DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 04/25/2023.
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are currently pending.
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are rejected.
Claims 1 and 9-10 are independent claims.
- Claim Objection
5. Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “dual connectivity” in line 2 should be “dual connectivity (DC)”; “RAN” in line 2 should be “radio access network (RAN)”. Appropriate corrections are required.
6. Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “DRB” in line 2 should be “data radio bearer (DRB)”; “changing, by the processing hardware, the primary path of the DRB to the MCG in response to receiving the message” should be “changing, the primary path of the DRB to the MCG in response to receiving the message”. Appropriate corrections are required.
7. Claim 76 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The method of claim 73” should be “The method of claim 74”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
9. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the CU" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
10. Claim 19 recites the limitation "the CU" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 1, 3-10, 12-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liwei Qiu et al. (US 2023/0379992 A1), hereinafter Qiu, in view of Oumer TEYEB et al. (US 2023/0345579 A1), hereinafter TEYEB.
For claim 1, Qiu teaches a method implemented in a network node, operating as a secondary node (SN) for a user equipment (UE) communicating in dual connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and the SN, for managing deactivation and activation of a secondary cell group (SCG) (Qiu, Figs. 5, 9 & [0084]), the method comprising:
detecting a first indication that an activation status of the SCG is to change (Qiu, Fig. 9, step 920 and [0105-0110] teach the indication is sent (e.g., in block 920) by the first unit of the first node (i.e., SN-CU) to the second unit of the first node (i.e., SN-DU).);
changing the activation status at the SN in response to the detecting (Qiu, Fig. 9 step 930 and [0105-0110] teach the second unit of the first node (i.e., SN-DU) can activate or deactivate resources of the SCG for the UE in accordance with the indicated change in activation status (e.g., received from SN-CU).);
reactivating or releasing the SCG in response to detecting a second indication related to the SCG (Qiu, Fig. 9 step 950, [0105-0110] teach the first unit of the first node (i.e., SN-DU) can activate or deactivate resources of the SCG for the UE in accordance with the indicated change in activation status (e.g., received from SN-CU).).
TEYEB further teaches resetting or retaining at least one parameter of a protocol layer at or below a radio link control layer in response to changing the activation status or reactivating the SCG (TEYEB, Fig. 15 steps 8-9 and [0080-0084] teach in operation 8bis, the MN decides whether to reactivate the SN terminated bearers. If the MN decides not to reactivate the SN terminated bearers (e.g., due to UE mobility), it initiates the MN initiated SN release procedure and the procedure ends. In operations 9 and 10, the MN triggers the MN initiated SN Modification procedure to reestablish lower layers.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Qiu with resetting or retaining at least one parameter of a protocol layer at or below a radio link control layer in response to changing the activation status or reactivating the SCG taught in TEYEB thereby optimizing the UE as well as network’s power consumption. [TEYEB: paragraph 199.].
For claim 3, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the method of claim 1, wherein changing the activation status includes: receiving a message indicating that the UE has deactivated the SCG; and deactivating the SCG subsequently to receiving the message (Qiu, Fig. 9, step 910 and [0105-0110] teach the indication is sent (e.g., in block 920) by the first unit of the first node (i.e., SN-CU) to the second unit of the first node (i.e., SN-DU). See also Fig.7 and [0090-0093].).
For claim 4, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the method of claim 1, wherein: detecting the second indication includes determining that the UE is to perform a handover; and reactivating or releasing the SCG includes releasing the SCG (TEYEB, [0096] teaches when an SCell is deactivated, the UE does not need to receive the corresponding PDCCH or PDSCH, cannot transmit in the corresponding uplink, nor is it required to perform CQI/CSI measurements. Conversely, when an SCell is active, the UE shall receive PDSCH and PDCCH (if the UE is configured to monitor PDCCH from this SCell) and is expected to be able to perform CQI measurements. To enable faster CQI reporting, a temporary CQI reporting period (called short CQI period) can be supported during SCell activation period. The activation/deactivation can be performed via RRC signaling (during SCell addition/Handover/Connection Resume), or a MAC CE. Implicit transition from activated to deactivate state is also possible via a configuration of inactivity timers. In other words, TEYEB teaches releasing SCG after determining to perform a handover.).
For claim 5, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the second indication includes receiving the second indication from the MN (Qiu, Fig. 9 step 940 and [0105-0110] teach the second unit of the first node forwarding the indication received from the first unit of the first node to the second unit of the second node. See also TEYEG, Fig. 15.).
For claim 6, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the network node is a distributed unit (DU) of the SN; the method further comprising: transmitting, from the DU to the CU, a DU to CU message indicating that the DU has reactivated the SCG (Qiu, Fig. 9 step 940 and [0105-0110] teach the second unit of the first node forwarding the indication received from the first unit of the first node to the second unit of the second node. See also Qiu, Fig. 7 and TEYEG, Fig. 15.).
