DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 04/07/2026.
Claims 1-14, 18 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 3, 7-8, 12-14, 18 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and claims 15-17, 19-20 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 04/07/2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The Examiner found features modified to claims, i.e claim 1 as “
(Currently Amended) A method comprising:
discovering, by a first User Equipment (UE), a second UE during a discovery duration;
based on that the first UE has data to transmit to the second UE, during a data duration:
i) transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, a first inter-UE physical control channel that triggers transmission of a Beam management Reference Signal (BRS);
ii) transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, the BRS ;
iii) transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, a second inter-UE physical control channel that schedules the data; and
iv) transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, the data; receiving, by the first UE from the second UE, a measurement result of the BRS; and adjusting, by the first UE, a transmission beam based on the measurement result of the BRS;
wherein the BRS is a reference signal for maintaining or tracking beam alignment.”
that have changed the scope of the invention, Therefore, Applicant’s remarks regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 for the claims are moot. Applicant's remarks are considered as forward looking statement for the newly reconstructed claims.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, the examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations in details, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims as well a new prior art. See XU et al. (US 20190230519 A1; hereinafter as “XU0519”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI et al. (US 20220399927 A1; hereinafter as “TSAI”) in view of XU et al. (US 20190230519 A1; hereinafter as “XU0519”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to TSAI unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independence claim:
Regarding claim 14, TSAI teaches, A first User Equipment (UE) (Fig. 1: UE A, Fig. 7: UE A ) , the first UE ) ) (Fig. 1: UE A, Fig. 7: UE A ) comprising:
at least one transceiver (see fig. 27F: UE with transceiver 120);
at least one processor (see fig. 27F: UE with processor 118 ;; and
at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed, cause the first UE (Fig. 1: UE A, Fig. 7: UE A ) to perform operations comprising: (fig. 27: memory 130, 132 are in commucnation with processor 118 ):
discovering a second UE (==RX UE or UE B) during a discovery duration; based on having data to transmit to the second UE, during a data duration ( (see fig. 26 where UE A do “Discovery Announcement” to UE B: Aforesaid UE A transmits “ Discovery announcement procedure which a UE (e.g., source UE) may transmit the discovery message, e.g., “I am here.”, or “who is there?” via physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) or dedicated physical sidelink discovery channel to neighbor or vicinity UE(s) ” : [0056], [0006]; “ TX UE (==UE A) may start a timer T.sub.1 (e.g., in ms, slots, or subframes) after the sidelink establishes with the RX UE. Timer T.sub.s may be equal to a time duration (e.g. 100 ms) of the intended transmission for the TX UE to the Rx UE (==data duration). A TX UE may monitor one or more unicast transmissions on SL, for example, i=1, . . . L.sub.SL, where L.sub.SL is dependent on UE's ability.”: [0060]; discovery timer T2 : [0079]; time duration of intended transmission from TX UE to RX UE (==data duration): [0060]; Discovery announcement for a duration of timer t1 (==discovery duration) : [0079]; “ Subsequent to the discovery announcement procedure, there may be a start of TX and start/reset of timer T1 at UE 241. At step 245, there is determination of whether T1 expired. If T1 expired then proceed to step 252, if T1 not expired then proceed to step 260. Step 260 may include sending PSCCH+PSSCH to UE 242 ”: [0079] ); “When a unicast connection is established after discovery has completed between the announce UE and response UE, a UE may start transmitting unicast data to the other UE on Sidelink.”: [0056]; [0079]):
i) transmitting, to the second UE (==UE B), a first inter-UE physical control channel (==PSCCH+PSSCH) ) that triggers transmission of a Beam management Reference Signal (BRS) (see fig. 13: UE A transmits PSCCH+PSSCH or PSCCH+PSSCH+ Sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS) to UE B in Step 263: [0097]; “beam failure detection (BFD)” is detected from UE A to UE B using SL-CSI-RS which triggers a Beam Failure Recovery reQuest (BFRQ) : [0006]-[0007], [0097]-[0099], [0051]; NOTE: combination of BFD and BFRQ are considered BRS here);
