Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 2, 6-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BANG et al. (For. Pub. No: WO2020050680A1) in view of Cao et al. (doc.:IEEE 802.11-20/1747r2, “EHT NDPA Partial BW Info Design, dated OCT 30th, 2020).
Regarding claim 1, BANG et al. teach a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (see page 1, Abstract), the method comprising: receiving, by a receiving STA (station), a Null Data Packet Announcement (NDPA) frame from a transmitting STA through a 320 MHz band (see page 19, 2nd para wherein the AP and the STA transmitting and receiving data by aggregation of the 2.4 GHz and 5GHz bands and by using multi-band aggregation ,there is an opportunity to use bandwidth of 160 MHz or more i.e. 320MHZ or the bandwidth used by the existing 802.11, is mentioned, also see Fig.25 & page 25, 5th para wherein the STA receiving control frame through the second band while the first data is transmitted from the AP, is mentioned & also see page 25, last para wherein the control frame being a NDPA (Null Data Packet Announcement) frame, is mentioned);
receiving, by the receiving STA, an NDP frame from the transmitting STA (see Fig.25 & page 25, 6th para wherein the STA receiving NDP ( Null Data Packet) from the AP through the first band, is mentioned); and
transmitting, by the receiving STA, a feedback frame to the transmitting STA based on the NDPA frame and the NDP frame, wherein the NDPA frame includes information on a partial band (see Fig.25 & page 25, 8th para wherein the STA transmitting a feedback frame through the second band, is mentioned and see page 25, 8th para & 9th para wherein the first band and the second band being aggregated with each other in a multi-band, is mentioned and also see Fig.23 wherein the feedback frame being transmitted in band2 for the NDPA & NDP frames that are transmitted in band1, is shown & also see page 29, 4th para).
BANG et al. is silent in teaching the above method comprising wherein the information on the partial band includes a bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein the first bit is a bit requesting feedback information for a specific 80 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, wherein the second bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the third bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having a second lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the fourth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the second highest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the fifth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the highest frequency in the 320 MHz band, and wherein the sixth to ninth bits are bits requesting feedback information on a 242-tone resource unit (RU) or a 484-tone RU in the specific 80 MHz channel.
However, Cao et al. teach a method (see page2/slide 2, Introduction) comprising wherein the information on the partial band includes a bitmap composed of first to ninth bits (see slide 2, wherein the partial BW information field using/comprising 9 bits, is mentioned and see slide 4, wherein the partial bandwidth information using bitmap of 9 bits, is mentioned), wherein the first bit is a bit requesting feedback information for a specific 80 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table, wherein B0/first_bit being specified as feedback information for a specific 80 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, is mentioned and also see slide 13), wherein the second bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table and see the bit for first row & column under primary 80MHz (with PS160=0) for bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band and also see slide 13), wherein the third bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having a second lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table and see the bit for first row & column under secondary 80MHz (with PS160=0) for bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having a second lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band and also see slide 13), wherein the fourth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the second highest frequency in the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table and see the bit for first row & column under Lower 80MHz (with PS160=1) for bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the second highest frequency in the 320 MHz band and also see slide 13), wherein the fifth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the highest frequency in the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table and see the bit for first row & column under Higher 80MHz (with PS160=1) for bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the highest frequency in the 320 MHz band and also see slide 13), and wherein the sixth to ninth bits are bits requesting feedback information on a 242-tone resource unit (RU) or a 484-tone RU in the specific 80 MHz channel (see slide 13 wherein C1 being B5+B6+B7+B8 (i.e. sixth to ninth bits) mentioned the bitmap for feedback for 80MHz channel for 242-tone resource unit (RU) or a 484-tone RU, is mentioned and also see slide 5 for Partial BW Info bitmap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of BANG et al. to have the information on the partial band including a bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein the first bit is a bit requesting feedback information