DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary Amendment that was filed on 04/21/2023 is entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI et al. (US 20220399927 A1; hereinafter as “TSAI”) in view of LIU et al. (US 20220046430 A1; hereinafter as “LIU”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to TSAI unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independence claim:
Regarding claim 14, TSAI teaches, A transmitting User Equipment (UE) (TX UE in Fig. 1: also Fig. 5A: TX UE, Fig. 7: UE A, Fig. 13; UE A) adapted to operate in a wireless communication system (TX UE are in wireless communication with Rx UE in Fig. 5A: Fig. 7, Fig. 13, Fig. 17 UE A where UE A is in wireless communication with UE B: ), the transmitting UE ) (TX UE in Fig. 1: also Fig. 5A: TX UE, Fig. 7: UE A, Fig. 13; UE A) comprising:
at least one transceiver (see fig. 27F: UE with transceiver 120);
at least one processor (see fig. 27F: UE with processor 118 ;; and
at least one memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor (fig. 27: memory 130, 132 are in commucnation with processor 118 ), perform operations comprising:
discovering a receiving UE (==RX UE or UE B) during a discovery duration (see fig. 26 where UE A do “Discovery Announcement” to UE B: Aforesaid UE A transmits “ Discovery announcement procedure which a UE (e.g., source UE) may transmit the discovery message, e.g., “I am here.”, or “who is there?” via PSSCH or dedicated physical sidelink discovery channel to neighbor or vicinity UE(s) ” : [0056]; “ TX UE may start a timer T.sub.1 (e.g., in ms, slots, or subframes) after the sidelink establishes with the RX UE. Timer T.sub.s may be equal to a time duration (e.g. 100 ms) of the intended transmission for the TX UE to the Rx UE. A TX UE may monitor one or more unicast transmissions on SL, for example, i=1, . . . L.sub.SL, where L.sub.SL is dependent on UE's ability.”: [0060]; Discovery announcement for a duration of timer t1 (==discovery duration) : [0079]);
based on having data to transmit to the receiving UE (==UE B or Rx UE ), using the at least one transceiver (“When a unicast connection is established after discovery has completed between the announce UE and response UE, a UE may start transmitting unicast data to the other UE on Sidelink.”: [0056]):
i)transmitting a first Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) that triggers transmission of a Beam management Reference Signal (BRS) to the receiving UE (==UE B) (see fig. 13: UE A transmits PSCCH+PSSCH or PSCCH+PSSCH+ Sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS) to UE B in Step 263: [0097]; “beam failure detection (BFD)” is detected from UE A to UE B using SL-CSI-RS which triggers a Beam Failure Recovery reQuest (BFRQ) : [0006]-[0007], [0097]-[0099], [0051]; NOTE: BFD and BFRQ are considered BRS here);
ii) transmitting the BRS to the receiving UE (==UE B/RX UE) ( see fig. 13 step 263: UE A sends sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS) from UE A to UE B : “sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS) based beam failure detection (BFD) or candidate beam identification (CBI); 2) sidelink demodulation reference signal (SL-DMRS) of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) based on BFD”: [0006] ; [0097]);
iii) transmitting a second PSCCH that schedules the data to the receiving UE (==UE B) ( sends DUMMY SCI using another special PSCCH (==second PSCCH) for scheduling data transmission : [0150]; “ network can dynamically schedule/reserve the resource on FR1 for TX UE (==UE A ) to transmit the beam sweeping burst so RX UE can monitor the transmitted data from TX UE on FR1.”: [0173]; TX UE schedule beam transmission to RX UE: [0085]; NOTE: UE A transmits for transmitting data to RX UE; “In a third example, there may be methods or systems for implementing radio link monitoring procedures on sidelink. The systems or methods may include 1) semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) SL-CSI-RS based radio link monitoring; or 2) aperiodic (AP) SL-CSI-RS based radio link monitoring. In a fourth example, there may be methods or systems for implementing frequency region 1 (FR1) assisted or frequency region 2 (FR2) beam failure recovery.{[0272]) ;and
iv) transmitting the data to the receiving UE (==UE B) (see fig. 13: step 265 : UE A sends data to UE B: [0096]-[0097]; transmitting BFD to RX UE : [0150]);
receiving a measurement result of the BRS from the receiving UE using the at least one transceiver (UE receives Beam Failure Request (BFRQ) from UE B in Step 264: “ at step 264, UE B sends BFRQ to UE A.”: [0097], [0090], “ RX UE may trigger beam failure request (BFRQ). RX UE may use identified candidate SL-CSI-RS resource configuration index q.sub.new provided by higher layers for transmission over PSSCH or PSFCH channel. TX UE may determine which beam to use for this BFRQ reception: (1) each candidate beam in set q.sub.1,SL may be associated with a dedicated resource reserved by TX UE and RX UE mapped the select q.sub.new to the correspondence reserved resource by TX UE.”: [0094]).
