This office action is in response to remarks filed on 12/11/2025.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 13-16, 20, 23, 26-28, 30-33, and 35 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
Objection to the specification due to the title is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 13-15, 26-27, and 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgovanovic et al (US11153678B1) (hereinafter "Jorgovanovic") in view of Coulon et al (US20150043568A1) (hereinafter "Coulon").
Regarding claim 1, Jorgovanovic discloses a method of communicating, comprising:
receiving, at a first headset, at least one input from a user (Col. 7, Ln. 7-10: The microphones of the first wireless headphone 106(1) may capture the utterance of the first user 100 and transmit, via the third communication channel 114, audio data representing the utterance.), wherein the at least one input is indicative of a request for voice communication with at least one second headset (Col. 6, Ln. 57-62: the first wireless headphone 106(1) may establish the third communication channel 114 and/or may issue an instruction, via the second communication channel 112, for the second wireless headphone 106(2) to establish the third communication channel 114 with the first wireless headphone 106(1));
generating, via the first headset, a voice communication channel between the first headset and the at least one second headset upon receiving the at least one input; and (Col. 14, Ln. 3-6: the first wireless headphone 106(1) may establish a second communication channel 112 with a second wireless headphone 106(2).).
Jorgovanovic fails to disclose a method, comprising: generating, through the voice communication channel, a voice communication session between the first headset and the at least one second headset, wherein the voice communication session allows voice communication between the first headset and the at least one second headset in a full-duplex communication mode.
However, Coulon discloses a method, comprising: generating, through the voice communication channel, a voice communication session between the first headset and the at least one second headset, wherein the voice communication session allows voice communication between the first headset and the at least one second headset in a full-duplex communication mode ([0054] This headset is thus wireless multi-user communicating, and more specifically, a headset including a built-in wireless autonomous vocal communication device, communicating in "conference" or "full-duplex" mode with at least one other similar headset.).
Jorgovanovic and Coulon are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for wireless headset-based communication arrangements to communicate with other subscriber units.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Jorgovanovic with Coulon to create a method, comprising: generating, through the voice communication channel, a voice communication session between the first headset and the at least one second headset, wherein the voice communication session allows voice communication between the first headset and the at least one second headset in a full-duplex communication mode.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to combine the functionality of a hands-free headset and the functionality of inter-headset communication into a single headset apparatus.
Regarding claim 2, Jorgovanovic discloses the method, wherein the voice communication channel is a direct wireless communication channel between the first headset and the at least one second headset (Col. 2, Ln. 26-34: The first wireless headphone and the second wireless headphone may directly or indirectly communicatively couple via one or more communication channels, such as Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), near-field magnetic induction (NFMI), ZigBee, Z-wave, Bluetooth hands-free profile (HFP) protocol, Wi-Fi, adaptive frequency technology (AFT), or the like. The first wireless headphone and the mobile device may communicatively couple via one or more communication channels, such as Bluetooth.).
Regarding claim 3, Jorgovanovic discloses the method, wherein the voice communication channel between the first headset and the at least one second headset is generated through a wireless local area network (Col. 2, Ln. 26-34: The first wireless headphone and the second wireless headphone may directly or indirectly communicatively couple via one or more communication channels, such as Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), near-field magnetic induction (NFMI), ZigBee, Z-wave, Bluetooth hands-free profile (HFP) protocol, Wi-Fi, adaptive frequency technology (AFT), or the like. The first wireless headphone and the mobile device may communicatively couple via one or more communication channels, such as Bluetooth.).
Regarding claim 6, Jorgovanovic discloses the method, further comprising generating a first alert upon generation of the voice communication session between the first headset and the at least one second headset (Col. 14, Ln. 66-67 and Col. 15, Ln. 1-5: In some instances, the first wireless headphone 106(1) may transmit the request (i.e., the signal S318) via the second communication channel 112. The second wireless headphone 106(2) may transmit an acknowledgement, such as signal S320, to the first wireless headphone 106(1) upon establishing the third communication channel 114).
