Claim Status
Applicant’s arguments and clam amendments submitted on March 23rd, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently claims 1, 26-29 are amended, resulting in claims 21-40 pending for examination.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed March 23rd, 2026 have been entered.
Applicant’s amendment of claim 38 has overcome the claim objection forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed December 29th, 2025.
Applicant’s amendments of claims 21, 26-29 with respect to the reference for 100 vol% has overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 21-40 set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed December 29th, 2025.
Applicant’s amendments of claim 36 with respect to the dependence of claim 36 has overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 21-40 set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed December 29th, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-27, 30-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210218062 A1) in view of Shen (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210020986 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Xu teaches an electrolyte composition suitable for lithium secondary batteries (Abstract) comprising:
a lithium salt selected from group consisting of LiClO4, LiN(SO2F)2 (lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, LiFSI), LiN(SO2CF3)2 (lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide, LiTFSI), LiN(S02C2F5)2 (lithium bis(pentafluoroethanesulfonyl)imide, LiBETI), LiNSO2FSO2CF3 (lithium (fluorosulfonyl)(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide (LiFTFSI)) and a combination thereof (Paragraph 0006);
a fluorinated solvent selected from the group consisting of 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl- 2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE), bis(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) ether (BTFE) (Paragraph 0006), 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl ether (TFTFE) (Paragraph 0142), tris(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl)orthoformate (TFEO) (Paragraph 0006), methoxynonafluorobutane (MOFB), ethoxynonafluorobutane (EOFB), tris(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl)orthoformate (TFEO), tris(hexafluoroisopropyl)orthoformate (THFiPO), tris(2,2-difluoroethyl)orthoformate (TDFEO), bis(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) methyl orthoformate (BTFEMO), tris(2,2,3,3,3- pentafluoropropyl)orthoformate (TPFPO), tris(2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl)orthoformate (TTPO) and a combination thereof (Paragraph 0142);
a cyclic sulfone selected from the group consisting of sulfolane (tetramethylene sulfone (TMS), also called sulfolane), Paragraph 0137); and
a fluorinated carbonate selected from the group consisting of 4-fluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one (fluoroethylene carbonate or FEC), methyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl carbonate (MTFEC) (MFEC) (Paragraph 0006), and di-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl carbonate (DTFEC) (Paragraph 0146) and a combination thereof;
Xu discloses an electrolyte for use in a lithium-ion battery which includes a lithium salt, a nonaqueous solvent, a diluent, and an additive. Xu teaches the electrolyte has a lithium salt-solvent-additive-diluent molar ratio of 1:x:y:z where 0.5 ≤ x ≤ 5, 0 ≤ y ≤ 1, and 0.5 ≤ z ≤ 5 (Paragraph 0005). Xu teaches the relative amounts of the salt, solvent, diluent, and additive are selected to reduce the cost of materials for the electrolyte, reduce electrolyte viscosity, maintain stability of the electrolyte against oxidation, improve ionic conductivity and wetting ability of the electrolyte, and facilitate formation of an effective SEI layer (Paragraph 0149).
Xu teaches sulfolane (equated with instant cyclic sulfone) is a suitable sulfone solvent usable in the electrolyte (Paragraph 0137). Therefore, the molar ratio of solvent/lithium salt (x:1) of Xu is equated with the instant molar ratio (y) of cyclic sulfone/lithium salt. Xu teaches the range of x between 0.5 and 5, therefore the upper and lower bounds of the cyclic sulfone/lithium salt molar ratio (y) taught by Xu are 0.5/1 ≤ y ≤ 5/1, or 0.5 ≤ y ≤ 5.
The range of the molar ratio (y) of the cyclic sulfone/lithium salt taught by Zhu overlaps with the molar ratio (y) of the cyclic sulfone/lithium salt of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Xu teaches the diluent may be a fluorinated solvent (equated with instant fluorinated solvent) (Paragraph 0142). Therefore, the molar ratio of diluent/lithium salt (z:1) of Xu is equated with the instant molar ratio (z) of fluorinated solvent/lithium salt. Xu teaches the range of z between 0.5 and 5, therefore the upper and lower bounds of the fluorinated solvent/lithium salt molar ratio (z) taught by Xu are 0.5/1 ≤ z ≤ 5/1, or 0.5 ≤ z ≤ 5.
The range of the molar ratio (z) of the fluorinated solvent diluent/lithium salt taught by Zhu overlaps with the molar ratio (z) of the fluorinated solvent/lithium salt of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Xu teaches in some embodiments; the electrolyte comprises 5 wt% FEC (fluorinated carbonate) (Paragraph 0152).
Xu is silent as to the fluorinated carbonate is in an amount (x) of 0 < x ≤ 15 vol.% based on a total volume of the electrolyte composition.
However, Shen discloses an electrolyte for a lithium battery including an electrolyte salt (Paragraph 0017) and an organic carbonate additive, such as fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) (Paragraph 0028), which appears on the list of suitable fluorinated carbonates of the instant invention. Shen teaches the interfacial resistance of the anode and the cathode decreases by adding an organic carbonate to the electrolyte. Additionally Shen teaches the organic carbonate additives to enhance the wettability of the electrodes, thereby directly improving battery performance to achieve higher capacities compared to electrolytes without organic carbonate additives. Shen teaches in some embodiments that the additive has a volume percentage between 5% and 15% based on the total volume of the electrolyte. Shen recognizes that a small amount of organic carbonate (e.g. 5%) can significantly improve the battery performance by improving the ionic mobility (Paragraph 0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorinated carbonate of the electrolyte of Zhu to incorporate the teachings of Shen in which the fluorinated carbonate is present in the electrolyte at a volume percentage between 5% and 15% based on the total volume of the electrolyte. Doing so would advantageously result in reduced interfacial resistance and improved wettability of the electrodes, as well as higher battery capacity and improved overall performance, as recognized by Shen.