While TSAI teaches, “discovering a receiving UE during a discovery duration” ;
TSAI does not expressively disclose:
Transmitting UE …having data to transmit to the receiving UE, during a data duration
adjusting a transmission beam of the at least one transceiver based on the measurement result of the BRS.
LIU, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
Transmitting UE …having data to transmit to the receiving UE, during a data duration (see fig. 3 where UE 302A and UE 302B are in Sideline communication: UE 302A transmits data during Data duration 335 in fig. 3: “one or more sidelink channels 310 may include a PSCCH 315, a PSSCH 320, and/or a PSFCH 325”; “ the PSCCH 315 may carry SCI 330, which may indicate various control information used for sidelink communications, such as one or more resources (e.g., time resources, frequency resources, spatial resources, and/or the like) where a transport block (TB) 335 (==DATA DURATION) may be carried on the PSSCH 320. The TB 335 may include data.”: : [0085]);
adjusting a transmission beam of the at least one transceiver based on the measurement result of the BRS (see fig. 10 element 1040 after element 1030; : UE 302a ; “At action 1030, the UE 302b transmits an indication of a preferred transmit beam direction of the plurality transmit beam directions.”: [0165]; “At action 1040, after receiving the preferred (==adjusting in claim ) transmit beam indication, the UE 302a transmits a plurality of second beam measurement signals over the sidelink using the preferred transmit beam direction. In some aspects, the plurality of second beam measurement signals can include beam sweeping SCI-2 and a DMRS. In some aspects, the plurality of second beam measurement signals can include CSI-RSs. In aspects, the UE 302a may transmit a trigger to trigger the UE 302b to perform a receive beam selection. The trigger can be an instruction in SCI-2 and/or a CSI-RS trigger.”: [0166]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of TSAI to include the above recited limitations as taught by LIU. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide intra-slot transmit beam selection and receive beam selection for sidelink to cover V2X communications over licensed bands and unlicensed bands.: (LIU; [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 1, TSAI teaches, A method performed by a transmitting User Equipment (UE) (TX UE in Fig. 1: also Fig. 5A: TX UE, Fig. 7: UE A, Fig. 13; UE A) adapted to operate in a wireless communication system (TX UE are in wireless communication with Rx UE in Fig. 5A: Fig. 7, Fig. 13, Fig. 17 UE A where UE A is in wireless communication with UE B), the method comprising:
discovering a receiving UE during a discovery duration (see fig. 26 where UE A do “Discovery Announcement” to UE B: Aforesaid UE A transmits “ Discovery announcement procedure which a UE (e.g., source UE) may transmit the discovery message, e.g., “I am here.”, or “who is there?” via PSSCH or dedicated physical sidelink discovery channel to neighbor or vicinity UE(s) ” : [0056]; “ TX UE may start a timer T.sub.1 (e.g., in ms, slots, or subframes) after the sidelink establishes with the RX UE. Timer T.sub.s may be equal to a time duration (e.g. 100 ms) of the intended transmission for the TX UE to the Rx UE. A TX UE may monitor one or more unicast transmissions on SL, for example, i=1, . . . L.sub.SL, where L.sub.SL is dependent on UE's ability.”: [0060]; Discovery announcement for a duration of timer t1 (==discovery duration) : [0079]);
based on having data to transmit to the receiving UE, during a data duration:
i)_transmitting a first Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) that triggers transmission of a Beam management Reference Signal (BRS) to the receiving UE;
ii) transmitting the BRS to the receiving UE;
iii) transmitting a second PSCCH that schedules the data to the receiving UE;and
iv) transmitting the data to the receiving UE;
receiving a measurement result of the BRS from the receiving UE; and
adjusting a transmission beam based on the measurement result of the BRS (Regarding rest of claim 1, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 14).
.
