DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 15-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Austrheim (WO 2019206672 A2) in view of Fjeldheim (NO 20171874 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Austrheim teaches A method of controlling movement of a plurality of container handling vehicles on a rail system arranged at least partially across a top of framework structure of an automated storage and retrieval system (Fig. 1 Page 5 Line 16-18 For monitoring and controlling the automated storage and retrieval system 1, e.g. monitoring and controlling the location of respective storage containers 106 within the grid 104, the content of each storage container 106;), on which rail system the plurality of container handling vehicles are operable to handle storage containers (Page 1 Line 25-29 The automated storage and retrieval system 1 comprises a rail system 108 arranged in a grid pattern across the top of the storage columns 105, on which rail system 108 a plurality of container handling vehicles 201,301 are operated to raise storage containers 106 from and lower storage containers 106 into the storage columns 105, and also to transport the storage containers 106 above the storage columns 105. ), and where a control system, which is in communication with a local controller in each container handling vehicle, performs a method comprising: (Page 18 Lines 5-9 The drive system of the unit 60ais here controlled by means of communication signals from the control system of the support vehicle 20 or the system 1)
instructing a first container handling vehicle to move in a first direction towards a grid cell designated as a first target position on the rail system; (Page 16 Line 13-18 It is here referred to fig. 11, 12 and 13. Here, the support vehicle 20 is connected to an intermediate supporting unit 60. The purpose of the intermediate supporting unit 60 is to transport a failed container handling vehicle 301 which is stuck in position Pl in fig. 18 and is not itself capable to move to the service area due to a failure, such as an empty battery, an electrical or mechanical failure etc. To fix the vehicle 301, it must be moved to the service area.)
instructing a second container handling vehicle to move in the first direction towards the first target position such that the second container handling vehicle physically contacts the first container handling vehicle, and the second container handling vehicle after contact applies a push force on the first container handling vehicle to maintain physical contact. (Page 17 Line 1-5 In fig. 11, it is shown that the additional support unit 60 comprises a further connection system 70 for connection to a container handling vehicle 301. The connection system 70 comprises a wheel actuator 72 and a push body 74, 75 for contact with the container handling vehicle 301 when it is pushed by the support vehicle 20.)
Austrheim does not expressly disclose but Fjeldheim discloses a first container handling vehicle of a plurality of container handling vehicles (Fig. 1 a plurality of container handling vehicles 201)
a second container handling vehicle of a plurality of container handling vehicles (Fig. 1 a plurality of container handling vehicles 201)
wherein each of the plurality of container handling vehicles comprises a lifting device for raising a storage container from a storage column of the framework structure and for lowering a storage container into a storage column of the framework structure, (Page 1 Line 23-35 The automated storage and retrieval system 1 comprises a rail system 108 arranged in a grid pattern across the top of the storage columns 105, on which rail system 108 a plurality of container handling vehicles 201,301 are operated to raise storage containers 106 from and lower storage containers 106 into the storage columns 105, and also to transport the storage containers 106 above the storage columns 105. The rail system 108 comprises a first set of parallel rails 110 arranged to guide movement of the container handling vehicles 201,301 in a first direction X across the top of the frame structure 100, and a second set of parallel rails 111 arranged perpendicular to the first set of rails 110 to guide movement of the container handling vehicles 201,301 in a second direction Y which is perpendicular to the first direction X. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Austrheim with the teachings of Fjeldheim with a reasonable expectation of success by lifting and transporting storage containers by a vehicle as taught by Fjeldheim (Page 1 Line 3-4).
Regarding claim 2, Austrheim teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein instructing to apply a push force comprises instructing the second container handling vehicle to exceed a non-pushing force required for movement of the second container handling vehicle. (Page 15 Line 27-30 Movement of the support vehicle 20 towards the unit will cause the unit to be pushed by the support vehicle. In the two directions mentioned here, the support vehicle 20 and the unit will move along tracks 110 of fig. 11.)
Regarding claim 3, Austrheim teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein the non-pushing force is exceeded by 2 - 25%. (Page 15 Line 27-30 Movement of the support vehicle 20 towards the unit will cause the unit to be pushed by the support vehicle. In the two directions mentioned here, the support vehicle 20 and the unit will move along tracks 110 of fig. 11.)
Regarding claim 5, Austrheim teaches The method according to claim 1,wherein instructing to apply a push force comprises instructing the second container vehicle to move according to a movement vector exceeding a corresponding movement vector of the first container handling vehicle in the first direction. (Page 15 Line 27-30 Movement of the support vehicle 20 towards the unit will cause the unit to be pushed by the support vehicle. In the two directions mentioned here, the support vehicle 20 and the unit will move along tracks 110 of fig. 11.)
