DETAILED ACTION
Reply Under 37 CFR 1.111
The submission of the reply filed on June 8, 2025 to the non-final Office action of March 7, 2025 is acknowledged. The Office action on the currently pending and elected claims 1-16 follows.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg. 3, ln. 8/second line of c): “thansfer transfer” should read “transfer” for spelling reasons (minor typographical error; corrections in this paragraph do not appear to properly show portions that are deleted and portions that are inserted).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12, ln. 10: “the environment” should read “an environment” to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 14, lns. 1-2: “inserting first and/or second sets of fibers” should read “inserting the first and/or second sets of fibers” to avoid antecedent basis issues with claim 12, lns. 2 and 8.
Appropriate correction is required.
Additionally, while this is not an objection, the Office recommends/suggests that Claim 1, lns. 5, 8, and 11, and Claim 12, lns. 9 and 13, be amended such that “heat” reads “the heat”, and thus the heat in each claim refers to the same heat throughout the claim, as while the claim scope is clear, the claim may end up broader than desired due to the use of functional language (“suitable to”) in claim limitations relevant to heat transfer between components of the thermal contact apparatus, which only requires the components to be capable of meeting said limitation. See MPEP § 2114, MPEP § 2173.05(g) and MPEP § 2111.04.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Summerfelt et al (US 20200321304, hereinafter referred to as “Summerfelt”).
Regarding claim 1, Summerfelt (Figs. 1-11) discloses a thermal contact apparatus (1000), comprising: a) a first plate (106A-106D), suitable to be connected to a heat source (semiconductor device inside 102, if 102 is a semiconductor package, or 102 itself, if 102 is a semiconductor die; see [0043] and [0020]) (first plate suitable to be connected to heat source: see Figs. 10-11, [0021], [0039], and [0042]-[0043]: at least mechanically and thermally connected), absorb heat (heat absorbed by 106A-106D as a result of being thermally coupled to 102, 102 comprising an electrical device; see [0020], [0018], [0035]-[0036], [0043], and Fig. 10) from said heat source (first plate suitable to absorb heat from heat source: see [0018], [0035]-[0036], and Fig. 10: capable of absorbing heat due to thermal connection), and transfer the heat to other components (110A-110D, 118, 116, 108A-108D, and 104A-104D) of the thermal contact apparatus (first plate suitable to transfer heat to other components of thermal contact apparatus: see [0018], [0035]-[0036], and Fig. 10: 106A-106D is capable of transferring the heat due to the thermal connection to the other components); b) a first set of fibers (118), suitable to absorb heat (heat absorbed from respective 106 of 106A-106D as a result of being thermally coupled: see [0018], [0035]-[0036], and Fig. 10) from said first plate (first set of fibers suitable to absorb heat from first plate: see [0018], [0035]-[0036], and Fig. 10: capable of absorbing heat due to thermal connection) and transfer the heat to other components (118, 116, 108A-108D, and 104A-104D) of the thermal contact apparatus (first set of fibers suitable to transfer heat to other components of thermal contact apparatus: see [0018], [0035]-[0036], and Fig. 10), wherein said first set of fibers is connected to said first plate (first set of fibers connected to first plate: see Figs. 10-11, [0028]-[0033], [0035]-[0036], [0039], and [0042]; at least thermally and mechanically connected via respective 110 of 110A-110D) c) a second set of fibers (116), suitable to absorb heat (heat absorbed from respective 118 as a result of being thermally connected; see [0035]-[0036]) from said first set of fibers (suitable to absorb heat from said first set of fibers: see [0035]-[0036]: 116 is capable of absorbing heat from 118 due to being thermally coupled) and transfer the heat to other components (respective 108 of 108A-108D and respective 104 of 104A-104D) of the thermal contact apparatus (suitable to transfer the heat to other components of thermal contact apparatus: see [0018], [0035]-[0036], and Fig. 10: capable of transferring heat due to thermal connection to the other components), wherein said first and second sets of fibers are