DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species VIII, claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12-15 in the reply filed on 17 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 December 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function, or the specification provides more than a single example of the structure, materials, or acts necessary to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for fastening” and “chamfering means” in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the term "advantageously" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nygards (US 5,000,629).
Regarding claim 1, Nygards discloses a device 10 for chamfering a pipe end (top of pipe 46, see figure 6; device 10 may be used to form an inwardly facing chamfer in the pipe end), the device comprising a body part 20, in the body part, means for fastening (center hole, see figures 4 and 6) it to an adapter 12 to be placed in a chuck 14 of a handheld drill 16, at least two formed parts 42 facing forward from the body part (see figure 3), which are adaptable to settle inside a pipe 46 to be chamfered (see figure 6), and on the outer rim of the body part, chamfering means 28 for chamfering an outer edge of an end of the pipe (to form an inwardly facing chamfer in the pipe end).
Regarding claim 2, Nygards discloses wherein the chamfering means 28 are plate parts bent forward (as the direction “forward” is not defined by the claim, the cutting blades 28 are seen to meet this limitation) from a plate-like body blank 20.
Regarding claim 3, Nygards discloses wherein the formed parts 42 are plate parts bent forward from a plate-like body blank 20.
Regarding claim 4, Nygards discloses wherein the chamfering means 28 have a machining edge 32 at a chamfering angle (approximately 45 degrees, see figure 6), and at the end of the chamfering means, outward at an angle (approximately 90 degrees, see figure 6) greater than the chamfering angle, an edge 36.
Regarding claim 6, Nygards discloses wherein the chamfering means 28 are adapted in a rearward slanting position in relation to a direction of rotation (as seen in figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Nygards discloses wherein the body part 20 has at least three formed parts 42 facing forward (as the direction “forward” is not defined by the claim, the skirts 42 are seen to meet this limitation) from the body part, which are adaptable to settle inside the pipe 46 being chamfered (any number of skirts 42 may be used, see column 3, lines 29-31).
Regarding claim 14, Nygards discloses wherein the means for fastening the body part 20 to an adapter 12 placed in a chuck 14 of a handheld drill 16 comprise a centre hole of the body part (see figures 4 and 6), and in connection with the centre hole a threaded part (bottom portion of shank 12) provided with an inside thread (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 15, Nygards discloses wherein the formed parts 42 are plate parts bent forward from a plate-like body blank 20.
Claims 1, 9-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Herritz et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0316370 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Herritz et al. discloses a device 10 for chamfering (outer cutting blades 46 will form a chamfer in the pipe end) a pipe end 60, the device comprising a body part 14, in the body part, means for fastening 38 it to an adapter 12/24 to be placed in a chuck of a handheld drill (see paragraph [0035]), at least two formed parts 44 facing forward from the body part, which are adaptable to settle inside a pipe 26 to be chamfered, and on the outer rim of the body part, chamfering means 46 for chamfering an outer edge of an end of the pipe (outer cutting blades 46 will form a chamfer in the pipe end).
Regarding claim 9, Herritz et al. discloses wherein the body part 14 has at least three formed parts 44 facing forward from the body part, which are adaptable to settle inside the pipe 26 being chamfered.
Regarding claim 10, Herritz et al. discloses wherein the formed parts 44 are so formed that when the device 10 is being used they are adapted to remove burrs from the end of the pipe 26 (see paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Herritz et al. discloses wherein the device has chamfering means 46 at two distances, at least, from the centre of rotation (see figure 3), and similarly, formed parts 44 at two distances (see figure 3), at least, inside each chamfering means whereby the device is adapted to be used for chamfering ends of at least two pipes having different diameters (see paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 13, Herritz et al. discloses wherein the chamfering means 46 and formed parts 44 are plate parts bent forward (the term “bent” only requires that the parts form an angle relative to the body part) from a plate-like body blank so that the inner chamfering means are of the same structure as the outer formed part (as seen in figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nygards.
Regarding claim 7, Nygards discloses the invention as claimed, except Nygards does not distinctly disclose wherein the chamfering means are at angle of 30 to 89° in relation to the body part, being silent as to the angle. However, this angle is a result-effective variable because it can be optimized by an operator to provide an optimum chamfered angle to a pipe end. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the chamfering angle to be within the claimed range for the purpose of providing a desired chamfered angle in the pipe end, because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 25 February 2026