Regarding claim 13, Jorgovanovic discloses a system comprising:
a first headset comprising a processor and a wireless communication interface; and at least one second headset (Col. 8, Ln. 21-26: FIG. 2 illustrates selected functional components of the first wireless headphone 106(1), the second wireless headphone 106(2), and the remote computing resource(s) 116. Beginning with the first wireless headphone 106(1), the first wireless headphone 106(1) may include one or more processor(s) 200 and memory 202 … Col. 9, Ln. 25-33: The first wireless headphone 106(1) may include interface(s) 208 to communicate over the network 118 to directly or indirectly send and receive data with various computing devices, such as the mobile device 108 and/or the remote computing resource(s) 116. The interface(s) 208 may enable the first wireless headphone 106(1) to communicate over any type of network, such as wireless networks (e.g., Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Personal Area Networks, Wide Area Networks, and so forth).);
wherein the processor of the first headset is configured to:
receive at least one input from a user (Col. 7, Ln. 7-10: The microphones of the first wireless headphone 106(1) may capture the utterance of the first user 100 and transmit, via the third communication channel 114, audio data representing the utterance.), wherein the at least one input is indicative of a request for voice communication with the at least one second headset (Col. 6, Ln. 57-62: the first wireless headphone 106(1) may establish the third communication channel 114 and/or may issue an instruction, via the second communication channel 112, for the second wireless headphone 106(2) to establish the third communication channel 114 with the first wireless headphone 106(1));
generate, via the wireless communication interface, a voice communication channel between the first headset and the at least one second headset upon receiving the at least one input; and (Col. 14, Ln. 3-6: the first wireless headphone 106(1) may establish a second communication channel 112 with a second wireless headphone 106(2).).
Jorgovanovic fails to disclose a system, comprising: generate, through the voice communication channel, a voice communication session between the first headset and the at least one second headset, wherein the voice communication session allows voice communication between the first headset and the at least one second headset in a full-duplex communication mode.
However, Coulon discloses a system, comprising: generate, through the voice communication channel, a voice communication session between the first headset and the at least one second headset, wherein the voice communication session allows voice communication between the first headset and the at least one second headset in a full-duplex communication mode ([0054] This headset is thus wireless multi-user communicating, and more specifically, a headset including a built-in wireless autonomous vocal communication device, communicating in "conference" or "full-duplex" mode with at least one other similar headset.).
Jorgovanovic and Coulon are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor techniques for wireless headset-based communication arrangements to communicate with other subscriber units.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Jorgovanovic with Coulon to create a system, comprising: generate, through the voice communication channel, a voice communication session between the first headset and the at least one second headset, wherein the voice communication session allows voice communication between the first headset and the at least one second headset in a full-duplex communication mode.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to combine the functionality of a hands-free headset and the functionality of inter-headset communication into a single headset apparatus.
Regarding claim 14, Jorgovanovic discloses the system wherein the processor is further configured to generate the voice communication channel as a direct wireless communication channel between the first headset and the at least one second headset (Col. 2, Ln. 26-34: The first wireless headphone and the second wireless headphone may directly or indirectly communicatively couple via one or more communication channels, such as Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), near-field magnetic induction (NFMI), ZigBee, Z-wave, Bluetooth hands-free profile (HFP) protocol, Wi-Fi, adaptive frequency technology (AFT), or the like. The first wireless headphone and the mobile device may communicatively couple via one or more communication channels, such as Bluetooth.).
Regarding claim 15, Jorgovanovic discloses the system wherein the processor is further configured to generate the voice communication channel between the first headset and the at least one second headset through a wireless local area network (Col. 2, Ln. 26-34: The first wireless headphone and the second wireless headphone may directly or indirectly communicatively couple via one or more communication channels, such as Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), near-field magnetic induction (NFMI), ZigBee, Z-wave, Bluetooth hands-free profile (HFP) protocol, Wi-Fi, adaptive frequency technology (AFT), or the like. The first wireless headphone and the mobile device may communicatively couple via one or more communication channels, such as Bluetooth.).
Regarding claim 26, Jorgovanovic discloses a headset comprising:
at least one earpiece comprising one or more integrated speakers (Col. 10, Ln. 27-30: The first wireless headphone 106(1) may also include one or more speakers(s) 218 to output audio data received from the second wireless headphone 106(2), the mobile device 108, and/or the remote computing resource(s) 116.);
at least one microphone coupled to the headset (Col. 10, Ln. 1-4: The first wireless headphone 106(1) may include one or more microphone(s) 216 to capture user speech and generate audio data associated with user utterances and/or commands.);
a processor (Col. 8, Ln. 24-28: the first wireless headphone 106(1) may include one or more processor(s) 200 and memory 202, which stores or otherwise has access to a voice activity detection (VAD) component 204 and/or a wake word detection component 206);
a user interface communicably coupled to the processor, the user interface configured to receive at least one input from a user, wherein the at least one input is indicative of a request for voice communication with at least one other headset; and (Col. 14, Ln. 40-43: Additionally, or alternatively, the first user 100 may issue a sequence of touch inputs at the first wireless headphone 106(1) (e.g., double-tap) or may enter a request on a user interface of the mobile device 108.)
