DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUED EXAMINATION UNDER 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments, filed on May 14, 2026, with respect to objections to claim 6 have been considered and are persuasive. Objections to claim 6 have been withdrawn.
4. Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 3-5, 13-15, and 20-21 have been considered and are persuasive. Rejections of claims 3-5, 13-15, and 20-21 under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn.
5. Applicant's arguments regarding rejection of claims 1-9 and 11-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. § 103 rejection of claim 1
Regarding claim 1, as amended, applicant argues claim 1 is in condition for allowance, because applied references Ye ‘837 (US 2023/0239837, “Ye ‘837”) and Zhou ‘942 (US 2023/0370942, “Zhou ‘942”) do not disclose “wherein transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, the target time period is a period in which the target resource selection window overlaps with an active time determined by the DRX configuration, N > M ≥ 1, N is a total quantity of transmissions of the data packet” (See Remarks, page 13, lines 4-6, page 17, para 1).
First, applicant argues that Ye ‘837 discloses manipulating a resource selection window for a single transmission, rather than disclosing how a UE should operate when multiple, N>1 and N>M>=1, transmissions are required, to ensure that at least the first M transmissions correspond to a DRX active time (See Remarks, page 14, lines 9-18).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that M>=1 includes the value of 1. I.e., the claimed “at least first M transmissions” includes a scenario of a single transmission. Further, examiner notes that Ye ‘837 discloses “wherein transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, the target time period is a period in which the target resource selection window overlaps with an active time determined by the DRX configuration, M>=1” (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; the wireless device selects the resource for a transmission of data available for transmission, where the resource is located within the updated resource selection window, in time domain; as seen in FIG. 11, the full duration of the updated resource selection window overlaps with the DRX on-duration active time of the receiving peer wireless device; the number of transmissions of the available data is 1, and the total number of transmissions is 1; the updated resource selection window reads on both a target time period and the target resource selection window). Furthermore, examiner notes that Zhou ‘942 discloses that UE acquires sidelink resources for multiple retransmissions in a sidelink channel active period, and further acquires additional sidelink resources outside the active period as needed for additional retransmissions (para 290, lines 11-23). Thus, Zhou ‘942 discloses “transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, N > M ≥ 1, N is a total quantity of transmissions of the data packet.” Therefore, the combination of Ye ‘837 and Zhou ‘942 discloses “wherein transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, the target time period is a period in which the target resource selection window overlaps with an active time determined by the DRX configuration, N > M ≥ 1, N is a total quantity of transmissions of the data packet”.
Second, applicant argues that Zhou ‘942 discloses a solution entirely based on Mode 1 of base station scheduling, where the disclosed concept of an “active period” is different from “receiving UE’s DRX active time”, and where the disclosed solution of Zhou ‘942 cannot be properly combined with the Mode 2 scheme of Ye ‘837 (See Remarks, page 14, lines 19-22, page 15, para 1).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that Zhou ‘942 discloses that the number of retransmissions exceeds the resources within a configured active period, and that UE acquires resources outside of the active period, to use for excess retransmissions (para 290, lines 11-23). Thus, Zhou ‘942‘s disclosure of resource selection in the time period outside of the configured active period involves autonomous resource selection by the UE, and is properly combined with Mode 2 resource selection performed autonomously by the UE of Ye ‘837. Further, examiner notes that Ye ‘837 discloses “wherein transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, the target time period is a period in which the target resource selection window overlaps with an active time determined by the DRX configuration, M>=1” (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; the wireless device selects the resource for a transmission of data available for transmission, where the resource is located within the updated resource selection window, in time domain; as seen in FIG. 11, the full duration of the updated resource selection window overlaps with the DRX on-duration active time of the receiving peer wireless device; the number of transmissions of the available data is 1, and the total number of transmissions is 1; the updated resource selection window reads on both a target time period and the target resource selection window). Furthermore, examiner notes that Zhou ‘942 discloses that UE acquires sidelink resources for multiple retransmissions in a sidelink channel active period, and further acquires additional sidelink resources outside the active period as needed for additional retransmissions (para 290, lines 11-23). Thus, Zhou ‘942 discloses “transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, N > M ≥ 1, N is a total quantity of transmissions of the data packet.” Therefore, the combination of Ye ‘837 and Zhou ‘942 discloses “wherein transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, the target time period is a period in which the target resource selection window overlaps with an active time determined by the DRX configuration, N > M ≥ 1, N is a total quantity of transmissions of the data packet”.