The resulting range of the volume percentage of the fluorinated carbonate in the electrolyte of Xu in view of Shen overlaps that of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 22, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21, wherein the lithium salt is LiN(SO2C2F5)2 (lithium bis(pentafluoroethanesulfonyl)imide, LiBETI), LiN(SO2CF3)2 (lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide, LiTFSI), LiN(SO2F)2 (lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, LiFSI), as described above (Paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 23, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21, wherein the fluorinated solvent is selected from the group consisting of 1,1 ,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE), bis(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) ether (BTFE), 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl ether (TFTFE), as described above (Paragraphs 0006, 0142).
Regarding claim 24, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21, wherein the cyclic sulfone is sulfolane (SL), as described above (Paragraph 0137).
Regarding claim 25, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21, wherein the fluorinated carbonate is 4-fluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one (FEC), as described above (Paragraphs 0006, 0146).
Regarding claim 26, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21.
Xu does not teach a specific embodiment in which
the lithium salt is LiN(SO2CF3)2
the fluorinated solvent is 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE)
the cyclic sulfone is sulfolane (SL)
the fluorinated carbonate is 4-fluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one (FEC) in an amount (x) of 0 < x ≤ 15 vol.%
wherein SL/LiTFSI is comprised in a molar ratio (y) of 1.0 ≤ y ≤ 5.0, and
wherein TTE/LiTFSI is comprised in a molar ratio (z) of 1.0 ≤ z ≤ 5.0.
However, as described above, Xu teaches an electrolyte composition including a lithium salt, a nonaqueous solvent, a diluent, and an additive. Xu teaches the electrolyte has a lithium salt-solvent-additive-diluent molar ratio of 1:x:y:z where 0.5 ≤ x ≤ 5, 0 ≤ y ≤ 1, and 0.5 ≤ z ≤ 5 (Paragraph 0005). Xu teaches the relative amounts of the salt, solvent, diluent, and additive are selected to reduce the cost of materials for the electrolyte, reduce electrolyte viscosity, maintain stability of the electrolyte against oxidation, improve ionic conductivity and wetting ability of the electrolyte, and facilitate formation of an effective SEI layer (Paragraph 0149).
Also described above, Zhu indicates LiN(SO2CF3)2 (lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide, LiTFSI) is a suitable lithium salt comprised in the electrolyte, 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE) is a suitable diluent comprised in the electrolyte (Paragraph 0006), sulfolane is a suitable sulfone solvent comprised in the electrolyte (Paragraph 0137), and 4-fluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one (FEC) is a suitable additive comprised in the electrolyte (Paragraph 0006).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to have selected and combined
LiN(SO2CF3)2 (lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide, LiTFSI) from the finite lists of possible combinations for lithium salt of the electrolyte composition
1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE) from the finite lists of possible combinations for diluent of the electrolyte composition
sulfolane from the finite lists of possible combinations for sulfur-containing solvents of the electrolyte composition
4-fluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one (FEC) from the finite lists of possible combinations for additives of the electrolyte composition
to arrive at the electrolyte composition of the instant claim since the combination of components would have yielded predictable results as an electrolyte for a lithium-ion battery absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
When the sulfur-containing solvent of Xu is sulfolane (SL) and the lithium salt is LiTFSI, as discussed above, Xu teaches the molar ratio of solvent/lithium salt (x:1) of Xu is equated with the instant molar ratio (y) of SL/LiTFSI. Xu teaches the range of x between 0.5 and 5, therefore the upper and lower bounds of the molar ratio (y) of SL/LiTFSI taught by Xu are 0.5/1 ≤ y ≤ 5/1, or 0.5 ≤ y ≤ 5.
The range of the molar ratio (y) of SL/LiTFSI taught by Zhu overlaps with the molar ratio (y) of SL/LiTFSI of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
When the diluent of Xu is TTE and the lithium salt is LiTFSI, as discussed above, Xu teaches the molar ratio of diluent/lithium salt (z:1) of Xu is equated with the instant molar ratio (z) of TTE/LiTFSI. Xu teaches the range of z between 0.5 and 5, therefore the upper and lower bounds of the molar ratio (z) of TTE/LiTFSI taught by Xu are 0.5/1 ≤ z ≤ 5/1, or 0.5 ≤ z ≤ 5.
The range of the molar ratio (y) of SL/LiTFSI taught by Zhu overlaps with the molar ratio (z) of TTE/LiTFSI of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Further, as discussed above, the modification of the fluorinated carbonate of the electrolyte of Zhu to incorporate the teachings of Shen resulted in the fluorinated carbonate present in the electrolyte at a volume percentage between 5% and 15% based on the total volume of the electrolyte. Doing so would advantageously result in reduced interfacial resistance and improved wettability of the electrodes, as well as higher battery capacity and improved overall performance, as recognized by Shen.
The resulting range of the volume percentage of the fluorinated carbonate in the electrolyte of Xu in view of Shen overlaps that of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 27, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21
Xu is silent as to the fluorinated carbonate is comprised in an amount (x) of 0.1 ≤ x ≤ 10 vol.% based on a total volume of the electrolyte composition.