Regarding claim 6, Austrheim teaches The method according to claim 5, wherein the corresponding movement vector of the first container handling vehicle in the first direction is exceeded by 2 - 25%.(Page 15 Line 27-30 Movement of the support vehicle 20 towards the unit will cause the unit to be pushed by the support vehicle. In the two directions mentioned here, the support vehicle 20 and the unit will move along tracks 110 of fig. 11.)
Regarding claim 7, Austrheim teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises after determining that the first container handling vehicle has not moved within a predetermined time interval, stopping applying the push force on the first container handling vehicle. (Page 5 Line 18-21 he movement of the container handling vehicles 201,301 so that a desired storage container 106 can be delivered to the desired location at the desired time without the container handling vehicles 201,301 colliding with each other, )
Regarding claim 8, Austrheim teaches The method according to claim 7, wherein the determination that the first container handling vehicle has not moved within the predetermined time interval comprises determining with the second container handling vehicle that the second container handling vehicle has not moved within the predetermined time interval. (Page 5 Line 18-21 he movement of the container handling vehicles 201,301 so that a desired storage container 106 can be delivered to the desired location at the desired time without the container handling vehicles 201,301 colliding with each other, )
Regarding claim 10, Austrheim teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises upon determining with the second container handling vehicle that the first container handling vehicle is moving, increasing the push force on the first container handling vehicle. (Page 5 Line 16-23 For monitoring and controlling the automated storage and retrieval system 1, e.g. monitoring and controlling the location of respective storage containers 106 within the grid 104, the content of each storage container 106; and the movement of the container handling vehicles 201,301 so that a desired storage container 106 can be delivered to the desired location at the desired time without the container handling vehicles 201,301 colliding with each other, the automated storage and retrieval system 1 comprises a control system which typically is computerized and which typically comprises a database for keeping track of the storage containers 106.)
Regarding claim 11, Austrheim teaches An automated storage and retrieval system comprising a plurality of container handling vehicles on a rail system arranged at least partially across a top of framework structure of the automated storage and retrieval system (Fig. 1 Page 5 Line 16-18 For monitoring and controlling the automated storage and retrieval system 1, e.g. monitoring and controlling the location of respective storage containers 106 within the grid 104, the content of each storage container 106;), on which rail system the plurality of container handling vehicles are operable to handle storage containers (Page 1 Line 25-29 The automated storage and retrieval system 1 comprises a rail system 108 arranged in a grid pattern across the top of the storage columns 105, on which rail system 108 a plurality of container handling vehicles 201,301 are operated to raise storage containers 106 from and lower storage containers 106 into the storage columns 105, and also to transport the storage containers 106 above the storage columns 105. ), and a control system adapted to be in communication with a local controller in each controller handling vehicle, the control system further being adapted to perform the steps of: (Page 18 Lines 5-9 The drive system of the unit 60ais here controlled by means of communication signals from the control system of the support vehicle 20 or the system 1)
instructing a first container handling vehicle to move in a first direction towards a grid cell designated as a first target position on the rail system; (Page 16 Line 13-18 It is here referred to fig. 11, 12 and 13. Here, the support vehicle 20 is connected to an intermediate supporting unit 60. The purpose of the intermediate supporting unit 60 is to transport a failed container handling vehicle 301 which is stuck in position Pl in fig. 18 and is not itself capable to move to the service area due to a failure, such as an empty battery, an electrical or mechanical failure etc. To fix the vehicle 301, it must be moved to the service area.)
instructing a second container handling vehicle to move in the first direction towards the first target position such that the second container handling vehicle physically contacts the first container handling vehicle, and the second container handling vehicle after contact applies a push force on the first container handling vehicle to maintain physical contact. (Page 17 Line 1-5 In fig. 11, it is shown that the additional support unit 60 comprises a further connection system 70 for connection to a container handling vehicle 301. The connection system 70 comprises a wheel actuator 72 and a push body 74, 75 for contact with the container handling vehicle 301 when it is pushed by the support vehicle 20.)
Austrheim does not expressly disclose but Fjeldheim discloses a first container handling vehicle of a plurality of container handling vehicles (Fig. 1 a plurality of container handling vehicles 201)
a second container handling vehicle of a plurality of container handling vehicles (Fig. 1 a plurality of container handling vehicles 201)
wherein each of the plurality of container handling vehicles comprises a lifting device for raising a storage container from a storage column of the framework structure and for lowering a storage container into a storage column of the framework structure, (Page 1 Line 23-35 The automated storage and retrieval system 1 comprises a rail system 108 arranged in a grid pattern across the top of the storage columns 105, on which rail system 108 a plurality of container handling vehicles 201,301 are operated to raise storage containers 106 from and lower storage containers 106 into the storage columns 105, and also to transport the storage containers 106 above the storage columns 105. The rail system 108 comprises a first set of parallel rails 110 arranged to guide movement of the container handling vehicles 201,301 in a first direction X across the top of the frame structure 100, and a second set of parallel rails 111 arranged perpendicular to the first set of rails 110 to guide movement of the container handling vehicles 201,301 in a second direction Y which is perpendicular to the first direction X. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Austrheim with the teachings of Fjeldheim with a reasonable expectation of success by lifting and transporting storage containers by a vehicle as taught by Fjeldheim (Page 1 Line 3-4).
