DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 12, and 16 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohammed Mikaeil et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0353986) in view of Kim et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0389049), and further in view of Lin et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0163896). Hereinafter Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin.
Regarding claim 1, Mohammed Mikaeil discloses a method implemented in a user equipment (UE) for managing reception of multicast and/or broadcast services (MBS), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a base station, an MBS interest indication corresponding to an MBS service of interest (the UE sends an indication message via UCI and/or MAC CE and/or RRC message (e.g. MBS interest indication) to network (e.g. an NG-RAN node), paragraph [0198]);
receiving, from the base station, a response of the MBS interest indication (the network (NG-RAN node) evaluates the UE indication message and sends a response to the UE based on the indication of the request message whether to switch the radio bearers for MBS/multicast session for the UE, paragraphs [0199] – [0201]);
receiving data packets for the MBS service in accordance with the control information (the UE receives the multicast data services over the provided optimal radio bearer configuration, paragraph [0202]).
However, Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose “receiving an acknowledgement of the MBS interest indication;” “monitoring for downlink control information (DCI) for the MBS service, the DCI indicating a resource on a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH);” and “receiving data packets for the MBS service in accordance with the downlink control information.”
Kim discloses “receiving an acknowledgement of the MBS interest indication” as the terminal receives configuration information, where the configuration information for MBS service is supported includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0250] – [0262]); “monitoring for downlink control information (DCI) for the MBS service” as the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service (paragraph [0158]); and “receiving data packets for the MBS service in accordance with the downlink control information” as the base station indicates activation of partial bandwidth via L1 signaling (such as DCI of PDCCH) to indicate switch for supporting the MBS service, thereby terminal receives the MBS service (paragraph [0159]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
While Kim teaches monitoring the DCI, Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim do not explicitly disclose “the DCI indicating resource on a (physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH).” Lin discloses the UE receives DCI from BS from BS, where the DCI indicates at least one UL physical resource for a feedback transmission and at least one DL physical resource for an MBS data reception, and the UE receives the MBS data on a PDSCH indicated in the DCI (paragraphs [0162] – [0164]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin before him or her, to incorporate the MBS feedback transmission as taught by Lin, to improve the modified UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil-Kim for the motivation of enhance the reliability of broadcast/multicast services (paragraph [0042] of Lin).
Regarding claim 2, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin disclose the method of claim 1, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose wherein the monitoring for downlink control information for the MBS service occurs prior to receiving the acknowledgement.
Kim discloses the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service, and the base station indicates activation of partial bandwidth via L1 signaling (such as DCI of PDCCH) to indicate switch for supporting the MBS service, thereby terminal receives the MBS service (paragraphs [0158] – [0159]), the terminal receives the MBS service (paragraph [0432]), then the base station transmits RRC message including configuration information to the terminal, where the configuration information includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0438] – [0453]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin disclose the method of claim 1, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose wherein the monitoring for downlink control information for the MBS service occurs in response to receiving the acknowledgement.
Kim discloses the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service, and the base station indicates activation of partial bandwidth via L1 signaling (such as DCI of PDCCH) to indicate switch for supporting the MBS service, thereby terminal receives the MBS service (paragraphs [0158] – [0159]), then the base station transmits RRC message including configuration information to the terminal, where the configuration information includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0415] – [0429]), then the terminal receives the MBS service (paragraph [0432]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
Regarding claim 10, Mohammed Mikaeil discloses a user equipment (UE) including processing hardware and configured to (the UE includes a memory, a transceiver, and a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, paragraph [0185]):
transmit, to a base station, an MBS interest indication corresponding to an MBS service of interest (the UE sends an indication message via UCI and/or MAC CE and/or RRC message (e.g. MBS interest indication) to network (e.g. an NG-RAN node), paragraph [0198]);
receive, from the base station, a response of the MBS interest indication (the network (NG-RAN node) evaluates the UE indication message and sends a response to the UE based on the indication of the request message whether to switch the radio bearers for MBS/multicast session for the UE, paragraphs [0199] – [0201]); and
receive data packets for the MBS service in accordance with the control information (the UE receives the multicast data services over the provided optimal radio bearer configuration, paragraph [0202]).
However, Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose “receive an acknowledgement of the MBS interest indication;” “monitor for downlink control information (DCI) for the MBS service, the DCI indicating a resource on a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH);” and “receive data packets for the MBS service in accordance with the downlink control information.”
Kim discloses “receive an acknowledgement of the MBS interest indication” as the terminal receives configuration information, where the configuration information for MBS service is supported includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0250] – [0262]); “monitor for downlink control information (DCI) for the MBS service” as the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service (paragraph [0158]); and “receive data packets for the MBS service in accordance with the downlink control information” as the base station indicates activation of partial bandwidth via L1 signaling (such as DCI of PDCCH) to indicate switch for supporting the MBS service, thereby terminal receives the MBS service (paragraph [0159]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
While Kim teaches monitoring the DCI, Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim do not explicitly disclose “the DCI indicating resource on a (physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH).” Lin discloses the UE receives DCI from BS from BS, where the DCI indicates at least one UL physical resource for a feedback transmission and at least one DL physical resource for an MBS data reception, and the UE receives the MBS data on a PDSCH indicated in the DCI (paragraphs [0162] – [0164]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin before him or her, to incorporate the MBS feedback transmission as taught by Lin, to improve the modified UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil-Kim for the motivation of enhance the reliability of broadcast/multicast services (paragraph [0042] of Lin).
Regarding claim 11, Mohammed Mikaeil discloses a method in a base station for managing transmission of multicast and/or broadcast services (MBS), the method comprising:
receiving from a UE, an MBS interest indication corresponding to an MBS service of interest (the UE sends an indication message via UCI and/or MAC CE and/or RRC message (e.g. MBS interest indication) to network (e.g. an NG-RAN node), paragraph [0198]);
transmitting control information for the MBS service to the UE (the UE receives the multicast data services over the provided optimal radio bearer configuration, paragraph [0202]); and
transmitting to the UE, a response of the MBS interest indication (the network (NG-RAN node) evaluates the UE indication message and sends a response to the UE based on the indication of the request message whether to switch the radio bearers for MBS/multicast session for the UE, paragraphs [0199] – [0201]).
However, Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose “transmitting downlink control information for the MBS service to the UE, the downlink control information indicating a resource on a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) and including an attachment scrambled with an identifier of the MBS service;” and “transmitting to the UE, an acknowledgement of the MBS interest indication.”
Kim discloses “transmitting downlink control information for the MBS service to the UE, the downlink control information including an attachment scrambled with an identifier of the MBS service” as the base station indicates activation of partial bandwidth via L1 signaling (such as DCI of PDCCH) to indicate switch for supporting the MBS service, thereby terminal receives the MBS service, where the pieces of MBS service data received includes data received according to DCI indication of a PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI identifier for the multicast service (paragraphs [0158], [0159], [0193]); and “transmitting to the UE, an acknowledgement of the MBS interest indication” as the terminal receives configuration information, where the configuration information for MBS service is supported includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0250] – [0262]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
While Kim teaches monitoring the DCI, Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim do not explicitly disclose “the downlink control information indicating resource on a (physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH).” Lin discloses the UE receives DCI from BS from BS, where the DCI indicates at least one UL physical resource for a feedback transmission and at least one DL physical resource for an MBS data reception, and the UE receives the MBS data on a PDSCH indicated in the DCI (paragraphs [0162] – [0164]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin before him or her, to incorporate the MBS feedback transmission as taught by Lin, to improve the modified UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil-Kim for the motivation of enhance the reliability of broadcast/multicast services (paragraph [0042] of Lin).
Regarding claim 12, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin disclose the method of claim 11, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
transmitting downlink control information for the MBS service to the UE, the downlink control information including an attachment scrambled with an identifier of the MBS service.
Kim discloses the base station indicates activation of partial bandwidth via L1 signaling (such as DCI of PDCCH) to indicate switch for supporting the MBS service, thereby terminal receives the MBS service, where the pieces of MBS service data received includes data received according to DCI indication of a PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI identifier for the multicast service (paragraphs [0158], [0159], [0193]), the base station transmits RRC message including configuration information to the terminal, where the configuration information includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0415] – [0429]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
Regarding claim 16, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin disclose the UE claim 10, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose further configured to:
monitor downlink control information for the MBS service prior to receiving the acknowledgement.