Regarding claim 18, TSAI teaches, A receiving User Equipment (UE) (==UE B or Rx UE in fig. 1, Fig. 7 ), operating adapted to operate in a wireless communication system, the receiving UE comprising:
at least one transceiver;
at least one processor; and
at least one memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising:
discovering a transmitting UE during a discovery duration (see fig. 26 where UE A do “Discovery Announcement” to UE B: Aforesaid UE A transmits “ Discovery announcement procedure which a UE (e.g., source UE) may transmit the discovery message, e.g., “I am here.”, or “who is there?” via PSSCH or dedicated physical sidelink discovery channel to neighbor or vicinity UE(s) ” : [0056]; “ TX UE may start a timer T.sub.1 (e.g., in ms, slots, or subframes) after the sidelink establishes with the RX UE. Timer T.sub.s may be equal to a time duration (e.g. 100 ms) of the intended transmission for the TX UE to the Rx UE. A TX UE may monitor one or more unicast transmissions on SL, for example, i=1, . . . L.sub.SL, where L.sub.SL is dependent on UE's ability.”: [0060]; Discovery announcement for a duration of timer t1 (==discovery duration) : [0079]);
based on having data to receive from the transmitting UE, using the at least one transceiver (“When a unicast connection is established after discovery has completed between the announce UE and response UE, a UE may start transmitting unicast data to the other UE on Sidelink.”: [0056]):
i)_receiving a first Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) that triggers transmission of a Beam management Reference Signal (BRS) from the transmitting UE (==UE B) (see fig. 13: UE A transmits PSCCH+PSSCH or PSCCH+PSSCH+ Sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS) to UE B in Step 263: [0097]; “beam failure detection (BFD)” is detected from UE A to UE B using SL-CSI-RS which triggers a Beam Failure Recovery reQuest (BFRQ) : [0006]-[0007], [0097]-[0099], [0051]; NOTE: BFD and BFRQ are considered BRS here);
ii) receiving the BRS from the transmitting UE (==UE B/RX UE) ( see fig. 13 step 263: UE A sends sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS) from UE A to UE B : “sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS) based beam failure detection (BFD) or candidate beam identification (CBI); 2) sidelink demodulation reference signal (SL-DMRS) of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) based on BFD”: [0006] ; [0097]);
iii) receiving a second PSCCH that schedules the data from the transmitting UE (==UE B) ( sends DUMMY SCI using another special PSCCH (==second PSCCH) for scheduling data transmission : [0150]; “ network can dynamically schedule/reserve the resource on FR1 for TX UE (==UE A ) to transmit the beam sweeping burst so RX UE can monitor the transmitted data from TX UE on FR1.”: [0173]; TX UE schedule beam transmission to RX UE: [0085]; NOTE: UE A transmits for transmitting data to RX UE; “In a third example, there may be methods or systems for implementing radio link monitoring procedures on sidelink. The systems or methods may include 1) semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) SL-CSI-RS based radio link monitoring; or 2) aperiodic (AP) SL-CSI-RS based radio link monitoring. In a fourth example, there may be methods or systems for implementing frequency region 1 (FR1) assisted or frequency region 2 (FR2) beam failure recovery.{[0272]); and
iv) receiving the data from the transmitting UE (==UE B) (see fig. 13: step 265 : UE A sends data to UE B: [0096]-[0097]; transmitting BFD to RX UE : [0150]); and
transmitting a measurement result of the BRS to the transmitting UE using the at least one transceiver (UE receives Beam Failure Request (BFRQ) from UE B in Step 264: “ at step 264, UE B sends BFRQ to UE A.”: [0097], [0090], “ RX UE may trigger beam failure request (BFRQ). RX UE may use identified candidate SL-CSI-RS resource configuration index q.sub.new provided by higher layers for transmission over PSSCH or PSFCH channel. TX UE may determine which beam to use for this BFRQ reception: (1) each candidate beam in set q.sub.1,SL may be associated with a dedicated resource reserved by TX UE and RX UE mapped the select q.sub.new to the correspondence reserved resource by TX UE.”: [0094]).
While TSAI teaches, “discovering a transmitting UE during a discovery duration” ;
TSAI does not expressively disclose:
based on having data to receive from the transmitting UE, using the at least one transceiver.
LIU, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
based on having data to receive from the transmitting UE, using the at least one transceiver (see fig. 3 where UE 302A and UE 302B are in Sideline communication: UE 302A transmits data during Data duration 335 in fig. 3: “one or more sidelink channels 310 may include a PSCCH 315, a PSSCH 320, and/or a PSFCH 325”; “ the PSCCH 315 may carry SCI 330, which may indicate various control information used for sidelink communications, such as one or more resources (e.g., time resources, frequency resources, spatial resources, and/or the like) where a transport block (TB) 335 (==DATA DURATION) may be carried on the PSSCH 320. The TB 335 may include data.”: : [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of TSAI to include the above recited limitations as taught by LIU. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide intra-slot transmit beam selection and receive beam selection for sidelink to cover V2X communications over licensed bands and unlicensed bands.: (LIU: [0002]-[0005]).
