DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-14, 17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. “Zhou” CN 113497690 in view of Sun et al. “Sun” US 2022/0322231 and further in view of Sabouri-Sichani et al. “Sabouri” US 2022/0338124.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Zhou teaches a method and apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive a tracking reference signal (TRS) configuration (the reference signals include configuration information; Page 11 step S102. Based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”. Thus one can see there is configuration information being sent and since TRS signals are used, this is viewed as receiving TRS configuration);
receive a TRS on a TRS occasion of a plurality of TRS occasions, wherein the plurality of TRS occasions is based on the TRS configuration (based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH. There are a plurality of paging occasions (PO) which are associated TRS; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”); and
monitor a paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on at least one paging PDCCH monitoring occasion based on the TRS (based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”);
wherein the at least one paging PDCCH monitoring occasion is associated with the TRS occasion (based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH. There are a plurality of paging occasions (PO) which are associated TRS; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”.
Zhou does not expressly disclose the TRS information is transmit via a system information block; however, Sun teaches the TRS configuration information may be received in a SIB; Paragraphs 45 and 55.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include sending TRS configuration information in SIB as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determine when the network is expected to transmit TRS as taught by Sun; Paragraph 55.
The prior art does not expressly disclose one paging PDCCH monitoring occasion is monitored per DRX cycle; however, Sabouri teaches the UE monitors only one paging occasion per DRX cycle for PDCCH; Paragraph 22.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include monitoring only one PO per DRX cycle as taught by Sabouri.
One would be motivated to make the modification for power saving as taught by Sabouri; Paragraph 22.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Zhou teaches receiving first information for a first NZP-CSI-RS of the TRS configuration and determining second information for a second NZP-CSI-RS of the TRS based on the first information (the received TRS includes 4 NZP-CSI-RS resources (this is viewed as first information). From this, the UE can determine whether a signal is valid (i.e. second information associated with second NZP CSI-RS); Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 3rd paragraph under “embodiment six”. Any of the four NZP-CSI-RS can be viewed as the first or second NZP information. As these are all tied to the TRS, they are received/determined based on the TRS occasion).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Zhou teaches the paging PDCCH monitoring occasion and TRS are QCL with SSB (the TRS corresponding to the PO used for monitoring, is QCLed with the synchronization signal black (SSB); Page 18 fifth paragraph under “embodiment six”).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Zhou teaches assuming that the plurality of TRS occasions include a plurality of TRS transmitted by a network entity, wherein receiving the TRS comprises receiving the TRS on the TRS occasion based on the assumption the plurality of TRS occasions include the plurality of TRS transmitted by the network entity (**Examiner notes the claim is making an assumption of something, and not positively reciting this assumption is present in the application, therefore because the prior art has occasions and TRS, the Examiner is making the same assumption as claimed**. Based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH. There are a plurality of paging occasions (PO) which are associated TRS; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”. Here one can see there are a plurality of TRS associated with a plurality of paging occasions. The UE is receiving TRS from a base station (i.e. network entity)).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches receiving information indicating whether the TRS is transmitted on the TRS occasion by a network entity wherein the TRS includes receiving the TRS on the TRS occasion in response to the TRS being transmitted on the TRS occasion by the network entity (Based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH. There are a plurality of paging occasions (PO) which are associated TRS; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”. Here one can see the TRS is received from a base station (i.e. network entity) which is transmitted with respect to a paging occasion).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches receiving a paging power savings PDCCH configuration including a monitoring configuration and receiving a paging power saving PDCCH based on the paging power saving PDCCH monitoring configuration (paging indication information (i.e. paging power savings configuration) is received by a UE to indicate if it needs to monitor the PDCCH. The paging indication is for saving energy consumption by the UE; Page 17 first two paragraphs);
The paging power saving PDCCH provides information of an availability of TRS (the purpose of the invention of Zhou is to determine if a reference signal (i.e. TRS), is valid (i.e. available)); Page 2 second to last paragraph. The RS being valid, or present means it can be measured; Page 10 second paragraph, therefore because the UE measures the reference signal in response to received pages/monitoring instructions, the paging information provides the availability of the TRS as claimed).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches TRS and paging are QCL (the TRS corresponding to the PO used for monitoring, is QCLed with the synchronization signal black (SSB); Page 18 fifth paragraph under “embodiment six”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou does not teach the TRS configuration is a cell specific TRS configuration; however, Sun teaches the TRS configuration information received is transmit from the currently camped cell (i.e. cell specific); Paragraph 45.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include cell specific TRS configuration information as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determine when the network is expected to transmit TRS as taught by Sun; Paragraph 45.