in contact (first and second fibers are in contact: see [0018], [0035]-[0036], and Fig. 10); and d) a second plate (104A-104D), suitable to absorb heat (heat absorbed from respective 116 as a result of being thermally connected; see [0018], [0035]-[0036], and Fig. 10) from said second set of fibers (suitable to absorb heat from said second set of fibers: see [0020], [0018], [0035]-[0036], and Fig. 10: 104A-104D are capable of absorbing heat from the respective 116 due to the respective 108 of 108A-108D being thermally connected) and transfer the heat out of the thermal contact apparatus (suitable to transfer heat out of thermal contact apparatus: see [0018], [0020], [0035]-[0036], [0043], and Fig. 10: 100 is capable of receiving heat from 102 through 1000 due to the thermal connection, and thus 104A-104D can dissipate heat to 100 and thus out of 1000), wherein said second set of fibers is connected to said second plate (second set of fibers connected to second plate: see Figs. 10-11, [0028]-[0033], [0035]-[0036], [0039], and [0042]; at least thermally and mechanically connected via respective 108 of 108A-108D); wherein the first and/or second set of fibers comprise fiber-bundles (see Fig. 10: 116 and 118 comprise groups of nanowires); wherein the first set of fibers and the second set of fibers are suitable to interweave with one another (first set of fibers and second set of fibers suitable to interweave with one another: see Figs. 116 and 118 are shown to interweave with one another); and wherein bundled interwoven fibers of the fiber-bundles provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first and said second plates (bundled interwoven fibers provide flexible mechanical connection between first and second plates: see Fig. 10: due to the mechanical connection of 116 and 118 with each other and with 104A-104D and 106A-106D, respectively, and thus, as a result of their flexibility as nanowires, they provide a flexible mechanical connection between 116 and 118).
Regarding claim 4, Summerfelt discloses the thermal contact according to claim 1, wherein the first plate (106A-106D) is an integral part of the heat source (semiconductor device inside 102, if 102 is a semiconductor package, or 102 itself, if 102 is a semiconductor die; see [0043] and [0020]) (first plate is integral part of heat source: see Figs. 1-11: 102, the semiconductor device inside 102, 106A-106D along with the rest of 1000, and 100 combine together to create and integrated/united device).
Regarding claim 5, Summerfelt discloses the thermal contact according to claim 1, wherein the first plate (106A-106D) is an integral part of the casing (102, which can be a semiconductor package: see [0043]) of the heat source (semiconductor device inside 102, which can be a semiconductor package: see [0043]) (first plate is integral part of casing of heat source: see Figs. 1-11: 102, the semiconductor device inside 102, 106A-106D along with the rest of 1000, and 100 combine together to create and integrated/united device).
Regarding claim 8, Summerfelt discloses the thermal contact apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first (118) and/or second (116) set of fibers is made of copper (see [0030]).
Regarding claim 9, Summerfelt discloses the thermal contact apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the heat source (semiconductor device inside 102, if 102 is a semiconductor package, or 102 itself, if 102 is a semiconductor die; see [0043] and [0020]) is a heat-generating device (see [0020] and [0043]: heat source, whether it refers to the semiconductor device inside 102 in the case 102 is a semiconductor package, or whether it refers to 102 in the case 102 is a semiconductor die, the heat source is a device that generates heat).
Regarding claim 11, Summerfelt discloses the thermal contact apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an intermediate material (800 and 802) suitable to be positioned between the first and/or second sets of fibers (intermediate material suitable to be positioned between first and/or second sets of fibers: see [0036], [0042], and Figs. 10-11: 800 and 802, being semisolid, mostly or entirely flow around and between 116 and 118 rather than into their pores).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Alternatively, claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (US 20150192971) in view of Mittal (US 4485429 A).
