0014] reporting sessions of use) comprising:
at least one database unit (figure 20 item 2048 [0200] discloses a database system) comprising: at least one cryptography module configured to sign and/or encrypt authentication elements and to decrypt charging report elements (paragraph [0011] discloses a cryptography module interpreted as receiving identification, generating an access key and sending the access key over the network link. Figure 4 and paragraph [0084] discloses generating an access key. [0087] discloses wherein communication, including from the database or server to a mobile device or charging station, is encrypted);
at least one transmitting and receiving module configured to transmit encrypted authentication elements and to receive encrypted charging report elements (figure 1 shows transmitting and receiving between the database, within server 110, and the mobile device 140 and charging station 190);
at least one charging device (figure 2 item 202 a charging station) comprising:
at least one wireless communication module (figure 2 item 240 defined in [0072] as a network interface which maybe wireless);
at least one storage module (figure 2 item 264 ROM and 248 RAM and 252 data storage);
at least one control module (figure 2 item 242 computing system and control pilot 225);
wherein the at least one charging device is configured to decrypt the authentication elements (paragraphs [0086] – [0087] discloses wherein communication between network components may be secured via methods of encryption),
control a charging procedure of a connected chargeable device (paragraph [0074] discloses wherein the control pilot 225 is a component that communicates with the electric vehicle 270 using the charging coupler 265 and exchanges signals and triggers to control the charging state),
provide encrypted charging report elements, and store a timestamp parameter of a transmitted encrypted charging report element or a group of transmitted encrypted charging report elements (paragraph [0060] discloses a charging report, interpreted as a session report which provide charging data, timestamp information such as charging duration and time information. Paragraph [0079] discloses wherein the charging station transmits a session report to the mobile device); and
at least one mobile device (figure 1 item 140 a mobile device) configured to transfer the authentication elements from the database unit to the charging device and the charging report elements from the charging device to the database unit (paragraph [0076] discloses transmitting information between the database unit, a cloud server and the charging station. [0088] discloses wherein the charging station and the cloud server uploads charging session data received from the mobile device).
Khoo suggests a system wherein the at least one database includes at least one cryptography module and a charging device comprising at least one encrypting and decrypting unit, as the function of encrypting and decrypting within the charging system is disclosed above. But the cryptography module and encrypting and decrypting unit as claimed is not explicitly stated.
Failing teaches a database unit comprising a cryptography module (paragraph [0134] discloses wherein information may be stored within a database accessible to an interface system. [0161] discloses wherein the interface system comprises a cryptography module interpreted as securing information using encryption) and a charging device comprising at least one encrypting and decrypting unit (figure 1 discloses a charging device, interpreted as an energy transfer system 110. [0087] discloses wherein the communication interface 241 and signal communication component may encrypt a signal and further decrypt signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Khoo reference with the charging system of the Failing reference so that security is increased by reducing unauthorized access to information about the energy transfer system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Failing reference in paragraph [0161] wherein increasing security is taught.
Khoo figure 2 shows a vehicle charging station with authenticating
Failing figure 2 shows an encryption module within the signal communication component 214 and communication interface 241
Regarding claim 3, Khoo teaches the authenticating and reporting system according to claim 1, wherein one authentication element comprises: a charging device identification parameter, a user identification parameter, a sequence parameter, and a confirmation timestamp of a charging report element (paragraph [0015] discloses wherein an access key is based on identification. [0081] and [0103] – [0104] discloses wherein the authentication includes, charging parameters, sequences parameters interpreted as authorization instructions).
Regarding claim 4, Khoo teaches the authenticating and reporting system according to claim 3, wherein the authentication element further comprises configuration data of an assigned charging device (paragraph [0104] discloses wherein the access key provides access for a specific charging station).
Regarding claim 5, Khoo teaches the authenticating and reporting system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one mobile device synchronizes with the database unit whenever a mobile network coverage is available (paragraphs [0088]-[0089] discloses wherein data is synchronized between the mobile device)
Regarding claim 6, Khoo teaches the authenticating and reporting system according to claim 1, wherein the charging device is pre-paired to the database unit (paragraph [0095] discloses wherein the charging device, charging station 190, may be stored within a database, accessed by a mobile device so that the user may select the charging station)/
Regarding claim 7, Khoo teaches the authenticating and reporting system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the cryptography module of the database unit and the encrypting and decrypting unit use public key cryptography.
Failing teaches wherein the cryptography module of the database unit and the encrypting and decrypting unit use public key cryptography (defined in paragraph [0516] wherein the key may be a public key).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Khoo reference with the charging system of the Failing reference so that security is increased by reducing unauthorized access to information about the energy transfer system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Failing reference in paragraph [0161] wherein increasing security is taught.
Regarding claim 8, Khoo teaches the authenticating and reporting system according to claim 1, wherein the mobile device comprises an application configured to interoperate with the database unit and the charging device (paragraph [0009] discloses wherein the mobile device may include a mobile application for communicating the database (within the cloud server) the charging station or both).