Third, applicant argues that the claimed invention is directed to sidelink Mode 2 resource allocation that ensures that at least the first M selected transmission resources correspond to the receiving UE’s active time, and allows the receiving UE to reduce power consumption while guaranteeing reliable service reception (See Remarks, page 15, 2-3, page 16, para 1).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., sidelink Mode 2 resource allocation) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further, examiner notes that Ye ‘837 discloses “wherein transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, the target time period is a period in which the target resource selection window overlaps with an active time determined by the DRX configuration, M>=1” (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; the wireless device selects the resource for a transmission of data available for transmission, where the resource is located within the updated resource selection window, in time domain; as seen in FIG. 11, the full duration of the updated resource selection window overlaps with the DRX on-duration active time of the receiving peer wireless device; the number of transmissions of the available data is 1, and the total number of transmissions is 1; the updated resource selection window reads on both a target time period and the target resource selection window). Furthermore, examiner notes that Zhou ‘942 discloses that UE acquires sidelink resources for multiple retransmissions in a sidelink channel active period, and further acquires additional sidelink resources outside the active period as needed for additional retransmissions (para 290, lines 11-23). Thus, Zhou ‘942 discloses “transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, N > M ≥ 1, N is a total quantity of transmissions of the data packet.” Therefore, the combination of Ye ‘837 and Zhou ‘942 discloses “wherein transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, the target time period is a period in which the target resource selection window overlaps with an active time determined by the DRX configuration, N > M ≥ 1, N is a total quantity of transmissions of the data packet”.
Fourth, applicant argues that Zhou ‘942 discloses that UE periodically monitors PDCCH on the downlink during the active period, rather than disclosing a different concept of an active time determined by a sidelink DRX configuration, during which the UE monitors PSCCH from other UEs (See Remarks, page 16, para 2).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that the UE of Zhou ‘942 monitors a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, which is a control channel, as a physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH is a control channel. Further, examiner notes that Ye ‘837 discloses “wherein transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, the target time period is a period in which the target resource selection window overlaps with an active time determined by the DRX configuration, M>=1” (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; the wireless device selects the resource for a transmission of data available for transmission, where the resource is located within the updated resource selection window, in time domain; as seen in FIG. 11, the full duration of the updated resource selection window overlaps with the DRX on-duration active time of the receiving peer wireless device; the number of transmissions of the available data is 1, and the total number of transmissions is 1; the updated resource selection window reads on both a target time period and the target resource selection window). Furthermore, examiner notes that Zhou ‘942 discloses that UE acquires sidelink resources for multiple retransmissions in a sidelink channel active period, and further acquires additional sidelink resources outside the active period as needed for additional retransmissions (para 290, lines 11-23). Thus, Zhou ‘942 discloses “transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, N > M ≥ 1, N is a total quantity of transmissions of the data packet.” Therefore, the combination of Ye ‘837 and Zhou ‘942 discloses “wherein transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, the target time period is a period in which the target resource selection window overlaps with an active time determined by the DRX configuration, N > M ≥ 1, N is a total quantity of transmissions of the data packet”.
Fifth, applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation to consult a Mode 1 technical solution of Zhou ‘942 to improve a Mode 2 scheme of Ye ‘837, and combine the two (See Remarks, page 16, para 3).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that Zhou ‘942 discloses that the number of retransmissions exceeds the resources within a configured active period, and that UE acquires resources outside of the active period, to use for excess retransmissions (para 290, lines 11-23). Thus, Zhou ‘942‘s disclosure of resource selection in the time period outside of the configured active period involves autonomous resource selection by the UE. Therefore, Zhou ‘942‘s discloses a resource selection mode that includes aspect of Mode 2 resource selection. Further, examiner notes that it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ye ‘837’s terminal that determines a target resource selection window according to discontinuous reception DRX configuration of a second terminal, to include Zhou ‘942’s resources for further retransmissions that fall outside the active period. The motivation for doing so would have been to introduce a mechanism that is suitable for the sidelink system and may make the UE turn off a transmission/reception function regularly so that power consumption is reduced (Zhou ‘942, para 9).