Regarding claim 1, Shah (Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, and 8; the embodiment using a thermal grease, as mentioned in [0031]1) discloses a thermal contact apparatus (20), comprising: a) a first plate (30), suitable to be connected to a heat source (first plate suitable to be connected to heat source: see [0028] and Fig. 2: connected thermally and mechanically), absorb heat (heat transferred from 26 to 52 through 30: see Fig. 2 and [0033]-[0035]) from said heat source (first plate suitable to absorb heat from heat source: see Fig. 2, [0028]-[0030], and [0033]-[0035]: 30 absorbs the heat from 26 before transferring it to 52), and transfer the heat to other components (52, 42, 46, and 48) of the thermal contact apparatus (20) (first plate suitable to transfer heat to other components: see Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, [0028]-[0030], and [0033]-[0035]: after 30 absorbs the heat from 26, it is transferred to the remaining components 52, 42, 46, and 48 along the heat dissipation path); b) a first set of fibers (60T), suitable to absorb heat (heat transferred from 30 to 60R through 60T; see Figs. 2, 6-6A, [0054], [0028]-[0030], [0033]-[0035]) from said first plate (first set of fibers suitable to absorb heat from said first plate: see Figs. 2, 6-6A, [0054], [0028]-[0030], and [0033]-[0034]: 60T absorbs the heat from 30 before transferring it to 60R) and transfer the heat to other components (60R, 42, 46, and 48) of the thermal contact apparatus (first set of fibers suitable to transfer heat to other components: see Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, [0054], [0028]-[0030], and [0033]-[0034]: after 60T absorbs the heat from 30, it is transferred to the remaining components 60R, 42, 46, and 48 along the heat dissipation path), wherein said first set of fibers is connected to said first plate (first set of fibers connected to first plate: see Figs. 2, 6, and [0054]-[0055]: 60T are physically, mechanically, and thermally connected to 30, specifically at 40); c) a second set of fibers (60R), suitable to absorb heat (heat transferred from 60T to 42 through 60R; see Figs. 2, 6-6A, [0054]-[0056], [0028]-[0030], [0033]-[0035]) from said first set of fibers (second set of fibers suitable to absorb heat from first set of fibers: see Figs. 2, 6-6A, [0054], [0028]-[0030], and [0033]-[0034]: 60R absorbs the heat from 60T before transferring it to 42) and transfer the heat to other components of the thermal contact apparatus, (second set of fibers suitable to transfer heat to other components of thermal contact apparatus: see Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, [0054], [0028]-[0030], and [0033]-[0034]: after 60R absorbs the heat from 60T, it is transferred to the remaining components, 42, 46, and 48 along the heat dissipation path) wherein said first and second sets of fibers are in contact (first and second set of fibers in contact: see [0029]-[0031], [0041], [0054]-[0056], and Fig. 6: described as coupled in [0056], at least in indirect mechanical contact since 52 is formed in an integrated device, and in thermal contact in light of at least [0031] and [0054]-[0056], as this embodiment includes a thermal grease1, so the grease allows for thermal contact between 60T and 60R); and d) a second plate (42, 46, and 48 combined (note [0029])), suitable to absorb heat (heat transferred from 60R through to be dissipated from 48 with convective cooling from 50; see Figs. 2, 6-6A, [0054], [0029]-[0030], [0033]-[0035]) from said second set of fibers (second plate suitable to absorb heat from second set of fibers: see Figs. 2, 6-6A, [0054], [0029]-[0030], and [0033]-[0034]: 42 absorbs the heat from 60R before transferring it to 48 and dissipating it with convective cooling from 50) and transfer the heat out of the thermal contact apparatus (second plate suitable to transfer heat out of thermal contact apparatus: see Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, [0029]-[0030], and [0033]-[0035]: after 42 absorbs the heat from 60R, it is transferred to 48, which then remove the heat from 20 via convection from 50), wherein said second set of fibers is connected to said second plate (second set of fibers connected to second plate: see Figs. 2, 6, and [0054]-[0055]: 60R are physically, mechanically, and thermally connected to 42, specifically at 44); wherein the first set of fibers and the second set of fibers are suitable to interweave with one another (first set of fibers and second set of fibers suitable to interweave with one another: see Figs. 6-6A and [0054]-[0056]); and wherein the interwoven fibers (60T and 60R) are adapted to provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first and said second plates (interwoven fibers adapted to provide flexible mechanical connection between first and second plates: see Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, [0030], [0033], [0041], and [0054]-[0056], a mechanical connection is provided by fibers 60T and 60R that can be curved, and thus provides a flexible mechanical connection).
However, Shah does not disclose wherein the first and/or second set of fibers comprise fiber-bundles; and wherein the bundled interwoven fibers are adapted to provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first and said second plates.
