DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-3, 5, 7-9) and Species (a) (claim 7) in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/20/2026.
Claims 8,9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/20/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the dispersant-containing layer includes an an aminoamide or a polyesterpolyamine copolymer…”, which Examiner suggests amending to “wherein the dispersant-containing layer includes an aminoamide or a polyesterpolyamine copolymer…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US20190348707A1), in view of Block (WO1997044841A1, copy attached) and evidenced by Mcculloch (WO2021028519A1, copy attached).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, Ito discloses an all-solid-state battery (title; solid secondary battery 1 in Fig 1) comprising a cathode layer (positive electrode layer 10 in Fig 1), an anode layer (negative electrode layer 20), and a solid electrolyte layer (solid electrolyte layer 30 in Fig 1) disposed between the cathode layer and the anode layer [0077].
Ito does not disclose a specific example wherein “at least one of the cathode layer, the anode layer, and the solid electrolyte layer is a dispersant-containing layer including at least a solid electrolyte and a dispersant” as claimed.
However, Ito further discloses wherein the positive active material layer may include a positive active material and a solid electrolyte [0080], and may further include an additive such as a dispersing agent [0086]. Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added a solid electrolyte and a dispersing agent, with a reasonable expectation to improve dispersion and ionic conductivity of the positive active material layer [0071].
However, Ito does not disclose “wherein the dispersant-containing layer includes an aminoamide or a polyesterpolyamine copolymer as the dispersant” as claimed.
In this regard, Block teaches an electrolyte-electrode composite (see Example 3 in pg 10 lines 25-32) comprising active material (i.e., LMO), solid polymer electrolyte, and polyester/polyamine dispersants (“Hypermer KD1”). Block explicitly teaches that Hypermer KD1 polyester/polyamine, when used as a dispersant in forming polymer electrode compositions, both anode and cathode, produces a significant viscosity reduction without deteriorating the electrochemical performance, while also enabling to obtain higher loadings of electrically active powder in the electrode (see Table I in pg 11; lines 3-5; pg 7-8).
Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the cathode layer of Ito such that it includes a solid polymer electrolyte and a polyester/polyamine dispersant, with a reasonable expectation to provide a cathode electrode having good dispersion and high loadings of cathode active material in the electrode (pg 11, lines 3-5; see also MPEP 2144.05 (I)). Examiner notes that Claim 5 further limits a limitation in the alternative (“wherein the aminoamide includes at least one of an unsaturated polyaminoamide and alkylolaminoamide”), but neither Claim 1 nor claim 5 currently positively require the aminoamide to have been selected (“the dispersant-containing layer includes an aminoamide or a polyesterpolyamine copolymer as the dispersant”).
Block does not teach an amine value or a weight-average molecular weight of the dispersant Hypermer KD1. In this regard, McCulloch evidences an amine value and a weight-average molecular weight of the Hypermer KD1 dispersant, wherein:
the amine value is 30.3 mgKOH/g (see Table 1 in pg 17 - McCulloch) which falls within the claimed range of “20 mgKOH/g or more and 200 mgKOH/g or less” (claim 1) and “0 mgKOH/g or more and 50 mgKOH/g or less” (claim 3)
the weight-average molecular weight is 10000 g/mol (see Table 1 in pg 17 - McCulloch) which is within both “less than 1,500,000 g/mol” (claim 1) and “300 g/mol or more and 150,000 g/mol or less” (claim 2)
Ito further does not disclose an amount of dispersion agent. In this regard, Block recognizes that the amount of Hypermer KDI (0-4.0 wt%) affects viscosity reduction rate (see Table VI and Table VII) and further teaches wherein:
a proportion of the dispersant in the dispersant-containing layer is 0-4.0 parts (see Table VI and Table VII), which overlaps with the claimed range of “0.1 weight% or more and 20 weight% or less”.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added the overlapping amount of dispersant with a reasonable expectation to reduce the viscosity thereby permitting high loading of active material in the electrode layer (Pg 7, lines 28-32; pg 8 lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ito discloses the all solid state battery according to claim 1, wherein the cathode layer is the dispersant-containing layer (modified above). Ito further discloses wherein the use of solid electrolyte improves safety and ion conductivity [0008], but does not disclose a wt% range of the solid electrolyte in the cathode layer.
In this regard, Block further teaches wherein the cathode slurry comprises 21-29 wt% of solid electrolyte (See Table VII), which is within the claimed range of “10 weight% or more and 30 weight% or less”. A person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably select the encompassed wt% of solid electrolyte with a reasonable expectation to provide a cathode slurry having improved ionic conductivity and viscosity for easy mixing and extrusion ([Ito 0008]; pg 5 lines 10-12).
Conclusion
/T.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 2/23/2026