Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 10/29/2025 have been considered for examination. Claims 1-13, 19-22, 28, 35, and 46 are pending in the instant application.
With regard to the 102/103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 10/29/2025 (see pages 8-15 of Remarks) in view of the amendments have been fully considered and partially persuasive. Due to the amended claims, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in the below.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 19, Applicant argued:
Regarding the amended claim 1, recited as “a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) index … corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs.,” Li fails to disclose, since the information regarding BFD RS index, BFD RS set index, and the CORESET subset index, corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs, do not disclosed by Li.
Regarding the amended claim 8, recites as “wherein the second signal is a signal transmitted …
corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs,” Yu and Matsumura do not disclose any information regarding the BFD RS set index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure
occurs. Thus, Yu and Matsumura at least fail to disclose "the first index information is a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) set index corresponding to the link in which a beam failure occurs", and "the TCI state or the QCL parameter and/or the power control parameter of the first physical channel is a TCI state or a QCL parameter … corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs" in the amended claim 8.
Regarding the claim 19, recites as “determining a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state of a first physical channel … the transmission configuration indication (TCI) state of the first physical channel,” by the similar reasoning, none of Yu, Li, and Matsumura discloses determining a TCI state of a first physical channel based on an association between the BFD RS set index corresponding to the link in which a beam failure occurs and the TCI state of the first physical channel.
In response to Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding the amended claim 1, Li fails to discloses about the BFD RS index, BFD RS set index, and CORESET subset index. However, Li-Chung Lo et. al. (USPub No.: US 20220046740 A1, hereinafter, “Lo”), in Paragraph [0068], teaches UE sends the BFI (Beam Failure Indication) to the higher layer (MAC signaling: the first signal), when the beam failure is occurred. The BFI in the message for the higher layer (MAC) can be BFD-RS set, CORSETpoolIndexes, or TRP ID. Thus, the amended claim 1 is disclosed by Lo.
Regarding the amended claim 8, although Applicant argue that Yu does not disclose this claim, Yu, in Paragraph [0030]-[0032], teaches the BFR request (BFRQ) message (the second includes the RS of the candidate beam associated with the link that beam failure is occurred and it is transmitted on PRACH and based on this BFRQ message, the network node send PDCCH quasi co-located (QCL) with the RS associated with the new candidate beam (can be considered as BFD-RS) in the BFRQ that is for the link on which beam failure is occurred. Further in Paragraph [0033], Yu teaches that since “beam” can be replaced by “spatial filter”, the beam information represents which spatial filter is used by the beam. Thus, beam information is represented by the RS resource index and it includes the power of beam determined by the spatial filter. Further, in Paragraph [0038], in the response of BFRQ, the PDCCH TCI state can be changed. Thus, Yu show that in the response of BFRQ, UE determine TCI state or QCL parameters and/or power control parameter (power of beam). Accordingly, Yu clearly disclose the claim 8.
Regarding the claim 19, although Applicant argue that Yu does not disclose this claim, Yu, in Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0038]-[0039] and [0032], teaches that TCI state for PDCCH is determined by PDCCH (the first physical channel) quasi co-located (QCL) with the RS associated with the new candidate beam in the BFRQ (BFR request message) (this information includes the BFD-RS index (for new candidate beam) corresponding to the link that beam failure occurred) and TCI state in response to the BFRQ. Thus, Yu clearly discloses the claim 19.
However, since based on the amended part of claims, the scope of claims has been changed, the new ground of rejections is provided in this instant office action in the below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-10, 12-13, 19-22, 28, 35, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chia-Hao Yu and et. al (USPub. No.: US 20220303171 A1, hereinafter “Yu”).
Regarding claim 8, Yu teaches a method for processing a message, comprising: receiving a second signal transmitted by a network device; wherein the second signal is a signal transmitted by the network device after a beam failure recovery request signal for a link is received; (Yu, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraph [0038], teaches that the UE may consider the BFR procedure successfully completed upon receiving a MAC CE (the response message of BFRQ: the second signal) that indicates a change in a PDCCH Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state for the SCell triggering the BFRQ (beam failure recovery request signal) transmission, where as described in Paragraph [0030], the BFRQ is transmitted by UE to the network device (BS) after UE has detected a beam failure condition.) the beam failure recovery request signal is for indicating first index information of a link in which a beam failure occurs; the first index information is a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) set index corresponding to the link in which a beam failure occurs, (Yu, in Paragraph [0030]-[0032], teaches the BFR request (BFRQ) message (the second includes the RS of the candidate beam associated with the link that beam failure is occurred and it is transmitted on PRACH and based on this BFRQ message, the network node send PDCCH quasi co-located (QCL) with the RS associated with the new candidate beam (can be considered as BFD-RS) in the BFRQ that is for the link on which beam failure is occurred.) determining a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state or a guasi-colocation (QCL) parameter and/or a power control parameter of a first physical channel based on the second signal; the TCI state or the QCL parameter and/or the power control parameter of the first physical channel is a TCI state or a QCL parameter and/or a power control parameter associated with the first index information; (Yu, in Paragraph [0030]-[0032], teaches the BFR request (BFRQ) message (the second includes the RS of the candidate beam associated with the link that beam failure is occurred and it is transmitted on PRACH and based on this BFRQ message, the network node send PDCCH quasi co-located (QCL) with the RS associated with the new candidate beam (can be considered as BFD-RS) in the BFRQ that is for the link on which beam failure is occurred. Further in Paragraph [0033], Yu teaches that since “beam” can be replaced by “spatial filter”, the beam information represents which spatial filter is used by the beam. Thus, beam information is represented by the RS resource index and it includes the power of beam determined by the spatial filter. Further, in Paragraph [0038], in the response of BFRQ, the PDCCH TCI state can be changed. Thus, Yu show that in the response of BFRQ, UE determine TCI state or QCL parameters and/or power control parameter (power of beam) based on the RS index of the candidate beam.)