ii) transmitting, to the second UE (==UE B/RX UE) the BRS ( see fig. 13 step 263: UE A sends sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS) from UE A to UE B : “sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS) based beam failure detection (BFD) or candidate beam identification (CBI); 2) sidelink demodulation reference signal (SL-DMRS) of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) based on beam failure detection (BFD) ”: [0006] ; [0097]; see fig. 24B);
iii) transmitting, to the second UE (==UE B), a second inter-UE physical control channel that schedules the data (Sends DUMMY SCI using another special PSCCH (==second inter-UE physical control channel) for scheduling data transmission : [0150]; “ network can dynamically schedule/reserve the resource on FR1 for TX UE (==UE A ) to transmit the beam sweeping burst so RX UE can monitor the transmitted data from TX UE on FR1.”: [0173]; TX UE schedule beam transmission to RX UE: [0085]; NOTE: UE A transmits for transmitting data to RX UE; “In a third example, there may be methods or systems for implementing radio link monitoring procedures on sidelink. The systems or methods may include 1) semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) SL-CSI-RS based radio link monitoring; or 2) aperiodic (AP) SL-CSI-RS based radio link monitoring. In a fourth example, there may be methods or systems for implementing frequency region 1 (FR1) assisted or frequency region 2 (FR2) beam failure recovery.{[0272]) ;and
iv) transmitting, to the second UE (==UE B), the data) (see fig. 13: step 265 : UE A sends data to UE B: [0096]-[0097]; transmitting BFD to RX UE : [0150]);
receiving, from the second UE (==UE B), a measurement result of the BRS (see fig. 24B: BGRQ from UE B to UE A; UE A receives Beam Failure Request (BFRQ) from UE B in Step 264: “ at step 264, UE B sends BFRQ to UE A.”: [0097], [0090], “ RX UE may trigger beam failure request (BFRQ). RX UE may use identified candidate SL-CSI-RS resource configuration index q.sub.new provided by higher layers for transmission over PSSCH or PSFCH channel. TX UE may determine which beam to use for this BFRQ reception: (1) each candidate beam in set q.sub.1,SL may be associated with a dedicated resource reserved by TX UE and RX UE mapped the select q.sub.new to the correspondence reserved resource by TX UE.”: [0094]).
While TSAI teaches, “transmitting, to the second UE, the data; receiving, from the second UE, a measurement result of the BRS” ;
TSAI does not expressively disclose:
adjusting, by the first UE, a transmission beam based on the measurement result of the BRS;
wherein the BRS is a reference signal for maintaining or tracking beam alignment.
XU0519, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
adjusting, by the first UE, a transmission beam based on the measurement result of the BRS ( see fig. 1 UE120a and UE120b; Two UEs 120, iet. UE120a (==first UE) and UE120b (==second UE) are in sidelink commucnation with the help of BS 110 : “ UEs 120 may communicate using peer-to-peer (P2P) communications, device-to-device (D2D) communications, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) protocol (e.g., which may include a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) protocol, a vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I) protocol, and/or the like), a mesh network, and/or the like. In this case, the UE 120 may perform scheduling operations, resource selection operations, and/or other operations described elsewhere herein as being performed by the BS 110”: [0032]; based on UE120b’s beam measurement, aforesaid UE120a aligned it’s beam based on beam reference signals (BRS): [0059] );
wherein the BRS is a reference signal for maintaining or tracking beam alignment (aforesaid BRS is beam pairing or beam alignment between two UE12 in sidelink commucnation : [0059], “ UE 120 may determine or identify beams and/or BRSs that cover UE 120 or are predicted to cover UE 120 based at least in part on mapping information. For example, the mapping information may identify a location and a BRS (e.g., a BRS index, a subframe, a symbol, a cell identifier, a BS identifier, etc.) that has previously been detected at that location. In some aspects, UE 120 may determine the mapping information. For example, as UE 120 detects BRSs, UE 120 may store information identifying the BRSs and the locations at which the BRSs are detected. In some aspects, UE 120 may provide the mapping information (e.g., to another UE 120, to BS 110, etc.), which may conserve resources of a recipient of the mapping information that would otherwise be used to determine the mapping information.”: [0066]-[0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of TSAI to include the above recited limitations as taught by XU0519. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve battery performance and RX performance of UEs.: (XU0519; [0064]).
