DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 19, 71, 79, 83, 86, 90, 92 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. “Kim” US 20190082408 in view of Lin US 2022/0287048 and further in view of Nishio et al. “Nishio” US 2023/0049008
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a baseband (BB) processor (Figure 11 and paragraph 293 teaches baseband processing) for a user equipment (UE) operating in a network with a base station, configured to perform operations comprising:
Receiving, from a base station, a timing offset indication signal comprising a time offset (a base station sends a TA command to the UE (i.e. time offset indication). The offset is a time difference between UL and DL between a base station and UE; Paragraphs 209 and 212. TA means a timing offset; Paragraph 171);
Receiving, from a base station, timing information (a base station sends another (i.e. second) TA command to the UE using a MAC-CE; Paragraph 211. TA means a timing offset; Paragraph 171, thus this is a subsequent time offset. The term “Relative value” bears no real meaning thus any offset value is viewed as the relative value); and
Determining an updated time offset (based on the received second TA command, the UE performs a TA modification/update using the received TA value; Paragraphs 211-212. Thus, the first TA is updated with the second TA offset. The modification/update is the adjustment.
Kim does not expressly disclose sending/receiving time offsets, or updated time offsets, in a NTN network; however, Lin teaches a base station sending UE and cell specific time offset information to a UE; Figures 8 and 9, see paragraphs 105. The base station can be a NTN base station; Paragraph 107.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Kim to include UE/cell-specific offset information and operating in a NTN environment as taught by Lin.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that information can be properly transmit from a UE to the base station in according with the scheduled timing as taught by Lin; Paragraph 105 and also to provide the flexibility of operating on various networks including NTN; Paragraph 107.
The prior art does not teach or suggest timing drift rates being used to determine offsets (updated offsets) and sending updates to the base station; however, Nishio teaches information sent to a UE from a base station can including timing drift rates of the propagation delay. The terminal may use this received information to calculate TA offsets (i.e. determine updated offsets based on timing drift); Paragraph 118. Further, the terminal can adjust the timing (i.e. update) and the base station is notified of this TA adjustment in the TA value report; Paragraphs 123-124 see figure 8 Steps s101-s104.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include timing drift rates used to calculate offsets as taught by Nishio.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that based on received signaling from a base station, the UE can calculate the TA offset at a current time from the cell-specific offset as taught by Nishio; Paragraph 118.
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches a baseband (BB) processor for a base station operating in a network with a User Equipment, configured to perform operations comprising:
sending, to the UE, a timing offset indication signal comprising a time offset (a base station sends a TA command to the UE (i.e. time offset indication). The offset is a time difference between UL and DL between a base station and UE; Paragraphs 209 and 212. TA means a timing offset; Paragraph 171);
sending, to the UE, timing offset indication signal (a base station sends another (i.e. second) TA command to the UE using a MAC-CE; Paragraph 211. TA means a timing offset; Paragraph 171, thus this is a subsequent time offset).
Kim does not expressly disclose sending/receiving UE/cell-specific time offsets in a NTN network; however, Lin teaches a base station sending UE and cell specific time offset information to a UE; Figures 8 and 9, see paragraphs 105. The base station can a NTN base station; Paragraph 107.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Kim to include UE/cell-specific offset information and operating in a NTN environment as taught by Lin.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that information can be properly transmit from a UE to the base station in according with the scheduled timing as taught by Lin; Paragraph 105 and also to provide the flexibility of operating on various networks including NTN; Paragraph 107.
The prior art does not teach or suggest timing drift rates being used to determine offsets (updated offsets); however, Nishio teaches information sent to a UE from a base station can including timing drift rates of the propagation delay. The terminal may use this received information to calculate TA offsets (i.e. determine updated offsets based on timing drift); Paragraph 118. Further, the terminal can adjust the timing (i.e. update) and the base station is notified of this TA adjustment in the TA value report; Paragraphs 123-124 see figure 8 Steps s101-s104.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include timing drift rates used to calculate offsets as taught by Nishio.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that based on received signaling from a base station, the UE can calculate the TA offset at a current time from the cell-specific offset as taught by Nishio; Paragraph 118.