Mittal (Fig. 1) teaches wherein the set of fibers (38) comprises fiber-bundles (see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lns. 54-59); and wherein the bundled fibers (38) of the fiber bundles (bunches of strands 38 described by col. 2, lns. 54-59) are adapted to provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first (18) and said second (16) plates (bundled fibers adapted to provide flexible mechanical connection between first and second plates: see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lns. 54-64).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shah with Mittal such that the fibers of each of the first and second plate are formed like the fibers/strands of Mittal, and thus the first and/or second set of fibers comprise fiber-bundles; and wherein the bundled interwoven fibers are adapted to provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first and said second plates. The purpose of this would be the predictable result of providing conformable fibers/strands that have more points of contact, an improved material (copper, which is highly thermally conductive), and a cavity for brazing or welding the fibers to the plates with a conductive material for improved heat dissipation (see col. 2, lns. 52-64).
Regarding claim 2, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the thermal contact apparatus according to claim 1.
Mittal further teaches wherein the second plate (16) comprises cavities (42).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified Shah with Mittal such that the first set of fibers and the second set of fibers are formed onto their respective plates like the fibers/strands of Mittal, and thus the first and/or second plate comprise cavities. The purpose of this would be the predictable result of providing the improved heat dissipation with the brazing/welding material as mentioned in the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the thermal contact apparatus according to claim 2.
Mittal further teaches wherein the second set of fibers (38) are connected to the corresponding plate (16) of the second plate (16) by the insertion of said set of fibers (38) into said cavities (42) (second set of fibers connected to corresponding plate of second plate by insertion of set of fibers into cavities: see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lns. 54-59).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified Shah with Mittal such that the first and second set of fibers are formed onto their respective plates like the fibers/strands of Mittal, and thus the first and/or second sets of fibers are connected to corresponding plates of the first and/or second plate by the insertion of said first and/or second sets of fibers into said cavities. The purpose of this would be the predictable result of providing the improved heat dissipation with the brazing/welding material as mentioned in the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the thermal contact apparatus according to claim 1.
Shah further discloses wherein the first plate (30) is an integral part of the heat source (26) (first plate is an integral part of heat source: see Fig. 2 and [0028]: 30 is united/integrated with 26 to form the integrated device 22, and thus 30 is an integral part).
Regarding claim 5, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the thermal contact apparatus according to claim 1.
Shah further discloses wherein the first plate (30) is an integral part of a casing (32) of the heat source (26) (first plate is an integral part of casing of heat source: see Fig. 2 and [0028]: 30 is united/integrated with 32 to form the integrated device 22, and thus 30 is an integral part).
Regarding claim 6, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the thermal contact apparatus according to claim 1.
Shah further discloses wherein the first (30) and/or second plate (42, 46, and 48 combined) further comprises a heatsink structure (aluminum fin structure of 48 as described by [0029]).
Regarding claim 7, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the thermal contact apparatus according to claim 1.
Shah further discloses wherein the first (30) and/or second plate (42, 46, and 48 combined) is made of aluminum (see [0028] for 30 and [0029] for 42, 46, and 48).
Regarding claim 8, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the thermal contact apparatus according to claim 1.
Mittal further teaches wherein the set of fibers (38) is made of copper (see col. 2, lns. 54-59).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified Shah with Mittal such that the fibers of each of the first and second plate are formed respective plates like the fibers/strands of Mittal, and thus the first and/or second set of fibers is made of copper. The purpose of this would be the predictable result of providing the improved heat dissipation with the brazing/welding material as mentioned in the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the thermal contact apparatus according to claim 1.
Shah further discloses wherein the heat source (26) is a heat-generating device (see [0033]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 10, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the thermal contact apparatus according to claim 3.
Mittal further teaches a filling material (brazing material in 42; see col. 2, lns. 59-61) inside the cavities (42) (filling material inside cavities: see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lns. 54-61: since the brazing his happening inside of 42, the brazing material is inside 42 and thus at least partially fills 42).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified Shah with Mittal such that the first and second set of fibers are formed onto their respective plates like the fibers/strands of Mittal, and thus the thermal contact apparatus further comprises a filling material inside the cavities. The purpose of this would be the predictable result of providing the improved heat dissipation with the brazing/welding material as mentioned in the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the thermal contact apparatus according to claim 1.
