DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 386(c) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. EP20306246.8, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. A claim by claim analysis indicated a lack of support for many of the compounds of claim 8 in application EP20306246.8, thus a priority date of 10/19/2021 was used for claim 8. The remaining claims were given a priority date of 10/20/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/20/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7, 10, 12-17 are objected to because of the following informalities: The formulas look like several of the R variables are attached to H not N. Any chemist knows this would not be logical but correction of the formulas is required. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims is objected to because of the following informalities: There is only one formula but the claim recites one of the following formulae. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claims that recite a radiosensitizer have been interpretated such that any compound of the given formula is a radiosensitizer, since no evidence to the contrary is provided. If this is not the case an enablement 112(a) rejection would be made since the specification does not provide a way to distinguish between compounds of the formulas that would be radiosensitizer and those that would not be.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 10, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, 3-7, 10, and 12-17 , the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim , the phrase " preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 8 improperly broadens the scope of claim 3 from which it depends because the aryl in the final compound of claim 8 removes a required H (N-H) that in formula (I) of claim 3. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Mailliet (Mailliet et al., US8980875B2, 2015-03-17).
The reference Mailliet teaches the following compound (reference claim 2, first compound), wherein R=R’1=alkyl group, Y1=W1=CH, R1=alkyl group, X1=iodide, R3=H and R3’= cycloalkyl.
Since the reference compound is the same as MS140 of the instant application which teaches it as a radiosensitizer this compound is also a radiosensitizer because “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F. 2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus it does not matter that the reference does not teach the compound as a radiosensitizer as the compound is one whether or not the property was known. This anticipates claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouché ( Bouché et al., Exploring diversity in platinum(IV) N-heterocyclic carbene complexes: synthesis, characterization, reactivity and biological evaluation, Dalton Trans., 2018, 47, 11491).
The reference Bouché teaches the following compound (scheme 1, compound 2), wherein R1=R2 =alkyl group, Y1-2=W1-2=CH, L=alkanediyl, R1=alkyl group, X1-X2=iodide, R3= R3’= R4=R4’= form a C6 unsaturated alkanediyl group connected to form a heteroaryl. This is included under claim 3 as can be seen in the last compound of claim 8. This helps to teach claims 1- 8.
The reference Bouché also teaches the following ligand to replace the heteroaryl group.
The reference Bouché also teaches
“ Overall, these data show that NHC-Pt(IV) compounds are good candidates as anti-cancer prodrugs”(abstract). This helps to teach claims 12 and 14.
The reference Bouché also teaches “Cancer cell lines were obtained from the American Type Culture Collection (Rockville, MD, USA) and cultured according to the supplier’s instructions. Human HCT116 colorectal carcinoma, MCF7 breast adenocarcinoma and PC3 prostate adenocarcinoma cells were grown in RPMI 1640 supplemented with 10% fetal calf serum (FCS) and 1% glutamine”(page 11501). This helps to teach claims 16.
The reference Bouché also teaches “In DMSO/water, these compounds are reduced to biologically inactive cis[(NHC)PtX2(DMSO)] species. However, the redox activation of NHC-Pt(IV) complexes was ascertained in the presence of glutathione as a model for the bioreducing agent and supports the efficient release of cytotoxic NHC-Pt(II) analogs in biological media”(page 11497). This helps to teach claim 13.
The reference Bouché does not specifically teach the compounds of claim 8, or the compounds of claims 1-3 (if claim 8 last compound is in error), the medication of claim 12, the method of claim 14 and 16, the composition of claim 13.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified Bouché to achieve the instant invention. If the last compound of claim 8 is a 112(d) error and not meant to be included under claim 3 than the compound of claim 3 are still obvious in view of the optional L group meant to replace the heteroaryl group (scheme 2) including the first 2 which are the same groups (6-membered rings) as can be seen in the second row of claim 8. Thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make this substitution. Since the only other difference between the compounds of claim 8 and the reference is the length of the linker this is also obvious because compounds which homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). The medications, compositions and methods to treat cancer with these compounds would also be obvious because the similar compounds would have a reasonable expectation to treat cancer as do their very close derivatives as taught by Bouché one would be motivated to make pharmaceutically acceptable medications with carriers to treat cancers as this is common practice for compounds that have a reasonable expectation to treat cancer.
