DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 4/20/2023 are as follows:
Claims 1-12 are pending and are being examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figures 1-3 contain solid black shading (See 37 CFR1.84(m) “Solid black shading areas are not permitted”);
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it refers to the purported merits, repeats phrases which can be implied, and uses legal form (i.e. run on sentence). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“heating unit” in claim 1, interpreted as a part that generates heat at the evaporator (see paragraph 30);
“cooling unit” in claim 1, interpreted as a heat sink at the condenser (see paragraph 30);
“power supply unit” in claim 2, interpreted as a device that supplies power (see paragraph 9, 52);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kroliczek (US2002/0007937A1).
Re Claim 1. Kroliczek teaches a heat switch device using a cryogenic loop heat pipe provided in a spacecraft (The italicized portion is intended use of the apparatus, of which Kroliczek is capable of being used in), comprising:
a heating unit (Qv at 610) (Figure 6; Paragraph 17);
a cooling unit (heat sink at 620) (Figure 6; Paragraph 17);
the cryogenic loop heat pipe (Figure 6) in which a working fluid accommodated therein is circulated and which connects between the heating unit and the cooling unit to exchange heat, and including a first evaporator (610) connected to the heating unit, a condenser (620) connected to the cooling unit, a liquid transfer pipe (lower horizontal pipe in figure 6) connecting between the first evaporation and the condenser to move liquids of the first evaporator and the condenser, and a steam transfer pipe (middle horizontal pipe in Figure 6) connecting between the first evaporator and the condenser to move gases of the first evaporator and the condenser (Figure 6; Paragraph 17);
a second evaporator (630) connected to the condenser (Figure 6; Paragraph 17); and
a heater (Qr at 630) heating the second evaporator (Figure 6; Paragraph 17).
Re Claim 2. Kroliczek teaches a power supply unit supplying power to the heater (Figure 6 illustrates a set point control heater at 630, and thus implicitly teaches a power supply unit for the heater; Paragraph 17).
Re Claim 7. Kroliczek teaches the first evaporator and the second evaporator further include an auxiliary transfer pipe (top horizontal pipe in Figure 6) through which the liquid and steam moves (Figure 6; Paragraph 17).
Re Claim 8. Kroliczek teaches the auxiliary transfer pipe moves the working fluid of the first evaporator to the second evaporator (Figure 6; Paragraph 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroliczek (US2002/0007937A1) in view of Hoang (US9146059B2).
Re Claim 3. Kroliczek teaches the first evaporator and the second evaporator (Figure 6) but fails to specifically teach the first evaporator and the second evaporator are configured to include a compensation chamber formed on one side to store the inflowing working fluid, a wick through which the working fluid of the compensation chamber passes, and a steam discharge channel formed on the other side to discharge steam evaporated from the wick to an outside.
However, Hoang teaches it is known in heat pipes to have the first evaporator (3) and the second evaporator (4) are configured to include a compensation chamber (8, 9) formed on one side to store the inflowing working fluid, a wick (middle U-portion in 3 and 4) through which the working fluid of the compensation chamber passes, and a steam discharge channel formed on the other side to discharge steam evaporated from the wick to an outside (right sides of 3 and 4 is steam discharge) (Figure 1; Column 3 lines 1-42).
Therefore, in view of Hoang's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add compensation chambers and wicks to Kroliczek in order to more efficiently operate the loop heat pipe by ensuring consistent supply of working fluid. The use of compensation chambers and wicks is well-known and established in the heat pipe art.
Re Claim 5. Kroliczek as modified by Hoang teach wherein the heater is provided in a portion where the wick of the second evaporator is accommodated (Kroliczek Figure 6; Hoang Figure 1, wherein Hoang Figure 3A illustrates it is known to place a heater 43 at the wick 34 location).
Re Claim 6. Kroliczek teaches a working fluid but fails to specifically teach the working fluid of the loop heat pipe is a gas containing at least one of nitrogen, oxygen, neon, and helium gases.
However, Hoang teaches the working fluid of the loop heat pipe is a gas containing helium or nitrogen (Column 5 lines 6-9).
Therefore, in view of Hoang's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select one of the gases as the working fluid in order to achieve a desired heat transfer characteristic for a given application. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select one of the gases as the working fluid in Kroliczek, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are allowed.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 4 recites “a refrigerator contacting a portion where the compensating chamber of the second evaporator is accommodated and the condenser”. Kroliczek teaches the second evaporator and the condenser (figure 6) but fails to teach a refrigerator contacting a portion where the compensating chamber of the second evaporator is accommodated and the condenser. The next closest prior art Hoang teaches plural evaporators and condensers, wherein a thermal strap connects the liquid line to the vapor line (Figure 1) but fails to also teach the refrigerator. There would be no motivation to further modify Kroliczek to include a refrigerator without utilizing impermissible hindsight reasoning or without changing the principle of operation of Kroliczek. Therefore, the invention is novel and non-obvious in view of the prior art.
Claim 9 similarly recites “a refrigerator operation step of operating a refrigerator connected to a partial area of the second evaporator and the condenser to cool the second evaporator and the condenser to form a liquefied working fluid”. There would be no motivation to further modify Kroliczek to include a refrigerator without utilizing impermissible hindsight reasoning or without changing the principle of operation of Kroliczek. Therefore, the invention is novel and non-obvious in view of the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763