Regarding claim 1, TSAI teaches, A method comprising:
discovering, by a first User Equipment (UE), a second UE during a discovery duration;
based on that the first UE has data to transmit to the second UE, during a data duration:
i) transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, a first inter-UE physical control channel that triggers transmission of a Beam management Reference Signal (BRS);
ii) transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, the BRS ;
iii) transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, a second inter-UE physical control channel that schedules the data; and
iv) transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, the data; receiving, by the first UE from the second UE, a measurement result of the BRS; and adjusting, by the first UE, a transmission beam based on the measurement result of the BRS;
wherein the BRS is a reference signal for maintaining or tracking beam alignment.
(Regarding rest of claim 1, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 14).
Regarding claim 18, TSAI teaches, A second User Equipment (UE) (==UE B or Rx UE in fig. 1, Fig. 7 ), comprising:
at least one transceiver (see fig. 27F: UE with transceiver 120);
at least one processor (see fig. 27F: UE with processor 118); and
at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being execute, cause the second UE to perform operations comprising (fig. 27: memory 130, 132 are in commucnation with processor 118 ):
discovering a first UE (==UE A) during a discovery duration; based on having data to receive from the first UE (==UE A), during a data duration (duration (see fig. 26 where UE A do “Discovery Announcement” to UE B: Aforesaid UE A transmits “ Discovery announcement procedure which a UE (e.g., source UE) may transmit the discovery message, e.g., “I am here.”, or “who is there?” via physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) or dedicated physical sidelink discovery channel to neighbor or vicinity UE(s) ” : [0056], [0006]; “ TX UE (==UE A) may start a timer T.sub.1 (e.g., in ms, slots, or subframes) after the sidelink establishes with the RX UE. Timer T.sub.s may be equal to a time duration (e.g. 100 ms) of the intended transmission for the TX UE to the Rx UE (==data duration). A TX UE may monitor one or more unicast transmissions on SL, for example, i=1, . . . L.sub.SL, where L.sub.SL is dependent on UE's ability.”: [0060]; discovery timer T2 : [0079]; time duration of intended transmission from TX UE to RX UE (==data duration): [0060]; Discovery announcement for a duration of timer t1 (==discovery duration) : [0079]; “ Subsequent to the discovery announcement procedure, there may be a start of TX and start/reset of timer T1 at UE 241. At step 245, there is determination of whether T1 expired. If T1 expired then proceed to step 252, if T1 not expired then proceed to step 260. Step 260 may include sending PSCCH+PSSCH to UE 242 ”: [0079] ); “When a unicast connection is established after discovery has completed between the announce UE and response UE, a UE may start transmitting unicast data to the other UE on Sidelink.”: [0056]; [0079]):
i) receiving, from the first UE (==UE A), a first inter- UE physical control channel (==PSCCH+PSSCH) that triggers transmission of a Beam management Reference Signal (BRS) (see fig. 13: UE A transmits PSCCH+PSSCH or PSCCH+PSSCH+ Sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS) to UE B in Step 263: [0097]; “beam failure detection (BFD)” is detected from UE A to UE B using SL-CSI-RS which triggers a Beam Failure Recovery reQuest (BFRQ) : [0006]-[0007], [0097]-[0099], [0051]; NOTE: combination of BFD and BFRQ are considered BRS here);
ii) receiving, from the first UE, the BRS ( see fig. 13 step 263: UE A sends sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS) from UE A to UE B : “sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS) based beam failure detection (BFD) or candidate beam identification (CBI); 2) sidelink demodulation reference signal (SL-DMRS) of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) based on beam failure detection (BFD) ”: [0006] ; [0097]; see fig. 24B);
