DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to amendment
3. This is a Non-Final Office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 08/03/2026.
4. Status of the claims:
• Claims 1, 20, and 37 have been amended.
• Claims 1, 9-20, 37, 46-51 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to remarks/arguments
5. Applicant’s remarks and arguments filed on 08/03/2026 with respect to amended independent claims 1, 20, and 37 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Upon further search and consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liao et al. (US 20230018093 A1).
6. In response to Applicant’s remarks and arguments filed on 08/10/2026 regarding amended independent claims 1, 20, and 37, the Examiner acknowledges that the combination of Reial and Papasakellariou does not explicitly teach the newly recited features as argued by Applicant. However, the system of Liao et al. (US 20230018093 A1) cures this deficiency.
Please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1, 9-20, 37, 46-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reial et al. (US 20230127023 A1) in view of Liao et al. (US 20230018093 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Reial discloses a method for data processing (method of FIG. 7), comprising:
receiving the PDCCH and obtaining the one or more bits in the PDCCH (Reial, para. 76, 90, 134: The UE is configured to blindly monitor a search space for a PDCCH, and upon detecting a valid DCI message, the UE receives the corresponding downlink data. Noted that the DCI message or DCI bitfield is transmitted over the PDCCH or the PDCCH carries the DCI message. By virtue of monitoring the PDCCH by decoding/detecting the DCI, the UE can directly determine whether there is variation or change in the search space based on the content of the DCI field/indication); and
determining whether parameter change occurs to the one or more search space sets based on the one or more bits (Reial, para. 76, 90, 134: The DCI message or DCI bitfield is transmitted over the PDCCH or the PDCCH carries the DCI message. By virtue of monitoring the PDCCH by decoding/detecting the DCI, the UE can directly determine whether there is variation or change in the search space based on the content of the DCI field/indication).
Reial does not appear to explicitly disclose receiving a configuration signaling, wherein the configuration signaling indicates one-to- one correspondence between one or more bits in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and one or more search space sets.
In the same field of endeavor, Liao teaches receiving a configuration signaling (Liao, para. [0032]: M-DCI based M-TRP transmission for the UE 110 may be RRC configured as follows. If the UE 110 is configured by higher layer parameter “PDCCH-Config” that contains two different values of CORESETPoolIndex in ControlResourceSet, the UE 110 may expect to receive multiple PDCCHs which scheduling fully/partially/non-overlapped PDSCHs in time and frequency domain), wherein the configuration signaling indicates one-to- one correspondence between one or more bits in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and one or more search space sets (Liao, para. [0033]: the PDCCH monitoring adaptation may be DCI-based adaptation, and the indication of PDCCH monitoring adaptation may be included in a bit field of a UE-specific DCI, such as a scheduling DCI using DCI format 0_1, 1_1, 0_2, or 1_2. For example, the UE 110 may be configured with a plurality of SSS's which are configured with different PDCCH monitoring periodicities, and the bit field may be a Search Space Set (SSS) switching field that indicates the UE 110 to switch to an SSS (e.g., dormant SSS) which is configured with no PDCCH monitoring or PDCCH monitoring with longer period or smaller number of PDCCH candidates).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Reial with the teaching of Liao by using the above features such that receiving a configuration signaling, wherein the configuration signaling indicates one-to- one correspondence between one or more bits in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and one or more search space sets as taught by Liao. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide communication coverage for a geographic coverage area in which communications with the UE 110 is supported via a communication link (Liao, para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 9, Reial and Liao disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: starting a timer upon determining that parameter change occurs to a search space set (Reial, para. 76, 90, 98, 134: In response to the scheduled active interval 210a occurring concurrently with monitoring opportunities of the C-DRX configuration 230, the UE 105 starts monitoring at the beginning of the scheduled active interval 210a (i.e., at the beginning of its onDuration interval). By virtue of monitoring the PDCCH by decoding/detecting the DCI, the UE can directly determine whether there is variation or change in the search space based on the content of the DCI field/indication); and determining that parameter non-change occurs to the search space set in response to expiration of the timer (Reial, para. 111, 114: the UE 105 is configured to switch back to monitoring in accordance with the C-DRX monitoring pattern 230 upon expiration of the timer. Correspondingly, when the UE 105 switches to use the fifth GTS-SS, expiration of the timer controls when the UE 105 reinstates the monitoring-SS).