Regarding claim 9, Yu teaches the features defined in the claims 8, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches that wherein the determining the transmission configuration indication state of the first physical channel based on the second signal comprises: and determining the TCI state of the first physical channel (Yu, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraph [0038], teaches that the UE may consider the BFR procedure successfully completed upon receiving a MAC CE (the second signal) that indicates a change in a PDCCH (considered the first physical channel) Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state for the SCell triggering the BFRQ transmission based on beam failure Therefore, it is clear that the TCI state of the first physical channel triggering the BFRQ transmission is determined by the MAC CE (the second signal) from the network node, where the first physical channel is corresponding to the physical channel that beam failure is occurred (triggering BFR).) determining the first physical channel corresponding to the second signal based on an association between a resource carrying the second signal and first index information of the link in which the beam failure occurs; (Yu, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraph [0039], teaches that In one implementation, after determining that the SCell BFR procedure is successfully completed, the UE may receive a PDCCH on the SCell in which beam failure occurs with antenna port quasi-colocation parameters associated with the new candidate beam index (the first index information) in the BFR MAC CE after receiving the DCI format indicating a toggled NDI value and scheduling the PUSCH transmission with the HARQ process ID used for transmission of the BFR MAC CE. Therefore, it is clear that the first physical channel (PDCCH on the SCell) corresponding to the second signal is determined based on the resource carried by the second signal and the first index.).
Regarding claim 10, Yu teaches the features defined in the claims 8, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches that wherein the second signal meets at least one of: a resource for the second signal comprises one or more of a search space or a control resource set (CORESET); wherein a resource corresponds to a link; the second signal is a signal transmitted by one of two or more dedicated search spaces or CORESETs; the second signal includes an information field for indicating the first index information; (Yu, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraph [0032], teaches that UE may receive a response of BFRQ from the network. In one implementation, a specific control resource set (CORESET) or search space is defined for response reception (e.g., CORESET-BFR or a SearchSpace-BFR indicated by a higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceid). The UE may monitor Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) transmission on the CORESET-BFR/SearchSpace-BFR to determine if the BFRQ is successfully received by the network. Downlink Control Information (DCI) format in the CORESET-BFR/SearchSpace-BFR may be considered as a successful network response. the UE may assume that the network, when responding to the BFRQ, is transmitting PDCCH quasi co-located (QCL) with the RS (Reference Signal) associated with the new candidate beam (the first index) in the BFRQ. Therefore, it is clear that the CORESET or the search space is configured for the response of BFRQ (the second signal) that carrying the new beam index information (the first index).) or the second signal is downlink control information (DCI) having a toggled new data indicator (NDI) field and a same hybrid automatic retransmission request (HARQ) process number as a DCI scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) with a beam failure recovery request (Yu, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraph [0039], teaches that after determining that the SCell BFR procedure is successfully completed, the UE may receive a PDCCH on the SCell in which beam failure occurs with antenna port quasi-colocation parameters associated with the new candidate beam index in the BFR MAC CE after receiving the DCI format indicating a toggled NDI value and scheduling the PUSCH transmission with the HARQ process ID used for transmission of the BFR MAC CE. Therefore, it is clear that DCI having toggled NDI field and a same HARQ ID as a DCI scheduling PUSCH with BFRQ.).
Regarding claim 12, Yu teaches the features defined in the claims 9, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches that wherein the network device configures an association between the first index information and at least one of the following information: the first physical channel; the first physical channel resource; or a TCI state or a quasi-colocation (QCL) parameter; (Yu, in Paragraph [0038]-[0039] and in Fig. 1, teaches that after determining that the SCell BFR procedure is successfully completed, the UE may receive a PDCCH on the SCell in which beam failure occurs with antenna port quasi-colocation parameters associated with the new candidate beam index in the BFR MAC CE after receiving the DCI format indicating a toggled NDI value and scheduling the PUSCH transmission with the HARQ process ID used for transmission of the BFR MAC CE. The UE may consider the BFR procedure successfully completed upon receiving a MAC CE that indicates a change in a PDCCH Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state for the SCell triggering the BFRQ transmission. Therefore, it is clear that the network device configures an association between the first index information and one of the following information: the first physical channel (PDCCH); the first physical channel resource (scheduling, DCI, NDI); or a TCI state or a quasi-colocation (QCL) parameter.) the CORESET; (Yu, in Paragraph [0032] and in Fig. 1, teaches that UE may receive a response from the network. In one implementation, a specific control resource set (CORESET) or search space is defined for response reception of BFRQ (e.g., CORESET-BFR or a SearchSpace-BFR indicated by a higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceid). The UE may monitor Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) transmission on the CORESET-BFR/SearchSpace-BFR to determine if the BFRQ is successfully received by the network. Downlink Control Information (DCI) format in the CORESET-BFR/SearchSpace-BFR may be considered as a successful network response. Downlink Control Information (DCI) format in the CORESET-BFR/SearchSpace-BFR may be considered as a successful network response. Further, in Paragraph [0037], Yu teaches that the UE may consider the BFR procedure successfully completed upon receiving a DCI format that schedules a PUSCH transmission with the HARQ process ID, where the DCI format indicates a toggled New Data Indicator (NDI) value. Therefore, it is clear that the network device configures an association between the first index information (NDI) and the CORESET.)
