DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-2 and 15-17 have been amended.
Claims 1-12 and 15-22 are presently pending.
1. Applicant's arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view
of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 21 be found allowable, claim 22 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-12, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAO et al. (US 20230087003, hereinafter, “HAO”) in view of GAO et al. (US 20250119184, hereinafter, “GAO”), and further in view of SONG et al (US 20220376876, hereinafter, “SONG”).
Claim 1. HAO teaches: A remote unit for wireless communication, comprising: - See Fig. 1
at least one memory; - See Fig. 1, ¶ [0011], (“a UE for wireless communication may include memory”) and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the remote unit to: - See Fig. 1, ¶ [0011], (“a UE for wireless communication may include memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory.”)
receive a configuration indicating that two channel state information (CSI) reportings for two different transmission and reception points (TRPs) are associated with each other; - See Fig. 5-6, ¶ [0119 – 0120], (“UE 120 may transmit a CSI report 0 for TRP 0…UE 120 may transmit a CSI report 1 for TRP 1”); ¶ [0139], (“CSI report configuration 1 identifies CSI report configuration 0 as a reference CSI report configuration. Additionally, CSI report configuration 0 identifies CSI report configuration 1 as a reference CSI report.”)
receive downlink control information (DCI) containing a CSI request field with a non-zero value that simultaneously triggers two CSI reports by associating the non-zero value to both of the associated two CSI reportings; - See Fig. 9, ¶ [0137], (“the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may be put in the same trigger state, so as to be triggered simultaneously (e.g., by a DCI communication).”); ¶ [0138 – 0139], (“the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may both be triggered based at least in part on receiving an indication in the DCI that triggers the CSI report 1…if either CSI report configuration enters a triggered state, the other CSI report configuration will enter a triggered state…the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may both be triggered based at least in part on receiving an indication in the DCI that triggers the CSI report 1 or the CSI report 0.”) and
simultaneously transmit the two CSI reports in a same slot in response to receiving the DCI. – See Fig. 9, ¶ [0137], (“the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may be put in the same trigger state, so as to be triggered simultaneously (e.g., by a DCI communication).”); ¶ [0141], (“UE 120 may transmit CSI report 0 and CSI report 1 in a same slot and/or using a same PUSCH transmission.”)
HAO does not explicitly teach:
receive downlink control information (DCI) containing a CSI request field with a non-zero value that simultaneously triggers two CSI reports by associating the non-zero value to both of the associated two CSI reportings;
However, GAO teaches:
receive downlink control information (DCI) containing a CSI request field with a non-zero value that simultaneously triggers two CSI reports - in ¶ [0040], (“more than one CSI reporting setting…can be configured within a single CSI trigger state and triggered at the same time with a DCI. In this case, multiple CSI reports, each associated with one CSI report setting, may be aggregated and sent…in a single physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)…A 3-bit CSI request field in an uplink DCI (i.e., DCI format 0-1) may be used to select one of the trigger states for CSI reporting.”) by associating the non-zero value to both of the associated two CSI reportings; - in ¶ [0057], (“In this case, a DCI with CSI bit field set to “100” may be sent to the WD to select CSI trigger state k=3 (note that, CSI bit field “000” may mean “no trigger”, and “001” selects trigger state k=0, “010” selects state k=1, “011” selects state k=2, and so on). After receiving the DCI, the WD can measure and report CSI for both TRPs at once in a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), e.g., {CSI for TRP #1, CSI for TRP #2}.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HAO with GAO to include a CSI request field with a non-zero value, as taught by GAO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce signaling overhead, as suggested by GAO, some embodiments for CSI feedback for multi-TRP transmission, which may reduce CSI feedback signaling overhead (as compared to existing techniques). - ¶ [0204]
Combination of HAO and GAO does not explicitly teach:
wherein the CSI reportings are identified as being associated via a media access control control element (MAC CE) format;
However, SONG teaches:
wherein the CSI reportings are identified as being associated via a media access control control element (MAC CE) format; - in ¶ [0044], (“There is an association relationship between the CSI report configuration and the another CSI report configuration, and the association relationship may be configured or indicated by the network device…by using RRC signaling, MAC CE, or DCI…¶ [0045] In Manner 2, the network device may configure a CSI report configuration for each TRP…and configure or indicate an association relationship between at least two CSI report configurations”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HAO and GAO with SONG to include the CSI reportings are identified as being associated via MAC CE format, as taught by SONG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to result in flexible multi-TRP coordination, as suggested by SONG, a multi-transmission reception point/multi-panel (multi-TRP/multi-panel) technology may be used to increase reliability and a throughput of transmission. - ¶ [0003]
Claim 2. Combination of HAO, GAO, and SONG teaches The remote unit of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HAO teaches:
wherein, the configuration is received by radio resource control (RRC) signaling. - in ¶ [0154], (“the first CSI report configuration and the second CSI report configuration may be communicated to UE 120 based at least in part on RRC signaling.”)
