Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 21 depends off of claim 1 which is cancelled, where claims 22-26 all require the limitations of claim 21. Here, Examiner assumes claim 21 is intended to be an independent claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kazerooni (US Pub No.: 2007/0233279).
Regarding claim 14, Kazerooni (US Pub No.: 2007/0233279) teaches a prosthesis (prosthesis disclosed in [0005] and [0012]) for aiding the human body (in [0006], a driving of a movement is present, which will aid the human body) comprising: a first part (figure 1 part 103); a second part (figure 1 part 105); an articulation mutually connecting said first and second parts in a manner such that the first and second parts can make rotations relative to each other (knee mechanism 107, defined in [0026]); and an electro-hydrostatic actuator adapted to control said rotations (hydraulic actuator to impart a rotation in [0039], where an electric generator is connected to the hydraulic motor in [0039]), wherein the electro-hydrostatic actuator comprises a hydraulic cylinder (hydraulic piston cylinders in [0037], being part 250 in figure 1) into which a fluid processed by a volumetric pump is supplied (pump details in [0041]-[0042]. As the hydraulic portion of the actuator is defined as acting as a pump in [0041]-[0042] with a cylinder in [0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazerooni (US Pub No.: 2007/0233279) in view of Fairbanks (US Pub No.: 2010/0023133).
Regarding claim 15, Kazerooni teaches the prosthesis according to claim 14. However, Kazerooni does not teach wherein the volumetric pump is a rotary pump.
Instead, Fairbanks (US Pub No.: 2010/0023133) teaches wherein the volumetric pump is a rotary pump (the hydraulic pump is disclosed in the abstract, where the pump, defined as part 201 in [0051], can comprise a rotary pump in [0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pump details of Fairbanks into Kazerooni for the purpose of providing a pump known in the art that is known in the art to be low noise and easy to maintain.
Regarding claim 16, Kazerooni in view of Fairbanks teach the prosthesis according to claim 15, wherein Fairbanks teaches the volumetric pump is of the generated rotor type (gerotor pump in [0058], where a gerotor pump is taken to be equivalent to a generated rotor pump). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pump details of Fairbanks into Kazerooni for the purpose of providing a gerotor pump known in the art that is known in the art to be low noise and having a high degree of volumetric efficiency.
Regarding claim 17, Kazerooni in view of Fairbanks teach the prosthesis according to claim 16, wherein Kazerooni teaches the electro-hydrostatic actuator is active between said articulated parts (in figure 1, the actuator, that comprises cylinder 250 and piston 249 is between articulated parts 103 and 105).
Regarding claim 18, Kazerooni in view of Fairbanks teach the prosthesis according to claim 17, with Kazerooni comprising a rod associated with a hydraulic cylinder (part 249 in figure 1 of Kazerooni), movable in the longitudinal direction and connected to said articulated parts to actuate the rotations thereof (part 249 moves within part 250, where the actuator actuations movement about a knee 107. The cylinder will move in a longitudinal direction with respect to the prosthetic device in figure 1 as the cylinder is shown as extending across parts 103 and 105).
Regarding claim 19, Kazerooni in view of Fairbanks teach the prosthesis according to claim 18, wherein Fairbanks teaches the electro-hydrostatic actuator comprises a hydraulic cylinder (hydraulic piston cylinder in [0055], seen as equivalent to part 250 of Kazerooni with piston 249i) in fluidic communication with a rotary volumetric pump (being the rotary pump [0058] of Fairbanks), which is adapted to supply the fluid into the hydraulic cylinder in opposite directions by reversing a direction of rotation of a portion of the rotary volumetric pump (as per the function of a pump, and as the pumps of Fairbanks are disclosed as being hydraulic pumps in [0058], the pumps of Fairbanks drive an actuation of a hydraulic system including a piston cylinder in [0055] of Fairbanks). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pump details of Fairbanks into Kazerooni for the purpose of providing a pump known in the art that is known in the art to be low noise and easy to maintain.
Regarding claim 20, Kazerooni in view of Fairbanks teach the prosthesis according to claim 19, wherein the pump is associated with an electric motor and is adapted to operate in a regenerative manner for generating electric energy through the electric motor (disclosed in [0039]-[0040] and [0046]-[0047]).
However, Kazerooni does not teach a rotary volumetric pump. Instead, Fairbanks (US Pub No.: 2010/0023133) teaches a volumetric rotary pump (the hydraulic pump is disclosed in the abstract, where the pump, defined as part 201 in [0051], can comprise a rotary pump in [0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pump details of Fairbanks into Kazerooni for the purpose of providing a pump known in the art that is known in the art to be low noise and easy to maintain.