Regarding claim 13, Yu teaches the features defined in the claims 9, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches that wherein the transmission configuration indication (TCI) state of the first physical channel includes at least one of the following: a TCI state or a quasi-colocation (QCL) parameter associated with the beam failure recovery request signal or the second signal or the first index information; or a TCI state or a quasi-colocation (QCL) parameter of a reference signal carried by the beam failure recovery request signal (Yu, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraphs [0038]-[0039], teaches that The UE may consider the BFR procedure successfully completed upon receiving a MAC CE that indicates a change in a PDCCH Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state for the SCell triggering the BFRQ transmission. After determining that the SCell BFR procedure is successfully completed, the UE may receive a PDCCH on the SCell in which beam failure occurs with antenna port quasi-colocation parameters associated with the new candidate beam index in the BFR MAC CE after receiving the DCI format indicating a toggled NDI (New Data Indicator) value and scheduling the PUSCH transmission with the HARQ process ID used for transmission of the BFR MAC CE. Further, in Paragraph [0032], Yu teaches that the UE may assume that the network, when responding to the BFRQ, is transmitting PDCCH quasi co-located (QCL) with the RS associated with the new candidate beam in the BFRQ. Therefore, it is clear that the TCI state of the first physical channel (PDCCH) includes at least one of the following: a TCI state or a quasi-colocation (QCL) parameter associated with BFRQ or the second signal (response of BFRQ) or the first index information (new candidate beam index); or a TCI state or a quasi-colocation (QCL) parameter of a reference signal (candidate beam reference signal indicated by the candidate beam index) carried by BFRQ.).
Regarding claim 19, Yu teaches that a method for processing a message, comprising: determining a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state of a first physical channel based on an association between a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) set index corresponding to a link in which a beam failure occurs and the transmission configuration indication (TCI) state of the first physical channel; wherein the first physical channel is a channel corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs (Yu, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraphs [0038]-[0039], teaches that The UE may consider the BFR procedure successfully completed upon receiving a MAC CE that indicates a change in a PDCCH Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state for the SCell triggering the BFRQ transmission. After determining that the SCell BFR procedure is successfully completed, the UE may receive a PDCCH on the SCell in which beam failure occurs with antenna port quasi-colocation parameters associated with the new candidate beam index in the BFR MAC CE after receiving the DCI format indicating a toggled NDI (New Data Indicator) value and scheduling the PUSCH transmission with the HARQ process ID used for transmission of the BFR MAC CE. Further, in Paragraph [0032], Yu teaches that the UE may assume that the network, when responding to the BFRQ, is transmitting PDCCH quasi co-located (QCL) with the RS associated with the new candidate beam in the BFRQ. Therefore, it is clear that a TCI state of a first physical channel (PDCCH) based on an association between BFD RS set index (the RS index associated with new candidate beam) corresponding to a link in which a beam failure occurs and the TCI state of the first physical channel (PDCCH).).
Regarding claim 20, Yu teaches the features defined in the claims 19, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches that wherein the first physical channel is associated with a value of higher layer parameter of a CORESET used to transmit the first physical channel (Yu, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraph [0032], teaches that UE may receive a response from the network. In one implementation, a specific control resource set (CORESET) or search space is defined for response reception (e.g., CORESET-BFR or a SearchSpace-BFR indicated by a higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceid). The UE may monitor Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) (the first physical channel) transmission on the CORESET-BFR/SearchSpace-BFR to determine if the BFRQ is successfully received by the network. Therefore, it is clear that the first physical channel is associated with a value of higher layer parameter of a CORESET used to transmit the first physical channel.).
Regarding claim 21, Yu teaches the features defined in the claims 19, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches that wherein the first physical channel comprises any one or more of the following: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or a physical random access channel (PRACH) (Yu, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraph [0034], teaches that for BFR (Beam Failure Recovery) in an SCell (Secondary Cell), the BFRQ (BFR Request) transmission in action 106 in FIG. 1 may be on(a) a PRACH, (b) a PUSCH, or (c) a PUCCH. Therefore, it is clear that the first physical channel can be PUCCH, PUSCH, or PRACH.).
Regarding claim 22, Yu teaches the features defined in the claims 19, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches that wherein a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state of a first physical channel includes at least one of the following: a TCI state or a quasi-colocation (QCL) parameter associated with the beam failure recovery request signal or first index information; or a TCI state or a quasi-colocation (QCL) parameter of a reference signal carried by the beam failure recovery request signal; wherein the first index information is index information of the link in which a beam failure occurs (Yu, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraphs [0038]-[0039], teaches that The UE may consider the BFR procedure successfully completed upon receiving a MAC CE that indicates a change in a PDCCH (the first physical channel) Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state for the SCell triggering the BFRQ transmission. After determining that the SCell (Secondary Cell) BFR procedure is successfully completed, the UE may receive a PDCCH on the SCell in which beam failure occurs with antenna port quasi-colocation parameters associated with the new candidate beam index (the first index) in the BFR MAC CE after receiving the DCI format indicating a toggled NDI (New Data Indicator) value and scheduling the PUSCH transmission with the HARQ process ID used for transmission of the BFR MAC CE. Further, in Paragraph [0032], Yu teaches that the UE may assume that the network, when responding to the BFRQ, is transmitting PDCCH quasi co-located (QCL) with the RS associated with the new candidate beam in the BFRQ. Therefore, it is clear that the TCI state of a first physical channel includes at least one of the following: a TCI state or a quasi-colocation (QCL) parameter associated with the beam failure recovery request signal or first index information; or a TCI state or a quasi-colocation (QCL) parameter of a reference signal carried by the beam failure recovery request signal.).
