DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant filed a response and amended claim 1, 3, 13, and 20 on 02/26/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are primarily drawn to the amended claims. The revised rejection addresses the amendments.
Applicant argues:
“Amended claim 1 now recites: monitoring a viscosity of the adhesive resin by way of one or more viscosity sensors in or near at least one of the pre-heating device and the adhesive applier; communicating the viscosity of the adhesive resin to a controller operatively coupled to the viscosity sensor and to the heater. The Office has previously acknowledged that the proposed Via-Buchholzer combination fails to teach this limitation. See Office Action at page 15. Accordingly, Applicant submits that the proposed Via-Buchholzer combination cannot be said to teach the limitations of claim 1, as amended. While Kim was previously applied against claim 3 for similar limitations, it is respectfully submitted that Kim and Miller also fail to properly teach one or more
viscosity sensors in or near at least one of the pre-heating device and the adhesive applier, and likewise, the references fail to teach the claimed increasing and decreasing of the individual temperature components, as now claimed.”
The rejection below addresses the amended claims. Kim teaches a temperature sensor is installed inside the mixing chamber to control the melting and viscosity of the binder, where the temperature sensor provides temperature information to the transfer control unit, and the transfer control unit may adjust the temperature of the heating device, thereby controlling the temperature in the mixing chamber.
Miller teaches a system for manufacturing a slurry, comprising a plurality of sensors, including a temperature or viscosity sensor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate a viscosity sensor of Miller into a mixing chamber for controlled monitoring as taught by Kim, for the benefit of controlling the viscosity to stay within a target viscosity as desired by Via.
Applicant argues independent claims 1 and 20 now recite: pre-heating an adhesive resin in a preheating device with a heater to a pre-application temperature of 70°C to 180°C before entry into an adhesive applier. Buchholzer teaches that heating above about 70°C is to be avoided as it can cause undesirable pre-curing (Buchholzer actually mentions that is it more preferable to avoiding heating above 60°C). Applicant argues while Buchholzer does not expressly teach away from the 70°C point in the claims, the clear context of the reference, when considered in its entirety, is that heating to the claimed temperature range can cause undesirable pre-curing, and thus, should be averted when possible.
Examiner concurs Buchholzer teaches a desire to avoid overheating as it can cause undesirable pre-curing, as it pertains to the adhesive composition taught by Buchholzer. The rejection relies upon the binder composition of Via, which is prepared by heated to a temperature between of 25°C to 90°C [0070].
Regarding claim 3 and 20, Applicant argues the claims now recite the adhesive resin is selected from the group consisting of methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (MDI), phenol formaldehyde (PF), urea formaldehyde (UFJ, melamine formaldehyde (MF), melamine urea formaldehyde (MUF), and combinations thereof. Applicant argues
Via, the primary reference is based on a desire to reduce adhesive consumption/waste, and their solution is to add a solid soy-based powder to the adhesive for compatibility and to stretch the amount of the most expensive binder ingredients. Applicant's claims 3 and 20 do not include any mention of soy-based powders and a proposed modification of Via to remove such soy products would render Via unfit for its intended purpose.
Examiner agrees Via teaches a soy-modified binder composition. Via teaches the binder composition includes synthetic resin, wherein the synthetic resin can be any suitable synthetic resin, including, for example, PF, UF, and MDI [0050]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 3 and 20 do not preclude the use of other ingredients (e.g. additives, modifiers, functional ingredients) in the adhesive resin. The adhesive resin is selected to be a resin from the closed list of resins but is not require the binder composition to consist of methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (MDI), phenol formaldehyde (PF), urea formaldehyde (UFJ, melamine formaldehyde (MF), melamine urea formaldehyde (MUF), and combinations thereof.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “preheating device” in claim 1 and “cooling unit” in claim 4 and 13.
Accordingly, “preheating device” is interpreted as a chamber, pipe system, and equivalents thereof [0027].
Accordingly, “cooling unit” is interpreted as a liquid flow convection cooler, a thermoelectric cooler, and passive heat exchanger fins and equivalents thereof [0033].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Via (PG-PUB 2017/0266930) in view of Kim (KR102144991, machine translation relied upon for citations), Miller (US 7,803,296), and Buchholzer (WO2000007785, machine translation relied upon for citations).
Regarding claim 1, Via teaches a method for applying an adhesive resin in manufacturing an engineered wood product comprising:
pre-heating an adhesive resin to a pre-application temperature before entry into an adhesive applier in a range of 25-90°C [0070];
maintaining said adhesive resin at said pre-application temperature for a controlled period of time [0070]; and
applying said adhesive resin on wood particles to form an engineered wood product [0064], [0071], [0073], [0076].
