DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 6/18/2026. The amendment has been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim is to a base station, but the claim language states “to cause the UE to”. It is unclear if this claim is to the base station or the UE. As it is written, it appears to be towards a base station; however, the claim does not claim any functionality of the base station. for purposes of examination, the Examiner will assume claim 21 is the base station that performs the same steps as method claim 13.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 does not further limit claim 12 as the same limitations of claim 16 have been amended into claim 12. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-14, 16, 17, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. “Zhou” CN 113497690 in view of Sun et al. “Sun” US 2022/0322231 and further in view of Lee et al. “Lee” US 2019/0215117.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Zhou teaches a method and apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive a tracking reference signal (TRS) configuration (the reference signals include configuration information; Page 11 step S102. Based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”. Thus one can see there is configuration information being sent and since TRS signals are used, this is viewed as receiving TRS configuration);
receive a TRS on a TRS occasion of a plurality of TRS occasions, wherein the plurality of TRS occasions is based on the TRS configuration (based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH. There are a plurality of paging occasions (PO) which are associated TRS; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”); and
monitor a paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on at least one paging PDCCH monitoring occasion based on the TRS (based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”);
wherein the at least one paging PDCCH monitoring occasion is associated with the TRS occasion (based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH. There are a plurality of paging occasions (PO) which are associated TRS; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”.
Zhou does not expressly disclose the TRS information is transmit via a system information block; however, Sun teaches the TRS configuration information may be received in a SIB; Paragraphs 45 and 55.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include sending TRS configuration information in SIB as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determine when the network is expected to transmit TRS as taught by Sun; Paragraph 55.
Zhou teaches DRX; however, Zhou does not expressly disclose each paging frame of DRX is associated with the TRS occasion. Lee teaches TRS are received during a paging occasion for the UE in DRX mode; Paragraphs 174, 178, 240.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include each paging frame of DRX is associated with the TRS occasion as taught by Lee.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the TRS can serve as a wake-up signal for the UE as taught by Lee; Paragraph 178.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Zhou teaches receiving first information for a first NZP-CSI-RS of the TRS configuration and determining second information for a second NZP-CSI-RS of the TRS based on the first information (the received TRS includes 4 NZP-CSI-RS resources (this is viewed as first information). From this, the UE can determine whether a signal is valid (i.e. second information associated with second NZP CSI-RS); Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 3rd paragraph under “embodiment six”. Any of the four NZP-CSI-RS can be viewed as the first or second NZP information. As these are all tied to the TRS, they are received/determined based on the TRS occasion).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Zhou teaches the paging PDCCH monitoring occasion and TRS are QCL with SSB (the TRS corresponding to the PO used for monitoring, is QCLed with the synchronization signal black (SSB); Page 18 fifth paragraph under “embodiment six”).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Zhou teaches assuming that the plurality of TRS occasions include a plurality of TRS transmitted by a network entity, wherein receiving the TRS comprises receiving the TRS on the TRS occasion based on the assumption the plurality of TRS occasions include the plurality of TRS transmitted by the network entity (**Examiner notes the claim is making an assumption of something, and not positively reciting this assumption is present in the application, therefore because the prior art has occasions and TRS, the Examiner is making the same assumption as claimed**. Based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH. There are a plurality of paging occasions (PO) which are associated TRS; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”. Here one can see there are a plurality of TRS associated with a plurality of paging occasions. The UE is receiving TRS from a base station (i.e. network entity)).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches receiving information indicating whether the TRS is transmitted on the TRS occasion by a network entity wherein the TRS includes receiving the TRS on the TRS occasion in response to the TRS being transmitted on the TRS occasion by the network entity (Based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH. There are a plurality of paging occasions (PO) which are associated TRS; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”. Here one can see the TRS is received from a base station (i.e. network entity) which is transmitted with respect to a paging occasion).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches receiving a paging power savings PDCCH configuration including a monitoring configuration and receiving a paging power saving PDCCH based on the paging power saving PDCCH monitoring configuration (paging indication information (i.e. paging power savings configuration) is received by a UE to indicate if it needs to monitor the PDCCH. The paging indication is for saving energy consumption by the UE; Page 17 first two paragraphs);
The paging power saving PDCCH provides information of an availability of TRS (the purpose of the invention of Zhou is to determine if a reference signal (i.e. TRS), is valid (i.e. available)); Page 2 second to last paragraph. The RS being valid, or present means it can be measured; Page 10 second paragraph, therefore because the UE measures the reference signal in response to received pages/monitoring instructions, the paging information provides the availability of the TRS as claimed).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches TRS and paging are QCL (the TRS corresponding to the PO used for monitoring, is QCLed with the synchronization signal black (SSB); Page 18 fifth paragraph under “embodiment six”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou does not teach the TRS configuration is a cell specific TRS configuration; however, Sun teaches the TRS configuration information received is transmit from the currently camped cell (i.e. cell specific); Paragraph 45.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include cell specific TRS configuration information as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determine when the network is expected to transmit TRS as taught by Sun; Paragraph 45.