However, as discussed above, the modification of the fluorinated carbonate of the electrolyte of Zhu to incorporate the teachings of Shen resulted in the fluorinated carbonate present in the electrolyte at a volume percentage between 5% and 15% based on the total volume of the electrolyte. Doing so would advantageously result in reduced interfacial resistance and improved wettability of the electrodes, as well as higher battery capacity and improved overall performance, as recognized by Shen.
The resulting range of the volume percentage of the fluorinated carbonate in the electrolyte of Xu in view of Shen overlaps that of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 30, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21.
As discussed above, Xu teaches sulfolane (equated with instant cyclic sulfone) is a suitable sulfone solvent usable in the electrolyte (Paragraph 0137). Therefore, the molar ratio of solvent/lithium salt (x:1) of Xu is equated with the instant molar ratio (y) of cyclic sulfone/lithium salt. Xu teaches the range of x between 0.5 and 5, therefore the upper and lower bounds of the cyclic sulfone/lithium salt molar ratio (y) taught by Xu are 0.5/1 ≤ y ≤ 5/1, or 0.5 ≤ y ≤ 5.
The range of the molar ratio (y) of the cyclic sulfone/lithium salt taught by Zhu overlaps with the molar ratio (y) of the cyclic sulfone/lithium salt of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 31, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21.
As described above, Xu teaches the cyclic sulfone/lithium salt molar ratio (y), 0.5 ≤ y ≤ 5. The range of the molar ratio (y) of the cyclic sulfone/lithium salt taught by Zhu overlaps with the molar ratio (y) of the cyclic sulfone/lithium salt of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 32, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21.
As described above, Xu teaches the cyclic sulfone/lithium salt molar ratio (y), 0.5 ≤ y ≤ 5. The range of the molar ratio (y) of the cyclic sulfone/lithium salt taught by Zhu overlaps with the molar ratio (y) of the cyclic sulfone/lithium salt of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 33, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21.
As described above, Xu teaches the diluent may be a fluorinated solvent (equated with instant fluorinated solvent) (Paragraph 0142). Therefore, the molar ratio of diluent/lithium salt (z:1) of Xu is equated with the instant molar ratio (z) of fluorinated solvent/lithium salt. Xu teaches the range of z between 0.5 and 5, therefore the upper and lower bounds of the fluorinated solvent/lithium salt molar ratio (z) taught by Xu are 0.5/1 ≤ z ≤ 5/1, or 0.5 ≤ z ≤ 5. Xu teaches the relative amounts of the salt, solvent, diluent, and additive are selected to reduce the cost of materials for the electrolyte, reduce electrolyte viscosity, maintain stability of the electrolyte against oxidation, improve ionic conductivity and wetting ability of the electrolyte, and facilitate formation of an effective SEI layer (Paragraph 0149).
The range of the molar ratio (z) of the fluorinated solvent/lithium salt taught by Zhu overlaps with the molar ratio (z) of the fluorinated solvent/lithium salt of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 34, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21.
As described above, Xu teaches the fluorinated solvent/lithium salt molar ratio (z), 0.5 ≤ z ≤ 5. The range of the molar ratio (z) of the fluorinated solvent/lithium salt taught by Zhu overlaps with the molar ratio (z) of the fluorinated solvent/lithium salt of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 35, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21.
As described above, Xu teaches the fluorinated solvent/lithium salt molar ratio (z), 0.5 ≤ z ≤ 5. The range of the molar ratio (z) of the fluorinated solvent/lithium salt taught by Zhu overlaps with the molar ratio (z) of the fluorinated solvent/lithium salt of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 36, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21.
As described above, Xu teaches the electrolyte has a lithium salt-solvent-additive-diluent molar ratio of 1:x:y:z where 0.5 ≤ x ≤ 5, 0 ≤ y ≤ 1, and 0.5 ≤ z ≤ 5 (Paragraph 0005), where SL is a suitable sulfur-containing solvent and TTE is a suitable diluent.
x in the above ratio is representative of the ratio of solvent while z in the above ratio is representative of the ratio of diluent. Therefore, the molar ratio of cyclic sulfone to fluorinated solvent, more specifically when the sulfur-containing solvent of Xu is sulfolane and the diluent of Xu is TTE, is represented by x/z (equated with instant y/z).
Xu teaches the range of z between 0.5 and 5 and the range of x between 0.5 and 5, therefore the upper and lower bounds of SL/TTE (x/z) taught by Xu is 0.5/5 ≤ x/z ≤ 5/0.5, or 0.1 ≤ x/z ≤ 10.
The range of the molar ratio (x/z) of the fluorinated solvent/lithium salt taught by Zhu overlaps with the molar ratio (y/z) of SL/TTE of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 37, Xu teaches a lithium secondary battery cell comprising the electrolyte composition according to claim 21 (Paragraph 0188).
Regarding claim 38, Xu teaches the lithium secondary battery cell according to claim 37.
Xu discloses the use of localized super concentrated electrolytes (LSEs) or localized high-concentration electrolytes (LHCEs) for use in lithium ion batteries (Paragraph 0077). Xu teaches the lithium-ion battery comprising the disclosed electrolyte composition having a specific coulombic efficiency equal to or greater than the comparable battery with the conventional electrolyte or super concentrated electrolyte. Xu teaches the battery may have a first cycle Coulombic efficiency of at least 50%, at least 60%, at least 70%, at least 75%, or at least 85%, and/or a third cycle CE of at least 90%, at least 95%, or at least 97%. In some embodiments, the lithium ion battery comprising the LHCE (or LSE) may have an average CE of at least 98%. Further, Tables 11 of 12 of Xu illustrate that electrolytes comprising lithium salt, fluorinated solvent, and fluorinated carbonate obtain average coulombic efficiencies during cycling of the battery which are close to 100 percent.
