DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 24 and 26-35 and added claims 45-48 in the amendment filed on 10/20/2025.
The claims 24, 26-35, and 45-48 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10/20/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 47 recites the limitation "the communication" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24, 26, 30, 32, and 45-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakulev et al (US Patent No. 10,887,751 B1) in view of QIU (CN-111314944-A).
With respect to claim 24, Cakulev teaches an apparatus (NRF device 106) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions of a network repository function (NRF) (NRF device 106) a communication network, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform operations, the operations comprising: receiving, from a network repository function (NRF) consumer, a registration request comprising first information for registration of a profile of the NRF consumer with the NRF, the registration request comprising first information (col. 2, line 64-col. 3, line 29 disclose the NRF device 106 may obtain first registration information from the first NF device 102; col. 8, lines 43-61 disclose an NF device sending registration information to NRF device 318 and/or NRF device 318-1. NRF device 318 and/or NRF device 318-1 may each update a respective data structure based on the registration information (e.g., maintain a profile concerning the NF device), wherein the NRF consumer comprises a network function (NF) or a service communication proxy (SCP) of the communication network that consumes services of the NRF (NF 102, 104, 106); determining, based on the first information, that the NRF is a preferred NRF of the communication network for the NRF consumer and that one or more other NRFs are to be one or more backup NRFs for the preferred NRF for use by the NRF consumer if the preferred NRF is unreachable by the NRF consumer (col. 2, lines 18-37; col. 4, lines 23-55; col. 5, line 46-col. 6, line 12 disclose the NRF device facilitating the querying NF device discovering and communicating with a backup preferred NF device of the locality when the preferred NF device is not available; NF devices may include NRF device 318-1); providing, to the NRF consumer, NRF information that identifies the NRF and the one or more backup NRFs (col. 2, lines 18-37; col. 4, lines 23-55; col. 5, line 46-col. 6, line 12 disclose the NRF device sending the NF device information indicating a priority order value to the third NF device 108 based on respective priority order value of each NF device).
Cakulev does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the NRF consumer, a request comprising a heartbeat request or a registration update request for updating the registration of the profile of the NRF consumer; and sending, to the NRF consumer, a response to the request, the response indicating that the NRF is available.
However, QIU teaches receiving, from the NRF consumer, a request comprising a heartbeat request or a registration update request for updating the registration of the profile of the NRF consumer (paragraph 0029; 0078 disclose NF-4 detecting an NRF failure by communicating with NRF-4 via heartbeat messages); and sending, to the NRF consumer, a response to the request, the response indicating that the NRF is available (paragraph 0080 disclose returning the address of NRF-3 to NF-4 if a corresponding NRF-3 is found based on the received heartbeat messages) in order to provide NRF fault based solution (paragraph 0010). Therefore, based on Cakulev in view of QIU, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of QIU to the system of Cakulev in order to provide NRF fault based solution.
With respect to claim 26, Cakulev teaches wherein the first information comprises at least one of: an indication of a locality of the NRF consumer, a geographical location of the NRF consumer, an indication of a data center hosting the NRF consumer, an indication of a network slice used by the NRF consumer to send the registration request, or an indication of the NRF consumer type, wherein the NRF consumer type indicates a type of NRF consumer (col. 3, lines 3-29 disclose the first registration information includes locality and priority information concerning the first NF device 102, as well as other information, such as information concerning services provided by the first NF device 102, information concerning a capacity of the first NF device 102).
With respect to claim 30, Cakulev discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein in instance new NRF information is available after the providing the NRF information, the response to the request comprises the new NRF information, wherein the new NRF information identifies a first other NRF of the one or more other NRFs as the preferred NRF for the NRF consumer and a second other NRF of the one or more other NRFs as the backup NRF for the preferred NRF.
However, QIU teaches wherein in instance new NRF information is available after the providing the NRF information, the response to the request comprises the new NRF information, wherein the new NRF information identifies a first other NRF of the one or more other NRFs as the preferred NRF for the NRF consumer and a second other NRF of the one or more other NRFs as the backup NRF for the preferred NRF (paragraph 0030 disclose returning the address of other NRFs if other NRF are found; 0080 disclose returning the address of NRF-3 to NF-4 if a corresponding NRF-3 is found based on the received heartbeat messages) in order to provide NRF fault based solution (paragraph 0010). Therefore, based on Cakulev in view of QIU, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of QIU to the system of Cakulev in order to provide NRF fault based solution.