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches the TRS is determined based on a periodicity (reference signals can be configured according to periodic signals; Page 11 first paragraph under S102 and page 16 first paragraph under step S501. Thus one can see the TRS/occasions are based on periodical information).
Regarding claims 13 and 21, Zhou teaches a method and base station comprising:
A memory and processor for transmitting a tracking reference signal (TRS) configuration wherein a plurality of TRS occasions is based on the TRS configuration (the reference signals include configuration information; Page 11 step S102. Based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”. Thus one can see there is configuration information being sent and since TRS signals are used, this is viewed as receiving TRS configuration);
transmitting a TRS on a TRS occasion of a plurality of TRS occasions, (based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH. There are a plurality of paging occasions (PO) which are associated TRS; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”); and
transmitting data on a paging PDCCH on at least one paging PDCCH monitoring occasion based on TRS wherein the at least one paging PDCCH monitoring occasion is associated with the TRS occasion (based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH for data being transmit by the base station (i.e. network entity); Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”. Thus one can see the paging occasion monitoring and TRS are closely related).
Zhou does not expressly disclose the TRS information is transmit via a system information block; however, Sun teaches the TRS configuration information may be received in a SIB; Paragraphs 45 and 55.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include sending TRS configuration information in SIB as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determine when the network is expected to transmit TRS as taught by Sun; Paragraph 55.
Zhou teaches DRX; however, Zhou does not expressly disclose each paging frame of DRX is associated with the TRS occasion. Lee teaches TRS are received during a paging occasion for the UE in DRX mode; Paragraphs 174, 178, 240.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include each paging frame of DRX is associated with the TRS occasion as taught by Lee.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the TRS can serve as a wake-up signal for the UE as taught by Lee; Paragraph 178.
Regarding claim 14, Zhou teaches transmitting first information for a first NZP-CSI-RS of the TRS configuration and determining second information for a second NZP-CSI-RS of the TRS based on the first information (the received TRS includes 4 NZP-CSI-RS resources (this is viewed as first information). From this, the UE can determine whether a signal is valid (i.e. second information associated with second NZP CSI-RS); Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 3rd paragraph under “embodiment six”. Any of the four NZP-CSI-RS can be viewed as the first or second NZP information. As these are all tied to the TRS, they are received/determined based on the TRS occasion).
Regarding claim16, Zhou teaches DRX; however, Zhou does not expressly disclose each paging frame of DRX is associated with the TRS occasion. Lee teaches TRS are received during a paging occasion for the UE in DRX mode; Paragraphs 174, 178, 240.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include each paging frame of DRX is associated with the TRS occasion as taught by Lee.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the TRS can serve as a wake-up signal for the UE as taught by Lee; Paragraph 178.
Claim(s) 4, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Sun in view of Lee and further in view of Xue et al. “Xue” US 2023/0100896.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Zhou does not expressly disclose the first information includes time domain, frequency domain, scrambling ID or a power control parameter; however, Xue teaches the se of TRS/CSI-RS to support UEs of different paging occasions. Further, Xue teaches NZP-CSI-RS includes time domain and frequency domain mapping, scrambling IDs and a power value; Table 1; Paragraphs 227-232.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include the information includes time or frequency mapping, or a scrambling ID as taught by Xue.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system has the proper configuration parameters as taught by Xue; Paragraph 226.
Regrading claim 15, Zhou does not expressly disclose the first information includes time domain, frequency domain, scrambling ID or a power control parameter; however, Xue teaches the se of TRS/CSI-RS to support UEs of different paging occasions. Further, Xue teaches NZP-CSI-RS includes time domain and frequency domain mapping, scrambling IDs and a power value; Table 1; Paragraphs 227-232.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include the information includes time or frequency mapping, or a scrambling ID as taught by Xue.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system has the proper configuration parameters as taught by Xue; Paragraph 226.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art, Lee, does not teach or suggest the amended limitation from previous dependent claim 2 because Lee teaches the aperiodic TRS may not always be transmitted with the periodic events such as every DRX cycle and thus Lee does not teach the claimed association between each paging frame in the DRX cycle and at least one TRS occasion or each paging frame of a plurality of paging frames in a DRX cycle associated with at least one TRS occasion.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the interview, Lee teaches, paragraph 178, that the aperiodic TRS may not always be transmitted with periodic events such as every DRX cycle. The Examiner further noted that the teachings of “may not always” infers there are times in which it would be transmit in every DRX cycle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would realize there are only two options, transmit in every cycle or not. Lee is not limited in scope to one or the other. Paragraphs 174 and 240 disclose that the UE transmits TRS before or during DRX paging occasions. As the UE is transmitting the TRS during the paging occasions, this is viewed as each frame in the cycle being associated with one TRS occasion. Further, there is no recitation in either of these paragraphs that the UE doesn’t transmit them in every DRX cycle/occasion. The claim language does not define the association to be anything in particular which obviates the claim language from the prior art of record. Therefore, the rejection is proper.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411