Regarding claim 35, Yu teaches the features defined in the claims 8, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches that a terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program that is executable by the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal device to perform the method of claim 8 (Yu, in Fig. 6 and in Paragraph [0065], teaches that FIG. 6 is a block diagram illustrating a node (can be a UE or a base station) for wireless communication according to the present application. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a node 600 may include a transceiver 620, a processor 628, a memory 634, one or more presentation components 638, and at least one antenna 636. The node 600 may also include a radio frequency (RF) spectrum band module, a base station (BS) communications module, a network communications module, and a system communications management module, Input/Output (I/O) ports, I/O components, and power supply (not explicitly shown in FIG. 6). In FIG. 6, the memory 634 may store computer-readable, computer-executable instructions 632 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to cause the processor 628 to perform various functions described herein Therefore, it is clear that a terminal device is comprising a memory storing a computer program and a processor that executes or performs the method.).
Regarding claim 46, Yu teaches the features defined in the claims 19, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches that a terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program that is executable by the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal device to perform the method of claim 19 (Yu, in Fig. 6 and in Paragraph [0065], teaches that FIG. 6 is a block diagram illustrating a node (can be a UE or a base station) for wireless communication according to the present application. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a node 600 may include a transceiver 620, a processor 628, a memory 634, one or more presentation components 638, and at least one antenna 636. The node 600 may also include a radio frequency (RF) spectrum band module, a base station (BS) communications module, a network communications module, and a system communications management module, Input/Output (I/O) ports, I/O components, and power supply (not explicitly shown in FIG. 6). In FIG. 6, the memory 634 may store computer-readable, computer-executable instructions 632 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to cause the processor 628 to perform various functions described herein Therefore, it is clear that a terminal device is comprising a memory storing a computer program and a processor that executes or performs the method.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, and 28 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chia-Hao Yu and et. al (USPub. No.: US 20220303171 A1, hereinafter “Yu”) in a view of Li-Chung Lo et. al. (USPub No.: US 20220046740 A1, hereinafter, “Lo”)
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches that a method for processing a message, comprising: transmitting a first signal to a network device; wherein the first signal is for indicating first index information of a link in which a beam failure occurs (Yu, in Paragraphs [0030] and [0038], teaches that UE transmits a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) (the first signal) to a base station (a network node) after UE detects a beam failure and the BFRQ include the information about a new candidate beam (such as the RS of the candidate beam (can be considered as the BFD-RS index)) or a beam index regarding the link that beam failure is occurred.)
Yu does not explicitly teach that wherein the first signal comprises any one or more of the following information: a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs: a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) set index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs: or a control resource set (CORESET) subset index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs.
Lo teaches that wherein the first signal comprises any one or more of the following information: a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs: a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) set index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs: or a control resource set (CORESET) subset index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs (Lo, in Paragraphs [0068] and [0090]-[0091], teaches UE sends the BFI (Beam Failure Indication) to the higher layer (MAC signaling: the first signal), when the beam failure is occurred. The BFI in the message for the higher layer (MAC) can be BFD-RS set index, CORSETpoolIndexes, or TRP ID.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Yu and Lo to include the technique of wherein the first signal comprises any one or more of the following information: a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs: a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) set index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs: or a control resource set (CORESET) subset index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs of Lo in the system of Yu to provides a beam failure reporting technology for multi-TRP operation, to overcome the case in the BFR procedure with multi-TRP operation, the BFR procedure cannot be triggered if the control beams of one TRP are failure. (Lo, see Paragraphs [0002] and [0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Yu and Lo teaches the features defined in the claims 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches that wherein the transmitting the first signal to the network device comprises: transmitting the first signal to the network device through one or more of a media access control layer control element (MAC CE), a scheduling request (SR) resource, or a physical random access channel (PRACH) (Yu, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraph [0034], teaches that For BFR in an SCell, the BFRQ transmission in action 106 in FIG. 1 may be on (a) a PRACH, (b) a PUSCH, or (c) a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH). The BFRQ (Beam Failure Recovery Request) may be transmitted on the PUSCH. The UE may transmit a BFR MAC CE on the PUSCH to carry the BFRQ. The transmission of the BFR MAC CE may be associated with a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process having a HARQ process ID. In one implementation, the BFRQ (e.g., the BFR MAC CE if BFRQ is transmitted on the PUSCH) may include a cell index of an S Cell in which beam failure occurs. In one implementation, the BFRQ (e.g., the BFR MAC CE) may include a cell index of an SCell in which beam failure occurs (as determined in action 102 in FIG. 1) and a new candidate beam index for the SCell (as determined in action 104 in FIG. 1). In one implementation, the PUSCH for transmitting the BFRQ may be obtained from a preceding scheduling request (SR) transmission via a PUCCH or from a configured grant resource. Therefore, it is clear that the first signal (BMRQ or BFR MAC CE) is transmitted to the network device through BFR MAC CE, SR, or PRACH.).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Yu and Lo teaches the features defined in the claims 3, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches wherein different links in which the beam failure occurs correspond to different SR resources in case that the first signal is transmitted through the SR resource (Yu, in Fig. 3 and in Paragraph [0041], teaches that FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example method for an SCell (Secondary Cell) BFR procedure, according to an example implementation of the present application. In action 330, UE 310 performs beam failure detection and new beam identification. UE 310 may generate a BFRQ when a beam failure condition is detected in action 330. In one implementation, the BFRQ (BFR Request) (the first signal) may be a BFR MAC CE that carries a cell index of an SCell in which beam failure occurs and a new candidate beam index for the SCell. UE 310 may transmit a scheduling request (SR) to base station 320 in action 332 to request a UL resource for transmitting the BFR MAC CE. In one implementation, the SR in action 332 may be dedicatedly configured for BFR. The SR may be transmitted on a PUCCH. Therefore, it is clear that the different beam failure link corresponds to different SR resources when the first signal is transmitted through the SR resource.