Shah further discloses an intermediate material (thermal grease described by [0031]2) suitable to be positioned between the first and/or second sets of fibers (60T and 60R) (intermediate material suitable to be positioned between first and/or second sets of fibers: see [0031] and Fig. 6: since there is an embodiment including the thermal grease in 2, it would thus be positioned between 60T and 60R).
Regarding claim 12, Shah (Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, and 8: the embodiment using a thermal grease, as mentioned in [0031]3) discloses a method (method mentioned by [0026]) for heat elimination from a heat source (26), comprising: a) attaching a first plate (30) to a first set of fibers (60T) (a. attaching first plate to first set of fibers: see Figs. 2 and 6, [0030], [0047], and [0054]-[0056]), wherein said first set of fibers is suitable to absorb heat (heat transferred from 30 to 60R through 60T; see Figs. 2, 6-6A, [0054], [0028]-[0030], [0033]-[0035]) from said first plate (first set of fibers suitable to absorb heat from said first plate: see Figs. 2, 6-6A, [0054], [0028]-[0030], and [0033]-[0034]: 60T absorbs the heat from 30 before transferring it to 60R) and transfer the heat to other components (60R, 42, 46, and 48) (first set of fibers suitable to transfer heat to other components: see Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, [0054], [0028]-[0030], and [0033]-[0034]: after 60T absorbs the heat from 30, it is transferred to the remaining components 60R, 42, 46, and 48 along the heat dissipation path); b) attaching said heat source to said first plate (b. attaching heat source to first plate: see Figs. 2-4 and 6: [0028], [0033], [0038], [0047], and [0054]-[0055]: 30 defines 40 as a surface of 22 having 60T permanently attached, and then aligns with 26 and attaches to 36 (and thus 26) via tolerance-adjusting thermal gel 38 (36 itself being attached to 26 via thermally conductive adhesive 34), and to 32, allowing 30 to then consequently be disposed such that 22 and 24 attach without leaving a gap, as shown in Figs. 2-4 and 8), wherein said first plate is suitable to absorb the heat (heat transferred from 26 to 52 through 30: see Fig. 2 and [0033]-[0035]) from said heat source (first plate suitable to absorb heat from heat source: see Fig. 2, [0028]-[0030], and [0033]-[0035]: 30 absorbs the heat from 26 before transferring it to 52) and transfer the heat to other components (52, 42, 46, and 48) (first plate suitable to transfer heat to other components: see Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, [0028]-[0030], and [0033]-[0035]: after 30 absorbs the heat from 26, it is transferred to the remaining components 52, 42, 46, and 48 along the heat dissipation path); c) attaching a second set of fibers (60R) to a second plate (42) (c. attaching second set of fibers to second plate: see Figs. 2 and 6, [0030], [0047], and [0054]-[0056]: after 60T permanently attaches to 40 and 30 is aligned roughly with 26, the arrangement of 60T on 22 becomes clear, and thus 60R can then be attached to and arranged on 42, specifically 44, such that 60T and 60R have an interleaving arrangement, as shown in Figs. 6-6A, to provide the overlap 62 when 22 later attaches to 24, as shown in Figs. 2-4 and 8 (particularly Figs. 3 and 4), wherein said second plate is suitable to absorb heat (heat transferred from 60R through to be dissipated from 48 with convective cooling from 50; see Figs. 2, 6-6A, [0054], [0029]-[0030], [0033]-[0035]) from said second set of fibers (second plate suitable to absorb heat from second set of fibers: see Figs. 2, 6-6A, [0054], [0029]-[0030], and [0033]-[0034]: 42 absorbs the heat from 60R before transferring it to 48 and dissipating it with convective cooling from 50) and transfer the heat to the environment (space/area surrounding 20, or at least 48, where air is blown by 50 after being heated by 48 (see [0029])) (second plate suitable to transfer heat to environment: see Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, [0029]-[0030], and [0033]-[0035]: after 42 absorbs the heat from 60R, it is transferred to 48, which then remove the heat from 20 via convection from 50); and d) positioning said first set of fibers in relation to the second set of fibers (60R) so that said first and second sets of fibers are in contact (positioning said first set of fibers in relation to second set of fibers so that first and second sets of fibers are in contact: see Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, [0054]), thus allowing said second set of fibers to absorb heat (heat transferred from 60T to 42 through 60R; see Figs. 2, 6-6A, [0054]-[0056], [0028]-[0030], [0033]-[0035]) from said first set of fibers (allowing second set of fibers to absorb heat from first set of fibers: see Figs. 2, 6-6A, [0054], [0028]-[0030], and [0033]-[0034]: 60R absorbs the heat from 60T before transferring it to 42) and transfer the heat to other components, (allowing second set of fibers to transfer heat to other components: see Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, [0054], [0028]-[0030], and [0033]-[0034]: after 60R absorbs the heat from 60T, it is transferred to the remaining components, 42, 46, and 48 along the heat dissipation path); wherein the first set of fibers and the second set of fibers are suitable to interweave with one another (first set of fibers and second set of fibers suitable to interweave with one another: see Figs. 6-6A and [0054]-[0056]); and wherein the interwoven fibers (60T and 60R) are adapted to provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first and said second plates (interwoven fibers adapted to provide flexible mechanical connection between first and second plates: see Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, [0030], [0033], [0041], and [0054]-[0056], a mechanical connection is provided by fibers 60T and 60R that can be curved, and thus provides a flexible mechanical connection).