Regarding claim 9, Khoo teaches the authenticating and reporting system according to claim 8, wherein the application is further configured to start and stop the charging procedure, monitor the charging procedure and display the charging report element (Figure 3 [0083] discloses wherein the charge transfer is started, continued or finished which may be operated by the mobile application. Figure 4 [0085] discloses wherein the charging process may be initiated by the mobile app and operates a similar method as disclosed in figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Khoo teaches the authenticating and reporting system according to claim 9, wherein the mobile device and/or the application are untrusted (paragraph [0087] discloses wherein the mobile device includes unauthorized devices).
Regarding claim 11, Khoo teaches a method for authenticating a user at and reporting about use of a charging device (figure 1 item 100 defined in [0063] an electrical charging system with authenticating ([0101] authenticating users) and reporting use([0014] reporting sessions of use) comprising:
generating at least one first encrypted authentication element in a database unit (figure 20 item 2048 [0200] discloses a database system);
transferring the first encrypted authentication element to a charging device via a first mobile device (figure 1 shows transmitting and receiving between the database, within server 110, and the mobile device 140 and charging station 190); decrypting the first encrypted authentication element in the charging device; validating the decrypted authentication element to initiate a first charging procedure; generating a first encrypted charging report element in the charging device after ending the first charging procedure (paragraph [0011] discloses a cryptography module interpreted as receiving identification, generating an access key and sending the access key over the network link. Figure 4 and paragraph [0084] discloses generating an access key. [0087] discloses wherein communication, including from the database or server to a mobile device or charging station, is encrypted);
storing the first encrypted charging report element in a storage module of the charging device module (figure 2 item 264 ROM and 248 RAM and 252 data storage);
transferring the first encrypted charging report element to the database unit via the first mobile device or another mobile device (paragraph [0076] discloses transmitting information between the database unit, a cloud server and the charging station. [0088] discloses wherein the charging station and the cloud server uploads charging session data received from the mobile device); and
providing a second encrypted authentication element after processing the first encrypted charging report element (paragraphs [0086] – [0087] discloses wherein communication between network components may be secured via methods of encryption).
Khoo suggests a system wherein the at least one database includes at least one cryptography module and a charging device comprising at least one encrypting and decrypting unit, as the function of encrypting and decrypting within the charging system is disclosed above. But the cryptography module and encrypting and decrypting unit as claimed is not explicitly stated.
Failing teaches a database unit comprising a cryptography module (paragraph [0134] discloses wherein information may be stored within a database accessible to an interface system. [0161] discloses wherein the interface system comprises a cryptography module interpreted as securing information using encryption) and a charging device comprising at least one encrypting and decrypting unit (figure 1 discloses a charging device, interpreted as an energy transfer system 110. [0087] discloses wherein the communication interface 241 and signal communication component may encrypt a signal and further decrypt signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Khoo reference with the charging system of the Failing reference so that security is increased by reducing unauthorized access to information about the energy transfer system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Failing reference in paragraph [0161] wherein increasing security is taught.
Regarding claim 12 Khoo teaches the method for authenticating a user at and reporting about use of a charging device according to claim 11, wherein validating the decrypted authentication element comprises verifying whether a sequence parameter of the decrypted authentication element is higher than a last sequence parameter stored in the storage module of the charging device (paragraph [0106] discloses wherein a verification includes obtaining a new access key. [0109] discloses wherein the access key is provide sequentially).
Regarding claim 13, Khoo teaches the method for authenticating a user at and reporting about use of a charging device according to claim 11, wherein validating the decrypted authentication element comprises verifying whether a charging device identification parameter of the decrypted authentication element matches a charging device identification parameter stored in the storage module of the charging device (paragraph [0011] discloses receiving the identification from the mobile device; matching or checking the identification against a plurality of available identifications to determine whether the identification is valid).
Regarding claim 15, Khoo teaches the device
comprising: at least one wireless communication module configured to transmit charging report elements and to receive authentication elements (figure 1 item 140 a mobile device, [0060] and [0068] discloses wherein a session report is transmitted. [0011] and [0081] discloses receiving authentication, interpreted as a key.
at least one storage module configured to store a sequence parameter of received authentication elements (figure 2 item 264 ROM and 248 RAM and 252 data storage);
at least one control module configured to control a charging procedure of a chargeable device connected to the charging device (figure 2 item 242 computing system and control pilot 225); and
Khoo suggests a system at least one encrypting and decrypting unit configured to decrypt encrypted authenticating elements and to encrypt charging report elements as disclosed above, but the at least one encrypting and decrypting unit configured to decrypt encrypted authenticating elements and to encrypt charging report elements as claimed is not explicitly stated.