a wireless communication interface communicably coupled to the processor, wherein the wireless communication interface is configured to communicably couple the processor with the at least one other headset (Col. 9, Ln. 37-40: the first wireless headphone 106(1) may include additional interface(s) 208, such as an NFMI interface that allows the first wireless headphone 106(1) to transmit audio data with the second wireless headphone 106(2).);
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, via the user interface, the at least one input from the user; (Col. 7, Ln. 7-10: The microphones of the first wireless headphone 106(1) may capture the utterance of the first user 100 and transmit, via the third communication channel 114, audio data representing the utterance.)
generate, via the wireless communication interface, a voice communication
channel between the headset and the at least one other headset upon receiving the at least one input; and (Col. 14, Ln. 3-6: the first wireless headphone 106(1) may establish a second communication channel 112 with a second wireless headphone 106(2).).
Jorgovanovic fails to disclose a headset, comprising: generate, through the voice communication channel, a voice communication session between the headset and the at least one other headset, wherein the voice communication session allows voice communication between the headset and the at least one other headset in a full-duplex communication mode.
However, Coulon discloses a headset, comprising: generate, through the voice communication channel, a voice communication session between the headset and the at least one other headset, wherein the voice communication session allows voice communication between the headset and the at least one other headset in a full-duplex communication mode ([0054] This headset is thus wireless multi-user communicating, and more specifically, a headset including a built-in wireless autonomous vocal communication device, communicating in "conference" or "full-duplex" mode with at least one other similar headset.).
Jorgovanovic and Coulon are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for wireless headset-based communication arrangements to communicate with other subscriber units.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Jorgovanovic with Coulon to create a headset, comprising: generate, through the voice communication channel, a voice communication session between the headset and the at least one other headset, wherein the voice communication session allows voice communication between the headset and the at least one other headset in a full-duplex communication mode.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to combine the functionality of a hands-free headset and the functionality of inter-headset communication into a single headset apparatus.
Regarding claim 27, Jorgovanovic discloses the headset, wherein the at least one earpiece is configured to be at least partly received in an ear of the user (Col. 4, Ln. 57-61: The first user 100 is shown wearing a first wireless headphone 106(1), which may reside within the right ear of the first user 100, and the second user 102 is shown wearing a second wireless headphone 106(2), which may reside within the left ear of the second user 102.).
Regarding claim 30, Jorgovanovic discloses the headset, wherein the user interface comprises the at least one microphone (Col. 10, Ln. 1-4: The first wireless headphone 106(1) may include one or more microphone(s) 216 to capture user speech and generate audio data associated with user utterances and/or commands.).
Regarding claim 31, Jorgovanovic discloses the headset, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the voice communication channel as a direct wireless communication channel between the headset and the at least one other headset (Col. 2, Ln. 26-34: The first wireless headphone and the second wireless headphone may directly or indirectly communicatively couple via one or more communication channels, such as Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), near-field magnetic induction (NFMI), ZigBee, Z-wave, Bluetooth hands-free profile (HFP) protocol, Wi-Fi, adaptive frequency technology (AFT), or the like. The first wireless headphone and the mobile device may communicatively couple via one or more communication channels, such as Bluetooth.).
Regarding claim 32, Jorgovanovic discloses the headset, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the voice communication channel between the headset and the at least one other headset through a wireless local area network (Col. 2, Ln. 26-34: The first wireless headphone and the second wireless headphone may directly or indirectly communicatively couple via one or more communication channels, such as Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), near-field magnetic induction (NFMI), ZigBee, Z-wave, Bluetooth hands-free profile (HFP) protocol, Wi-Fi, adaptive frequency technology (AFT), or the like. The first wireless headphone and the mobile device may communicatively couple via one or more communication channels, such as Bluetooth.).
Regarding claim 33, Jorgovanovic discloses the headset, wherein the processor is further configured to generate a first alert upon generation of the voice communication session between the headset and the at least one other headset (Col. 14, Ln. 66-67 and Col. 15, Ln. 1-5: In some instances, the first wireless headphone 106(1) may transmit the request (i.e., the signal S318) via the second communication channel 112. The second wireless headphone 106(2) may transmit an acknowledgement, such as signal S320, to the first wireless headphone 106(1) upon establishing the third communication channel 114).
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgovanovic in view of Coulon, as applied to claims 1, 13, or 26 above, and further in view of Brown et al (US20030100274A1) (hereinafter "Brown").
Regarding claim 4, Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, fails to disclose the method, wherein the at least one second headset comprises a plurality of second headsets, wherein the first headset and the plurality of second headsets form a workgroup, and wherein the voice communication channel is generated between the first headset and the plurality of second headsets in the workgroup.