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouché ( Bouché et al., Exploring diversity in platinum(IV) N-heterocyclic carbene complexes: synthesis, characterization, reactivity and biological evaluation, Dalton Trans., 2018, 47, 11491) in view of Li (Li et al., Current Developments in Pt(IV) Prodrugs Conjugated with Bioactive Ligands Bioinorganic Chemistry and Applications Volume 2018, Article ID 8276139, 18 pages .)
The Bouché has been discussed supra and does not disclose a conjugate of claim 10.
The reference Li teaches “Current Developments in Pt(IV) Prodrugs Conjugated with Bioactive Ligands” (title) and “To overcome the side effects of and resistance to cisplatin, a variety of Pt(IV) prodrugs were designed and synthesized via different modifications including combination with lipid chains to increase hydrophobicity, conjugation with short peptide chains or nanoparticles to improve drug delivery, or addition of bioactive ligands to the axial positions of Pt(IV) complexes to exert dual function effects is review summarizes the recent progress in the development of Pt(IV) prodrugs conjugated with bioactivetargeting ligands, including histone deacetylase inhibitors, p53 agonists, alkylating agents, and nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory agents. Although Pt(IV) complexes that conjugated with bioactive ligands show satisfactory anticancer effects, none has been approved for clinical use. .erefore, we hope that this review will contribute to further study and development of Pt(IV) complexes conjugated with bioactive and other ligands”(abstract) and “However, VAAP not only
efficiently attached to the cell membrane but also improved the cytosolic platinum concentration, resulting in enhanced cytotoxicity”(2.1.1). This helps to teach claim 10.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified Bouché with Li because both teach Pt complexes for cancer treatment. One would be motivated to combine the references because the bioactive conjugated ligands would help direct drug delivery to specific cancer cells. One would have a reasonable expectation of success since this has already been tried with other Pt complexes.
Claim(s) 1-8, 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouché ( Bouché et al., Exploring diversity in platinum(IV) N-heterocyclic carbene complexes: synthesis, characterization, reactivity and biological evaluation, Dalton Trans., 2018, 47, 11491) in view of Fong (Fong, Clifford, Platinum based radiochemotherapies: Free radical mechanisms and radiotherapy sensitizers, Free Radical Biology and Medicine 99 (2016) 99–109).
The Bouché has been discussed supra and does not disclose a radiotherapy of claim 15 or 17.
The reference Fong teaches “Platinum based radiochemotherapies: Free radical mechanisms and radiotherapy sensitizers”(title) and “The radiosensitizing ability of Pt drugs can in the first instance be predicted based on the ease that they undergo activation by electron attachment accompanied by structural modification prior to forming Pt-DNA adducts.”(abstract). The reference also teaches “Radiation therapy is a technique often used in the treatment of cancer, particularly when the tumour is confined to a certain area in the body that can be physically targeted) (introduction).This helps to teach claims 15 and 17.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified Bouché with Fong because they both teach Pt compounds for cancer treatment. One would have been motivated to use Pt compounds in combination with radiotherapy because Fong teaches that the majority of drugs used in clinical oncology (introduction) have radiosensitizing properties thus one would have a reasonable expectation of success and would be motivated to treat cancer.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 8481522 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct.
The patent ‘522 claims trans-diiodo(N-cyclohexylamine)(1,3-dimethylimidazol-2-ylidene)platinum(II) ( reference claim 6), wherein R=R’1=alkyl group, Y1=W1=CH, R1=alkyl group, X1=iodide, R3=H and R3’= cycloalkyl. This anticipates claims 1-2.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. US 8980875 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct.
The patent ‘875 the following compound (reference claim 2, first compound), wherein R=R’1=alkyl group, Y1=W1=CH, R1=alkyl group, X1=iodide, R3=H and R3’= cycloalkyl.
This anticipates claims 1-2.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9040513 B2 in view of US 8980875 B2.
The patent ‘513 claims the following:
The patent ‘513 does not teach a specific compound of claims 1-2.
Patent ‘875 has been discussed above and teaches a compound of claims 1-2 that is also a compound of reference claim 1.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified patent ‘513 with patent ‘875 because it is clear that the compounds of patent ‘875 fit the formula of patent ‘513 thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make these compounds from patent ‘513. One would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because these compounds are already known to be made successfully in the art and thus have known methods of synthesis.
Conclusion
Claims 1-8, 10, 12-17 are rejected.
Claim 9 is objected too.
/A.A.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627