Although Yu and Lo teaches all of claim 4, Examiner notes that this claim contains contingent limitations. For method claims with contingent limitations, the broadest reasonable interpretation includes methods where the condition is met and where the condition isn't met. The limitations starting with "… in case that the first signal is transmitted through the SR resource." is contingent limitations. The claim has been interpreted to not require the conditions stated to be met. See MPEP 2111.04 subsection 11.).
Regarding claim 7, combination of Yu and Lo teaches the features defined in the claims 3, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches that wherein a transmission resource of the PRACH carries the first index information, or different transmission resources of the PRACH correspond to different first index information in case that the first signal is transmitted through the PRACH (Yu, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraphs [0030]-[0031], teaches that In action 106, the UE may transmit a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) to a base station after the UE has detected a beam failure condition. In one implementation, the UE may have identified a new candidate beam (e.g., in action 104) before transmitting the BFRQ as well. The BFRQ informs the network that a beam failure has been detected. The BFRQ may include information about the new candidate beam (considered as the first index). For beam failure that takes place in a special cell (e.g., a PCell (Primary Cell) or a PSCell (Primary Secondary Cell)), the BFRQ may be transmitted on a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH). In principle, both contention-free and contention based PRACH resources may be used. In one implementation, a contention-free PRACH resource may be prioritized over a contention-based PRACH resource. A two-step contention-free random access procedure may include preamble transmission and random access response. In one implementation, each reference signal corresponding to the different candidate beams may be associated with a specific preamble configuration. Therefore, it is clear that for the different candidate beam (the first index), the different PRACH configuration is configured with the different resources (different Reference Singal (RS) and different preamble configuration).
Although Yu and Lo teaches all of claim 7, Examiner notes that this claim contains contingent limitations. For method claims with contingent limitations, the broadest reasonable interpretation includes methods where the condition is met and where the condition isn't met. The limitations starting with "… in case that the first signal is transmitted through the PRACH." is contingent limitations. The claim has been interpreted to not require the conditions stated to be met. See MPEP 2111.04 subsection 11.).
Regarding claim 28, combination of Yu and Lo teaches the features defined in the claims 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches that a terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program that is executable by the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal device to perform the method of claim 1 (Yu, in Fig. 6 and in Paragraph [0065], teaches that FIG. 6 is a block diagram illustrating a node (can be a UE or a base station) for wireless communication according to the present application. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a node 600 may include a transceiver 620, a processor 628, a memory 634, one or more presentation components 638, and at least one antenna 636. The node 600 may also include a radio frequency (RF) spectrum band module, a base station (BS) communications module, a network communications module, and a system communications management module, Input/Output (I/O) ports, I/O components, and power supply (not explicitly shown in FIG. 6). In FIG. 6, the memory 634 may store computer-readable, computer-executable instructions 632 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to cause the processor 628 to perform various functions described herein Therefore, it is clear that a terminal device is comprising a memory storing a computer program and a processor that executes or performs the method.).
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chia-Hao Yu and et. al (USPub. No.: US 20220303171 A1, hereinafter “Yu”) in a view of Li-Chung Lo et. al. (USPub No.: US 20220046740 A1, hereinafter, “Lo”) and further in a view of Guo, Li (Int. Pub. No.: WO 2022057461 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 2, combination of Yu and Lo teaches the features defined in the claims 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Yu and Lo does not explicitly teach that wherein the first signal comprises any one or more of the following information: a CORESET index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs; a value of higher layer parameter CORESETPoolIndex of a CORESET, corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs; or a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs.