With respect to dependence claim:
Regarding claim 2, TSAI in view of LIU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the BRS is transmitted aperiodically ( “ aperiodic transmission property on sidelink (SL) communication.”: [0057]; “ UE assesses the radio link quality only according to aperiodic SL-CSI-RS resource configurations that are quasi co-located with the SL-DMRS for PSCCH receptions monitored by the UE”: [0117], [0120]).
Regarding claim 3, TSAI in view of LIU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, during the discovery duration:
transmitting a discovery signal to the receiving UE (see fig. 13: Discovery announcement includes Discovery Signal : “ Link recovery procedures on SL: To establish a unicast connection on sidelink, the discovery announcement procedure which a UE (e.g., source UE) may transmit the discovery message, e.g., “I am here.”, or “who is there?” via PSSCH or dedicated physical sidelink discovery channel to neighbor or vicinity UE(s) should be completed.”: [0056]); and
receiving a response message to the discovery signal from the receiving UE (response from Discovery message for link establishment : [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, TSAI in view of LIU teaches the invention of claim 3 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 3, wherein, based on the receiving UE detecting a plurality of transmission beams by receiving the discovery signal, i) the response message includes an index and a measurement result of a beam having a best measurement result among the plurality of transmission beams, and ii) the response message is received using a resource corresponding to the beam having the best measurement result ( “ Beam Failure Recovery (BFR) or link recovery procedure may involve the following steps: e.g., Beam Failure Detection (BFD), Candidate Beam Identification (CBI), Beam Failure Request (BFRQ), and Beam Recovery Response (BFR) from network. However, on SL communication, NR Uu BFR procedure may not be suitable for SL BFR. For instance, on SL, there may be no periodical beamformed reference signal like CSI-RS or SS will be guaranteed to be transmitted because aperiodic transmission property on SL communication. In addition, the receive UE may leave or be away from the transmit UE after a certain period. Those cases could result in no SL data transmission in a reporting or monitoring period for beam or link monitoring on sidelink. In this scenario, UE may decide whether there is a need to maintain the link or not on SL communication. In other word, if the transmit UE has nothing to transmit or due to data traffic congestion in a reporting or monitoring period, equivalently, there may be no reception data at the receive UE. In this case, the receive UE may not perform BFD, find the candidate beams, and trigger beam failure request (BFRQ). Therefore, link recovery procedure on SL should consider when there is nothing to measure and thus to report or indicate to the higher layer by an RX UE.”: [0057]-[0059]; [0062]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 5, TSAI in view of LIU teaches the invention of claim 3 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 3, wherein, based on the receiving UE detecting a plurality of transmission beams by receiving the discovery signal, i) the response message includes an index and a measurement result for each of the plurality of transmission beams, and ii) the response message is received using a resource associated with each of the plurality of transmission beams (“ SL-CSI-RS channel quality can be used for determination whether there is a beam failure occurring or not. RX UE may measure the received SL-CSI-RS and report the metric (e.g. L1-RSRP/RSRQ, SINR, or hypothetical BLER) to TX UE. The feedback of SL-CSI-RS reporting may use PSFCH or PSCCH and PSSCH. When TX UE receive the channel quality report then TX UE may decide whether there is a beam failure that should be reported to a higher layer for indicating this link (e.g., link i) failure or not. In mode 2, if feedback reporting uses sidelink control channel (e.g. PSCCH) and data channel (e.g. PSSCH) for RX UE, then the feedback resource for RX UE can be based on the following approaches: (1) RX UE may reserve or select a resource via channel sensing, or (2) TX UE can reserve a resource in advance for RX UE transmitting the feedback. If the feedback channel is based on a dedicated SL data channel e.g., PFSCH then TX UE may reserve a resource for RX UE in advance for RX UE transmitting the feedback. For SL mode 1, network may reserve a resource in advance for RX UE. SL-CSI-RS quality can be analog to monitor PSCCH quality when SL-CSI-RS is QCLed with RX UE PSCCH. If TX UE cannot detect the RX UE SL-CSI-RS where there is an expected feedback from RX UE then TX UE may also count this sample into Ll-RSRP SINR/RSRQ, or hypothetical BLER calculation.”: [0074]).