Via teaches the desire to stay within a target viscosity range of less than 1000 cp to avoid problems [0057], [0066]-[0069]. Via teaches where the viscosity is too high, the temperature can be increased [0070].
Via does not explicitly teach maintaining said adhesive resin at said pre-application temperature to improve cross-linking ability of said adhesive resin at an end of the period of time.
However, the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious (MPEP 2145(II)).
Via does not teach:
(1) monitoring a viscosity of the adhesive resin by way of one or more viscosity sensors in or near at least one of the pre-heating device and the adhesive applier; communicating the viscosity of the adhesive resin to a controller operatively coupled to the viscosity sensor and to the heater,
wherein maintaining said adhesive resin includes increasing the temperature of the preheating device if the one or more viscosity sensors indicates the viscosity of the adhesive resin has increased above a predetermined range and decreasing the temperature of the preheating device if the one or more viscosity sensors indicates the viscosity of the adhesive resin has decreased below a predetermined range;
(2) said adhesive resin enters said adhesive applier at a heated temperature above ambient temperature.
As to (1), Kim teaches an apparatus for manufacturing composite wood deck, comprising a mixer with a temperature sensor for measuring the internal temperature of the mixing chamber and a control device [0074]. Kim teaches the temperature sensor is installed inside of the mixing chamber to control the melting and viscosity of the binder and adjusting the temperature of mixing chamber [0079]-[0080].
Miller teaches a system for manufacturing a gypsum slurry, comprising a plurality of sensors. Miller teaches the sensors can measure one or more physical properties of the slurry, including the temperature or viscosity (Col 16, ln 4-15). Miller teaches changing variables can include ambient temperature, slurry temperature, raw material fluctuations, etc., can affect the slurry viscosity (Col 15, ln 45-60). Miller teaches properties such as the viscosity of the slurry can be maintained in a desired range without the need for stopping the continuous manufacturing process through the use of the sensors (Col 23, ln 5-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to improve the process of Via with a temperature sensor and controller as taught by Kim to monitor the viscosity of the adhesive mixture in a mixer and adjust the temperature accordingly to obtain the desirable viscosity range, as desired by Via. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to further improve the process of Via in view of Kim with a viscosity sensor in the mixer and coupled to the heater, an additional sensor as taught by Miller to directly measure and monitor viscosity of the mixture to adjust the parameters of the mixture reaction such that the desirable viscosity range is obtained.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the temperature of the heater based on the feedback obtained from the viscosity and temperature sensors processed by the controller, to yield the predictable result of ensuring the temperature and viscosity of the adhesive resin is within the predetermined range as suggested by Via and Kim.
As to (2), Buchholzer teaches a method for manufacturing medium density fiber panels comprising a step of spraying a binder using nozzles, wherein the binder can be brought to room temperature or heated to a temperature of below 100°C, preferably 50 to 75°C, in order to bring as much heat energy as possible into the fiber mat to be spread (Page 2-3, ln 80-90). Buchholzer teaches the temperature of the binder should be at the temperature range of 50 to 70°C to avoid pre-curing (Page 4, ln 134-143).
Both Via and Buchholzer are drawn to the same field of endeavor pertaining to applying a binder for manufacturing engineering wood products. Via does not explicitly teach whether the binder is supplied to the applier in a heated or non-heated state, prompting one of ordinary skill in the art to look elsewhere in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Via with a step of supplying the binder in a heated state to the adhesive applier, a known suitable technique for supplying binder without causing pre-curing as taught by Buchholzer, to yield the predictable result of spraying prepared binder to the fiber materials.
Regarding claim 2, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein maintaining said adhesive resin at said pre-application temperature improves pre-application chemical properties compared to chemical properties of said adhesive resin at a beginning of said controlled period of time because a desired level of viscosity and emulsification is obtained through the heating (Via, [0070]).
Regarding claim 3, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein the adhesive resin is selected from the group of consisting of methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (MDI), phenol formaldehyde (PF), urea formaldehyde (UF), melamine formaldehyde (MF), melamine urea formaldehyde (MUF), and combinations thereof (Via, Claim 10).
Regarding claim 4, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1.
Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer as modified does not teach a cooling unit located at an exit end of said adhesive applier to decrease said pre-application temperature to an application temperature.