Therefore, Xu teaches the battery cell comprising an electrolyte composition sharing the components of a lithium salt, fluorinated solvent, and fluorinated carbonate reach average coulombic efficiencies of at least 98%, which lies within the range of coulombic efficiency of the battery cell of the instant claim, meeting the instant limitations.
The limitation “measured by electro-plating 3.36 mAh/cm2 of lithium on a negative electrode and electro-stripping 0.43 mAh/cm2 of lithium from an amount of lithium electro-plated on said negative electrode and repeating the process at for 50 cycles, followed by a final electro-stripping step until the potential reaches +0.5 V” is a method limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113.
Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed invention because Xu discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising the electrolyte composition which meets the instant claimed limitations of identity and quantity of each component, as discussed above.
Regarding claim 39, Xu teaches the lithium secondary battery cell according to claim 38.
As discussed above, Xu teaches the battery cell comprising an electrolyte composition sharing the components of a lithium salt, fluorinated solvent, and fluorinated carbonate reach average coulombic efficiencies of at least 98%, which lies within the range of coulombic efficiency of the battery cell of the instant claim, meeting the instant limitations.
Regarding claim 40, Xu teaches the lithium secondary battery cell according to claim 39.
As discussed above, Xu teaches the battery cell comprising an electrolyte composition sharing the components of a lithium salt, fluorinated solvent, and fluorinated carbonate reach average coulombic efficiencies of at least 98%, meeting the instant limitations.
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Shen as applied to claims 21-27, 30-40 above, and further in view of Ramprasand (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20120100417 A1) and Ryu (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20120107728).
Regarding claim 28, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21.
Xu is silent as to the fluorinated carbonate being comprised in an amount of 0.5 to 5 vol.% based on a total volume of the electrolyte composition.
However, as discussed above, Shen teaches than a small amount of organic carbonate, such as fluoroethylene carbonate, can significantly improve the battery performance by improving the ionic mobility (Paragraph 0027-0028).
Additionally, it is recognized by Ryu that when selecting the components of non-aqueous solvents for a battery, the selection of solvents and the mixture ratio is controlled to result in the desired battery performance, and this process is widely understood to those skilled in the art (Paragraph 0051). Further, Ryu teaches examples of non-aqueous organic solvent which may suitably be fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) (Paragraph 0050).
Further, Ramprasad teaches electrolyte fluids containing a mixture of one or more solvents, including fluorinated carbonate solvents such as methyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl carbonate (MTFEC) and proply-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl carbonate (PTFEC) (Paragraph 0073), which appear on the list of suitable fluorinated carbonates of the instant application. Ramprasad teaches that when a mixture of solvents are used, each solvent “may be present in an amount ranging from 0 wt% to about 99 wt% based on the total weight of solvents”, with the wt% of all solvents together equaling 100 wt% (Paragraph 0074).
Therefore, the ordinary artisan would recognize the quantity (volume percent) of fluorinated carbonate as a highly tunable variable in the composition of the electrolyte for a battery. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fluorinated carbonate in the electrolyte of Xu between 0.5 to 5 vol%, depending on how many solvents are added and the relative amounts of each solvent. The teachings of Shen, Ryu and Ramprasad recognize that the mixture of solvents, including fluorinated carbonates, may be controlled to achieve the aforementioned benefit of desirable battery performance.
Regarding claim 29, Xu teaches the electrolyte composition according to claim 21.
Xu is silent as to the fluorinated carbonate is comprised in an amount of 1.0 to 2.0 vol.% based on a total volume of the electrolyte composition.
However, as discussed above, Shen teaches than a small amount of organic carbonate, such as fluoroethylene carbonate, can significantly improve the battery performance by improving the ionic mobility (Paragraph 0027-0028).
Additionally, it is recognized by Ryu that when selecting the components of non-aqueous solvents for a battery, the selection of solvents and the mixture ratio is controlled to result in the desired battery performance, and this process is widely understood to those skilled in the art (Paragraph 0051). Further, Ryu teaches examples of non-aqueous organic solvent which may suitably be fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) (Paragraph 0050).
Further, Ramprasad teaches electrolyte fluids containing a mixture of one or more solvents, including fluorinated carbonate solvents such as methyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl carbonate (MTFEC) and proply-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl carbonate (PTFEC) (Paragraph 0073), which appear on the list of suitable fluorinated carbonates of the instant application. Ramprasad teaches that when a mixture of solvents are used, each solvent “may be present in an amount ranging from 0 wt% ro about 99 wt% based on the total weight of solvents”, with the wt% of all solvents together equaling 100 wt% (Paragraph 0074).
Therefore, the ordinary artisan would recognize the quantity (volume percent) of fluorinated carbonate as a highly tunable variable in the composition of the electrolyte for a battery. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fluorinated carbonate in the electrolyte of Xu between 1.0 to 2.0 vol%, depending on how many solvents are added and the relative amounts of each solvent. The teachings of Shen, Ryu and Ramprasad recognize that the mixture of solvents, including fluorinated carbonates, may be controlled to achieve the aforementioned benefit of desirable battery performance.