Li teaches that wherein the first signal comprises any one or more of the following information: a CORESET index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs; a value of higher layer parameter CORESETPoolIndex of a CORESET, corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs; a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs (Li, in Fig. 4 and 5 and in Paragraphs [0093]-[0098], teaches that the UE may use one MAC CE to report the beam failure of PDCCH of a TRP to the system (the first signal). In one example, the UE is configured with multi-TRP transmission and the UE is configured to operate beam failure recovery on PDCCH of each TRP separately. When the UE detects beam failure on the PDCCH of a TRP, the UE may be requested to report such event to the system. Therefore, each TRP or TRP ID can be considered as the BFR procedure index. In the MAC CE, the UE may be requested to include one or more of the following information: 1) A serving cell index for the Cell where beam failure is detected. 2) An indicator to indicate the index of TRP where beam failure is detected. In one example, this information element may be the value of higher layer parameter CORESETPoollndex associated with the PDCCHs of the TRP. 3) An indicator to indicate whether a candidate RS ID is included. 4) A candidate RS ID that is used to provide one RS ID for the candidate beam RS (BFD-RS). Examples of MAC CE reporting beam failure for a multi-TRP system are illustrated in FIG. 4 and FIG. 5. Therefore, it is clear that the first signal includes the BFD-RS IDs, CORESET IDs, and BFR procedure IDs corresponding to the link that beam failure occurs.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Yu, Lo, and Li to include the technique of wherein the first signal comprises any one or more of the following information: a CORESET index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs; a value of higher layer parameter CORESETPoolIndex of a CORESET, corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs; or a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure index corresponding to the link in which the beam failure occurs of Li in the system of combination of Yu and Lo to provides a method for beam failure recovery by performing beam failure detection for each TRP (Transmission and reception point), independently, to improve the efficiency of beam failure recovery (Li, see Paragraphs [0004] and [0016]).).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Yu and Lo teaches the features defined in the claims 3, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
combination of Yu and Lo does not explicitly teach that wherein in case that the first signal is transmitted through the MAC CE, the method further comprises at least one of: indicating the first index information and/or a cell index through bitmap or a direct indication; indicating the BFR procedure index, and not indicating the cell index; indicating the cell index and up to n BFR procedure indexes in a cell; indicating the bitmap of beam failure indication corresponding to all BFD RS sets in the cell; or indicating the beam failure indication corresponding to one or more BFD RS sets.
Li teaches that wherein in case that the first signal is transmitted through the MAC CE, the method further comprises at least one of:(Li, in Paragraph [0093], teaches that the UE may use one MAC CE to report the beam failure of PDCCH of a TRP to the system (the first signal). In one example, the UE is configured with multi-TRP transmission and the UE is configured to operate beam failure recovery on PDCCH of each TRP separately. When the UE detects beam failure on the PDCCH of a TRP, the UE may be requested to report such event to the system. Therefore, it is clear that the first signal is transmitted through the MAC CE.) indicating the first index information and/or a cell index through bitmap or a direct indication; indicating the bitmap of beam failure indication corresponding to all BFD RS sets in the cell; or indicating the beam failure indication corresponding to one or more BFD RS sets (Li, in Fig. 4 and 5 and in Paragraphs [0099]-[0106], teaches that In FIG. 4, a single octet bitmap is used when the highest ServCelllndex of this MAC entity's SCell for which beam failure is detected is less than 8, otherwise, four octets are used as illustrated in FIG. 5. The MAC CE contains the following elements: 1) Ci: This field indicates beam failure detection and the presence of an octet containing the AC field for the serving cell with ServCelllndex i. The Ci field set to 1 indicates that beam failure is detected and the octet containing the AC field is present for the Cell with ServCelllndex i. The Ci field set to 0 indicates that the beam failure is not detected and octet containing the AC field is not present for the serving cell with
ServCelllndex i. The octets containing the AC field are present in ascending order based on the ServCelllndex. Here, the Ci = 1 indicates that the beam failure is occurred in the serving cell i. This indicates that the beam failure corresponding to the BFD-RS in the serving cell i is occurred or detected; 2) AC: This field indicates presence of the Candidate RS ID field in this octet. If at least one of the SSBs with SS-RSRP above a configured threshold amongst the SSBs in the configured candidate beam RS list or the CSI-RSs with CSI-RSRP above a configured threshold amongst the CSI-RSs in configured candidate beam RS list is available, the AC field is set to 1; otherwise, it is set to 0. If the AC field set to 1, the Candidate RS ID field is present. If the AC field set to 0, R bits are present instead; 3) Candidate RS ID: This field is set to the index of an SSB with SS-RSRP above a configured threshold amongst the SSBs in the configured candidate beam RS list or to the index of a CSI-RS with CSI-RSRP above a configured threshold amongst the CSI-RSs in the configured candidate beam RS list. The length of this field is 6 bits. Based on 1) to 3), the bitmap includes the serving cell index or indication ana the new candidate RS ID (new candidate beam index or the first index). Therefore, it is clear that the bitmap may indicate the first index information and the cell index and/or the beam failure indication corresponding to the BFD-RS set or multiple BFE-RS in the serving cell.) indicating the BFR procedure index, and not indicating the cell index; (Li, in Paragraphs [0081]-[0084], teaches that the UE sends at least one of a first Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission according to a first PRACH dedicated resource or a second PRACH transmission according to a second PRACH dedicated resource to a network device. The first PRACH transmission is used to report the beam failure of the first TRP (Transmission and reception Point) to the network device, and the second PRACH transmission is used to report the beam failure of the second TRP to the network device. The first PRACH dedicated resource is a PRACH dedicated resource used for the first TRP to perform the beam failure recovery. The second PRACH dedicated resource is a PRACH dedicated resource used for the second TRP to perform the beam failure recovery. The PRACH transmission is separated, according to the recoverySearchSpaceId for the beam failure recovery configuration. Therefore, it is clear that the BFR procedure index, namely, TRP ID can be separated by the PRACH, since according to the TRP ID, all the resources are separated.) indicating the cell index and up to n BFR procedure indexes in a cell; (Li, in Paragraphs [0076]-[0080], teaches that the UE sends at least one of a first MAC CE or a second MAC CE to a network device, The first MAC CE is used to report the beam failure of the first TRP to the network device, and the second MAC CE is used to report the beam failure of the second TRP to the network device. The first MAC CE includes at least one of: first information used for determining a serving cell index for a cell where beam failure is detected; second information used for determining an index of the first TRP where beam failure is detected; third information used for indicating whether a candidate reference signal identity (RS-ID) is included in the first MAC CE; or fourth information, The fourth information is a candidate RS-ID. The second MAC CE includes at least one of: first information used for determining a serving cell index for a cell where beam failure is detected; second information used for determining an index of the second TRP where beam failure is detected; third information used for indicating whether a candidate RS ID is included in the second MAC CE; or fourth information that is a candidate RS ID. Here, the first information is the first bitmap that includes serving cell index and the second information is a value of CORESET pool index associated with a PDCCH for a TRP, where beam failure is detected. Therefore, it is clear that based on the cell index and CORESET index, the BFR procedure index is determined and the number of TRP, n, is configured based on the configuration.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Yu, Lo, and Li to include the technique of wherein in case that the first signal is transmitted through the MAC CE, the method further comprises at least one of: indicating the first index information and/or a cell index through bitmap or a direct indication; indicating the BFR procedure index, and not indicating the cell index; indicating the cell index and up to n BFR procedure indexes in a cell; indicating the bitmap of beam failure indication corresponding to all BFD RS sets in the cell; or indicating the beam failure indication corresponding to one or more BFD RS sets of Li in the system of combination of Yu and Lo to provides a method for beam failure recovery by performing beam failure detection for each TRP (Transmission and reception point), independently, to improve the efficiency of beam failure recovery (Li, see Paragraphs [0004] and [0016]).).