For claim 7, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the network node is a central unit (CU) of the SN; and changing the activation status includes: transmitting, to a distributed unit (DU), a UE context request message indicating a change in the activation status (Qiu, Fig. 4 and [0082] teach in operation 2, the SN-CU can forward the SCG (de)activation indication received in operation 1 to the SN-DU. For example, the SN-CU can send a UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST or a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message with the SCG (de)activation indication. These messages are part of the F1AP interface between CUs and DUs. Table 1 below shows an exemplary UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message (with certain unrelated items omitted for brevity) that includes an SCG Activation Indication field with enumerated values of “activation” and “deactivation”, according to these embodiments. Alternately, the SN-CU can forward the indication in an appropriate message over the F1-U interface with the SN-DU33.).
For claim 8, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the method of claim 7, wherein: the DU is a first DU; the CU and the first DU collectively operate as the SN; and the CU and a second DU collectively operate as the MN (Qiu, Figs. 1, 9 and [0005-0006].).
For claim 9, Qiu teaches a network node of a radio access network (RAN) including processing hardware and configured to operate as a secondary node (SN) for a user equipment (UE) communicating in dual connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and the SN (Qiu, Figs. 5, 9 & [0084]), the network node configured to:
detect a first indication that an activation status of a secondary cell group (SCG) is to change (Qiu, Fig. 9, step 920 and [0105-0110] teach the indication is sent (e.g., in block 920) by the first unit of the first node (i.e., SN-CU) to the second unit of the first node (i.e., SN-DU).);
change the activation status at the SN in response to the detecting (Qiu, Fig. 9 step 930 and [0105-0110] teach the second unit of the first node (i.e., SN-DU) can activate or deactivate resources of the SCG for the UE in accordance with the indicated change in activation status (e.g., received from SN-CU).);
reactivate or release the SCG in response to detecting a second indication related to the SCG (Qiu, Fig. 9 step 950, [0105-0110] teach the first unit of the first node (i.e., SN-DU) can activate or deactivate resources of the SCG for the UE in accordance with the indicated change in activation status (e.g., received from SN-CU).).
TEYEB further teaches resetting or retaining at least one parameter of a protocol layer at or below a radio link control layer in response to changing the activation status or reactivating the SCG (TEYEB, Fig. 15 steps 8-9 and [0080-0084] teach in operation 8bis, the MN decides whether to reactivate the SN terminated bearers. If the MN decides not to reactivate the SN terminated bearers (e.g., due to UE mobility), it initiates the MN initiated SN release procedure and the procedure ends. In operations 9 and 10, the MN triggers the MN initiated SN Modification procedure to reestablish lower layers.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Qiu with resetting or retaining at least one parameter of a protocol layer at or below a radio link control layer in response to changing the activation status or reactivating the SCG taught in TEYEB thereby optimizing the UE as well as network’s power consumption. [TEYEB: paragraph 199.].
For claim 10, Qiu teaches a method implemented in a user equipment (UE), communicating in dual connectivity with a RAN via a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), for managing deactivation and activation of a secondary cell group (SCG) (Qiu, Figs. 5, 9 & [0084]), the method comprising:
detecting a first indication that an activation status of the SCG is to change (Qiu, Fig. 9, step 920 and [0105-0110] teach the indication is sent (e.g., in block 920) by the first unit of the first node (i.e., SN-CU) to the second unit of the first node (i.e., SN-DU).);
changing the activation status at the SN in response to the detecting (Qiu, Fig. 9 step 930 and [0105-0110] teach the second unit of the first node (i.e., SN-DU) can activate or deactivate resources of the SCG for the UE in accordance with the indicated change in activation status (e.g., received from SN-CU).);
reactivating or releasing the SCG in response to detecting a second indication related to the SCG (Qiu, Fig. 9 step 950, [0105-0110] teach the first unit of the first node (i.e., SN-DU) can activate or deactivate resources of the SCG for the UE in accordance with the indicated change in activation status (e.g., received from SN-CU).).
TEYEB further teaches resetting or retaining at least one parameter of a protocol layer at or below a radio link control layer in response to changing the activation status or reactivating the SCG (TEYEB, Fig. 15 steps 8-9 and [0080-0084] teach in operation 8bis, the MN decides whether to reactivate the SN terminated bearers. If the MN decides not to reactivate the SN terminated bearers (e.g., due to UE mobility), it initiates the MN initiated SN release procedure and the procedure ends. In operations 9 and 10, the MN triggers the MN initiated SN Modification procedure to reestablish lower layers.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Qiu with resetting or retaining at least one parameter of a protocol layer at or below a radio link control layer in response to changing the activation status or reactivating the SCG taught in TEYEB thereby optimizing the UE as well as network’s power consumption. [TEYEB: paragraph 199.].
For claim 12, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the method of claim 10, wherein:
communicating in DC includes transmitting packets over a DRB having a primary path to the SCG; and the method further comprises: receiving a message from the RAN indicating that the UE is to change the primary path of the DRB to the MCG; and changing, the primary path of the DRB to the MCG in response to receiving the message (TEYEB, Figs. 2-3, table 1 and [0014], [0435]).
For claim 13, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the method of claim 10, wherein detecting the second indication includes receiving from the RAN a new configuration that the UE is to use to communicate with the SN upon reactivating the SCG (Qiu, Fig. 9 step 950, [0105-0110] teach the first unit of the first node (i.e., SN-DU) can activate or deactivate resources of the SCG for the UE in accordance with the indicated change in activation status (e.g., received from SN-CU).).
