Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the piezoresistive fabric layer having a woven or knitted fabric made of or comprising semi-conductive yarns, a non-conductive fabric and filling portions having a piezoresistive ink must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear to examiner what applicant is referring to as “a plurality of first non-conductive portions being interlaced with the first non-conductive portions” and “a plurality of second non-conductive portions being interlaced with the second non-conductive portions. It is unclear how non-conductive portions are being interlaced with non-conductive portions. This appears to be an error in the claim. Claims will be examined under the assumption that the limitation should be “a plurality of first non-conductive portions where the first conductive portions are interlaced with the first non-conductive portions” and “a plurality of second non-conductive portions where the second conductive portions are interlaced with the second non-conductive portions”.
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear to Examiner what Applicant is refereeing to as “wherein the piezoresistive fabric layer is a woven or knitted fabric made of or comprising semi-conductive yarns and wherein the piezoresistive fabric layer further comprises a non-conductive fabric and a plurality of filling portions incorporated with a piezoresistive ink.”. It is unclear to examiner what structure applicant is referring to as a woven or knitted fabric made of or comprising semi-conductive yarns, a non-conductive fabric and filling portions having a piezoresistive ink in the piezoresistive fabric layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication US2018/0027988A1 hereinafter referred to as Poodeh in view of US Patent Publication US2017/0251823A1 hereinafter referred to as Nakamura further in view of US Patent Publication US2007/0061976A1 hereinafter referred to as Bazargani further in view of US Patent 5,856,644 hereinafter referred to as Burgess.
Re-Claim 1
Poodeh discloses a reactive pillow 16 fig.1 [0105 “The bedding system may also control an adjustable pillow. The construction and operation of the adjustable pillow can be similar to that of the adjustable mattress.”] comprising: a pressure sensor mat 11 fig.1 comprising a first electrode fabric layer 24 fig.2 having a plurality of first conductive portions 23 fig.2, a second electrode fabric layer 24 having a plurality of second conductive portions 22 fig.2, and a piezoresistive fabric layer 21, the piezoresistive fabric layer being configured to engage with the first electrode fabric layer and the second electrode fabric (see fig.2); an actuator 17 fig.1 44-47 fig.5 comprising a plurality of airbags (see 44-47 fig.5), and a controller 14 fig.1 communicating with the pressure sensor mat and the actuator communicating with the controller to actuate the controller to convert the airbags between the inflated configuration and the deflated configuration thereof [0105 “The bedding system may also control an adjustable pillow. The construction and operation of the adjustable pillow can be similar to that of the adjustable mattress. An example of an adjustable pillow shown in FIG. 11a contains an adjustable comfort layer, an optional thermal pad layer, and/or an adjustable support layer. Alternatively, the adjustable pillow can contain an adjustable support layer, a comfort layer, and a surface layer. A pressure sensor can be embedded in the surface layer and a sensor electronics unit can provide pressure measurement data to the Control Processor Unit. FIG. 11b illustrates how the support layer of the adjustable pillow can be adjusted to provide optimum spinal alignment based on the person's sleeping position. The machine vision process (6) communicates body position (on back, on side) to the comfort and support engine (9) and the comfort and support engine appropriately adjusts the pillow height to optimize spinal alignment. The adjustment of the pillow support layer can be optimized during configuration of the bedding system or it can be adjusted to a surface pressure that provides the best comfort and support based on contact area and peak pressure.”].
However does not discloses a first electrode fabric layer having a plurality of first conductive portions and a plurality of first non-conductive portions being interlaced with the first non-conductive portions, a second electrode fabric layer having a plurality of second conductive portions and a plurality of second non-conductive portions being interlaced with the second non-conductive portions, and a piezoresistive fabric layer having a sheet resistance of at least 50K ohm/square or the first airbags positioned on the second airbag, each of the airbags having an inflated configuration corresponding to increase the volume of the airbags and a deflated configuration corresponding to decrease the volume of the airbags.
Nakamura teaches a pressure sensor mat 42 fig.3B comprising a first electrode fabric layer 46a fig.3B having a plurality of first conductive portions 52a fig.3B and a plurality of first non-conductive portions 46a being interlaced with the first non-conductive portions, a second electrode fabric layer 46b fig.3B having a plurality of second conductive portions 52b fig.3B and a plurality of second non-conductive portions 46b being interlaced with the second non-conductive portions, and a piezoresistive fabric layer 44.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined the pillow of Poodeh and the cushion sensor of Nakamura having non-conductive portions and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at a pillow having a sensor with conductive and non-conductive portions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of electrically insulating the pressure sensor mat as taught in Nakamura [0054].