Regarding claim 10, Reial and Liao disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that parameter non-change occurs to a search space set in a next discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (Reial, para. 90-91, 121-122: FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B show GTS-SS-based monitoring opportunities that occur every onDuration of the C-DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 11, Reial and Liao disclose the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether parameter change occurs to the one or more search space sets based on the one or more bits, comprises: determining whether parameter change occurs to one search space set based on one bit (Reial, para. 76, 90, 134: The DCI message or DCI bitfield is transmitted over the PDCCH or the PDCCH carries the DCI message. By virtue of monitoring the PDCCH by decoding/detecting the DCI, the UE can directly determine whether there is variation or change in the search space based on the content of the DCI field/indication).
Regarding claim 12, Reial and Liao disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the one search space set is a search space set to which the PDCCH belongs (Reial, para. 76, 82, 97: the UE is configured to blindly monitor a search space for a PDCCH).
Regarding claim 13, Reial and Liao disclose the method of claim 11, wherein parameter non-change is determined to occur to the one search space set on condition that the one bit indicates parameter non-change (Reial, para. 124: the access node may configure both GTS- and monitoring-SSs in the same BWPs, e.g. providing multiple SS configurations in the RRC configuration); and parameter change is determined to occur to the one search space set on condition that the one bit indicates parameter change (Reial, para. 76, 90, 134: The DCI message or DCI bitfield is transmitted over the PDCCH or the PDCCH carries the DCI message. By virtue of monitoring the PDCCH by decoding/detecting the DCI, the UE can directly determine whether there is variation or change in the search space based on the content of the DCI field/indication).
Regarding claim 14, Reial and Liao disclose the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether parameter change occurs to the one or more search space sets based on the one or more bits, comprises: determining whether parameter change occurs to two search space sets based on two bits (Reial, para. 134: the indication is in the form of a new DCI bit field, or reuses one or more existing DCI bitfields. As one particular example, the cross-slot bit field is reused to indicate a switch of monitoring opportunity configurations in Rel-16 networks. Alternatively, the UE 105 may be sent a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication, e.g., to switch the UE 105 from monitoring a BWP in accordance with the monitoring-SS to another BWP in accordance with the GTS-SS).
Regarding claim 15, Reial and Liao disclose the method of claim 14, wherein the two search space sets comprise a search space set to which the PDCCH belongs and a search space set associated with the PDCCH (Reial, para. 76, 82, 97: the UE is configured to blindly monitor a search space for a PDCCH. The UE would monitor in each slot 68 in which the UE has a monitoring opportunity of the C-DRX monitoring pattern 230 scheduled (which reflects the monitoring-SS in which a PDCCH may potentially be found)).
Regarding claim 16, Reial and Liao disclose the method of claim 14, wherein parameter non-change is determined to occur to a search space set corresponding to one bit in the two bits on condition that the one bit indicates parameter non-change (Reial, para. 124: the access node may configure both GTS- and monitoring-SSs in the same BWPs, e.g. providing multiple SS configurations in the RRC configuration); and parameter change is determined to occur to the search space set corresponding to the one bit in the two bits on condition that the one bit indicates parameter change (Reial, para. 134: the indication is in the form of a new DCI bit field, or reuses one or more existing DCI bitfields. As one particular example, the cross-slot bit field is reused to indicate a switch of monitoring opportunity configurations in Rel-16 networks. Alternatively, the UE 105 may be sent a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication, e.g., to switch the UE 105 from monitoring a BWP in accordance with the monitoring-SS to another BWP in accordance with the GTS-SS).