Failing teaches at least one encrypting and decrypting unit configured to decrypt encrypted authenticating elements and to encrypt charging report elements (paragraph [0134] discloses wherein information may be stored within a database accessible to an interface system. [0161] discloses wherein the interface system comprises a cryptography module interpreted as securing information using encryption. Figure 1 discloses a charging device, interpreted as an energy transfer system 110. [0087] discloses wherein the communication interface 241 and signal communication component may encrypt a signal and further decrypt signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Khoo reference with the charging system of the Failing reference so that security is increased by reducing unauthorized access to information about the energy transfer system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Failing reference in paragraph [0161] wherein increasing security is taught.
Regarding claim 16, Khoo teaches the charging device according to claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein the charging device further comprises a pre-programmed public-private key pair or a self-generated public-private key pair.
Failing teaches wherein the charging device further comprises a pre-programmed public-private key pair or a self-generated public-private key pair (defined in paragraph [0516] wherein the key may be a public key).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Khoo reference with the charging system of the Failing reference so that security is increased by reducing unauthorized access to information about the energy transfer system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Failing reference in paragraph [0161] wherein increasing security is taught.
Regarding claim 17, Khoo teaches the charging device according to claim 16, wherein the wireless communication module uses Bluetooth Low Energy (paragraph [0019] discloses wherein Bluetooth is used).
Regarding claim 18, Khoo teaches the authenticating and reporting system according to claim 1 (figures 3 and 4).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baghdasaryan (US 20170111170).
Regarding claim 2, Khoo and Failing teaches the authenticating and reporting system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the authentication elements are single-use elements each usable for one charging procedure.
Baghdasaryan teaches wherein the authentication elements are single-use elements each usable for one charging procedure (paragraphs [0041] – [0042] discloses wherein single-use or one-time passwords are used for authorization between a server and mobile device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Khoo and Failing references with the authentication system of the Baghdasaryan reference so that the storing of the information is more secure than previous security implementations.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Baghdasaryan reference in paragraph [0042] wherein a one-time password is provided to provide more security.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reynders (US 20170171178).
Regarding claim 14, Khoo and Failing teaches the method for authenticating a user at and reporting about use of a charging device according to claim 13, but does not explicitly teach wherein decrypting uses a shared-secret derived from an elliptic-curve Diffie-Hellman public-private key pair.
Reynders teaches wherein decrypting uses a shared-secret derived from an elliptic-curve Diffie-Hellman public-private key pair (paragraph [0176] discloses wherein decrypting uses a shared-secret derived from an elliptic-curve Diffie-Hellman public-private key pair).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Khoo and Failing references with the encryption system of the Reynders reference so that data may be transferred between devices which are out of range from each other.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Failing reference in paragraph [0006] wherein data may be exchanged between devices which are out of range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9806887 B1 Authenticating Nonces Prior To Encrypting And Decrypting Cryptographic Keys Campagna; Matthew John
US 20180345808 A1 Vehicle Charging Station Having Degraded Energy Storage Units For Charging An Incoming Vehicle And Methods Thereof Cun; David Wong
US 20160084672 A1 Electricity Meter Daenuwy; George Et Al.
US 20130015809 A1 Device And Method For Controlled Exchange Of Energy Between An Electrical Power Network And A Load Frey; Thomas Et Al.
US 20120013301 A1 Charging Electric Vehicles Gaul; Armin Et Al.
US 11046205 B1 Electric Vehicle Charge Govan; Alexander Thomas Et Al.
US 20170237944 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Station Haas; Harry Price
US 20200076588 A1 Security Authentication Jeon; Seung Ju
US 20150193990 A1 Monitoring Electric Power Capacity Jones; Martin Kelly Et Al.
US 11209887 B1 Dynamic Allocation Of Power Mobile Device Jung; Hwisung
US 20150324798 A1 Power Supply Method Kai; Toshifumi Et Al.
US 20120112538 A1 Wireless Energy Transfer Kesler; Morris P. Et Al.
US 20200200824 A1 Monitoring Of Batteries Narayanaswami; Chandrasekhar
US 20120331301 A1 Using A Smart Phone For EV Charging Outwater; Chris Et Al.
US20100274570 A1 Vehicle Charging Authorization Proefke; David T. Et Al.
US20120271723 A1 EV Range Extending Charge Systems Penilla; Angel A. Et Al.
US20110208953 A1 Event Time Management Solomon; James Et Al.
US20110213983 A1 Authentication System For A Plug-In EV Staugaitis; Paul Et Al.
US20210023956 A1 Data Uploading At Charging Station Tiwari; Prashant
US20130067253 A1 Electric Power Information Management Tsuda; Yoshiaki
US20140129829 A1 Unauthorized Connection Detecting Device Unagami; Yuji Et Al.
US20030039360 A1 Restricting Mobility Using Encrypted Chargers Younis, Saed G.
US20190389315 A1 Adaptive Electric Vehicle Charging Based Zhu; Zhengmao
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859