iii) receiving, from the first UE a second inter-UE physical control channel that schedules the data (Sends DUMMY SCI using another special PSCCH (==second inter-UE physical control channel) for scheduling data transmission : [0150]; “ network can dynamically schedule/reserve the resource on FR1 for TX UE (==UE A ) to transmit the beam sweeping burst so RX UE can monitor the transmitted data from TX UE on FR1.”: [0173]; TX UE schedule beam transmission to RX UE: [0085]; NOTE: UE A transmits for transmitting data to RX UE; “In a third example, there may be methods or systems for implementing radio link monitoring procedures on sidelink. The systems or methods may include 1) semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) SL-CSI-RS based radio link monitoring; or 2) aperiodic (AP) SL-CSI-RS based radio link monitoring. In a fourth example, there may be methods or systems for implementing frequency region 1 (FR1) assisted or frequency region 2 (FR2) beam failure recovery.{[0272]) and
iv) receiving, from the first UE, the data (see fig. 13: step 265 : UE A sends data to UE B: [0096]-[0097]; transmitting BFD to RX UE : [0150]); and
transmitting, to the first UE, a measurement result of the BRS (see fig. 24B: BGRQ from UE B to UE A; UE A receives Beam Failure Request (BFRQ) from UE B in Step 264: “ at step 264, UE B sends BFRQ to UE A.”: [0097], [0090], “ RX UE may trigger beam failure request (BFRQ). RX UE may use identified candidate SL-CSI-RS resource configuration index q.sub.new provided by higher layers for transmission over PSSCH or PSFCH channel. TX UE may determine which beam to use for this BFRQ reception: (1) each candidate beam in set q.sub.1,SL may be associated with a dedicated resource reserved by TX UE and RX UE mapped the select q.sub.new to the correspondence reserved resource by TX UE.”: [0094]).
While TSAI teaches, “transmitting, to the first UE, a measurement result of the BRS” ;
TSAI does not expressively disclose:
wherein the BRS is a reference signal for maintaining or tracking beam alignment.
XU0519, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the BRS is a reference signal for maintaining or tracking beam alignment.
(aforesaid BRS is beam pairing or beam alignment between two UE12 in sidelink commucnation : [0059], “ UE 120 may determine or identify beams and/or BRSs that cover UE 120 or are predicted to cover UE 120 based at least in part on mapping information. For example, the mapping information may identify a location and a BRS (e.g., a BRS index, a subframe, a symbol, a cell identifier, a BS identifier, etc.) that has previously been detected at that location. In some aspects, UE 120 may determine the mapping information. For example, as UE 120 detects BRSs, UE 120 may store information identifying the BRSs and the locations at which the BRSs are detected. In some aspects, UE 120 may provide the mapping information (e.g., to another UE 120, to BS 110, etc.), which may conserve resources of a recipient of the mapping information that would otherwise be used to determine the mapping information.”: [0066]-[0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of TSAI to include the above recited limitations as taught by XU0519. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve battery performance and RX performance of UEs.: (XU0519; [0064]).
With respect to dependence claim:
Regarding claim 2, TSAI in view of XU0519 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the BRS is transmitted aperiodically ( “ aperiodic transmission property on sidelink (SL) communication.”: [0057]; “ UE assesses the radio link quality only according to aperiodic SL-CSI-RS resource configurations that are quasi co-located with the SL-DMRS for PSCCH receptions monitored by the UE”: [0117], [0120]).