Regarding claim 17, Reial and Liao disclose the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether parameter change occurs to the one or more search space sets based on the one or more bits, comprises: determining whether parameter change occurs to a plurality of search space sets based on at least two bits (Reial, para. 134: the indication is in the form of a new DCI bit field, or reuses one or more existing DCI bitfields. As one particular example, the cross-slot bit field is reused to indicate a switch of monitoring opportunity configurations in Rel-16 networks. Alternatively, the UE 105 may be sent a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication, e.g., to switch the UE 105 from monitoring a BWP in accordance with the monitoring-SS to another BWP in accordance with the GTS-SS).
Regarding claim 18, Reial and Liao disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the plurality of search space sets comprise a search space set to which the PDCCH belongs and at least two search space sets associated with the PDCCH (Reial, para. 76, 82, 97: the UE is configured to blindly monitor a search space for a PDCCH. The UE would monitor in each slot 68 in which the UE has a monitoring opportunity of the C-DRX monitoring pattern 230 scheduled (which reflects the monitoring-SS in which a PDCCH may potentially be found)).
Regarding claim 19, Reial and Liao disclose the method of claim 17, further comprising: determining whether parameter change occurs to each search space set in the plurality of search space sets on condition that the at least two bits indicate target information, wherein the target information contains information indicative of whether parameter change occurs to each search space set in the plurality of search space sets (Reial, para. 134: the indication is in the form of a new DCI bit field, or reuses one or more existing DCI bitfields. As one particular example, the cross-slot bit field is reused to indicate a switch of monitoring opportunity configurations in Rel-16 networks. Alternatively, the UE 105 may be sent a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication, e.g., to switch the UE 105 from monitoring a BWP in accordance with the monitoring-SS to another BWP in accordance with the GTS-SS).
Regarding claim 20, Reial discloses a method for data processing (Method of FIG. 7), comprising:
transmitting the PDCCH (Reial, para. 76, 90, 134: The UE is configured to blindly monitor a search space for a PDCCH, and upon detecting a valid DCI message, the UE receives the corresponding downlink data), wherein one or more bits in the PDCCH are used to determine whether parameter change occurs to the one or more search space sets (Reial, para. 76, 90, 134: The UE is configured to blindly monitor a search space for a PDCCH, and upon detecting a valid DCI message, the UE receives the corresponding downlink data. Noted that the DCI message or DCI bitfield is transmitted over the PDCCH or the PDCCH carries the DCI message. By virtue of monitoring the PDCCH by decoding/detecting the DCI, the UE can directly determine whether there is variation or change in the search space based on the content of the DCI field/indication).
Reial does not appear to explicitly disclose transmitting a configuration signaling, wherein the configuration signaling indicates one- to-one correspondence between one or more bits in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and one or more search space sets.
In the same field of endeavor, Liao teaches transmitting a configuration signaling (Liao, para. [0032]: M-DCI based M-TRP transmission for the UE 110 may be RRC configured as follows. If the UE 110 is configured by higher layer parameter “PDCCH-Config” that contains two different values of CORESETPoolIndex in ControlResourceSet, the UE 110 may expect to receive multiple PDCCHs which scheduling fully/partially/non-overlapped PDSCHs in time and frequency domain), wherein the configuration signaling indicates one-to- one correspondence between one or more bits in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and one or more search space sets (Liao, para. [0033]: the PDCCH monitoring adaptation may be DCI-based adaptation, and the indication of PDCCH monitoring adaptation may be included in a bit field of a UE-specific DCI, such as a scheduling DCI using DCI format 0_1, 1_1, 0_2, or 1_2. For example, the UE 110 may be configured with a plurality of SSS's which are configured with different PDCCH monitoring periodicities, and the bit field may be a Search Space Set (SSS) switching field that indicates the UE 110 to switch to an SSS (e.g., dormant SSS) which is configured with no PDCCH monitoring or PDCCH monitoring with longer period or smaller number of PDCCH candidates).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Reial with the teaching of Liao by using the above features such that transmitting a configuration signaling, wherein the configuration signaling indicates one-to- one correspondence between one or more bits in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and one or more search space sets as taught by Liao. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide communication coverage for a geographic coverage area in which communications with the UE 110 is supported via a communication link (Liao, para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 37, Reial discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver (FIG. 9: interface circuitry 830); a processor coupled with the transceiver (FIG. 9: processing circuitry 810); and a memory (FIG. 9: memory circuitry 820) storing a computer program which, when executed by the processor, causes the UE to:
receive the PDCCH (Reial, para. 76, 90, 134: The UE is configured to blindly monitor a search space for a PDCCH, and upon detecting a valid DCI message, the UE receives the corresponding downlink data);
obtain the one or more bits in the PDCCH (Reial, para. 76, 90, 134: The UE is configured to blindly monitor a search space for a PDCCH, and upon detecting a valid DCI message, the UE receives the corresponding downlink data. Noted that the DCI message or DCI bitfield is transmitted over the PDCCH or the PDCCH carries the DCI message. By virtue of monitoring the PDCCH by decoding/detecting the DCI, the UE can directly determine whether there is variation or change in the search space based on the content of the DCI field/indication); and
determine whether parameter change occurs to one or more search space sets based on the one or more bits (Reial, para. 76, 90, 134: The UE is configured to blindly monitor a search space for a PDCCH, and upon detecting a valid DCI message, the UE receives the corresponding downlink data. Noted that the DCI message or DCI bitfield is transmitted over the PDCCH or the PDCCH carries the DCI message. By virtue of monitoring the PDCCH by decoding/detecting the DCI, the UE can directly determine whether there is variation or change in the search space based on the content of the DCI field/indication).
Reial does not appear to explicitly disclose receive a configuration signaling, wherein the configuration signaling indicates one-to- one correspondence between one or more bits in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and one or more search space sets.
In the same field of endeavor, Liao teaches receive a configuration signaling (Liao, para. [0032]: M-DCI based M-TRP transmission for the UE 110 may be RRC configured as follows. If the UE 110 is configured by higher layer parameter “PDCCH-Config” that contains two different values of CORESETPoolIndex in ControlResourceSet, the UE 110 may expect to receive multiple PDCCHs which scheduling fully/partially/non-overlapped PDSCHs in time and frequency domain), wherein the configuration signaling indicates one-to- one correspondence between one or more bits in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and one or more search space sets (Liao, para. [0033]: the PDCCH monitoring adaptation may be DCI-based adaptation, and the indication of PDCCH monitoring adaptation may be included in a bit field of a UE-specific DCI, such as a scheduling DCI using DCI format 0_1, 1_1, 0_2, or 1_2. For example, the UE 110 may be configured with a plurality of SSS's which are configured with different PDCCH monitoring periodicities, and the bit field may be a Search Space Set (SSS) switching field that indicates the UE 110 to switch to an SSS (e.g., dormant SSS) which is configured with no PDCCH monitoring or PDCCH monitoring with longer period or smaller number of PDCCH candidates).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Reial with the teaching of Liao by using the above features such that receive a configuration signaling, wherein the configuration signaling indicates one-to- one correspondence between one or more bits in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and one or more search space sets as taught by Liao. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide communication coverage for a geographic coverage area in which communications with the UE 110 is supported via a communication link (Liao, para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 46, Reial and Liao disclose the UE of claim 37, wherein the computer program is further executed by the processor to cause the UE to: start a timer upon determining that parameter change occurs to a search space set (Reial, para. 76, 90, 98, 134: In response to the scheduled active interval 210a occurring concurrently with monitoring opportunities of the C-DRX configuration 230, the UE 105 starts monitoring at the beginning of the scheduled active interval 210a (i.e., at the beginning of its onDuration interval). By virtue of monitoring the PDCCH by decoding/detecting the DCI, the UE can directly determine whether there is variation or change in the search space based on the content of the DCI field/indication); and determine that parameter non-change occurs to the search space set in response to expiration of the timer (Reial, para. 111, 114: the UE 105 is configured to switch back to monitoring in accordance with the C-DRX monitoring pattern 230 upon expiration of the timer. Correspondingly, when the UE 105 switches to use the fifth GTS-SS, expiration of the timer controls when the UE 105 reinstates the monitoring-SS).