The limitations of claim 32 are rejected in the analysis of claim 24 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
With respect to claim 45, Cakulev discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the operations further comprise: sending, to the first other NRF, a second request comprising a second heartbeat request or a second registration update request for updating the registration of the profile of the NRF consumer; receiving, from the first other NRF, a second response to the second request, the second response comprising updated NRF information, the updated NRF information comprising an indication that the NRF is the preferred NRF for the NRF consumer.
However, QIU teaches wherein the operations further comprise: sending, to the first other NRF, a second request comprising a second heartbeat request or a second registration update request for updating the registration of the profile of the NRF consumer (paragraph 0029; 0078 disclose NF-4 detecting an NRF failure by communicating with NRF-4 via heartbeat messages); receiving, from the first other NRF, a second response to the second request, the second response comprising updated NRF information, the updated NRF information comprising an indication that the NRF is the preferred NRF for the NRF consumer (paragraph 0080 disclose returning the address of NRF-3 to NF-4 if a corresponding NRF-3 is found based on the received heartbeat messages; if a matching NRF is found, all matching NRF addresses will be combined into a list and returned to the corresponding NF) in order to provide NRF fault based solution (paragraph 0010). Therefore, based on Cakulev in view of QIU, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of QIU to the system of Cakulev in order to provide NRF fault based solution.
With respect to claim 46, Cakulev discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except sending, to the preferred NRF, a third request comprising a third heartbeat request or a third registration update request for updating the registration of the profile of the NRF consumer; and receiving, from the preferred NRF, a third response to the request, the third response indicating that the first backup NRF is available.
However, QIU teaches sending, to the preferred NRF, a third request comprising a third heartbeat request or a third registration update request for updating the registration of the profile of the NRF consumer (paragraph 0029; 0078 disclose NF-4 detecting an NRF failure by communicating with NRF-4 via heartbeat messages); and receiving, from the preferred NRF, a third response to the request, the third response indicating that the first backup NRF is available (paragraph 0080 disclose returning the address of NRF-3 to NF-4 if a corresponding NRF-3 is found based on the received heartbeat messages; if a matching NRF is found, all matching NRF addresses will be combined into a list and returned to the corresponding NF) in order to provide NRF fault based solution (paragraph 0010). Therefore, based on Cakulev in view of QIU, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of QIU to the system of Cakulev in order to provide NRF fault based solution.
With respect to claim 47, Cakulev teaches an apparatus (NRF device 106) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions of a first Network Repository Function (NRF) of a communication network (NRF device 106), and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform operations, the operations comprising: receiving, from the NRF consumer, a request comprising a heartbeat request or a registration update request for updating the registration of the profile of the NRF consumer (col. 2, line 64-col. 3, line 29 disclose the NRF device 106 may obtain first registration information from the first NF device 102; col. 8, lines 43-61 disclose an NF device sending registration information to NRF device 318 and/or NRF device 318-1. NRF device 318 and/or NRF device 318-1 may each update a respective data structure based on the registration information (e.g., maintain a profile concerning the NF device).
Cakulev does not explicitly disclose wherein the first NRF is a backup NRF for a second NRF of the communication network, wherein the second NRF is a preferred NRF for a NRF consumer; and sending, to the NRF consumer, a response to the request, the response indicating that the first NRF is available and the response comprising NRF information comprising an indication that the first NRF is the preferred NRF for the NRF consumer and an identifier of a third NRF of the communication that is the backup NRF for the preferred NRF.
