DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maejima et al. (US 2019/0194376).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5
Maejima discloses a block copolymer having an (A), a (B), and a (C) block, that is useful as a surface treatment agent for coating a cell culture substrates (Abstract and claim 19).
Maejima discloses that the B-block may be 2-methoxyethylacrylate (reading on claimed Formula 2) (paras 0083, Example 7, Examples 16-17, and claim 6). Maejima discloses that the C-block may be styrene (reading on claimed Formula 1). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to make a block copolymer having styrene as the C-block and 2-methoxyethyl acrylate, with a reasonable expectation of success.
There is no polysiloxane skeleton in the block copolymer of Maejima.
Maejima discloses that surface treatment agent may comprise a solution of the block copolymer and a solvent such as ethanol or water (para 0130).
Regarding claim 3
Whether the copolymer forms a colloidal solution is a property of the copolymer, and as the reference reads on or makes obvious to claimed copolymer it would be expected to have the same properties. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claims 4 and 6-7
Whether the copolymer suppresses adhesion of biological substances is a property of the copolymer, and as the reference reads on or makes obvious to claimed copolymer it would be expected to have the same properties. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 11
Maejima discloses culturing cells in the block copolymer coated cell culture substrate (para 0153), which would necessarily require a step of seeding the substrate..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art fairly teaches or suggest a laminated film comprising the coating film of claim 5 and a layer of a base film for cell culture.
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734