Regarding claim 71, Kim teaches a method for operating user equipment (UE) in a network, comprising:
Receiving, from a base station, a timing offset indication signal comprising a time offset (a base station sends a TA command to the UE (i.e. time offset indication). The offset is a time difference between UL and DL between a base station and UE; Paragraphs 209 and 212. TA means a timing offset; Paragraph 171);
Determining an updated time offset (based on the received second TA command, the UE performs a TA modification/update using the received TA value; Paragraphs 211-212. Thus, the first TA is updated with the second TA offset. The modification/update is the adjustment. Further, the claims states the time offset is adjusted according to the relative time offset. As both of these offsets are known prior to the modification, the modification is seen as “According to” the relative time offset value. Further, paragraphs 229-330 disclose the use of the TA MAC-CE for syncing between the UE and base station (Communication)).
Kim does not expressly disclose sending/receiving UE/cell-specific time offsets in a NTN network; however, Lin teaches a base station sending UE and cell specific time offset information to a UE; Figures 8 and 9, see paragraphs 105. The base station can be a NTN base station; Paragraph 107.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Kim to include UE/cell-specific offset information and operating in a NTN environment as taught by Lin.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that information can be properly transmit from a UE to the base station in according with the scheduled timing as taught by Lin; Paragraph 105 and also to provide the flexibility of operating on various networks including NTN; Paragraph 107.
The prior art does not teach or suggest timing drift rates being used to determine offsets (updated offsets); however, Nishio teaches information sent to a UE from a base station can including timing drift rates of the propagation delay. The terminal may use this received information to calculate TA offsets (i.e. determine updated offsets based on timing drift); Paragraph 118. Further, the terminal can adjust the timing (i.e. update) and the base station is notified of this TA adjustment in the TA value report; Paragraphs 123-124 see figure 8 Steps s101-s104.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include timing drift rates used to calculate offsets as taught by Nishio.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that based on received signaling from a base station, the UE can calculate the TA offset at a current time from the cell-specific offset as taught by Nishio; Paragraph 118.
Regarding claim 79, Kim does not teach slots being the offset; however, Lin teaches offset information can be a number of slots; Paragraphs 83 and 91.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Kim to include the cell-specific offset information to include a number of slots as taught by Lin.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that information can be properly transmit from a UE to the base station in according with the scheduled timing as taught by Lin; Paragraph 105 and also to provide the flexibility of operating on various networks including NTN; Paragraph 107.
Regarding claim 83, Kim does not teach slots being the offset; however, Lin teaches offset information can be a number of slots; Paragraphs 83 and 91.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Kim to include the cell-specific offset information to include a number of slots as taught by Lin.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that information can be properly transmit from a UE to the base station in according with the scheduled timing as taught by Lin; Paragraph 105 and also to provide the flexibility of operating on various networks including NTN; Paragraph 107.
Regarding claim 86, The prior art does not teach or suggest the drift rate is a common drift rate; however, Nishio teaches information sent to a UE from a base station can including timing drift rates of the propagation delay. This information is broadcast from the base station thus viewed as common because a broadcast will go to more than one device; Paragraph 118.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include common drift rates as taught by Nishio.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that based on received signaling from a base station, the UE can calculate the TA offset at a current time from the cell-specific offset as taught by Nishio; Paragraph 118.
Regarding claim 90, The prior art does not teach or suggest the drift rate is a common drift rate; however, Nishio teaches information sent to a UE from a base station can including timing drift rates of the propagation delay. This information is broadcast from the base station thus viewed as common because a broadcast will go to more than one device; Paragraph 118.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include common drift rates as taught by Nishio.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that based on received signaling from a base station, the UE can calculate the TA offset at a current time from the cell-specific offset as taught by Nishio; Paragraph 118.
