DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 16, line 1, insert the word -- the -- after the word "wherein".
In claim 18, line 24, delete the phrase "the arrangement" and replace with -- an arrangement -- In line 25, delete the phrase "the controller" and replace with -- , the microcontroller --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2019-215272 (Michiwaki) in view of WO 2017/108051 (Jorvang et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Michiwaki discloses a fitting structure comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-15, a clamping element 1 (e.g. a deformation detection bolt; paragraph [0028]) comprising a clamping body 4 (e.g. shaft; paragraph [0028]) formed in a single piece such that the clamping body having a first end portion 2 (e.g. head portion; paragraph [0028]) with a first flat base surface (e.g. bottom surface of the head portion); a second end portion 22 (e.g. threaded portion; paragraph [0030]) spaced apart from the first end portion along a longitudinal direction (e.g. up/down direction) having a second base surface flat (e.g. bottom surface of the threaded portion) and parallel to the first base surface (e.g. observed in Figure 1); a stem 20 (e.g. cylindrical portion; paragraph [0030]) which mainly extends along the longitudinal direction between the first and second end portions; a measurement module 32,34,30 (e.g. sensor pattern along with current path and terminals are considered to form this measurement module; paragraphs [0044],[0046]) fixed to the first base surface to measure a first physical quantity of said clamping element (e.g. paragraphs [0044] to [0046]); the clamping body 4 comprises a cover element 6 (e.g. head cap; paragraph [0028]) adapted to be removably fixed to the measurement module and/or the first end portion (e.g. paragraph [0028]; Figures 1,5); a communication module 40a,41,46,48 (e.g. terminals, antenna, transmission circuit, receiving circuit; paragraph [0053],[0054],[0060]), in signal communication with the measurement module, configured to transmit the first physical quantity to an external device (e.g. information transmitted to an external device; paragraphs [0061],[0054],[0086]) that is external to the clamping element; a microcontroller 42,44 (e.g. arithmetic circuit and sensor processing circuit; paragraph [0053]) in signal communication with the measurement module and with the communication module to control an operation of the sensor and the communication module (e.g. paragraphs [0053] to [0055],[0060]); power supply means 50 (e.g. power supply unit; paragraph [0053]) for supplying power to the sensor, the communication module and the microcontroller (e.g. paragraphs[0053] to [0056]). (See, paragraphs [0028] to [0091]).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the measurement module fixed to the first base surface and comprising an ultrasound sensor configured to generate, transmit and collect ultrasound traveling through the stem between the first and second base surfaces to measure a first physical quantity of the clamping element.
First, it should be noted that in paragraphs [0061] to [0065] of Michiwaki et al., Michiwaki et al. further discloses the concept of various sensors for monitoring the deformation of the bolt by mechanical measurements like using ultrasonic waves. Hence, to have set such structural characteristics for the measurement module to employ an ultrasound sensor transmitting and receiving ultrasonic waves to measure the physical quantity of the clamping element in lieu of the sensor pattern indicating a change in resistance is a matter of choice possibilities to the operator and/or manufacturer the type of mechanical quantity measurements preferred without departing from the scope of the invention and without changing and/or altering the operation and/or performance of the system, namely to measure the physical quantity of the clamping element. At the same time, to employ an ultrasound sensor to measure physical quantity of a clamping element is a well-known concept, as evidence by JP 9-196038 (Iwasaki).
Second, for argument sake if do agree above, Jorvang et al. discloses an ultrasonic bolt monitoring system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-4, a clamping element (e.g. entire element as illustrated in Figure 2) comprising a clamping body 1 (e.g. a bolt) formed in a single piece; the clamping body 1 having a first end portion 3 (e.g. top surface portion; Figure 2) with a first flat base surface; a second end portion 5 (e.g. bottom surface portion; Figure 2) spaced apart from the first end portion along a longitudinal direction (e.g. up/down direction) having a second base surface flat and parallel to the first base surface (e.g. observed in Figure 2); a stem 4 (e.g. threaded part portion) which mainly extends along the longitudinal direction between the first and second end portions (e.g. observed in Figure 1); a measurement module 7 (e.g. ultrasonic transducer measurement unit; Figure 2) fixed to the first base surface and comprising an ultrasound sensor 9 (e.g. ultrasonic transducer element) configured to generate, transmit and collect ultrasound traveling through the stem between the first and second base surfaces to measure a first physical quantity (e.g. bolt length measurement information) of the clamping element (e.g. page 16, lines 21-25); a communication module 10 (e.g. communication interface; Figure 2), in signal communication with the measurement module, configured to transmit the first physical quantity to an external device 13 (e.g. a control device; Figure 2), that is external to the clamping element; a microcontroller 13 (e.g. control device includes data processor; page 6, lines 22-27) in signal communication with the measurement module and with the communication module to control the operation of the ultrasound sensor and the communication module (e.g. page 4, lines 18-20; page 6, line 22 to page 8, line 8); power supply means 8 (e.g. power supply; Figure 2) for supplying power to the ultrasound sensor, the communication module and the microcontroller. (See, page 14, line 16 to page 23, line 12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the measurement module fixed to the first base surface and comprising an ultrasound sensor configured to generate, transmit and collect ultrasound traveling through the stem between the first and second base surfaces to measure a first physical quantity of the clamping element as suggested by Jorvang et al. to the system of Michiwaki et al. to have the ability to ensure whether the clamping element is correctly fastened to a surface and without changing and/or altering the operation and/or performance of the system, namely to measure the physical quantity of the clamping element.