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 26-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11322779 (hereafter “Mai”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 21 of the instant applicant is rejected as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 9 of Mai. Mai claims a liquid electrolyte comprising:
lithium bis(trifluoromethansolfonyl)imide (LiTFSI) (lithium salt of the instant application)
1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE) (fluorinated solvent of instant application)
sulfolane (SL) (cyclic sulfone of the instant application)
fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) (fluorinated carbonate of the instant application) in an amount (x) of 1 < x ≤ 5 vol.% (overlaps with 1 < x ≤ 15 vol.% of the instant application)
The ordinary artisan would understand the volume percent range of the fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) taught by Mai is based on 100 vol% of the entire electrolyte composition, as described in the disclosure of Mai (Page 4, Lines 11-12).
Mai claims the molar ratio of SL/LiTFSI (corresponding to instant molar ratio of cyclic sulfone/lithium salt)(y) of 1.0 ≤ y ≤ 5.0 (corresponding to y of the instant application).
Mai claims the molar ratio of TTE/LiTFSI (corresponding to instant molar ratio of fluorinated solvent/lithium salt) (z) of 1.0 ≤ z ≤ 5.0 (corresponding to z of the instant application).
Claim 26 of the instant applicant is rejected as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 9 of Mai. Mai claims a liquid electrolyte comprising:
lithium bis(trifluoromethansolfonyl)imide (LiTFSI) (LiN(SO2CF3)2 of the instant application)
1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE)
sulfolane (SL)
fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) (4-fluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one of the instant application) in an amount (x) of 1 < x ≤ 5 vol.% based on a total volume of the electrolyte composition (overlaps with 1 < x ≤ 15 vol.% of the instant application)
The ordinary artisan would understand the volume percent range of the fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) taught by Mai is based on 100 vol% of the entire electrolyte composition, as described in the disclosure of Mai (Page 4, Lines 11-12).
Mai claims the molar ratio of SL/LiTFSI (y) of 1.0 ≤ y ≤ 5.0 and the molar ratio of TTE/LiTFSI (z) of 1.0 ≤ z ≤ 5.0 (corresponding to z of the instant application).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection
Claim 27 of the instant applicant is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 6 of Mai. Mai claims FEC (fluorinated carbonate of the instant application) is comprised in an amount (x) of 0.1 ≤ x ≤ 10 vol.% based on a total volume of the electrolyte composition. The ordinary artisan would understand the volume percent range of the fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) taught by Mai is based on 100 vol% of the entire electrolyte composition, as described in the disclosure of Mai (Page 4, Lines 11-12).
Claim 28 of the instant applicant is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 7 of Mai. Mai claims FEC (fluorinated carbonate of the instant application) is comprised in an amount of 0.5 to 5 vol.% based on the total volume of the electrolyte composition. The ordinary artisan would understand the volume percent range of the fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) taught by Mai is based on 100 vol% of the entire electrolyte composition, as described in the disclosure of Mai (Page 4, Lines 11-12).
Claim 29 of the instant applicant is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 8 of Mai. Mai claims FEC (fluorinated carbonate of the instant application) is comprised in an amount of 1.0 to 2.0 vol.% based on the total volume of the electrolyte composition. The ordinary artisan would understand the volume percent range of the fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) taught by Mai is based on 100 vol% of the entire electrolyte composition, as described in the disclosure of Mai (Page 4, Lines 11-12).
Claim 30 of the instant applicant is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 5 of Mai. Mai claims the molar ratio of SL/LiTFSI (corresponding to instant molar ratio of cyclic sulfone/lithium salt)(y) of 1.0 ≤ y ≤ 5.0 (corresponding to y of the instant application).
Claim 31 of the instant applicant is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 10 of Mai. Mai claims the molar ratio of SL/LiTFSI (corresponding to instant molar ratio of cyclic sulfone/lithium salt)(y) of 1.0 ≤ y ≤ 3.0 (corresponding to y of the instant application).
Claim 32 of the instant applicant is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 11 of Mai. Mai claims the molar ratio of SL/LiTFSI (corresponding to instant molar ratio of cyclic sulfone/lithium salt)(y) of 1.5 ≤ y ≤ 2.5 (corresponding to y of the instant application).
Claim 33 of the instant applicant is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 12 of Mai. Mai claims the molar ratio of TTE/LiTFSI (corresponding to instant molar ratio of fluorinated solvent/lithium salt) (z) of 1.0 ≤ y ≤ 5.0 (corresponding to y of the instant application).
Claim 34 of the instant applicant is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 13 of Mai. Mai claims the molar ratio of TTE/LiTFSI (corresponding to instant molar ratio of fluorinated solvent/lithium salt) (z) of 2.0 ≤ y ≤ 3.5 (corresponding to y of the instant application).
Claim 35 of the instant applicant is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 14 of Mai. Mai claims the molar ratio of TTE/LiTFSI (corresponding to instant molar ratio of fluorinated solvent/lithium salt) (z) of 2.5 ≤ y ≤ 3.0 (corresponding to y of the instant application).
Claim 36 of the instant applicant is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 15 of Mai. Mai claims the molar ratio of SL/TTE (y/z) is 2.0 ≤ y/z ≤ 3.0 (corresponding to y/z of the instant application).
Claims 21-25, 27-36, 38-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 26-31, 33, 35-38, 40-45 of copending Application No. 18/249,621 (hereafter, “Bund”).
