DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Examiner notes the following amendments made to the claims:
Claim 27 amended to include the subject matter of previously presented claim 32.
Claim 32 cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Particularly, examiner does not find the arguments that it would not be obvious to combine Qiu and Park to be persuasive. Examiner will respond to applicant arguments in order:
The primary argument that applicant makes is that it would not be obvious to combine Qiu and Park because Qiu “teaches away” against excluding PEO from its electrolyte. Examiner does not find this persuasive because a key part of Qiu’s investigation is modifying electrolytes to avoid the low ionic conductivity of PEO. Qiu also cites a number of different SPEs that are promising for a similar purpose, such as PVDG, PAN, and PVA (Qiu intro). Since the main goal of both Qiu and Park is to form a polymer electrolyte able to function at a wide range of temperatures, both room temperature and high temperature, it would be within the ambit of one of ordinary skill to combine teachings from both Qiu and Park to modify a polymer electrolyte in order to achieve optimal results. This could be achieved either by modifying the crosslinked polymer of Qiu to exclude PEO via the teachings of Park, as described in the prior rejection, or by modifying Park with the crosslinking polymer of Qiu, as Qiu teaches it as a known material in the art used in polymer solid electrolyte materials. No arguments are made regarding the dependent claims other than their depending on claim 27, thus, the rejections for the dependent claims remain in place and unchanged other than now all being in view of Park. Since arguments are not found to be persuasive, the previously applied rejection maintains in place and unchanged other than accounting for the amendment of claim 27. There is currently not considered to be any allowable subject matter present in the claims.
Examiner also notes that in the arguments, applicant refers to claim 46 as a dependent claim, when it is in fact a separate independent claim. Therefore, even if the arguments were persuasive and the 103 rejections for claim 27 were withdrawn, claim 46 would remain rejected unless also amended to include allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-28, 30-31, 33-36, 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al (High Conductive Composite Polymer Electrolyte via in Situ UV-Curing for All-Solid-State Lithium Ion Batteries Ziwen Qiu, Chang Liu, Jing Xin, Qian Wang, Jiajie Wu, Wenli Wang, Jingjing Zhou, Yang Liu, Bingkun Guo, and Siqi Shi ACS Sustainable Chemistry & Engineering 2019 7 (11), 9875-9880) in view of Park (US 20240136567 A1)
Regarding claim 27, Qiu et al teaches the following elements:
A polymer solid electrolyte comprising: (“In this work, we investigate an in situ building method of a solid electrolyte, which constructs a composite electrolyte on the cathode by UV-curing and reduces the interfacial impedance by 69.1%.” Qiu et al, abstract and “Then, the solid polymer electrolytes (SPEs) are considered to be another promising candidate for solid-state lithium ion batteries due to the advantages of excellent mechanical and interfacial properties” Qiu et al, page 1 paragraph 2 lines 2-4.)
a) an electrolyte salt, and (“LiTFSI and PC/acetonitrile were mixed with mass weight ratio = 6:4 and stirred continuously over 1 h; then PEO with 30 wt % (Mn ∼ 300 000) was added and stirred continuously overnight to produce solution A.” Qiu et al page 6 paragraph 2 lines 1-4. In this case, LiTFSI is the electrolyte salt)
b) a crosslinked polymer with a heterogenous or disordered polymer network obtained from a crosslinking reaction of a composition comprising one or more crosslinkers, wherein at least one crosslinker has three or more polymerizable or cross linkable terminals and the crosslinker has a formula selected from the group consisting of:
wherein R4 and R5 are independently selected from the group consisting of:
wherein R1, R2, R3, and R6 are each independently selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, methyl, ethyl, phenyl, methyl phenyl, benzyl, acryl, epoxy ethyl, isocyanate, cyclic carbonate, lactone, lactam, and vinyl, wherein n is an integer between 0 and 50,000 and * indicates a point of attachment. (Qiu et al teaches the usage of a crosslinked polymer which meets all of the limitations of claim 1, labeled as A3 and A4, see figure S1. “The monomers with 3 arms, trimethylol-propane-ethoxylatetriacrylate, and with 4 arms, pentaerythritol tetracrylate, are labeled as A3 and A4 (Figure S1),” Qiu et al page 3 paragraph 2 lines 1-3. By forming a crosslinked polymer solid electrolyte analogous to that claimed in claim 27, the presence of a heterogenous or disordered polymer network would be an inherent property, as it is the same material. Thus, despite not explicitly mentioning the properties of the network, the solid polymer electrolyte of Qiu et al would meet all of the limitations of claim 27.)