B. § 103 rejection of claims 9 and 11
Regarding claims 9 and 11, as amended, applicant argues the claims are allowable by virtue of reciting similar features as those discussed with respect to claim 1. Relevant limitations claimed in claim 1 are discussed above. Applicant does not present arguments regarding additional limitations claimed in claims 9 and 11.
C. § 103 rejection of claims 2-8 and 12-21
Regarding claims 2-8 and 12-21, applicant argues the claims are allowable by virtue of their dependencies from amended claims 1, 9, and 11. Relevant limitations claimed in amended claims 1, 9, and 11 are discussed above. Applicant does not present arguments regarding additional limitations claimed in dependent claims 2-8 and 12-21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2, 9, 11-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye ‘837 (US 2023/0239837, “Ye ‘837”), in view of Zhou ‘942 (US 2023/0370942, “Zhou ‘942”).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 11, Ye ‘837 discloses a terminal, which is a first terminal, including a transceiver, a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor, wherein, when the processor executes the computer program, the processor implements a data transmission method (FIGS. 1 and 3, para 35, 54, 70, and 76-77; two user equipments (UEs) exchange data over sidelink communication; a UE includes wireless communication circuitry, memory storing a computer program, and a processor that executes the computer program), the data transmission method comprises:
determining a target resource selection window according to discontinuous reception DRX configuration of a second terminal (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 36, 117-119, and 133; a wireless device that is a transmitting UE receives DRX configuration information of a receiving peer wireless device that is a receiving UE, including a DRX on-duration window of the receiving peer wireless device; the wireless device updates a resource selection window by delaying the start of the resource selection window to align it with the start of the DRX on-duration window of the receiving peer wireless device; a wireless device reads on a first terminal, and a receiving peer wireless device reads on a second terminal; the updated resource selection window reads on a target resource selection window);
selecting a transmission resource for a data packet in the target resource selection window (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; the wireless device selects a transmission resource for transmitting data to the receiving peer wireless device in the updated resource selection window),
wherein transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, the target time period is a period in which the target resource selection window overlaps with an active time determined by the DRX configuration (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; the wireless device selects the resource for a transmission of data available for transmission, where the resource is located within the updated resource selection window, in time domain; as seen in FIG. 11, the full duration of the updated resource selection window overlaps with the DRX on-duration active time of the receiving peer wireless device; the number of transmissions of the available data is 1, and the total number of transmissions is 1; the updated resource selection window reads on both a target time period and the target resource selection window);
transmitting the data packet to the second terminal on the transmission resource (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; the wireless device transmits the available data to the receiving peer device on the selected resource).
Although Ye ‘837 discloses wherein transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, the target time period is a period in which the target resource selection window overlaps with an active time determined by the DRX configuration, Ye ‘837 does not specifically disclose transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, N > M ≥ 1, N is a total quantity of transmissions of the data packet.
Zhou ‘942 teaches transmission resources of at least first M transmissions of the data packet are within a target time period, N > M ≥ 1, N is a total quantity of transmissions of the data packet (para 290; resources for multiple retransmissions fall within an active period, and resources for further retransmissions fall outside the active period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ye ‘837’s terminal that determines a target resource selection window according to discontinuous reception DRX configuration of a second terminal, to include Zhou ‘942’s resources for further retransmissions that fall outside the active period. The motivation for doing so would have been to introduce a mechanism that is suitable for the sidelink system and may make the UE turn off a transmission/reception function regularly so that power consumption is reduced (Zhou ‘942, para 9).