Claim 3. Combination of HAO, GAO, and SONG teaches The remote unit of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HAO teaches:
wherein the same codebook configuration and the same codebook subset restriction – in ¶ [0120], (“the first CRI and the second CRI have a same value.”); ¶ [0123- 0124], (“the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may include a same CRI value of 1 to indicate that the CSI for the CSI report configuration 1 and the CSI for the CSI report configuration 0 are calculated jointly…UE 120 may receive an indication of a CRI restriction that configures UE 120 to report only joint CSI or only independent CSI.”) are configured for the associated two CSI reportings. - See Fig. 5, ¶ [0139], (“CSI report configuration 1 identifies CSI report configuration 0 as a reference CSI report configuration…CSI report configuration 0 identifies CSI report configuration 1 as a reference CSI report.”)
Claim 4. Combination of HAO, GAO, and SONG teaches The remote unit of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HAO further teaches:
wherein, when K CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources are configured within a resource setting for channel measurement of each of the associated two CSI reportings, - in ¶ [0148], (“UE 120 may determine which CSI resources to measure for the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 (e.g., CSI resources that are before the CSI reference resources)”) K central processing units (CPUs) are occupied by the two CSI reports - in ¶ [0137], (“the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may be put in the same trigger state, so as to be triggered simultaneously (e.g., by a DCI communication).”, this indicates concurrent processing) from a slot receiving the DCI to the same slot transmitting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource carrying the two CSI reports. - in ¶ [0141], (“UE 120 may receive a CSI request in a DCI communication that triggers a trigger state for the CSI report configuration 0 or the CSI report configuration 1…UE 120 may transmit CSI report 0 and CSI report 1 in a same slot and/or using a same PUSCH transmission.”)
GAO further teaches:
wherein, when K CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources are configured within a resource setting for channel measurement of each of the associated two CSI reportings, – in ¶ [0048], (“a WD may be configured with multiple CSI reporting settings, one for each TRP. In each CSI reporting setting, a single NZP CSI-RS resource is contained in the CSI resource setting for channel measurement and a single CSI-IM resource is contained in the CSI resource setting for interference measurement. These multiple CSI reporting settings can be contained in a single aperiodic CSI triggering state.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HAO with GAO to include within a resource setting for channel measurement, as taught by GAO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to result in coordinated measurement across CSI reports improving multi-TRP performance, as suggested by GAO, some embodiments for CSI feedback for multi-TRP transmission, which may reduce CSI feedback signaling overhead (as compared to existing techniques). - ¶ [0204]
Claim 11. Combination of HAO, GAO, and SONG teaches The remote unit of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HAO teaches:
wherein, when a Space Division Multiplexing (SDM) or a Frequency Multiplexing (FDM) scheme is assumed, - See Fig. 5, ¶ [0116], (“SDM, FDM, or TDM transmission scheme”)
reported CSI Reference Signal Resource Indicators (CRIs) in the two CSI reports are the same, - in ¶ [0123], (“the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may include a same CRI value of 1 to indicate that the CSI for the CSI report configuration 1 and the CSI for the CSI report configuration 0 are calculated jointly.”) or only one CRI is included in one CSI report of the two CSI reports and also applies to another CSI report of the two CSI reports. - See Fig. 6, in ¶ [0127], (“the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may report a same CRI to indicate whether the reported CSI is a joint CSI with NCJT or independent CSI for each TRP.”)