Qiu et al is silent on the following elements of claim 27:
wherein the crosslinked polymer is free of poly (ethylene oxide) chain.
However, Park teaches all of the elements of claim 27 that are not found in Qiu et al. Specifically, Park teaches a crosslinked polymer that is free of PEO:
wherein the crosslinked polymer is free of poly (ethylene oxide) chain. (“Typically, PEO is a commonly known ion-conductive polymer but has a room-temperature ion conductivity of about 10.sup.−7 S/cm and thus cannot be used in a battery utilized at room temperature. The electrolyte is a polymer electrolyte that may be operated at a high temperature of 60° C. or higher, which is a glass transition temperature (Tg) of PEO.” Park [0006])
Park and Qiu et al are considered analogous for the reasons provided above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Qiu et al to not include PEO in the final solid polymer electrolyte in order to be able to have a battery that can be operated at a high temperature, which would be desirable in situations in which the battery needs to be used in a high temperature environment (Typically, PEO is a commonly known ion-conductive polymer but has a room-temperature ion conductivity of about 10.sup.−7 S/cm and thus cannot be used in a battery utilized at room temperature. The electrolyte is a polymer electrolyte that may be operated at a high temperature of 60° C. or higher, which is a glass transition temperature (Tg) of PEO.” Park [0006]). This is particularly obvious because Qiu et al cite a number of other potential crosslinkers other than PEO, such as PVDF, PAN, and PVA, and, additionally, the work of Park is aimed at providing alternatives to PEO-prepared polymer electrolytes with a polyurethane group-polymer in order to improve characteristics.
After modifying Qiu with Park, no further modifications are required to meet the additional limitations of claims 28, 33-36, 46. Motivation for claims 30-31 is provided.
Regarding claim 28, Qiu et al teaches all of the following elements:
The electrolyte of claim 27, wherein the crosslinked polymer is not over- crosslinked. (In paragraph [0076] of the instant specification, it is stated that having the weight fraction of initiator under 5.0% is necessary to avoid over-crosslinking. In Qiu et al, HMPP is used as the initiator “Moreover, no characteristic peaks of propylene carbonate (PC) solvent and 2-hydroxy-2-methyl-1-phenyl-1- propanone (HMPP) can be observed after polymerization in the FTIR spectra of Figure S2, indicating that both solvent and initiator are removed.” Qiu et al page 3 paragraph 2 lines 15-19. In the experimental section of Qiu et al it is stated that 0.02g HMPP is used with 6.0g TPTA, which is then mixed with the LiTFSI and PC/acetonitrile solution. Even in just the HMPP/TPTA solution, there would be well below 5% HMPP present by weight, and thus over-crosslinking would be avoided in the method of Qiu et al.)
Regarding claim 30, Qiu et al teaches all of the elements of claim 27, as shown above. Qiu et al is silent on the following elements of claim 30:
The electrolyte of claim 27, wherein at least one of the one or more crosslinkers has an electron-donating group, which promotes ion transport in the electrolyte.
However, Park teaches all of the elements of claim 30 that are not found in Qiu et al. Specifically, Park teaches the use of diurethane dimethacrylate as a crosslinkable precursor, which is the same as used to provide an electron withdrawing group in the instantly claimed invention (instant spec [0063]), and thus meets the limitations of claim 30 (as claim 31 as well):
The electrolyte of claim 27, wherein at least one of the one or more crosslinkers has an electron-donating group, which promotes ion transport in the electrolyte. (“As the crosslinkable precursor, the urethane-containing polyfunctional acrylic monomer may include diurethane dimethacrylate, diurethane diacrylate, or a combination thereof.” Park [0049])
Park is considered to be analogous to Qiu et al because it is within the same field of solid polymer electrolytes used in electrochemical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solid polymer electrolyte of Qiu et al to use the crosslinking precursor of Park, which contains an electron withdrawing group, in order to produce a solid polymer electrolyte having high elasticity and maintaining high mechanical strength (“Since the urethane-containing polyfunctional acrylic monomer has high mechanical strength and elasticity by including a urethane moiety, when a copolymer structure is formed using the urethane-containing polyfunctional acrylic monomer and a polyfunctional block copolymer, an organic-inorganic composite solid polymer electrolyte having elasticity and maintaining the high mechanical strength may be prepared.” Park [0052])
By modifying Qiu et al with the UDMA crosslinker of Park, the additional limitations of claims 31 would be met without requiring any further modification or motivation.
