Priority
The claim to priority as a 371 filing of PCT/EP2021/079068, filed on October 20, 2021, which claims benefit to EP 20203145.6, filed on October 21, 2020 is acknowledged in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on April 19, 2023 and April 26, 2023 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Talon et al. (US Pat. 8,978,542) (new cited).
Regarding claim 1, Talon et al. discloses a beverage preparation machine, with an outlet (4a) for dispensing a prepared beverage, a receiving area (via drip tray 38) for receiving a vessel (40) for receiving the prepared beverage, a platform (38) which delimits the receiving area on the side opposite the outlet (4a) and on which the vessel (40) can be placed while the beverage is being prepared, wherein at least a section of the platform (38) on which the vessel (40) is placed during preparation of the beverage is made of an elastomer (Fig. 7b; Col. 14, Lines 59-65).
Regarding claim 2, Talon et al. discloses the platform (38) is made of entirely of the elastomer (Fig. 7b; Col. 14, Lines 59-65).
Regarding claim 3, Talon et al. discloses the elastomer comprises rubber (Col. 14, Lines 59-65).
Regarding claim 5, Talon et al. discloses the platform (38) is formed as a single piece (Fig. 7b).
Regarding claims 14-15, Talon discloses the beverage preparation is a coffee machine; and is a capsule coffee machine (via capsule 30) (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talon et al. (US Pat. 8,978,542) in view of Jin (KR 10-2160366) (new cited).
Regarding claim 4, Talon et al. discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the platform (38) is comprises rubber (Fig. 7b; Col. 14, Lines 59-65) except the platform is made of a silicone. Jin discloses the drip tray (162) is made of silicon (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Talon et al., the platform is made of a silicone, as taught by Jin, for the purpose of preventing deformation due to hot water/beverage.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talon et al. (US Pat. 8,978,542) in view of Miller (US Pat. 9,844,293) new cited).
Regarding claims 6-8, Talon et al. discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the platform (38) has a few ridges (Fig. 7b; Col. 14, Lines 59-65) except the platform is equipped with at least one opening, with several opening; and has a grid-like structure. Miller discloses the platform (30) is equipped with at least one opening (34), with several opening; and has a grid-like structure (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Talon et al., the platform is equipped with at least one opening, with several opening; and has a grid-like structure, for the purpose of allowing excess liquid to flow to the compartment.
Regarding claim 12, Miller discloses the beverage preparation machine includes a collection receptacle (36, 38) for catching liquid issuing from the outlet (18) and that the platform (30) is located between the collection receptacle and the receiving area (Fig. 1, 3 and 10-11; Col. 4, Lines 33-48).
Regarding claim 13, Miller discloses the collection receptacle (36, 38) includes support elements on which the platform (30) can be placed (Fig. 3-5 and 8-12).
Regarding claim 14, Miller discloses the beverage preparation (Fig. 1) is a coffee machine.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talon et al. (US Pat. 8,978,542).
Regarding claims 9-11, Talon et al. discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the platform (38 or 3a) (Fig. 1, 5 and 7b) except the platform has a thickness of at least 5 mm, at least 10 mm or at least 20 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Talon et al., the platform has a thickness of at least 5 mm, at least 10 mm or at least 20 mm, for the purpose of suitable to the user to have the platform has a thickness of at least 5 mm for capable to handle the weight of the vessel and the beverage. The courts have held that where general condition of claim is disposed in the prior art (Fig. 1, 5 and 7b; platform 3a or 38), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Conclusion
/HUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
HUNG D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761