Claim 21 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claims 26, 35, and 39 of Bund. Bund claims a liquid electrolyte comprising:
a lithium salt selected from the group consisting of LiClO4, LiN(SO2F)2, LiN(SO2CF3)2, LiN(S02C2F5)2, LiNSO2FSO2CF3, LiN(SO2)2(CF3)3 and a combination thereof
a fluorinated solvent selected from the group consisting of 1,1,2,2- tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether, bis(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) ether, 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl ether, trifluoroethylhexafluoropropyl ether, tris(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl)orthoformate, methoxynonafluorobutane, ethoxynonafluorobutane, tris(2,2,2- trifluoroethyl)orthoformate, tris(hexafluoroisopropyl)orthoformate, tris(2,2- difluoroethyl)orthoformate, bis(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) methyl orthoformate, tris(2,2,3,3,3-pentafluoropropyl)orthoformate, tris(2,2,3,3- tetrafluoropropyl)orthoformate and a combination thereof
a cyclic sulfone selected from the group consisting of sulfolane, methylsulfolanes, 3,4-dimethylsulfolane, 2,4-dimethylsulfolane, trimethylene sulfone, 1-methyl trimethylene sulfone, pentamethylene sulfone, hexamethylene sulfone, ethylene sulfone and a combination thereof
a fluorinated carbonate selected from the group consisting of 4-fluoro-1,3- dioxolan-2-one (fluoroethylene carbonate or FEC), cis or trans 4,5-difluoro-1 3-dioxolan-2-one, 4,4-difluoro-1, 3-di-oxolan-2-one, 4-fluoro-5-methyl-1 3-dioxolan-2-one, methyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl carbonate, ethyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl carbonate, propyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl carbonate, methyl- 2,2,2,2',2',2'-hexafluoro-i-propyl carbonate, ethyl-2,2,2,2',2',2'-hexafluoro-i- propyl carbonate, di-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl carbonate and a combination thereof
wherein the fluorinated carbonate is in an amount (x) of 0 < x 15 vol.%. Bund claims in claims 35 and 39, the cyclic sulfone/lithium salt is comprised in a molar ratio (y) of 1.0 ≤ y ≤ 5.0 and the fluorinated solvent/lithium salt is comprised in a molar ratio (z) of 1.0 ≤ z ≤ 5.0, respectively.
The ordinary artisan would understand the volume percent range of the fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) taught by Bund is based on 100 vol% of the entire electrolyte composition, as described in the disclosure of Bund (Page 4, Lines 30-36).
Claim 22 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 27 of Bund. Bund claims LiN(SO2C2F5)2, LiN(SO2CF3)2 LiN(SO2F)2 or LiN(SO2)2(CF3)3.
Claim 23 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 28 of Bund. Bund claims the fluorinated solvent is selected from the group consisting of 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether, bis(2,2,2- trifluoroethyl) ether, 1,1 ,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl ether and trifluoroethylhexafluoropropyl ether.
Claim 24 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 29 of Bund. Bund claims the cyclic sulfone is sulfolane (SL), 3-methylsulfolane, 3 ,4-dimethylsulfolane or 2,4-dimethylsulfolane.
Claim 25 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 30 of Bund. Bund claims the fluorinated carbonate is 4- fluoro- 1,3-dioxolan-2-one (FEC) or 4-fluoro-5-methyl- 1, 3-dioxolan-2-one.
Claim 27 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 36 of Bund. Bund claims the fluorinated carbonate is comprised in an amount (x) of 0.1 ≤ x ≤ 10 vol.% based on the total volume of the electrolyte composition. The ordinary artisan would understand the volume percent range of the fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) taught by Bund is based on 100 vol% of the entire electrolyte composition, as described in the disclosure of Bund (Page 4, Lines 30-36).
Claim 28 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 37 of Bund. Bund claims the fluorinated carbonate is comprised in an amount (x) of 0.5 to 10 vol.% based on the total volume of the electrolyte composition. The ordinary artisan would understand the volume percent range of the fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) taught by Bund is based on 100 vol% of the entire electrolyte composition, as described in the disclosure of Bund (Page 4, Lines 30-36).
Claim 29 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 38 of Bund. Bund claims the fluorinated carbonate is comprised in an amount (x) of 1.0 to 2.0 vol.% based on the total volume of the electrolyte composition. The ordinary artisan would understand the volume percent range of the fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) taught by Bund is based on 100 vol% of the entire electrolyte composition, as described in the disclosure of Bund (Page 4, Lines 30-36).
Claim 30 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 35 of Bund. Bund claims the molar ratio cyclic sulfone/lithium salt (y) of 1.0 ≤ y ≤ 5.0.
Claim 31 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 40 of Bund. Bund claims the molar ratio cyclic sulfone/lithium salt (y) of 1.0 ≤ y ≤ 3.0.
Claim 32 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 41 of Bund. Bund claims the molar ratio cyclic sulfone/lithium salt (y) of 1.5 ≤ y ≤ 2.5.
Claim 33 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 42 of Bund. Bund claims the molar ratio fluorinated solvent/lithium salt (z) of 1.0 < z < 5.0.
Claim 34 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 43 of Bund. Bund claims the molar ratio fluorinated solvent/lithium salt (z) of 2.0 ≤ z ≤ 3.5.
Claim 35 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 44 of Bund. Bund claims the molar ratio fluorinated solvent/lithium salt (z) of 2.5 ≤ z ≤ 3.0.
Claim 36 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 45 of Bund. Bund claims a molar ratio cyclic sulfone/fluorinated solvent (y/z) is 2.0 ≤ y/z ≤ 3.0
Claim 38 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claims 26 and 50 of Bund. Bund claims an electrochemical cell has a coulombic efficiency of at least 93%, wherein the coulombic efficiency is measured by electro-plating 3.36 mAh/cm2 of lithium on a negative electrode and electro-stripping 0.43 mAh/cm2 of lithium from an amount of lithium electro-plated on said negative electrode and repeating the process at for 50 cycles, followed by a final electro-stripping step until the potential reaches +0.5 V.