Claim 12. Combination of HAO, GAO, and SONG teaches The remote unit of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HAO teaches:
wherein, when a Space Division Multiplexing (SDM), a Frequency Division Multiplexing (FDM) or a Time Division Multiplexing (TDM) scheme is assumed, - See Fig. 5, ¶ [0116], (“CQI, RI, PMI, and/or the like for the CSI report 0 may be calculated independently whether using an SDM, FDM, or TDM transmission scheme”) reported Channel Quality Indicators (CQIs) in the two CSI reports are the same, or only one CQI is included in one CSI report of the two CSI reports – in ¶ [0116], (“CSI report 1 may be calculated with an RI being the same as the RI of CSI report 0, PMI calculated independently, and CQI calculated independently.”, this shows CQI can be copied, shared, or reused across reports when dependencies exist) and also applies to another CSI report of the two CSI reports. – in ¶ [0106], (“CSI report 1 may be calculated based at least on an assumption of a joint transmission from a different TRP…based at least in part on an assumption of interference from the different TRP using CSI reported in CSI report 0.”, this shows that CQI from one applies to another)
Claim 15. HAO teaches: A base unit for wireless communication, comprising: - See Fig. 1
at least one memory; - See Fig. 1, ¶ [0014], (“a base station for wireless communication may include memory”) and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base unit to: - See Fig. 1, ¶ [0014], (“a base station for wireless communication may include memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory.”)
transmit a configuration, via a media access control control element (MAC CE) format, - in ¶ [0147], (“UE 120 may determine that the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 are PUCCH-based CSI reports…that may be triggered by periodic CSI and/or a MAC control element (CE).”) indicating that two channel state information (CSI) reportings are associated with each other - See Fig. 5, ¶ [0139], (“CSI report configuration 1 identifies CSI report configuration 0 as a reference CSI report configuration. Additionally, CSI report configuration 0 identifies CSI report configuration 1 as a reference CSI report.”) for a multiple transmission reception point (multi-TRP) scenario; - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0158], (“UE may receive a CSI report configuration that indicates…a second set of CSI parameters for calculating CSI for a multi-TRP mode.”)
transmit a downlink control information (DCI) containing a CSI request field with a non-zero value that causes a user equipment (UE) to simultaneously trigger two CSI reports by associating the non-zero value to the associated two CSI reportings;- See Fig. 9, ¶ [0137], (“the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may be put in the same trigger state, so as to be triggered simultaneously (e.g., by a DCI communication).”); ¶ [0138 – 0139], (“the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may both be triggered based at least in part on receiving an indication in the DCI that triggers the CSI report 1…if either CSI report configuration enters a triggered state, the other CSI report configuration will enter a triggered state. In other words, the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may both be triggered based at least in part on receiving an indication in the DCI that triggers the CSI report 1 or the CSI report 0.”) and
receive the two CSI reports in a same slot. – See Fig. 9, ¶ [0141], (“UE 120 may transmit CSI report 0 and CSI report 1 in a same slot and/or using a same PUSCH transmission.”)