for a specific 80 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, wherein the second bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the third bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having a second lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the fourth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the second highest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the fifth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the highest frequency in the 320 MHz band and wherein the sixth to ninth bits being bits requesting feedback information on a 242-tone resource unit (RU) or a 484-tone RU in the specific 80 MHz channel, disclosed by Cao et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently reusing HE NDPA structure for EHT NDPA frames and also providing both better support of channel puncturing and feedback resolution of frames in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 2, BANG et al. and Cao et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
Cao et al. further teach the method of claim 1, wherein when the second to fifth bits are all set to 1, the first and sixth to ninth bits are set to 0 or 1 or reserved and the second to fifth bits request feedback information for a 4×996-tone RU (see Table in slide 5, 6th row under partial BW feedback bitmap (i.e. for 1 1111 1101) showing 4×996-tone RU feedback, is mentioned and also see slide 13) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, BANG et al. and Cao et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
Cao et al. further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the feedback frame includes feedback information on the requested channel based on the bitmap (see slide 4, wherein the partial bandwidth information using bitmap of 9 bits with B0 as resolution and B1 to B8 bits for feedback bitmap, is mentioned & also B1 to B8 bits for feedback bitmap indicating the request for each resolution size/channel, is mentioned), wherein the feedback information includes channel state information for an RU or a multi resource unit (MRU) for which feedback is requested based on the bitmap, wherein the 242-tone RU is a resource unit composed of 242 tones, wherein the 484 tone RU is a resource unit composed of 484 tones (see slide 5, wherein partial BW feedback bitmap information including feedback RU/MRU and also including 242-tone RU being a resource unit composed of 242 tones & 484 tone RU being a resource unit composed of 484 tones, is mentioned and also see slide 13) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 1) .
Regarding claim 7, BANG et al. teach a receiving station (STA) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (see page 1, Abstract & page 58, Fig.27/STA), the receiving STA comprising: a memory (see page 58, Fig.27/STA and memory 620); a transceiver (see page 58, Fig.27/STA and transceiver 630); and a processor being operatively connected to the memory and the transceiver (see page 58, Fig.27/STA and processor 610 that is being operatively connected to the memory and the transceiver), wherein the processor is configured to: receive a Null Data Packet Announcement (NDPA) frame from a transmitting STA through a 320 MHz band (see page 19, 2nd para wherein the AP and the STA transmitting and receiving data by aggregation of the 2.4 GHz and 5GHz bands and by using multi-band aggregation ,there is an opportunity to use bandwidth of 160 MHz or more i.e. 320MHZ or the bandwidth used by the existing 802.11, is mentioned, also see Fig.25 & page 25, 5th para wherein the STA receiving control frame through the second band while the first data is transmitted from the AP, is mentioned & also see page 25, last para wherein the control frame being a NDPA (Null Data Packet Announcement) frame, is mentioned);
receive an NDP frame from the transmitting STA (see Fig.25 & page 25, 6th para wherein the STA receiving NDP ( Null Data Packet) from the AP through the first band, is mentioned); and
transmit a feedback frame to the transmitting STA based on the NDPA frame and the NDP frame, wherein the NDPA frame includes information on a partial band (see Fig.25 & page 25, 8th para wherein the STA transmitting a feedback frame through the second band, is mentioned and see page 25, 8th para & 9th para wherein the first band and the second band being aggregated with each other in a multi-band, is mentioned and also see Fig.23 wherein the feedback frame being transmitted in band2 for the NDPA & NDP frames that are transmitted in band1, is shown & also see page 29, 4th para).
BANG et al. is silent in teaching the above STA comprising wherein the information on the partial band includes a bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein the first bit is a bit requesting feedback information for a specific 80 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, wherein the second bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the third bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having a second lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the fourth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the second highest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the fifth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the highest frequency in the 320 MHz band and wherein the sixth to ninth bits are bits requesting feedback information on a 242-tone resource unit (RU) or a 484-tone RU in the specific 80 MHz channel.
