DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 1/14/2026 has been entered. Claims 15-37 remain pending in the present application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “spars” in claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. Cl. 33, the limitation “bolts placed at least in a center of the slats and in the vicinity of the end zones of the slats” renders the claim indefinite in the Examiner’s position. The way the limitation is currently written, it appears as if there are multiple bolts in the center of the slats and in the vicinity of the end zones. However, Applicant’s disclosure appears to only illustrate a single bolt in the middle (see 50, Fig. 13) and multiple bolts located in the vicinity of the end zones (see 51, Fig. 13). Therefore, it is unclear if the Applicant intends to claim a plurality of bolts in the center of the slats and in the end zones or a single bolt in the center and a plurality at the end zones. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to refer to what is claimed in claim 13. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Re. Cl. 36, the limitation “at least the bolt placed in the center of the slats is equipped with a locking nut” renders the claim indefinite in the Examiner’s position. Claim 36 depends from claim 34 which establishes that the adjuster comprises a lock. Applicant’s disclosure references a lock, a locking means and locking nuts. However, the specification does not differentiate between these structures or indicate if they are the same thing. Applicant’s figures do not appear to illustrate all of these structures or make it clear which structure is which if they are different. Therefore, it is unclear what the “lock” is and how it is different from the locking nut, if it is different at all. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riedele US 1497880 (hereinafter Riedele).
Re. Cl. 33, Riedele discloses: A connecting rod (Fig. 2) comprising two elastically flexible slats (6 and 1s, Fig. 2) which are curved (see Fig. 2) and arranged symmetrically with respect to a longitudinal axis of the connecting rod (see Fig. 1, the slats 6 and 1s are symmetrical with respect to the shown axis), said slats comprising: end zones (see annotated figure 2) running parallel to said axis; a transverse spacer (15, 8, Fig. 2) placed between the slats (see Fig. 2); and a fastener (14-15, 18, 9-12, Fig. 2) for securing the slats to each other and to the transverse spacer (see Fig. 1-3); wherein the fastener comprises bolts (18, 12, Fig. 2) placed at least in a center of the slats (see 12, Fig. 1-3) and in the vicinity of the end zones of the slats (see 18s, Fig. 1-3), said bolts being adjusters for adjusting the curve of the slats with a view to vary an axial length of the connecting rod (see Fig. 1-3, by adjusting how tight bolts 18 and 12 are tightened, the shape or curve of the slats would be altered by the degree in which 15 and 8 are deformed).
Re. Cl. 34, Riedele discloses: the adjuster comprises a lock (see 9-10 in Fig. 5 which helps to lock 6 and 1 relative to one another with the bolt 12).
Re. Cl. 35, Riedele discloses: at least the bolt placed in the center of the slats is equipped with a locking nut (see nut on 12, Fig. 5).
Re. Cl. 36, Riedele discloses: at least the bolt placed in the center of the slats is equipped with a locking nut (see nut on 12, Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riedele in view of Wering US 1658111 (hereinafter Wering).
Re. Cl. 37, Riedele does not disclose that the slats are made of one or more of the following materials: composite material comprising carbon-fiber reinforced polymer, glass- fiber reinforced polymer, metal comprising aluminum or steel. Wering discloses an alternate connecting rod (Fig. 1) which has a similar utility to Riedele and where the slats (8, 9) are made out of a metal comprising steel (Page 2, Lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the Riedele slats to be spring steel as disclosed by Wering with reasonable expectation of success since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-32 are allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sampson US 1820633, Jandus US 1770885, and Ward US 1242090 disclose other known connecting rods which are presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632