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches the TRS is determined based on a periodicity (reference signals can be configured according to periodic signals; Page 11 first paragraph under S102 and page 16 first paragraph under step S501. Thus one can see the TRS/occasions are based on periodical information).
Regarding claims 13, Zhou teaches a method at a network entity, the method comprising:
Transmitting a tracking reference signal (TRS) configuration wherein a plrualtiy of TRS occasions is based on the TRS configuration (the reference signals include configuration information; Page 11 step S102. Based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”. Thus one can see there is configuration information being sent and since TRS signals are used, this is viewed as receiving TRS configuration);
transmitting a TRS on a TRS occasion of a plurality of TRS occasions, (based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH. There are a plurality of paging occasions (PO) which are associated TRS; Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”); and
transmitting data on a paging PDCCH on at least one paging PDCCH monitoring occasion based on TRS wherein the at least one paging PDCCH monitoring occasion is associated with the TRS occasion (based on received TRS, the UE monitors the paging PDCCH for data being transmit by the base station (i.e. network entity); Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 4th paragraph under “embodiment six”. Thus one can see the paging occasion monitoring and TRS are closely related).
Zhou does not expressly disclose the TRS information is transmit via a system information block; however, Sun teaches the TRS configuration information may be received in a SIB; Paragraphs 45 and 55.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include sending TRS configuration information in SIB as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determine when the network is expected to transmit TRS as taught by Sun; Paragraph 55.
The prior art does not expressly disclose one paging PDCCH monitoring occasion is monitored per DRX cycle; however, Sabouri teaches the UE monitors only one paging occasion per DRX cycle for PDCCH; Paragraph 22.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include monitoring only one PO per DRX cycle as taught by Sabouri.
One would be motivated to make the modification for power saving as taught by Sabouri; Paragraph 22.
Regarding claim 14, Zhou teaches transmitting first information for a first NZP-CSI-RS of the TRS configuration and determining second information for a second NZP-CSI-RS of the TRS based on the first information (the received TRS includes 4 NZP-CSI-RS resources (this is viewed as first information). From this, the UE can determine whether a signal is valid (i.e. second information associated with second NZP CSI-RS); Page 18, S601 of Figure 6, 3rd paragraph under “embodiment six”. Any of the four NZP-CSI-RS can be viewed as the first or second NZP information. As these are all tied to the TRS, they are received/determined based on the TRS occasion).
Claim(s) 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Sun in view of Sabouri and further in view of Lee et al. “Lee” US 2019/0215117.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Zhou teaches DRX; however, Zhou does not expressly disclose each paging frame of DRX is associated with the TRS occasion. Lee teaches TRS are received during a paging occasion for the UE in DRX mode; Paragraphs 174, 178, 240.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include each paging frame of DRX is associated with the TRS occasion as taught by Lee.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the TRS can serve as a wake-up signal for the UE as taught by Lee; Paragraph 178.
Claim(s) 4, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Sun in view of Sabouri and further in view of Xue et al. “Xue” US 2023/0100896.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Zhou does not expressly disclose the first information includes time domain, frequency domain, scrambling ID or a power control parameter; however, Xue teaches the se of TRS/CSI-RS to support UEs of different paging occasions. Further, Xue teaches NZP-CSI-RS includes time domain and frequency domain mapping, scrambling IDs and a power value; Table 1; Paragraphs 227-232.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include the information includes time or frequency mapping, or a scrambling ID as taught by Xue.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system has the proper configuration parameters as taught by Xue; Paragraph 226.
Regrading claim 15, Zhou does not expressly disclose the first information includes time domain, frequency domain, scrambling ID or a power control parameter; however, Xue teaches the se of TRS/CSI-RS to support UEs of different paging occasions. Further, Xue teaches NZP-CSI-RS includes time domain and frequency domain mapping, scrambling IDs and a power value; Table 1; Paragraphs 227-232.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include the information includes time or frequency mapping, or a scrambling ID as taught by Xue.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system has the proper configuration parameters as taught by Xue; Paragraph 226.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411