HAO does not explicitly teach:
transmit a downlink control information (DCI) containing a CSI request field with a non-zero value that causes a user equipment (UE) to simultaneously trigger two CSI reports by associating the non-zero value to the associated two CSI reportings;
However, GAO teaches:
transmit a downlink control information (DCI) containing a CSI request field with a non-zero value that causes a user equipment (UE) to simultaneously trigger two CSI reports by associating the non-zero value to the associated two CSI reportings; - in ¶ [0040], (“more than one CSI reporting setting…can be configured within a single CSI trigger state and triggered at the same time with a DCI. In this case, multiple CSI reports, each associated with one CSI report setting, may be aggregated and sent from the WD to the network node (e.g., gNB) in a single physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)…A 3-bit CSI request field in an uplink DCI (i.e., DCI format 0-1) may be used to select one of the trigger states for CSI reporting.”); ¶ [0057], (“In this case, a DCI with CSI bit field set to “100” may be sent to the WD to select CSI trigger state k=3 (note that, CSI bit field “000” may mean “no trigger”, and “001” selects trigger state k=0, “010” selects state k=1, “011” selects state k=2, and so on). After receiving the DCI, the WD can measure and report CSI for both TRPs at once in a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), e.g., {CSI for TRP #1, CSI for TRP #2}.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HAO with GAO to include a CSI request field with a non-zero value, as taught by GAO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce signaling overhead, as suggested by GAO, some embodiments for CSI feedback for multi-TRP transmission, which may reduce CSI feedback signaling overhead (as compared to existing techniques). - ¶ [0204]
Combination of HAO and GAO does not explicitly teach:
transmit a configuration, via a media access control control element (MAC CE) format, indicating that two channel state information (CSI) reportings are associated with each other for a multiple transmission reception point (multi-TRP) scenario;
However, SONG teaches:
transmit a configuration, via a media access control control element (MAC CE) format, indicating that two channel state information (CSI) reportings are associated with each other for a multiple transmission reception point (multi-TRP) scenario; - in ¶ [0044], (“There is an association relationship between the CSI report configuration and the another CSI report configuration, and the association relationship may be configured or indicated by the network device…by using RRC signaling, MAC CE, or DCI…¶ [0045] In Manner 2, the network device may configure a CSI report configuration for each TRP…and configure or indicate an association relationship between at least two CSI report configurations”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HAO and GAO with SONG to include via a media access control control element format, as taught by SONG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to result in flexible multi-TRP coordination, as suggested by SONG, a multi-transmission reception point/multi-panel (multi-TRP/multi-panel) technology may be used to increase reliability and a throughput of transmission. - ¶ [0003]
Claims 16-19 are rejected under the same rationale as Claims 1-4 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 5, 7-10, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAO et al. (US 20230087003, hereinafter, “HAO”) in view of GAO et al. (US 20250119184, hereinafter, “GAO”), and further in view of SONG et al (US 20220376876, hereinafter, “SONG”), and HAO et al. (US 20230061722, hereinafter, “RefC”).
Claim 5. Combination of HAO, GAO, and SONG teaches The remote unit of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HAO teaches:
wherein each of Non-Zero Power (NZP) CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources within a resource setting for channel measurement of one CSI reporting in the associated two CSI reportings are 1-to-1 associated with each of NZP CSI-RS resources within a resource setting for channel measurement of another CSI reporting in the associated two CSI reportings, - See Fig. 5, ¶ [0139], (“CSI report configuration 1 identifies CSI report configuration 0 as a reference CSI report configuration. Additionally, CSI report configuration 0 identifies CSI report configuration 1 as a reference CSI report.”) and the associated NZP CSI-RS resources - in ¶ [0074], (“a CSI report configuration that indicates a plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement or a plurality of NZP CSI-RS port-groups for channel measurement”) can be simultaneously received in a same symbol when Space Division Multiplexing (SDM) or Frequency Division Multiplexing (FDM) scheme is assumed. - in ¶ [0135], (“the second resource of the pair of resources occupied by TRP 0 and the second resource of the pair of resources occupied by TRP 1 may be located on a same symbol in the time domain (e.g., based at least in part on being in an SDM transmission mode (e.g., for NCJT measurement) and UE 120 using a single Rx beam to receive the CSI-RS of TRP 0 and TRP 1 simultaneously).”)