Regarding claim 92, The prior art does not teach or suggest the drift rate is a common drift rate; however, Nishio teaches information sent to a UE from a base station can including timing drift rates of the propagation delay. This information is broadcast from the base station thus viewed as common because a broadcast will go to more than one device; Paragraph 118.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include common drift rates as taught by Nishio.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that based on received signaling from a base station, the UE can calculate the TA offset at a current time from the cell-specific offset as taught by Nishio; Paragraph 118.
Claim(s) 76, 80 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lin in view of Nishio and further in view of Aldana et al. “Aldana” US 2020/0120458
Regarding claim 76, While the prior art teaches long propagation delays for NTN and the time offset is indicative of delay between UL/DL, the prior art does not expressly disclose value is at least 2x the propagation delay; however, Aldana teaches satellite networks (Paragraphs 167 and 828). Aldana further teaches multiple timing advances (TAs) which are provided by network nodes (Paragraph 615). TA1 and TA2 can be equal to twice the propagation delay; Paragraphs 813 and 814.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Kim to include operating in a satellite network and having the TA values be at least 2X the propagation delay as taught by Aldana.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UL and DL can arrive simultaneously at the network node and in sync with the terminal devices timing schedule as taught by Aldana; Paragraph 813.
Regarding claim 80, While the prior art teaches long propagation delays for NTN and the time offset is indicative of delay between UL/DL, the prior art does not expressly disclose value is at least 2x the propagation delay; however, Aldana teaches satellite networks (Paragraphs 167 and 828). Aldana further teaches multiple timing advances (TAs) which are provided by network nodes (Paragraph 615). TA1 and TA2 can be equal to twice the propagation delay; Paragraphs 813 and 814.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Kim to include operating in a satellite network and having the TA values be at least 2X the propagation delay as taught by Aldana.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UL and DL can arrive simultaneously at the network node and in sync with the terminal devices timing schedule as taught by Aldana; Paragraph 813.
Claim(s) 89, 95 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view Lin in view of Nishio and further in view of Kung et al. “Kung” US 2020/0351855
Regarding claim 89, the prior art does not disclose the user sending an offset update notification signal including to the base station upon determining a TA value exceeds a threshold; however, Kung teaches that a device sends a second signal to the base station. This information includes timing/offset information; Paragraph 557. Further, this timing offset information is used for updating the first and/or second information which is sent/received between the UE and base station. This information is updated from a fixed time period to a different fixed time period in response to a value indicated in the RRC. As this value would be different, this is viewed as a threshold being exceeded; Paragraph 575. The Examiner suggests better defining what the threshold value is to better define the claim language and overcome the interpretation of the Examiner.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include sending updated offset information to the base station as taught by Kung.
One would be motivated to make the modification such the UE and base station can properly sync up for sending/receiving data on the proper time/frequency resources as taught by Kung; Paragraphs 557 and 575.
Regarding claim 95, the prior art does not disclose the user sending an offset update notification signal including to the base station upon determining a TA value exceeds a threshold; however, Kung teaches that a device sends a second signal to the base station. This information includes timing/offset information; Paragraph 557. Further, this timing offset information is used for updating the first and/or second information which is sent/received between the UE and base station. This information is updated from a fixed time period to a different fixed time period in response to a value indicated in the RRC. As this value would be different, this is viewed as a threshold being exceeded; Paragraph 575. The Examiner suggests better defining what the threshold value is to better define the claim language and overcome the interpretation of the Examiner.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include sending updated offset information to the base station as taught by Kung.
One would be motivated to make the modification such the UE and base station can properly sync up for sending/receiving data on the proper time/frequency resources as taught by Kung; Paragraphs 557 and 575.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 87, 88, 91, 93, 94 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 15-17, 19, 71-85 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411