Claim 39 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 31 of Bund. Bund claims a coulombic efficiency is at least 95%.
Claim 40 of the instant application is rejected as being unpatentable over claim 33 of Bund. Bund claims a coulombic efficiency is at least 98%.
Response to Arguments
In the remarks filed March 23rd, 2026, applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would not have combined Xu with Shen to render the claim obvious because Xu and Shen teach different classes of electrolyte systems with fundamentally different structures and operating mechanisms. Applicant argues that because Xu teaches a localized high-concentration electrolyte and Shen teaches an ionic liquid-based electrolyte, these teachings cannot be applied to each other.
These arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner presents that the prior art of Xu and Shen are in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, particularly directed toward electrolyte systems for lithium-ion secondary batteries. Further, the disclosures of Xu and Shen are both directed toward liquid electrolyte systems in lithium ion batteries containing an electrolyte salt (Xu Paragraph 0005, Shen Paragraph 0004). Further, Xu (Paragraph 0006) and Shen (Paragraph 0030) teach overlapping suitable examples of lithium salts useable in the electrolytes of the disclosure including:
lithium perchlorate (LiClO4)
lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6)
lithiumborofluoride (LiBF4)
lithium hexafluoroarsenide (LiAsF6)
lithium trifluorometasulfonate (LiCF3SO3)
lithium bistrifluoromethyl sulfonylimide
lithium bis(oxalato)borate (LiBOB)
lithium nitrate (LiNO3)
lithium bisperfluoroethysulfonylimide (LiBETI)
lithium trifluoromethanesulfonimide (LiTFSI)
lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI)
lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (LiDFOB)
LiCl
LiBr
LiI
Li2SO4
Thus, Xu and Shen are directed toward liquid electrolyte systems that comprise similar electrolyte salts. As such, their teachings are combinable to establish prima facie obviousness.
In the remarks filed March 23rd, 2026, applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would not have combined Xu with Shen to render the claim obvious because the rationale for adding organic carbonate of Shen is fundamentally at odds with the mechanism that enables Xu’s localized high concentration electrolyte. Applicant argues that the electrolyte of Xu relies on strong ion pairing and tight coordination to allow anions to participate directly in SEI formation while Shen teaches adding organic carbonates to ionic-liquid electrolyte to reduce lithium coordination.
These arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the examiner presents that the localized high concentration electrolytes of Xu is taught to comprise fluoroethylene carbonate as an electrolyte additive at small quantities in order to improve the first cycle discharge capacity and SEI morphology while not damaging the solvation structure. Therefore, Xu teaches that as additive such as fluoroethylene carbonate (fluorinated carbonate) present in the electrolyte composition while preserving the mechanism of Xu’s electrolyte.
As discussed in the Non-Final Rejection mailed December 29th, 2025, the non provisional application of Xu teaches in some embodiments, the electrolyte comprises 5 wt% FEC. Xu teaches various electrolyte compositions with 5 wt% FEC as seen in Table 1:
Therefore, taking a molar basis of 1 for the Lb electrolyte composition, the moles of each component is determined to be:
LiFSI: 0.51/(0.51 + 1.1 + 2.2) = 0.13 moles
DMC: 1.1/(0.51 + 1.1 + 2.2) = 0.29 moles
TTE: 2.2/(0.51 + 1.1 + 2.2) = 0.58 moles
The mass of each component is determined to be:
LiFSI: 0.13 moles * (187.09 g/mol) = 24.32 g
DMC: 0.29 moles * (90.01 g/mol) = 18.90 g
TTE: 0.58 moles * (232.07 g/mol) = 134.6 g
The total mass of the LiFSI-DMC-TTE formula is 177.82 g. 1.0 wt% of this is 1.77 g VC and 5 wt% of this is 8.9 g of FEC.
Assuming density measured at 25 ºC, the volume of each component is determined to be:
LiFSI: 24.32 g * (1.052 g/cm3)-1 = 23.11 cm3
DMC: 18.90 g * (1.07 g/cm3)-1 =17.7 cm3
TTE: 134.6 g * (1.54 g/cm3)-1 = 87.4 cm3
VC: 1.77 g * (1.355 g/cm3)-1 = 1.3 cm3
FEC: 8.9 g * (1.485 g/cm3)-1 = 6.0 cm3
Therefore, a suitable volume percent of fluoroethylene carbonate based on a total volume of the electrolyte composition taught by Xu is:
Volume percent of fluoroethylene carbonate: 6.0 cm3/ (23.11 cm3 + 17.7 cm3 + 87.4 cm3 + 1.3 cm3 + 6.0 cm3) = 4.4 vol% FEC
Additionally, the examiner presents the teachings of Xu as provided in the priority disclosure of Xu, the provisional application 63/080,486, filed September 18th, 2020, wherein in the Examples of electrolyte compositions studied, Xu teaches LiFSI:DME:TTE:FEC comprised in the electrolyte in a molar ratio of 1.0:1.1:3.0:0.2 (Table 1). Therefore, taking a molar basis of 1, the moles of each component is determined to be:
LiFSI: 1.0/(1.0 + 1.1 + 3.0 + 0.2) = 0.19 moles
DME: 1.1/(1.0 + 1.1 + 3.0 + 0.2) = 0.21 moles
TTE: 3.0/(1.0 + 1.1 + 3.0 + 0.2) = 0.57 moles
FEC: 0.2/(1.0 + 1.1 + 3.0 + 0.2) = 0.04 moles
The mass of each component is determined to be:
LiFSI: 0.19 moles * (187.09 g/mol) = 35.55 g
DME: 0.21 moles * (90.12 g/mol) = 18.93 g
TTE: 0.57 moles * (232.07 g/mol) = 132.28 g
FEC: 0.04 moles * (106.05 g/mol) = 4.24 g
Assuming density measured at 25 ºC, the volume of each component is determined to be:
LiFSI: 35.55 g * (1.052 g/cm3)-1 = 33.8 cm3
DME: 18.93 g * (0.867 g/cm3)-1 =21.8 cm3
TTE: 132.28 g * (1.54 g/cm3)-1 = 85.9 cm3
FEC: 4.24 g * (1.485 g/cm3)-1 = 2.9 cm3
Therefore, a suitable volume percent of fluoroethylene carbonate based on a total volume of the electrolyte composition taught by Xu is:
Volume percent of fluoroethylene carbonate: 2.9 cm3/ (2.9 cm3 + 33.8 cm3 + 21.8 cm3 + 85.9 cm3) = 2.01 vol% FEC
Therefore, Xu teaches a suitable volume percent of fluorinated carbonate with respect to the total volume of the electrolyte composition that lies within the instant claimed range.