Regarding claims 2, 12, and 19, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1, 9, and 11, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Ye ‘837 discloses wherein determining the target resource selection window according to the discontinuous reception DRX configuration of the second terminal comprises:
using a maximum value between n+TRX_on and n+T1 as a start of the target resource selection window and using n+T2 as an end of the target resource selection window, wherein, n+TRX_on is a start time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; the start time of the updated resource selection window is also the start time of the DRX on-duration window of the receiving peer wireless device; as seen in FIG. 11, the start time of the updated resource selection window is marked as N+T1, and the end time of the updated resource selection window is marked as N+T2; N+T1 reads on n+T1, and N+T2 reads on n+T1; the start time of the DRX on-duration window of the receiving peer wireless device reads on a start time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal n+TRX_on),
n is an arrival time instant of data packets (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; N is the time when the wireless device determines there is sidelink data to transmit; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art) or a resource reselection time instant,
n+T1 is a start of a determined resource selection window, n+T2 is an end of the determined resource selection window (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; N+T1 is the start time of the updated resource selection window, and N+T2 is the end time of the updated resource selection window; the updated resource selection window reads on a determined resource selection window).
8. Claims 3-5, 13-15, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye ‘837, in view of Zhou ‘942, and further in view of Yoshioka ‘728 (US 2023/0199728, “Yoshioka ‘728”).
Regarding claims 3, 13, and 20, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1, 9, and 11, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Ye ‘837 discloses wherein selecting the transmission resource for the data packet in the target resource selection window comprises:
obtaining a set of all available candidate resources in the target resource selection window by performing resource sensing (para 117-119 and 133; the wireless device senses a physical medium to identify all candidate resources in the physical medium);
randomly selecting the transmission resources of the first M transmissions of the data packet from candidate resources, having time-domain locations within the target time period, in the set of the all available candidate resources (para 117-119 and 133; the wireless device senses a physical medium to identify all candidate resources in the physical medium; the wireless device determines the resource selection window that is the updated resource selection window; the wireless device randomly selects transmission resources from candidate resources that are in the resource selection window, in time domain, where the resource selection window is the updated resource selection window; the updated resource selection window reads on a target resource selection window; candidate resources that are in the resource selection window read on candidate resources, all candidate resources in the physical medium read on all available candidate resources);
wherein a start of the target time period is a maximum between n+TRX_on and n+T1, an end of the target time period is n+TRX_end, and n+TRX_end is an end time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n, n+TRX_end is earlier than n+T2, n+TRX_on is a start time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n, n is an arrival time instant of data packets or a resource reselection time instant, n+T1 is a start of a determined resource selection window, n+T2 is an end of a determined resource selection window (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; FIG. 11 shows the updated resource selection window that starts at N+T1 and ends at N+T2; further, FIG. 11 shows the DRX-on duration window that starts at N+T1, which is also the start of the updated resource selection window; furthermore, FIG. 11 shows that the DRX-on duration window ends at a time instance that is after the end of the updated resource selection window N+T2; N+T1 reads on n+T1, and N+T2 reads on n+T1; the start time of the DRX on-duration window reads on the start time instant of the first on-duration of the second terminal n+TRX_on; the end time of the DRX on-duration window reads on the end time instant of the first on-duration of the second terminal n+TRX_end).
Although Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 discloses obtaining a set of all available candidate resources in the target resource selection window by performing resource sensing, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 does not specifically disclose obtaining a set of all available candidate single-slot resources in the target resource selection window. Further, although Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 discloses randomly selecting the transmission resources of the first M transmissions of the data packet from candidate resources, having time-domain locations within the target time period, in the set of the all available candidate resources, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 does not specifically disclose selecting the transmission resources from candidate single-slot resources, having time-domain locations within the target time period, in the set of the all available candidate single-slot resources.
Yoshioka ‘728 teaches obtaining a set of all available candidate single-slot resources in the target resource selection window (para 133; terminal re-selects a single-slot resource from identified resource candidates in a resource selection window; thus, the terminal identifies available slot resources in the resource selection window);
selecting the transmission resources from candidate single-slot resources, having time-domain locations within the target time period, in the set of the all available candidate single-slot resources (para 133; terminal re-selects a single-slot resource from identified slot resource candidates in a resource selection window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Ye ‘837 and Zhou ‘942, to include Yoshioka ‘728’s terminal that re-selects a single-slot resource from identified resource candidates in a resource selection window. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the sensing targets when the resources used by the terminal are autonomously selected, in direct terminal-to-terminal communication (Yoshioka ‘728, para 9).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 and Yoshioka ‘728 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 3 and 13, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Zhou ‘942 teaches wherein selecting the transmission resource for the data packet in the target resource selection window further comprises:
selecting the N-M transmission resources for the data packet (para 290; resources for multiple retransmissions fall within an active period, and resources for further retransmissions fall outside the active period; UE acquires scheduled resources for all retransmissions, including resources for the further retransmissions outside the active period; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art); or
selecting the N-M transmission resources for the data packet from the candidate single-slot resources, having time-domain locations in a time period from an end of the target time period to n+T2, of the set of the all available candidate single-slot resources.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Ye ‘837, Zhou ‘942, and Yoshioka ‘728, to further include Zhou ‘942’s resources for further retransmissions fall outside the active period. The motivation for doing so would have been to introduce a mechanism that is suitable for the sidelink system and may make the UE turn off a transmission/reception function regularly so that power consumption is reduced (Zhou ‘942, para 9).