Regarding claim 3, TSAI in view of XU0519 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, during the discovery duration: transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, a discovery signal; and receiving, by the first UE from the second UE, a response message to the discovery signal (see fig. 13: Discovery announcement includes Discovery Signal : “ Link recovery procedures on SL: To establish a unicast connection on sidelink, the discovery announcement procedure which a UE (e.g., source UE) may transmit the discovery message, e.g., “I am here.”, or “who is there?” via PSSCH or dedicated physical sidelink discovery channel to neighbor or vicinity UE(s) should be completed.”: [0056]); and
receiving a response message to the discovery signal from the receiving UE (response from Discovery message for link establishment : [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, TSAI in view of XU0519 teaches the invention of claim 3 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 3, wherein, based on the second UE detecting a plurality of transmission beams by receiving the discovery signal, i) the response message includes an index and a measurement result of a beam having a best measurement result among the plurality of transmission beams, and ii) the response message is received using a resource corresponding to the beam having the best measurement result ( “ Beam Failure Recovery (BFR) or link recovery procedure may involve the following steps: e.g., Beam Failure Detection (BFD), Candidate Beam Identification (CBI), Beam Failure Request (BFRQ), and Beam Recovery Response (BFR) from network. However, on SL communication, NR Uu BFR procedure may not be suitable for SL BFR. For instance, on SL, there may be no periodical beamformed reference signal like CSI-RS or SS will be guaranteed to be transmitted because aperiodic transmission property on SL communication. In addition, the receive UE may leave or be away from the transmit UE after a certain period. Those cases could result in no SL data transmission in a reporting or monitoring period for beam or link monitoring on sidelink. In this scenario, UE may decide whether there is a need to maintain the link or not on SL communication. In other word, if the transmit UE has nothing to transmit or due to data traffic congestion in a reporting or monitoring period, equivalently, there may be no reception data at the receive UE. In this case, the receive UE may not perform BFD, find the candidate beams, and trigger beam failure request (BFRQ). Therefore, link recovery procedure on SL should consider when there is nothing to measure and thus to report or indicate to the higher layer by an RX UE.”: [0057]-[0059]; [0062]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 5, TSAI in view of XU0519 teaches the invention of claim 3 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, ) The method of claim 3, wherein, based on the second UE detecting a plurality of transmission beams by receiving the discovery signal, i) the response message includes an index and a measurement result for each of the plurality of transmission beams, and ii) the response message is received using a resource associated with each of the plurality of transmission beams (“ SL-CSI-RS channel quality can be used for determination whether there is a beam failure occurring or not. RX UE may measure the received SL-CSI-RS and report the metric (e.g. L1-RSRP/RSRQ, SINR, or hypothetical BLER) to TX UE. The feedback of SL-CSI-RS reporting may use PSFCH or PSCCH and PSSCH. When TX UE receive the channel quality report then TX UE may decide whether there is a beam failure that should be reported to a higher layer for indicating this link (e.g., link i) failure or not. In mode 2, if feedback reporting uses sidelink control channel (e.g. PSCCH) and data channel (e.g. PSSCH) for RX UE, then the feedback resource for RX UE can be based on the following approaches: (1) RX UE may reserve or select a resource via channel sensing, or (2) TX UE can reserve a resource in advance for RX UE transmitting the feedback. If the feedback channel is based on a dedicated SL data channel e.g., PFSCH then TX UE may reserve a resource for RX UE in advance for RX UE transmitting the feedback. For SL mode 1, network may reserve a resource in advance for RX UE. SL-CSI-RS quality can be analog to monitor PSCCH quality when SL-CSI-RS is QCLed with RX UE PSCCH. If TX UE cannot detect the RX UE SL-CSI-RS where there is an expected feedback from RX UE then TX UE may also count this sample into Ll-RSRP SINR/RSRQ, or hypothetical BLER calculation.”: [0074]).