Regarding claim 47, Reial and Liao disclose the UE of claim 37, wherein the computer program is further executed by the processor to cause the UE to: determine that parameter non-change occurs to a search space set in a next discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (DRX) cycle (Reial, para. 90-91, 121-122: FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B show GTS-SS-based monitoring opportunities that occur every onDuration of the C-DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 48, Reial and Liao disclose the UE of claim 37, wherein the computer program causing the UE to determine whether parameter change occurs to the one or more search space sets based on the one or more bits is executed by the processor to cause the UE to: determine whether parameter change occurs to one search space set based on one bit (Reial, para. 76, 90, 134: The DCI message or DCI bitfield is transmitted over the PDCCH or the PDCCH carries the DCI message. By virtue of monitoring the PDCCH by decoding/detecting the DCI, the UE can directly determine whether there is variation or change in the search space based on the content of the DCI field/indication).
Regarding claim 49, Reial and Liao disclose the UE of claim 48, wherein the one search space set is a search space set to which the PDCCH belongs (Reial, para. 76, 82, 97: the UE is configured to blindly monitor a search space for a PDCCH).
Regarding claim 50, Reial and Liao disclose the UE of claim 48, wherein parameter non-change is determined to occur to the one search space set on condition that the one bit indicates parameter non-change (Reial, para. 124: the access node may configure both GTS- and monitoring-SSs in the same BWPs, e.g. providing multiple SS configurations in the RRC configuration); and parameter change is determined to occur to the one search space set on condition that the one bit indicates parameter change (Reial, para. 76, 90, 134: The DCI message or DCI bitfield is transmitted over the PDCCH or the PDCCH carries the DCI message. By virtue of monitoring the PDCCH by decoding/detecting the DCI, the UE can directly determine whether there is variation or change in the search space based on the content of the DCI field/indication).
Regarding claim 51, Reial and Liao disclose the UE of claim 37, wherein the computer program causing the UE to determine whether parameter change occurs to the one or more search space sets based on the one or more bits is executed by the processor to cause the UE to: determine whether parameter change occurs to two search space sets based on two bits (Reial, para. 134: the indication is in the form of a new DCI bit field, or reuses one or more existing DCI bitfields. As one particular example, the cross-slot bit field is reused to indicate a switch of monitoring opportunity configurations in Rel-16 networks. Alternatively, the UE 105 may be sent a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication, e.g., to switch the UE 105 from monitoring a BWP in accordance with the monitoring-SS to another BWP in accordance with the GTS-SS), wherein the two search space sets comprise a search space set to which the PDCCH belongs and a search space set associated with the PDCCH (Reial, para. 76, 82, 97: the UE is configured to blindly monitor a search space for a PDCCH. The UE would monitor in each slot 68 in which the UE has a monitoring opportunity of the C-DRX monitoring pattern 230 scheduled (which reflects the monitoring-SS in which a PDCCH may potentially be found)), and the two bits and the two search space sets are in one-to-one correspondence; wherein on condition that one bit in the two bits indicates parameter non-change, parameter non-change is determined to occur to a search space set corresponding to the one bit in the two search space sets (Reial, para. 134: the indication is in the form of a new DCI bit field, or reuses one or more existing DCI bitfields. As one particular example, the cross-slot bit field is reused to indicate a switch of monitoring opportunity configurations in Rel-16 networks. Alternatively, the UE 105 may be sent a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication, e.g., to switch the UE 105 from monitoring a BWP in accordance with the monitoring-SS to another BWP in accordance with the GTS-SS); wherein on condition that the one bit in the two bits indicates parameter change (Reial, para. 134: the indication is in the form of a new DCI bit field, or reuses one or more existing DCI bitfields. As one particular example, the cross-slot bit field is reused to indicate a switch of monitoring opportunity configurations in Rel-16 networks. Alternatively, the UE 105 may be sent a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication), parameter change is determined to occur to the search space set corresponding to the one bit in the two search space sets (Reial, para. 76, 90, 134: The DCI message or DCI bitfield is transmitted over the PDCCH or the PDCCH carries the DCI message. By virtue of monitoring the PDCCH by decoding/detecting the DCI, the UE can directly determine whether there is variation or change in the search space based on the content of the DCI field/indication).
Conclusion
/JEAN F VOLTAIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417