Regarding claim 6, , TSAI in view of LIU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the response message is received via a preconfigured frequency resource, and
wherein the preconfigured frequency resource does not conflict with a frequency resource used by another UE for the response message during a discovery process ( “SL-CSI-RS channel quality can be used for determination whether there is a beam failure occurring or not. RX UE may measure the received SL-CSI-RS and report the metric (e.g. L1-RSRP/RSRQ, SINR, or hypothetical BLER) to TX UE. The feedback of SL-CSI-RS reporting may use PSFCH or PSCCH and PSSCH. When TX UE receive the channel quality report then TX UE may decide whether there is a beam failure that should be reported to a higher layer for indicating this link (e.g., link i) failure or not. In mode 2, if feedback reporting uses sidelink control channel (e.g. PSCCH) and data channel (e.g. PSSCH) for RX UE, then the feedback resource for RX UE can be based on the following approaches: (1) RX UE may reserve or select a resource via channel sensing, or (2) TX UE can reserve a resource in advance for RX UE transmitting the feedback. If the feedback channel is based on a dedicated SL data channel e.g., PFSCH then TX UE may reserve a resource for RX UE in advance for RX UE transmitting the feedback. For SL mode 1, network may reserve a resource in advance for RX UE. SL-CSI-RS quality can be analog to monitor PSCCH quality when SL-CSI-RS is QCLed with RX UE PSCCH. If TX UE cannot detect the RX UE SL-CSI-RS where there is an expected feedback from RX UE then TX UE may also count this sample into Ll-RSRP SINR/RSRQ, or hypothetical BLER calculation.”: [0074]; [0173]-[0185]).
Regarding claim 7, TSAI in view of LIU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the response message comprises at least one of a response type, a UE Identifier (ID), and/or a status of the receiving UE (UE Identifier : [0084]; “ Once RX UE identifies a candidate SL-CSI-RS (e.g., ID=3 which corresponds to a specific beam) then RX UE may select the correspondent resource to transmit the BFRQ. Therefore, TX UE may perform the proper receiving beam for BFRQ reception.”: [0099]).
Regarding claim 8, TSAI in view of LIU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises receiving information informing presence or absence of an intention to transmit data from the receiving UE ( “ At step 271, UE 242 may determine a link failure. If no link failure, then proceed to step 267, but if there is a link failure proceed to step 272 (trigger BFRQ and start T2 timer). At step 264, UE 242 may send BFRQ. At step 265, in response to BFRQ of step 264, UE 242 may monitor PSCCH+PSSCH. At step 274, UE 242 determines whether data is received from UE 241. If data is received, then proceed to step 275 and if data is not received proceed to step 273 (monitor PSCCH+PSSCH). At step 275, if T2 is determined to have expired then proceed to step 267. If T2 is determined to he expired then proceed to step 272.”: [0097]).
Regarding claim 9, TSAI in view of LIU teaches the invention of claim 8 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 8, wherein the information informing presence or absence of the intention to transmit data is received in conjunction with a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ)-Acknowledgment (ACK) for the data and/or is received subsequent to reception of the HARQ-ACK (“ In mode 1, RX UE may send a request to network for reserving the resource or use configured grant resource to transmit a beam sweeping burst with or without HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback resource. The detail of beam sweeping burst may refer to beam sweeping burst as associated with the above BFR performed at TX/source UE. If RX UE physical layer sends an indication(s) to higher layer upon successfully decoding a data from TX UE before the timer T.sub.1 expires, then RX UE may reset the timer T.sub.1 and physical layer continues with (re)transmission with TX UE because the radio link has recovered.”: [0104]; “ ] For example, HARQ-ACK/NACK only, BFRQ indication can be based on sequence based PSFCH. For SL CSI and HARQ-ACK/NACK +SL CSI, they can be based on UCI with DMRS based PSFCH.”: [0169]).