Regarding claim 31, Qiu et al teaches all of the elements of claim 30, as shown above. Qiu et al is silent on the following elements of claim 31:
The electrolyte of claim 30, wherein the electron-donating group is an amide.
However, Park teaches all of the elements of claim 31 that are not found in Qiu et al. Specifically, Park teaches the use of diurethane dimethacrylate as a crosslinkable precursor, which is the same as used to provide an amide group in the instantly claimed invention, and thus meets the limitations of claim 31:
The electrolyte of claim 30, wherein the electron-donating group is an amide. (“As the crosslinkable precursor, the urethane-containing polyfunctional acrylic monomer may include diurethane dimethacrylate, diurethane diacrylate, or a combination thereof.” Park [0049])
Regarding claim 33, Qiu et al teaches all of the following elements:
The electrolyte of claim 27, wherein the electrolyte exhibits an improved capacity retention due to a more heterogenous or disordered network in comparison to that synthesized from a linear crosslinker. (Given that the electrolyte of Qiu et al meets the limitations required by claim 27, it would inherently have improved capacity retention compared to that synthesized from a linear crosslinker. Additionally, instant specification [0096] states that the capacity retention can be “In addition, in some embodiments, the electrochemical device has a capacity retention of at least 41%, at least 46%, at least 51%, at least 56%, at least 62%, at least 67%, at least 72%, at least 77%, at least 82%, at least 87%, at least 90.7%, at least 92%, at least 95%, at least 97%, at least 99.2%, at least 99.3%, at least 99.5% or the like when a discharging current rate of 0.5 C being used at 25°C.” The device of Qiu et al has a capacity retention of ~82% [see abstract], and therefore would meet the limitations of required capacity retention as required by the instant specification.)
Regarding claim 34, Qiu et al teaches all of the following elements:
The electrolyte of claim 27, wherein the electrolyte salt comprises a lithium salt selected from the group consisting of lithium perchlorate (LiClO4), lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6), lithiumborofluoride (LiBF4), lithium hexafluoroarsenide (LiAsF6), lithium trifluoro-metasulfonate (LiCF3SO3), bis- trifluoromethyl sulfonylimide lithium (LiN(CF3SO2)2), lithium bis(oxalato)borate (LiBOB), lithium oxalyldifluoroborate (LiBF2C204), lithium nitrate(LiNO3), Li- fluoroalkyl-phosphates (LiPF3(CF2CF3)3), lithium bisperfluoro-ethysulfonylimide (LiBETI), lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulphonyl) imide, lithium bis(fuorosulphonyl)imide, lithium trifluoromethanesulfonimide (LiTFSI), lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI), lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (LiDFOB), LiC(CF3SO2)3, LiF, LiCl, LiBr, LiI, Li2SO4, Li3PO4, Li2CO3, LiOH, lithium acetate, lithium trifluoromethyl acetate and lithium oxalate. (“LiTFSI and PC/acetonitrile were mixed with mass weight ratio = 6:4 and stirred continuously over 1 h; then PEO with 30 wt % (Mn ∼ 300 000) was added and stirred continuously overnight to produce solution A.” Qiu et al page 6 paragraph 2 lines 1-4. In this case, LiTFSI is the electrolyte salt)
Regarding claim 35, Qiu et al teaches all of the following elements:
The electrolyte of claim 27, wherein the one or more crosslinkers are crosslinked in the presence of an initiator, under UV light, or at an elevated temperature. (“the mechanism should be described as HMPP produces the phenyl and hydroxyl radical in UV-curing; then the radicals react with propenyls to generate addition products and form the polymers.” Qiu et al page 3 paragraph 2 lines 11-15)
Regarding claim 36, Qiu et al teaches all of the following elements. Specifically, Qiu et al teaches a solid polymer electrolyte for use in an electrochemical device, and therefore it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to use the solid polymer electrolyte of Qiu et al in an electrochemical device:
An electrochemical device, comprising the electrolyte of claim 27. (“On the basis of the data above, it is believed that the in situ UV-cured composite polymer electrolyte can present superior electrochemical performances in all-solid-state batteries (Table S2) 45−47 and would be a promising solid polymer electrolyte for high energy lithium batteries” Qiu et al page 4 paragraph 1 lines 9-15. Given that Qiu et al states that the intended use its solid polymer electrolyte is to be used in an electrochemical device, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to make an electrochemical device comprising the electrolyte of Qiu et al.)