Buchholzer teaches a cooling unit located at an exit end of said adhesive applier to ensure that the binder applied is at a temperature range of about 50 to 70°C in order to avoid-precuring (Page 4, ln 134-141).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to improve the process of Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer with a cooling unit located at an exit end of the adhesive applier of Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer to ensure the binder sprayed is within the desired temperature range to avoid pre-curing as taught by Buchholzer and, therefore, within appropriate viscosity levels to ensure proper spraying as suggested by Via [0066].
Regarding claim 5, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein said adhesive resin comprises a formaldehyde polymer (Via, [0050] and [0077]).
Regarding claim 6, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, said adhesive resin comprises a resin prepared from methylene diphenyl di-isocyanate (Via, [0050] and [0077]).
Regarding claim 7, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, said adhesive resin comprises phenol formaldehyde (PF) or urea formaldehyde (UF) (Via, [0050], [0063], and [0077]).
Regarding claim 8, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein said adhesive applier comprises a spray nozzle (Via, [0064] and [0069]).
Regarding claim 9, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein said adhesive applier is performed by rolling and would inherently require a roller (Via, [0064] and [0069]).
Regarding claim 11, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein comprising heating or cooling said adhesive resin through more than one cycle of heating or cooling because of the pre-heating of the adhesive, the cease of heating during the application, and heating of the adhesive during pressing with the mat (Via, [0069]-[0070], and claim 9).
Regarding claim 14, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein said pre-application temperature is in a range of 25-90°C (Via, [0070]).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 15, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein a pre-application viscosity of said adhesive resin is less than about 1000 cp, or preferably in a range of 250-750 cp (Via, [0069]- [0070]).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 16, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein said adhesive resin is maintained at said pre-application temperature for 0.1 minutes to about 20 minutes (Via, [0070]).
Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer does not explicitly teach said adhesive resin is maintained at said pre-application temperature from more than 20 minutes up to 45 minutes.
However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. (MPEP 2144.05). Prior art temperature of about 20 minutes with close to more than 20 minutes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized maintain said pre-application temperature to more than 20 minutes (e.g., 20 minutes and a few seconds) would not present any new or unexpected results compared to maintaining said pre-application temperature to 20 minutes, as the viscosity of the resin of Via would not be significantly different over a brief extended period.
Regarding claim 17, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein said adhesive resin is maintained at said pre-application temperature for 0.1 minutes to about 20 minutes (Via, [0070]).
Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer does not explicitly teach said adhesive resin is maintained at said pre-application temperature from more than 20 minutes up to 60 minutes.
However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. (MPEP 2144.05). Prior art temperature of about 20 minutes with close to more than 20 minutes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized maintain said pre-application temperature to more than 20 minutes (e.g., 20 minutes and a few seconds) would not present any new or unexpected results compared to maintaining said pre-application temperature to 20 minutes, as the viscosity of the resin of Via would not be significantly different over a brief extended period.
Regarding claim 18, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein said adhesive resin is maintained at said pre-application temperature for 0.1 minutes to about 20 minutes (Via, [0070]).
Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer does not explicitly teach said adhesive resin is maintained at said pre-application temperature from more than 20 minutes up to 120 minutes.
However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. (MPEP 2144.05). Prior art temperature of about 20 minutes with close to more than 20 minutes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized maintain said pre-application temperature to more than 20 minutes (e.g., 20 minutes and a few seconds) would not present any new or unexpected results compared to maintaining said pre-application temperature to 20 minutes, as the viscosity of the resin of Via would not be significantly different over a brief extended period.
Regarding claim 19, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 2, wherein said chemical properties comprise viscosity properties (Via, [0070]).
Regarding claim 20, Via teaches a method for applying an adhesive resin in manufacturing an engineered wood product comprising:
pre-heating an adhesive resin to a pre-application temperature before entry into an adhesive applier in a range of 25-90°C [0070];
maintaining said adhesive resin at said pre-application temperature for a controlled period of time [0070]; and
applying said adhesive resin on wood particles to form an engineered wood product [0064], [0071], [0073], [0076],
wherein the adhesive resin is selected from the group consisting of methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (MDI), phenol formaldehyde (PF), urea formaldehyde (UF), melamine formaldehyde (MF), melamine urea formaldehyde (MUF), and combinations thereof (Via, Claim 10).
Via does not explicitly teach maintaining said adhesive resin at said pre-application temperature to improve cross-linking ability of said adhesive resin at an end of the period of time.
However, the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious (MPEP 2145(II)).