With regards to claims 2 and 3, Michiwaki et al. further discloses first and second contact elements 30 (e.g. terminals; paragraphs [0033],[0046]) contained in part in the measurement module and in part in the cover element which are in electrical contact with each other when the cover element is fixed to the first end portion and are separated from each other when the cover element is removed from the first end portion (e.g. paragraphs [0046],[0041]-[0043]); the first contact element comprises at least conductive trace or a plurality of concentric,
radially spaced apart conductive traces. However, Michiwaki et al. does not disclose the second contact element comprises at least one pin for contacting the conductive trace irrespective of a circumferential orientation angle of the cover element relative to the clamping body or a plurality of pins arranged in radial positions corresponding to the conductive trace for contacting a different conductive trace each irrespective of the circumferential orientation angle of the cover element relative to the clamping body To have set such structural arrangement characteristics for the contact elements to be pins as in the claims are considered to have been a matter of choice possibilities to the operator/manufacturer that would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention without departing from the scope of the invention, namely to provide an electrical connection with the measurement module and the cover.
With regards to claim 4, Michiwaki et al. further discloses the measurement module comprises a first memory unit 52 (e.g. memory; paragraphs [0053],[0055],[0086],[0087]) configured to store identification data and/or specific parameters of the clamping body; the cover element comprises a second memory unit 52 (e.g. memory paragraphs [0053],[0055],[0086],[0087]) in communication with the microcontroller.
With regards to claim 5, Michiwaki et al. further discloses the specific parameters of the clamping body stored in the first memory unit comprise calibration data adapted for determining a plurality of clamping forces acting on the clamping body as a function of a plurality of values of the first physical quantity. (See, paragraphs [0053],[0055],[0086],[0087]).
With regards to claim 6, Jorvang et al. further discloses the first physical quantity comprises a time of flight of ultrasound between the first and second base surfaces, and/or an elongation of the clamping body, and/or a clamping force acting on the clamping body. (See, page 17, lines 22-30).
With regards to claim 7, Michiwaki et al. further discloses the measurement module comprises a temperature sensor facing the clamping body for measuring a temperature of the clamping body. (See, paragraphs [0061] to [0063]).
With regards to claim 8, Michiwaki et al. further discloses the cover element comprises one or more additional sensors configured to detect at least one second physical quantity of the clamping element. (See, paragraphs [0061] to [0063]).
With regards to claim 9, Michiwaki et al. further discloses the cover element comprises an enclosure (e.g. interior region of the cover element) that is removably fixable to the measurement module and/or to the first end portion of the clamping body such that the communication module, the microcontroller, the power supply means, and the additional sensors are at least partly enclosed in the enclosure (e.g. paragraphs [0028],[0039]-[0043],[0053]; observed in Figure 5,8).
With regards to claim 10, Michiwaki et al. further discloses the enclosure comprises a shell (e.g. U-shaped) having an opening (e.g. top of U-shaped when not attached to the bolt) for accessing to at least the power supply means; a movable lid 6a (e.g. locking piece; paragraphs [0034]-[0036],[0040],[0042],[0088]) for opening and closing the opening of the shell.
With regards to claim 11, Michiwaki et al., modified as set forth above, further discloses the ultrasound sensor is in surface contact with the first base surface.
With regards to claim 12, Michiwaki et al. further discloses the first end portion defines a head of the clamping body fixed to the stem (e.g. paragraph [0028]; observed in Figure 1); the cover element being removably fixable to the head (e.g. paragraphs [0028] [0034]-[0036],[0040], [0042],[0088]).
With regards to claim 13, Michiwaki et al. further discloses the power supply means comprise a battery and/or a connector for a power cable (e.g. battery; paragraphs [0056], [0086]).
With regards to claim 14, Michiwaki et al. further discloses the communication module comprises a wireless communication module and/or a connector for a data transmission cable (e.g. electric wires or wireless; paragraph [0056]).
With regards to claim 15, Michiwaki et al. further discloses a monitoring system (e.g. solar power generation system; paragraph [0001]) for monitoring a physical quantity of a clamping element comprising one or more clamping elements; a processor in signal communication with the communication modules module of each clamping element such that the processor being configured to make the physical quantity, or quantity derived therefrom, or derived from a combination of all the measured physical quantities, available to a user (e.g. paragraphs [0053] to [0061]).
With regards to claim 16, Michiwaki et al. further discloses at least one second physical quantity of the clamping element comprises at least one of temperature, position, vibrational state, tilt, or a combination thereof. (See, paragraphs [0061] to [0065]).
With regards to claim 17, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have the ultrasound sensor glued to the first base surface since using glue to adhere and attach an ultrasonic sensor to a surface is a well-known concept without departing from the scope of the invention.
With regards to claim 18, the claim is commensurate in scope with claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above. Furthermore, Michiwaki et al. further discloses the arrangement of the cover element, the communication module, the microcontroller and the power supply means are separable as a whole from the measurement module and/or the first end portion (e.g. observed in Figures 1,5,8).
Conclusion
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855