Regarding claim 46, Qiu et al teaches all of the following elements:
A polymer solid electrolyte comprising: (“In this work, we investigate an in situ building method of a solid electrolyte, which constructs a composite electrolyte on the cathode by UV-curing and reduces the interfacial impedance by 69.1%.” Qiu et al, abstract and “Then, the solid polymer electrolytes (SPEs) are considered to be another promising candidate for solid-state lithium ion batteries due to the advantages of excellent mechanical and interfacial properties” Qiu et al, page 1 paragraph 2 lines 2-4.)
a) an electrolyte salt, and (“LiTFSI and PC/acetonitrile were mixed with mass weight ratio = 6:4 and stirred continuously over 1 h; then PEO with 30 wt % (Mn ∼ 300 000) was added and stirred continuously overnight to produce solution A.” Qiu et al page 6 paragraph 2 lines 1-4. In this case, LiTFSI is the electrolyte salt)
b) a crosslinked polymer with topological defects synthesized from one or more crosslinkers,
wherein at least one crosslinker has three or more polymerizable or crosslinkable terminals,
wherein at least one crosslinker has three or more polymerizable or crosslinkable terminals and the crosslinker has a formula selected from the group consisting of:
wherein R4 and R5 are independently selected from the group consisting of:
wherein R1, R2, R3, and R6 are each independently selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, methyl, ethyl, phenyl, methyl phenyl, benzyl, acryl, epoxy ethyl, isocyanate, cyclic carbonate, lactone, lactam, and vinyl, wherein n is an integer between 0 and 50,000 and * indicates a point of attachment. (Qiu et al teaches the usage of a crosslinked polymer which meets all of the limitations of claim 1, labeled as A3 and A4, see figure S1. “The monomers with 3 arms, trimethylol-propane-ethoxylatetriacrylate, and with 4 arms, pentaerythritol tetracrylate, are labeled as A3 and A4 (Figure S1),” Qiu et al page 3 paragraph 2 lines 1-3. By forming a crosslinked polymer solid electrolyte analogous to that claimed in claim 46, the presence of topological defects would be an inherent property, as it is the same material. Thus, despite not explicitly mentioning topological defects, the solid polymer electrolyte of Qiu et al would meet all of the limitations of claim 46.)
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al (High Conductive Composite Polymer Electrolyte via in Situ UV-Curing for All-Solid-State Lithium Ion Batteries Ziwen Qiu, Chang Liu, Jing Xin, Qian Wang, Jiajie Wu, Wenli Wang, Jingjing Zhou, Yang Liu, Bingkun Guo, and Siqi Shi ACS Sustainable Chemistry & Engineering 2019 7 (11), 9875-9880) in view of Park (US 20240136567 A1) and further in view of Lee (US 20180034101 A1)
Regarding claim 29, Qiu et al teaches all of the elements of claim 27, as shown above. Qiu et al is silent on the following elements of claim 29:
The electrolyte of claim 28 wherein the crosslinked polymer is obtained from:
a composition comprising the one or more crosslinkers with a concentration of no less than 0.1wt% and no more than 30wt%; or
a composition comprising the crosslinker with three or more polymerizable or crosslinkable terminals at a concentration of no less than 0.1wt% and no more than 20 wt%.
However, Lee teaches all of the elements of claim 29 that are not found in Qiu et al, specifically, Lee teaches the desired quantity in weight percent of the crosslinking precursors:
The electrolyte of claim 28 wherein the crosslinked polymer is obtained from:
a composition comprising the one or more crosslinkers with a concentration of no less than 0.1wt% and no more than 30wt%; or (“An exemplary embodiment of the present invention provides a gel polymer electrolyte including a multi-component crosslinked polymer matrix; a dissociable salt; and an organic solvent, wherein a content of the multi-component crosslinked polymer matrix is 1 to 50 wt % “ Lee [0007])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 1-50 wt% of the crosslinking composition overlaps the claimed range of 0.1-30% for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
b. a composition comprising the crosslinker with three or more polymerizable or crosslinkable terminals at a concentration of no less than 0.1wt% and no more than 20 wt%.