Kim discloses the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service, and the base station indicates activation of partial bandwidth via L1 signaling (such as DCI of PDCCH) to indicate switch for supporting the MBS service, thereby terminal receives the MBS service (paragraphs [0158] – [0159]), the terminal receives the MBS service (paragraph [0432]), then the base station transmits RRC message including configuration information to the terminal, where the configuration information includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0438] – [0453]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
Regarding claim 17, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin disclose the UE claim 10, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose further configured to:
monitor downlink control information for the MBS service in response to receiving the acknowledgement.
Kim discloses the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service, and the base station indicates activation of partial bandwidth via L1 signaling (such as DCI of PDCCH) to indicate switch for supporting the MBS service, thereby terminal receives the MBS service (paragraphs [0158] – [0159]), then the base station transmits RRC message including configuration information to the terminal, where the configuration information includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0415] – [0429]), then the terminal receives the MBS service (paragraph [0432]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
Claims 4 – 9, 13 – 14, and 18 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohammed Mikaeil et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0353896) in view of Kim et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0389049) and Lin et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0163896), and further in view of Etemad et al (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0083715). Hereinafter Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, Lin, and Etemad.
Regarding claim 4, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin disclose the method of claim 1, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the MBS service is a first MBS service; and
the method further comprises:
transmitting a second MBS interest indication corresponding to a second MBS service of interest; and
monitoring for downlink control information for the first MBS service after transmitting the second MBS interest indication.
Kim discloses “the MBS service is a first MBS service” as the terminal establishes first MBS service with a base station (steps 301 – steps 360, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0124] – [0159]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 1st MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); “monitoring for downlink control information for the first MBS service” as the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service (paragraph [0158]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 2nd MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]).
Since Mohammed Mikaeil discloses “transmitting an MBS interest indication corresponding to an MBS service of interest;” as the UE sends an indication message via UCI and/or MAC CE and/or RRC message (e.g. MBS interest indication) to network (e.g. an NG-RAN node) (paragraph [0198]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information with multiple MBS service as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
However, Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim do not explicitly disclose “monitoring for the first MBS service after transmitting the second MBS interest indication.” Etemad discloses the UE uses the same processor resources to process MBMS service and unicast service, and the eNB makes the scheduling decision, where the UE indicates how many MBMS service that the UE is to receive concurrently (e.g. 1 or 2) (paragraph [0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, Lin and Etemad before him or her, to incorporate the UE to process MBMS service and unicast service concurrently as taught by Etemad, to improve the modified UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil-Kim-Lin for the motivation of maintaining service continuity for the UE (paragraph [0003] of Etemad).
Regarding claim 5, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, Lin and Etemad disclose the method of claim 4, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
receiving a second acknowledgement of the second MBS interest indication; and
stopping the monitoring in response to receiving the second acknowledgement.
Kim discloses “receiving a second acknowledgement of the second MBS interest indication” and “stopping the monitoring in response to receiving the second acknowledgement” as the terminal receives configuration information, where the configuration information for MBS service is supported includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0250] – [0262]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 2nd MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); the terminal receives MBS service data feedback or indication information that a service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive) is changed, if it intends to stop receiving the service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive), if it intends to stop an MBS service, or if it intends to change a method, RRC mode, or bearer for receiving the MBS service, where the indication information includes stopping the MBS service reception (paragraphs [0472] – [0480]); where the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service (paragraph [0158]). The terminal stops the MBS service and thus stops monitoring the reception of the MBS service.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
Regarding claim 6, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin disclose the method of claim 1, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the MBS service is a first MBS service; and
the method further comprises:
monitoring for downlink control information for the first MBS service;
transmitting a second MBS interest indication corresponding to a second MBS service of interest; and
prior to receiving a second acknowledgement of the second MBS interest indication, stopping the monitoring.