Although combination of Yu, Lo, and Li teaches all of claim 6, Examiner notes that this claim contains contingent limitations. For method claims with contingent limitations, the broadest reasonable interpretation includes methods where the condition is met and where the condition isn't met. The limitations starting with "… in case that the first signal is transmitted …" is contingent limitations. The claim has been interpreted to not require the conditions stated to be met. See MPEP 2111.04 subsection 11.).
Claims 11 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chia-Hao Yu and et. al (USPub. No.: US 20220303171 A1, hereinafter “Yu”) in a view of Guo, Li (Int. Pub. No.: WO 2022057461 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 11, Yu teaches the features defined in the claims 8, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further does not explicitly teach that wherein in case that the first physical channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a CORESET for transmission of a second signal and a CORESET for transmission of a first physical channel have the same higher layer parameter of a CORESET or are associated with the same first index information; in case that the first physical channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a CORESET for reception of the second signal and a CORESET on which the PDCCH indicating a first physical channel resource is transmitted have the same higher layer parameter of a CORESET or are associated with the same first index information; in case that the first physical channel is the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a CORESET for reception of the second signal and a first physical channel resource are associated with the same first index information; or in case that the first physical channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a CORESET for reception of the second signal and a CORESET on which the PDCCH scheduling the first physical channel is transmitted have the same higher layer parameter of a CORESET or are associated with the same first index information.
Li teaches that in case that the first physical channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a CORESET for reception of the second signal and a CORESET on which the PDCCH scheduling the first physical channel is transmitted have the same higher layer parameter of a CORESET or are associated with the same first index information (Li, in Paragraphs [00107] and [00109], teaches that the UE may transmit in a first PUSCH MAC CE providing index(es) for at least corresponding serving cell(s) with radio link quality worse than the out of synch threshold, Qout,LR, indication(s) of presence of qnew for corresponding serving cell(s), an indicator of CORESETPoollndex value and index(es), qnew, for a periodic CSI-RS configuration or for an SS/PBCH block provided by higher layers, for corresponding serving cell, after 28 symbols from a last symbol of a PDCCH reception with a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission with a same HARQ process number as for the transmission of the first PUSCH and having a toggled NDI field value. Further, after PDCCH reception with DCI format, the UE monitors all PDSCH that are scheduled by PDCCH configured/associated with the same CORESETPoollndex value indicated by the MAC CE using the same antenna port quasi co-location parameters as the ones associated with the corresponding index(es) qnew. Therefore, it is clear that a CORESET for reception of the second signal and a CORESET on which the PDCCH scheduling for PUSCH or PDSCH is transmitted have the same higher layer parameter of a CORESET or are associated with the same first index information (Periodic RS indexes).) in case that the first physical channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a CORESET for transmission of a second signal and a CORESET for transmission of a first physical channel have the same higher layer parameter of a CORESET or are associated with the same first index information; (Li, in Paragraph [00108], teaches that after PDCCH reception with a DCI format, the UE monitors PDCCH in all CORESETs on the serving cell indicated by the
MAC CE that are configured/associated with the same CORESETPoollndex value indicated by the MAC CE using the same antenna port quasi co-location parameters as the ones associated with the corresponding index(es) qnew. Therefore, it is clear that a CORESET for transmission of a second signal and a CORESET for transmission of PDCCH have the same higher layer parameter of a CORESET or are associated with the same RS indexes.) in case that the first physical channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a CORESET for reception of the second signal and a CORESET on which the PDCCH indicating a first physical channel resource is transmitted have the same higher layer parameter of a CORESET or are associated with the same first index information; in case that the first physical channel is the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a CORESET for reception of the second signal and a first physical channel resource are associated with the same first index information; (Li, in Paragraph [00110], teaches that after PDCCH reception with a DCI format, the UE transmits PUCCH on PUCCH transmissions associated with the same CORESETPoollndex value indicated by the MAC CE using a same spatial domain filter as the one corresponding to qnew for periodic CSI-RS or SS/PBCH block reception, and using a power determined with qu = 0, qd = qnew, and l = 0. Therefore, it is clear that a CORESET for reception of the second signal and a CORESET on which the PDCCH indicating PUCCH is transmitted have the same higher layer parameter of a CORESET or are associated with the same RS indexes.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Yu and Li to include the technique of wherein in case that the first physical channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a CORESET for transmission of a second signal and a CORESET for transmission of a first physical channel have the same higher layer parameter of a CORESET or are associated with the same first index information; in case that the first physical channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a CORESET for reception of the second signal and a CORESET on which the PDCCH indicating a first physical channel resource is transmitted have the same higher layer parameter of a CORESET or are associated with the same first index information; in case that the first physical channel is the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a CORESET for reception of the second signal and a first physical channel resource are associated with the same first index information; or in case that the first physical channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a CORESET for reception of the second signal and a CORESET on which the PDCCH scheduling the first physical channel is transmitted have the same higher layer parameter of a CORESET or are associated with the same first index information of Li in the system of Yu to provides a method for beam failure recovery by performing beam failure detection for each TRP (Transmission and reception point), independently, to improve the efficiency of beam failure recovery (Li, see Paragraphs [0004] and [0016]).