Lee is considered to be analogous to Qiu et al because it is within the same field of solid polymer electrolytes for electrochemical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solid polymer electrolyte of Qiu et al to obtain the crosslinked polymer from a composition of 1-50 wt% crosslinked polymer precursor in order to produce a polymer electrolyte with optimal adhesion, stabilization, and mechanical properties, while avoiding negative effects (“In the case in which the content of the multi-component crosslinked polymer matrix satisfies this range, the above-mentioned characteristics, that is, excellent adhesion with the electrode, stabilization of the electrolyte-electrode interface due to the excellent adhesion, excellent mechanical properties and electrochemical properties, and the like, may be exhibited.” Lee [0053] and “However, when the content of the multi-component crosslinked polymer matrix in the gel polymer electrolyte is more than 50 wt %, contents of the organic solvent and the dissociable salt are relatively decreased, respectively.” Lee [0054])
Claim(s) 37-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al (High Conductive Composite Polymer Electrolyte via in Situ UV-Curing for All-Solid-State Lithium Ion Batteries Ziwen Qiu, Chang Liu, Jing Xin, Qian Wang, Jiajie Wu, Wenli Wang, Jingjing Zhou, Yang Liu, Bingkun Guo, and Siqi Shi ACS Sustainable Chemistry & Engineering 2019 7 (11), 9875-9880) in view of Park (US 20240136567 A1) and further in view of Tabuchi (US 20160006075 A1).
Regarding claim 37, Qiu et al teaches all of the elements of claim 36, as shown above. Qiu et al is silent on the following elements of claim 37:
The electrochemical device of claim 36, wherein the electrochemical device passes a short circuit test with an external resistance of 20 mQ without causing any ruptures.
However, Tabuchi teaches all of the elements of claim 37 that are not found in Qiu et al. Specifically, by teaching an electrochemical device with the same anode, cathode, separator, and modifying it with the solid polymer electrolyte of Qui et al, an electrochemical device that is analogous to that of the instantly claimed invention would be produced, and therefore, it would have the same characteristics as that of the claimed invention, such as the ability to pass a short circuit test with an external resistance of 20 mQ:
The electrochemical device of claim 36, wherein the electrochemical device passes a short circuit test with an external resistance of 20 mQ without causing any ruptures. (as described below in claims 39-45, the electrochemical device of Tabuchi teaches an identical anode and cathode to that of the instantly claimed invention. Additionally, it would be obvious to incorporate a separator into the battery as that is commonly known in the field of battery/electrochemical device production. By combining this with the solid polymer electrolyte of Qiu et al, which is the same as taught by the instantly claimed invention, an identical electrochemical device would be created, and therefore would pass the short circuit test. The ability to pass the short circuit test would be an inherent property of the material, and therefore does not need to be explicitly states in the prior art. See MPEP 2112. II. or Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., for case law regarding the fact that an inherent feature need not be recognized at the relevant time in order for it to still anticipate the feature, which is later recognized).
Tabuchi is considered to be analogous to Qiu et al because they are both within the same field of solid polymer electrolytes for use in electrochemical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qiu et al to use the solid polymer electrolyte of Qiu et al in the electrochemical device of Tabuchi, as this would only require the simple substitution of one solid polymer electrolyte for another, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Since the electrochemical device of Tabuchi also meets the limitations of claims 38-45, the limitations of those claims would also be met without requiring any further modification or motivation.
The same inherency argument is used for claim 38.
Regarding claim 38, Qiu et al teaches all of the elements of claim 36, as shown above. Qiu et al is silent on the following elements of claim 38:
The electrochemical device of claim 36, wherein the electrochemical device passes a short circuit test with an external resistance of 5 mQ without causing any ruptures.