For claim 14, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the method of claim 10, further comprising: retaining at least one parameter of a protocol layer at or below a radio link control layer in response to reactivating the SCG (TEYEB, Fig. 2 and [0363-0394] teach.).
For claim 16, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the network node of claim 9, further configured to, in order to change the activation status: receive a message indicating that the UE has deactivated the SCG; and deactivate the SCG subsequently to receiving the message (Qiu, Fig. 9, step 910 and [0105-0110] teach the indication is sent (e.g., in block 920) by the first unit of the first node (i.e., SN-CU) to the second unit of the first node (i.e., SN-DU). See also Fig.7 and [0090-0093].).
For claim 17, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the network node of claim 9, further configured to: to detect the second indication, determine that the UE is to perform a handover; and to reactivate or release the SCG, release the SCG (TEYEB, [0096] teaches when an SCell is deactivated, the UE does not need to receive the corresponding PDCCH or PDSCH, cannot transmit in the corresponding uplink, nor is it required to perform CQI/CSI measurements. Conversely, when an SCell is active, the UE shall receive PDSCH and PDCCH (if the UE is configured to monitor PDCCH from this SCell) and is expected to be able to perform CQI measurements. To enable faster CQI reporting, a temporary CQI reporting period (called short CQI period) can be supported during SCell activation period. The activation/deactivation can be performed via RRC signaling (during SCell addition/Handover/Connection Resume), or a MAC CE. Implicit transition from activated to deactivate state is also possible via a configuration of inactivity timers. In other words, TEYEB teaches releasing SCG after determining to perform a handover.).
For claim 18, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the network node of claim 9, further configured to receive second indication from the MN (Qiu, Fig. 9 step 940 and [0105-0110] teach the second unit of the first node forwarding the indication received from the first unit of the first node to the second unit of the second node. See also TEYEG, Fig. 15.).
For claim 19, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the network node of claim 9, wherein: the network node is a distributed unit (DU) of the SN; the DU is further configured to: transmit, to the CU, a DU to CU message indicating that the DU has reactivated the SCG (Qiu, Fig. 9 step 940 and [0105-0110] teach the second unit of the first node forwarding the indication received from the first unit of the first node to the second unit of the second node. See also Qiu, Fig. 7 and TEYEG, Fig. 15.).
For claim 20, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the network node of claim 9, wherein: the network node is a central unit (CU) of the SN; and to changing the activation status, the CU is configured to transmit, to a distributed unit (DU), a UE context request message indicating a change in the activation status (Qiu, Fig. 4 and [0082] teach in operation 2, the SN-CU can forward the SCG (de)activation indication received in operation 1 to the SN-DU. For example, the SN-CU can send a UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST or a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message with the SCG (de)activation indication. These messages are part of the F1AP interface between CUs and DUs. Table 1 below shows an exemplary UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message (with certain unrelated items omitted for brevity) that includes an SCG Activation Indication field with enumerated values of “activation” and “deactivation”, according to these embodiments. Alternately, the SN-CU can forward the indication in an appropriate message over the F1-U interface with the SN-DU33.).
For claim 21, Qiu and TEYEB further teach the network node of claim 20, wherein: the DU is a first DU; the CU and the first DU collectively operate as the SN; and the CU and a second DU collectively operate as the MN (Qiu, Figs. 1, 9 and [0005-0006].).
15. Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liwei Qiu et al. (US 2023/0379992 A1), hereinafter Qiu, in view of Oumer TEYEB et al. (US 2023/0345579 A1), hereinafter TEYEB and Rui Wang et al. (US 2022/0167449 A1), hereinafter Wang.
For claim 2, Qiu and TEYEB teach all the limitations of parent claim 1. Qiu and TEYEB do not explicitly teach wherein detecting the first indication includes: receiving, from the UE, an indication that the UE prefers single connectivity (SC).
However, Wang explicitly teaches receiving, from the UE, an indication that the UE prefers single connectivity (SC) (Wang, [0013] teaches receiving assistance information sent by the terminal to deactivate the SCG which will transition to single connectivity (SC). See also [0128]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Qiu and TEYEB with receiving, from the UE, an indication that the UE prefers single connectivity (SC) taught in Wang in order to reduce power consumption of a network device and a terminal while reducing overheads of air interface signaling and a delay. [Wang: summary].
For claim 11, Qiu and TEYEB teach all the limitations of parent claim 10. Qiu and TEYEB do not explicitly teach transmitting, to the RAN prior to detecting the first indication, an indication that the UE prefers single connectivity (SC).
However, Wang explicitly teaches transmitting, to the RAN, an indication that the UE prefers single connectivity (SC) (Wang, [0013] teaches receiving assistance information sent by the terminal to deactivate the SCG which will transition to single connectivity (SC). See also [0128]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Qiu and TEYEB with transmitting, to the RAN, an indication that the UE prefers single connectivity (SC) taught in Wang in order to reduce power consumption of a network device and a terminal while reducing overheads of air interface signaling and a delay. [Wang: summary].
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412