Regarding claim 12, Austrheim teaches The system according to claim 11, wherein instructing to apply a push force comprises instructing the second container handling vehicle to exceed a non-pushing force required for default movement of the second container handling vehicle. (Page 15 Line 27-30 Movement of the support vehicle 20 towards the unit will cause the unit to be pushed by the support vehicle. In the two directions mentioned here, the support vehicle 20 and the unit will move along tracks 110 of fig. 11.)
Regarding claim 13, Austrheim teaches The system according to claim 12, wherein the non-pushing force is exceeded by 2 - 25%.(Page 15 Line 27-30 Movement of the support vehicle 20 towards the unit will cause the unit to be pushed by the support vehicle. In the two directions mentioned here, the support vehicle 20 and the unit will move along tracks 110 of fig. 11.)
Regarding claim 15, Austrheim teaches The system according to claim 11,wherein instructing to apply a push force comprises instructing the second container vehicle to move according to a movement vector exceeding a corresponding movement vector of the first container handling vehicle in the first direction. (Page 15 Line 27-30 Movement of the support vehicle 20 towards the unit will cause the unit to be pushed by the support vehicle. In the two directions mentioned here, the support vehicle 20 and the unit will move along tracks 110 of fig. 11.)
Regarding claim 16, Austrheim teaches The system according to claim 15, wherein the corresponding movement vector of the first container handling vehicle in the first direction is exceeded by 2 - 25%. (Page 15 Line 27-30 Movement of the support vehicle 20 towards the unit will cause the unit to be pushed by the support vehicle. In the two directions mentioned here, the support vehicle 20 and the unit will move along tracks 110 of fig. 11.)
Regarding claim 17, Austrheim teaches The system according to claim 11,wherein the second container handling vehicle is adapted to stop applying the push force on the first container handling vehicle after determining that the first container handling vehicle has not moved within a predetermined time interval. (Page 5 Line 18-21 he movement of the container handling vehicles 201,301 so that a desired storage container 106 can be delivered to the desired location at the desired time without the container handling vehicles 201,301 colliding with each other, )
Regarding claim 18, Austrheim teaches The system according to claim 17, wherein the second container handling vehicle is adapted to determine that the first container handling vehicle has not moved within the predetermined time interval by determining that the second container handling vehicle has not moved within the predetermined time interval. (Page 5 Line 18-21 he movement of the container handling vehicles 201,301 so that a desired storage container 106 can be delivered to the desired location at the desired time without the container handling vehicles 201,301 colliding with each other, )
Regarding claim 20, Austrheim teaches The system according to claim 11,wherein the second container handling vehicle is adapted to upon determining that the first container handling vehicle is moving, increasing the push force on the first container handling vehicle. (Page 5 Line 16-23 For monitoring and controlling the automated storage and retrieval system 1, e.g. monitoring and controlling the location of respective storage containers 106 within the grid 104, the content of each storage container 106; and the movement of the container handling vehicles 201,301 so that a desired storage container 106 can be delivered to the desired location at the desired time without the container handling vehicles 201,301 colliding with each other, the automated storage and retrieval system 1 comprises a control system which typically is computerized and which typically comprises a database for keeping track of the storage containers 106.)
Regarding claim 21, Austrheim teaches The system according to claim 11, wherein contact areas between the first container handling vehicle and the second container handling vehicle is provided with a low friction protection surface. (Page 9 Lines 21-26 Preferably, the connection system provides a rigid connection between the support vehicle and the connection interface. Hence, when the connection system is connected the connection interface, relative movement between the support vehicle and the connection interface is prevented by the engagement between the connector member and keyhole, and also by the engagement between the contact surfaces of the contact bodies and the front surface of the connection interface.)