Furthermore, Yoshioka ‘728 teaches selecting transmission resources for the data packet from the set of the all available candidate single-slot resources (para 133; terminal re-selects a single-slot resource from identified slot resource candidates in a resource selection window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Ye ‘837, Zhou ‘942, and Yoshioka ‘728, to further include Yoshioka ‘728’s terminal that re-selects a single-slot resource from identified slot resource candidates in a resource selection window. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the sensing targets when the resources used by the terminal are autonomously selected, in direct terminal-to-terminal communication (Yoshioka ‘728, para 9).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 and Yoshioka ‘728 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 3 and 13, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Ye ‘837 discloses wherein selecting the transmission resource for the data packet in the target resource selection window further comprises:
randomly selecting N transmission resources for the data packet from the set of the all available candidate resources, (para 117-119 and 133; the wireless device senses a physical medium to identify all candidate resources in the physical medium; the wireless device determines the resource selection window that is the updated resource selection window, and randomly selects transmission resources from candidate resources that are in the resource selection window, in time domain, where the resource selection window is the updated resource selection window; the updated resource selection window reads on a target resource selection window; candidate resources that are in the resource selection window read on candidate resources, all candidate resources in the physical medium read on all available candidate resources);
wherein the start of the target time period is a maximum between n+TRX_on and n+T1, an end of the target time period is n+TRX_end, and n+TRX_end is the end time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n, n+TRX_end is earlier than n+T2 (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; FIG. 11 shows the updated resource selection window that starts at N+T1 and ends at N+T2; further, FIG. 11 shows the DRX-on duration window that starts at N+T1, which is also the start of the updated resource selection window; furthermore, FIG. 11 shows that the DRX-on duration window ends at a time instance that is after the end of the updated resource selection window N+T2; N+T1 reads on n+T1, and N+T2 reads on n+T1; the start time of the DRX on-duration window reads on the start time instant of the first on-duration of the second terminal n+TRX_on; the end time of the DRX on-duration window reads on the end time instant of the first on-duration of the second terminal n+TRX_end).
Furthermore, Zhou ‘942 teaches completing resource selection until first M transmission resources of the N transmission resources are determined to be in the target time period (para 290; resources for multiple retransmissions fall within an active period, and resources for further retransmissions fall outside the active period; UE acquires scheduled resources for all retransmissions, including resources for the multiple retransmissions within the active period; thus, resource selection within the active period is completed when the resources are selected for the multiple retransmissions within the active period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Ye ‘837, Zhou ‘942, and Yoshioka ‘728, to further include Zhou ‘942’s resources for multiple retransmissions within the active period. The motivation for doing so would have been to introduce a mechanism that is suitable for the sidelink system and may make the UE turn off a transmission/reception function regularly so that power consumption is reduced (Zhou ‘942, para 9).
Moreover, Yoshioka ‘728 teaches selecting N transmission resources for the data packet from the set of the all available candidate single-slot resources (para 133; terminal re-selects a single-slot resource from identified slot resource candidates in a resource selection window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Ye ‘837, Zhou ‘942, and Yoshioka ‘728, to further include Yoshioka ‘728’s terminal that re-selects a single-slot resource from identified resource candidates in a resource selection window. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the sensing targets when the resources used by the terminal are autonomously selected, in direct terminal-to-terminal communication (Yoshioka ‘728, para 9).
Regarding claim 21, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 and Yoshioka ‘728 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 20, as outlined above.