However, Shah does not disclose wherein the first and/or second set of fibers comprise fiber-bundles; and wherein bundled interwoven fibers of the fiber-bundles are adapted to provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first and said second plates.
Mittal (Fig. 1) teaches wherein the set of fibers (38) comprises fiber-bundles (see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lns. 54-59); and wherein bundled fibers (38) of the fiber bundles (bunches of strands 38 described by col. 2, lns. 54-59) are adapted to provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first (18) and said second (16) plates (bundled fibers adapted to provide flexible mechanical connection between first and second plates: see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lns. 54-64).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shah with Mittal such that the fibers of each of the first and second plate are formed like the fibers/strands of Mittal, and thus the first and/or second set of fibers comprise fiber-bundles; and wherein bundled interwoven fibers of the fiber-bundles are adapted to provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first and said second plates. The purpose of this would be the predictable result of providing conformable fibers/strands that have more points of contact, an improved material (copper, which is highly thermally conductive), and a cavity for brazing or welding the fibers to the plates with a conductive material for improved heat dissipation (see col. 2, lns. 52-64).
Regarding claim 13, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the method for heat elimination according to claim 12.
Mittal further teaches creating cavities (42) in first (18) and/or second (16) plates (creating cavities in the first and/or the second plates: see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lns. 54-59).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified Shah with Mittal such that the first set of fibers and the second set of fibers are formed onto their respective plates like the fibers/strands of Mittal, and thus the method for heat elimination further comprises creating cavities in the first and/or the second plates. The purpose of this would be the predictable result of providing the improved heat dissipation with the brazing/welding material as mentioned in the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the method for heat elimination according to claim 13.
Mittal further teaches inserting sets of fibers (38) into the cavities (42) of corresponding plates (16) of the second plate (16) (inserting sets of fibers into cavities of corresponding plates of second plate: see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lns. 54-59).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified Shah with Mittal such that the first and second set of fibers are formed onto their respective plates like the fibers/strands of Mittal, and thus the method further comprises inserting first and/or second sets of fibers into the cavities of corresponding plates of the first and/or second plate. The purpose of this would be the predictable result of providing the improved heat dissipation with the brazing/welding material as mentioned in the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the method for heat elimination according to claim 13.
Mittal further teaches filling the cavities (42) with a filling material (brazing material in 42; see col. 2, lns. 59-61) (filling cavities with filling material: see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lns. 54-61: since the brazing his happening inside of 42, the brazing material is inside 42 and thus at least partially fills 42).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified Shah with Mittal such that the first and second set of fibers are formed onto their respective plates like the fibers/strands of Mittal, and thus the method for heat elimination further comprises filling the cavities with a filling material. The purpose of this would be the predictable result of providing the improved heat dissipation with the brazing/welding material as mentioned in the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Shah, as modified by Mittal, teaches the method for heat elimination according to claim 12.