Additionally, and more generally, Xu teaches the formulations of the localized high concentration electrolytes may be written as Li salt:main solvent:additive:diluent 1:x:y:z where x=0.5-3.5, y=0.01-1.0, ad z=1-5 (Page 59, Lines 4-5).
By repeating the above calculations, the maximum volume percent of FEC additive taught by Xu (when 1 : x : y : z = 1: 0.5 : 1 : 1) is determined to be
LiFSI: 0.29 moles * (187.09 g/mol) * (1.052 g/cm3)-1 = 51.6 cm3
DME: 0.14 moles * (90.12 g/mol) * (0.867 g/cm3)-1 = 14.6 cm3
FEC: 0.29 moles * (106.05 g/mol) * (1.485 g/cm3)-1 = 20.7 cm3
TTE: 0.29 moles * (232.07 g/mol) * (1.54 g/cm3)-1 = 43.7 cm3
Therefore, a suitable volume percent of fluoroethylene carbonate based on a total volume of the electrolyte composition taught by Xu is:
Volume percent of fluoroethylene carbonate: 20.7 cm3/ (20.7 cm3 + 51.6 cm3 + 14.6 cm3 + 43.7 cm3) = 15.8 vol% FEC
Xu exemplifies the suitable volume percentage of fluorinated carbonate that is encompassed by the small amount of additive added to the electrolyte system of Xu in order to obtain the beneficial effects described above. Thus, through the examples and teachings of the disclosure, the Examiner relies on the teachings of Xu relating to the mass/molar quantity of the fluorinated carbonate additive in the electrolyte composition to teach the volume percent. It is noted that as calculated above, the quantity of FEC present in the electrolyte composition of both the nonprovisional application (17/144,600) and the provisional application (63/080,486) of Xu teaches a volume percent of FEC that falls within the instant claimed range. Therefore, the rejection as written meets the limitations of the claims.
In the remarks filed March 23rd, 2026, applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation of success in applying Shen’s 5-15 vol% organic carbonate teaching to Xu’s localized high concentration electrolyte system. Applicant argues that teachings about optimal organic carbonate concentrations developed for ionic liquid systems cannot be predictably applied to localized high concentration electrolyte systems.
These arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner presents that the electrolyte system of Xu is taught to be successful even with the addition of fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC). Xu teaches small amounts of FEC present in the electrolyte to provide benefits without disrupting the structure of the electrolyte system, with the range of volume percent of FEC considered encompassed by “small amount” being calculated above as low as approximately 2 vol% FEC and as high as approximately 15 vol% FEC based on the total volume of the electrolyte composition. Because Xu teaches the FEC additive suitably between 2 vol% to 15 vol% based on the total volume of the electrolyte composition, the ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in applying Shen’s 5-15 vol% organic carbonate teaching in that this range lies within the range taught by Xu.
In the remarks filed March 23rd, 2026, applicant argues that the pending claims are patentably distinct over those of U.S. Patent No. 11322779 and copending application 18/249,621.
These arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner presents the updated double patenting rejections over the U.S. Patent No. 11322779 and copending application 18/249,621 as described above, where a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the volume percent of fluoroethylene carbonate recited is based on 100 vol% of the electrolyte. Therefore, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
In the remarks filed March 23rd, 2026, applicant argues that the proper disclosure to consider for the Xu reference is the provisional application 63/080,486, filed September 18th, 2020. Applicant argues that Xu’s provisional application containers a narrower disclosure than the published application in certain respects, particularly relating to the solvent/lithium salt ratio (x), the diluent/lithium salt ratio (z), and the relevant teachings relating to FEC concentration in the electrolyte.
These arguments have been fully considered.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner presents that while Xu’s provisional application contains a narrower disclosure than the published application, the range of the solvent/lithium salt ratio (x) and the diluent/lithium salt ratio (z) of Xu still overlaps those of the instant claim and therefore teaches the claimed limitations.
Additionally, while the provisional application of Xu only tests FEC at a single molar ratio, as calculated above, this teaching of Xu, when converted to volume percent, overlaps with the teachings relating to the volume percent of fluorinated carbonate provided in the instant disclosure. Therefore, the instant claimed limitations remain taught over the prior art of Xu.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.A.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789