Combination of HAO, GAO, and SONG does not explicitly teach:
wherein each of Non-Zero Power (NZP) CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources within a resource setting for channel measurement of one CSI reporting in the associated two CSI reportings are 1-to-1 associated with each of NZP CSI-RS resources within a resource setting for channel measurement of another CSI reporting in the associated two CSI reportings,
However, RefC teaches:
wherein each of Non-Zero Power (NZP) CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources within a resource setting for channel measurement of one CSI reporting in the associated two CSI reportings – in ¶ [0096], (“Each setting may be associated with multiple resource sets, each resource set including multiple resources….The CMRs may be resource-wise associated with a CSI-IM resource and NZP-IMR set…The UE may measure interference from the interference resources associated with the selected CMR”) are 1-to-1 associated with each of NZP CSI-RS resources within a resource setting - in ¶ [0128], (“determines a NZP-IMR resource setting configuring more than one active set of NZP-IMRs, each set including a plurality of NZP-IMRs, and determines a one-to-one mapping between a codepoint of the indicator and an active NZP-IMR set by an order of the NZP-IMR set in the configuration.”) for channel measurement of another CSI reporting in the associated two CSI reportings, – in ¶ [0096], (“Each setting may be associated with multiple resource sets, each resource set including multiple resources….The CMRs may be resource-wise associated with a CSI-IM resource and NZP-IMR set…The UE may measure interference from the interference resources associated with the selected CMR”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HAO, GAO, and SONG with RefC to include 1-to-1 NZP CSI-RS pairing within resource settings, as taught by RefC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to result in coordinated measurement across CSI reports improving multi-TRP performance, as suggested by RefC, features of this disclosure provide advantages that include improved dynamic interference measurement for multiple transmission reception point (mTRP) channel state information (CSI). - ¶ [0005]
Claim 7. Combination of HAO, GAO. SONG, and RefC teaches The remote unit of claim 5, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HAO teaches:
wherein, when the SDM scheme is assumed, - in ¶ [0094], (“interference caused by reporting the first CSI (e.g., based at least in part on using an SDM scheme)”) the interference between associated NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement - in ¶ [0074], (“CSI report configuration that indicates a plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement”) is not considered as the interference for UE with interference suppression capability - in ¶ [0094], (“the UE may calculate the first CSI and the second CSI jointly based at least in part on an assumption of a virtual PDSCH transmitted using a CSI reference resource with a first set of CSI-RS ports and a second set of CSI-RS ports (e.g., based at least in part on an SDM transmission scheme)”, this shows UE is assuming joint transmission (not interference) and a UE with interference suppression capability can jointly calculate CSI using multiple CSI-RS resources (from different TRPs)) and is considered as the interference for UE without interference suppression capability. – in ¶ [0094], (“the UE may calculate the second CSI based at least in part on an assumption that there is interference caused by reporting the second CSI (e.g., based at least in part on using an SDM scheme)…the first CSI and the second CSI are mutually dependent, the UE may calculate the second CSI based at least in part on an assumption of interference”, this shows interference is considered during CSI calculation (eq. UE without interference suppression capability))
Claim 8. Combination of HAO, GAO, SONG, and RefC teaches The remote unit of claim 5, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HAO teaches:
wherein, when the FDM scheme is assumed, - See Fig. 5, ¶ [0104], (“Based at least in part on the CSI report configuration 0 and the CSI report configuration 1 being jointly dependent and associated with a TDM scheme or an FDM scheme, UE 120 may calculate the CSI for the CSI report configuration 1 jointly with calculating the CSI for the CSI report configuration 0.”)
the interference between associated NZP CSI-RS resources – See Fig. 5, ¶ [0074], (“CSI report configuration that indicates a plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement”) is not considered as the interference for UE. – See Fig.5, ¶ [0104], (“UE 120 may calculate a same RI for the CSI report configuration 0 and the CSI report configuration 1, calculate a first CQI for the CSI report configuration 0 and a second CQI for the CSI report configuration 1 independently from one another”, this shows CQI and PMI are calculated independently under FDM (UE is not assuming interference))
Claim 9. Combination of HAO, GAO, and SONG teaches The remote unit of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HAO teaches:
wherein, when a Space Division Multiplexing (SDM) scheme is assumed, - in ¶ [0153], (“the RI pair restriction indicates one or more combinations of rank indications that are permitted to be included in a first CSI report, associated with the first CSI report configuration, and included in a second CSI report associated with the second CSI report configuration….For an RI pair restriction that allows RI pairs with different ranks, UE 120 may determine that the transmission scheme is SDM.”)