However, Tabuchi teaches all of the elements of claim 38 that are not found in Qiu et al. Specifically, by teaching an electrochemical device with the same anode, cathode, separator, and modifying it with the solid polymer electrolyte of Qui et al, an electrochemical device that is analogous to that of the instantly claimed invention would be produced, and therefore, it would have the same characteristics as that of the claimed invention, such as the ability to pass a short circuit test with an external resistance of 5 mQ:
The electrochemical device of claim 36, wherein the electrochemical device passes a short circuit test with an external resistance of 5 mQ without causing any ruptures. (as described below in claims 39-45, the electrochemical device of Tabuchi teaches an identical anode and cathode to that of the instantly claimed invention. Additionally, it would be obvious to incorporate a separator into the battery as that is commonly known in the field of battery/electrochemical device production. By combining this with the solid polymer electrolyte of Qiu et al, which is the same as taught by the instantly claimed invention, an identical electrochemical device would be created, and therefore would pass the short circuit test. The ability to pass the short circuit test would be an inherent property of the material, and therefore does not need to be explicitly states in the prior art. See MPEP 2112. II. or Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., for case law regarding the fact that an inherent feature need not be recognized at the relevant time in order for it to still anticipate the feature, which is later recognized).
Regarding claim 39, Qiu et al teaches all of the elements of claim 36, as shown above. Qiu et al is silent on the following elements of claim 39:
The electrochemical device of claim 36, wherein the electrochemical device is anode-free or comprises an anode.
However, Tabuchi teaches all of the elements of claim 39 that are not found in Qiu et al. Specifically, Tabuchi teaches a secondary battery containing a solid polymer electrolyte and all of the additional limitations of claim 39:
The electrochemical device of claim 36, wherein the electrochemical device is anode-free or comprises an anode. (“The negative electrode material comprises a metal electrode substrate as an electrode material substrate, and a negative electrode active material on the metal electrode substrate, and a binder of satisfactorily exchanging ions with an electrolyte layer, and fixing an electroconductive aid and negative electrode active material to the metal substrate.” Tabuchi [0063])
Regarding claim 40, Qiu et al teaches all of the elements of claim 38, as shown above. Qiu et al is silent on the following elements of claim 40:
The electrochemical device of claim 38, wherein the anode is a carbon anode, Li anode, Si anode, alloy anode, Li4Ti5O12, or made from conversion anode materials, wherein the carbon anode comprises graphite, soft carbon, hard carbon, or combinations of thereof.
However, Tabuchi teaches all of the elements of claim 40 that are not found in Qiu et al. Specifically, Tabuchi teaches a secondary battery containing a solid polymer electrolyte and all of the additional limitations of claim 40:
The electrochemical device of claim 38, wherein the anode is a carbon anode, Li anode, Si anode, alloy anode, Li4Ti5O12, or made from conversion anode materials, wherein the carbon anode comprises graphite, soft carbon, hard carbon, or combinations of thereof. (“The negative electrode active material used in the present invention is powder comprising a carbon material (for example, natural graphite, artificial graphite and amorphous carbon) which have a structure (a porous structure) capable of occlusion and release of an alkali metal ion such as a lithium ion; or a metal, such as lithium, an aluminum compound, a tin compound, a silicon compound capable of occlusion and release of an alkali metal ion such as a lithium ion.” Tabuchi [0064])
Regarding claim 41, Qiu et al teaches all of the elements of claim 40, as shown above. Qiu et al is silent on the following elements of claim 41:
The electrochemical device of claim 40, wherein the Li anode comprises Li metal foil, Li metal on Cu, Ni, or stainless steel.
However, Tabuchi teaches all of the elements of claim 41 that are not found in Qiu et al. Specifically, Tabuchi teaches a secondary battery containing a solid polymer electrolyte and all of the additional limitations of claim 41:
The electrochemical device of claim 40, wherein the Li anode comprises Li metal foil, Li metal on Cu, Ni, or stainless steel. (“The negative electrode active material used in the present invention is powder comprising a carbon material (for example, natural graphite, artificial graphite and amorphous carbon) which have a structure (a porous structure) capable of occlusion and release of an alkali metal ion such as a lithium ion; or a metal, such as lithium, an aluminum compound, a tin compound, a silicon compound capable of occlusion and release of an alkali metal ion such as a lithium ion.” Tabuchi [0064])
Regarding claim 42, Qiu et al teaches all of the elements of claim 40, as shown above. Qiu et al is silent on the following elements of claim 42:
The electrochemical device of claim 40, wherein the Si anode comprises Si, Si/Carbon composite, SiOx(0<x<2), SiOx(0x<2)/carbon composite or a combination thereof, the Alloy anode comprises Sn, Sn02, Sb, Al, Mg, Bi, In, As, Zn, Ga, B, or a combination thereof.