Further, Zhou ‘942 teaches wherein selecting the transmission resource for the data packet in the target resource selection window further comprises:
selecting the N-M transmission resources for the data packet (para 290; resources for multiple retransmissions fall within an active period, and resources for further retransmissions fall outside the active period; UE acquires scheduled resources for all retransmissions, including resources for the further retransmissions outside the active period; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art); or
selecting the N-M transmission resources for the data packet from the candidate single-slot resources, having time-domain locations in a time period from the end of the target time period to n+T2, of the set of the all available candidate single-slot resources;
or
selecting the transmission resource for the data packet in the target resource selection window further comprises:
randomly selecting N transmission resources for the data packet from the set of the all available candidate single-slot resources, and completing resource selection until first M transmission resources of the N transmission resources are determined to be in the target time period;
wherein a start of the target time period is a maximum between n+TRX_on and n+T1, the end of the target time period is n+TRX_end, and n+TRX_end is an end time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n, n+TRX_end is earlier than n+T2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Ye ‘837, Zhou ‘942, and Yoshioka ‘728, to further include Zhou ‘942’s resources for further retransmissions fall outside the active period. The motivation for doing so would have been to introduce a mechanism that is suitable for the sidelink system and may make the UE turn off a transmission/reception function regularly so that power consumption is reduced (Zhou ‘942, para 9).
Furthermore, Yoshioka ‘728 teaches selecting transmission resources for the data packet from the set of the all available candidate single-slot resources (para 133; terminal re-selects a single-slot resource from identified slot resource candidates in a resource selection window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Ye ‘837, Zhou ‘942, and Yoshioka ‘728, to further include Yoshioka ‘728’s terminal that re-selects a single-slot resource from identified slot resource candidates in a resource selection window. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the sensing targets when the resources used by the terminal are autonomously selected, in direct terminal-to-terminal communication (Yoshioka ‘728, para 9).
9. Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye ‘837, in view of Zhou ‘942, and further in view of Hosseini ‘055 (US 20220110055, “Hosseini ‘055”; Hosseini ‘055 was filed on September 30, 2021, claiming priority to US provisional application 63/087129 filed on October 2, 2020, and thus Hosseini ‘055 was effectively filed before the claimed invention; further, the US provisional application 63/087129 fully supports all citations made in the rejection from the Hosseini ‘055 reference).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 9, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Ye ‘837 discloses n+TRX_on is a start time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; the start time of the DRX on-duration window of the receiving peer wireless device, which is the same as the start time of the updated resource selection window N+T1), and
n is an arrival time instant of data packets (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; N is the time when the wireless device determines there is sidelink data to transmit; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art) or a resource reselection time instant.
However, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 does not specifically disclose wherein the target resource selection window comprises a first resource selection window and a second resource selection window, the second resource selection window corresponds to the target time period; determining the target resource selection window according to the discontinuous reception DRX configuration of the second terminal comprises: using a maximum value between n+TRX_on and n+T1 as a start of the first resource selection window, using n+T2 as an end of the first resource selection window, or using n+TRX_end as a start of the first resource selection window, and using n+T2 as an end of the first resource selection window; using a maximum value between n+TRX_on and n+T1 as the start of the second resource selection window, and using n+TRX_end as an end of the second resource selection window. Further, although Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 discloses n+TRX_on is a start time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n, and n is an arrival time instant of data packets or a resource reselection time instant, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 does not specifically disclose wherein n+TRX_on is a start time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n, n+TRX_end is an end time instant of the first on-duration of the second terminal after the time instant n; n+T1 is a start of a determined resource selection window, n+T2 is an end of the determined resource selection window, and n+TRX_end is earlier than n+T2.