RI1+RI2<= maxRank is satisfied, where RIl is reported RI in one CSI report of the two CSI reports, and RI2 is reported RI in another CSI report of the two CSI reports, - in ¶ [0153], (“the RI pair restriction indicates one or more combinations of rank indications that are permitted to be included in a first CSI report, associated with the first CSI report configuration, and included in a second CSI report associated with the second CSI report configuration….For an RI pair restriction that allows RI pairs with different ranks, UE 120 may determine that the transmission scheme is SDM.”)
Combination of HAO, GAO, and SONG does not explicitly teach:
RI1+RI2<= maxRank is satisfied, where RIl is reported RI in one CSI report of the two CSI reports, and RI2 is reported RI in another CSI report of the two CSI reports, and
maxRank is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling for the associated two CSI reportings or pre-defined as a specified value.
However, RefC teaches:
RI1+RI2<= maxRank is satisfied, where RIl is reported RI in one CSI report of the two CSI reports, and RI2 is reported RI in another CSI report of the two CSI reports, - in ¶ [0135], (“for N=2 and RI.sub.max=4 (e.g., the maximum rank for single-TRP), then the RI-pairs (1,0), (2,0), (3,0) (4,0) are for RI={1, 2, 3, 4} of TRP 0 alone; the RI-pairs (0,1), (0,2), (0,3) (0,4) are for RI={1, 2, 3, 4} of TRP 1 alone; and the RI-pairs (1, 1), (2, 1), (1, 2) (2, 2) are for NCJT with TRP 0 and TRP 1.”, this shows the examples (1, 1), (2,1) show valid combinations of RI1 + RI2 constrained by RL_max)); ¶ [0116 – 0117], (“a first RI-pair (e.g., RI0>0, RI1=0)…A second RI-pair (e.g., RI0=0, RI1>0)”) and maxRank is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling for the associated two CSI reportings or pre-defined as a specified value. - in ¶ [0135], (“the mapping may be configured as a specified rule…for N=2 and RI.sub.max=4”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HAO, GAO, and SONG with RefC to include a constraint RI1+RI2<= maxRank and maxRank is configured by RRC signaling for the associated two CSI reportings or pre-defined as a specified value, as taught by RefC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable reliable multi-TRP operation by avoiding excess layers, as suggested by RefC, features of this disclosure provide advantages that include improved dynamic interference measurement for multiple transmission reception point (mTRP) channel state information (CSI). - ¶ [0005]
Claim 10. Combination of HAO, GAO, and SONG teaches The remote unit of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HAO teaches:
wherein, when Frequency Division Multiplexing (FDM) or a Time Division Multiplexing (TDM) scheme is assumed, - in ¶ [0153], (“…for an RI pair restriction that only allows RI pairs with the same rank, UE 120 may determine that the transmission scheme is FDM or TDM.”)
RI1=RI2<= maxRank is satisfied, where RIl is reported RI in one CSI report of the two CSI reports, and RI2 is reported RI in another CSI report of the two CSI reports, - in ¶ [0153], (“the RI pair restriction indicates one or more combinations of rank indications that are permitted to be included in a first CSI report, associated with the first CSI report configuration, and included in a second CSI report associated with the second CSI report configuration… for an RI pair restriction that only allows RI pairs with the same rank, UE 120 may determine that the transmission scheme is FDM or TDM.”)
Combination of HAO, GAO, and SONG does not explicitly teach:
RI1=RI2<= maxRank is satisfied, where RIl is reported RI in one CSI report of the two CSI reports, and RI2 is reported RI in another CSI report of the two CSI reports, and
maxRank is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling for the associated two CSI reportings or pre-defined as a specified value.