Regarding claim 21, Kazerooni discloses the prothesis (prosthesis disclosed in [0005] and [0012]) according to claim 1 wherein the electro-hydrostatic actuator comprises a hydraulic cylinder including at least one cylindrical chamber and a piston that is movable in the cylindrical chamber (chamber part 250 with cylinder part 249 shown in figure 1 of Kazerooni. Both parts with the electric generators in [0049] comprise an electro-hydrostatic actuator), a pump in fluidic communication with the hydraulic cylinder for supplying a fluid into the cylindrical chamber (pump details in [0041]-[0042]. As the hydraulic portion of the actuator is defined as acting as a pump in [0041]-[0042] with a cylinder in [0037]) wherein the pump is of a rotary volumetric type (rotary hydraulic actuator in [0037] and [0054]) .
Additionally, Fairbanks (US Pub No.: 2010/0023133) teaches a volumetric rotary pump (the hydraulic pump is disclosed in the abstract, where the pump, defined as part 201 in [0051], can comprise a rotary pump in [0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pump details of Fairbanks into Kazerooni for the purpose of providing a pump known in the art that is known in the art to be low noise and easy to maintain.
Regarding claim 22, Kazerooni in view of Fairbanks teach the prothesis according to claim 21, wherein Fairbanks teaches that the volumetric pump is of the generated rotor type wherein the volumetric pump is of the generated rotor type (gerotor pump in [0058], where a gerotor pump is taken to be equivalent to a generated rotor pump).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pump details of Fairbanks into Kazerooni for the purpose of providing a gerotor pump known in the art that is known in the art to be low noise and having a high degree of volumetric efficiency.
Regarding claim 23, Kazerooni in view of Fairbanks teach the prothesis according to claim 22, wherein the generated rotor pump comprises an internal rotor and an external rotor supported by rolling means (as Kazerooni teaches a vane rotary pump, an internal and outer rotor part are present. As the internal rotors will perform a rotation motion, a rolling of a part connected to the internal rotors is also seen as being present due to the disclosure of a rotary vane pump in [0058])
Regarding claim 24, Kazerooni in view of Fairbanks teach the prothesis according to claim 23, wherein Kazerooni discloses that the fluidic communication between the hydraulic cylinder and the pump for supplying a fluid into the cylindrical chamber occurs directly without using any valves or other fluid interception devices (while a valve is shown in figure 11 as part 216 as per [0043], not all embodiments of the device teach a valve. Said embodiments that do not have a valve 216 are in figure 1 and 10 that do not cite part 216).
Regarding claim 25, Kazerooni in view of Fairbanks teach the prothesis according to claim 24, wherein Kazerooni teaches that the piston is a double-acting piston (as the piston slides relative to cylinder 250 in [0037] to drive a movement of a leg about knee joint 107 in [0026] and generate electricity in [0039], the piston arrangement in figure 1 of Kazerooni is a double acting piston). However, Kazerooni does not teach a fluidic communication path between the hydraulic cylinder and the pump is substantially symmetrical.
Instead, Fairbanks teaches a fluidic communication path between the hydraulic cylinder and the pump is substantially symmetrical (the path between the pump 201 and the hydraulic cylinder 104 in figure 1 are depicted as being cylinder). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pump details of Fairbanks into Kazerooni for the purpose of providing a pump known in the art that is known in the art to be low noise and easy to maintain.
Regarding claim 26, Kazerooni in view of Fairbanks teach the prothesis according to claim 25. However, Kazerooni does not explicitly teach wherein the hydraulic cylinder and the pump are arranged side by side. Instead, Fairbanks teaches wherein the hydraulic cylinder (part 104, shown in figure 2, labeled in [0055]) and the pump (part 201 as per [0058]) are arranged side by side (shown in figure 2. Additionally, the arrangement of said parts in figure 21 also satisfies the “side by side” requirement). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pump details of Fairbanks into Kazerooni for the purpose of providing a pump known in the art that is known in the art to be low noise and easy to maintain.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pusch (US Pub No.: 2022/0071779) discloses a prosthetic leg with a hydraulic actuator 40 and housing part 41 between the upper and lower leg. Swift (US Pub No.: 2013/0150980) considered for a lower extremity orthotic with a hydraulic torque generator 104.
/AREN PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/YASHITA SHARMA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774