Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species IV drawn to claims 45-48, 50-59 in the reply filed on 01/13/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-6, 8-15, 60 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 45,46,47,48,50, 51,52,53,54,55,56,57,58 and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CROSBY et al.,(US 2016/0106994) in view of Watson et al., (US 2021/0215508).
As per claim 45, Crosby shows a system for estimating a physiological parameter of a muscle or a tendon, detecting muscle activation(In fig.6 element 1602), comprising: a magnetic field sensor (0020,0041,0042) configured to detect lateral vibration of at least one target implanted at a muscle or a tendon, the at least one target(In Para. 0119, 0124) comprising a controller (318 in fig.4)configured to estimate: a level of muscle activation based on the detected lateral vibration(In Para. 0124). or a muscle force based on the detected vibration, a tendon force based on the detected vibration, or a muscle-tendon unit force based on the detected vibration(In para. 0124).
Crosby does not teach a magnetic material. In the same field of endeavor Watson teaches a magnetic material (0019, 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention was made to combined the teaching Watson’s magnetic material with Crosby’s simulation system for monitoring relative position and motion.
As per claim 46, Crosby teaches wherein the controller is configured to estimate a muscle force based on the detected vibration, and wherein the controller is further configured to estimate the muscle force based on the estimated level of muscle activation and a length and a velocity of the muscle(In Para.0024).
As per claim 47, Crosby teaches further comprising an accelerometer at the magnetic field sensor and configured to detect vibrational movement of the magnetic field sensor relative to the target(In Para. 0106, In fig.6).
As per claim 48, Crosby teaches wherein the at least one target comprises two or more targets disposed along an axis (In fig. 2A, 2B and 2C).
As per claim 50 Crosby teaches wherein the controller is further configured to estimate a speed of a shear wave or a compression wave in the muscle, the tendon, a muscle-tendon unit comprising the muscle and the tendon, or surrounding tissue of the muscle-tendon unit based on a measured timing of a vibration of the at least one target relative to a timing of a perturbance applied to the target or relative to one or more additional targets implanted at the muscle or tendon(In Para 0020).
As per claim 51, Crosby teaches wherein the perturbance applied includes a poke or vibration of the muscle-tendon unit or the surrounding tissue(Para 0119, 0124).
As per claim 52, Crosby teaches wherein the poke or vibration includes an actuation of a magnetic bead affixed at the muscle tendon unit or the surrounding tissue by an applied magnetic field(in Para. 0105, 0106).
As per claim 53, Crosby teaches wherein the applied magnetic field is supplied by an electromagnet (In para. 0106).
As per claim 54, Crosby teaches wherein the electromagnet is external to the body (Para 0051).
As per claim 55, Crosby teaches the controller9318) is further configured to determine a physiological property of the muscle-tendon unit based on the estimated speed of the shear wave or the compression wave(In Para 0014, 0034, 0039,0058, 0059, 0105).
As per claim 56, Crosby teaches wherein the physiological property is stiffness of the muscle, the tendon, or the surrounding tissue(In Para. 0105).
As per claim 57, Crosby teaches wherein the magnetic field sensor is configured to detect lateral vibration of the at least one target implanted at the muscle or the tendon (as shown in fig. 1B).
As per claim 58, Crosby teaches wherein the magnetic field sensor is configured to detect movements of the target in a range of about 10 pm to about 20 pm(It is well known in the art as stated in para. 106, the controller 302 to detect any muscle contraction in user preference ranges).
As per claim 59, Crosby teaches wherein the magnetic field sensor is configured to detect vibrational movement of the target at frequencies of greater than about 10 Hz (in para. 0119).
Conclusion
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628