Shah further discloses an intermediate material (thermal grease described by [0031]4) suitable to be located between fibers (60T and 60R) of the first and/or second sets of fibers (60T and/or 60R) (intermediate material suitable to be positioned between fibers of first and/or second sets of fibers: see [0031] and Fig. 6: since there is an embodiment including the thermal grease in 2, it would thus be positioned between 60T and 60R).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 8, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Summerfelt does not disclose “wherein the first and/or second set of fibers comprise fiber-bundles”, “wherein the first set of fibers and the second set of fibers are suitable to interweave with one another”, and “wherein the bundled interwoven fibers of the fiber bundles provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first and said second plates. Specifically, Applicant argues that the sets/arrays of nanowires (116, 118) described by the examiner as constituting a “fiber-bundle” in the rejection is incorrect because it is inconsistent with both the ordinary meaning of “bundle” and the description in the instant specification. Applicant continues, arguing that the description in the instant specification describes “fiber-bundles” as coherent and unified groups/collections of fibers that function as a single unit and are handled, inserted, and connected as one entity, while the nanowires are individually grown through separate orifices in a template, and never uses the term “bundle”. Applicant then argues that even if this interpretation of the nanowires (116, 118) was proper, Summerfelt still fails to disclose “interwoven fiber-bundles” as required by claim 1, as each alleged “bundle”/group 116 is completely isolated from the other bundles of the same type via insulating material, with no interweaving or interaction between different groups 116. Furthermore, Applicant then argues that Summerfelt is silent with respect to the flexibility of the nanowires, which are
The Office has fully considered Applicant’s argument, but notes that Applicant’s original disclosure does not require a special/limiting definition for the fiber-bundles, and “bundles”, “fiber bundles” include a variety of configurations beyond the disclosed configuration, as does the interweaving, and there is no reason why compressibility cannot qualify as evidence for flexibility in the nanowires in light of the disclosure. Specifically, while Applicant did describe a configuration of the fiber-bundle in the original disclosure, it was only discussed as a non-limiting definition, and thus Applicant never limited their definition to the configuration depicted and described in the specification in the original disclosure. This thus leaves the definition of “fiber-bundle” to include a wide variety of configurations, as fiber-bundles could refer to optical fiber bundles, topological fiber bundles including not only the configuration in the instant application, but also mobius strips, Klein bottles, 2-toruses, and more. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation will be based on the configurations resulting from the broadest reasonable interpretation of fibers and bundles. The definition of “bundle” includes “a considerable number” and “a group of things fastened together for convenient handling”, without the specific type of fastening together being required/specified,5 and the definition of “fiber” includes “a thread or a structure or object resembling a thread”.6 Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation of fiber-bundles is “a group of threadlike structures fastened together”. Because of the threadlike, or fibrous, nanowires (116, 118) of Summerfelt are fastened together in groups via respective sets of metallic nanoparticles (108A-108D, 110A-110D), they can thus be considered “fiber-bundles” as described. Additionally, the limitation regarding the first set of fibers and second set of fibers being suitable to interweave with one another only requires that they interweave, and at no point requires that interweaving to occur specifically with other sets of 116 let alone every set of 116. Fig. 10 shows interweaving between 116 and 118, and while not every group of 116 interacts with every other group of 116, Fig. 10 does clearly show interweaving between 116 and 118 as well as between fibers within a set of fibers 116 just as how, in the instant application, fiber bundles interweave adjacent fiber bundles, but not with the fiber bundles further away (at least not directly – one could argue that the entire set of fibers interweave, but that also still applies to the prior art reference, there are just gaps between sets of fibers. Because no limiting definition was provided for the “fiber-bundles”, and because no additional requirements were given to how the fiber-bundles need to be interwoven, as long as the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitations is met, whether or not this meets the structure and arrangement of the fiber-bundles detailed further in the specification would then be irrelevant, as it is noted that said description of the fiber-bundles in the specification as noted by Applicant not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Additionally, Applicant has alleged that the compressibility of the nanowires described in at least [0036] cannot be used as evidence for flexibility in the nanowires, and thus in the mechanical connection, but has provided no evidence for this. The described compressibility requires some level of flection, and thus flexibility, and in light of the description of the nanowires and the connection depicted in the figures, there is no reason this would not indicate flexibility