Although combination of Yu and Li teaches all of claim 11, Examiner notes that this claim contains contingent limitations. For method claims with contingent limitations, the broadest reasonable interpretation includes methods where the condition is met and where the condition isn't met. The limitations starting with "… in case that the first physical channel … in case that the first physical channel … in case that the first physical channel … in case that the first physical channel …" is contingent limitations. The claim has been interpreted to not require the conditions stated to be met. See MPEP 2111.04 subsection 11.).
Claim 5 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chia-Hao Yu and et. al (USPub. No.: US 20220303171 A1, hereinafter “Yu”) in a view of Li-Chung Lo et. al. (USPub No.: US 20220046740 A1, hereinafter, “Lo”) and further in a view of Yuki Matsumura and et. al (USPub. No.: US 20220329312 A1, hereinafter “Matsumura”).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Yu and Lo teaches the features defined in the claims 4, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yu further teaches that wherein the different links in which the beam failure occurs correspond to different SR resources in case that the first signal is transmitted through the scheduling request (SR) resource, comprises: (Yu, in Fig. 3 and in Paragraph [0041], teaches that FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example method for an SCell (Secondary Cell) BFR procedure, according to an example implementation of the present application. In action 330, UE 310 performs beam failure detection and new beam identification. UE 310 may generate a BFRQ when a beam failure condition is detected in action 330. In one implementation, the BFRQ (BFR Request) (the first signal) may be a BFR MAC CE that carries a cell index of an SCell in which beam failure occurs and a new candidate beam index for the SCell. UE 310 may transmit a scheduling request (SR) to base station 320 in action 332 to request a UL resource for transmitting the BFR MAC CE. In one implementation, the SR in action 332 may be dedicatedly configured for BFR. The SR may be transmitted on a PUCCH. Therefore, it is clear that the different beam failure link corresponds to different SR resources when the first signal is transmitted through the SR resource.).
Combination of Yu and Lo does not explicitly teach that an SR periodicity and offset indicates first index information in case that the first signal is transmitted through the SR resource.
Matsumura teaches that an SR periodicity and offset indicates first index information in case that the first signal is transmitted through the SR resource (Matsumura, in Paragraphs [0072], [0079]-[0080], and [0186], teaches that the UE may transmit an SR in an SR occasion with certain periodicity determined based on the periodicity/offset information (indicated by an RRC IE “periodicityAndOffset”) by using a PUCCH resource indicated by the PUCCH resource ID (indicated by an RRC IE “PUCCH-ResourceId). The UE may control transmission of the SR based on SR configuration information indicated by the SR-ID (indicated by an RRC IE “schedulingRequesResourceId”). The UE may transmit first information to notify occurrence of beam failure by using the SR in the BFR procedure. The SR used for the notification of occurrence of beam failure may be referred to as an SR for BFR, an SR for SCell BFR, dedicated SR for SCell, or dedicated SR. The transmitting/receiving section 120 receives first information (e.g., an SR for BFR) to notify occurrence of beam failure and second information (e.g., a BFR MAC
CE) related to at least one of a cell with the beam failure detected and a new candidate beam (the first index). Therefore, it is clear that an SR periodicity and offset indicates first index information when the first signal is transmitted through the SR resource.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Yu, Lo, and Matsumura to include the technique of wherein in case that the first signal is transmitted through the MAC CE, the method further comprises at least one of: indicating the first index information and/or a cell index through bitmap or a direct indication; indicating the BFR procedure index, and not indicating the cell index; indicating the cell index and up to n BFR procedure indexes in a cell; indicating the bitmap of beam failure indication corresponding to all BFD RS sets in the cell; or indicating the beam failure indication corresponding to one or more BFD RS sets of Matsumura in the system of combination of Yu and Lo to provide a terminal and a radio communication method that perform BFR procedure appropriately, to avoid to reconnect a cell and deterioration of system throughput, when the RLF occurs. (Matsumura, see Paragraphs [0009] and [0022]).).
Although combination of Yu, Lo, and Matsumura teaches all of claim 5, Examiner notes that this claim contains contingent limitations. For method claims with contingent limitations, the broadest reasonable interpretation includes methods where the condition is met and where the condition isn't met. The limitations starting with "… in case that the first signal is … in case that the first signal …" is contingent limitations. The claim has been interpreted to not require the conditions stated to be met. See MPEP 2111.04 subsection 11.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAEYOUNG KWAK/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472