Kim discloses “the MBS service is a first MBS service” as the terminal establishes first MBS service with a base station (steps 301 – steps 360, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0124] – [0159]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 1st MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); “monitoring for downlink control information for the first MBS service” as the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service (paragraph [0158]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 1st MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); “receiving a second acknowledgement of the second MBS interest indication, stopping the monitoring” as the terminal transmits MBS service data feedback or indication information to the base station that a service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive) is changed, if it intends to stop receiving the service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive), if it intends to stop an MBS service, or if it intends to change a method, RRC mode, or bearer for receiving the MBS service, where the indication information includes stopping the MBS service reception (paragraphs [0472] – [0480]); where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 2nd MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]), and where the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service (paragraph [0158]). The terminal stops the MBS service and thus stops monitoring the reception of the MBS service.
Since Mohammed Mikaeil discloses “transmitting an MBS interest indication corresponding to an MBS service of interest;” as the UE sends an indication message via UCI and/or MAC CE and/or RRC message (e.g. MBS interest indication) to network (e.g. an NG-RAN node) (paragraph [0198]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information with multiple MBS service as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
However, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin do not explicitly disclose “prior to receiving a second acknowledgement of the second MBS interest indication.” Etemad discloses the UE uses the same processor resources to process MBMS service and unicast service, and the eNB makes the scheduling decision, where the UE indicates how many MBMS service that the UE is to receive concurrently (e.g. 1 or 2) (paragraph [0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, Lin, and Etemad before him or her, to incorporate the UE to process MBMS service and unicast service concurrently as taught by Etemad, to improve the modified UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil-Kim-Lin for the motivation of maintaining service continuity for the UE (paragraph [0003] of Etemad).
Regarding claim 7, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin disclose the method of claim 1, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the MBS service is a first MBS service; and
the method further comprises:
transmitting a second MBS interest indication corresponding to a second MBS service of interest; and
transmitting a negative acknowledgement of data packets of the first MBS service to the base station after transmitting the second MBS interest indication.
Kim discloses “the MBS service is a first MBS service” as the terminal establishes first MBS service with a base station (steps 301 – steps 360, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0124] – [0159]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 1st MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); and “transmitting a negative acknowledgement of data packets of the first MBS service to the base station” as the terminal transmits MBS service data feedback or indication information to the base station that a service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive) is changed, if it intends to stop receiving the service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive), if it intends to stop an MBS service, or if it intends to change a method, RRC mode, or bearer for receiving the MBS service, where the indication information includes HARQ NACK feedback (paragraphs [0472] – [0480]); where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 2nd MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]).
Since Mohammed Mikaeil discloses “transmitting an MBS interest indication corresponding to an MBS service of interest;” as the UE sends an indication message via UCI and/or MAC CE and/or RRC message (e.g. MBS interest indication) to network (e.g. an NG-RAN node) (paragraph [0198]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information with multiple MBS service as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
However, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin do not explicitly disclose “transmitting data packets of the first MBS service to the base station after transmitting the second MBS interest indication.” Etemad discloses the UE uses the same processor resources to process MBMS service and unicast service, and the eNB makes the scheduling decision, where the UE indicates how many MBMS service that the UE is to receive concurrently (e.g. 1 or 2) (paragraph [0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, Lin, and Etemad before him or her, to incorporate the UE to process MBMS service and unicast service concurrently as taught by Etemad, to improve the modified UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil-Kim-Lin for the motivation of maintaining service continuity for the UE (paragraph [0003] of Etemad).
Regarding claim 8, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, Lin, and Etemad disclose the method of claim 7, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose further comprising
receiving a unicast retransmission of the data packets of the first MBS service from the base station; and
retransmitting the second MBS interest indication to the base station in response to receiving the unicast retransmission.
Kim discloses “receiving a unicast retransmission of the data packets of the first MBS service from the base station” as the terminal is receiving MBS service upon identifying which MBS service the terminal is interested in or intends to receive MBS service, and the terminal reconfigures the MBS service, where the transmission includes configuration information for changing a bearer type (e.g., an indicator to switch from a unicast bearer to a multicast bearer, an indicator to switch from a multicast bearer to a unicast bearer, or bearer configuration information corresponding thereto) and/or logical channel identifier information changed or updated for each MBS service (paragraphs [0433], [0434]); where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 1st MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]), and “retransmitting the second MBS interest indication to the base station in response to receiving the unicast retransmission” as the terminal receives configuration information, where the configuration information for MBS service is supported includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0250] – [0262]); where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 2nd MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
Regarding claim 9, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, Lin, and Etemad disclose the method of claim 7, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
receiving an MBS interest request from the base station; and
retransmitting the MBS interest indication to the base station in response to receiving the MBS interest request.