Hosseini ‘055 teaches wherein the target resource selection window comprises a first resource selection window and a second resource selection window, the second resource selection window corresponds to the target time period (para 108; UE does not select resources for sidelink transmission based on slots in a window that are outside the on-duration period; thus, an overall target resource selection window comprises a first resource selection window that is outside the on-duration period, and a second resource selection window that is inside the on-duration period, the UE does not select sidelink resources from the first resource selection window; the UE selects sidelink resources from the second resource selection window, where the second resource selection window reads on the target time period);
determining the target resource selection window according to the discontinuous reception DRX configuration of the second terminal comprises:
using a maximum value between n+TRX_on and n+T1 as the start of the first resource selection window, using n+T2 as an end of the first resource selection window, or using n+TRX_end as the start of the first resource selection window, and using n+T2 as the end of the first resource selection window (para 108; the overall target resource selection window comprises the first resource selection window that is outside the on-duration period, and the second resource selection window that is inside the on-duration period, where the UE does not select sidelink resources from the first resource selection window; in case of a first resource selection window being subsequent to the on-duration period, the start of the first resource selection window is the end of the on-duration period that reads on n+TRX_end, and the end of the first resource selection window reads on n+T2; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art);
using a maximum value between n+TRX_on and n+T1 as a start of the second resource selection window, and using n+TRX_end as an end of the second resource selection window (para 108; the overall target resource selection window comprises the first resource selection window that is outside the on-duration period, and the second resource selection window that is inside the on-duration period, where the UE does not select sidelink resources from the first resource selection window; in case of a first resource selection window being subsequent to the on-duration period, the second resource selection window starts within the on-duration period, at the time instant that is the start of the on-duration period or after the start of the on-duration period; the start of the second resource selection window, when it falls after the start of the on-duration period, reads on n+T1; the start of the on-duration period reads on n+TRX_on; further, the end of the second resource selection window ends at the start of the first resource selection window, where the end of the second resource selection window and the start of the first resource selection window read on n+TRX_end);
wherein n+TRX_on is a start time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n, n+TRX_end is an end time instant of the first on-duration of the second terminal after the time instant n (para 108; as discussed above, the start of the on-duration period reads on n+TRX_on, and the end of the on-duration period reads on n+TRX_end);
n+T1 is a start of a determined resource selection window, n+T2 is an end of the determined resource selection window, and n+TRX_end is earlier than n+T2 (para 108; overall target resource selection window comprises a first resource selection window that is outside the on-duration period, and a second resource selection window that is inside the on-duration period, where the UE does not select sidelink resources from the first resource selection window; as discussed above, the start of the second resource selection window, when it falls after the start of the on-duration period, reads on n+T1; thus, the start of the overall target resource selection window reads on n+T1; as discussed above, the start of the first resource selection window is the end of the on-duration period that reads on n+TRX_end, and the end of the first resource selection window reads on n+T2; thus, the end of the overall target resource selection window reads on n+T2, and n+TRX_end is earlier than n+T2; the overall target resource selection window reads on a determined resource selection window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Ye ‘837 and Zhou ‘942, to include Hosseini ‘055’s UE that does not select resources for sidelink transmission based on slots in a window that are outside the on-duration period. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improvements in sidelink technology that are applicable to multi-access technologies (Hosseini ‘055, para 4).
10. Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye ‘837, in view of Zhou ‘942, further in view of Hosseini ‘055, and further in view of Yoshioka ‘728.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 and Hosseini ‘055 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 6 and 16, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Ye ‘837 discloses wherein selecting the transmission resource for the data packet in the target resource selection window comprises:
obtaining a first set of available candidate resources in the first resource selection window (para 117-119 and 133; the wireless device senses a physical medium to identify all candidate resources in the physical medium; the wireless device determines the resource selection window, and randomly selects transmission resources from candidate resources that are in the resource selection window; thus, the wireless device obtains a set of available candidate resources in a resource selection window), and
a second set of available candidate resources in the second resource selection window by performing resource sensing (para 117-119 and 133; the wireless device senses a physical medium to identify all candidate resources in the physical medium; the wireless device determines the resource selection window, and randomly selects transmission resources from candidate resources that are in the resource selection window; thus, the wireless device obtains a set of available candidate resources in a resource selection window);
selecting transmission resources for the first M transmissions of the data packet from the second set of the available candidate resources (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 117-119 and 133; the wireless device selects the resource for a transmission of data available for transmission, from available candidate resources, where the resource is located within the updated resource selection window, in time domain).