Bazargani teaches a reactive pillow 10 fig.2 an actuator 2-6 fig.1/12-16 fig.4 comprising a plurality of first airbags 13-16 and a second airbag 12, the first airbags positioned on the second airbag (see fig.2), each of the airbags having an inflated configuration corresponding to increase the volume of the airbags and a deflated configuration corresponding to decrease the volume of the airbags; and a controller 20 fig.1 communicating with the pressure sensors 30a-30e fig.1.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined the pillow of Poodeh and airbag arrangement in the pillow of Bazargani and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at a pillow having the first airbags positioned on the second airbags. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of having a dynamic adjustment scheme that can adjust and reposition the users head/neck during sleep while allowing vertical support of the users head/neck as taught in Bazargani [0026-0029].
Burgess teaches a pressure sensor 100 fig.2 having a piezoresistive layer 140 fig.2 having a sheet resistance of at least 50K ohm/square [column 6 lines 14-17 “The mixture was case in a mold and allowed to foam and gel to form a piezoresistive elastomeric polymeric foam having a sheet resistance of about 50K ohms/square. “].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a piezoresistive fabric layer having a sheet resistance of at least 50K ohm/square, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Burgess discloses a sheet resistance of at least 50K ohm/square is a known working range of a piezoresistive layer.
Re-Claim 2
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above discloses,
wherein the first conductive portions and the second conductive portions are substantially aligned perpendicularly (see fig.2 Poodeh/ fig.3B Nakamura).
Re-Claim 3
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above discloses,
wherein the first and second conductive portions are woven or knitted fabric made of or comprising conductive yarns [0055 “The row and column electrodes are constructed of strips of electrically conductive material such as copper strips, aluminum strips, tin strips, or preferably conductive fabric or flexible circuit.”] Poodeh.
Re-Claim 4
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above discloses,
wherein the first and second non-conductive portions are woven or knitted fabric made of or comprising non-conductive yarns [0054] Nakamura.
Re-Claim 5
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above discloses the claimed invention except for wherein each of the first and second conductive portions has a width of approximately 3 mm to 10 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make each of the first and second conductive portions with a width of approximately 3 mm to 10 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Nakamura describes the first and second conductive portions as being [0055 “a thin band”] such a dimension for the first and second conductive portions would read on a thin band.
Re-Claim 6
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above discloses the claimed invention except for wherein each of the first and second non-conductive has a width of approximately 5 mm to 50 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make each of the first and second non-conductive portions with a width of approximately 5 mm to 50 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Nakamura clearly depicts in fig.3A and 3B that the width of the non-conductive portions is about 3 times the thickness of the conductive portions.
Re-Claim 13
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above discloses,
wherein the actuator further comprises at least one micro pump 24 fig.1 Bazargani/50 fig.4 Poodeh, at least one tube 26a-e fig.1 Bazargani/[0069 “The bladder selector switch is capable of injecting fluid via individual tubes into 1 to a maximum of 1664 fluid bladders, or preferably 5 to 350 bladders based on 3″ diameter bladders arranged in an array over a single or two person bedding system.”] Poodeh and at least one valve 34 fig.1 Bazargani/53 fig4 Poodeh, and the actuator is configured to convert the airbags between the inflated configuration and the deflated configuration thereof.
Re-Claim 14
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above discloses,
wherein the first airbags are configured to convert between inflated configuration and the deflated configuration thereof such that the relative volume corresponding to the left, right, top bottom of the pillow can be adapted [0026 “First upper chamber 13 serves the purpose of exerting a gentle supporting force upon the top of a sleeper's head--preventing his or her head from sliding backwards.” 0030 “The position of the head may be changed without any loss of head support. The principal advantage of therapeutic cushions constructed in accordance with the present invention, as compared to "state of the art" products consists in the ability to change the heads position without loss of individual ergonomy. Also rotating the head e.g. to left and front or to left and rear, in accordance with a predetermined algorithm, is much more effective. Such movements can be readily effected by subtle changes within the trapezoidally shaped chambers 14 and 15”] Bazargani.
Re-Claim 15
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above discloses,
wherein the first airbags comprises at least three airbags 13-16 Bazargani.
Re-Claim 16
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above discloses,
wherein the second airbag is configured to convert between inflated configuration and the deflated configuration such that relative volume corresponding to the height of the pillow can be adapted [0026-0030] Bazargani.