Kim discloses “receiving an MBS interest request from the base station” as the terminal receives configuration information, where the configuration information for MBS service is supported includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0250] – [0262]); and “retransmitting the MBS interest indication to the base station in response to receiving the MBS interest request” as the terminal receives configuration information, where the configuration information for MBS service is supported includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0250] – [0262]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
Regarding claim 13, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin disclose the method of claim 11, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the MBS service is a first MBS service;
the acknowledgement is a first acknowledgment; and
the method further comprises:
receiving a second MBS interest indication corresponding to a second MBS service of interest;
transmitting a second acknowledgement of the second MBS interest indication;
receiving first feedback from the UE related to the first MBS service or the second MBS service; and
after receiving the first feedback:
in a first instance, if the first feedback is received after transmitting the second acknowledgement, determining that the first feedback is related to the second MBS service; and
in a second instance, if the first feedback is received before transmitting the second acknowledgement, determining that the first feedback is related to the first MBS service.
Kim discloses “the MBS service is a first MBS service” as the terminal establishes first MBS service with a base station (steps 301 – steps 360, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0124] – [0159]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 1st MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); “the acknowledgement is a first acknowledgment” as the terminal receives configuration information, where the configuration information for MBS service is supported includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0250] – [0262]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 1st MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); “transmitting a second acknowledgement of the second MBS interest indication” as the terminal receives MBS service data feedback or indication information that a service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive) is changed, if it intends to stop receiving the service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive), if it intends to stop an MBS service, or if it intends to change a method, RRC mode, or bearer for receiving the MBS service, where the indication information includes stopping the MBS service reception (paragraphs [0472] – [0480]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 2nd MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); and “receiving first feedback from the UE related to the first MBS service or the second MBS service; after receiving the first feedback: in a first instance, determining that the first feedback is related to the second MBS service” as the terminal receives configuration information, where the configuration information for MBS service is supported includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0250] – [0262]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 1st MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); and “in a second instance, determining that the first feedback is related to the first MBS service” as the terminal receives MBS service data feedback or indication information that a service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive) is changed, if it intends to stop receiving the service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive), if it intends to stop an MBS service, or if it intends to change a method, RRC mode, or bearer for receiving the MBS service, where the indication information includes stopping the MBS service reception (paragraphs [0472] – [0480]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 2nd MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]).
Since Mohammed Mikaeil discloses “transmit an MBS interest indication corresponding to an MBS service of interest;” as the UE sends an indication message via UCI and/or MAC CE and/or RRC message (e.g. MBS interest indication) to network (e.g. an NG-RAN node) (paragraph [0198]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information with multiple MBS service as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
However, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin do not explicitly disclose “in a first instance, if the first feedback is received after transmitting the second acknowledgement, determining that the first feedback is related to the second MBS service; and in a second instance, if the first feedback is received before transmitting the second acknowledgement, determining that the first feedback is related to the first MBS service.” Etemad discloses the UE uses the same processor resources to process MBMS service and unicast service, and the eNB makes the scheduling decision, where the UE indicates how many MBMS service that the UE is to receive concurrently (e.g. 1 or 2) (paragraph [0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, Lin, and Etemad before him or her, to incorporate the UE to process MBMS service and unicast service concurrently as taught by Etemad, to improve the modified UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil-Kim-Lin for the motivation of maintaining service continuity for the UE (paragraph [0003] of Etemad).
Regarding claim 14, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin disclose the method of claim 11, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the MBS interest indication indicates two or more MBS services that the UE is interested in receiving concurrently;
the method further comprises:
transmitting first data for a first MBS service of the two or more MBS services;
transmitting second data for a second MBS service of the two or more MBS services; and
receiving negative acknowledgements to the first data and the second data from the UE on a shared uplink resource.