However, Cao et al. teach receiving station (STA) (see page2/slide 2, Introduction) comprising wherein the information on the partial band includes a bitmap composed of first to ninth bits (see slide 2, wherein the partial BW information field using/comprising 9 bits, is mentioned and see slide 4, wherein the partial bandwidth information using bitmap of 9 bits, is mentioned), wherein the first bit is a bit requesting feedback information for a specific 80 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table, wherein B0/first_bit being specified as feedback information for a specific 80 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, is mentioned and also see slide 13), wherein the second bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table and see the bit for first row & column under primary 80MHz (with PS160=0) for bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band and also see slide 13), wherein the third bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having a second lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table and see the bit for first row & column under secondary 80MHz (with PS160=0) for bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having a second lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band and also see slide 13), wherein the fourth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the second highest frequency in the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table and see the bit for first row & column under Lower 80MHz (with PS160=1) for bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the second highest frequency in the 320 MHz band and also see slide 13), wherein the fifth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the highest frequency in the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table and see the bit for first row & column under Higher 80MHz (with PS160=1) for bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the highest frequency in the 320 MHz band and also see slide 13), and wherein the sixth to ninth bits are bits requesting feedback information on a 242-tone resource unit (RU) or a 484-tone RU in the specific 80 MHz channel (see slide 13 wherein C1 being B5+B6+B7+B8 (i.e. sixth to ninth bits) mentioned the bitmap for feedback for 80MHz channel for 242-tone resource unit (RU) or a 484-tone RU, is mentioned and also see slide 5 for Partial BW Info bitmap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above STA of BANG et al. to have the information on the partial band including a bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein the first bit is a bit requesting feedback information for a specific 80 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, wherein the second bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the third bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having a second lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the fourth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the second highest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the fifth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the highest frequency in the 320 MHz band and wherein the sixth to ninth bits being bits requesting feedback information on a 242-tone resource unit (RU) or a 484-tone RU in the specific 80 MHz channel, disclosed by Cao et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently reusing HE NDPA structure for EHT NDPA frames and also providing both better support of channel puncturing and feedback resolution of frames in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 8, BANG et al. teach a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (see page 1, Abstract), the method comprising: transmitting, by a transmitting station (STA), a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame to a receiving STA through a 320 MHz band (see page 19, 2nd para wherein the AP and the STA transmitting and receiving data by aggregation of the 2.4 GHz and 5GHz bands and by using multi-band aggregation ,there is an opportunity to use bandwidth of 160 MHz or more i.e. 320MHZ or the bandwidth used by the existing 802.11, is mentioned, also see Fig.25 & page 25, 5th para wherein the STA receiving control frame through the second band while the first data is transmitted from the AP/ transmitting station (STA), is mentioned & also see page 25, last para wherein the control frame being a NDPA (Null Data Packet Announcement) frame, is mentioned);
transmitting, by the transmitting STA, an NDP frame to the receiving STA (see Fig.25 & page 25, 6th para wherein the STA receiving NDP ( Null Data Packet) from the AP/transmitting station (STA), through the first band, is mentioned); and
receiving, by the transmitting STA, a feedback frame based on the NDPA frame and the NDP frame from the receiving STA, wherein the NDPA frame includes information on a partial band (see Fig.25 & page 25, 8th para wherein the STA transmitting a feedback frame through the second band, is mentioned and see page 25, 8th para & 9th para wherein the first band and the second band being aggregated with each other in a multi-band, is mentioned and also see Fig.23 wherein the feedback frame being transmitted in band2 for the NDPA & NDP frames that are transmitted in band1, is shown & also see page 29, 4th para).
BANG et al. is silent in teaching the above method comprising wherein the information on the partial band includes a bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein the first bit is a bit requesting feedback information for a specific 80 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, wherein the second bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the third bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having a second lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the fourth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the second highest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the fifth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the highest frequency in the 320 MHz band, and wherein the sixth to ninth bits are bits requesting feedback information on a 242-tone resource unit (RU) or a 484-tone RU in the specific 80 MHz channel.