Re-Claim 17
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above discloses,
wherein the reactive pillow further comprises a Bluetooth module configured to communicate with a user terminal [0094 “USER INTERFACE DEVICE. The Control Processor Unit can be manually controlled with a user interface device. The user interface device can be a built in touch panel computer or a simple handheld input device. The Control Processor Unit can also connect wirelessly to an external user interface device such as a laptop computer, tablet computer, or smart phone device.” 0095 “ACCESSORY DEVICES. The Control Processor Unit can have additional input output control for monitoring and controlling accessory devices that affect comfort attributes. Accessory devices include temperature control devices, temperature sensors, white noise generators, audio sensors, biofeedback sensors, lighting controls, and light sensors. Communication and control of the accessory devices can be performed via the Universal Serial Bus (USB) port, Firewire port, or via Bluetooth or WiFi wireless connections.”] Poodeh.
Re-Claim 18
Poodeh discloses a method for fabricating a reactive pillow [0105], comprising: providing a pressure sensor mat 11 comprising a first electrode fabric layer 24 having a plurality of first conductive portions 22, a second electrode fabric layer 24 having a plurality of second conductive portions 22 and a piezoresistive fabric layer 21, the piezoresistive fabric layer configured to engage with the first electrode fabric layer and the second electrode fabric (see fig.2); providing an actuator 17, 44-47 comprising a plurality of airbag 44-46, each of the airbags having an inflated configuration corresponding to increase the volume of the airbags and a deflated configuration corresponding to decrease the volume of the airbags; and providing a controller 14 communicating with the pressure sensor mat and the actuator communicating with the controller to actuate the controller to convert the airbags between the inflated configuration and the deflated configuration; wherein the first conductive portions and the second conductive portions are aligned perpendicularly (see fig.2).
However does not discloses a first electrode fabric layer having a plurality of first conductive portions and a plurality of first non-conductive portions where the first conductive portions are interlaced with the first non-conductive portions, a second electrode fabric layer having a plurality of second conductive portions and a plurality of second non-conductive portions where the second conductive portions are interlaced with the second non-conductive portions, and a piezoresistive fabric layer having a sheet resistance of at least 50K ohm/square or the first airbags positioned on the second airbag, each of the airbags having an inflated configuration corresponding to increase the volume of the airbags and a deflated configuration corresponding to decrease the volume of the airbags.
Nakamura teaches a pressure sensor mat 42 fig.3B comprising a first electrode fabric layer 46a fig.3B having a plurality of first conductive portions 52a fig.3B and a plurality of first non-conductive portions 46a where the first conductive portions are interlaced with the first non-conductive portions, a second electrode fabric layer 46b fig.3B having a plurality of second conductive portions 52b fig.3B and a plurality of second non-conductive portions 46b where the second conductive portions are interlaced with the second non-conductive portions, and a piezoresistive fabric layer 44.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined the pillow of Poodeh and the cushion sensor of Nakamura having non-conductive portions and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at a pillow having a sensor with conductive and non-conductive portions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of electrically insulating the pressure sensor mat as taught in Nakamura [0054].
Bazargani teaches a reactive pillow 10 fig.2 an actuator 2-6 fig.1/12-16 fig.4 comprising a plurality of first airbags 13-16 and a second airbag 12, the first airbags positioned on the second airbag (see fig.2), each of the airbags having an inflated configuration corresponding to increase the volume of the airbags and a deflated configuration corresponding to decrease the volume of the airbags; and a controller 20 fig.1 communicating with the pressure sensors 30a-30e fig.1.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined the pillow of Poodeh and airbag arrangement in the pillow of Bazargani and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at a pillow having the first airbags positioned on the second airbags. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of having a dynamic adjustment scheme that can adjust and reposition the users head/neck during sleep while allowing vertical support of the users head/neck as taught in Bazargani [0026-0029].
Burgess teaches a pressure sensor 100 fig.2 having a piezoresistive layer 140 fig.2 having a sheet resistance of at least 50K ohm/square [column 6 lines 14-17 “The mixture was case in a mold and allowed to foam and gel to form a piezoresistive elastomeric polymeric foam having a sheet resistance of about 50K ohms/square. “].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a piezoresistive fabric layer having a sheet resistance of at least 50K ohm/square, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Burgess discloses a sheet resistance of at least 50K ohm/square is a known working range of a piezoresistive layer.
Re-Claim 19
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first and second conductive portions have a width approximately from 3 mm to 10 mm, and the first and second non-conductive have a width approximately from 5 mm to 50 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make each of the first and second conductive portions with a width of approximately 3 mm to 10 mm and make each of the first and second non-conductive portions with a width of approximately 5 mm to 50 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Nakamura describes the first and second conductive portions as being [0055 “a thin band”] such a dimension for the first and second conductive portions would read on a thin band. Nakamura also clearly depicts in fig.3A and 3B that the width of the non-conductive portions is about 3 times the thickness of the conductive portions.
Claim(s) 7-12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above further in view of US Patent Publication US2021/0372866A1 hereinafter referred to as Fu.
