DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2024. 04/10/2025, 09/18/2025, and 01/23/2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/22/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LifeSense in view of Pham et al. (see 07/08/2024 IDS Ref. Des. C4 and C9, respectively).
LifeSense teaches that oral bioavailability of CBD is low due to limited aqueous solubility (p. 3) and that MCTs are useful for increasing solubility and oral bioavailability of CBDs (p. 8).
LifeSense does not teach the inclusion of a tocopheryl phosphate component comprising TP and T2P.
Pham et al. teaches the use of TPM (a mixture of TP and T2P, see Fig. 1) in combination with MCTs for improving solubility and bioavailability of poorly water-soluble drugs such as CoQ10 (see Abstract; whole document). Solutions comprising 100mg MCT, 10% w/w CoQ10 and 10 mg TPM were prepared (pp. 401-402). The TPM is a 2:1 w/w mixture of alpha-tocopheryl phosphate and di-alpha tocopheryl phosphate (p.401). Both Lifesense and Pham et al. are drawn toward methods of increasing solubility and oral bioavailability of poorly water-soluble drugs. Accordingly, would have been prima facie obvious to include TPM in the formulation taught by LifeSense as taught by Phan et al. with a reasonable expectation that doing so would improve solubility and oral bioavailability of CBD which is taught to be a poorly water-soluble drug. Claims 1-11 require specific ratios or amounts of specific components which either overlap with the amounts taught by Pham et al. or would be attained under the process of routine optimization. Additionally, claims 9 and 11 are drawn to routine oral dosage administration parameters/forms which are at once envisaged by a PHOSITA upon contemplation of oral delivery taught by both Lifesense and Pham et al. Accordingly, claims 1-11 are obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,539,307 in view of Izgelov et al. (07/08/2024 Ref. Des. C2).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,539,307 are drawn to compositions and methods of use thereof comprising the same components of the instant claims but differ in that they require LCT instead of MCT. These are considered obvious variants in the art and therefore it would have been obvious to substitute LCT with MCT. See Izgelov et al. which teaches that MCT and LCT are both useful as carriers for cannabinoids (Title, Abstract). While properties may differ, they are nevertheless taught to be useful for the same purpose of drug delivery of cannabinoids and therefore claims 1-11 are obvious over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,539,307.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19420850 (reference application) in view of Izgelov et al. (07/08/2024 Ref. Des. C2).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19420850 are drawn to compositions and methods of use thereof comprising the same components of the instant claims but differ in that they require LCT instead of MCT. These are considered obvious variants in the art and therefore it would have been obvious to substitute LCT with MCT. See Izgelov et al. which teaches that MCT and LCT are both useful as carriers for cannabinoids (Title, Abstract). While properties may differ, they are nevertheless taught to be useful for the same purpose of drug delivery of cannabinoids and therefore claims 1-11 are obvious over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19420850.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-11 are rejected.
Claims 12-17 are withdrawn.
/JED A KUCHARCZK/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623