Kim discloses “transmitting first data for a first MBS service of the two or more MBS services; transmitting second data for a second MBS service of the two or more MBS services; and receiving negative acknowledgements to the first data and the second data from the UE on a shared uplink resource” as the terminal receives configuration information, where the configuration information for MBS service is supported includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0250] – [0262]); the terminal receives MBS service data feedback or indication information that a service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive) is changed, if it intends to stop receiving the service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive), if it intends to stop an MBS service, or if it intends to change a method, RRC mode, or bearer for receiving the MBS service, where the indication information includes stopping the MBS service reception (paragraphs [0472] – [0480]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 1st MBS service and 2nd MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
However, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin do not explicitly disclose “the MBS interest indication indicates two or more MBS services that the UE is interested in receiving concurrently.” Etemad discloses the UE uses the same processor resources to process MBMS service and unicast service, and the eNB makes the scheduling decision, where the UE indicates how many MBMS service that the UE is to receive concurrently (e.g. 1 or 2) (paragraph [0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Etemad before him or her, to incorporate the UE to process MBMS service and unicast service concurrently as taught by Etemad, to improve the modified UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil-Kim for the motivation of maintaining service continuity for the UE (paragraph [0003] of Etemad).
Regarding claim 18, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin disclose the UE claim 10, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the MBS service is a first MBS service; and
the UE is further configured to:
transmit a second MBS interest indication corresponding to a second MBS service of interest; and
monitor for downlink control information for the first MBS service after transmitting the second MBS interest indication.
Kim discloses “the MBS service is a first MBS service” as the terminal establishes first MBS service with a base station (steps 301 – steps 360, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0124] – [0159]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 1st MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); “monitor for downlink control information for the first MBS service” as the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service (paragraph [0158]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 2nd MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]).
Since Mohammed Mikaeil discloses “transmit an MBS interest indication corresponding to an MBS service of interest;” as the UE sends an indication message via UCI and/or MAC CE and/or RRC message (e.g. MBS interest indication) to network (e.g. an NG-RAN node) (paragraph [0198]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information with multiple MBS service as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
However, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin do not explicitly disclose “monitor for the first MBS service after transmitting the second MBS interest indication.” Etemad discloses the UE uses the same processor resources to process MBMS service and unicast service, and the eNB makes the scheduling decision, where the UE indicates how many MBMS service that the UE is to receive concurrently (e.g. 1 or 2) (paragraph [0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, Lin, and Etemad before him or her, to incorporate the UE to process MBMS service and unicast service concurrently as taught by Etemad, to improve the modified UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil-Kim-Lin for the motivation of maintaining service continuity for the UE (paragraph [0003] of Etemad).
Regarding claim 19, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, Lin, and Etemad disclose the UE of claim 18, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose further configured to:
receive second acknowledgement of the second MBS interest indication; and
stop the monitoring in response to receiving the second acknowledgement.
Kim discloses “receive a second acknowledgement of the second MBS interest indication” and “stop the monitoring in response to receiving the second acknowledgement” as the terminal receives configuration information, where the configuration information for MBS service is supported includes indicator configuration information indicating whether to use HARQ reordering, HARQ retransmission, or HARQ ACK or NACK, transmission resource information to transmit HARQ ACK or NACK (paragraphs [0250] – [0262]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 2nd MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); the terminal receives MBS service data feedback or indication information that a service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive) is changed, if it intends to stop receiving the service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive), if it intends to stop an MBS service, or if it intends to change a method, RRC mode, or bearer for receiving the MBS service, where the indication information includes stopping the MBS service reception (paragraphs [0472] – [0480]); where the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service (paragraph [0158]). The terminal stops the MBS service and thus stops monitoring the reception of the MBS service.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
Regarding claim 20, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin disclose the UE claim 10, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the MBS service is a first MBS service; and
the UE is further configured to:
monitor for downlink control information for the first MBS service;
transmit a second MBS interest indication corresponding to a second MBS service of interest; and
prior to receiving a second acknowledgement of the second MBS interest indication, stop the monitoring.