Regarding claim 6, , TSAI in view of XU0519 teaches the invention of claim 3 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 3, wherein the response message is received via a preconfigured frequency resource, and
wherein the preconfigured frequency resource does not conflict with a frequency resource used by another UE for the response message during a discovery process ( “SL-CSI-RS channel quality can be used for determination whether there is a beam failure occurring or not. RX UE may measure the received SL-CSI-RS and report the metric (e.g. L1-RSRP/RSRQ, SINR, or hypothetical BLER) to TX UE. The feedback of SL-CSI-RS reporting may use PSFCH or PSCCH and PSSCH. When TX UE receive the channel quality report then TX UE may decide whether there is a beam failure that should be reported to a higher layer for indicating this link (e.g., link i) failure or not. In mode 2, if feedback reporting uses sidelink control channel (e.g. PSCCH) and data channel (e.g. PSSCH) for RX UE, then the feedback resource for RX UE can be based on the following approaches: (1) RX UE may reserve or select a resource via channel sensing, or (2) TX UE can reserve a resource in advance for RX UE transmitting the feedback. If the feedback channel is based on a dedicated SL data channel e.g., PFSCH then TX UE may reserve a resource for RX UE in advance for RX UE transmitting the feedback. For SL mode 1, network may reserve a resource in advance for RX UE. SL-CSI-RS quality can be analog to monitor PSCCH quality when SL-CSI-RS is QCLed with RX UE PSCCH. If TX UE cannot detect the RX UE SL-CSI-RS where there is an expected feedback from RX UE then TX UE may also count this sample into Ll-RSRP SINR/RSRQ, or hypothetical BLER calculation.”: [0074]; [0173]-[0185]).
Regarding claim 7, TSAI in view of XU0519 teaches the invention of claim 3 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 3, wherein the response message comprises at least one of a response type, a UE Identifier (ID), and/or a status of the second UE (UE Identifier : [0084]; “ Once RX UE identifies a candidate SL-CSI-RS (e.g., ID=3 which corresponds to a specific beam) then RX UE may select the correspondent resource to transmit the BFRQ. Therefore, TX UE may perform the proper receiving beam for BFRQ reception.”: [0099]).
Regarding claim 8, TSAI in view of XU0519 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the method further receiving, by the first UE from the second UE, information informing presence or absence of an intention to transmit data ( “ At step 271, UE 242 may determine a link failure. If no link failure, then proceed to step 267, but if there is a link failure proceed to step 272 (trigger BFRQ and start T2 timer). At step 264, UE 242 may send BFRQ. At step 265, in response to BFRQ of step 264, UE 242 may monitor PSCCH+PSSCH. At step 274, UE 242 determines whether data is received from UE 241. If data is received, then proceed to step 275 and if data is not received proceed to step 273 (monitor PSCCH+PSSCH). At step 275, if T2 is determined to have expired then proceed to step 267. If T2 is determined to he expired then proceed to step 272.”: [0097]).
Regarding claim 9, TSAI in view of XU0519 teaches the invention of claim 8 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 8, wherein the information informing presence or absence of the intention to transmit data is received in conjunction with a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ)-Acknowledgment (ACK) for the data and/or is received subsequent to reception of the HARQ-ACK (“ In mode 1, RX UE may send a request to network for reserving the resource or use configured grant resource to transmit a beam sweeping burst with or without HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback resource. The detail of beam sweeping burst may refer to beam sweeping burst as associated with the above BFR performed at TX/source UE. If RX UE physical layer sends an indication(s) to higher layer upon successfully decoding a data from TX UE before the timer T.sub.1 expires, then RX UE may reset the timer T.sub.1 and physical layer continues with (re)transmission with TX UE because the radio link has recovered.”: [0104]; “ ] For example, HARQ-ACK/NACK only, BFRQ indication can be based on sequence based PSFCH. For SL CSI and HARQ-ACK/NACK +SL CSI, they can be based on UCI with DMRS based PSFCH.”: [0169]).
Regarding claim 10, TSAI in view of XU0519 teaches the invention of claim 9 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 9, wherein, based on the information informing presence or absence of the intention to transmit data being received in conjunction with the HARQ-ACK, the information informing presence or absence of the intention to transmit data is received via a frequency resource associated with a frequency resource for the HARQ- ACK and/or via a dedicated frequency resource (“ Measurement with the SL-DMRS or Sequence of Feedback Channel PSFCH: TX UE may use the SL-DMRS of feedback channel (e.g., modulation based PSFCH) or the sequence of the feedback channel (e.g., sequence based PSFCH) for measurement when HARQ-ACK/NACK or SL-CSI-RS reporting are/is enabling. Disclosed herein, PSFCH may be used for the following purposes: [0162] HARQ-ACK/NACK only [0163] SL CSI only [0164] HARQ-ACK/NACK+SL CSI [0165] BFRQ indication
[0166] PSFCH may be designed by the following methods: [0167] Sequence based, in this case, HARQ-ACKNACK information is based on a sequence. The PSFCH may be occupied more than 2 symbols in a slot. If Zadoff-Chu sequence is used for this design. For example, the following may be defined as a sequence r.sub.u,v.sup.(α)(n)=e.sup.jαnr.sub.u,v.sup.(α)(n), where 0 <n <N is the length of PSFCH for HARQ-ACK/NACK sequence. HARQ-ACK/NACK information like {0, 1} or {00, 01, 10, 11} can be mapped to different (cyclic-shift) values of a for a root sequence which is derived by parameters u and v. [0168] UCI with SL-DMRS, in this case, UCI will use BPSK or QPSK for modulation order. The PSFCH may be occupied more than 2 symbols in a slot.
