DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to the communication filed on 11/24/2025.
2. Claims 1-10 and 12 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
5. Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 10 and 12 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1, 5, 10, and 12: the limitation “the receiver node” should be “the one of the receiver nodes” referring back to the limitation “one of the receiver nodes”.
In claims 1, 10 and 12, the limitation “said receiving node” lack an antecedent basis. The limitation should be “the one of the receiver nodes” referring back to the limitation “one of the receiver nodes”.
In claims 2 and 5, the limitation “the router node” should be “the one of the router nodes” referring back to the limitation “one of the router nodes” in claim 1.
In claims 6-7: the limitation “the at least one packet” lacks an antecedent basis. The limitation should be “at least one of the packets” referring back to the limitation “packets” in claim 1.
Appropriate correction(s) is/are required.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10/20/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: Sebayashi does not disclose that a repeater device receives, in a single message, a plurality of expected values of a protection parameter from a device associated with the receiving node. Furthermore, Sebayashi does not disclose "receiving said at least one packet from one of the transmitting nodes, said at least one packet being destined said receiving node and comprising said protection parameter in at least one field of said at least one packet," as recited in claim 1.
Applicant’s support: Sebayashi discloses signatures that are sets of conditions (traffic attributes, thresholds, etc.). These signatures are generated by a repeater device, based on network traffic analysis. These signatures are not "expected values" of a protection parameter to be compared against a field of a packet. They are sets of filtering criteria used by the repeater device to decide how to process the traffic. The filtering performed in Sebayashi consists of comparing the packet's attributes (IP address, port, etc.) against each locally stored signature. There is no single field in the packet (protection parameter) whose value would be compared against a plurality of expected values received from a receiver node. Accordingly, the mechanism described by Sebayashi is a multi- rule filtering approach (each signature being a rule), rather than a comparison against a list of expected values received from a receiver node.
Examiner’s response: The examiner respectfully directs applicant’s attention to see Sebayashi, figs. 1, 2 and para. 129, where a legitimate signature (i.e., a message comprises a legitimate signature as a protection parameter) is received from an adjacent repeater device (i.e., a device associated with a server or a communication terminal/equipment; see paras. 96, 127 where a legitimate signature includes attributes (e.g., source IP address, destination IP address, protocol, etc.) having values (e.g., source =172.16.10.24, destination =192.168.1.1/32, etc.) (i.e., expected values of a legitimate signature in at least one field such as source IP address and/or destination IP address of the packet) indicating characteristics of the legitimate packet; see paras. 102, 115 where a packet is received from a server or a communication equipment, and transmitted/passed to a communication equipment or a server without restriction when the packet has a legitimate signature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sebayashi et al. (US 2007/0166051 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 10 and 12:
Sebayashi discloses a device for prioritizing at least one packet in a network composed of router nodes routing packets and of transmitter and receiver nodes transmitting and receiving the packets, the device being implemented in one of the router nodes that is connected to one of the receiver nodes (see fig. 1 and paras. 102-103 where a repeater device/router (i.e., device) controls the passage of a packet in a network comprising repeater devices/routers (i.e., routers nodes routing packets) and of servers and communication terminals/equipment (i.e., transmitter and receiver nodes transmitting and receiving the packets) based on a signature of the packet, wherein the packet corresponding to a legitimate signature is enabled to pass without restriction (i.e., prioritizing the packet)) and comprising:
a receiver (see fig. 2 for a packet acquiring unit);
(see fig. 2 for a network interfacing unit);
at least one processor; and at least one memory (see para. 113):
receiving a message comprising multiple expected values of a protection parameter, from a device associated with the receiver node; receiving said at least one packet from one of the transmitting nodes, said at least one packet being destined for said receiving node and comprising said protection parameter in at least one field of said at least one packet; and prioritizing said at least one packets when the value of said protection parameter corresponds to one of said expected values (see figs. 1, 2 and para. 129 where a legitimate signature (i.e., a message comprises a legitimate signature as a protection parameter) is received from an adjacent repeater device (i.e., a device associated with a server or a communication terminal/equipment); see paras. 96, 127 where a legitimate signature includes attributes (e.g., source IP address, destination IP address, protocol, etc.) having values (e.g., source =172.16.10.24, destination =192.168.1.1/32, etc.) (i.e., expected values of a legitimate signature in at least one field such as source IP address and/or destination IP address of the packet) indicating characteristics of the legitimate packet; see paras. 102, 115 where a packet is received from a server or a communication equipment, and transmitted/passed to a communication equipment or a server without restriction when the packet has a legitimate signature)).