Regarding claim 22, Austrheim teaches A computer program product for a control system in an automated storage and retrieval system comprising a plurality of container handling vehicles on a rail system arranged at least partially across a top of framework structure of the automated storage and retrieval system (Fig. 1 Page 5 Line 16-18 For monitoring and controlling the automated storage and retrieval system 1, e.g. monitoring and controlling the location of respective storage containers 106 within the grid 104, the content of each storage container 106;), on which rail system the plurality of container handling vehicles are operable to handle storage containers (Page 1 Line 25-29 The automated storage and retrieval system 1 comprises a rail system 108 arranged in a grid pattern across the top of the storage columns 105, on which rail system 108 a plurality of container handling vehicles 201,301 are operated to raise storage containers 106 from and lower storage containers 106 into the storage columns 105, and also to transport the storage containers 106 above the storage columns 105. ), wherein the control system is adapted to be in communication with a local controller in each controller handling vehicle, and wherein the computer program product comprises instructions that when performed by the control system causes the control system to perfrom a method comprising: (Page 18 Lines 5-9 The drive system of the unit 60ais here controlled by means of communication signals from the control system of the support vehicle 20 or the system 1)
instructing a first container handling vehicle to move in a first direction towards a grid cell designated as a first target position on the rail system; (Page 16 Line 13-18 It is here referred to fig. 11, 12 and 13. Here, the support vehicle 20 is connected to an intermediate supporting unit 60. The purpose of the intermediate supporting unit 60 is to transport a failed container handling vehicle 301 which is stuck in position Pl in fig. 18 and is not itself capable to move to the service area due to a failure, such as an empty battery, an electrical or mechanical failure etc. To fix the vehicle 301, it must be moved to the service area.)
instructing a second container handling vehicle to move in the first direction towards the first target position such that the second container handling vehicle physically contacts the first container handling vehicle, and the second container handling vehicle after contact applies a push force on the first container handling vehicle to maintain physical contact. (Page 17 Line 1-5 In fig. 11, it is shown that the additional support unit 60 comprises a further connection system 70 for connection to a container handling vehicle 301. The connection system 70 comprises a wheel actuator 72 and a push body 74, 75 for contact with the container handling vehicle 301 when it is pushed by the support vehicle 20.)
Austrheim does not expressly disclose but Fjeldheim discloses a first container handling vehicle of a plurality of container handling vehicles (Fig. 1 a plurality of container handling vehicles 201)
a second container handling vehicle of a plurality of container handling vehicles (Fig. 1 a plurality of container handling vehicles 201)
wherein each of the plurality of container handling vehicles comprises a lifting device for raising a storage container from a storage column of the framework structure and for lowering a storage container into a storage column of the framework structure, (Page 1 Line 23-35 The automated storage and retrieval system 1 comprises a rail system 108 arranged in a grid pattern across the top of the storage columns 105, on which rail system 108 a plurality of container handling vehicles 201,301 are operated to raise storage containers 106 from and lower storage containers 106 into the storage columns 105, and also to transport the storage containers 106 above the storage columns 105. The rail system 108 comprises a first set of parallel rails 110 arranged to guide movement of the container handling vehicles 201,301 in a first direction X across the top of the frame structure 100, and a second set of parallel rails 111 arranged perpendicular to the first set of rails 110 to guide movement of the container handling vehicles 201,301 in a second direction Y which is perpendicular to the first direction X. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Austrheim with the teachings of Fjeldheim with a reasonable expectation of success by lifting and transporting storage containers by a vehicle as taught by Fjeldheim (Page 1 Line 3-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed 3/6/2026 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant argues that the 35 USC 103 rejections to the claims should not be maintained in view of “The Office action does not provide an explicit one-to-one mapping of such reference components to the claimed structure, and the Office's comments on pages 3 and 11 of the Office action appear inconsistent.” However, the support vehicle 20 is considered the second container handling vehicle and the container handling vehicle 301 is considered the first container handling vehicle.
Applicant argues “each of the first and second container handling vehicles features a lifting device configured to raise a storage container from a storage column of the framework structure and to lower a storage container into a storage column of the framework structure.” However, in view of the amendment a new ground of rejection is above.
Applicant argues “Consequently, neither of "support vehicle 20", "intermediate supporting unit 60", nor "connection system 70" (whether alone or in combination) may be reasonably considered a "container handling vehicle" as defined by the amended claims. Based on the foregoing, the prior art of Austrheim fails to fairly teach or suggest "the second container handling vehicle physically contacts the first container handling vehicle, and the second container handling vehicle after contact applies a push force on the first container handling vehicle to maintain physical contact" as recited in the amended claims. The claimed approach requires no dedicated support vehicles or structural modifications to the vehicles and allows each vehicle to perform both container raising/lowering and pushing operations.” However, Austrheim teaches Page 6 Lines 4-6 The robotic service device further comprises a connection interface for connection to container handling vehicles in order to rescue them, i.e. to push or pull them to a desired location and Page 6 Lines 15-23 One object of the invention is to provide a flexible support vehicle for such storage systems, i.e. the object is that the same support vehicle should be used for several types of support operations. One example of such a support operation is to move a further vehicle, such as a container handling vehicle, to a predefined location, typically a service area, where the further vehicle can be repaired, maintained or transported further away from the grid. Another example of such a support operation is to clean the grid. Another example of such a support operation is to move a person, equipment (for example tools, spare parts etc.) or other objects from a first location to a second location.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9, 14, and 19 allowed.
Conclusion
/S.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656