However, Tabuchi teaches all of the elements of claim 42 that are not found in Qiu et al. Specifically, Tabuchi teaches a secondary battery containing a solid polymer electrolyte and all of the additional limitations of claim 42:
The electrochemical device of claim 40, wherein the Si anode comprises Si, Si/Carbon composite, SiOx(0<x<2), SiOx(0x<2)/carbon composite or a combination thereof, the Alloy anode comprises Sn, Sn02, Sb, Al, Mg, Bi, In, As, Zn, Ga, B, or a combination thereof. (“The negative electrode active material used in the present invention is powder comprising a carbon material (for example, natural graphite, artificial graphite and amorphous carbon) which have a structure (a porous structure) capable of occlusion and release of an alkali metal ion such as a lithium ion; or a metal, such as lithium, an aluminum compound, a tin compound, a silicon compound capable of occlusion and release of an alkali metal ion such as a lithium ion.” Tabuchi [0064]. In this case, the silicon compound and aluminum compound would meet the limitations of claim 42. At a minimum, the option of having a graphite anode would also meet the limitations of claim 42, as claim 40 only requires one of a carbon, lithium, silicon, alloy, Li4Ti5O2, or conversion anode.)
Regarding claim 43, Qiu et al teaches all of the elements of claim 40, as shown above. Qiu et al is silent on the following elements of claim 43:
The electrochemical device of claim 40, wherein the conversion anode materials comprise MaXb, M is Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, or Cu, X is 0, S, Se, F, N, or P, a and b are respectively 1 to 4.
However, Tabuchi teaches all of the elements of claim 43 that are not found in Qiu et al. Specifically, Tabuchi teaches a secondary battery containing a solid polymer electrolyte and all of the additional limitations of claim 43:
The electrochemical device of claim 40, wherein the conversion anode materials comprise MaXb, M is Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, or Cu, X is 0, S, Se, F, N, or P, a and b are respectively 1 to 4. (The limitation of claim 40 only requires one of a carbon, lithium, silicon, alloy, Li4Ti5O2, or conversion anode. Therefore, by teaching the use of a carbon anode comprising graphite, there need not be a conversion anode present, and Tabuchi teaches an anode that meets both the limitations of claim 40 and 43.)
Regarding claim 44, Qiu et al teaches all of the elements of claim 36, as shown above. Qiu et al is silent on the following elements of claim 44:
The electrochemical device of claim 36, wherein the electrochemical device comprises a cathode.
However, Tabuchi teaches all of the elements of claim 44 that are not found in Qiu et al. Specifically, Tabuchi teaches a secondary battery containing a solid polymer electrolyte and all of the additional limitations of claim 44:
The electrochemical device of claim 36, wherein the electrochemical device comprises a cathode. (“Embodiments of the present invention are as follows: [1] A positive electrode having a surface of a positive electrode material covered with a solid polymer electrolyte” Tabuchi [0014])
Regarding claim 45, Qiu et al teaches all of the elements of claim 44, as shown above. Qiu et al is silent on the following elements of claim 45:
The electrochemical device of claim 44, wherein the cathode comprises an electroactive material selected from the group consisting of lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide, lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide, lithium titanate, metallic lithium, lithium metal oxide, lithium manganese oxide, lithium cobalt oxide, and lithium iron phosphate.
However, Tabuchi teaches all of the elements of claim 45 that are not found in Qiu et al. Specifically, Tabuchi teaches a secondary battery containing a solid polymer electrolyte and all of the additional limitations of claim 45:
The electrochemical device of claim 44, wherein the cathode comprises an electroactive material selected from the group consisting of lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide, lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide, lithium titanate, metallic lithium, lithium metal oxide, lithium manganese oxide, lithium cobalt oxide, and lithium iron phosphate. (“Among the above-mentioned preferable positive electrode active materials, specific examples of more preferable positive electrode active material include … Li2xCobMncNi1-b-cO2” Tabuchi [0062]) electrolyte of Qiu et al would meet all of the limitations of claim 46.)
Conclusion
Upon further search and consideration, the following references were considered to be relevant but were not used since the rejection was maintained:
Ha et al (Energy Environ. Sci., 2012,5, 6491-6499)—teaches a solid polymer electrolyte for use in lithium ion batteries containing a structure meeting the limitations of claim 27, and not containing any PEO.
(from Ha et al figure 1)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN ELI KASS-MULLET/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752