Regarding claim(s) 2:
Sebayashi discloses:
placing the packets in a queue having access to one or more output interfaces of the router node, the access having priority over at least one other queue (see fig. 2 and para. 134 where legitimate packets are inputted into a legitimate cue (i.e., queue) to be outputted to another repeater device, a server, or a communications terminal).
Regarding claim(s) 3:
Sebayashi discloses:
filtering packets not comprising one of the expected values of the protection parameter (see fig. 9 and paras. 97, 150).
Regarding claim(s) 4:
Sebayashi discloses:
wherein the filtering comprises blocking, or destroying, or lowering the priority of the packets not comprising one of the expected values of the protection parameter (see fig. 9 and para. 134).
Regarding claim(s) 5:
Sebayashi discloses:
transmitting the message comprising the expected values of the protection parameter to a router node neighboring the router node connected to the receiver node (see paras. 127, 129).
Regarding claim(s) 8:
Sebayashi discloses:
wherein the at least one field comprising the protection parameter is one or more of the fields selected from a list consisting of: "Security Parameters Index" (SPI) of Internet Protocol security (IPsec),"Protocol" of Internet Protocol version 4 (IPv4),"Next Header" of Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6),"Flow Label" of IPv6,Source Internet Protocol (IP) address, or destination IP address, or source port, or destination port, of IPv4 or IPv6,"Key" of Generic Routing Encapsulation (GRE), and Segment List, or Segment List [n], or Tag, or hash-based message authentication code (HMAC) tag-length-value (TLV) of Segment Routing IPv6 (Segment Routing IPv6 (SRv6)) (see paras. 96, 119, and/or 127).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebayashi in view of Chien (US 2018/0131718 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 6:
Sebayashi discloses:
wherein the protection parameter is contained in a destination [Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6)] address of the at least one packet (see para. 127 where legitimate IP packet(s) is/are communicated to a legitimate user associated with a destination IP address).
Sebayashi does not, but Chien discloses:
Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) address (see Chien, para. 24, for IPV6 addresses).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sebayashi's invention by enhancing it for Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) address, as taught by Chien, in order for associating flow control rules with IPV6 addresses (see Chien, para. 24).
9. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebayashi in view of Waters, JR et al. (US 2014/0373140 A1, hereafter Waters).
Regarding claim(s) 7:
Sebayashi does not, but Waters discloses:
wherein the at least one packet is received through is an Internet Protocol security (IPsec) tunnel or an Internet Protocol (IP) tunnel (see Waters, para. 32, where packet(s) is/are transmitted over a network to an IP address through a tunnel (i.e., IP tunnel)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sebayashi's invention by enhancing it for the flow is an IPsec tunnel or an IP tunnel, as taught by Waters, in order to scrub packets transmitted to an IP address through a tunnel (see Waters, para. 32).
10. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebayashi in view of Iqbal et al. (US 12120128 B1).
Regarding claim(s) 9:
Sebayashi discloses:
wherein the message comprising the expected values of the protection parameter is a message [in accordance with a protocol selected from the group consisting of: Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) Flow Spec, Network Configuration Protocol (NETCONF), Representational State Transfer Configuration (RESTCONF), Command line interface (CLI), Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Application Program Interface (API) Representational State Transfer Configuration (REST), and API] (see fig. 1 and para. 129 where a repeater device receives legitimate signature(s) from an adjacent repeater device over a network; see paras. 96, 127 where a legitimate signature includes attributes, e.g., source IP address, destination IP address, protocol, etc. (i.e., expected values of a legitimate signature) indicating characteristics of the legitimate packet).
Sebayashi does not, but Iqbal discloses:
a message in accordance with a protocol selected from the group consisting of: Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) Flow Spec, Network Configuration Protocol (NETCONF), Representational State Transfer Configuration (RESTCONF), Command line interface (CLI), Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Application Program Interface (API) Representational State Transfer Configuration (REST), and API (see Iqbal, col. 1, lines 11-14, where a router uses BGP protocol to send/receive routing information to/from another router).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sebayashi's invention by enhancing it for a message in accordance with a protocol selected from the group consisting of: Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) Flow Spec, Network Configuration Protocol (NETCONF), Representational State Transfer Configuration (RESTCONF), Command line interface (CLI), Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Application Program Interface (API) Representational State Transfer Configuration (REST), and API, as taught by Iqbal, in order to enable routing devices to use BGP protocol to exchange routing information (see Iqbal, col. 1, lines 11-13).
Conclusion
/HUAN V DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499