[0169] For example, HARQ-ACK/NACK only, BFRQ indication can be based on sequence based PSFCH. For SL CSI and HARQ-ACK/NACK +SL CSI, they can be based on UCI with DMRS based PSFCH.”: [0161]-[0169]).
Regarding claim 11, TSAI in view of XU0519 teaches the invention of claim 8 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 8, wherein the information informing presence or absence of the intention to transmit data is received by being included in a response message to a discovery signal in the discovery duration ( “ With continued reference to FIG. 3, at step 253, a discovery announcement procedure may occur. The discovery announcement procedure may involve UE 241 and UE 242. Subsequent to the discovery announcement procedure, there may be a start of TX and start/reset of timer T1 at UE 241. At step 245, there is determination of whether T1 expired. If T1 expired then proceed to step 252, if T1 not expired then proceed to step 260. Step 260 may include sending PSCCH+PSSCH to UE 242 or receiving PSFCH ACK/NACK from UE 242. At step 246, UE 241 may determine a link failure. If no link failure, then proceed to step 245, but if there is a link failure proceed to step 247 (start timer T2). At step 248, UE 241 does TX beam sweeping burst. At step 259, there may be more sending PSCCH +PSSCH to UE 242 or receiving PSFCH ACK/NACK from UE 242. At step 249, UE 241 determines whether T2 expires, if so, then proceed to step 251. If T2 is not expired, then determine whether link recovered at step 250. If link is not recovered then proceed to step 251, if the link is recovered then proceed to step 245.”: [0079]).
Regarding claim 12, TSAI in view of XU0519 teaches the invention of claim 8 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches, The method of claim 8, wherein the information informing presence or absence of the intention to transmit data is received periodically ([0079], “ The indication of sidelink BFD, CBI, or BFRQ triggering mechanism is illustrated in FIG. 12A-12B. In each BFD/CBI report occasion, there is an associated monitoring window (or a periodical interval T.sub.1), if the monitored SL-RS's hypothetical BLER (e.g., SL-DMRS for PSCCH) is under a (pre-) configured threshold Q.sub.out,SL within the monitoring period, then the RX UE indicates BFD to the higher layer. In addition, upon request from higher layers, if there are SL-RS(s) being identified as candidate beams, e.g., when SL link quality (e.g., L1-RSRP, SIRN or hypothetical BLER) is greater or better than a (pre-) configured Q.sub.in,SL then the candidate SL-RS(s) can be reported to higher layer. Otherwise, if no BFD is detected within the associated monitoring window/period T.sub.1, then RX UE may designate no BFD report to the higher layer. Hence, periodic indications of beam failure may be provided based on operation of the timer T.sub.1, e.g. if TX UE reset timer T.sub.1 after it expires then the link may be periodically monitored by UE. Note: periodically monitoring a link doesn't mean RX UE will expect periodically receiving data packet for this link. UE procedure for BFR performed at RX UE side is summarized in FIG. 13.”: [0096]; [0053]).
Regarding claim 13, TSAI in view of XU0519 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, TSAI teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the first UE is in communication with at least one of a mobile device, a network, and/or autonomous vehicles other than the first UE (see fig. 13; UE can be in V2V, V2I, V2N V2P : [0191]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411