However, RefC teaches:
RI1=RI2<= maxRank is satisfied, where RIl is reported RI in one CSI report of the two CSI reports, and RI2 is reported RI in another CSI report of the two CSI reports, - in ¶ [0135], (“for N=2 and RI.sub.max=4 (e.g., the maximum rank for single-TRP), then the RI-pairs (1,0), (2,0), (3,0) (4,0) are for RI={1, 2, 3, 4} of TRP 0 alone; the RI-pairs (0,1), (0,2), (0,3) (0,4) are for RI={1, 2, 3, 4} of TRP 1 alone; and the RI-pairs (1, 1), (2, 1), (1, 2) (2, 2) are for NCJT with TRP 0 and TRP 1.”, this shows the examples (1, 1), (2,2) satisfy RI1=RI2 <= RL_max)); ¶ [0116 – 0117], (“a first RI-pair (e.g., RI0>0, RI1=0)…A second RI-pair (e.g., RI0=0, RI1>0)”) and maxRank is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling for the associated two CSI reportings or pre-defined as a specified value. - in ¶ [0135], (“the mapping may be configured as a specified rule…for N=2 and RI.sub.max=4”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HAO, GAO, and SONG with RefC to include a constraint RI1=RI2<= maxRank and maxRank is configured by RRC signaling for the associated two CSI reportings or pre-defined as a specified value, as taught by RefC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable reliable multi-TRP operation by avoiding excess layers, as suggested by RefC, features of this disclosure provide advantages that include improved dynamic interference measurement for multiple transmission reception point (mTRP) channel state information (CSI). - ¶ [0005]
Claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 5 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under the same rationale as Claim 10 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAO et al. (US 20230087003, hereinafter, “HAO”) in view of GAO et al. (US 20250119184, hereinafter, “GAO”), and further in view of SONG et al (US 20220376876, hereinafter, “SONG”), HAO et al. (US 20230061722, hereinafter, “RefC”), and Nagata et al. (US 20150229452, hereinafter, “Nagata”).
Claim 6. Combination of HAO, GAO, SONG, and RefC teaches The remote unit of claim 5, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HAO teaches:
wherein, if an NZP CSI-RS based interference measurement is configured for the associated two CSI reportings, NZP-CSI-RS resources within resource settings for interference measurement of the associated two CSI reportings associated with the paired NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement are considered in the interference calculation in each of the two CSI reports, and if the ZP CSI-RS based interference measurement is configured for the associated two CSI reportings, the same ZP CSI-RS pattern is configured for the associated two CSI reportings. - See Fig. 5, ¶ [0139], (“CSI report configuration 1 identifies CSI report configuration 0 as a reference CSI report configuration. Additionally, CSI report configuration 0 identifies CSI report configuration 1 as a reference CSI report.”)
RefC further teaches:
wherein, if an NZP CSI-RS based interference measurement is configured for the associated two CSI reportings, - in ¶ [0070], (“For interference measurement, it can be NZP CSI-RS or zero power CSI-RS, which is known as CSI-IM (note, if NZP CSI-RS, it is called NZP CSI-RS for interference measurement”); ¶ [0068], (“The BS may configure the UE…with multiple CSI report configurations.”) NZP-CSI-RS resources within resource settings for interference measurement of the associated two CSI reportings – in ¶ [0096], (“Each setting may be associated with multiple resource sets, each resource set including multiple resources….The CMRs may be resource-wise associated with a CSI-IM resource and NZP-IMR set…The UE may measure interference from the interference resources associated with the selected CMR”) associated with the paired NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement – in ¶ [0096], (“The CMRs may be resource-wise associated with a CSI-IM resource and NZP-IMR set…The NZP-IMRs and the CSI-IMs may share a Type-D QCL with the associated CMR.”) are considered in the interference calculation in each of the two CSI reports, - in ¶ [0096], (“The UE may measure interference from the interference resources associated with the selected CMR. The UE may use the interference measurements to perform interference mitigation.”) and
Combination of HAO, GAO, SONG, and RefC does not explicitly teach:
if the ZP CSI-RS based interference measurement is configured for the associated two CSI reportings, the same ZP CSI-RS pattern is configured for the associated two CSI reportings.
However, Nagata teaches:
if the ZP CSI-RS based interference measurement is configured for the associated two CSI reportings, the same ZP CSI-RS pattern is configured for the associated two CSI reportings- See Fig. 11, ¶ [0096], (“the same interference measurement zero-power CSI-RS patterns are used between transmission points or between two or more interference measurement resources.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HAO, GAO, SONG, and RefC with Nagata to include the same ZP CSI-RS pattern is configured. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve accuracy, as suggested by Nagata, an interference measurement method, whereby interference can be measured with high accuracy in future systems. - ¶ [0007]
Conclusion
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475