Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 20-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Kim (US 2019/0074118).
Regarding claims 18, 25, 26; Kim teaches HTS field coil having electromagnetic properties (electromagnet; abstract) comprising turns comprising a HTS material wound about an axis of the coil (abstract), the turns being separated from one another along a direction perpendicular to the to the axis by one or more layers comprising magnetoresistive material having an electrical resistivity that, at a temperature less than a generation temperature of the HTS material, decreases in response to an applied magnetic field, whereby the electrical resistance between the turns along the direction perpendicular to the axis decreases as electrical current is supplied to the coil (VO meets this limitation as applicant’s specification states that VO can be used as the material; para. 0013-0019; see applicant’s specification at page 15-16).
Regarding the properties recited in claims 20-22, it appears that the material of Kim (VO, inter alia; para. 0013-0019) necessarily has the claimed properties as applicant describes VO as a suitable insulator material that can be used instead of europium dicarbide. See applicant’s specification at page 16.
Regarding claim 23 and 25, Kim teaches that the turns are formed from lengths of HTS tapes comprising HTS layers on a flexible substrate (para. 0085).
Regarding claim 24, Kim teaches the magnetoresistive material is provided on a flexible substrate that is co-wound about the axis of the coil with one or more lengths of HTS tape (MIT material disposed on a mesh structure is co-wound with the superconductor tape and therefore must be flexible; para. 0018-0020, 0022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 18, 20-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Heyer (“Thermodynamic properties and resistivity of the ferromagnetic semiconductor EuC2”) and Heyer2 (“Measurements of thermodynamic and transport properties of EuC2…”).
Kim teaches a coil as described above in claim 18, but fails to teach that the magnetoresistive material is EuC2.
Kim, however, teaches that the magnetoresistive material is a metal insulator transition material that has a transition temperature lower than the transition temperature of the superconductor.
Heyer additionally teaches that EuC2 is a metal insulator transition material (page 9) and Heyer2 teaches that EuC2 has a transition temperature of 15 K (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide EuC2 as the MIT material in Kim in order to provide a known MIT material that has a transition temperature lower than the transition temperature of the HTS material as taught by Heyer and Heyer2.
If the properties recited in claims 18, 20-22 are not taught by Kim, this rejection will be applied herein. Additionally, it appears that EuC2 taught by Heyer, Heyer2 meet the limitations of the properties of claims 18, 20-22.
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Mcnamara (WO 2019/008349; see US 2020/0168352 for citations).
Kim teaches a coil as described in claim 18, but fails to teach that the coil is part of a tokamak fusion reactor and generate a magnetic field within a plasma vessel.
Mcnamara, however, teaches controlling plasma in a nuclear fusion reactor (abstract) comprising superconductor magnets including toroidal and poloidal coils (para. 0020-0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the superconductor coil of Kim in in a nuclear fusion reactor comprising superconductor magnets including toroidal and poloidal coils in order to control plasma as taught by Mcnamara.
Claim(s) 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kurusu (US 2009/0046399).
Kim teaches a superconductor coil as described above in claim 18, but fails to teach a detection unit to detect a loss of superconductivity in the HTS and a quench protection unit configured to transfer electrical current from the coil to an external resistive load in response to the detection.
Kurusu, however, teaches a superconductor coil quench system for a superconductor coil (abstract) comprising a detection unit (para. 0013-0014) and a quench protection unit configured to transfer current from the coil to a varistor (para. 0075-0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the superconducting coil of Kim with a quench system comprising a detection unit and a quench protection unit configured to transfer current from the coil to a varistor in order to protect against quench as taught by Kurusu.
Regarding claim 31, Kurusu teaches a method of using the system thereof. See previous citations.
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Heyer and Heyer2 and Mcnamara (WO 2019/008349; see US 2020/0168352 for citations).
Kim teaches a coil as described in claim 18, but fails to teach that the coil is part of a tokamak fusion reactor and generate a magnetic field within a plasma vessel.
Mcnamara, however, teaches controlling plasma in a nuclear fusion reactor (abstract) comprising superconductor magnets including toroidal and poloidal coils (para. 0020-0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the superconductor coil of Kim in in a nuclear fusion reactor comprising superconductor magnets including toroidal and poloidal coils in order to control plasma as taught by Mcnamara.
Claim(s) 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Heyer and Heyer2 and Kurusu (US 2009/0046399).
Kim teaches a superconductor coil as described above in claim 18, but fails to teach a detection unit to detect a loss of superconductivity in the HTS and a quench protection unit configured to transfer electrical current from the coil to an external resistive load in response to the detection.
Kurusu, however, teaches a superconductor coil quench system for a superconductor coil (abstract) comprising a detection unit (para. 0013-0014) and a quench protection unit configured to transfer current from the coil to a varistor (para. 0075-0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the superconducting coil of Kim with a quench system comprising a detection unit and a quench protection unit configured to transfer current from the coil to a varistor in order to protect against quench as taught by Kurusu.
Regarding claim 31, Kurusu teaches a method of using the system thereof. See previous citations.
Conclusion
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735