However, Cao et al. teach a method (see page2/slide 2, Introduction) comprising wherein the information on the partial band includes a bitmap composed of first to ninth bits (see slide 2, wherein the partial BW information field using/comprising 9 bits, is mentioned and see slide 4, wherein the partial bandwidth information using bitmap of 9 bits, is mentioned), wherein the first bit is a bit requesting feedback information for a specific 80 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table, wherein B0/first_bit being specified as feedback information for a specific 80 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, is mentioned and also see slide 13), wherein the second bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table and see the bit for first row & column under primary 80MHz (with PS160=0) for bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band and also see slide 13), wherein the third bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having a second lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table and see the bit for first row & column under secondary 80MHz (with PS160=0) for bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having a second lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band and also see slide 13), wherein the fourth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the second highest frequency in the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table and see the bit for first row & column under Lower 80MHz (with PS160=1) for bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the second highest frequency in the 320 MHz band and also see slide 13), wherein the fifth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the highest frequency in the 320 MHz band (see slide 14, for UL BW =320MHZ -> X0 and X1 being specified in the following table and see the bit for first row & column under Higher 80MHz (with PS160=1) for bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the highest frequency in the 320 MHz band and also see slide 13), and wherein the sixth to ninth bits are bits requesting feedback information on a 242-tone resource unit (RU) or a 484-tone RU in the specific 80 MHz channel (see slide 13 wherein C1 being B5+B6+B7+B8 (i.e. sixth to ninth bits) mentioned the bitmap for feedback for 80MHz channel for 242-tone resource unit (RU) or a 484-tone RU, is mentioned and also see slide 5 for Partial BW Info bitmap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of BANG et al. to have the information on the partial band including a bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein the first bit is a bit requesting feedback information for a specific 80 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, wherein the second bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the third bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having a second lowest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the fourth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the second highest frequency in the 320 MHz band, wherein the fifth bit is a bit requesting feedback information for an 80 MHz channel having the highest frequency in the 320 MHz band and wherein the sixth to ninth bits being bits requesting feedback information on a 242-tone resource unit (RU) or a 484-tone RU in the specific 80 MHz channel, disclosed by Cao et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently reusing HE NDPA structure for EHT NDPA frames and also providing both better support of channel puncturing and feedback resolution of frames in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 9, BANG et al. and Cao et al. together teach the method of claim 8.
Cao et al. further teach the method of claim 8, wherein when the second to fifth bits are all set to 1, the first and sixth to ninth bits are set to 0 or 1 or reserved and the second to fifth bits request feedback information for a 4×996-tone RU (see Table in slide 5, 6th row under partial BW feedback bitmap (i.e. for 1 1111 1101) showing 4×996-tone RU feedback, is mentioned and also see slide 13) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 8).
Regarding claim 13, BANG et al. and Cao et al. together teach the method of claim 8.
Cao et al. further teach the method of claim 8, wherein the feedback frame includes feedback information on the requested channel based on the bitmap (see slide 4, wherein the partial bandwidth information using bitmap of 9 bits with B0 as resolution and B1 to B8 bits for feedback bitmap, is mentioned & also B1 to B8 bits for feedback bitmap indicating the request for each resolution size/channel, is mentioned), wherein the feedback information includes channel state information for an RU or a multi resource unit (MRU) for which feedback is requested based on the bitmap, wherein the 242-tone RU is a resource unit composed of 242 tones, wherein the 484 tone RU is a resource unit composed of 484 tones (see slide 5, wherein partial BW feedback bitmap information including feedback RU/MRU and also including 242-tone RU being a resource unit composed of 242 tones & 484 tone RU being a resource unit composed of 484 tones, is mentioned and also see slide 13) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 3-5 and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwon et al. (US Pub. No: 2021/0336752 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a method for wireless communications involving operating an Access Point (AP) using feedback subcarrier indices for a bandwidth up to 320 MHz in wireless communication system.
Cariou et al. (US Pub. No: 2021/0266207 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to methods for control field for null data packet feedback report trigger in wireless communication system.
CHUN et al. (US Pub. No: 2018/0359761 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to an uplink channel sounding method for uplink-multi-user-transmitting a channel state measured by a STA in wireless communication system.
CHEN et al. (US Pub. No: 2021/0409249 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a technique for wireless communication of a punctured null data packet with a long training field sequence in wireless communication system.
7. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed
To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 12/27/2025