DETAILED ACTION
A non-final Office action was mailed 3 November 2025 (“Office Action”).
Applicant’s reply to the Office Action was received 3 February 2026 (“Reply”).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 3 February 2026 is acknowledged and has been considered.
Status of the Claims
The listing of claims filed with the Reply has been examined.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 10–12, 21–23, and 30–41 are pending.
Claims 2, 5–9, 13–20, and 24–29 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 10, 12, 21, 23, and 30–33 are amended.
Claims 34–41 are new.
Claims 3, 4, 34, 36, 38, and 39 are withdrawn.
Examiner has updated the prior art search in view of the claim amendments, and any claim rejections or objections are set forth below. The updated status of the withdrawn claims is:
Claims 3 and 4 remain withdrawn.
Claims 34, 36, 38, and 39 are rejoined and have been examined herein.
Status of Rejections and Objections
Unless repeated herein, any objection or rejection in the Office Action is withdrawn.
In the Office Action, claims were rejected as anticipated and/or obvious based on Rosen compound RN 2668959-08-6, having the structure:
. The Office Action referred to compound RN 2668959-08-6 in the citation as compound 10; however, the citation should have referred to compound 14. While Applicant’s remarks focus on compound 10, the claims have been amended to include a proviso that excludes compound 14 (when B is unsubstituted 4-pyridinyl, then A is not 3-(3-tolyl)-pyrazol-1-yl).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted with the Reply have been fully considered. Because the new grounds of rejections herein do not rely on the same basis or theory that was applied in a rejection in the Office Action, the arguments are considered moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 11 depends on claim 10 and recites “said heteroaryl.” Amended claim 10 does not recite “a heteroaryl.” Accordingly, there is insufficient antecedent basis for using definite article “the” because there is no preceding recitation of indefinite article “a” or “an.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
(ii) Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 21 depends on claim 1, which states: “A is pyrazole substituted with an optionally substituted phenyl.”
Claim 21 includes a compound without a phenyl-substituted pyrazole,
.
Claim 21 is an improper dependent claim because it fails to incorporate all the limitations of the claim it depends from and then impose a further structural requirement.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1, 10, 12, 22, 23, 30, 32, 33, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO2021/146192 (claiming the benefit of U.S. Prov. Pat. App. Serial Nos. 63/960,412, filed 13 January 2020, and 63/074,388, filed 3 September 2020) (“Rosen”) [IDS].
Rosen discloses Compound 13 having the structure:
(Rosen, ¶75).
Unlike Compound 14, which is excluded from the claim via proviso, Compound 13 does not have a 3-(3-toyl)-pyrazol-1-yl moiety and therefore reads on instant Formula I when:
A = 3-substituted-1-pyrazolyl and B = 4-pyridinyl.
Rosen discloses additional compounds that anticipate instant Formula I:
(Id.).
Rosen discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising the compound. (Id., ¶¶76–102).
Rosen discloses methods of treating a disease or disorder, such as a neurological disease, comprising administering a compound or composition in the disclosure. (Id.).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 10–12, 21–23, 30–33, 36, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen.
The Graham factors are addressed in turn below.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Rosen discloses Compound 14 (shown in rejection above).
Rosen also discloses Compounds 1, 3, 4, 8, and 10:
(Rosen, ¶75).
Each of Compounds 1, 3, 4, 8, and 10 have a phenyl moiety that is substituted with a methyl. The methyl substituent is either ortho, meta, or para to the pyrazole moiety.
Rosen discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising the compound. (Id., ¶¶76–102).
Rosen discloses methods of treating a disease or disorder, such as a neurological disease, comprising administering a compound or composition in the disclosure. (Id.).
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Claim 21 includes the compound
.
Rosen Compound 14 is a positional isomer of the claimed compound in which the methyl substituents on the respective phenyl moieties are meta and ortho to the pyrazole moiety.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
The level of one of ordinary skill may be found by inquiring into: (i) the type of problems encountered in the art; (ii) prior art solutions to those problems; (iii) the rapidity with which innovations are made; (iv) the sophistication of the technology; and (v) the education level of active workers in the field. Custom Accessories, Inc. v. Jeffrey-Allan Industries, Inc., 807 F.2d 855, 962 (Fed. Cir. 1986). All of the factors may not be present in every case, and one or more of them may predominate. Envtl. Designs, Ltd. v. Union Oil Co., 713 F.2d 693, 696 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Based on the typically high education level of workers in the pharmaceutical art and the high degree of sophistication required to solve problems encountered in the art, Examiner finds a person having ordinary skill in the art would have at least a college degree in chemistry, biology, biochemistry, pharmacology, or a related field, and several years of experience.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
The instant application does not include evidence showing an unexpected result for the claimed compound compared to Rosen Compound RN 2668959-08-6.
The question of obviousness
Based on the above factors, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant application to combine the teachings of Rosen to arrive at the above-identified compound in claim 21 because Rosen discloses Compound 14, which is identical to that compound but for their respective methyl substituents being positional isomers on the phenyl moiety. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Compound 14 to obtain positional isomers thereof, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so, because Rosen discloses Compounds 1, 3, 4, 8, and 10—each having a methyl substituent on the phenyl moiety positioned on the ortho, meta, or para positions of the phenyl. The compounds are disclosed as having the same utility (i.e., the treatment of one or more diseases or disorders). Considered as a whole, Rosen discloses and suggests positional isomers with respect to the methyl substituted on the phenyl group.
The examples and data in the specification has been considered, but there is no evidence of an unexpected property for the claimed isomer compared to Rosen Compound 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34, 35, 37–39, and 41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The compounds of Formula I when A = 1-substituted-3-pyrazole are not disclosed or suggested in Rosen or other prior art.
Summary
Claims 1, 10–12, 21–23, and 30–33, 36, and 40 are rejected.
Claims 34, 35, 37–39, and 41 are objected.
Claims 3 and 4 are withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
Communication
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/J.M.N./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623