Regarding claim 10, TSAI in view of LIU teaches the invention of claim 9 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 9, wherein, based on the information informing presence or absence of the intention to transmit data being received in conjunction with the HARQ-ACK, the information informing presence or absence of the intention to transmit data is received via a frequency resource associated with a frequency resource for the HARQ- ACK and/or via a dedicated frequency resource (“ Measurement with the SL-DMRS or Sequence of Feedback Channel PSFCH: TX UE may use the SL-DMRS of feedback channel (e.g., modulation based PSFCH) or the sequence of the feedback channel (e.g., sequence based PSFCH) for measurement when HARQ-ACK/NACK or SL-CSI-RS reporting are/is enabling. Disclosed herein, PSFCH may be used for the following purposes: [0162] HARQ-ACK/NACK only [0163] SL CSI only [0164] HARQ-ACK/NACK+SL CSI [0165] BFRQ indication
[0166] PSFCH may be designed by the following methods: [0167] Sequence based, in this case, HARQ-ACKNACK information is based on a sequence. The PSFCH may be occupied more than 2 symbols in a slot. If Zadoff-Chu sequence is used for this design. For example, the following may be defined as a sequence r.sub.u,v.sup.(α)(n)=e.sup.jαnr.sub.u,v.sup.(α)(n), where 0 <n <N is the length of PSFCH for HARQ-ACK/NACK sequence. HARQ-ACK/NACK information like {0, 1} or {00, 01, 10, 11} can be mapped to different (cyclic-shift) values of a for a root sequence which is derived by parameters u and v. [0168] UCI with SL-DMRS, in this case, UCI will use BPSK or QPSK for modulation order. The PSFCH may be occupied more than 2 symbols in a slot.
[0169] For example, HARQ-ACK/NACK only, BFRQ indication can be based on sequence based PSFCH. For SL CSI and HARQ-ACK/NACK +SL CSI, they can be based on UCI with DMRS based PSFCH.”: [0161]-[0169]).
Regarding claim 11, TSAI in view of LIU teaches the invention of claim 8 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 8, wherein the information informing presence or absence of the intention to transmit data is received by being included in a response message to a discovery signal in the discovery duration ( “ With continued reference to FIG. 3, at step 253, a discovery announcement procedure may occur. The discovery announcement procedure may involve UE 241 and UE 242. Subsequent to the discovery announcement procedure, there may be a start of TX and start/reset of timer T1 at UE 241. At step 245, there is determination of whether T1 expired. If T1 expired then proceed to step 252, if T1 not expired then proceed to step 260. Step 260 may include sending PSCCH+PSSCH to UE 242 or receiving PSFCH ACK/NACK from UE 242. At step 246, UE 241 may determine a link failure. If no link failure, then proceed to step 245, but if there is a link failure proceed to step 247 (start timer T2). At step 248, UE 241 does TX beam sweeping burst. At step 259, there may be more sending PSCCH +PSSCH to UE 242 or receiving PSFCH ACK/NACK from UE 242. At step 249, UE 241 determines whether T2 expires, if so, then proceed to step 251. If T2 is not expired, then determine whether link recovered at step 250. If link is not recovered then proceed to step 251, if the link is recovered then proceed to step 245.”: [0079]).
Regarding claim 12, TSAI in view of LIU teaches the invention of claim 8 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 8, wherein the information informing presence or absence of the intention to transmit data is received periodically ([0079], “ The indication of sidelink BFD, CBI, or BFRQ triggering mechanism is illustrated in FIG. 12A-12B. In each BFD/CBI report occasion, there is an associated monitoring window (or a periodical interval T.sub.1), if the monitored SL-RS's hypothetical BLER (e.g., SL-DMRS for PSCCH) is under a (pre-) configured threshold Q.sub.out,SL within the monitoring period, then the RX UE indicates BFD to the higher layer. In addition, upon request from higher layers, if there are SL-RS(s) being identified as candidate beams, e.g., when SL link quality (e.g., L1-RSRP, SIRN or hypothetical BLER) is greater or better than a (pre-) configured Q.sub.in,SL then the candidate SL-RS(s) can be reported to higher layer. Otherwise, if no BFD is detected within the associated monitoring window/period T.sub.1, then RX UE may designate no BFD report to the higher layer. Hence, periodic indications of beam failure may be provided based on operation of the timer T.sub.1, e.g. if TX UE reset timer T.sub.1 after it expires then the link may be periodically monitored by UE. Note: periodically monitoring a link doesn't mean RX UE will expect periodically receiving data packet for this link. UE procedure for BFR performed at RX UE side is summarized in FIG. 13.”: [0096]; [0053]).
Regarding claim 13, TSAI in view of LIU teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting UE is in communication with at least one of a mobile device, a network, and/or autonomous vehicles other than the transmitting UE (see fig. 13; UE can be in V2V, V2I, V2N V2P : [0191]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure as shown in PTO-892.
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411