However, QIU teaches wherein the first NRF is a backup NRF for a second NRF of the communication network (all matching NRF list, paragraph 0081), wherein the second NRF is a preferred NRF for a NRF consumer (corresponding NRF); and sending, to the NRF consumer, a response to the request, the response indicating that the first NRF is available and the response comprising NRF information comprising an indication that the first NRF is the preferred NRF for the NRF consumer and an identifier of a third NRF of the communication that is the backup NRF for the preferred NRF (paragraph 0080-0081 disclose returning the address of NRF-3 to NF-4 if a corresponding NRF-3 is found based on the received heartbeat messages) in order to provide NRF fault based solution (paragraph 0010). Therefore, based on Cakulev in view of QIU, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of QIU to the system of Cakulev in order to provide NRF fault based solution.
With respect to claim 48, Cakulev teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from the NRF consumer, a second request comprising a second heartbeat request or a second registration update request for updating the registration of the profile of the NRF consumer (col. 2, line 64-col. 3, line 29 disclose the NRF device 106 may obtain first registration information from the first NF device 102; col. 8, lines 43-61 disclose an NF device sending registration information to NRF device 318 and/or NRF device 318-1. NRF device 318 and/or NRF device 318-1 may each update a respective data structure based on the registration information (e.g., maintain a profile concerning the NF device).
Cakulev does not explicitly disclose detecting that the second NRF is available; and sending, a response to the second request, the response comprising updated NRF information, the updated NRF information comprising an indication that the second NRF is the preferred NRF for the NRF consumer.
However, QIU teaches detecting that the second NRF is available; and sending, a response to the second request, the response comprising updated NRF information, the updated NRF information comprising an indication that the second NRF is the preferred NRF for the NRF consumer (paragraph 0080-0081 disclose returning the address of NRF-3 to NF-4 if a corresponding NRF-3 is found based on the received heartbeat messages) in order to provide NRF fault based solution (paragraph 0010). Therefore, based on Cakulev in view of QIU, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of QIU to the system of Cakulev in order to provide NRF fault based solution.
Claims 27-29, 31, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakulev et al (US Patent No. 10,887,751 B1) in view of QIU (CN-111314944-A), and further in view of Wang et al (WO 2020/038151 A1).
With respect to claim 27, Cakulev and QIU disclose the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the response to the request comprises a hypertext transfer protocol header.
However, Wang teaches wherein the response to the request comprises a hypertext transfer protocol header (paragraph 0090-0091 disclose NRF profile comprising specific information such as FQDN, IP address, URL, data set ID) in order to provide routing information. Therefore, based on Cakulev in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Wang to the system of Cakulev in order to provide routing information.
With respect to claim 28, Cakulev and QIU disclose the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the NRF information comprises a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) for the NRF and a FQDN for each of respective other NRF of the one or more other NRFs.
However, Wang teaches wherein the NRF information comprises a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) for the NRF and a FQDN for each of respective other NRF of the one or more other NRFs (paragraph 0090-0091 disclose NRF profile comprising specific information such as FQDN, IP address, URL, data set ID) in order to provide routing information. Therefore, based on Cakulev in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Wang to the system of Cakulev in order to provide routing information.
With respect to claim 29, Cakulev and QIU disclose the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the NRF information comprises an identifier of an NRF set comprising the NRF and the one or more other NRFs.
However, Wang teaches wherein the NRF information comprises an identifier of an NRF set comprising the NRF and the one or more other NRFs (paragraph 0090-0091 disclose NRF profile comprising specific information such as FQDN, IP address, URL, data set ID) in order to provide routing information. Therefore, based on Cakulev and QIU in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Wang to the system of Cakulev in order to provide routing information.
With respect to claim 31, Cakulev and QIU disclose the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the NRF and the one or more other NRFs share NRF consumer profile data with all NRF consumers registered with any of the NRF and the one or more backup NRFs.
However, Wang teaches wherein the NRF and the one or more other NRFs share NRF consumer profile data with all NRF consumers registered with any of the NRF and the one or more backup NRFs (paragraph 0090-0093 disclose central NRF broadcasting the routing table to the regional NRFs) in order to provide quick response to discover requests. Therefore, based on Cakulev and QIU in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Wang to the system of Cakulev in order to provide quick response to discover requests.
The limitations of claim 33 are rejected in the analysis of claim 27 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 34 are rejected in the analysis of claim 28 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 35 are rejected in the analysis of claim 29 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEIKH T NDIAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
2/11/2026