DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 11-12 and 14-15 have been canceled.
Claims 1-10, 13 and 16 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, Claims 6-10 and 16, and of species paraffin of about 50%, ethyl alcohol and isopropyl alcohol of about 20%, and isoparaffin of about 30%, in the reply filed on 9/11/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 13 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 6, 10 and 16 are being examined in this application, insofar as they read on the elected species of paraffin of about 50%, ethyl alcohol and isopropyl alcohol of about 20%, and isoparaffin of about 30%.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “andr” on line 3 is suggested to read “and”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6, line 4, the recitation of “optionally” is indefinite as it is unclear if the limitation that follows is required to meet the scope of the invention.
Claim 16, line 2-3 & 5, the percentage has no unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Buchta et al (US 2019/0358160 A1; 11/28/2019.).
The instant claims recite a composition comprising paraffin, at least one alcohol selected from ethyl alcohol and isopropyl alcohol, at least one hydrocarbon selected from naphtha, octane, isoparaffin and limonene, and optionally 2,2-dimethoxypropane.
Buchta teaches a composition (para 0202, 0205, 0210) comprising isoparaffin, paraffin, and mixtures thereof (para 0215), in an amount from about 1% to about 10% by weight (para 0213). Buchta teaches the composition comprises an organic solvent, wherein suitable organic solvent includes ethyl alcohol and isopropyl alcohol (para 0251), and the organic solvent is present in an amount from about 1% to about 20% by weight (para 0250). The composition does not comprise ketones.
Therefore the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchta et al (US 2019/0358160 A1; 11/28/2019.) as applied to claims 6 and 10 above.
Buchta does not teach the composition comprises both ethyl alcohol and isopropyl alcohol as well as the claimed concentrations (claim 16).
However, Buchta does teach the composition comprises an organic solvent, when necessary or desirable, facilitate solubilization of an active pharmaceutical ingredient (para 0249), and suitable organic solvents include ethyl alcohol and isopropyl alcohol (para 0251). In addition, Buchta does teach the composition comprises isoparaffin, paraffin, and mixtures thereof (para 0215), in an amount from about 1% to about 10% by weight (para 0213), and the organic solvent is present in an amount from about 1% to about 20% by weight (para 0250).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate ethyl alcohol and isopropyl alcohol, when necessary or desirable, facilitate solubilization of an active pharmaceutical ingredient, as evidenced by Buchta. In addition, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the concentration of the claimed components as a matter of routine experimentation. Generally, differences in concentration will not support patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. (MPEP 2144.05 II) Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference to incorporate an optimized amount of paraffin, ethyl alcohol, isopropyl alcohol, and isoparaffin, with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a composition.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759