Re-claim 8
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above disclose the claimed apparatus however does not disclose wherein the piezoresistive fabric layer is a woven or knitted fabric made of or comprising semi-conductive yarns and wherein the piezoresistive fabric layer further comprises a non-conductive fabric and a plurality of filling portions incorporated with a piezoresistive ink.
Fu teaches a pressure sensor mat 100 fig.1/40 fig4A comprising wherein a piezoresistive fabric layer 150 fig.1/ 45 fig.4B is a woven or knitted fabric made of or comprising semi-conductive yarns and wherein the piezoresistive fabric layer further comprises a non-conductive fabric 152 fig.1/45 and a plurality of filling portions 151 fig.1/43 fig.4A incorporated with a piezoresistive ink [0051 “According to certain embodiments of the present disclosure, a pressure sensor array is made of a single layer of cotton fabric embroidered with conductive yarns and treated at specific spots with pressure sensor composition having a polymer, a conductive carbon material and a solvent. To prepare a piezoresistive ink which is capable of being sprayed onto the cotton fabric, polymers with good affinity to cotton are selected to bind the conductive carbon material to the fabric. The piezoresistive ink is sprayed onto the cotton fabric with a pre-designed mold (or mask).”].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined the pillow of Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani and Burgess above and the cushion sensor of Fu having a piezoresistive ink and with a reasonable expectation of success arrived at a pillow having a piezoresistive ink sensor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purpose of having a lighter weight, flexible and reliable pressure sensor suited for soft surfaces like a pillow as taught in Fu [0003].
Re-claim 7
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani, Burgess and Fu above discloses,
Fu teaches wherein the piezoresistive fabric layer is a woven or knitted fabric made of or comprising semi-conductive yarns ([0021 “Provided herein is a method for fabricating a pressure sensor array comprising: [0022] a) providing a fabric divided into a plurality of filling portions and a non-filling portion; [0023] b) placing a mold having a plurality of holes on a first surface of the fabric such that the plurality of filling portions of the fabric is exposed to the plurality of holes; [0024] c) spraying a piezoresistive ink into the plurality of holes such that the plurality of filling portions of the fabric is soaked with the piezoresistive ink via the first surface thereby forming a partially piezoresistive ink-soaked fabric” 0051 “According to certain embodiments of the present disclosure, a pressure sensor array is made of a single layer of cotton fabric embroidered with conductive yarns and treated at specific spots with pressure sensor composition having a polymer, a conductive carbon material and a solvent”].
Re-claim 9
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani, Burgess and Fu above discloses,
Fu teaches wherein the piezoresistive ink comprises a polymer, a conductive material and a solvent [0030 “In certain embodiments, the polymer has a concentration between 1% and 10% by weight, the conductive material has a concentration between 0.1% and 2% by weight and the solvent has a concentration between 90% and 95% by weight.”].
Re-claim 10
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani, Burgess and Fu above discloses,
Fu teaches wherein the polymer has a concentration approximately from 1% to 10% by weight; the conductive material has a concentration approximately from 0.1% to 2% by weight; and the solvent has a concentration approximately from 90% to 95% by weight [0030].
Re-claim 11
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani, Burgess and Fu above discloses,
Burgess teaches wherein the sheet resistance of the filling portions is at least 50K ohm/square [column 6 lines 14-17 “The mixture was case in a mold and allowed to foam and gel to form a piezoresistive elastomeric polymeric foam having a sheet resistance of about 50K ohms/square. “]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a piezoresistive material having a sheet resistance of at least 50K ohm/square, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Burgess discloses a sheet resistance of at least 50K ohm/square is a known working range of a piezoresistive material.
Re-claim 12
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani, Burgess and Fu above discloses,
Fu teaches wherein the filling portions have one or more shapes being selected from circle, square, and rectangle, with a width approximately from 5 mm to 15 mm and a space approximately from 3 mm to 50 mm [0058-0060 “In certain embodiments, each pressure sensing column has a cross section being circular, square or rectangular. [0059] In certain embodiments, each pressure sensing column has a width between 1 mm and 10 mm. [0060] In certain embodiments, a distance between two consecutive pressure sensing columns is between 5 mm and 20 mm.”].
Re-claim 20
Poodeh as modified by Nakamura, Bazargani, Burgess and Fu above discloses,
Fu teaches wherein the piezoresistive ink comprises a polymer with a concentration approximately from 1% to 10% by weight, a conductive material with a concentration approximately from 0.1% to 2% by weight and a solvent with a concentration approximately from 90% to 95% by weight [0030].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see notice of references cited).
/IFEOLU A ADEBOYEJO/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673