DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11, 13-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maejima et al. (US 2019/0194376).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5 and 13-14
Maejima discloses a block copolymer having an (A), a (B), and a (C) block, that is useful as a surface treatment agent for coating a cell culture substrates (Abstract and claim 19).
Maejima discloses that the B-block may be 2-methoxyethylacrylate (reading on claimed Formula 2) (paras 0083, Example 7, Examples 16-17, and claim 6). Maejima discloses that the C-block may be styrene (reading on claimed Formula 1). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to make a block copolymer having styrene as the C-block and 2-methoxyethyl acrylate, with a reasonable expectation of success.
There is no polysiloxane skeleton in the block copolymer of Maejima.
Maejima discloses that surface treatment agent may comprise a solution of the block copolymer and a solvent such as ethanol or water (para 0130).
Maejima discloses that the B-block is present from 2 to 50 mol %, and the C-block is present from 10 to 70mol %. As the molar ratio of the reference overlaps the claimed amount, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Regarding claim 3
Whether the copolymer forms a colloidal solution is a property of the copolymer, and as the reference reads on or makes obvious to claimed copolymer it would be expected to have the same properties. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claims 4 and 6-7
Whether the copolymer suppresses adhesion of biological substances is a property of the copolymer, and as the reference reads on or makes obvious to claimed copolymer it would be expected to have the same properties. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claims 11, 15 and 19
Maejima discloses culturing cells in the block copolymer coated cell culture substrate (para 0153), which would necessarily require a step of seeding the substrate..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10, 12, 16-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art fairly teaches or suggest a laminated film comprising the coating film of claim 5 and a layer of a base film for cell culture.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants argue that Maejima does not disclose or suggest a composition or coating film having the claimed molar ratio of formula 1 and formula 2. This is not persuasive as Maejima discloses an overlapping molar ratio and applicants have failed to present any evidence of new or unexpected results for the claimed range.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734