in the mechanical connection, particularly given it is being demonstrated as part of the connection process (e.g., see Figs. 9 and 10 and [0036]), and no explanation has been provided as to why this does not qualify beyond merely stating that it does not, this particular argument does not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because it does not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, it does not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Therefore, given Applicant’s argument is tied to the definition of “bundle”, unless Applicant can provide a sufficient explanation as to where and how a limiting definition was provided in the original disclosure, why this interpretation of bundle does not meet the described dictionary definitions, why the described interpretation of interweaving is not encompassed in the scope of the claims, and why compressibility as discussed in this disclosure in light of at least [0036] and Figs. 9 and 10, Applicant’s arguments are believed to be in error.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Shah does not teach the limitations “wherein bundled interwoven fibers of the fiber-bundles are adapted to provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first and said second plates” (emphasis added) as recited in claim 1 and “wherein bundled interwoven fibers of the fiber-bundles are adapted to provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first and said second plates” (emphasis added) as recited in claim 12. Specifically, Applicant argues that Shah is silent to a flexible mechanical connection for any purpose, and that the flexible strands 38 of Mittel are held in a fixed deformed configuration between board 18 and cold plate 16 by bolts 32, and thus bundles 40 of flexible 38 cannot provide flexible mechanical connection due to bolts 32 preventing the relative motion of 18 and 16 with respect to one another, and thus the broadest reasonable interpretation of flexible mechanical connection excludes the teaching of the configuration depicted and described by Mittel.
The Office has fully considered Applicant’s argument, but notes that Applicant, when alleging that Shah is completely silent as to the use of a flexible mechanical connection for any purpose, entirely disregarded the claim mapping at the end of the claim mapping: “wherein the interwoven fibers (60T and 60R) are adapted to provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first and said second plates (interwoven fibers adapted to provide flexible mechanical connection between first and second plates: see Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, [0030], [0033], [0041], and [0054]-[0056], a mechanical connection is provided by fibers 60T and 60R that can be curved, and thus provides a flexible mechanical connection)” in claim 1, and “wherein the interwoven fibers (60T and 60R) are adapted to provide a flexible mechanical connection between said first and said second plates (interwoven fibers adapted to provide flexible mechanical connection between first and second plates: see Figs. 2-4, 6-6A, [0030], [0033], [0041], and [0054]-[0056], a mechanical connection is provided by fibers 60T and 60R that can be curved, and thus provides a flexible mechanical connection)” without providing any counter argument, and thus this argument does not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Additionally, the claims only require the fiber bundles to provide a flexible mechanical connection, and by adding 40, which includes the bunches of heat conducting flexible strands, 40 is explicitly shown to be deformably connect between the plates, and thus the flexible/deformable mechanical connection is provided, regardless of whether or not there is an additional fixed connection elsewhere between the devices, as the claims do negate that, and that is not the teaching that is being modified into Shah; all that needs to be incorporated is the mapped fiber-bundle and its structure. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20070056348: This notably includes a very heat dissipation structure to that of the primary reference.
EP 2562807: This reference notably has a relevant fiber heat dissipation structure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.F.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835
1 Examiner’s Note: As noted by MPEP § 2123, Section II, preferred embodiments do not teach away from nonpreferred embodiments. Since [0031] explains that the embodiment without the thermal grease is a “preferred embodiment” there is therefore also an embodiment with the thermal grease.
2 Examiner’s Note: As noted by MPEP § 2123, Section II, preferred embodiments do not teach away from nonpreferred embodiments. Since [0031] explains that the embodiment without the thermal grease is a “preferred embodiment” there is therefore also an embodiment with the thermal grease.
3 Examiner’s Note: As noted by MPEP § 2123, Section II, preferred embodiments do not teach away from nonpreferred embodiments. Since [0031] explains that the embodiment without the thermal grease is a “preferred embodiment” there is therefore also an embodiment with the thermal grease.
4 Examiner’s Note: As noted by MPEP § 2123, Section II, preferred embodiments do not teach away from nonpreferred embodiments. Since [0031] explains that the embodiment without the thermal grease is a “preferred embodiment” there is therefore also an embodiment with the thermal grease.
5 Examiner’s Note: See Merriam-Webster Dictionary definitions 1c and 1a of “bundle”: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/bundle.
6 Examiner’s Note: See Merriam-Webster Dictionary definition 1 of “fiber”: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/fiber.