Kim discloses “the MBS service is a first MBS service” as the terminal establishes first MBS service with a base station (steps 301 – steps 360, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0124] – [0159]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 1st MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); “monitor for downlink control information for the first MBS service” as the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service (paragraph [0158]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 1st MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); “receiving a second acknowledgement of the second MBS interest indication, stop the monitoring” as the terminal transmits MBS service data feedback or indication information to the base station that a service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive) is changed, if it intends to stop receiving the service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive), if it intends to stop an MBS service, or if it intends to change a method, RRC mode, or bearer for receiving the MBS service, where the indication information includes stopping the MBS service reception (paragraphs [0472] – [0480]); where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 2nd MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]), and where the terminal monitors PDCCH in an on-duration interval for the terminal to receive the MBS service (paragraph [0158]). The terminal stops the MBS service and thus stops monitoring the reception of the MBS service.
Since Mohammed Mikaeil discloses “transmit an MBS interest indication corresponding to an MBS service of interest;” as the UE sends an indication message via UCI and/or MAC CE and/or RRC message (e.g. MBS interest indication) to network (e.g. an NG-RAN node) (paragraph [0198]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information with multiple MBS service as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
However, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin do not explicitly disclose “prior to receiving a second acknowledgement of the second MBS interest indication.” Etemad discloses the UE uses the same processor resources to process MBMS service and unicast service, and the eNB makes the scheduling decision, where the UE indicates how many MBMS service that the UE is to receive concurrently (e.g. 1 or 2) (paragraph [0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, Lin, and Etemad before him or her, to incorporate the UE to process MBMS service and unicast service concurrently as taught by Etemad, to improve the modified UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil-Kim-Lin for the motivation of maintaining service continuity for the UE (paragraph [0003] of Etemad).
Regarding claim 21, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin disclose the UE claim 10, but Mohammed Mikaeil does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the MBS service is a first MBS service; and
the UE is further configured to:
transmit a second MBS interest indication corresponding to a second MBS service of interest; and
transmit a negative acknowledgement of data packets of the first MBS service to the base station after transmitting the second MBS interest indication.
Kim discloses “the MBS service is a first MBS service” as the terminal establishes first MBS service with a base station (steps 301 – steps 360, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0124] – [0159]), where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 1st MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]); and “transmit a negative acknowledgement of data packets of the first MBS service to the base station” as the terminal transmits MBS service data feedback or indication information to the base station that a service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive) is changed, if it intends to stop receiving the service which it is interested in (or it intends to receive), if it intends to stop an MBS service, or if it intends to change a method, RRC mode, or bearer for receiving the MBS service, where the indication information includes HARQ NACK feedback (paragraphs [0472] – [0480]); where each MBS service is distinguished and specific MBS service is distinguished by identifier, or integer or bitmap (i.e. 2nd MBS service) (paragraph [0500] – [0505]).
Since Mohammed Mikaeil discloses “transmit an MBS interest indication corresponding to an MBS service of interest;” as the UE sends an indication message via UCI and/or MAC CE and/or RRC message (e.g. MBS interest indication) to network (e.g. an NG-RAN node) (paragraph [0198]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil and Kim before him or her, to incorporate the terminal receiving configuration information with multiple MBS service as taught by Kim, to improve the UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil for the motivation of supporting the MBS service in a next-generation mobile communication system (paragraph [0018] of Kim).
However, Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, and Lin do not explicitly disclose “transmit data packets of the first MBS service to the base station after transmitting the second MBS interest indication.” Etemad discloses the UE uses the same processor resources to process MBMS service and unicast service, and the eNB makes the scheduling decision, where the UE indicates how many MBMS service that the UE is to receive concurrently (e.g. 1 or 2) (paragraph [0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mohammed Mikaeil, Kim, Lin, and Etemad before him or her, to incorporate the UE to process MBMS service and unicast service concurrently as taught by Etemad, to improve the modified UE determining the MBS delivery of Mohammed Mikaeil-Kim-Lin for the motivation of maintaining service continuity for the UE (paragraph [0003] of Etemad).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 8 – 9, filed February 6, 2026, with respect to claims 1 – 14, and 16 – 21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
LI et al (WO 2021/197224 A1) – sending downlink control information (DCI) specific to the terminal device to a terminal device, where the DCI is used for scheduling transmission of the PDSCH, and indicates the type of the scheduled PDSCH or a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used by scrambling the scheduled PDSCH, wherein the RNTIs used for scrambling different types of PDSCHs are different, and the types of the PDSCHs comprise: a unicast PDSCH or a multicast PDSCH
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468