However, Brown discloses the method, wherein the at least one second headset comprises a plurality of second headsets, wherein the first headset and the plurality of second headsets form a workgroup, and wherein the voice communication channel is generated between the first headset and the plurality of second headsets in the workgroup ([0045] Preferably the headset 212 is configured to be capable of establishing communication with a plurality of headsets, to allow for a group communication between three or more users of headsets. Furthermore, it is envisaged that where group communication is supported a user is able to broadcast to all wireless headsets within range of its wireless headset.).
Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, and Brown are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of two-way wireless headsets.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, and Brown to create the method, wherein the at least one second headset comprises a plurality of second headsets, wherein the first headset and the plurality of second headsets form a workgroup, and wherein the voice communication channel is generated between the first headset and the plurality of second headsets in the workgroup.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to allow simultaneous communication between multiple entities.
Regarding claim 16, Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, fails to disclose the system, wherein the at least one second headset comprises a plurality of second headsets, wherein the first headset and the plurality of second headsets form a workgroup, and wherein the processor is further configured to generate the voice communication channel between the first headset and the plurality of second headsets in the workgroup.
However, Brown discloses the system, wherein the at least one second headset comprises a plurality of second headsets, wherein the first headset and the plurality of second headsets form a workgroup, and wherein the processor is further configured to generate the voice communication channel between the first headset and the plurality of second headsets in the workgroup ([0045] Preferably the headset 212 is configured to be capable of establishing communication with a plurality of headsets, to allow for a group communication between three or more users of headsets. Furthermore, it is envisaged that where group communication is supported a user is able to broadcast to all wireless headsets within range of its wireless headset.).
Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, and Brown are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of two-way wireless headsets.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, and Brown to create the system, wherein the at least one second headset comprises a plurality of second headsets, wherein the first headset and the plurality of second headsets form a workgroup, and wherein the processor is further configured to generate the voice communication channel between the first headset and the plurality of second headsets in the workgroup.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to allow simultaneous communication between multiple entities.
Claims 8, 20, 23, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgovanovic in view of Coulon, as applied to claims 1, 13, or 26 above, and further in view of Subbaramoo et al (US20130316687A1) (hereinafter "Subbaramoo").
Regarding claim 8, Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, fails to disclose the method, further comprising: determining a time duration elapsed since a termination of a last voice communication in the voice communication session; and terminating the voice communication session in response to the time duration exceeding a predetermined time threshold.
However, Subbaramoo discloses the method, further comprising:
determining a time duration elapsed since a termination of a last voice communication in the voice communication session; and ([0102] When the device 102 detects silence (i.e., determination block 1120="Yes"), the detected silence may trigger the start of a timeout period. The timeout period may have a duration that is sufficient to infer that the user has finished speaking and would like to relinquish control of the floor (e.g., generally around 1 second or more))
terminating the voice communication session in response to the time duration exceeding a predetermined time threshold ([0102] When the timeout period expires (i.e., determination block 1122="Yes"), the device 102 may close the communication channel in block 1124 and send a message to the group communication server relinquishing control of the floor in block 1126.).
Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, and Subbaramoo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of establishing a communication link between two devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, and Subbaramoo to create the method, further comprising: determining a time duration elapsed since a termination of a last voice communication in the voice communication session; and terminating the voice communication session in response to the time duration exceeding a predetermined time threshold.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to terminate a link when it is no longer needed to save system resources.
Regarding claim 20, Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, fails to disclose the system, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a time duration elapsed since a termination of a last voice communication in the voice communication session; and terminate the voice communication session in response to the time duration exceeding a predetermined time threshold.
However, Subbaramoo discloses the system, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine a time duration elapsed since a termination of a last voice communication in the voice communication session; and ([0102] When the device 102 detects silence (i.e., determination block 1120="Yes"), the detected silence may trigger the start of a timeout period. The timeout period may have a duration that is sufficient to infer that the user has finished speaking and would like to relinquish control of the floor (e.g., generally around 1 second or more))
terminate the voice communication session in response to the time duration exceeding a predetermined time threshold ([0102] When the timeout period expires (i.e., determination block 1122="Yes"), the device 102 may close the communication channel in block 1124 and send a message to the group communication server relinquishing control of the floor in block 1126.).
Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, and Subbaramoo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of establishing a communication link between two devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, and Subbaramoo to create the system, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a time duration elapsed since a termination of a last voice communication in the voice communication session; and terminate the voice communication session in response to the time duration exceeding a predetermined time threshold.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to terminate a link when it is no longer needed to save system resources.