Via does not teach said adhesive resin enters said adhesive applier at a heated temperature above ambient temperature.
Buchholzer teaches a method for manufacturing medium density fiber panels comprising a step of spraying a binder using nozzles, wherein the binder can be brought to room temperature or heated to a temperature of below 100°C, preferably 50 to 75°C, in order to bring as much heat energy as possible into the fiber mat to be spread (Page 2-3, ln 80-90). Buchholzer teaches the temperature of the binder should be at the temperature range of 50 to 70°C to avoid pre-curing (Page 4, ln 134-143).
Both Via and Buchholzer are drawn to the same field of endeavor pertaining to applying a binder for manufacturing engineering wood products. Via does not explicitly teach whether the binder is supplied to the applier in a heated or non-heated state, prompting one of ordinary skill in the art to look elsewhere in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Via with a step of supplying the binder in a heated state to the adhesive applier, a known suitable technique for supplying binder without causing pre-curing as taught by Buchholzer, to yield the predictable result of spraying prepared binder to the fiber materials.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Via (PG-PUB 2017/0266930) in view of Kim (KR102144991, machine translation relied upon for citations), Miller (US 7,803,296), and Buchholzer (WO2000007785, machine translation relied upon for citations), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Kumar (PG-PUB 2017/0225355).
Regarding claim 10, Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein said adhesive applier is performed by spraying, rolling, submerging, pouring, extruding, gravity application, etc. (Via, [0064] and [0069]).
Via in view of Kim, Miller, and Buchholzer does not explicitly teach said adhesive applier comprises an atomizer.
Kumar teaches a process of manufacturing engineering wood products [0015], comprising applying a binder to fiber particles [0067], [0071]-[0073], wherein the application can be performed through atomizing [0072].
Via and Kumar are both drawn to applying an adhesive to lignocellulosic particles for manufacturing engineering wood products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Via with the known suitable application technique of atomizing as taught by Kumar, to yield the predictable result of applying adhesive binder to fibrous materials for manufacturing engineered wood products.
Alternatively, claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pietarinen (PG-PUB 2017/0001329) in view of Buchholzer (WO2000007785, machine translation relied upon for citations).
Regarding claim 20, Pietarinen teaches a method for applying an adhesive resin in manufacturing an engineered wood product comprising:
pre-heating an adhesive resin with a heater to a pre-application temperature of 80°C to 90°C before entry into an adhesive applier [0038]-[0041], [0100]-[0101];
maintaining said adhesive resin at said pre-application temperature for a controlled period of time [0100]-[0101]; and
afterwards, applying said adhesive resin on wood particles to form an engineered wood product [0031]-[0033], [0086]-[0088], [0139]-[0139];
wherein the adhesive resin is a liquid selected from the group consisting of methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (MDI), phenol formaldehyde (PF), urea formaldehyde (UF), melamine formaldehyde (MF), melamine urea formaldehyde (MUF), and combinations thereof ([0092] and [0098]- phenol formaldehyde).
Pietarinen does not explicitly teach to improve reactivity properties of said adhesive resin at an end of said controlled period of time compared to the cross-linking ability of said adhesive resin at a beginning of said controlled period of time.
However, the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious (MPEP 2145(II)).
Pietarinen does not explicitly teach said adhesive resin enters said adhesive applier at a heated temperature above ambient temperature
Buchholzer teaches a method for manufacturing medium density fiber panels comprising a step of spraying a binder using nozzles, wherein the binder can be brought to room temperature or heated to a temperature of below 100°C, preferably 50 to 75°C, in order to bring as much heat energy as possible into the fiber mat to be spread (Page 2-3, ln 80-90). Buchholzer teaches the temperature of the binder should be at the temperature range of 50 to 70°C to avoid pre-curing (Page 4, ln 134-143).
Both Pietarinen and Buchholzer are drawn to the same field of endeavor pertaining to applying a binder for manufacturing engineering wood products. Via does not explicitly teach whether the binder is supplied to the applier in a heated or non-heated state, prompting one of ordinary skill in the art to look elsewhere in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Pietarinen with a step of supplying the binder in a heated state to the adhesive applier, a known suitable technique for supplying binder to be spreadable as taught by Buchholzer, to yield the predictable result of spraying prepared binder to the fiber materials.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art do not teach the combination of limitations of claim 13, in particular one or more viscosity sensors placed in a vicinity of a cooling unit, wherein the cooling unit is located at an exit of said adhesive applier.
Conclusion
/HANA C PAGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1745