Furthermore, Zhou ‘942 teaches selecting transmission resources for N-M transmissions of the data packet, N > M ≥ 1 (para 290; resources for multiple retransmissions fall within an active period, and resources for further retransmissions fall outside the active period; UE acquires scheduled resources for all retransmissions, including resources for the further retransmissions outside the active period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Ye ‘837, Zhou ‘942, and Hosseini ‘055, to further include Zhou ‘942’s resources for further retransmissions fall outside the active period. The motivation for doing so would have been to introduce a mechanism that is suitable for the sidelink system and may make the UE turn off a transmission/reception function regularly so that power consumption is reduced (Zhou ‘942, para 9).
Although Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 and Hosseini ‘055 discloses obtaining a first set of available candidate resources in the first resource selection window, and a second set of available candidate resources in the second resource selection window by performing resource sensing, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 and Hosseini ‘055 does not specifically disclose obtaining a first set of available candidate single-slot resources in the first resource selection window, and a second set of available candidate single-slot resources in the second resource selection window. Further, although Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 and Hosseini ‘055 discloses selecting transmission resources for the first M transmissions of the data packet from the second set of available candidate resources, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 and Hosseini ‘055 does not specifically disclose the second set of available candidate single-slot resources. Furthermore, although Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 and Hosseini ‘055 discloses selecting transmission resources for N-M transmissions of the data packet from the first set of available candidate single-slot resources, N > M ≥ 1, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 and Hosseini ‘055 does not specifically disclose the first set of available candidate single-slot resources.
Yoshioka ‘728 teaches obtaining a first set of available candidate single-slot resources in the first resource selection window (para 133; terminal re-selects a single-slot resource from identified resource candidates in a resource selection window; thus, the terminal identifies available slot resources in the resource selection window), and
a second set of available candidate single-slot resources in the second resource selection window (para 133; terminal re-selects a single-slot resource from identified resource candidates in a resource selection window; thus, the terminal identifies available slot resources in the resource selection window);
the second set of the available candidate single-slot resources (para 133; terminal re-selects a single-slot resource from identified resource candidates in a resource selection window; thus, the terminal identifies available slot resources in the resource selection window).; and
the first set of available candidate single-slot resources (para 133; terminal re-selects a single-slot resource from identified resource candidates in a resource selection window; thus, the terminal identifies available slot resources in the resource selection window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Ye ‘837, Zhou ‘942, and Hosseini ‘055, to include Yoshioka ‘728’s terminal that re-selects a single-slot resource from identified resource candidates in a resource selection window. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the sensing targets when the resources used by the terminal are autonomously selected, in direct terminal-to-terminal communication (Yoshioka ‘728, para 9).
11. Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye ‘837, in view of Zhou ‘942, and further in view of Yang ‘554 (US 2023/0068554, “Yang ‘554”).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 9, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Ye ‘837 discloses wherein, before determining the target resource selection window according to the discontinuous reception DRX configuration of the second terminal, the method further comprises: obtaining the DRX configuration of the second terminal, wherein the DRX configuration of the second terminal comprises at least on-duration (FIGS. 1 and 11, para 36, 117-119, and 133; a wireless device that is a transmitting UE receives DRX configuration information of a receiving peer wireless device that is a receiving UE, including a DRX on-duration window of the receiving peer wireless device; the wireless device updates a resource selection window by delaying the start of the resource selection window to align it with the start of the DRX on-duration window of the receiving peer wireless device; a wireless device reads on a first terminal, and a receiving peer wireless device reads on a second terminal; the updated resource selection window reads on a target resource selection window).
Although, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 discloses wherein, before determining the target resource selection window according to the discontinuous reception DRX configuration of the second terminal, the method further comprises: obtaining the DRX configuration of the second terminal, wherein the DRX configuration of the second terminal comprises at least on-duration, Ye ‘837 in combination with Zhou ‘942 does not specifically disclose wherein the DRX configuration of the second terminal comprises at least on-duration of monitoring a sidelink by the second terminal and DRX cycle.
Yang ‘554 teaches wherein the DRX configuration of the second terminal comprises at least on-duration of monitoring a sidelink by the second terminal and DRX cycle (para 40 and 52; DRX configuration includes the DRX cycle and duration of the on-duration timer, where a UE monitors sidelink resources during the running period of the duration timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Ye ‘837 and Zhou ‘942, to include Yang ‘554’s DRX configuration that includes the DRX cycle and duration of the on-duration timer. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption of a UE (Yang ‘554, para 42).
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.0.
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474