Regarding claim 23, Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, discloses the system, further comprising a communication controller communicably coupled to the first headset and the at least one second headset, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the voice communication channel between the first headset and the at least one second headset through the communication controller (Col. 9, Ln. 33-40: the interface(s) 208 of the first wireless headphone 106(1) may include a Bluetooth interface 210, a BLE interface 212, and/or a Bluetooth HFP protocol interface 214. However, in some instances, the first wireless headphone 106(1) may include additional interface(s) 208, such as an NFMI interface that allows the first wireless headphone 106(1) to transmit audio data with the second wireless headphone 106(2).).
Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, fails to disclose the system, wherein the communication controller is configured to: determine a time duration elapsed since a termination of a last voice communication in the voice communication session; and terminate the voice communication session in response to the time duration exceeding a predetermined time threshold
However, Subbaramoo discloses the system, wherein the communication controller is configured to:
determine a time duration elapsed since a termination of a last voice communication in the voice communication session; and ([0102] When the device 102 detects silence (i.e., determination block 1120="Yes"), the detected silence may trigger the start of a timeout period. The timeout period may have a duration that is sufficient to infer that the user has finished speaking and would like to relinquish control of the floor (e.g., generally around 1 second or more))
terminate the voice communication session in response to the time duration exceeding a predetermined time threshold ([0102] When the timeout period expires (i.e., determination block 1122="Yes"), the device 102 may close the communication channel in block 1124 and send a message to the group communication server relinquishing control of the floor in block 1126.).
Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, and Subbaramoo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of establishing a communication link between two devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Jorgovanovic and Subbaramoo to create the system, wherein the communication controller is configured to: determine a time duration elapsed since a termination of a last voice communication in the voice communication session; and terminate the voice communication session in response to the time duration exceeding a predetermined time threshold.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to terminate a link when it is no longer needed to save system resources.
Regarding claim 35, Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, fails to disclose the headset, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a time duration elapsed since a termination of a last voice communication in the voice communication session; and terminate the voice communication session in response to the time duration exceeding a predetermined time threshold.
However, Subbaramoo discloses the headset, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a time duration elapsed since a termination of a last voice communication in the voice communication session; and ([0102] When the device 102 detects silence (i.e., determination block 1120="Yes"), the detected silence may trigger the start of a timeout period. The timeout period may have a duration that is sufficient to infer that the user has finished speaking and would like to relinquish control of the floor (e.g., generally around 1 second or more))
terminate the voice communication session in response to the time duration exceeding a predetermined time threshold ([0102] When the timeout period expires (i.e., determination block 1122="Yes"), the device 102 may close the communication channel in block 1124 and send a message to the group communication server relinquishing control of the floor in block 1126.).
Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, and Subbaramoo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of establishing a communication link between two devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, and Subbaramoo to create the headset, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a time duration elapsed since a termination of a last voice communication in the voice communication session; and terminate the voice communication session in response to the time duration exceeding a predetermined time threshold.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to terminate a link when it is no longer needed to save system resources.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgovanovic in view of Coulon, as applied to claims 1, 13, or 26 above, and further in view of Broadley et al (US20160302029A1) (hereinafter "Broadley").
Regarding claim 28, Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, fails to disclose the headset, further comprising at least one headband, wherein the at least one earpiece comprises a first earpiece and a second earpiece, and wherein the first earpiece and the second earpiece are interconnected through the at least one headband.
However, Broadley discloses the headset, further comprising at least one headband, wherein the at least one earpiece comprises a first earpiece and a second earpiece, and wherein the first earpiece and the second earpiece are interconnected through the at least one headband ([0022] As used and defined herein, the term “headset” refers to a communications headset that consists of two ear pieces that cover the ears of the user, and a headband that couples to the earpieces to provide support for the earpieces).
Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, and Broadley are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of wireless communication headsets.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Jorgovanovic, as modified by Coulon, and Broadley to create the headset, further comprising at least one headband, wherein the at least one earpiece comprises a first earpiece and a second earpiece, and wherein the first earpiece and the second earpiece are interconnected through the at least one headband.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a means of supporting and coupling the left and right earpieces.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, and 26, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okpeva et al (US 20150124058 A1) discloses cloud-integrated headphones, configured as a smart, acoustic multimedia device comprising, a headband and two earpieces.
Deng et al (US11483359B2) discloses a voice call method, device and system to resolve a problem that an amount of data of an audio signal that can be transmitted through a voice link established between a mobile phone and a peripheral device by using a Bluetooth technology is limited.
Dua et al (US8583044B2) discloses a wireless media player and a related system and methodology.
/DALE LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419